Reading Reviews From Member: Kahlan
  
202 Reviews Found

Review #1, by KahlanFalls the Shadow: The Darkest Hour

26th January 2011:
Oh god! I love the action sequences in this. Also every way in which you describe the system and the institutions and all the technical stuff is great. You're constructing a real and believable world where all this takes place, where people have to go through motions instead of just taking it upon themselves to go rogue and finish the bad guys themselves. There's a system to the world, and they follow it.

I don't know if I even make sense, but I really love this story. I guess that's the point I'm trying to make. It's doubly nice to see this happening while having what's happening elsewhere in the HP-story in the back of my mind.

Author's Response: Certainly it is my intention to, in this fic, deal with the Real World of the Voldemort Occupation. Which does include not just the life and times of the oppressed, but also the means via which one can fight back. I suppose it helps in that there are some truly talented and capable people amongst the cast, but even they still need to play by the rules, by laws and government, if they want to survive.

I do my best to keep this fic in-line with canon, as well. Quite frankly, in my personal canon, these guys exist. They are alongside the books. When HBP and DH came out, even when I was reading them for the first time, a part of my mind was going "what does this mean for Tobias and the gang?" It helps the suspension of disbelief which, I hope, helps the enjoyment.

Anyway, I'm thrilled you're enjoying the tale, and there's plenty more goodness to come! Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #2, by KahlanFair Play: End of the Summer

14th January 2011:
Aww. Jesus, what an unfortunate time for Oliver's uncle to get injured. :/

I loved the scene with Oliver seeing Cedric's drawings, and his easy half-mockery about it after. Thought it really showed the naturalness of their relationship. Also, I loved how Cedric had been aware of Oliver for that long in -that- way.

Great update, hope to see more soon ^^

Author's Response: Thank you! (Unfortunate timing indeed; poor boys!) I'm glad that you liked that Cedric was interested in Oliver before. I really wanted it to be premeditated in some way rather than they both just woke up one day with feelings for each other. So hopefully that came off all right. Thanks again for the great review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by KahlanFalls the Shadow: The Odyssey

26th December 2010:
Wonderful. I love how you've thrown in someone from Tobias and Tanith's past. The description of Moscow was also fabulous. All in all - great! I'm eagerly awaiting more ^^

Author's Response: I had a challenge describing Moscow on account of never having been there; were I being more sensible I might have chosen the more-familiar Paris. I am still glad it's successful, anyway. Dimitri Radimir is one of those characters who existed in early drafts of Latet, and I believe has been referenced a couple times, but never made it on screen. It's strange, I know exactly who he is, but readers have only the vaguest ideas. I hope to introduce more of him.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by KahlanFalls the Shadow: The Golden Age

24th December 2010:
:D I forgot to look for this when December came around, but now that I've found it (and loved it) and realised you've not only put up one but TWO chapters... ah, I fear you'll never be rid of me.

I'm so glad you decided on a sequel! This was great - I can't tell you enough times how amazing (and realistic) your characters are - and I can't wait to read the next chapter.

Author's Response: And now three chapters! Most glad to see people come back to this tale. I am also glad to see you're enjoying it, and hope you enjoy what is to come. It should be a fun ride.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by KahlanFalling To Pieces: He Looked Left; She Turned Right; Meant To Be Together But Not That Night

14th December 2010:
hell yes! an update! this was excellent. so much emotion and resolution during one conversation, and it still seemed so real believable.

i loved it, and i can't wait for more!

 Report Review

Review #6, by KahlanNo Solid Ground: Even The Best Fall Down Sometimes

14th November 2010:
YAY, an update! I loved that it was so long, and really, the plan they've come up with? I can't wait to watch it unfold.

Great story, great update! :D

 Report Review

Review #7, by KahlanShade to Shade: Epilogue

2nd November 2010:
Yes! I can't wait for this. This teaser was all sorts of original and exciting - and I'd almost forgotten how much i missed following Shade to Shade.

Have fun with NaNo, and I'm looking forward to see more to this! :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by KahlanFalling To Pieces: Still Tangled In Yesterday

18th September 2010:
YES. You're back. This was wonderful, and I've really missed this story :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by KahlanAn Object of Interest: Of Announcements and Notes

15th September 2010:
Okay, I was going to let this slide, because I find your story oddly entertaining, but why do you keep calling Auror's Aurora's? An AUROR is a magical occupation, AURORA is another name for northern lights - oxygen and nitrogen atoms reacting in the upper atmosphere above and around the Arctic and Antarctic circles - which is a difference it is not hard to remember.

