Reading Reviews From Member: Iellwen
  
224 Reviews Found

Review #1, by IellwenWhere Are You?: Remembering.

31st August 2014:
Heya! I'm finally here for our Pit's August Review Exchange! :D

Wow, what a powerful first chapter! The guilt Rose will live with, whether Hugo survives the attack or not, will be quite the heavy burden and I'm very much looking forward to reading on! I love the idea of a Next-Gen kid not growing up in a perfectly peaceful and wonderful environment!
And the guilt Hermione will carry! She was 'too busy with paperwork' so delegated watching over Hugo to Rose; she 'chose' work over her kids and that's what happened...

Ack, that's a really messed up situation and I can't wait to read on. Will Hugo make it through? Will Rose overcome the trauma of 'failing' her younger sibling? Will Hermione overcome the horror of 'failing' her children and relying so much on her young daughter?
That's good drama right there! :D

Of course, no one is really at fault here; no one could have foreseen the attack, even with all the warnings and protection spells. They all felt safe and one tiny little mistake (if you can call not wanting to always play with your younger brother and wanting to spend a little time alone a 'mistake') escalated very quickly. I'm glad Rose isn't being held responsible (what kind of moronic adult would hold a child responsible for their short-comings, especially in such a situation?!) and I'm very much looking forward to read about her journey to recovery, if one may call it so. She will, after all, have to go through a thing or two and experience new perspectives to be able to let go of her guilt, to forgive herself...

Aah, I'm very much intrigued and I'm off to the next chapter ;)
Cheers!

*Gee

 Report Review

Review #2, by IellwenProblems: Problems

6th August 2014:
I'm here from the review tag and oh man, what an uplifting read! :D

I laughed like a hyena at "This also included those half-crazed smiles that chimpanzees do when they're in danger to warn their family" xD
The entire piece was so wonderfully written! I loved Teddy's thoughts, how awkward and nervous his is around her, how self-conscious he is...
I adored that his brain shut off - him sitting there, gaping at her, after a little small talk and being mesmerized by her finger :D

That you started and ended this one-shot with almost the same sentences was a really nice touch!!
And his grandmother possibly being a dragon?! Loved it; Teddy was probably a mischievous kid just like his mother, to bring Andromeda to such extremes xD

And the carnivorous cactus!! Brilliant!!

I love the cynical humour bits you added here and there, and kudos for writing such wonderful fluff!! ♥
Honestly, I just can't stop grinning :D

*Gee

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it. I love writing fluffy happy fics!

I'm glad you liked Teddy! He was a lot of fun to write. So awkward. So in love. So confused. So wonderful.

I'm pleased that you liked the repetition. It felt like a good way to wrap things up and link everything together since that is something with which I have the most difficulty in one-shots. And I can imagine Teddy getting into all sorts of mischief as a kid!

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I'm very happy that you are now happy :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by IellwenTrying to snog Hermione Granger: Chapter One

31st July 2014:
Hi there! I'm here from our Pit's review tag :D

Gaah, I loved this chapter! I love Dramione, I love it when guys bet they can snog her and I love it when those guys are Blaise and Draco! Also, I love Avi and that you entered her challenge! SO MUCH LOVE!! :D

I really love that Draco casually admitted that he remembered xD
You left out the word 'in', though ("Yeah, like Fifth Year!")^^

Gosh, Gregory's decision, saying it straight out (I can picture him standing there, his arms hanging by his sides and his eyes distant, looking dumb) like that was just hilarious and a wonderful way to end this chapter!

The banter between Draco, Blaise and Pansy is very smooth and flows very well, making it very credible and enjoyable to read!
I love that Pansy refused to decide for them who they'll have to snog - she has, after all, no want for Draco to go out and snog more girls, does she? ^^

It was a very entertaining read with a wonderfully light feel of teenage insouciance :D

*Gee

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the awesome review!!

Im glad you enjoyed it!!

I started to like writing Goyle so Im glad you liked him in this Chapter.
I can tell you really dis enjoy this, and I was worried about the conversations between them and flow, so thanks for clearing that up!

Thanks again and I hope you continue to read and review the rest!


 Report Review

Review #4, by IellwenThe Fire Inside: Two

30th July 2014:
Sam!! You've updated this story so quickly, I'm so happy!! ♥

How I loved this chapter!!

Stephen Odell went to school with David - as in Theodore's mentioned brother?
When Stephen found the corpse in Gringotts I had to think of Theo; did he kill that stranger? He is a powerful enough wizard, having cast shields around his Manor that even Hermione didn't recognize!
Why would he kill that stranger (who I, like Jane, hope was already dead when it happened) - to protect Hermione from the first chapter's creepo (who called Theodore 'Theo' so probably knows him personally, I now think).

I'm a bit confused because I thought Hermione was being tortured in the first chapter yet her behaviour in this one doesn't seem to fit the part - so was there another girl (I just realized my foolish assumption, as the girl is not named!) being tortured in front of Theo? The mystery thickens - I love it!

