Reading Reviews From Member: ButterflyRogue
  
86 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ButterflyRogueDefining Moments: Albus Dumbledore: Expiation

9th December 2008:
Wow! This was a great chapter!! I really enjoyed the insight in Dumbledore's mind, you wrote him amazingly well.
Usually people see him as a man capable of doing the impossible because of his sheer awesomeness in the books, but you really showed a vulnerable side of him - a moment in his life when he witnessed the death of his little sister without doing anything to prevent the tragedy to happen. This is something he blamed himself for throughout his life and definitely a defining moment for him - the moment he finally realized Gellert was not doing the right thing.

The little elements of humor here and there were very well placed, giving the whole chapter a sense of irony, almost like trying to give it a feeling of an everyday situation --- because to someone emotionally detached from the family, it isn't the slightest bit unusual to have people dying every day. However, to the two brothers, it was the end of the world as they knew it --- Aberforth had lost the only person who never judged or rejected him and Albus had, aside from his sister, lost his faith in the man he loved and admired above everyone else.

This sentence was probably one of my favorites since it described the somewhat strained, yet still loving in a way, relationship between the two brothers: "Neither Albus nor Aberforth would realise for many years that they had not lost everything on this warm summer night, but that would not be until they reconciled and discovered that they had had each other all along."

The emotional turmoil in him was written so well. The shock, the sadness, despair, anger, disappointment, his loss of confidence in Gellert, all of these emotions flowed into one another flawlessly and succeeded in painting a perfect image of a turning point of Albus' youth and the moment that pointed him towards becoming the awesome guy we've met through JKR's books.

Congratulations!! This was an amazing piece of writing and an absolute pleasure to read.

~Vedrana (Rosie Nymphadora at eHPF)

Author's Response: Thank you! Dumbledore is probably my favorite character, and I think I love him in the same way many people love Snape - we erroneously see him as one thing through most of the books when he is actually tremendously flawed. So I wanted to do some kind of justice to his character. ^_^

For better or worse, I can't help but throw in a bit of humor in everything I write. xD But I'm glad you picked up on the irony and almost banality of the scene, because that was exactly what I was going for. Ariana's death was an accident and accidents don't happen in a grandiose fashion, they happen when you least expect them to. The final Al v. Gellert battle would have to be written in a more spectacular fashion, but I've always envisioned this scene in simpler terms.

I like that quote too. =) There's tragedy in the fact that Albus & Aberforth were estranged for so long, and I think people sometimes forget about that.

It's really difficult for me to write emotionally-charged stuff, particularly angst, (because I'm so darn emotionally shallow =P) so I'm glad you found Al's inner turmoil to be believable.

Thank you so much for this flattering and kind review! I'm just glad you enjoyed this chapter. =D

-gryffie


 Report Review

Review #2, by ButterflyRogueDefining Moments: Harry Potter: The Truth At Last

7th December 2008:
Wow... Just - wow. I know I've read this chapter several times when I first came to leave a review and now when I'm re-reading it to make up for the comment lost in the crash, I'm completley awe-struck all over again.

You've had me hooked from the very start. I understand this story takes place in your own AU version of DH --- Mysteries Unveiled and it also amazes me on how you've managed to pick up so many little "signs" so cleverly placed in the perivous books. This feels so real to me, you've gotten into Harry's head so well, I almost believed it was actually him telling the story.

The idea of hypnotherapy is very original and you've used it so well here. The disturbing childhood memories of little Harry were really heart-wrenching. :( The Dursleys really were so mean to him!

Also, I very much liked the way you've used Cecilia here. It's almost ironic how she seems to be the one to uncover the key to Voldemort's final destruction. I especially enjoyed the parts with the Sumerian mythology, being a mythology nut myself... :D It's so evident that you've done a great deal of reasearch and it definitely paid off with an amazing result.

The part that really got to me was the final one - the one where Harry realizes he is actually the final Horcrux. Once again, it is shown just how much his friends love and support him, you've shown that throughout the entire chapter.

I think I've mentioned this before, but I never really was much of a Harry-lover. He definitely has admirable characteristics, but there were always other characters I found much more interesting and attention worthy. However, I believe that with this chapter, you've managed to convert me. ;)

I really enjoyed this story, it was an absolute pleasure reading it! Unfortunately, I don't think this review managed to fully express everything that I felt while reading it, the one I left before (the one lost in the crash) was so much better in my opinion... I really should start saving all the good ones... ;)

Thank you so much for writing such an amazing chapter! *hugs*

~Vedrana (Rosie Nymphadora)

Author's Response: Vedrana,

Thanks, so, so much for reviewing this again. It's truly appreciated. Also, it is so encouraging and detailed!

I mentioned before the crash how much I appreciate this, especially since Harry is not your favourite character, although you still like him. It's funny because I did a few HP personality tests for fun and I come up as Harry most of the time, maybe that's why I found it easy to try to get into his head. As you know, this was my first attempt at writing in first person ever but I thought, okay, he's my favourite character, so maybe I can do him.

Your first review was fantastic too but this one is by no means any less detailed. I feel so incredibly flattered.

