Reading Reviews From Member: scarlettandgold
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by scarlettandgoldMagnetism: Magnetism

25th September 2011:
Why are you so brilliant?
You say you've only recently started writing one-shots, but you write like a genius artist. I'm so amazed by this piece. Ginny's tone is so weary and worried and yet so worried and gentle. I can practically feel her hesitance and how she's afraid this will all slip away from her soon. This whole piece had such a loving, soft aura about it, and I loved it to bits. Another terrific job, love!

Author's Response: Oh bless you! Thank you so much! That is the nicest thing in the universe, thank you! You are being silly though. You are just as brilliant.

I'm so so flattered you like my oneshots, though to be honest I could pick 100 things that are wrong with them. I'm constantly worried about them, but thank you so much. You've given me tons more confidence, you really really have. Thank you!

I've never written Ginny before, aside from a little segment in Patchwork Figurines. I found her a little strange to write, too, because she's got so much pain after the war but we know her to be that really strong character she is inside. Loving Harry is her only real weakness, I guess, and I tried to show this in this piece. I'm so glad you liked it!

Thank you for the darling review! x


 Report Review

Review #2, by scarlettandgoldSummer Skin: Three

25th September 2011:
I'm so sorry it took me so long to get to this ):
Another lovely chapter! I love how you're developing their relationship, so slowly and gently, exactly how I'd imagine Percy to work. (Also I laughed at the they meet on a weekly-basis. How Percy-like to have his meeting intervals worked out) I also love how they talk about things like how authoritative he is and all instead of regular teenage things, because he's far from. Ahh, wonderful job, dear, cannot wait for more!

Author's Response: Hello! No, don't worry! I don't mind at all :)

I have enjoyed writing a lot of Summer Skin, though I must admit that I have hit a bit of a rut with this one. I miss filling in the blanks with, like you say, Percy-type things, and hopefully my muse for this one will return :) I have to coax it out of hiding! Authoritative really is how I picture Percy, but still a bit too geeky - so much so that you can't really take him seriously, haha!

I'm really glad you liked this; thank you for the fab review! xxx


 Report Review

Review #3, by scarlettandgoldFire: Fire

25th September 2011:
Laura, you've done it again.
First off, my apologies for this taking so long >.< I've wanted to get around to it for so long but school, etc kept getting in the way.
This lovely little piece drew me in from the very first line. Music, people, parties, it all created such a wonderful aura about this piece! I then fell in love with Molly because she's so lovably awkward! I could completely relate to how flustered she felt when the other man was hitting on her, etc, it all felt so real! And of course when Arthur comes, they're both so cute I just want to squish them. Sorry that's a little weird, but you get what I mean.
I loveee the relationship you created between them. In the books, we see that the two of them are so much in love but their relationship is rarely explored. I love that you took a chance with a sort of unusual shipping and made it work so wonderfully. This piece is adorable and beautiful and I LOVE it just like I love all the rest of you're writing. You're so so so talented, don't ever stop writing!

Author's Response: Helloo!

Oh, gosh! I feel like I start every response to your reviews with an 'Oh something or other!', but I think its because I'm always astounded and flattered by your reviews! Thank you tons!

Arthur and Molly, to me, define soulmates, and I wanted to write this piece because they're awkward soulmates too! Being in love isn't meant to be romantic or over dramatic - you're meant to have fun and not care about anyone else. I imagine Molly to be uncomfortable around other guys, because her heart always has and always will belong to Arthur. I had a lot of fun writing this to be honest :)

I'm so glad that you liked that I chose them for this piece, because I am too! They are so under loved. And you are too kind! I feel over loved! Thank you tons and tons and tons, times forever! You're the best!

Laura x


 Report Review

Review #4, by scarlettandgoldStop Making a Fool Out of Me: must be amortentia

25th September 2011:
Okay I'll start backwards and say that ending was ADORABLE. I'm a sucker for adorable endings. It was so like them.
That brings me to the rest of the story. SO BELIEVABLE! I was just reading it and couldn't help but marvel at how well you caught what I imagine James to be like. I love his stalker-ness. I simply adored the interaction between James/Remus and then all the boys at the end. It was so real and honest and so like them.
I love how he hates on Lily's boyfriend. It was so real and I couldn't help but laugh at the description. This whole piece was so hilarious and lovable and just overally such an adorable piece! I don't really have any critique because you're wonderful. I love your writing. And I'm super sorry this is so late!

