Reading Reviews From Member: Sunflower
  
92 Reviews Found

Review #51, by SunflowerSaccharine: Story of a Murder: I: Dead Roses

16th December 2008:
well this certainly looks interesting!! I can't wait to read more, the whole plot lured me in. The story was very very well-written, I loved the part where we were in the mind of the killer and also the writing style you used with him/her.
Might I suggest that you put dates on the days, I'm assuming the Thursday is before the tragic Friday where Rose dies, but it seems slightly confusing since we go back and then forward again. (the Saturday is the day after her murder) So a set of dates may be of help.

Can't wait to read more!!

10/10 wonderful, my dear :]

 Report Review

Review #52, by SunflowerHold Back The Tears: Prologue

14th December 2008:
Hey, your requested review:]
You have some grammar mistakes here and there in the story, one is this: in the short summary of the chapter-thingy: loose is lose.

- He was the boy who was your first kiss, most likely in a game of truth-or-dare. He would be the type of kid who would take you to the school balls or dances if you didnít have a date. He would dance to your favorite songs. He was the best friend you had ever dreamed of. He was omnipresence in your life, wasnít he, and I bet that you couldnít ever think of life without him. -WOW!! amazing... absolutely breathtaking. I adored that part. so heartfelt, and so so sad. Beautiful.

The way you write captures the reader and makes us want to read on, very well done!

It was a very well written chapter, I loved it all and youve got me hooked. Cant wait to read the next!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing. I'm so glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #53, by SunflowerLily and Me: Elly

9th December 2008:
wow... that was... sad and... kinda creepy?

While I lie here, in the darkness of the night, just on the edge of going into 'The Forgotten' and I can see movement in the shadows, I should tell you who I am.
- this part doesn't work for me quite; the last part seems very sudden and doesn't really fit with the rest.

either it should be;
While I lie here, in the darkness of the night, just on the edge of going into 'The Forgotten' where I can see movement in the shadows, I should tell you who I am.

or

While I lie here, in the darkness of the night, just on the edge of going into 'The Forgotten', I should tell you who I am.

other than that this was a really nice piece - not that fluffy I'd say but it gave a whole new perspective on things.

Congrats on the ending: it was totally unexpected that Lily would be dead.

I thought it was very sad: to be lost and not be found before your owner is gone. I wouldn't think I would be with her forever because she wouldn't be there, she would be like him, unmovable. Dead. But, yeah, guess it's a bear's pov :P

It was a very very nice and different story:]

Author's Response: thank you.
I'll change the part that you pointed out =]
I wrote this because I like doing different POV's that haven't been done before.
And about the ending, the bear will live on forever and ever, and it doesn't really think about the fact that it's owner is dead, just that its back with her.
thanks!


 Report Review

Review #54, by SunflowerWords Unspoken: Things Not Said

9th December 2008:
hey, Sunflower from the forums to fulfill your request!

This was beautiful, I couldn't sense at all that you dislike this ship. The characterisation of Harry was magnificent; the whole scene in the wedding chamber was amazing and so sad, it was perfect, especially the last line where he tells Hermione, 'Be happy'.
The ending was extremely good as well, Harry would never have reached out and taken Hermione from Ron; he would rather sulk by himself (forgive me for saying this) and live on in misery, knowing that Hermione and ron are happy. Always self-sacrificing.

This part I loved:

Harry wanted to wipe her tears but knew he couldn't. Not only was he forbidden to look at her, her tears belonged to someone else now.

the part that didn't work for me was the fact that Harry, Hermione and Ron hadn't kept contact. It just doesn't seem realistic. Hermione, for one, would never allow it, Ron's mum would never let him, and Harry and Ron are best mates. I doubt it would happen, even though Harry wouldn't want to hang around to see the two together, no, I don't think they'd let him.

It was very sad, thinking he was all alone, Ginny engaged, he never saw his friends, then he practically had nobody?

I loved the story, but thinking about it; I don't think it would ever happen that he would lose contact. Sure people grow apart, but not the TRIO..

The lyrics fit perfectly to the story, absolutely perfectly.

What I would have liked was maybe a little more indicating on Hermione's feelings. It was a bit unclear I felt, whether or not she was in love with him or not. Im guessing she was and she just moved on, with Ron.

Overall it was an amazing piece of work, no typo's and spelling seemed fine.