I love psychology and mythology and I thought in would be interesting to use these elements. Yes, I did a fair amount of research but I throroughly enjoying doing it.

Yes, the Dursleys were very mean to him and it is almost miraculous that he didn't turn out far worse. I'm glad that you think that his friends support shows throughout the story. They know him very well and they know what he is going through, especially towards the end. I was in fact convinced since HBP that he was an accidental Horcrux. I think Dumbledore planted several clues in this direction, even in much earlier books when he tells Harry that he can speak parseltongue because Voldemort, accidentally, transfer a part of him into Harry.

Cecilia for some reason got my imagination before DH, even though we only see her for a very brief moment. She was rich and spoilt once but circumstances change people and she is a very old lady here and a very knowledgeable one. She will feature in my novel-length too. Although the priest doesn't come up here, I thought it would be interesting to have two Muggle advisors of Harry who are a priest and a parapsychologist respectively.

Sumerian mythology is not as well known as other mythologies and I thought it would be interesting to weave this into the plot.

Honestly, your review has certainly made my day!

Hugs x


 Report Review

Review #3, by ButterflyRogueDefining Moments: Ginny Weasley: Growing Strong

7th December 2008:
Wow, this was a great chapter on Ginny! I always saw her as a very confident, very strong character, but she really wasn't like that always, was she? She really used to be that shy, scared little girl desperately in love with Harry. However, the way you developed her from that girl into the fierce, confident Ginny that we know by introducing Stephen was very well done! It's quite possible even for the strongest of characters to fall for a jerk and be so blinded by love not to see their true colors. The way Stephen treated her was just horrible and she endured it all because she wasn't sure in her own worth. She hid her insecurities and fears behind a mask of confidence because she thought it would help her forget about Harry and Stephen realized that and used it to his advantage.

I especially liked the talk Ginny had with Molly. It was a true mother-daughter bonding moment and it finally opened her eyes - she finally realized she should wait for someone who will recognize her true worth, even if that someone *cough-Harry-cough* took a little more time to get his act together and finally realize that she had always been right in front of him. He was just to stupid to see her for the wonderful girl that she is.

Amazing chapter, I enjoyed it immensely!

~Vedrana (Rosie Nymphadora at eHPF)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I really wanted to convey that Ginny wasn't always as strong as she's portrayed to be in the books, later on. We know in CoS she's not very strong, but then in OotP and later she is very strong. I felt like we needed to know what happened to make her the strong independent woman she is. I love how confident Ginny is now. I loved the talk with Molly too. It's not often a teenager looks to their parents for advice, and even less often when they listen if they haven't been through something horrible. Ginny had to go through what she did before she listened to her mom, otherwise, I don't think it would have meant as much! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #4, by ButterflyRogueDefining Moments: Andromeda Tonks: Story Time

7th December 2008:
Aw, this was so sweet!! I almost teared up in the end and it's not really that easy to make me cry.
You've characterized Andromeda so well! I really enjoyed all the memories of her and Ted. It's interesting how you've made them meet at work instead of in Hogwarts like most authors tend to, so you definitely get points for originality. :D
The whole concept of the chapter - with little Teddy interrupting with his questions, also the way you've expanded the story through several days - it was all extremely well done. There was also very delicate switching between Andromeda's memories and the things she chose to tell little Teddy. You've managed to make the story flow so well without once losing the track of flashbacks, dialogs or timeline. Great job!!

I enjoyed this very much!

~Vedrana (Rosie Nymphadora)

 Report Review

Review #5, by ButterflyRogueDefining Moments: Bellatrix Lestrange: Meeting

7th December 2008:
Hi Barbara!

While reading your chapter again, I just can't stop marveling on how you've managed to characterize Bellatrix so fully. She is a bit different here than in the books, but I rather like your description of her. You've introduced a younger Bellatrix, a before-Azkaban Bellatrix who is still fairly "innocent".
It's amazing how in a sole sentence you've managed to compare her with her sisters and show how she always felt above everyone else - how she longed for someone worthy of her, but somehow never managed to find such a person. That is, until she met Voldemort. I liked how you made her devotion to him be a direct consequence of her admiration, of her joy to finally find someone as worthy as she considered herself to be - maybe even more worthy than she was. She finally found someone she had to prove herself to.

There's a tiny part of her character that didn't really fit my vision of Bella. You've mentioned that she never killed or tortured anyone before. I kind of see Bella always having that violent streak - maybe torturing the family cat in the back yard as a kid or something like that, but hey! It's your story and I respect your characterization of her fully! :) You did an amazing job.

One more thing, you really have a knack for writing in the first person! I never really got the hang of it, I always end up being overly subjective, but it seems to come so natural to you.

Great chapter! I really enjoyed reading it!

~Vedrana

 Report Review

Review #6, by ButterflyRogueDefining Moments: Angelina Johnson: Getting Out of Bed

7th December 2008:
This was another wonderful contribution to this collaboration. I loved how you've described Angelina's pain and devastation with Fred's death. Her feelings were so real...
The way she tried to lose herself in the happy memories they shared together was so well done, very well placed within the chapter. Angelina is a very strong character, but it only takes as much to have even the strongest break. The death of her love was what did it for her. Fortunately, the memory of him and the support and understanding she received from her family and friends managed to pull her out of it.
I especially liked George's part in the story and how in the end they managed to help each other out with dealing with the pain of their loss.