I love the way you tell the reader that Hermione counted the minutes and seconds before Harry answered - the way you give out information is, all in all, genius and a delight for the brain. Just enough to tease, not too much so as to not disrupt the flow. It makes the reader really want to skim through what you've given so far, looking for clues. ^^

I really love the dynamics between Hermione and Theodore as well as with Harry. Hermione and Theo obviously don't get along yet tolerate and endure each other for Harry's sake. Harry is hiding out, letting his wounds heal in a safe environment where he doesn't feel the pressure of being the Chosen One (which, by the way, I think is genius of you because Harry didn't like it before and it's only logical that after Voldemort's defeat, it got even worse) and even if he's living with a Slytherin (boo, evil, manipulating Slytherin that will turn him against his friends!! That made me laugh, coming from a fellow snake :D )

I ADORE Theo's views of Ron and Ginny! Very cold yet it's believable; if you twist the events and don't take their feelings into consideration, Ron really is unreliable and Ginny is very stalkish (a bit like James was with Lily ^^) so I love that you quickly showed those aspects through Theo's words!
I wonder what is his reason for disliking Hermione (besides, maybe, being forced to kill to save her?! Hehehe) and if he's just pretending not to like her when he actually does :D

I'm thinking... There's no immediate proof that the bra Hermione found belonged to one of Theo's conquests. After, Harry's a guy, too ;)
Ah, so typical of Griffies, immediately assuming the worst of us snakes! xD

I'm very much looking forward to reading about Harry and Hermione's quiet breakfast, because I'm expecting something to go (terribly) wrong but can't forsee what :p
I'll be regularly shaking you (hey, since it seems to work! ;) ) for the next update!!

This was an awesome chapter that I loved reading! ♥

*Gee

Author's Response: Hey!

I basically updated it just for you, so I'm very glad you liked it. :D

Stephen went to school with David, who is Theodore's mentioned father. Theo is an only child. Stephen is his godfather.

Did Theodore kill that man? That is a question which will be answered in chapter three... I think. No, I'm sure it will. Why the man died won't become clear for a while, or why he was targeted won't be. Theo and the bad guy will be revealed at the end.

The plot thickens - who is this girl that was not Hermione? ;)

Thanks. I love writing mysteries for that reason - clues. I put clues to all my subplots in all my stories, but mysteries are the best because I know people are looking for them and I get to wonder if they've found the right one. ;)

Hermione is very concerned for Harry. Every second he's silent is a second she's afraid of what's going on in his head.

They really don't like each other, though Hermione's is maybe more superficial than his. She doesn't really know him, only what she's seen so far. Whereas he has is reasons, though they only mean something to him and can be seen as selfish to others. They're both as bad as each other. Harry definitely needs that distance, a safe environment away from almost everything to do with magic with someone who understands a little more than others.

Haha! That made me smile writing it. We have such a bad rep. They're bound to think it.

I sat down and I looked at them through Theo's eyes and it definitely fits it you don't take feelings into consideration, which he doesn't because he doesn't like them (okay, he may be willing to put up with Ron more than the others, but only a little). Hermione will figure out why his opinion of them, or of Ginny mostly, is so cold later.

Maybe it didn't belong to either... ;)

Thank you so much for leaving a review! And yes, continue to shake.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #5, by IellwenHogwarts Reclaimed: Slytherin - lady_devil

28th July 2014:
Hello, fellow Slytherin! ♥

I love that you chose to write about Harry and Draco making peace!!

I really love that the both of them hesitated a bit before they managed to talk (their relationship is, after all, awkward and strained) and I adore that Harry said 'one step at a time'!
Also, it makes sense that the Malfoys were 'spared' after the fall of Voldy, because Narcissa lied to protect Harry!

That the two boys parted using their first names was a really nice touch and symbolically means a lot.
This was very nicely written and an entertaining read!

*Gee

 Report Review

Review #6, by IellwenHarry Potter and the Plot of Power: 03 Better Off Dead

27th July 2014:
I thought it a very nice touch, that you started this chapter with something sweet about two friends that are still unaffected by what's going on! An asthmatic yet enthusiastic Alex (I wonder who his Godfather is!) and metamorphogus Nico (and his evil step-mum ^^) already give a good feel and I can already expect good, fun companionship and am very much looking forward to further interactions between them!!:D

I love that the Muggle Miller was moronic enough to make a remark about what an odd name Scamader is - considering Ron and Harry's reaction in the previous chapter, the dude is indeed quite daft. Or heartless.
I also love very much that Ron lost it for a few seconds and blamed Lorcan for Hugo's disappearance - it may not be right, but he's a parent, his kid is missing and the one he was with was just found murdered. Ron has a right to be a bit hysterical (I can't imagine what Hermione will be like!)

Man, the scene when Harry and Ron wait for Luna to react, for her to process the information - her tears, questions and denial! Very touching!!

And I do hope Hugo will be kind of okay, having giving away who his uncle is (which is probably [or not] better for him considering...) and I'm very excited about reading on!
I'm very much looking forward to your next update ;)

Great story so far, with a wonderfully twisted and dark mystery!!