So very heartfelt and sad, it was extremely well-written.
Very well done!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I can't thank you enough, really. That section you picked out was one that I worked really hard on and I was hoping someone would notice it. Thanks!

Well, I understand your concern about the trio not really keeping in touch, but in all fairness I did label the story AU. And for the sake of my plot, they had to keep out of contact so that it was awkward to see each other at the reunion. I'm sorry you didn't care for this aspect.

About adding Hermione's feelings, I didn't want to add her side of the story because I wanted this to really be all about Harry. I chose not to add Hermione's thoughts because I showed all I wanted to show in the scene where they stood back to back. I wanted the reader to inference based on what I'd already written about Harry. Thank you for guessing. That's what I wanted you to do, but I'm sorry if you didn't like it.

Thank you so much! I really appreciate your review ^_^


 Report Review

Review #55, by SunflowerOne word: That Was All It Took

9th November 2008:
that was beautiful. very poignant and touching. I love Snape's description of Lily, how good he sees her. Standing on the sideline, watching. I feel bad for Snape, which is prob what you were going for in this piece.
I like the fact that he says he cant love anyone other than Lily Evans. There are stories with him with other girls, but I think it is so much more likely that he would never move on. Jk showed us that; he hadnt moved on, he told Dumbledore.

It was beautiful. What pulled me in first was in the summary, this line:

in one word, my whole world came crashing down. Crunched into tiny pieces like when you take autumn leaves and scrunch them in your hand.

I loved that part about the leaves, adored it.

The things where he says hearts are easily corrupted; I love the fact you used that, seeing as his own was corrupted by her.
It was very short, but I loved it nonetheless.

Beautifully written!

xx

Author's Response: oh thank you so much! I love beautiful reviews like this!
umm, this was a bit of a difficult piece to write, but I really enjoyed stepping into my definition of Snape's shoes.
And the autumn leaves thing was a personal anecdote, so thanks heaps
So thanks for your BRILLIANT review, and keep leaving them!


 Report Review

Review #56, by SunflowerSimply Sirius: Boys are like Earrings

26th October 2008:
i cant believe this story just popped into your head at 1 am and its like this!! amazing. It reminds me of the book This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen, an amazing book. Your writing is brilliant!

 Report Review

Review #57, by SunflowerSimply Sirius: The Good of Womankind

26th October 2008:
Wonderful!!! the flow in your story is really good. you dont make abrubt cuts or anything. really good!

 Report Review

Review #58, by SunflowerSimply Sirius: Love Triangles are for Losers

26th October 2008:
This was so good!! :D Im on the hook now, cant wait to read more!!! xx

 Report Review

Review #59, by SunflowerDecember's Frost.: Death's First Calling

10th June 2008:
Well, I'm intriqued.. Good job I am VERY curious as to how this'll turn out!
xx

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm so glad to have intrigued you. I have a chapter waiting validation right now so hopefully that'll be out soon. Once more thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #60, by SunflowerThe Wizarding Act of 1978: Chapter 6 - The Fight

4th June 2008:
The 100th review:P I'm so nice that I post this just so I can be the 100th reviewer!:P Anyways, loved the story, loved everything. I'm addicted! Keep up the good work! xx

Author's Response: Haha. Thanks. :) Glad you liked it. And I didn't even know I was up to 100 reviews. LoL. Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #61, by SunflowerFamily Legacies: Family Legacies

3rd June 2008:
It's beautiful, magnificent... I loved the whole bit, the little things you never said but hinted and just the way you portrayed Bella, Narcissa - the Black sisters. The explanation to how Bellatrix Lestrange turned out was ever so well thought through, I loved it. .

Author's Response: Thanks so much! This is one of my favorites but one of the least read. I am glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #62, by SunflowerDelicate: Boys Don't Cry

30th May 2008:
I'm absolutely addicted to this story!
Yay, loved the whole thing especially this bit:

"Right, so go ahead," says Dom angrily, "Tell me I'm stupid. Tell me I'm a bitch."

You're a stupid bitch.

"I'm not going to call you a bitch," I say, "It's not my place. But you do realise what you're doing isn't right don't you?"

- beautiful!

xx

 Report Review

Review #63, by SunflowerFold: Do You Realize?

18th May 2008:
Well, that was beautiful! One thing (and the only!) with Sirius's you don't write Sirius's, but Sirius':] That's it! Well done

Author's Response: Oh! Well, in English I was told that you would only use the "s'" if it was "Jesus'" but to use "Sirius's" for everything else. So, I guess different styles? (:
Thanks!!