Author's Response: Thank you darling ♥
What a lovely review. I appreciate your taking the time to read through it for me. I'm so glad you liked it!
xoxo
Shiloh


 Report Review

Review #5, by scarlettandgoldSunshine: Lavender and Lunch

13th September 2011:
Ohh, you already know I love your writing and this story and simply adore James and Amelie ^_^ I love the tension between them and how they fall back into their arguing ways so fast. Can't wait for more! (:

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely comments and thank you so much for reading and reviewing. I'm so glad you like James and Amelie - they are my favourite to write! :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by scarlettandgoldFracture: who do you see?

11th September 2011:
Oh Shiloh, this is beautiful. It was so so incredibly well done - from the description at the beginning to the heartbreaking word at the end. It's so carefully sculpted and executed. I'm in awe! You're so incredibly talented, dear! This was tragic and yet I loved every bit of it! Very, very well done!

Author's Response: Thanks love :) I'm glad you liked it. It was... interesting, for me to write.

xoxo
Shiloh


 Report Review

Review #7, by scarlettandgoldOne of Three: One of Three

10th September 2011:
Laura. Oh gosh. I can't even.
This was so incredibly beautiful. Honestly, the whole piece was this wonderfully executed work of art. Gosh, I'm in awe of your talent!
For your first one-shot, you did wonderfully. This piece had just the right amount of detail. Between the first paragraph and the banner, I could tell it had something to do with death, dying, etc, so it all made perfect sense.
Your choice of words here is magnificent, like it is in everything else you write! I love the way you describe her as the child that never grew up. I also simply adored the section about the 1 of 3. It created this sense of hollowness that made me so incredibly sad reading this!
I love love love your use of second person. It's done so incredibly well. I can imagine her hurt and grief as she struggles to talk to her dead sister but she knows she cannot. It's so insanely sad and yet I can only marvel at how well you write!
I'm so amazed at your talent, Laura! Teach meee! No honestly, I bet this is the most useless review you've gotten but there's simply nothing wrong with this piece. The idea and execution of it is marvelous. I love this piece, as I love the rest of your writing!

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you, so so much, for this beautiful review! It means so much! It was my first real stab at a oneshot, but I'm so chuffed you liked it, I really am! I wanted to suggest that theres this underlying sense of binding between siblings, even those not so close, and grief was a big theme. The way she was blank, almost dead herself. And yeah, totally, I've always seen Bertha as a big kid who just dabbled in the wrong things...because thats really what happened. From the books we know she followed Peter into the forest and thats how she died...she was a fool, through and through.

I'm really over the moon you feel there's nothing I can add to this, cos, like I said, it was my first real attempt at a one-shot. It's amazing to know it was okay! (Though this may have to do with the 500 word length...what a helper, haha!)

Thank you tons! You're the best in the universe, thank you! x


 Report Review

Review #8, by scarlettandgoldHung Up: Iceland

10th September 2011:
Ooh, Molly, this story is off to such a wonderful start! I love the chemistry between Molly and Lucy and I cannot wait to see where you take this! Great first chapter! ^_^

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I have a lot of fun writing Molly and Lucy; out of all the Next Gen characters, they're my favorite siblings. I just think they'd have a really awesome relationship, which is why I write about it so much.

Anyway, thank you for reading!