You have several spelling mistakes other that that, which I've noticed throughout the chapters I've read. Perhaps it would be an idea to get a beta? (and proof read your French)

To not leave you on a bad note, I _am_ enjoying the story! I just thought I'd give you a heads up.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review. I'm glad that you're enjoying the story so far.
I'm so sorry for the mistakes, I know that I do it - my brain and fingers just wont stop typing it! I am trying to edit it out, it just takes a while. My computer doesn't always cooperate with the editing system here, but I am giving it a good old go :P I hope that it doesn't affect your reading too much and I will try and fix the rest from now on.
I didn't take French, I took German so I am forced to use translation sites for the French. I put it through many. I'm sorry if it's not correct. Although I do put a translation in a context next to it.
As for the beta issue. I don't want to put a poor person through having to read this amount (littered with spelling errors). I try to fix them but I can't catch all of them :P
But I am considering a beta for my next story. Thank you again for the review! I hope that you enjoy the rest of the story, and that my utter dimness when it comes to grammar and spelling doesn't ruin the story for you! I will update soon!


 Report Review

Review #10, by KahlanDirt Spirits: Dirt Spirits

20th August 2010:
amazing. it such a plausible ship to stem from unrequited sirius/remus, as i also imagined them to be so, so similar. maybe i wouldn't have thought of regulus as a more unkempt version of sirius, but maybe a smaller one, skinnier and darker.

anyway, this doesn't matter, what matters is that i loved this fic.

 Report Review

Review #11, by KahlanThe Morning Waffle: The Potter Persuasion

4th July 2010:
yay! you updated! this was awesome, in that very simple and light-hearted way you've so definitely perfected. your characters are amazing and mysteriously vivid, and the ones we know from canon are always spot on.

you're awesome.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the awesome review! I am seriously flattered. :-)

 Report Review

Review #12, by KahlanThe Morning Waffle: Questionable Lifestyle Choices

26th April 2010:
A greatly amusing story, all in all! :D All your characters are wonderfully well-rounded, their relationships probable, and the conversations great. Suffice to say I like this. A lot.

Author's Response: Thanks very much!!

 Report Review

Review #13, by KahlanFair Play: Sitting it Out

21st April 2010:
Unhinged indeed! Great chapter! ^^

Author's Response: Unhinged, dopey, etc. =))) Thanks very much!

 Report Review

Review #14, by KahlanShade to Shade: The Parting of the Ways

21st April 2010:
What? No, you can't do this XD Don't leave us with all your ominous pointers to things that didn't happen, like "He didn't know then he'd fail to keep that promise. At least, not in the way he meant." and "They would, it would transpire, do no such thing, but all nodded in agreement that it was an excellent idea."

You're going to make me cry.

Still, this story is brilliant. I'm sorry I've been a rather sporadic reviewer, but I've loved this from beginning to end. It's nice to see it finished, but I'm torn between that and wanting to know how they end up faring in the war. I'd hate to see more hearts be broken.

Anyway, thanks for sharing this with us, and I'd really love to see something, anything, more from this!

Also, I wish you all the best on your food-on-the-table writing project! ^^

 Report Review

Review #15, by KahlanFair Play: Definitely Not Friends

28th February 2010:
oh, great chapter! i love how oliver is really growing as a person in this, realising all the things he does, and yesss. I like it!

also, how he acts on -impulse- when kissing cedric, and that he, in fact, is the one to initiate it and cedric is the uncertain one, is such a surprising turn of events ^^

Author's Response: Thanks a lot! Yeah, Oliver and Cedric have their own reservations. Cedric isn't scared to feel what he feels, whereas Oliver was a little more hesitant to admit it. On the other hand, I think once he allows himself to have these sort of feelings, it would be difficult for him NOT to act on them, you know? Because, at least with Quidditch, he's just used to going for whatever he wants. It was a lot of fun to write. =))) Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #16, by KahlanShade to Shade: The Prestige

19th February 2010:
oh dear, things are picking up again! wonderful chapter! i like the interaction between nat and tanith. and boy, doyle's vision has heartbreak-potential.

i'm eagerly awaiting the next chapter! : D

 Report Review

Review #17, by KahlanFair Play: Hardly Team Mates, Hardly Friends

26th January 2010:
OH, I'd almost forgotten about this when it turned up at the top of my watched stories. But I am glad you haven't forgotten!

It's a refreshing read, and I love how you write Oliver. So focused.

I'm hoping you'll not stop writing this ^^ Good job!

