Reading Reviews From Member: American Ginny
  
197 Reviews Found

Review #1, by American GinnyThe Boy Who Never Was: A Cruel World

16th June 2013:
I really, really liked this! It was gripping and emotional. I have 2 problems. I wish it was longer (but i do with almost all stories), and I felt like it was rushed at the end. Harry just realized how much more life would suck without him! Give him some time to put emotions into the kiss. Make him talk a little bit. Give him time! Don't rush things. Overall well done. Loved it so much
Love,
Am.Ginny

Author's Response: Hey thanks for reading and leaving a review. :) You thought it was short? Wow, lots of people tell me how long this story is for a one-shot! :P Hm I guess I see what you mean by it being rushed at the end--but thanks so much for the critique! :D

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #2, by American GinnyPick a Poison: One

27th July 2012:
Hahahaha this was brilliant! I loved the fact that you kept daphne and pansy his friends, but I loved that you made Astoria better and above them. It was like she may have faced the same things, but she was above the level of drinking. You created a whole world for a character we really know nothing about, but you made her fit into the one we know as well. You made her manipulative and seductive so that she was not going to be over run by Draco, but that she also did not rule over him or run the family as apparent so that it would destroy him. I think this story had a lot of back work done on it, and I think that's the greatest accomplishment of this story. The story overall was amazing though. Great Job on going out of your norm :)

Love,
Am.Ginny

Author's Response: This is such a lovely review; I can't help but smile every time I read it. I'm very happy to hear that the characterisation of Astoria worked out here; I, too, believe that Draco would've needed someone who'd be there for him but not cave into his every whim and follow his every order. Additionally, I'm glad to hear that she seemed to fit into 'their' world while being slightly different.

Again, thank you so much for your kind compliments. :)

-Manno


 Report Review

Review #3, by American GinnyThe letter: Asking Uncle Harry

27th July 2012:
Okay, I honestly challenge you to go back with this story and rewrite it. it's not bad at all. Don't get me wrong, I love this story, but i think it is more of a novel rather than a one-shot or a short story. I think you need to really expand this story. It has a lot of promise if you sit down and figure out where it is going. It doesn't have to be extremely long may be 8 or so chapters that Rose is discovering the truth about her mother and her love life. Maybe in the end have a great daughter-mother where hermione explains everything that happened and how love sometimes causes hurt. I just really challenge you to expand this story. It could be your best story yet. Overall brava

love,
am.ginny

Author's Response: Hey again! :)
Hmm, I'll definitely think about making it longer, extending it. I'd have to work out where to take it and what I wanted to do with it.
Im glad you liked it though! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by American GinnyThe letter: Who is D.Malfoy?

27th July 2012:
hahaha very cute and interesting! I like where this is going, and I will definitely be reading the next chapter with a review. It's an interesting take on the life of hermione and ron, and I definitely thought you did well creating a relationship between hermione and draco for as few words you had for it. I feel like the characterization seemed to go in and out, but that could have been due to such the short amount of time for a connection between reader and characters. I would suggest expanding this so it gives the reader more background maybe a flashback or a lead up to going to the attic rather than starting there. It feels almost like you started in the middle of the story rather than the beginning. Other than that, I have no suggestions. Here's to a big a big well done! :)

Love,
Am.Ginny

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for reviewing!
I'll go back and see what I can edit, maybe try and explain why she is in the attic.
I'm glad you liked it though! :)
Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by American GinnyReminiscences: Embrace

27th July 2012:
This was an absolutely brilliant story. i think there were a few mistakes, but i have ceased to remember where... Sorry I really wanted to read the story. *shifts eyes innocently* Okay It's been driving me insane. I got that it is next gen, and I'm guessing the narrator is a OC. DOES SHE HAVE A NAME?! I must know the name. Yeah it's been my thought the whole time. I totally just wanted to skip to the end to find out the name, but i refrained. I was disappointed when I saw none though. It made me sad. :( Overall well done. :) It's like a nice memory book without the pictures. Kudos

Love,
Am.Ginny

Author's Response: Hey!

Thank you so much for this! That really made me smile, so thank you. It is a really long story :P I don't think I really bothered to proofread/edit it that much after I was done writing it!

Haha, I can understand that - I wanted the OC to be ambiguous. I think having a name in there would really change the flow and the kind of story I was telling. Also, I had no idea what name to choose (and a name really defines someone I think), so that's another reason why I left it blank. I suppose it would have been a nice surprise to see a name at the end - but would it really add a lot to it seeing as she's just an OC? I'll think about it! But thank you so much for the kind words! I really appreciate the review!! :)
- Charlotte


 Report Review

Review #6, by American GinnyGreen Eyes: The Green Eyes of Death

27th July 2012:
Wow... That was intense... It felt like a interior monologue that was actually a letter to the person having the monologue. Such a weird concept. Really great though. It was very unique, and at first it was hard to get through because it was like ok i know this okay i know. Then though it was like boom total AU while being the real universe. Totally great. Well done

Love,
Am.Ginny

Author's Response: Thanks a bunch for the review, I'm glad that you liked my story :)

-Liz


 Report Review

Review #7, by American GinnyLoved and Lost: Who Wants to Live Forever?