Great job! I liked this a lot!

~Vedrana (Rosie Nymphadora at eHPF)

 Report Review

Review #7, by ButterflyRogueDefining Moments: Hannah Abbott Longbottom: Heirloom

7th December 2008:
Awww, this was such a lovely chapter!

I loved the part with Hannah remembering her mother and the motive of a locket as a family heirloom that has been passed through the generations of their family. The flashback you've included - Hannah watching her mother getting ready for a formal dinner, Hannah finally receiving the locket for her birthday, Hannah receiving the news of her mother's death, Hannah's wedding day; they were all so wonderfully placed to go with the flow of the chapter. The ending was absolutely wonderful and the choice of a defining moment for Hannah, the moment she passed on the family heirloom to her daughter and the wonderful thought of her mother living on in her memories and in her heart.

Wonderful story. Great job!!

~Vedrana (Rosie Nymphadora at eHPF)

 Report Review

Review #8, by ButterflyRogueDefining Moments: Kendra Dumbledore: The Price We Pay

7th December 2008:
I know I've reviewed this before, but since the reviews were lost in the crash, I wanted to re-read all of the entries and review them again.
Even now, while re-reading every chapter, I just can't help but to be amazed with the quality each of them is written.
This is absolutely amazing! I always enjoy reading about minor characters since it's the fanfiction authors that give them soul and a character based around the name JK provided them with.

Your portrayal of Kendra was amazing! You've described a proud, strong woman whose cold character is a consequence of her unfortunate life. She changed for the better encouraged by Percival's love - a lovely metaphor with the "locked door of her childhood", however, another tragic event took him away from her and with him, her faith in people and the world itself.

"She felt herself being forced back behind the locked door of her childhood, and her heart clawed toward freedom inside her. Her entire soul trembled with this decision to return to a life of solitude and loneliness. Turning to take in the soft curve of her daughterís cheek in the moonlight, she steeled herself to her choices. For the safety of her daughter, she would be the prisoner again." - She made the ultimate sacrifice, trading her happiness for the well-being of her daughter. She knew she had to become the cold woman she used to be in order to endure the trials that were to follow.

The transitions you made, from the flashback of her lonely childhood, the feeling of not belonging anywhere, of being misunderstood by everyone; to the happy days with Percival who had taught her to embrace love and happiness and the abruptness of that kind of life ending were wonderfully done. It's almost ironic how it takes a while for a person to open up, but just a moment is enough for them to close back into themselves again. And once it happens, it's so much more difficult to get out of that shell ever again.
"Percival vanished into the bright morning sun with the wizards who were intent upon bringing justice to the world." - beautiful...

Wonderful chapter, you've done an amazing job with providing Kendra Dumbledore, a character no one really paid much attention to, with a life and a history. You've made her real, you've made me feel with her pain and understand her actions.

Thank you, it was such a pleasure reading this.

~Vedrana (Rosie Nymphadora at eHPF)

 Report Review

Review #9, by ButterflyRogueDefining Moments: Petunia Dursley: Something Lost

9th November 2008:
Hey Jules!!

I think you already know how much I love everything that you write and this is no exception... As I'm re-reading all the chapters from the collaboration, I can't help but to be amazed by the quality of authors we've assembled and it makes me so proud to be a part of this collaboration and a community full of wonderful people such as eHPF...

Anyway, to move away from the utterly sentimental introduction, this was such a poignant, insightful take on Petunia. She is a character most people love to hate, myself included, but you've given her the depth most writers don't even bother to try to understand. You've actually made me fell with her, feel the pain she felt over her parents favoring Lily, her bitterness over being neglected and always coming second in everything. In her behavior towards her own family I could see her repressed frustration - the way she jumps to comply Dudley's every whim, the way she always tries to please Vernon, the way she always tries to appear perfect in everyone's eyes seems as a way for her to make sure she will always be the most important to them and that they will always need her and love her above everyone else. I specifically liked how you've mentioned how she prided herself in having such a neat, spotless and perfect house - a reflection of her "perfect" self, but still she keeps cleaning it even though it's clean enough already - as if she knows she's not entirely perfect herself, but thinking that she maybe will be as long as her "facade" (her house, her appearance) looks perfect.
The very beginning was wonderful - the way she woke up thinking of Lily, and the memories were just so well placed. I loved how you managed to show the love the sisters felt for one another despite them growing more and more apart.
And finally, the reason you gave for Petunia's very treatment of Harry was perfectly logical and reasonable. Well, to her, anyway...
In her eyes, Harry and Dudley represented Lily and herself and a second chance for her to make right the wrong she had suffered while growing up. She didn't want to make the same mistake as her parents did with neglecting her child so she directed all of that pent up frustration and sorrow towards Harry, doubling the affection she showered Dudley with. In her eyes, it was the perfect revenge, but she didn't realize she would destroy more than just one child with such behavior.