*Gee

 Report Review

Review #7, by IellwenHarry Potter and the Plot of Power: 02 Cassandra's Gift

26th July 2014:
Review swap! :)

I read the prologue and found it so intriguing that I just had to read on (also because I just don't see the point of reviewing a chapter with already more than, in this case, 40(?!) reviews - when swapping, I find it nicer and maybe more useful to look for a chapter with less feedback ^^) and before I start reading the fourth chapter (or third, depending on the prologue counting as one or as O ^^), I have to relieve my brain through a review ^^

At first, I was a bit put off because I assimilate the name Cassandra with maryhead's OC and had real difficulties not picturing the blond, one-legged soldier that [in this case, the 'other'] is Cassandra. And with her creepy boss that scares her from the prologue, I immediately thought of the Colonel or Bill Thompson.
I realize that this paragraph is mainly rambling about another fanfic, but I know that you've read [at least] the first chapter of The Lost Wolf, so you know what I'm talking about ;)
About that; don't worry, I saw that you published the first chapter(s) for this story in 2012 whereas the Lost Wolf is fresh on the archive :)
Also! Your summary (almost) immediately had me think of Atermis Fowl (the 'Opal's Deception' tome) where the really angry Opal uses humans and their technology to betray the Folk and aims for bloody revenge ^^ And I love the Artemis Fowl books ;)
I love that a wizard betrayed the Wizarding World and gave away magic secrecy for his revenge!
Anyway - the second I got over my personal 'issues' (for lack of better word?^^) was right when I started reading the second chapter (or the first, considering the prologue as O). Why? Because I'm actually really, really not a big fan of the Ron/Hermione 'ship.
Yet you made me think their interactions were adorable, natural and very credible. :D

I love that this story is set further in the future of the Next-Gen; that Hermione's hair is greying and that she's showing wrinkles, that she and Ginny are plotting (I can so picture them sitting and talking about their hubbies, telling each other the reasons why the guys should retire than telling them outright, gently pushing them towards retirement! xD)

I wonder what M.A.L stands for! (So far I have 'mal' means 'bad' in French ^^) And what kind of research they are conducting (I'm sorry for bringing it up again, but having OC Cassandra involved in some kind of research involving human beings and accidental deaths here and there, being so cold and distant like a 'real' scientist and so on, I had to think of Cassie (maryhead's Cassandra) and the 'Kid A' chapter ^^ It has nothing to very little to do with your story, I just like to ramble about the random thoughts and connections in my brain. Sorry ^^')
My first thought about the research and experimenting going on, based on what I've read so far, is that it obviously involves magic in some way. Are they trying to extract magic and it that why some subjects die? I have obviously no idea what they're planning beyond monitoring some test-subjects and burying others.
That's creepy.
^^'

Pah! I can't even feel a little bit sorry for Marion Johnson's hurt pride. Boo-hoo, she was praised but has to announce a little problem about the thugs (or whatever they are) they are paying to kill innocent (or... are they...? *dum-dum-dum*) youth.
I love that you created antagonists that I can really, really hate. :D

Gaah! I was so relieved to read that the body wasn't Hugo but heartbroken that it was a Scamander!
That was very mean of you, toying with my emotions like that!

I'm a bit scared to read on because the summary for the next chapter states Harry and Ron are breaking the news to their friend - meaning they're off to tell Luna about Lorcan.
Honestly, I think Luna will be shocked at first, seemingly calm, make herself strong for her husband and Lysander - but the second she gets her hands on Hoffman and Frankford (btw, very German, the names ^^ Me likey!) and the rest of the weirdos working for the blood-thirsty, revenge-seeking sociopath Death-Eater that is after Harry Potter, his loved ones and magic itself, the second Luna gets her hands on any of those, she'll go bananas.

Great story so far, Rosie!! There's a great mystery shrouding the plot (I love mysteries and conspiracies!^^) and the few OCs you have here and there have their appeal. The canon characters you write wonderfully (I love that Harry went and pranked Ron ^^), all are very enticing and definitely makes me want to read on (even if 'Better Off Dead' really scares me^^).

Thank you for swapping!!
Feel free to notify me when the next chapter is up, in case I miss it ;)

*Gee

 Report Review

Review #8, by IellwenMelting: His Mother's Eyes

23rd July 2014:
I'll shamelessly snag the first review ♥

Oh the goosebumps, the chills and the feels you just gave me!! All under a 1,000 words, so I am even more amazed by your genius!

I love Snape and I love that you used the first person to write his POV, making the read all the more intense.
These are, after all, his final thoughts - all the more touching and credible that they are about Lily.
His Lily.
Always.

A very emotional read, great job!
Kudos for writing this!!

*Gee

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! This just made my day :D aww, you are so sweet!!! X

 Report Review

Review #9, by IellwenThe Fire Inside: One

22nd July 2014:
Heya Sam!
Reviewing for our Pit's July Review Exchange :)

I am so angry and frustrated right now, you have no idea - so I'll tell you. ;)
This prologue is awesome and I want f not need to know what happens next.
What does Theo have to find and retrieve from Gringotts? Is this to save Hermione? Who was the guy that tortured her?

Honestly, you write a short, attention-catching prologue like this one and don't upload the second chapter?! I ought to find you and shake it out of you.

I love that Theodore was angry inside yet resigned and broken, so much he could not yell or scream, only able to whisper. That his pain was so strong he became numb.

