Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews From Member: marinahill
  
631 Reviews Found

Review #26, by marinahillMalice: Chapter XVIII: Desinence

29th July 2012:
OH MY GOD.

IT'S DONE.

AHH!

Okay. So it seems like a decade ago that we first talked about this and we were throwing titles at each other and my ideas were really crap and you had some really good ideas and you stuck to this one. I'm so glad you did, it was perfect for this story.

It was epic, Jenny, as epic as you first hoped it would be and you should be so so incredibly proud. The plot was so clever and twisty and bigger than I could have thought when you first pitched it and I am so excited for the sequel.

I'm just going to go off and squee for Noah and Evie. SO CUTE.

Also, BEST ending line ever. I could almost hear some awesome soundtrack-y music going on. Just... brilliant.

Congrats! ♥

Author's Response: YAY! Ahh I remember, that was the first time I spoke to you! Fun times. Thank you for your lovely comments, reviews and for always helping me whenever I've needed it, or needed some motivation to write/finish the damn thing. You are amazing and I'm glad you liked this, especially the end :D

LOVE YOU!


 Report Review

Review #27, by marinahillMalice: Chapter XXII: Showdown

29th July 2012:
Oh my god yes!!!

Answers! The kiss! Fighting! Best chapter so far, definitely. You've got an awesome plot here, I don't know how you think of these things because it was just so superb. It explains so many things that I was bursting to know and the truth is way more awesome than I was imagining.

So so good, Jen! Onto the final chapter, I think.

Author's Response: Haha, you're welcome! Lots explained here so I'm glad you liked it lovely. Although to hear you, legendary awesome writer, saying that about my stuff is always weird. :P

 Report Review

Review #28, by marinahillMalice: Chapter XXI: Maelstrom

29th July 2012:
Ahhh! You're so cruel! She was just about to read the note but you cut her off! We better find out the truth about her parents, or else... well, there's no knowing what I'll do. I'm crazy.

ANYWAY. I LOVED this chapter. It was so tense the whole way through and I just wanted her to find out more about her past but then you threw in the Hunter and that was it and now she's caught. Agh, I have to read on.

Author's Response: Hmm, we might find out here, we might not. ;) and thank you! Tense was what I was going for. Read on ;)

 Report Review

Review #29, by marinahillMalice: Chapter XX: Imminence

29th July 2012:
Ooh. There's definitely something very mysterious going on. I hope the answers that Evie finds soon will answer ALL my questions too :P

Also, yay for Noah apologising. They need to get.it.on. like now.



Author's Response: So crude, honestly! Maybe there will, maybe there won't...

 Report Review

Review #30, by marinahillLosing Neverland: Chapter 15: Stage Two

29th June 2012:
OOOH. DRAMZ.

I like this new side to James. I think it just shows how much he HAS changed by the respect he shows Ella and how he acts when he's around her. He could have easily pinned the blame for what happened on his family but he didn't and that was such a step forward. I'm strangely proud!

And they kissed! I like that it wasn't some crazy lust-filled thing which they acted on in the heat of the moment. I feel like this one was a rational decision rather than something that could have been a mistake.

xx

Author's Response: DRAMZ ALL OVER ♥

Yes :D Multiple reasons for Ella. She's my favourite OC ever. So easy and useful as a character. She brings out the best in him (which is why I so desperately want to write a sequel to this about their relationship).

Exactly. She ain't no [non-12+ word]. He liiikes her.

THANK YOU, MY LOVELY

xx


 Report Review

Review #31, by marinahillBreathe: Breathe

29th June 2012:
You did so much in the short 500 words allotted. I could really feel Molly's pain at losing her son. I think the stream of consciousness worked really well here, and that's coming from someone who usually doesn't really like that style. It was simple and effective, and both the present tense and short sentences helped to deliver a sharp and powerful impact. I felt so sorry for her, because she shouldn't have to feel this pain but she has to find some way of overcoming it. Her guilt at smiling was the most powerful part of all, I think.