 Report Review

Review #9, by scarlettandgoldEntangled: she is patient

9th September 2011:
Kate, before I start, I must say, when you first requested this to be reviewed, I just sat here for a while and thought about how I could possibly review you. I'm such a huge fan of yours; I can't critique you! And to be honest, there's absolutely nothing to critique here. This piece is art, it's perfection!
Firstly, I will gush about how incredibly interesting your second person POV makes everything. It's such a captivating insight you bring to the story with it; it drew me in from the very first line! It's so masterfully done and I'm absolutely amazed! Second person can become a mess so easily (trust me, I've ruined it plenty of times), but you've kept the flow of this with the POV and added something so unique to this story!
Beyond the perspective, another thing which drew me in was the beautiful, melodic language you used. It had a poetic quality - the words were strung together perfectly. All the descriptions of emotions just seemed to flow so well and everything in the writing seemed so natural.
The description I loved most was your description of Molly in part 10. It's so short and yet so poignant and deep. It creates this intense air of mystery about her and carries Molly through the whole rest of the piece. I love how you can use such few words to convey so much. Teach me your ways! (please?)
Although I must admit, I was a tad bit confused at first (this may just be my brain being more than slightly frazzled after having 3 tests today) but slowly, it started all making sense. I had multiple "aha!" moments, when everything fit together so perfectly it can only be called genius.
You're one of my favorite writers, Kate, on so many levels. I know so many writers who can create a wonderful plot or create intriguing characters or use words effectively, one who can do this that an the other but never one who can do all of it as well as you. You are truly an inspiration and there's really nothing I can say to critique this. I love this piece as I do the rest of your writing. You're simply brilliant!

Author's Response: god, i have no idea how to respond to this! THANK YOU would be a fantastic start!

You have made me blush. seriously. i don't think I deserve all that *hides*

I love second person POV. There is something so magical about writing it and I am so pleased you liked it. this fic would not have worked without it, I don't think.

I wanted this to be rather abstract and poetic. I didn't want anything to be glaringly obvious, because they aren't to Teddy. the 'aha' moments you had were expected - that was what i wanted from readers. It is not meant to make complete sense straight away!

*blushes* there I go again. god. i don't know what to say. thank you so much, for all your wonderful comments and thank you for reading. i really appreciate it hun!

Kate xx


 Report Review

Review #10, by scarlettandgoldThe Cost of Betrayal: The Cost of Betrayal

8th September 2011:
Hello! I'm here with your requested review.
Before I start, I must say, this is the first Peter story I've ever read and I'm so glad I did read it!
At the very beginning, I fell in love with the very simple voice you gave Peter. His thoughts are scatty and not very complex and yet he thinks very carefully through the biggest decision of his life. His train of thought made a lot of sense - we can see what it may have been like for him in that very moment, in front of Voldemort, surrounded by all these people he had feared for all these years.
I also was really impressed by how at the beginning, you feel sort of bad for Peter. He's all alone, his friends are all gone, drinking at a bar by himself, the sort of unimpressive young adult who's lost direction in his life. Just as we kind of see his side, he makes the decision to betray his best friends, we see the side of him we saw in the novels. However, we do feel a lot more for him than before. It was very artfully done!
I also like the friendship dynamic he describes at the beginning. He's sort of doubtful of his own self-worth but at the same time he does realize his friends love him dearly and he loves them in return. It helps the reader see him as more of a real person rather than just "the betrayer"
One thing I did notice, however, was that in the middle you switched to present tense rather than past tense like the rest of it. This ruins the flow of the narrative a bit.
Other than that, this story was a lovely read! You've given this a lot of depth and thought and really made me as a reader revaluate my thoughts on Peter. Wonderful job!

 Report Review

Review #11, by scarlettandgoldSummer Skin: Two

3rd September 2011:
Laura dear, this story is so adorable! Not in a omg I'm so happy they're all cutesey together way, but because this Percy is so believable! I can imagine this happening and him slowly learning how to interact with a girl like this. I love your interpretation of Percy and I'm so excited to see more of Penelope! Wonderful job so far!

Author's Response: Hello!

OH, YOU! Thank you so so much! I'm so glad you liked it, and that you thought Percy was believable, and I don't know what else to say! Thank you!