26th July 2012:
wow this story... this story had kind of a grace to it. It was kind of like Ginny was narrating to an interpretive dance. It was definitely beautiful. The song fit perfectly and formatted to the story. The words painted a beautiful movie in your head, and there was never an instance in which you just wanted to close the page and move on to a new story. Brava! Well done

Love,
Am.Ginny

Author's Response: Wow, I didn't expect someone to dig back all the way to this story! It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed it, and even thought it beautiful - I'm glad that you liked it that much! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by American GinnyThe Sweetest Revenge: They started it and we'll finish it!

26th July 2012:
SEQUEL!! SEQUEL!! SEQUEL!! This story DESERVES a sequel!! It was well thought out, and it seemed to stay true to the characters. I haven't ever seen a story like this one, but I loved ever minute of it. It showed how when it really matters petite little differences mean nothing. It had some great moments where you just laughed so hard, but by far the best part was CAMMANDO!! ;) Great job definitely hope to find a sequel to this someday. Lovely job

 Report Review

Review #9, by American GinnyAnomalous: Magic's Skip

26th July 2012:
Here's a parcel I was told to pass to you ;)

AH!!! this was so brilliant!!! You should totally and completely turn this in to a short story or a novel or something! It was such a unique story line. I feel like we forget that squibs do exist in their world, and so we leave them out of our stories. I loved that fact that you took the forgotten and made a story out of it, but the fact that you to the forgotten and threw it on one of the beloved children that most definitely should've had magical powers. This story was so wonderful that i didn't even care about the grammar or anything that says a lot about a story ;) My one piece of advice would be to expand the story, but that is definitely up to you. You have quite a lovely story here ;)

Love,
Am.Ginny

 Report Review

Review #10, by American GinnyThe Heir: The Heir

26th July 2012:
Hey hey hey. I thought it would be cool for me to review you back for Passing the Parcel.

Anyways, wow wow wow!!! O my freakin' goodness! So so brilliant! Loved every minute of it even if I knew who all the unnamed people were and guessed the downfall part right! Ah it's so brilliant though. Quite a unique twist and so well written.

i just had to point out on thing. I think this sentence is missing a word: "After two years of fighting the enemy as the leader I was finally able to one of the ‘greatest’ wizard I was trained to hate..." It could just be me, but i'm definitely feeling like a word is missing.

Other that Just Brilliant! Well done!

Love,
Am.Ginny

Author's Response: Omg! Hahaha of all the stories you picked, it had to be this! I have a love/hate relationship with this story. XD Anyway, I do appreciate your kind words!! And thank you for pointing out my missing word. I honestly need to sit down and take another look at this story to fix any issues.

Anyway, I would like to say sorry for taking over a year to come and give you a response! Ugh, I feel bad! :( But I really appreciate taking your time to review this really old fic of mine. XD


 Report Review

Review #11, by American GinnyHow It all began....: A tale of a sorting hat

26th July 2012:
hahaha this is brilliant! Though not a lot of action and a mellow fic, I love the fact that you focused on the fic as the hat. How much better is it that way?! :) Great job and quite the unique story. ;)

love,
Am.Ginny

Author's Response: Hey, I'm glad you enjoyed it!
So much better, I tried writing from the founders p.o.v but it was so hard, this was surprisingly easy! :)
Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by American GinnyA new life: A new life

26th July 2012:
Wow this was a great idea for a story! However, there was a lot of telling instead of making me feel the emotions. I realize this is probably the first fic you ever wrote, but I really encourage you to go back and write it with more emotion. Not only that though I would love to see more details in this story and just have it expanded all around!!! It would be so great! Even as is though, I loved it. great job.

Love,
Am.Ginny

Author's Response: Hey, I'm glad you think it's a good idea for a story, was thinking about making it into a short story or novel!
I'll take that into consideration when I go back and edit it, thanks for the advice! :)
Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by American GinnyBoy Meets Girl: Introducing Ron Weasley

18th July 2012:
hahahaha I love it. Absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! The chapters just keep getting better and better. I had a hard time with harry being such a jerk, but i'm okay with it as long as they stay friends! :) Hope to see you update soon! :) Can't wait for it either.

btw nice touch of the staircase.

Author's Response: Yes, he has just lost himself for a moment. I think it will all be explained in thenext chapter. He's just making friends and is worried about what the sorting hat said. Thank you for reading this and the reviews mean a lot :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by American GinnyBoy Meets Girl: The Letter

18th July 2012:
o likey likey likey. Losing the friendship, gaining the friendship. Discovering the the truth through the friend. oh it is all just so brilliant! Well done well done indeed! I just can't stop reading this! :D

Author's Response: Oh yeah, I just did that. Thought it would be a cute change. Glad you liked it

 Report Review

Review #15, by American GinnyBoy Meets Girl: A Light In The Dark

18th July 2012:
o brilliant turn of events. Loved this chapter so much. i can't believe your making her go to a boarding school :o how awful can you be ;) haha anyways, on one thing stood out to me and that was life in the third paragraph from the bottom. It should be live not life. Otherwise brilliant. on to chapter 4 Tally Ho!!