Great job :)

Marina

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much.

I agree with you on the stream of consciousness; it's not normally a style that I like reading or writing. It's just how this piece came out, so I'm glad that you think it worked well.

Thank you so much!
Del<3


 Report Review

Review #32, by marinahillSongs of Glory: A Heavier Price

29th June 2012:
Ooh this was interesting! The metaphors and figurative descriptions really brought a new dimension to Harry's character. I felt like some of the analogies you chose made everything a lot darker and more sinister. I have so many favourite lines from this, but here are a few:

he feels like a puppet prince, shoved on a pedestal and instructed to lead

That's so true of Harry. He never felt capable of doing what was expected of him, yet he did it anyway. He never wanted to be a leader or the Chosen One, he didn't feel ready for the responsibility yet no one else was there to step up and do the job themselves.

Azkaban is a festering wound, a slain beast with ulterior motives, a pathogen in the newly-born and glorified world where the equal revel, and the less equal are ingested and vomited into this pit of blackened life-preservation.

So wonderfully dark and horrific a description! It really creates an appropriate tone and atmosphere about Azkaban, a pretty horrible place by anyone's standards.

King Potter is here to lay down a flag of peace for the filthy, festering fallen. A shining jewel of a key, glinting in glory, is produced.

I like here how you've compared the relationship to Harry and Draco to a war - it's almost as though they'd reached a stalemate with neither of them wanting to surrender their pride and once again it's Harry who has the responsibility and he is the one who lays down the flag and offers a truce. He's rescued Draco again, I notice. But Harry was really never one to sort of go "it's your turn", was he?

I love the present tense usage. It makes all your lovely descriptions very powerful and immediate. I also like the fact you have no dialogue; I feel like that would have ruined the metaphor you'd built up by bringing it back down to the normal.

All in all, a great one-shot and you created so much atmosphere and story in so few words.

Marina

Author's Response: Yay, thank you so much! I do mourn JKR's lack of Harry-metaphors, and after reading so much about Azkaban recently, I ended up slotting them together almost accidentally :P I just like constructing them, adding more to Harry, because when we think about how much of his character was left to us to infer...

Poor Harry; I did so want to show how much he didn't want to lead, because he never wanted to and until the fifth book, he never really accepted it. He always just felt like he was an accident :(

Oooh that was one of my favourite gruesome descriptions, because there are just no words for how awful it must be, but I wanted to still try. I'm glad it puts across such a nasty atmosphere, since I did want to put across the contrasts!

Hehe yes! It's just always seemed that way to me, and while Draco won't ask for help, Harry knows he can't just leave his enemy rotting - he's a better person and they both know it, and won't do anything about it.

I'm glad it worked well, it just seemed too vague and useless, especially with dialogue! It needed to feel more like a dream, and in the present, that was the effect that I (hopefully) managed :D

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! :)

~Lottie


 Report Review

Review #33, by marinahillTeacups and Television: Teacups and Television

27th June 2012:
Naww this was so cute! I have to say fluff isn't the first thing I'd associate with Tobias and Eileen, I've read so many fics where they have an angsty, dark relationship, but this was so refreshingly different.

I loved his cynicism of magic, his lack of understanding of how it works. Of course it's going to be hard for him; he's grown up not even knowing it was possible and probably not even thinking about it. To try and make your every day life include magic is going to take a lot of work. He's quick to give up though and slightly bad tempered, which is sort of how I imagine him to be in my had. Of course Snape's father would be grumpy! Perfect!

Eileen's quip at the end was so cute. When in doubt, make tea, and when doubting magic, make tea magically.

This was so cute! Excellent one-shot :)

Marina

 Report Review

Review #34, by marinahillPrime Suspects: The Murderer With a Face and a Name

27th May 2012:
OH MY GOD.