Amazing story. I enjoyed it immensely...

 Report Review

Review #10, by ButterflyRogueDefining Moments: Charity Burbage: The Letter

9th November 2008:
Now that I'm re-reading all of the chapters we have in the collaboration so far, I just can't help it but to be absolutely amazed by the quality of every single one of them. This chapter was no exception.

I love how you've given an entirely new dimension to the character we know so little about. You've given Charity a character and a backstory and you've done an amazing job with it. I love how you've described her relationship with her sister, the circumstances that made them drift apart, but also their special connection that brought them back together eventually. It was great how you've made a foundation for her affection for Muggles and her motive to become a Muggle Studies teacher - her love for Paul and for the way of life her sister was forced to live, a life Charity grew fond of and the life she secretly wanted to live herself.
It's beautiful (although sad, when I remember what will happen to her later) how her wish to secure a better future for her nephew gave her the courage to write and post that letter. Despite it foreshadowing her death, this chapter gave away the feeling of tranquility. It was very refreshing and amazingly written.

This is truly wonderful, very poignant piece of writing. It was an absolute pleasure reading it.. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, and I apologize for being late in responding to your lovely review! I've always found Charity to be a fascinating character and I'm pleased I was able to give her some dimension in a relatively brief chapter. I'm especially gratified that you enjoyed reading it because I certainly value your opinion highly! I appreciate the time you took to read and leave a review. It made my day!

 Report Review

Review #11, by ButterflyRogueLove: Someone to Sweep Me Off My Feet

9th November 2008:
Aw, this was such a sweet story!! I really, really loved the way you've given shape and defined the character of Hannah - a person we never really got to know much through the actual books. The description of her character, her unhappy history with relationships and dating and her fear of opening up was just so well done! Neville really is the kind of a man able to sweep you off your feet with his kindness and sweetness...

This was such a refreshing story, I enjoyed it very much. Great job!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for stopping in to review! I am glad you enjoyed my Hannah, it was a lot of fun taking a minor character and creating a personality. And yeah, there aren't too many Hannah/Neville stories around so this one was great to write!

Labby


 Report Review

Review #12, by ButterflyRogueDefining Moments: Luna Lovegood: All Things Possible

31st October 2008:
Oh, this was such an endearing chapter!! You wrote Luna so well!
Her thoughts seemed to flow so naturally, you've really managed to get into her head.

I loved the Moonshine parallel, it was a very nice touch. As well as her mother's name being Sol. The Sun and the Moon. :)
I also loved all of the descriptions you've included. Luna's special connection with nature through her mother was so wonderfully described and, in a way, it left her with a sort of a connection to her even after she died. I love the way you've started and finished with a motive of a forest - it really brought things back full circle.
Speaking of her mother's death, it's a great choice of a defining moment! I don't think you could have chosen a better one.

And the ending is so bittersweet and optimistic in such a "Luna" way... :) It is so like Luna to find a bright spot in such a tragedy and embrace the thestrals even though most people are prejudiced against them because of their looks and because of what they represent.

This was an amazing chapter and a wonderful contribution to our collab. I enjoyed reading it very much... :)

~Vedrana (Rosie Nymphadora on eHPF)

 Report Review

Review #13, by ButterflyRogueDefining Moments: Percy Weasley: Prodigal

30th October 2008:
First of all, I absolutely must mention the wonderfully detailed beginning. The exquisite description of Percy's surroundings simply pulls a reader right into the story, I was hooked from the very first sentence. Just by managing to compose such an amazing beginning, makes you an amazing author already... :)

The depth of your comparisons is also amazing. You draw a very vivid parallel with his surroundings and the memories such scenery evokes. It's almost like reading poetry!

Your characterization of Percy is just perfect! You've definitely given him an entirely new dimension. He's a complex character nobody gives a second thought to, I never really cared much for him myself, but this story definitely changed my perspective on him.
You've shown Percy's struggles very well. It must have been so hard for him to swallow his pride and admit his mistake. You've shown different layers of his character and defined him better than he had been defined in the actual books, especially in the scene with the mirror, when he hopes to be just as his father - something that he, at first, wanted to deny. Percy is such an underestimated character, most authors simply ignore his existence, but you've characterized him so fully and so realistically, I could practically see him as a whole person stepping out of the boundaries of HP books and fanfiction.
The reason for his frequent visits to Hogsmeade - to look at Hogwarts and remember his glorious days as a Prefect, Head Boy and a star student - was a very nice touch. It shows exactly how far had his ambition driven him and how deep his remorse in fact was.

I also liked the introduction of Aberforth as a sort of an adviser and the person who called for him when the actual fight started to take place. I like Aberforth very much for some reason so it's no wonder I liked him here as well... :D

Some of my favorite parts:
"He kept going to work, because he did not know what else to do. Arthur Weasley came in to work every day with his head held high, saw the evil around him and stood against it. He spoke harshly to those he saw committing injustices, even though it put him at personal risk. He stood strong for Dumbledore's memory, and continued to press for Muggle rights in the face of a government that did not even see Muggle-born witches and wizards as human. Percy was proud of his father, and ashamed to be his son because he did not believe he could be as good and brave a man as his father was." - this is such a good description of both Arthur and Percy. It's almost ironic how much it brings them together and drives them even further apart at the same time.