I'm thinking the evil guy can't be Voldemort because Theo was pushed out of a moving car. But 'He' has henchmen to push Theo out of said moving car, so obviously an influential bad guy. I really want to know more about 'him'!

Theo is in such a bad shape! Already falling on his face and breaking his nose, then being thrown on the street mercilessly for him to bleed even more - all his endures for 'her' sake. ♥

Will he kill to save her life? Will he?!
TELL ME, SAM! TELL ME!!!
*sigh*
You've broken me for today. I've read those 600 words of five times by now. I really can't imagine what could happen next. You've reduced me to Theo's first state and I am begging you - not to stop, but to continue.
Please? Pretty please?
With a cherry on top?

All in all, a great first chapter and prologue :D
You better update soon or I'll come and hiss at you in the Pit!


*Gee
P.S: you do understand that my threatening and yelling is purely my cold-blooded way to show affection, right? ^^

Author's Response: Hello!

Wow, such a mega review for a little chapter! I'm glad you liked it that much. Thank you!

You'll find out something about Gringotts in the next chapter. Not the whole story, just the ending. But that's the beauty of a mystery. ;)

Is it to save Hermione? Ooh, you'll probably figure that one out in the next chapter as well. The guy will be back. :)

Well, you did. You shook and now the next chapter is almost done. :P

Oh, Theo. It killed me, but I enjoyed writing it.

No, it's not Voldemort. This is post-war. And as canon as I can make it, despite what the pairing says. This is something I imagine in my headcanon for after the war. You'd think post-war headcanon would be happy... Mwahahahah! *cough* No, it's not.

Will he kill to save her life? He'd do anything... ;)

I'm definitely continuing, don't worry. :

Thank you for the amazing review!

Sam.

P.S. I'd expect nothing less from a fellow snake. :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by IellwenIn The Hogshead: In The Hogsgead

16th July 2014:
Here for our Pit's Review Tag ♥

At first I thought this one-shot was new on your AP then noticed you wrote it in 2011 - WHY DIDN'T THIS GET MORE REVIEWS?!

By the first quarter of the one-shot, I was grinning and thinking 'Oh, how cute' then thought they were having a lover's spat and got curious about Cedric's having to leave.
Then I got goosebumps and a bad feeling.

I love that she yelled when he didn't answer and that he soothed her as he could when she started breaking stuff.
Resigned, loving yet painful.

The tug of grief.
The madness of loss.

Though (and that's my personal opinion) all the emotional blubber that built up in me evaporated at the last sentence. I really expected her to sit on the floor and cry hysterically, alone and in pain, and that I would cry with her.

It was still a very, deeply emotional read and a wonderful insight on Cho's grief after Cedric's death.
It made me want to read more about their relationship, even though I never found it really interesting until now ^^

Thank you for the read and for writing this!!

*Gee

Author's Response: Awww thanks!!!

And yeah I didnt thought it was so horrible to get so little reviews -_-

That was the point, you think its good, you see there's something more to it then fluff then it gets emotional and then bam. I felt it was expected to end that way so I chose a different way, so I think I done that lol.

I'm realllyyy glad you enjoyed it and made you want to read more about them,
this review made me really happy!!
Again, thank you so much for a awesome review!!



 Report Review

Review #11, by IellwenExplosion: Squealing Piglets and Bachelorr's

14th July 2014:
Aah, that was cute :)

I love that Harry not only has a crush on Luna but even confides in Ginny!

And yes, well, a pigeon - beggars can't be choosers xD
Bwahaha!! Piglet squeal!

Noo, Malfoy! Don't put your shirt back on!!!

Author's Response: Wow thanks so much for reviewing! I just love Harry and Luna together as well as the thought of Ginny and Harry being close friends.
And pigeons, you gotta make do with what you've got!
I piglet squeal for a lot of things! Prime example, Draco Malfoy.
I understand your emotions. I would never want hime to put a shirt on either! :D
IoMC


 Report Review

Review #12, by IellwenEvent 3: Fear Appears: Boggart.

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 :)

I'm slowly starting to really, really like the Next-Gen and this one-shot was really sweet!!

I love that Victoire was ready Homer when she heard the Boggart and that she really wasn't expecting it, because that made her fear and pain towards its transformations even stronger.

Hers is a terrible fear, the same as Molly and a fear that is born of love, hence seemingly impossible to overcome. The fear of losing all your loved ones, of watching them die as you helplessly stand there and cry, unable to do anything else.

Dominique was really harsh, considering what just happened! This is my first time reading about her being a grumpy and harsh person (again, I'm new to the whole Next-Gen ^^)

This was a very interesting take on overcoming adversity! Victoire suffers through her fears of losing everyone yet does not let it drag her down and she does not forget to use Ridikkulus properly.
As a reward, she gets to hug her sister that is alive and well.

This was a very ending, kudos for writing this!!


*Gee

Author's Response: Hey Gee!

I personally LOVE the Next-Gen so much! Thank you!

(I love Homer so much!- Classics is quite literally one of my favourite subjects ever- that and Harry Potter of course!)
Seeing as Victoire wasn't ready and had already been slagging of her family mentally, the boggart would have been exaggerating.