Okay, so I literally just ran here after validating this chapter to say that haha! I've been following as much as I can in between validating chapters and I'm loving this twist.

I love that Teddy can't take things further with her and insists that they wait. It adds great tension and it makes him so realistic. Like, there have been times when I'm like this whole situation is so WEIRD, and sometimes I think it's too much for them to be so involved, but how can he help it? He's fallen into a trap, almost, whilst trying to trick her into confessing. It's brilliant.

Anyway! The letter... oh my god. I'm wary of believing it straight away. It looks as though Scorpius never knew she did it, so that makes me think that either she honestly IS the murderer because she's handing herself in to stop him trying to protect her. OR she knows that Scorpius did it so she's handing herself in to protect him from Azkaban. OR she doesn't know who did it but suspects it's him so she's handing herself in just in case... That last one's a bit unlikely, but you never know :P

So... Argh. I don't know. I hope it's Scorpius who did it so Rose can be free to be with Teddy.

Marina

 Report Review

Review #35, by marinahillThe Promise of a Universe: Teetering Over

22nd May 2012:
Another time, another place, we stood atop a cliff. The wind howled around us, and the skies opened up and proceeded in an attempt to drown us.

Oh my gosh -dies- That... that is so gorgeous. What beautiful imagery! I can just imagine the scene like it's a painting, you've created SUCH a vivid image. Wow.

I just... the descriptions are perfect, the tone is perfect, the dialogue is... spot on! I can't tell you how much I love this.

Brilliant.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! The fact that I envisaged that scene in my head really vividly seems to have come through, which is wonderful. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! -hugs-

 Report Review

Review #36, by marinahillThe Promise of a Universe: On the Brink

21st May 2012:
I love me some Teddy/Rose ♥

I found this story whilst perusing the archives for potential featured stories and I'm so glad I did. It's both beautifully written and cute and light and romantic and I really loved the tone. I don't know much about either character yet but I don't feel like I need many more details. Their eye colours and middle names aren't going to make a jot of difference to the tension and interactions between them. I've got a feel for their lives already through these few words.

Fabulous start!

Marina

Author's Response: Teddy/Rose is probably my favourite pairing at the moment, they're too adorable and amazing.
I'm so happy you enjoyed reading this! I feel awestruck and somewhat speechless at being reviewed by someone as amazing as yourself. Thank you so much for taking the time to review, and deciding to feature this!


 Report Review

Review #37, by marinahillLosing My Head: 1 - Authority is a problem for me.

4th May 2012:
I love it! Scorpius is so serious but I definitely love him like that. -swoons-. This was very very tolerable, my dear. I like the like-hearted tone and Rose's narration. Her thoughts are amusing, and her friend is annoying so rightly so.

Fab stuff ♥

Author's Response: Oh I'm glad you think this is more than tolerable ;) LOVE YOU

 Report Review

Review #38, by marinahillMuggle Studies: Frying the flag

9th April 2012:
Haha, we have a light-up kettle at uni. Oh, the novelty! Ours doesn't sing though, shame.

I loved it, as usual. Love all the pancake puns, they pan-ed out really well in this chapter. ;) I loved Archie and his sense of humour, of course and I am looking forward to reading the next chapter. All the students are hilarious and I think my favourite part was the sticky-Vicky gag haha. Brilliant!

Marina

Author's Response: We have a light up kettle that 'sings' but... that's a bit of a lie. It whistles. That's not singing. That's just a regular kettle noise. And it's annoying.

AHH. Pan-ed out. Love it. I may have to go back and edit that one in at some point xD

Thanks for the lovely review :)

AC


 Report Review

Review #39, by marinahillProgress: One

24th March 2012:
I'll never be okay, George thought to himself quietly. Half of me is dead.

ERR, way to go break my heart! It is sooo wonderful to read your angst. This was so sad, so emotional and I felt so sorry for George, bless him. The poor guy no doubt has no idea where to start. But you're ending this with a positive note and I love that! This is definitely going to be an emotional journey for both him and ME, and I have no doubt there will be blips along the way but I am EXCITED.