 Report Review

Review #64, by SunflowerForever And A Day: Forever And A Day

18th May 2008:
I agree with the other reviewers, except I don't think it's "cute". It's beautiful, incredibly well-written, tormenting, haunting, so so so sad and a brilliant piece of writing. I had tears in my eyes at the end. I loved it. 10/10

Author's Response: Wow...Thank you, truly. =] It's a hard thing, sometimes, for a writer to elicit such emotion from a reader (and when it's not more than a small chapter long, to boot) so I'm pleased that you felt that way about it. Thanks for leaving me a review!

 Report Review

Review #65, by SunflowerHis Angel: His Angel

18th May 2008:
Hi:] I'll start with the less fun things:

Line nr 9: There's a different tense there than the rest, you've switched to present instead of past, the same goes for the 4th and the 5th line-break. as well as the 10th line-break in the very last sentence. There're a numerous other places where the same problem appears and I think you should go through the piece again and decide whether it's in the past or in the present, you can't have both.

I loved this bit:
Her love for him was strong just as mine was for her, the only difference was that she got her happy ending. - heartbreaking, wonderfully so.

It was very well-written persisting the confusing switching between tense's. Heartbreaking and sad. Wonderful my dear:]

 Report Review

Review #66, by SunflowerThe Taste of Freedom: The Taste of Freedom

18th May 2008:
wow.. beautiful really. Quite beautiful characterisation of Bellatrix, especially the very last bit:

Even as the pain rips through my body, I rejoice in the knowledge that it is he who watches me writhe on the floor of the cave. I welcome the agony, knowing that it his his magic touching my body. I will gladly suffer the torture if it means I can be close to my master.

That's SO Bellatrix. Beautiful. Voldemort is also portrayed to perfection in this one-shot.

One thing I think you should work on is making your stories unique. Give them a twist, make another title than My Name is Bellatrix Lestrange, which is a boring title that doesn't catch your eye as much as one that makes you think a bit over what the heck it's all about.

Give her something that is her, a tendensy she does or a term she uses, you need to make your story stand out and right now the story is incredibly well-written but nothing pops, it doesn't catch you, make your story memorable and not just the typical scene we all can picture.

A story like Liquid Sunshine by PreTeenWriter; the title says it all, you WONDER, and it's unique, it is made unique by one thing; liquid sunshine and there you have the title.

A one-shot needs something special about it and I think your story is one of the most well-written things I've ever read here on HPFF, but that's not enough.

Some others are Light Bulb Nudity by sixty and Do We Not Bleed by Daanana, Vermillion by OvergrownEden9 and Meet Me When It Rains by my voice rising.

Check them out, and it doesn't have to be much, but just have some sort of thing of originality; it can be a quote, a line, a character, something the readers will remember.

Also, get a summary; I nearly didn't read this because I had no idea what the story was about- yes a portrayal of Bellatrix, but it said nothing more and nor did the title.

Tres importante; if you don't have a summary people are already more likely not to read it.

A banner from The Dark Arts (link up in the Get Help bit under pictures or something,) would also help and although you don't HAVE to, it really helps. I'm sorry to say it but a lot of readers read the stories with the most exciting banners. You don't have to pay anything for a banner and there's an Up for Graps bit where there're a lot of beautiful Bellatrix-banners in. Maybe you have a thing against banners, but it's just a sugestion and it never hurt anyone to try.

All of these things will help you get recognition for your beautiful work.

You're such an incredibly talented writer, you just need to make the stories so undeniably yours.

All these things are suggestions and maybe you think it's below you to get a banner and stuff in order to get people to read your stories, but that's reality and let's face it; we HAVE to judge the story on something and the graphics certainly play a role in that judgement unfortunately as well as the summary.

Anyways, good luck, take care.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the advice. And I appreciate the lovely compliments!

The first thing I have to respond to is the bit about the title. I'm so uncreative when it comes to titles! I sit up at night thinking about what the heck I'm gonna name something, and when I finally come up with a title, it's a crappy one that's a product of complete desperation. It's a quirk of mine, albeit a really annoying one. I'll do my best to come up with another one.