"But somehow nothing had gone right after he'd left home, and the person he'd tried to be had never been real, and the person he became instead was not someone he would ever wish to be. He had cut himself off at the knees, destroyed the very roots that would have steadied him through the storms, and now he was alone, without an anchor in a sea of evil." - so beautifully said...

Amazing job! It was such a pleasure reading this beautifully crafted story...

~Vedrana (Rosie Nymphadora at eHPF)

 Report Review

Review #14, by ButterflyRogueWaves in a Conch Shell: Story Text

20th October 2008:
Oh, this is just beautiful!!

I'm another one of those people still mourning the death of Remus Lupin and this story just gave away such hope in the life Teddy will be able to have in a free world - a world his parents gave their lives for.
Your descriptions were amazing, the motive of the waves as the earliest memory Teddy has of his life and the connection it has to his parents --- simply wonderful. I also liked Teddy's characterization - how he grew up from a curious child to a serious young man, more mature than his peers and very much like his father.
"Never a monster, but always a man." - A wonderful description of Remus in a sole sentence. Beautifully said.

Amazing story, I enjoyed it immensely. 10/10 and I wish I could have given you more...

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you loved it! XD

 Report Review

Review #15, by ButterflyRogueThe Two-Way Mirror: Reflecting on the past: Hot tramp, I love you so!

20th October 2008:
This is a fantastic story! I like your portrayal of Sirius and Remus very much! They're very in character and this moment you've chosen just fits so well with the story you've decided to write around it. It explains the origin of the two-way mirror and gives more of an insight in Sirius' thoughts while he is all alone in the house at Grimmauld Square and we all know how miserable he felt there. I love "missing moment" stories and this one is just one of the best I've read!

The memories of James and Sirius' thoughts about Harry and how he always seems to compare the two were just brilliantly done. Especially in this part - "It wasn't as if he meant to treat Harry like James- oh no, he quite understood the difference between them. He just became angry sometimes that his friends had been taken from him so cruelly."

Amazing job! I enjoyed this very much! 10/10

 Report Review

Review #16, by ButterflyRogueSeeing Red: Seeing Red

20th October 2008:
Jules, I think you already know how much I love Remus and how much I liked this little story of yours about him and Tonks.
However, each time I read it, I am amazed all over again by the way you've managed to get inside Remus' head and describe his entire life in so little words. I especially liked how you've laced your descriptions with expressions for various shades of red, in a way painting his thoughts, feelings and impressions.

The following are some parts I liked in particular:
"trying to push away what I wanted the most" - this is the line that can really relate to Remus the most. Is it not something he's always done - pushing away those he cared for so they wouldn't get hurt because of him?

"Had I never lain down my feverish head and dreamed of a world where my loved one's rosy silhouette could eclipse the treacherous full moon?" - this is just beautiful... I just love the way you toy with words and expressions.

"Looking at the two of you, I felt that I could take on an eternity of moonlit nights without fear." - another beautifully composed sentence. It is all Remus really needed to regain his confidence and realize his own worth - someone to love him for who he is. It only took him a bit longer to see that.

I enjoyed this story so much, this one as well as the slightly shorter version you had at eHPF. It was a definitely deserved first place and I'm not saying that just because I'm a Remus/Tonks shipper. Amazing writing, as always. :)

Author's Response: Hi Vedrana! Thanks for coming to review again :) This is the highest praise I could imagine, coming from someone who writes Remus/Tonks as well as you do. I had such a great time writing this story - it was my first drabble and a really good experience, since I'm one of those authors who needs a lot of room to make a story really work. I'm so proud that you think Remus was described well; he is one of my favorite characters and his death and Tonks's death in DH were so sad, especially because they'd had so little time to be happy together and enjoy their little family. I did have to add on a little bit to this piece because the word limit is 500, but I'm glad you like both versions. Thanks so much for your review! :) :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by ButterflyRogueThe Road Home: Whispers In The Dark

20th October 2008:
Amazing chapter!!! I thoroughly enjoyed it!

"Why couldn't I save her like Lily saved Harry?" --- this was so sad... but Ginny will be there to save her now, won't she? especially now when the two are reunited again.
Nyah's pain, by the way, was so real. Very well written.

And my heart is breaking for Draco as well... I have this dreading feeling he won't end up all that well :( And Astoria and little Scorpius... :( :(
Also, I'm looking forward to the further explanation of Lucius' motives. I'm a bit confused at the moment... :/

I really enjoyed this chapter, as always!

Hugs!

 Report Review

Review #18, by ButterflyRogueCatalyst: Catalyst

8th October 2008:
Oh, this was such a beautiful one-shot!! I absolutely adored the first part, the one with the dream of little Remus being bitten. It was so beautifully written and delicately described. You portrayed a very vivid picture I could see in so much detail in my mind's eye.

Also, you've described Remus and Tonks' emotions very vividly and it got me completely caught up in this story. I trust Remus' refusal throughout HBP (maybe even before, for all we know) was extremely hard on her and at some point it would lead to her breaking completely, not able to keep it all inside anymore. You described that moment very well.