Much love! ♥

Author's Response: THANK GOD YOU THINK THIS IS EMOTIONAL! I wondered if it wasn't enough :( you are always a cutie, I'm glad you liked it :wub:

 Report Review

Review #40, by marinahillBreak Me: Lucy

20th March 2012:
Erm... right. Haha.

I'll go all out and say this definitely isn't one of my favourite sensitive topics to read about, but I appreciate that this must have been incredibly difficult to write about. It's one thing writing about it, but really trying to understand the motives behind it and the mix of emotions Lucy feels is another thing altogether. I really felt her self-loathing, her shame and helplessness here. And it's great how you managed to end in a positive note despite the horrible horrible sadness you wrote before then.

Your writing was exceptional, even if the topic itself is not one I'm particularly comfortable with. You are a brave writer indeed.

Marina

Author's Response: Yeah, this something I've wanted to write about for a really long time but put off because it's definately not comfortable... but I'm glad I eventually got everything into words and such. Thank you for reading this even though it's not your thing and... yeah, thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #41, by marinahillDiscombobulated: Amoretti

19th March 2012:
Wow. I pretty much adore anything with Ariana in, but this was something else. The ship was brave, but I love this all the more for that. Gellert's pain and loss felt so real. I could almost feel the blood, your descriptions were so vivid. It was simple and thus haunting and memorable.

I'm not sure how you managed to put so much across in 500 words, but I'm impressed. I feel like I know so much about them just from what I read here. You create their characters so well.

I loved it!

Marina

Author's Response: Thank you! Ariana is such an underloved character! It's an unusual ship isn't it but it's weird because it kind of works? Thank you so much! :D

Jaz


 Report Review

Review #42, by marinahillPortraits of Courage: The Phoenix Rises

18th March 2012:
I've heard many many good things about this story so I'm glad to be able to finally read it :)

You have the measure of both Dumbledore and McGonagall very well. Their dialogue felt so easily in character, and I loved how this sets up a plot. Here is the birth of the order of the phoenix, aptly named as you've shown here. Though they both seem apprehensive, they're not afraid to fight and to stand up for what they believe in.

A lovely opening chapter. Your characters are wonderful :)

Marina

Author's Response: You have no idea how excited I am to hear that you've heard good things about this story. :)

Dumbledore and McGonagall are certainly difficult characters to write, so I'm always terrified to tackle them. It felt necessary to include them here, and I write more of McGonagall in later chapters as well.

They are both apprehensive, but they know what needs to be done and they're both strong-willed enough to be the ones to put it into action.

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I'm very pleased you enjoyed it. :)


 Report Review

Review #43, by marinahillMuggle Studies: A Bunch of Crushing Disappointments

18th March 2012:
So many funny things in this chapter! (I'll ignore the confusing chapter thing because I still don't quite understand it, other than you've put in a new chapter here :P )

Archie is a delight as always. He's snarky and witty and so much fun. You know I love this oodles so I'll just remind you how amazing you are with my favourite bits:

"most of his class were either pregnant, in prison or unemployed somewhere other than Hogwarts by the time Seventh year rolled along."

"one girl had unexpectedly and prematurely given birth to twins in the boy's toilets "

Ronald McDonald

"I've got a crush on her."


Keep it up ;)

Marina

Author's Response: Aha, the chapter thing is just my lack of planning. I was just going for 'I'll post chapters when I've written then' then I was like, WAIT I NEED A PLAN so this story now has a plan... in which it has a chapter for each month of the year... and I'd already posted February's and December's so I had to go backwards, ahha. /end Helen fail.