Author's Response: I'm glad you haven't forgotten as well. =) Thanks so much; I'm really enjoying writing him and trying to find the personality beyond all the Quidditch.

 Report Review

Review #18, by KahlanShade to Shade: The Eleventh Hour

26th December 2009:
Ah. Finally we get to the bottom of some things. That we got a decent scrap out of it all was just a bonus. And boy, am I glad Nat and Cal are good and dandy. As you said, one of the couples has to be relatively trouble-free and normal.

Good chapter! And merry christmas (though a little late) to you, and happy new year! ^^

 Report Review

Review #19, by KahlanShade to Shade: The Right Stuff

6th December 2009:
Oh. Excellently done. You never cease to amaze me.

I was slightly surprised when Tanith said that about Tobias, but then again maybe I wasn't. She was pretty clear on what she felt on the matter. Still. I'm hoping he won't find out she said it. That'd be one major cog in the Tanith/Tobias machinery.

As I said, this was great! ^^

Author's Response: Tanith's going to feel pretty bad about saying it, but deep down, she's a professional. And also, she trusts the Aurors to not just take her word as the Gospel - if they're worried about it, they'll likely evaluate Tobias themselves, and judge accordingly. If they think he's not good for it, then that's their call!

Yeah, it'd be awful if he found out, wouldn't it... hmmm...!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by KahlanShade to Shade: The Stars Above

3rd December 2009:
Oh, no. Poor Cal, really. I like Nat's reaction to the whole breaking-up ordeal. The part in HBP where Harry breaks up with Ginny true to his selfless and hero-tastic form always bugged me, and now Cal is doing almost the same thing. Except he's got something fishy going on behind the scenes, and does not have the same annoying hero-complex.

Anyway. Good chapter. I agree with Gabriel - what use is visions if you can't use them to prevent things? You wrote Firenze very well, too. You have a knack for nailing the teachers. And not in that way, silly.

Author's Response: Yeah, Cal's having a hard time. And Nat's not the kind to just accept that sort of self-sacrificing stuff - I'm really trying to write her as a character who's almost genre-savvy. In that she will fight against expectations and shackles of certain heroic tropes whilst, I hope, still remaining a good and nice character. So whilst I could see Tobias and even Tanith buying into some of that self-sacrificing stuff, Nat just doesn't take that. Yeah, Cal's situation isn't quite explained yet, nor is it intended to be.

Ahh, Gabe. He's in such a fun situation. Glad I nailed Firenze. I nailed him good. ;)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by KahlanShade to Shade: The Sound of Silence

29th November 2009:
"It felt good to feel the burden, to feel relied on in such an obvious, physical, tangible manner."

I love how you write loss. How Tobias is all catatonic-like, and yeah. Tanith is amazing in this as well. I can't believe she went after him. There's a bit of Gryffindor recklessness in both of them, Tobias especially, it would seem.

Loved it.

Author's Response: My experience on loss is fortuitously not half as deep to truly compare to Tobias, but just that pure numbness is something which I figure is going to be related to across the board, so I'm glad that worked. And of course Tanith went after him - I don't think she'd have been able to do anything else! Yeah. Little Gryffindor in them all.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by KahlanShade to Shade: The Tables Turned

22nd November 2009:
quick update! yay! oh, the suspense, oh the drama! :D Good job!

Author's Response: Suspense! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #23, by KahlanShade to Shade: The Dark Side of the Moon

22nd November 2009:
ohh. just the kind of party that sure will bring on the angst in the morning. :D

i like. and i have no words to describe just how much.

Author's Response: The best kind of party! Or so my memories of my late-teen years tell me. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #24, by KahlanShade to Shade: The Importance of Being

20th November 2009:
Aw. I find it hard to be pissed at Annie when Tobias so obviously is not.

As always, I love the genuine relationships between the characters, and the awkward conversation about Tanith between Cal and Tobias was ace.

Lovelove.

Author's Response: Yay! Annie love! Not that I want people to necessarily root for her over Tanith, but I do like that people are enjoying both ends of the triangle. Otherwise I aint doing my job right. And yes, it's good the chat with Cal and Tobias went down well - they are meant to be very good friends, but unfortunately haven't had much chance to showcase this in Shade.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by KahlanWe Are Pilots: We Are Pilots.

16th November 2009:
Oh, this is nice. Different. I like it. It's very poetic, and it's nice to read something with a defined moral wrapping it up.

I also like how the girl, Caroline, understands and accepts how James is. Myeah, very good!

Author's Response: Oh, hello. :) Glad you liked it. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>