I tried tons to make it realistic, because Percy isn't romantic at all - he's nerdy, pompous and yet a little self conscious, so for him to start reciting poetry to her or having elaborate thoughts about how beautiful she was, it just would be completely... ick! :P

Thank you so much! You're the best! L xxx


 Report Review

Review #12, by scarlettandgoldJust Rose: Camden Crazy Carpeting

29th August 2011:
Yayyy new chapter! I love Rose and Molly so much, I really do. Molly reminds me of my best friend who likes to insult me right and left but I'd be hopeless without her. I also loved the magic carpet scene! It's so original and creative. I can't wait to see how Rose and Scorpius's newfound friendship-like-thing develops!

Author's Response: Ooh fast review! I adore writing Rose and Molly :D I wasn't so happy with the previous chapter and I realised it was because Molly wasn't in it. So, I gave extra Molly in this one to make up for it :D I know where I want Rose and Scorpius to end up, but you'll have to wait and see for that one. ;) thanks so much for the review, I hope you enjoy future chapters :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by scarlettandgoldSummer Heat: Chapter Three: Teddy

29th August 2011:
I've been a fan of your work for so long, and this piece is no exception! I love Teddy's POV because it's so masculine and yet he's always thinking about Victioire, it's adorable! Yeah, I definitely adore this story and can't wait for more!

 Report Review

Review #14, by scarlettandgoldSummer Skin: One

29th August 2011:
I think this is the first Percy/Penelope story I've ever read, and you do an amazing job bringing him to life! It's so interesting to see what goes on in that little head of his. I also love the awkwardness as he tries to make conversation with Penelope but fails miserably. Great work so far! I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for having a read of this! It's so kind of you! I didn't want to douse the fic in romance etc right from the word go, because I figured Percy hasn't had much experience with girls really. He's a geek...a Weasley geek, and so having him uber awkward made sense! Thank you tons, again! You're brilliant! :D x

 Report Review

Review #15, by scarlettandgoldJust Rose: Book Borrowing

29th August 2011:
This story is so adorably funny! I love Rose's character because she's so lovably awkward and plain and most of all normal! That's something I (and I'm sure many other authors) struggle with - making real characters, and you do that wonderfully! I really like the change in Scorpius's character as well. I'm excited for the upcoming chapters and Sco/Rose interactions which are actually talking and not super awkward, haha. Also, I love your sense of humor because you bring it up in the most random places and it's wonderful! It's a more subtle kind of humor and I love it! Especially the soap part in a previous chapter, I actually laughed out loud (with some odd looks from my family nonetheless) but I'm really excited to see what happens with them next! Amazing job so far with this! ^_^

Author's Response: I'm thrilled that you enjoyed it! I love writing this - it's so far out of my comfort zone, but I can't believe how much I enjoy it. I'm glad you enjoyed it to. The great thing about it is that I can include some really insane stuff (like the soap) and make it sound reasonable. It's as crazy as I want it to be and I really love that, haha. Thank you so much :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by scarlettandgoldSunshine: Will For Rain

28th August 2011:
Hello! I read all of "Raining" last night and the first part of "Sunshine" today. I have a lot to say, hopefully I don't forget it haha. First of all, I must say, your progression as a writer shows immensely in these two stories. Your writing has developed to include subtleties and other writing methods that make it so enjoyable to read!
Second of all, I'm a gossip girl fanatic, and I simple ADORE how you used Leighton, Ed, Taylor and Blake as the PBs. I even recognized some names from the series (ie. Serena, Georgia/Georgina, etc) and it makes me really happy to know there are other HP/GG fans out there.
Thirdly (or is it third of all? anywho) I simply LOVE the characters you've created. James is adorable and awkward and all that, but Amelie amazes me. You've created this emotionally nonchalant (if that makes sense) character and you've kept her the same throughout so many different situations, it's admirable.
I love this story so far and cannot wait for the next part of this! So glad I stumbled upon this series!

Author's Response: Hey Dee! I'm am now responding to your review, even though I already thanked you for it in our little email (quality stalking, btw).

IKR! Raining was my first story, and I think the early chapters are so cringey and disgusting that I can't bear to think that people are still reading them. It is so cliche and cheesy and all that! I do love my characters and I'm quite proud of my writing style now, so hopefully I'll actually do them justice.

