Reading Reviews From Member: Sammy23
  
73 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sammy23Regretfully Yours: Revelations

26th April 2009:
Hmm, looks like this is going to turn into a novel length...YAY! :D

Great chapter! I wanna know what happened to Ron tho!! >

Author's Response: It will be novel length, just passed the 50,000 word mark last night while writing :) So glad that you liked it... you will find about more about Ron in good time, but not yet :) Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Sammy23A Previous Life: Previous

21st April 2009:
As always, your story was wonderful. I'm a bit sad that it's over, but I am looking forward to reading your new Dramione.

In my opinion, you are the best Dramione writer on HPFF. You're the only one that actually truly makes their relationship plausible and fun to read. Your characters don't go OOC and the situations, dialogue, reactions are all spot on.

Once again, this was brilliant. I look forward to your other projects. :D

10/10

 Report Review

Review #3, by Sammy23Regretfully Yours: Found Memories

19th April 2009:
Just thought I'd say how amazing it is that you update every sunday!! That's a brilliant way of doing it and the story is still going strong :D

Wish that the chapter was a wee bit longer tho. I'm looking forward to finding out what really happened to Ron :D

Author's Response: Thank you sammy... coming from you I take it as a huge compliment.
Sunday's are a fun day to update and I usually have the day free at some point.
The next chapter will be pretty long about 4000 wds I think, so hopefully it will make you happier. :)
Thanks again.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Sammy23 Contrition: Contrition

2nd April 2009:
Ahh, bless ya hun! I knew you cared about Lily really. :P

Actually, I know how much you hate her but your Snape was brilliant! As always, I luv your writing! :D

Author's Response: To tell the truth, I don't care much about Snape OR Lily or the Marauders. I know, I know, how can anyone (especially any girl) not like Sirius? :P But I'm weird that way, and yeah... I don't care much for that era.

Personally, when I reread this story, I feel I could've written it differently, less soppily maybe... But I can't be arsed to rewrite it; it's over.

Anyhoo, thanks for the review. I love your writing too. :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by Sammy23Still Delicate: Confessions

19th March 2009:
LOL! Pacino from Dog Day Afternoon! Now I'll always be expecting James to take hostages so his boyfriend can get a sexchange! :D

P.S. - When did Scorpius become Scottish?

Author's Response: He was Scottish in Delicate. People tend to forget! :D

ATTICA!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Sammy23Regretfully Yours: The Party

12th March 2009:
Very nice Spingy!! Do mind if I call you that?

Love the party. Was awkwardly wonderful. I just wish you'd make the chappies longer. :(

Author's Response: No, everyone else calls me that anyway. Thanks for coming back to check it out. I was going for awkward. I am sorry about the length of my chapters, I could make them longer, but then I wouldn't be able to update nearly as often. I also tend to have a shorter attention span and know that sometimes it is easier to get in a quick chapter, because otherwise I have to make sure I have time to read a longer one. Okay well I better just leave it at thanks now that my response has become longer then most of the reviews.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Sammy23Songs of Calico: A Real Cool Cat

8th March 2009:
Hello. Here to review as asked :)

There were several little things that irked me while reading this but overall this seems like a very fun-loving tale. I thought that you got an 11 year olds frame of mind spot on which, IMO is a very difficult thing to do...maybe I'm just getting old... :P

Harry calling his daughter 'Mate' was a little bit odd. I'm British so it probably effects me a little more than others.

There were a few bits of Americanism in there but no too many to get annoying so that was okay.

The thing that annoyed me most (and this is probably just a personnal pet peeve) was that Lily II is an exact carbon copy of Lily I. I don't know why that gets me more than others things...it just does. Maybe it's because J.K. said that Al was the one that got the green eyes or something like that...meh.

One thing that I thought was done very well was the end of the first chapter. The way you sort of signed off the Prologue was a very nice touch and made it a great way to open the story.

Other than correcting a few little bits here and there, I thought this was very good. :)

Happy Writing.

Author's Response: =/ Sorry about all those little things, I'll try and explain them, the point is taken though. I'm glad you liked it though, I think you did anyway?

With the 'mate' thing, I wasn't actively trying to be British. Oh and I'll address the Americanism here too. I'm Australian and I tend to write as such. I can't think of any Americanisms off the top of my head, because they're the sort of thing I object to on principle. You're probably right though, that my writing isn't as 'British' as it could be.