I see as the head female of the family, (Teddy being an honorary head male and overall), she has a reputation to uphold and a family to take care of. She probably feels responsible for them, which is why I believe that would be her fear.

I see Dominique as quite a no-nonsense sort of girl who enjoys pranking and mostly being one of the guys- although a very beautiful, quite feminine one! It could be considered as different to a lot of stories but since we don't have a lot to go on with Next Gen (we just know their names!), we can create whoever we like!

Well, I'm glad you think it was interesting. She had to overcome adversity for this one, but that comes in many different shapes and sizes so it was a broad title.
Yep! Happy Ending!

Thanks so much for reading, reviewing and saying such sweet and nice things! It means a lot!

ScoroseOTP
Emz xxx


 Report Review

Review #13, by IellwenMr. Potter: Chapter One and Only

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review.

That was a very interesting POV! I'm a big fan of the Ginny/Harry 'ship and always appreciate a good interaction :)

I really like that Ginny worries about Harry's troubled past and his nightmares and wants to help him. She's always been kind and caring.
I wonder if she asked Harry the questions she asked herself or if she's comfortable with just keeping on guessing what her husband suffers through.
Most of it, she knows anyway so she'd really have little gain from asking ^^

I love that she is devoted and compassionate enough to suffer with him, to endure his pain with him.
The best kind of love is not judgmental; she stays at his side for the better as well as the worse, shouldering him and his burdens without trying to tell him how she thinks he should get some closure.
As well as a wife, she is his friend.

This one-shot was really sweet and warm.
It was fun reading :)

*Gee

 Report Review

Review #14, by IellwenRose-Coloured Glasses: Real beaches have sand

12th July 2014:
In the name of the House Cup 2014, I review thy story! :D
(Go Slytherin! Hehe^^)

Since she was in Perpignan until now, in the warm and sunny South of France, no wonder poor Jeanette got used to the
warm ocean ^^
Quick question about your OC, though: did you purposely give her a boyish nickname? (Because Jean is a boy's name ;) ) Not that's it in any way bad or anything, I'm just curious ^^

Wow, that was a cold reaction from Dominique; you don't see your sister for two years, she shows up on the doorstep because of the wedding and okay, you have a right to be a little angry and ask where she hid this whole time... But man, Dom is a grumpy gal.

I really love that you used Maugis as a Merlin equivalent :D You just set me back 15 years, when I was still a kid and we talked about Charlemagne at school xD
Anyway, really nice touch ^^

I wonder why did Jeanette go to France in the first place beyond her mother's roots? Also, are you placing Beauxbâtons in the south of France, near Perpignan? :)


Ooh, Teddy feels a bit disgusting as a man... Especially considering he's to get married and can't even tell his future sister-in-law that he's looking forward to it. I mean, even if you get cold feet, LIE! Except if he's trying to impress Jeanette somehow, to let her know he's not entirely bound to another just yet.
Which is disgusting behaviour so, yeah, beurk is really appropriate xD

But well, you know when you want to sunbathe naked on a non-nudist beach, no matter the country, you're bound to be stared at. ^^
About staring, I wonder if Jeanette seriously thinks there is nothing hotter than an unfaithful husband? o_0

Considering Fleur is a quarter Veela and Charlie isn't a full-fledged Werewolf, I was surprised by the importance you place on the Veela and Werewolf blood, as it influences their looks and Victoire's temper. :D

This was a really interesting and original first chapter! I'd definitely be interested in reading more about Jeanette, find out what she did in France during those two years and if the wedding is going to go as planned or if some mad, chaotic disaster is going to ruin it ^^ Teddy seems to be unable to focus on his fiancee (ack, no accents allowed ^^') and shows really unwanted attention towards Jeanette, so I'm expecting chaos ;)

Feel free to notify me when the next chapter is up, in case I miss it ;)

*Gee

Author's Response: Ahahaha hello - you Slytherins are a tenacious bunch ;)

About Jeanette's nickname - I grew up with a nan named Jean, and so I'm pretty accustomed to it being more feminine, though I know it's a masculine name. My Jeanette is the kind of ungirlish girl, so having a masculine nickname really suits her personality, I reckon - but we'll get to know her better further on down the track to discover it more ;)

Dom is a really grumpy girl, but she is happy to see Jean beneath it all - as we'll discover further on too.

Jean's a pretty enigmatic character, I reckon, and the reasons for her moving to France come together bit by bit as we get further on in the story!! And I haven't made Beauxbatons in Perpignan, we'll understand the significance of southern France as the story progresses ;)

Teddy is a bit of a slimebag, and Jean's not squeaky-clean either, so I totally get why you're repelled with all the unfaithfulness - be warned, it's a factor prevalent throughout this story, though it isn't my foremost theme, don't worry :D

I will most definitely be notifying you when the next chapter is up, and thank you so so so much for this review, it was awesome!!! :') Good luck in the Cup!

Cheers,
Jo


 Report Review

Review #15, by IellwenThe Mirror: The Mirror

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review! :)

Ooh, I love that she didn't think of her deepest dream until she sees it in the mirror! Because Bellatrix is entirely devoted and loyal to her Lord, her first, second and third thoughts are for him and him only - but what about her secret, deeply hidden thoughts? The ones pushed back so far away even she had no idea she had them! I love that she was a bit surprised yet not enough to reject the idea...
The thought of her wanting Lord Voldemort accept her, acknowledge her as strong and even his equal, as he pays homage to her! Genius.