Hehhe, I loved those bits ^ :D

AC


 Report Review

Review #44, by marinahillDichotomy: Dichotomy

18th March 2012:
Here we go again, you've written another gorgeous piece! you're churning them out like a production line and I'm not sure how you do it. But I'm envious of your muse all the same :P

I suppose you could say Snape/Lily is a guilty pleasure of mine. Perhaps that's because they're almost always angst-y and that's my favourite genre, but you certainly delivered up angst on a plate. Severus remembering the first time he realised he really loved her was beautiful. It only took something small like a smile, but he can cherish these memories of her even after things start to go pear-shaped.

I loved that last paragraph so much, it was gorgeous! It really highlighted the difference between him and Lily and the fact that he made some mistakes that led him to the wrong side and so away from her forever.

Lovely work as always!

Marina

Author's Response: MARINA! *squeezes you to bits* Thank you for reading this and saying such nice things! I seriously tried on the poetic/lyrical side of things because I feel like I NEVER do that and have been hearing nice/bad things on it which I am not used to (OK, so maybe I do need my head deflated now and then but it kind of sucks :P). So to have YOU look at this and say lovely things...you have cheered me up about this!

I am finding out for myself how addictive Snape/Lily can be - especially the very well-written kind.

xChar


 Report Review

Review #45, by marinahillShattered: Mirror Mirror on the Wall

14th March 2012:
Wow. That was intense. And awesome. Am I getting this right: you write this from the point of view of a mirror?! So many awesome points for that.

So, I loved it, as you probably guessed I would. The emotions are so raw and intense and I felt like everything you wrote just added to Petunia's character more and more and she was so real. The relationship between Petunia and Lily always saddens me, because they used to be so close and they let something that Lily couldn't help force them apart. And you showed that so perfectly here. Petunia's desperation to see Lily towards the end was heartbreaking, and I was almost flinching when she lost it.

That last line was stunning and alarming and heartbreaking and painful and everything it should have been. SUPERB writing!

Marina

Author's Response: Yep, the mirror was doin' all them talkin'! I'm glad you liked it so much! :) :) I wasn't sure of the reception of such an unusual perspective but it seems to have pulled off okay.

I definitely wanted to flesh out Petunia because I know that someone isn't always "just the way they are" from someone's perspective. There's always something extra.

When I was writing this, I looked at all the bio's I could find on Petunia and kept finding out how close her and Lily were as kids in addition to what we read in the books and that did sadden me and I wanted to communicate that. I have a sister and I know that it would have to be something drastic to separate us fully and that even if we were a bit estranged, I would totally do all I could to see if her I felt it was necessary as Petunia did here.

Thank you so much for this!

xChar


 Report Review

Review #46, by marinahillMalice: Chapter XIX: Tension

14th March 2012:
oh my god.

Oh nooo :( I feel so... distraught! I want to hate Eden for betraying them but I just CAN'T because she's doing it to save her family. But there's a tracking device... You better not kill them off before Noah and Evie have kissed and made up or... or I dunno. I'll cry, and you don't want that.

Seriously good chapter. Sad times for Evie, with her real Dad being dead :( I felt so gutted for her, but maybe she'll be able to find more answers now she knows more about him.

UPDATE SOON.

Author's Response: Pssh. I shall do whatever I please. ;) updates are coming soon lovely!

 Report Review

Review #47, by marinahillAct of Vengeance: Grief.

22nd February 2012:
Oh my God.

Good and bad are really not very easy to define. From the books, we get a very clear picture of who is on which side, but now... Because you're so right - Molly IS a murderer, she's taken a life and taken someone who was cared for, and she walks away without punishment. She's celebrated. It's so unjust. I mean, yeah Bellatrix was evil, but when the Death Eaters went around killing people nobody cared what the person they killed was like. Nobody is perfect, and I bet the people who got murdered had their faults but that's never used as a reason why the Death Eaters murdered them or used as an excuse. So why should Molly be any different?

Wow, now I'm feeling sorry for Narcissa again. Look what you're doing to me, I'm actually so confused. Of course she wanted revenge. But... it's Molly...