Sorry about that, we all have our things like that I guess. I can't deal with playboy Sirius for example.
Oh did she really say that? I really need to check out canon for Next-Gen a bit more.

Oh thanks for that! I was quite worried about it to be honest.

Well I hope you found something in it to enjoy, thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Sammy23Tidal Waves: Four

8th March 2009:
Hello. Here to review as asked :)

First, I just like to say that I'm in awe of your power of description! It's beautiful! And it's natural, not to long, not to short and you don't focus on silly little minor details that have no relevance to the story. Wonderful!

I think you portrayed the guilt and sorrow that Ron was feeling very well. He's not exactly the type to share his deep emotional states with everyone, except when he's angry, and I could imagine him being a bit of a loner for a while after the battle. He does seem to go off on his own when something serious has happened.

His interactions with Hermione was nice as well. It's nice to see that they have a sort of awkwardness now that they know how they feel about each other. I think it would be difficult for them in the beginning.

The only thing I found myself wondering is where this story is actually going? Is this simply an account of what happened between the end of the battle and the epilogue or is there a proper story ark that the characters are a part of?

Other than that, this was a really enjoyable read.

Happy writing. :D

Author's Response: Hey Sammy (: I can't begin to tell you how happy I am to hear (see) that you've liked the characterizations and interactions. I'm not all that comfortable writing trio, so it kind of takes its toll on me. As for your question - which is a very good one, I might add - well, basically it's simply an account of what happened after the war and how they plucked all their fallen pieces, how they move on and all. I was thinking on labelling this as a short story collection, but I feel it's still not quite that. But there's no major plot (there was but I changed the entire story-line), just short snippets of how they dealt with everything, post-war. Overall, thank you for this great review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Sammy23After Dark: The Dark Knight

28th February 2009:
Dj, I'm disapointed. Author's Notes in the middle of the chapter? What were you thinking? That's a serious school boy error. Tisk Tisk.

Other than that, it was pretty enjoyable. Does the cliffy mean we are going to see a repeat of New Moon? Hmmm...

Anyway, Happy Writing.

Author's Response: Eep! *Bangs head against desk* I'm so sorry to have disappointed you Sammy, and after all the help you've been concerning powers and such! :( Although, you're right, that was a pretty dumb mistake to have made, I wanted to make sure the readers remembered the layout established earlier in the story so that the visual could be better enhanced. In my haste, I made a "school boy" error, one that I will most certainly be correcting. I honestly wasn't paying careful attention and it's a mistake I don't intend on making again; hopefully I have proven in previous chapters that I am not, in fact, just a "school boy."

But I'm glad you thought it was enjoyable! As for the repeat of New Moon...you'll just have to find out. ;)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Keep it jazzy,
DJjazzyCarlton


 Report Review

Review #10, by Sammy23Trying to Resist: What Goes Around, Comes Around

26th February 2009:
YAY! It's here! So far it's great! But poor old Ronnikins.

Lately all the stories I've been reading have been giving him a pretty bum deal. Either that or he is portrayed as a complete idiot...in which case I stop reading :P

This is great so far! I look forward to more :D

Author's Response: Don't worry about Ron! :D He's fine, and will even change here. I'm glad you liked it so far... :) Thanks, Sammy! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Sammy23Regretfully Yours: Deja Vu

14th February 2009:
Ooow, it's getting interesting. Still really enjoying this story.

Keep up the great writing! :D

Author's Response: Thanks Sammy! Look forward to hearing what you think about the rest. It will get a little more twisty, but nothing like yours :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Sammy23Saharan Lies: A Goddess's Wrath

14th February 2009:
Hello. Here to review :)

I love that you given this a sort of Tomb Raider/Indiana Jones feel to it. You don't see many fic's like this around even tho, with all the magical artifacts you could come up with, you'd think there would be more. I actually had an idea to write a fic about treasure hunters but I'm having a hard enough time writing a single chapter at the mo...nevermind.

The two characters seem quite intresting and you can see that there is quite a bit of tension between the two. I loved all the beast/booby traps you came up with, espcially the 'Pest' :D

The only think that I found a little confusing was why they were at that particular piramid and whether they were looking for anything important or just something that could get them a bit of cash.

Otherwise, this was very fun.