Having the imaginary scene take place on the heaps of piles of corpses just reinforces that Bellatrix is really, deeply and truly twisted. And evil. And barking mad. :D

I love that you had Bellatrix look into the mirror then switched to the final Battle and her death. I think it fits that Bellatrix was fighting and thinking that the battle is already won, that a part of her thoughts were concentrated on the future glory of killing as many as possible for her Lord to be proud or happy.

After reading this one-shot, I'm thinking the only reason Bellatrix was defeated was because she wasn't fully concentrated on the battle at hand - until now I thought she had simply underestimated Molly and gotten too comfortable. ^^

It was a really interesting and fun read! Kudos for writing it! :D

*Gee

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for the review first of all.

That was exactly what I was thinking when I put her on top, Slytherins are ambitious, sure she's probably happy with how things are as far as her and Voldemort are concerned, but there was always going to be a part of her that wants more.

Oh she is totally insane... she needed sedation in a mental institution, not being driven more insane by death eaters...

I'm not entirely sure that putting that spin on her death was my intention... I think it's more that she thought she was two steps ahead of Molly when she wasn't and took it for granted that she could allow herself not to concentrate properly.

I'm glad you enjoyed it... and thanks again for reviewing... :D

LR
x


 Report Review

Review #16, by IellwenMugshot: Mugshot

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!! :)

This is definitely one of the best Bellatrix POV's I've read so far! Wow, that was intense!!

I love that you kept most of her thoughts short and that you didn't even start them with a capital, because that's Bellatrix's mind, it's not 'proper' and 'ordered' per usual so it'd be even more chaotic during her stay in Azkaban.

I really love that she punched the wall until her fists bled, just so see there's still something warm in her even though she's locked away in the cold cell, surrounded by Dementors - even though it surprised me at first that Bellatrix would want to feel warmth, this is not under normal context and she's somewhat human in the end :)

I also love that she thought of her sisters, yearning for them close and laughing, because even though Bellatrix is scary crazy, she'd still defend Narcissa with her life if may be and I like to think that, deep down inside, she feels regret for losing Andromeda. As you wrote her rotting away in her cell, I can believe that Bellatrix would only admit to herself that one time, that she misses Andromeda's laugh even if she 'betrayed' her blood.

And for all the compassion I started to feel for Bellatrix, you added the bits with spiders - I'm not actually fond of spiders but I'm not a fan of animal cruelty either, so I squirmed with the arachnid as its legs were pulled of or as the other was squished...
I love that Bellatrix didn't let Azkaban ruin her lust for pain and destruction :D

This was a great read!
Kudos on writing it!! :)

*Gee

 Report Review

Review #17, by IellwenA Pain Worse Than Death: The Road To Insanity

11th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review
Go SLYTHERIN! :)

I really love that you wrote a one-shot about Alice and Frank Longbottom - I'm pretty sure that's the first time I ever read about them! And I just know I've never read anything about their torture before.
So this was a very interesting and refreshing read!

There were a few repetitions that disrupted the flow and descriptions a bit (i.e: knife, cold, ice...) but I really enjoyed reading about Alice wishing upon the sweet release of death as pain washes over her, as she is tortured to insanity by Bellatrix and other Deatheaters...
And I love that her tortured mind just kind of 'clicked' and broke, gave way. Kind of like a rebooting. ^^

I love that you didn't use dialogs for this POV because the more I think about it, the more I feel that they would've ruined the mood and the intensity of your narration :)

That was really interesting and entertaining read!

*Gee

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely review x

 Report Review

Review #18, by IellwenHis most faithful follower: The death of her!

11th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014.

Bellatrix is a handful to write and it takes a lot of hatred and bitterness to get her insanity to show properly ^^
Considering this one-shot focuses on her death and last thoughts, you wrote her very, very mild. For a moment there, I thought I was reading about Molly's thoughts at the time or about a slightly angry Narcissa ^^

Anyway. That was a really interesting idea, writing about the last thoughts of Bellatrix Lestrange!
I like that she focused on getting her hands on Harry, to kill him and make her Lord happy, until the 'plan' changed.

I like that this one-shot ends with Voldemort screaming in fury and pointing his wand at Molly, the witch responsible for his most loyal supporter's death; it's almost like he cared about Bellatrix and that her death saddened him ^^

This was an interesting read :)

*Gee

 Report Review

Review #19, by IellwenA kindess: A kindess

11th July 2014:
Reviewing for the House Cup 2014
So I'm wandering on the archives looking for Bellatrix fanfictions and stumbled upon yours - since you've written this in 2008 and have not posted other stories since, I have to expect you might never read this, but still. I think this one-shot deserves at least one review :)

That was a very disturbing read xD Not that I expected either of them to be canon (after all, your summary had Voldemort and love in one sentence ^^) but I really didn't expect this either :D
You surprised me in a good way :)

In a way, it was indeed very kind of Voldemort to give his most loyal follower what she dreamed of, even if it cost her her life in the end. One has to twist the limits of logic but after a few seconds of deep thinking, I can see the kindness :D
Though I really couldn't picture Voldemort kneeling in front of Bellatrix as she undresses him of even uttering the words 'make love to me'. Heck, him saying the word 'love' will forever be a strange notion! xD

This was a very interesting read! I can feel you had fun writing it :D

*Gee

 Report Review

Review #20, by IellwenOf Fallng and Nightmares: My one and only chapter

11th July 2014:
Reviewing for the House Cup 2014!