Author's Response: Ah thank you. I will go over it. Damn you typos!! :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by American GinnyBoy Meets Girl: The Invitation

18th July 2012:
hahahaha such a better chapter than the last... of course his hand had to get sweaty. He's probably never talked to a girl let alone held her hand. That was brilliant! Well done! excited for chapter 3 :)

Author's Response: I tried to make it known that he was extremely nervous. Thank you for reading :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by American GinnyBoy Meets Girl: Granger & Granger's Private Dental Surgery

18th July 2012:
hm interesting I definitely liked it. It was a new twist to an old story kind of. I always do enjoy a Harry and Hermione meeting before Hogwarts story. Pretty well written. I could argue over grammar mistakes, but they all seemed to be a two way thing. I am really looking forward to the next chapter, and yay for Harry gaining a friend and joy! :) Good job

Author's Response: Yeah grammar is so hard to spot when I haven't printed out the work. Thanks for providing me with my 800th review!! :D

 Report Review

Review #18, by American GinnyEscape: Escape

16th July 2012:
Hmmm well I loved the plotline, but the story structure was very choppy. I also thought if you had started earlier or explained more of what happened between them, it would have help connect the read to the character. I like what you have here. it is really good, but you are telling me a lot of things not showing me. Take the extra time to describe her tears or the feel of her heart being stabbed when she hears the voice. I think if you take a little more time to expand this story it could be awesome rather than good. Just some friendly criticism. Overall, well done.

Love,
Am.Ginny

 Report Review

Review #19, by American GinnyThe Completely and Utterly True Story of Drey, his Orbs and Hermione: The (thankfully) Only Chapter

21st June 2011:
I see why this story has 21 reviews. A mixture of pure, beautiful romance and quick, trashy romance which i think was the point. It was a beautiful read and can't wait to read the rest of Liza's stories. 10/10

 Report Review

Review #20, by American GinnyThe Simplest of Things : Climax

21st June 2011:
Wow I can honestly say I've never read such a beautiful yet intense story before. The writing was eloquent and well done. 10/10

 Report Review

Review #21, by American GinnyThe Girl Who Lived: Chapter 4: Slytherin

18th June 2011:
hahaha lovely chapter. Highly entertaining. Can't wait to see what's next. :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by American GinnyHero of War: Need To Protect

3rd June 2011:
Aw i can't wait to see where this is going!!! Um terra is cheating on Sirius?! Is that why their child doesn't fit in? Or is it the awesome story twist of the girls being switched at birth? Oh I really must know. gr...great story! 10/10

Author's Response: No Terra isnt cheating on Sirius, god no. It's just that she has blonde hair and her son has blonde hair and Sirius has grey eyes and their son has blonde hair and grey eyes. While his sister because she has her fathers hair and her mothers eyes :) Thanks heaps :) Switched at birth, who? Sorry tad confused lol :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by American GinnyHero of War: Shocked Into Contentment

3rd June 2011:
HAHAHAHA oh sirius and James will never grow up. I really liked how you brought Petunia into this chapter. I really want to see if that goes anywhere. I kind of hope it does. LOVED IT! 10/10

Author's Response: Hahaha no they never will, not completely anyway. Thank you heaps :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by American GinnyHero of War: I Dare…Wait…Food!

3rd June 2011:
hahaha humorous chapter. Although I am honestly so tired it's kind of just like in and out. Don't worry though I know what happened and I won't forget! :) yeah we graduate at 18. Although my class has a few summer birthdays so they're 17. Yeah I really wouldn't change my class for anyone. great story... 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you :) hope you enjoy the next few chapters


 Report Review

Review #25, by American GinnyHero of War: Such A Likeness

1st June 2011:
AW! AW! AW! I CAN'T EVER SEE THIS STORY GETTING ANY BETTER!!! (but I know it has to!). hahaha well actually i love school normally and am excited for it, but I'm a senior this year. We went over our snow days though so i graduate on friday, but still have school on monday and tuesday. So i have no work. It's pretty awesome actually! :) So yeah I'm as pumped for school maybe a little less than i am for this. Because I'M SO PUMPED for this story!!! WOOHOO! :) 10/10

Author's Response: Wow thank you and i hope you think it gets better :) Im really glad your enjoying it, it absolutely brightens my day to hear what you think :) I'm a year 12 this year, so final year of high school, Australia's a bit different school wise i think as we're 17 when we leave and you guys are 18 aren't you? :)
Thanks for reading and reviewing and i hope you enjoy the rest :) xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>