The transitions you made from Tonks' point of view to Remus' and back came very naturally and they made the story flow nicely.

I'm a sucker for everything Remus/Tonks, but this was especially enjoyable to read. The angst made it even more believable and the happy ending even more welcoming. I liked this story very, very much. :)

Amazing job!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! This was one of the very first 'serious' fics I ever wrote, so your feedback means even more to me to read. Thank you again, much appreciated!

 Report Review

Review #19, by ButterflyRogueRunning With Wolves : The Journals and Correspondences of Cerridwyn Lupin (Year 1): Chapter 36

11th June 2008:
What a great update!! Seriously, this chapter was terrific!

I loved Remus' over-protectiveness towards Kerri. A sure sign than they can't possibly be "just friends" anymore. Although I think he would have reacted the same even if it weren't for the kiss... :)

also, the description of Royal's family was very touching. It really made a good social profile of the werewolf commune... Do all of his kids' names start with M? Cute... :)

Oh, the MacNair brothers... This should be interesting...

A really good chapter!

Author's Response: No, Remus and Kerri can try all they want, but no characters escape me once I decide to put them together. I've been working on the sequel....they're so nauseatingly cute sometimes....

Yes, all of those kids have "M" names -- which has been a real pain for me. I have a horrible time keeping them straight and I'm only now starting to think that I have it.

Yes, this will be the start of a years long feud with the MacNairs. It starts out as dislike and tension but I think that by the time MacNair chases Kerri's students around the Ministry of Magic in the fifth year, Kerri will pretty much have had it with playing nice.


 Report Review

Review #20, by ButterflyRogueRunning With Wolves : The Journals and Correspondences of Cerridwyn Lupin (Year 1): Chapter 35

7th June 2008:
Absolutely wonderful! This chapter had that perfect combination of romance, humor and angst. The ball scenes were so well detailed and the kiss... Oh, it was exactly as I've pictured it would happen. To tell you the truth, I'm a hopeless romantic, though I usually gravitate to angst in writing, so I don't even have to tell you how much I enjoyed this chapter. The romance was laced with your (actually, Kerri's) characteristic sarcasm --- the way she criticized the typical "girlish" way the other girls were acting, but subconsciously trying to fight off the urge to act that way herself.
Very, VERY good!

The way she exaggerated the entire thing --- speaking of some "ultimate humiliation" as a way of coping with her emotions and the way she finally admitted to herself - and to Tonks - that she actually is in love with Remus. Very touching and well developed. I'm usually not the person to look for something to criticize in a story, only mention if I really noticed something "off", but even if I wanted to, I don't think I would have been able to find a flaw in your story. It is so well thought of and written out --- it's obvious you spent a lot of time planning everything.

I'm really curious on how you're going to develop their relationship further. I'm sure some time of awkwardness and mutual denial will follow... ^_^

By the way, I liked the "scene" with the sorority girl at the ball... It was witty and funny, I like Southern accents (I'm an X-men fan... ;D) and I'm pretty much fascinated with all kind of accents in general...

I'm looking forward to the next update!

Hugs!

Author's Response: You guys are all so encouraging that I'm thinking of going back to the original fiction project that I scrapped. You're starting to make me think that I might actually have some talent in me.

You're right that Kerri and Remus will have some tension in their friendship after this. They'll spend a couple of months trying to forget the whole thing but go back together eventually. Actually...I found a use for Gilderoy Lockhart who will be returning soon...I'm going to use him to help me push Kerri and Remus back together.

Yes, Kerri does tend to exaggerate things and throw them out of proportion. So does Remus. They both think that they have issues in their lives that make them not worth being loved and yet admire the merits they see in one another. That's why I think they're so good for each other.

Thanks for all your reviews. They've all been so encouraging and helpful.


 Report Review

Review #21, by ButterflyRogueWhen Luna met Rolf: Kiss me...

4th June 2008:
Ah, Kiss Me... I love that song... ;p

And I absolutely adored this chapter!!! Kissing in the rain --- probably the most romantic thing ever... I really needed a dose of romance today, thank you for that...
And it is so like Luna to smile while running in the rain. I can totally imagine her doing that. And I knew that the earring will play a part eventually... ;)

Rolf is a very mysterious and complex person --- I like that you have made him that way.
"if Luna had told him that he had them stuck in his pockets, he would have believed her without even bothering to check if his trousers had been infected by a battling herd of the witty creatures that she so often spoke about." --- haha, I must once again say how much I like the way you have with words. Luna can sure have such effect on a man without even realizing it herself... lol

A side note: in your response to my last review you mentioned you're not a native English speaker. I would have never guess!! Your English seems impeccable! Granted, English is not my first language either, but still...

A beautiful chapter. Well done!

Author's Response: I love that song too! It's great!