P.S. Remind me to steal your idea about using visual aids at the beginning of the chapters. :P

Author's Response: Hello Sammy, thank you very much for your review. :) Yes, I was very much inspired by those two movies, and I am rather surprised that there are not more tomb raider fics. Oh, no writing a chapter? Damn! I was hoping for an update on PE.

Haha, thank you! Grace and Black have ... tension (as you put it), to say the least. :P And Pests are a nasty bit of work. I wouldn't fancy having one hit me, personally.

Yeah, they're basically there to raid it and get a bit of cash - nothing special. They like the thrill of the action and the monetary gain. :P

Thank you again! And btw - the visual aid idea was not my own, but Rita's (llyralen) for her fic The Wasteland Chronicles III: Severance. So credit her if you decide to use it. ;)

XOXO
Kalina


 Report Review

Review #13, by Sammy23Deceiving Hearts: A Slow Decent

12th February 2009:
I really enjoyed this all the way up until the last two chapters. Ron getting with Pansy made no sense whatsoever and just seemed like a despret forced attempt to get Hermione and him to break up.

I think it's so easy to make Ron into the bad guy just so that Hermione isn't the villain when she finally gets with Draco. I think it's alot more impressive to see a writer portray Ron as the decent human being that he actually is. Having people grow apart in a relationship or simply running into common problems is alot more natural than just making them cheat for the hell of it.

But other than that, this was quite an enjoyable story to read. It was a bit different than most Dramiones and the fact that it actually included lessons deserves a big thumbs up!

Happy Writing :)

Author's Response: I agree 100%, but only because the forced feel is part of the sequel's plot. I really don't like Ron's character, but I always bring him up in the end as being a good guy. And trust me, it's not just cheating for the hell of it, which you find out in the sequel. Trust me, you'll enjoy how Ron is written in the end :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Sammy23The Wasteland Chronicles III : Severance: II: Within

27th January 2009:
Hello! Sorry it took me so long to look over this. I've been forced to study Freud for Uni and that guy just melts my brain!

Anyway...I really like what you've done with this. I've always admired people that can invent an entire universe by themselves and then place it on paper...or in this case, screen.

It's also very intresting that you have the next-gen characters as the sort of dynastopic rulers and not the oppressed which they are usually depicted as. The Political part in this chapter was epscially fun.

I'll admit, it is still a little confusing. I wish there had been some kind of prologue that gave us an idea of what set this sort of stuff in motion in the first place. Most of the big Epic's that use this kind of method i.e. LOTR, Star Wars etc. have some kind of intro so that people are less confused when they start.

I thought it was a bit strange at first to hear all the Next-Gen characters speaking like aristorcrates but considering their positions, I suppose it's okay.

Anyway, I hope this is updated soon. I would like to see how everything came together :D

 Report Review

Review #15, by Sammy23A Clandestine Reality: A Helping Hand

22nd January 2009:
Poor Ron. The guy just can't get a break can he?

His wife is leaving him and his [sort of] kid doesn't want anything to do with him and none of it is his thought. He doesn't deserve this.

For some reason I can see him becoming a bit reckless, a bit of a badass that goes looking for trouble. I don't know why, maybe I've been watching too many drama's lately. =/

Anyway, I think this was the best chappy so far because we got to see inside Ron's head. Hope that happens again :D

Update soon!

Author's Response: It will happen again, don't worry. I plan to write a part of the epilogue in his pov and another section in another chapter. I know how you feel - he really can't get a break and I feel horrible for doing this to his character. I hadn't realised how unfair I was being to his character until I re-read this.

Lol, I can see him becoming reckless as well, but for the most he will just be mopey in this story.

Thank you for the review.


 Report Review

Review #16, by Sammy23A Dying Legacy: Family

21st January 2009:
Eek! Sorry it took so long to review this. I've been getting all the offical stuff at Uni sorted.

I really like where your going with this. Espcially the part where the pure-bloods weapon has turned against them and now none of them a really safe.

I'd like to say that I feel sorry for the pure-bloods but I really don't. They brought this on themselves. But I wonder, does this also mean that the muggles are immune and might be able to help?

Orginal and wonderful as always. :D

The vomiting blood thing reminds my of 28 days later *which pwned* but the overall idea reminds me of Outbreak *which also pwned* so kudos!

Author's Response: HI Sammy! Sorry it took so long for me to respond. =S

Really ironic isn't it? But I think they deserve it. (Do I sound mean? =P)

Yes muggle are immune to it, but they can't do anything, except give blood. But it will be explained as the story goes. I don't want to give too much detail right now.