You have a few typos here and there as well as some spacing issue :/ But nothing major and I managed to understand it all pretty well, not being English and all ;) For example: 'monstasity' I understood 'monstrosity' or 'jelious' as 'jealous', etc... As far as I'm concerned, one or two typos aren't that big a deal... But when it's one almost every ten word, I have to wonder; how fast did you type this? Hehe ^^

It's very interesting that you chose Hermione to have nightmares about falling endlessly down, when one stops to consider the [modern?] interpretation of the dream. Falling down supposedly holds, among other meanings, the signification of little self-confidence and fears in general (yeah, that's a silly interpretation, I agree^^) and I've read somewhere it also held the meaning of disappointment/feeling betrayed.
So that nightmare definitely fits in your Hermione's thought pattern :)

It's been a while since I've read a Hermione/Harry shipping, so that was somewhat refreshing :D (I was actually looking for Bellatrix action^^)
I wonder who HE/HIM was? Voldemort? 'Long and disgusting fingernails' could also mean Greyback?

Anyway! T'was an interesting read!! :D

*Gee

 Report Review

Review #21, by IellwenMania: Mania

11th July 2014:
For the House Cup 2014, I was looking for stories to review and felt like reading about Bellatrix; boy, am I glad that I read this!

This is wonderfully, beautifully twisted! And hateful and despicable, yet the yearning and vulnerability made it fascinating.
Honestly, I had never really picture Bellatrix being anything close to passionate with her husband, but the way you've described it just fits... Mutual destruction.
They use each other, whether they like it or not, as tools to release their anger.

I love that Bellatrix is drawn to the pain she knows his eyes have seen as he inflicted it.
I also love that you managed to make a companionship out of the Lestrange couple, even so twisted (but this is Bellatrix we're talking about, it couldn't possibly have been of butterflies and rainbows! ^^) and self-destructive as described!!

And that she tastes blood and he smiles? Almost as if to state; 'yeah, you drew blood but that's what make the adrenaline pump!' WOW!

Also, I'm very impressed that you managed to pack to much information so smoothly with only 500 words!!! That is quite the impressive feat and you have my awe! :D

*Gee

 Report Review

Review #22, by IellwenThe Grim's Curse: The Grim's Curse

11th July 2014:
In the name of the House Cup 2014, I review thy one-shot! :D

I really liked that you wrote this in the first person, slightly confusing the reader as to whom is narrating at first (I thought it was a banshee^^), and you've done a bang-up job with the first person! :) Also, I love that I can't figure out if the Whisp is female or male or neither xD So I'll refer to it as OC ^^

I love that you created the Whisp (at first I thought, will-o'-the-wisp? but then read your A/N) as a 'Wacky OC' because that's an interesting feature! I wonder, is she kind of like a Seer (only she really sees the Grim Riper, unlike Trelawney ^^) and looks like a 'normal' human or is her appearance also affected by the curse? Or is the Whisp not a psychic aspect but an actual creature? (Sorry, I'm probably overthinking this, please take no offense ^^')

Also, I'm really curious about the terrible future that awaits the next generation! Have you thought of continuing this story or with this OC? I would be really interested in reading about this too!!
I'm really interested in OC's curse of the Grim - what kind of curse is it? Was OC born with? OC seems to be resigned, used to the curse and the death she sees.

OC must be terribly lonely, being rejected and ignored, doomed to foresee the deaths of all around itself... What a terrible curse it is, you see it yet cannot prevent it, for the sake of all...

That was a really great read, even if the tone is very dark (hey, I looked for Angsty and got what I wanted!! ^^) so thank you for writing it!!

*Gee

Author's Response: Hello, Gee! I am very happy you liked this story. I'll answer some questions for you.

She/He is a human with a curse. They look just like a normal child, just perhaps act sort of autistic to the people around him/her... They may even think the child is somewhat autistic.

I have not decided whether this person is female or male, I left this up to the reader to decide (in this one shot anyway).

I would like to think about making a full story to this(and even other types of Whisps), my thoughts on this were to be that the Grim offered a "loving" mother or father a choice; die and go to the underground, or sacrifice their child for eternal life in the current world. The parent chose to sacrifice their child, and thus how the curse begins. The child is really of no use to the Grim, other than for entrainment of terrorizing an innocent soul.

The Whisp actually interacts with The Grim, and I have even thought of allowing her/him to speak directly to the Grim by voice or telepathically, they need to communicate somehow.



 Report Review

Review #23, by IellwenWarning: There are no cliches present in this story: Illogical

10th July 2014:
I was looking for my next House Cup 2014 Review and couldn't look away from the title :D And darn you, you said no cliches in your summary, too! ;)

Ooooh, how I laughed!!! I recognized so many of the thousands of Dramione I read over the years - heck there were even more than those cliches (shame, accents mess up the script :/ )!