This is messing with my mind. Well done :P

Marina

 Report Review

Review #48, by marinahillArnold Approves : It seems that the boy who lived...

21st February 2012:
This has to be one of the cutest things I have ever read! A story told by Arnold? Ingenious!!!

Okay, there were so many things I loved. Arnold is so witty. And, you know, a GIRL, which makes it ten times funnier. I love how she's obsessed with food and Quidditch and has all these quirks and traits just like anyone else, only they think she can't understand them so she hears all sorts of things. It's such a refreshing thing to read because the characters are so open, more than they would be with a friend.

I LOVED it. Perfect fluff!

Marina

Author's Response: Oh my gosh thank you, this has to be one of the nicest things anyone has ever said!

You are actually, I believe the second person that has called Arnold a girl in the review, a lot of people will sometimes call Arnold a boy again, and it's funny to see how many people remember she is a girl!

I love Arnold because she's totally serious about everything, about food about quidditch, about not being able to snog a person's face off, she's so serious :)

I really loved writing Arnold, because so many people have forgotten she is around, and she's so important, her thoughts are amazing, and that's what I love about her, that this small ball is just full of life.

I love fluff, I love the idea of people being together and happy forever. I just love that sort of thing!

Thanks so much for the nice review, it means the world!

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #49, by marinahillPlaying Cinderella : Midnight

21st February 2012:
Poor Harry, stuck in the middle of a friend dispute again. He always seems to end up in that position, doesn't he?

This is a really nice starting chapter, I think. There's plenty of mystery and conflict to keep up interest and you've introduced the characters well - enough information to give a bit of background but enough intrigue to provide a platform for later chapters. I think that's important, too, because these are characters that are so familiar from the books but also written a lot in fanfiction so you've given yourself room to characterise them in your own way in the future.

It's always sad when Ron is out of the picture, but I'm a Ron/Hermione fan so I suppose that's down to my personal preference. I think you could have provided a bit more background to Ron and Hermione's split - although I'm sure he was busy, there must have been a reason he was ready to commit and I wonder if Hermione considered settling down, especially because I get the impression she really really loved him. Maybe there were some other factors that prompted her decision to leave him? Though you might be going into that later, so if so I'm sorry to get ahead of myself :P

Ah, Draco. I'm not generally a fanfiction Draco fan, so I think I might be a little biased on that. But like I said, you've not given too much away here so how you write him later will show how he's come to change and why he's made the changes he has. There's so much potential :)

A nice start!

Marina

Author's Response: Harry is always the one stuck in the middle,and that sucks! Freacking complications! Bleh! Haha(:

yay,yay,yay!(: That is exactly what I wanted to hear!

I'm sorry,I've had a lot of people say they Like Ron/Mione better! I very strongly dislike Ron seeing as how I am the biggest Dramione shipper in the entire world!;D So,I'm a bit biased,and poor Ron is always a bit abused in my stories.

More will come on the whole Ron/Mione thing in the next few chapters(:

Thank you so much for the absolutely lovely review!

xoxo

Ever


 Report Review

Review #50, by marinahillChildhood Lesson: Much to be Learned

21st February 2012:
To say that voodoo dolls DON'T freak me out would probably cause concern, so don't think I'm down with the voodoo just because I read this ;)

This was reaaally really dark. I am quite freaked out, to be honest, but I suppose that's more a testament to your writing than to the fact itself. It's easy to go overboard with description with things like this, but I liked that you kept everything relatively simple, which made a really big impact on me as I was reading.

The Prefect, who I'm sure is Tom/Voldemort, was really creepy too, the way he spoke about the girl Bellatrix was mad at. It was really spine-chilling, really really evil and you can consider this a job well done. :)

Marina

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I... uh... freaked someone out a lot with this story, so I just wanted to put the warning up just in case ;) When I was writing it, I never identified the prefect, even in my head, so I guess he could be Tom. I'm still not going to identify him, though!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>