Yes, I'd love to kiss someone in the rain. It's very much romantic, I have to agree. I'm glad you liked this chapter and that it was a good doze of romance for the day:D

Yes, he's quite a complex character I must say and Luna notices that too. That complexity and the contrasts in his character really draw her closer to him every time they meet. Luna will always be oblivious to the effect she has on people and particularly on Rolf:D

Indeed, I'm not a native speaker but this chapter was beta'ed by the wonderful xXLuna_LovegoodXx who is Scottish so she really did a good at fixing my grammar errors.

Thank you so much!

~Roe


 Report Review

Review #22, by ButterflyRogueRunning With Wolves : The Journals and Correspondences of Cerridwyn Lupin (Year 1): Chapter 34

4th June 2008:
Hello again...

I very much liked the letter from Kerri to Snape. It is true that he has much more potential than he is showing. I always kind of thought Severus had skill close even to Dumbledore's --- an expert duelist, an advanced Occlumens, a potions master and with his wit and intelligence that had kept him alive for so long...
And it just dawned on me --- when Kerri comes to teach in your third novel, will that be a step away from canon (since I presume she will teach Care for Magical Creatures which was Hagrid's job in the actual book), or are you planning something else, a combination of the two, perhaps?

Haha, Streak is awesome!! He's probably my favorite out of the group. And the Scooby Doo reference was cool... I just saw an episode on Cartoon Network last night and the thing with doors was in it... ;P Your sense of humor is brilliant! And the entire Dementor sequence was very well written --- I enjoyed the dynamics very much. You have a sense for details (for example, the description of Kerri's patronus), I like that very much.
You really thought of everything --- the room where the werewolves were locked during full moon. A brilliant idea --- terrifying, but brilliant to show the background of the people on a margin of society.

Another thing I have to compliment you on is your characterization. It's very believable and that is hard to achieve while writing in the first person. It is subjective, in a way, but very good developed and written.

:O You are EVIL!!! The preview for the next chapter --- FINALLY!!!

[sorry, I have some difficulties expressing what I want to say in the past couple of days...]

Author's Response: I agree. I think Snape was exceptionally gifted and intelligent. He was very badly under appreciated and underestimated. Even Voldemort was clueless when it came to Snape.

Right now, Kerri fully intends to teach all of the students when she goes to Hogwarts. Hagrid's name being cleared and Dumbledore letting him teach will change that. Hagrid will get the Gryffindors and Slytherins and Kerri will get the Ravenclaws and Hufflepuffs. That will limit her interaction with some of the main characters like Harry and co. but give me the freedom to develop some of the lesser ones and invent new ones. I'm really looking forward to playing with Luna. I think Kerri will really like her.

As for the dementor scene, I love it when reviewers all complement me on the same things. That tells me that I really have done a good job. It seems like Streak is popular with most of my readers, (he's my favorite too) and that my description of Kerri's patronus was well done. (Bella Portia even quoted a line that she especially liked). You guys are really spoiling me rotten with all the flattery.

Thank you so much.


 Report Review

Review #23, by ButterflyRogueLate on a Spring Night: Late on a Spring Night

2nd June 2008:
Wow... This was truly beautiful... It is wonderful how you amended this tribute to the HP world. The balance between the fictional and what really happened was very well written.
I also like how you started with Harry and Ginny having fun in the Muggle world after the war, how everything appears perfect and than the sudden twist --- the reception of the bad news. Harry's feelings are also very in-character, especially him feeling guilty for surviving so many times when so many others have died.

I like the closing saying that Belby/Rob had in the end done "what was right, rather than what was easy". It is very fitting and very moving. This is an extremely powerful piece of work, well done!

It is such a wonderful gesture on your part to write such a thing. I seriously admire you for it.

R.I.P. Rob :(

~ Rosie Nymphadora from eHPF

Author's Response: Thanks Rosie, what a touching review!

I felt very strongly about this incident and I decided I wanted to write some sort of tribute but I didn't have a clue as to what, to begin with. I guess I wanted to mix the fiction with what really happen but in a way that didn't mean I wasn't trivialising the real story at all.

In the end, I went for Harry because I tend to identify a bit with him and I find it relatively easy to put myself in his shoes. I also thought that, since the series is based on him, he should have "his say" on this.

I'm really glad that you thought that the mixture or reality and fiction was good. I was nervous about this because, as I said, I did not want to trivialise the situation, but in fact to raise awareness.

I'm glad you thought Harry was in character. I can actually see him and Ginny delving into the Muggle world for a quiet evening. He's just too famous in the magical one. Also, he was raised as a Muggle and I guess, he would come to realise that he shouldn't sit on the fence about Muggle issues either, yeah, that's how I thought Harry would think. I'm glad that the survivor's guilt came through as well. I also thought that he feels a bit guilty too about having all that money and basically about having a good time, but I think he is entitled to have some fun really.

I thought since Harry didn't know Marcus particularly well his reaction would be a bit like that of the general public, only a bit stronger because he actually did know him.

I just felt like I had to write something and I'm just so impressed with all the support I have had.

Thanks so much babe!


 Report Review

Review #24, by ButterflyRogueThe Road Home: Lost to the Night

1st June 2008:
Hello!
Firstly, I'd like to express my relief to hear your son is out of danger and alright. I just read about the accident this morning on eHPF and since I wasn't there to offer support last night, I'd like to do so via this review. My thoughts are with you and your family, hoping for a quick recovery.