Haven't seen Outbreak yet (I think), but I loved 28 Days Later =P

Thank you so much for the review Sammy! =D

ForgottenFace


 Report Review

Review #17, by Sammy23The Sky Is Red: Chapter One

20th January 2009:
Ohh, Very Reign of Fire-ish! I like it! :D

Author's Response: oh wow, thankyou!! when i realised that we were both writing dragon stories, i thought... crap. i'm going to get OWNED. i'm really glad you like it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Sammy23Regretfully Yours: Avoiding the Truth

12th January 2009:
Oh sexy!

This is alot different and alot better than most Dramiones (dare I class it as that?) This actually has real passion and reason behind it which, I think, makes all the difference in the world!

I have to say that I truly wish I could write a sex scene like you can! I'm envious! Those are hot and now I'm going to study them maticulously to find out how you do it! :P

Brilliant story and I look forward to the next chapter!

This is Sammy, signing out.

Author's Response: I am taking this as a huge enormous compliment! I work very hard on the sex scenes, I want to make sure that they are not over the top, but still show what needs to be seen.
I think most of my Dramione's tend to be abbit different because I am not a true Dramione writter. I am too much of a Ron fan to ever really let that go.
Thanks so much for checking this out, the next chapter will be up soon (I hope, got some editing to do still, and possibly a scene to add).


 Report Review

Review #19, by Sammy23Hermione Granger and the Death Eater's Baby: Bellatrix's Secret

3rd January 2009:
Hmm...Intresting take on quite an over-done plot. It's certianly different.

I take it this is AU/OOC...FBI?...err...no ignore that one. :P

Anyway, well done.

Author's Response: lol, thanks. I'm trying to keep things from the seventh book mostly the same except that Draco's good and Ron and Hermione aren't going out and of course Fred is still alive.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Sammy23I Love You, But I've Chosen Darkness: I love you, but I've chosen darkness.

1st January 2009:
This was fun!

And I think the your dialogue was very well written. The character connections are really renhforced by the vocal interactions which is wuite rare in the fan fiction world. Most of it sounds like you are reading a TV instruction guide :P

Anyway. I like it! Happy writing :D

Author's Response: Haha, it does? As long as it's a good thing. Thanks for reviewing Sammy ^-^

 Report Review

Review #21, by Sammy23Renaissance: Investigations

23rd December 2008:
This is a really intresting story. I can't wait to read more!

P.S. I think you got Phineas Nigellus Black exactly spot on! Wonderful!

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it! Phineas was fun to write, it's good to bring the snark in when everyone else is too-polite. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Sammy23Unfaithful: The Right Choice

18th December 2008:
Brilliant!! Although that's not really surpising is...your probably the best Femslash writer on this site. :D

I like the way this ended and the Sequel sounds like it's going to be amazing! I can't wait!

Once again, Wonderful! 100/10 :D

Author's Response: Oh Sammy! Oh Sammy! You really liked "MY" femmeslash story? I feel flattered and honoured! :) Thanks for the compliment. YAY!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Sammy23Delicate: Call Me Mum

14th December 2008:
Congratz on finishing, winning the Dobby and making it onto the HPFF top 10!!

Can't wait to see what you cook up next :D

Author's Response: Thank you! Much appreciated! Merry Christmas (if you celebrate it!) :D

 Report Review

Review #24, by Sammy23A Previous Life: Something Not Quite There

10th December 2008:
Oh dear...not looking good for them is it?

Well, can't say I'm surpised. These sort of affairs usually end in tears. I'm just so happy that you have kept things realistic in this story. Most Dramione writers already have it set in their minds that Draco & Hermione will walk off hand in hand into the sunset and live happily ever after but of course, that's a bit of a stretch.

I can't wait to see the shock and horror on their faces when they find out that their kids are dating! That should be intresting. From some reason I'm getting a bit of a Romeo+Juliet vibe from Scorp and Rose...the tragidy part I mean...

I'm probably way off but nevermind. I still think that you are the best Dramione Author on this site :D

 Report Review

Review #25, by Sammy23Delicate: Blood, Sweat and Tears

3rd December 2008:
I liked the switching of POV's. It was nice to get everyones perspective on things.

Technically Rose and Scorpius are cousins so lets hope that the baby doesn't have webbed feet or something :P

Happy Writing :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>