EEE GOSSIP GIRL! CHAIR FOREVER AND FOR LIFE. ED AND LEIGHTON. CHUCK AND BLAIR. GAAAH...

THANKS SO MUCH FOR YOUR LOVELY COMMENTS AND FOR READING AND REVIEWING! YOU MADE MY DAYYY!!!


 Report Review

Review #17, by scarlettandgoldOne and Only: Seven

27th August 2011:
I think that this is perhaps the most beautiful, well-written, heartbreaking and descriptive story I've ever read. I've been reading it in small pieces because I really wanted to digest it and take the time to marvel everything you've put into each and every chapter. Honestly, I'm amazed at your talent. The depth you've given to every single action of your characters is mindblowing, and this piece is so incredibly gorgeous. The description is the best I've seen. You're such an incredible writer! You really inspire me to write and push myself to try to make my characters into something more than narrow and flat. Sorry if this is a little rambly, I'm just in awe of this piece ^_^

Author's Response: I absolutely have no words to answer this with. I'm going to do my best but I really do just have to say wow. I am completely undeserving of this.

Anyone who comments on the depth of my characters really makes my day. They always come very naturally to me and I do worry that I don't think about their actions enough, so it's a comment that does mean a lot to me when I hear it.

My description is my strength, I'll admit, but by no means the best. The vast majority of TGS put me to shame.

Thank you so much. I really am rambling because you've made me speechless with this. Thank you!

xx


 Report Review

Review #18, by scarlettandgoldFind Your Love: Everyone Chokes a Whole Lot

27th August 2011:
Ugh, Saval, I absolutely love your writing. You're brilliant. This chapter was brilliant. I love the chemistry between Rose/Scorpius, it's amazing! By the way, I was the same person who left the question in your formspring about being Indian and being a senior, haha. I can't wait for the next bit!

 Report Review

Review #19, by scarlettandgoldVenom: A Tragedy: Act Two

26th August 2011:
Oh gosh, Susan, you've done it again! The writing in this story is simply MARVELOUS. I'm in awe of the different metaphors and parallels you draw in this, it's amazing. I can't wait for the next piece of this!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much! I don't know what to say other than that I'm really, really happy to hear that it turned out so well. It means a lot that you enjoyed it to such an extent. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #20, by scarlettandgoldOh Baby: First Words

11th August 2011:
Awww, I just read all of this today, and I must say, the idea and execution of it is brilliant! You've written Rose and the baby extremely well, and I simply adore the Rose/Scorpius relationship. Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm really glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #21, by scarlettandgoldThe Space Between: The Space Between

4th August 2011:
That was so beautiful! My favorite part was the paragraph where you described them dancing, it was as if I could see it happening. Well done!

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by scarlettandgoldLandslide: Oh, the Pain

4th August 2011:
this was really well written and intriguing! i'm usually not a fan of dramione but this was very plausible and well done. can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for the wonderful review! I'm very glad to hear that this was realistic. I'm always worried about that sort of thing with writing Dramiones and I am honored that you enjoyed this even though Dramione's usually aren't what you read. Hopefully I should be posting an update within two weeks...hopefully! Thanks again for the truly terrific review!! (:

 Report Review

Review #23, by scarlettandgoldTrust Me, Lily: Waking Up

3rd August 2011:
aww this was really well written and emotional. nice job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I was hoping for it to resonate as emotional. :')

 Report Review

Review #24, by scarlettandgoldMy Sister's Fiancé: Chapter Nineteen: The Circumstances Change

30th July 2011:
hello! i've been reading this story (on and off) for a while now, but have never reviewed. i just wanted to say that you've really inspired me and that you are a brilliant writer! i really enjoyed reading not only this story so far but many of your others as well. thanks for the hours of enjoyment! (:

 Report Review

Review #25, by scarlettandgoldYou Could Be Happy: I Won't Know

2nd October 2007:
CARRIIE! omg it's DEE!
i love it Carrie! Your use of words, ideas, all of it is brilliant!!!

Author's Response:
Aww, thank you sweetheart. (:

-Carrie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login