Secondly, I am very glad to see you updated. This chapter might not have been action packed, but it developed strong emotions and was really moving, the scenes following Nyah's kidnapping very powerful. You captured the pain of the parents having their child taken from them the second time, just when they have finally found her again, so good, made it so real that I almost screamed for them myself... I have already mentioned your remarkable descriptions before, but I will do so again. You have me completley wrapped inside the chapter from the first to the final word with them...

I kind of thought you could make Astoria a good person and I am very glad I was right. Somehow, you've made me feel so connected to Nyah (just a proof how magnificent this story is :D) and I genuinely want, no - need, her to have someone to look after her in such a horrible situation. However, that last scene made me worried for Astoria... I have a feeling Lucius has been terrorizing both her and Scorpius to get Draco do what he wanted him to do. I also kind of feel sorry for Draco --- even though he was a typical bad boy throughout the books and a coward, I kind of always felt fond of him and thought that maybe some more in-depth writing could develop his character better. He always appeared to me as a rather complex character with a conflicting personality --- I can't picture him as being truly evil, rather arrogant and self-conceited, but also desperate to live up to the expectations of his family. However, I also don't see him all noble and good hiding behind the mask of arrogance as most Dramione stories have him. You've made a good balance with him, so much that a part of me would like to believe he is doing this to Nyah out of desperation --- because his father is holding his family at the "gunpoint" (in lack of a better expression).
This leads me to another compliment to your characterization --- it is absolutely wonderful, believable, well-developed and very deep.

Also, you've introduced another vital element in this story --- the reason of the kidnapping as some kind of Voldemort's plan (although you mentioned the Dark Lord, I am still not completley certain it is Voldemort behind all this --- I mean, he was so sure he would win and kill Harry, did he actually doubt himself and made a back-up plan for Harry's child in case he gets defeated??). I am very curious on what exactly is it all about!! (I have a few ideas myself, though... ;) )

You have a talent for setting the scene in a way that makes me feel like I am there myself. I feel like walking through a Pensieve of sorts, yelling at the characters to look out and feeling their pain, but no one notices me... :D (I have a weird sense for analogies... o.O)

Nice touch with Molly and the veritaserum... ^_^ That woman is my inspiration... All of the Weasleys were great in this chapter! I like how you gave a bit more of a role to Charlie (his little way of torture was very noticeable and he's the most neglected of the Weasleys so --- go Charlie!).

The next chapter is promising some serious action! I can't wait! However, I have a feeling that Nyah's potential rescue from the Manor won't be the happiest of endings since there's still the problem of her magic destroying her...

Once again, magnificent work! I am looking forward to more!

Hugs,
~ Rosie

Author's Response:

Hi Rosie! :) Thank you for the well-wishes for my son. That's one of those moments that you feel utterly helpless, which is not good for a mom... He is doing very well this morning, with some brusing and soreness, and only the one gash/bruise on his cheek. He was very lucky and all of the prayers and thoughts have been very comforting... thank you!!

On to the chapter :) Thank for an amazing review! I really do appreciate it! I'm glad that you enjoyed it, even without lots of fireworks. {sigh of relief}

I've always pictured Astoria's character as regal and pure-blood, but ultimately with a good heart. She, and ultimately Scorpius, gives Draco every reason to stand up for them and against his father. There will be quite a bit of Draco in the upcoming/final chapters and we'll see things through his eyes.

Lucius's ramblings about Voldemort will become a bit clearer soon. ;)

The Veritaserum was one of my favorite parts of this whole story! It's so Molly to have this up her sleeve! Even the best moms need a bit of help now and again. :) And Charlie is a great character to write. I can see him really enjoying watching Harry beating up on the guy, but knowing that he can't let it go too far if they want to get information from the DE. So even though he'd like to pummel the DE himself, he chooses to make his point a bit differently. :)

There will be a lot going on at the Manor... you're right, and as the clock ticks away... we'll see who rises as the hero. ;)

Amazing review - thank you! :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by ButterflyRogueWhen Luna met Rolf: Jealousy

31st May 2008:
Another great chapter, but I never really expected anything less from you, anyway... ;) I very much enjoyed both Rolf and Luna's thoughts about the preceding night --- I really like how you dedicate equal amount of time to both of them, not only Luna.

"She was the unknown quantity that threatened to blot out the entire mathematical equation in which his life had transformed." --- Oh, boy, the poor man is completley and desperately in love... There's no help for him now... Wonderfully said, though! I love the words you use!! Your vocabulary in general is amazing!

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much!

I'm glad I've managed to live up to expectations so far. Indeed, I'm looking for some balance in what concerns Luna and Rolf. They are both the main characters of this story and I want them both to get equal space in the chapters.

Oh yes he's completely smitten with her but he fails to see that for now. He just thinks of himself as pleasantly infatuated and nothing more, nothing less. Thank you so much for the vocabulary bit:D I'm always excited to see people praising that aspect because I'm not a native speaker and sometimes I fail to express in English what I really want. But most of my thoughts are there and in the exact form that I wanted them to be expressed.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>