Your description of Hermione?! HILARIOUS - walking around aimlessly carrying books because she's a bookworm (duuuh) and of course she's suddenly hot and girls wanna be her and boys want her, and Draco the Sex God!!

I could definitely feel the drama in THIS IS A FLASHBACK !! XD
I love how you point out all the flaws of 'bad' Dramione with such great writing that it's just incredibly fun to read, that's a huge feat!

I love the flat dialogs xD The snide comments in the narration about Draco's chiseled chest!! :D How you skip the poor plot twist and have them simply said it out right and incorporate the notion of the writer XD

Angsty Harry was hilarious! :D (say that three times in a row ^^)

AND THE IPOD!! - RAAH I can't list everything, that would take away the purpose of this awesome one-shot!!

My favourite (though it was hard to pick) sentence was: "I never saw this coming!" because at that point, my sides were hurting and it's good I didn't manage to roll off my bed!

I snorted and giggled in the middle of the night like a madwoman!!
I simply adore your sarcasm! ♥


*Gee

 Report Review

Review #24, by IellwenThe Mirror: Mirror, Mirror

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!! :)

I really love how you built up the romance to that huge slap in the face in the end. :D He just lied straight out didn't he? ^^
I was really expecting something else entirely so I couldn't help but chuckle (then I felt guilty, because poor Hermione^^) at the thought of Draco beating Voldemort and taking his place! And that he wants to make his father beg?
That is so arrogantly evil and twisted of him, I love it!!

And poor Hermione is hopelessly, truly in love with him while he... well... lives up to the Malfoy reputation, one might say :D
I wonder though, does he even love her a bit in your scenario or is he just entirely using her for some purpose? ^^

That was a really fun (and very surprising, hence doubling the fun!^^) read, thank you for writing it!!
There is something very free in the way you write, it's a delight to read :)

*Gee
GO SLYTHERIN ;)

 Report Review

Review #25, by IellwenThe Fool's Journey: The Fool

10th July 2014:
Me again ;)
House Cup 2014.

In my previous review, I forgot to mention two things;
1. I love your use of the cards Sybill uses and that you obviously know your Tarot (or researched it very well^^)
2. You're story's title is very endearing to me because of a little story told in a manga called Fruits Basket (by Natsuki Takaya) called the Foolish Traveler - anyway, that's just a side note to my personal feelings ^^ Having gotten to know your story's Fool a little, I can safely assume the one has nothing to do with the other :D In short; I like your title. ^^'


Colin is a Muggle; thinking of taking a picture and being surprised at Gellert's 'talent' yet not afraid (nor was he at the thought of running into wolves) and calmly asking for assistance instead of asking question after question - I can maybe start to see what some would call him a fool.

Aah Grindelwald - I love that Colin meets in a forest xD (because as you probably know, 'Wald' means 'Forest' in German ^^) and the he gets off with a wrong idea of Dumbledore because of Gellert's reaction!

I was a bit confused that Colin didn't understand how Gellert knew he was headed for the village... Because he just told him... "I need to get to the village. You can’t leave me in the forest." :/ Maybe I misunderstood something, though xD

Also, is Dobby already working for the Kitchen of the castle in this story? :D I'm not complaining, just asking (and thinking of how cool it'd be for Dobby never to have worked for the Malfoys :D)

I really love the descriptions of the forest (is it the Forbidden one?^^) and the village - very vivid and detailed without too much unnecessary information that could bore a lazier reader or even worse, slow down the flow. Your descriptions are perfectly balanced! Leaving just enough wiggle room for the reader's own imagination without completely lacking a solid base.


Oooh, what has started? I need to know :D
I'll be looking forward to the next chapters!! I'm officially hooked!! :D

*Gee

Author's Response: Hey again! :) So great to see you back again!

Gah, thank you so much! I do actually have a set of Tarot cards, and a little book which explains them all in it, so most of the information on the cards and symbolism and all comes from there. Haha, no worries, thanks! I'm glad you like it - it just seemed so fitting given the Tarot theme that I had to use it! :P

Colin isn't a muggle, but in the books wandless magic is really hard to do and Gellert doesn't seem to have a wand in this scene, so that's more where the surprise came from (though I can totally see where you got that from - I might edit to make it more obvious...). But yeah, he is pretty foolish - not worried, very naieve... but he's so sweet to write, really! :)

Yes, haha! I'm so glad someone got that - I thought it was so ironic, given his name (I only speak a little German, though) so it seemed fitting, and the forest made it a lot easier settings-wise... and yeah, Gellert doesn't really help with that... poor Colin :P

Ooh, thanks so much for pointing that out! That is, in fact, a mistake, so I'll go back and change it asap! Thanks again! :)

Dobby in this is already working in the castle, yes. I haven't really decided if he ever worked for the Malfoys in this, as it's not overly important, but I might think on it later ;)

Gah, thank you so much! I write a lot of description so I'm always worried it's too much and bogging things down, so I'm so glad it works well! :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review, and I'm so glad you like this story - it's something of a guilty pleasure for me, haha.

Aph xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>