The next thing, about the banner. I agree that I should get a banner made. I was going to for a while, and then I was dunked under the never-ceasing flow of homework, piano practicing, horse exercising/tuning up for show time, and writing a novel I've been working on for ages. No one probably cares what I do with my spare time, but I felt like a reason was needed for my awful procrastination about getting a banner made. Again, I promise that I will work on it!

You're the best kind of reviewer. I appreciate the advice/compliments a ton. You've brought my attention back to the important aspects of writing a story!
~Sayla
P.S. I'll check out the stories you recommended.


 Report Review

Review #67, by SunflowerThe Watchers.: Protection

18th May 2008:
wow... I loved your last two chapters, only I think it would make it all a whole lot easier to understand if you make the things written in the past italic, it's a teensy bit confusing. Otherwise it was ever so well-written and I loved every bit of it:]

Author's Response: thank you!

 Report Review

Review #68, by SunflowerFarewell, My Love: Farewell My Love

18th May 2008:
A very sad one-shot. It was well-written, but watch out for spelling mistakes; waste is waist and also small typo's:]

I just wondered; what about the time when Sirius was out from Azkaban, on the run? She didn't see him there? Okay, just me pondering:P

I thought the story was well-written but I dunno, I felt it was slightly rushed and description-wise I thought it lacked a lot.

This is just my opinion and the story is not AT ALL bad, on the contrary, it's quite good, I'm only writing this to help you improve.

Author's Response: I agree. I did rush it. I was inspired quickly at like 3 in the morning from the picture of Diane Kruger in my banner. I was thinking of making this more into a series or whatnot but my muses just never cooperated. Yeah, I didn't beta this one so there are probably a lot of mistakes. Thanks for the review and it means a lot to me. As for when Sirius escaped, I thought of that, but yeah after the fact. Like I said, wrote at 3 AM. :D

 Report Review

Review #69, by SunflowerImpetuous Affiliations: Beneath the Surface

8th May 2008:
It was beautiful yet again as always:] Still don't get why people haven't reviewed, your story is one of the most well-written stories I've come across here. Well, keep going!

Author's Response: I do feel slightly disheartened by the lack of reviews, but then again that's not why I'm writing the story!

I really appreciate that you always take the time to post a review and that you are always so complimentary. Your reviews always make me happy.

thank you
xoxo


 Report Review

Review #70, by SunflowerImpetuous Affiliations: Kiss and Humiliate

26th April 2008:
Wow... I'm in awe...

Wonderful yet again:]

It's so nice with those long chapters, everything is so well-written and the characteriation of Draco... Perfect, you've captured him perfectly and especially the last bit with the patronus. He keeps on going about how he couldn't be more happy (The mirror of Erised and all that) and then he can't even find a happy enough memory to make a corporal patronus, it just portrays him really well, incredible story!


10/10

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so very much!

I really appreciate your feedback and that you pick up on the fine details of the story. It gives me more incentive.

xoxo


 Report Review

Review #71, by SunflowerDelicate: Learning to Live Again

15th April 2008:
I love this story... Yay! :P Nice chap:]

Author's Response: Thank you! (",)

 Report Review

Review #72, by SunflowerDelicate: It Can't Get Any Worse...Right?

15th April 2008:
Hi:] I absolutely LOVE this story!! I'm so rubbish at reviewing, but anyways, it's such a great story, keep going and all, WONDERFUL! xx

Author's Response: Thanks so much! (",)

 Report Review

Review #73, by SunflowerShe Will Be Loved: She Will Be Loved

10th April 2008:
Wonderful story:] Really nice, bitter-sweet and beautiful... good job:] xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you liked it :)

- Lily xxx


 Report Review

Review #74, by SunflowerLearning to Listen: Chapter 1 - On Her Way

8th April 2008:
I don't get why people don't review??!!! It's beautifully written though, really good:] Keep up the good work, it's a wonderful story:)

 Report Review

Review #75, by SunflowerImpetuous Affiliations: Natural Splendor

8th April 2008:
I have been quite horrible, since I know how much I, myself thrive on feedback, so the excuses for not reviewing are quite feeble... I've got this story favourited, so I ought to review - and I haven't... This story is GREAT, honestly, why are people not reviewing??? I love it, keep going and all that :P

Grrr.. suck at reviews...

xx

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review. I'm not particularly fantastic with reviewing either so I don't really blame anyone. (Although I would like to have more!)

I'm glad you like my story.
xoxo



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>