Reading Reviews From Member: marinahill
  
651 Reviews Found

Review #26, by marinahillExit Wounds: Exit Wounds

11th September 2012:
This was simple but very effective. I liked how you never disclosed who the narrator is, yet I still got a really vivid feel for them in my mind. The first person narrative really helped with this - I got to see right inside their head and feel everything as they did. I half imagined this as Lavender speaking, but it could have been anyone who fought in the war. The narrator comes pretty much full circle, starting as a whole person, breaking down then building themselves back up again. A very touching piece :)

Marina

Author's Response: I'm just going to let you know that I fan-girled over this! :p
I was kinda going for the simple yet effective angle, so I'm glad I succeeded. :)
Hmm... Lavender, I never really thought of her but this fic was for people to make their own choice about the narrator. :D
I'm really glad you thought it was touching, it was really hard for me to write, I'm glad I affected people. :D
Thank you so much for reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #27, by marinahillDown Comes The Night: Chapter Five

10th September 2012:
Oh wow. This was soo good. It's very rare to find a founders fic this realistic and it's so wonderful to read. Your characters come alive - their tone and dialogue are both perfect for the era and their characters too. Salazar's thoughts on muggles were chilling to read, and I felt so sorry for poor Helga, stuck in the middle. I liked Rowena too, because she was practical and logical and gave Helga some great advice. I hope Salazar will forgive Helga for not telling him, but I suppose he has to find out sooner or later and I can tell she's worried about whether he'll leave or still like her or not. I really enjoyed reading this!

Marina

Author's Response: Hi Marina! Thanks so much for reviewing this chapter...I've been dying for feedback on it! I'm so happy to hear that the characters feel real. My goal was to have them be authentic to the era, and yet I still hoped people would be able to connect with them.

Salazar's got some issues. I can't think of a better way to put it :/ And Helga definitely has a lot to think about right now. I'm glad you feel for her, because I definitely do too! And I see Rowena being a great voice of reason for her, so it's good to know that came across.

Thanks again! I really appreciate this :D

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #28, by marinahillThe Mark of Cain: The Mark of Cain

5th September 2012:
Blimey. Your work just gets better and better and the more I read the more impressed I am by the sheer weight of your words. Right from the beginning, everything seems so controlled and perfectly placed. You construct these sentences that pack more punch to them than anything else I've ever read.

I love Regulus as a character, because there are two fascinating sides to him. On the one hand, there's the boy joining the cause to please his parents and whatever values of theirs have been instilled in him, and on the other hand there's the boy who's rebelling against his heritage and his own decisions and trying to fight, knowing probably that he's doomed. I love everything you did here to show the complex nature of his personality and I think I love him even more now.

That first paragraph has to be one of my favourites, ever. It doesn't read like you're trying too hard. It sounds so natural that you should describe the scene like that and it's so accurate and true that it's beautiful. There's something so desperately sad about the way he tries to remove the mark despite knowing deep down that he can't.

A very moving and intelligent piece, Susan. I loved it! ♥

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Marina! Wow, it was incredible to come across this review - I'm still speechless, so forgive me if this response sounds a little stilted in places. To hear these accolades from you means a lot - I can't properly express all the feels this review has given me. ^_^

The two sides of Regulus make a perfect subject for exploration and character study. Much of it depends on whose perspective you take on, whether it be that of Sirius or of Kreacher, which only adds to the fascination of his character. How could someone be two completely different things at the same time? What is it like in such a person's mind? The potential for a powerful story is amazing - there are so many ways one could write Regulus and try to answer those questions. It's fantastic to hear that the portrayal of Regulus in this story turned out so well!

That scene with the mark is very simple, yet tragic in that simplicity, emphasizing his immaturity - he's too young for it, yet they've forced it on him anyway. That's the one thing I've never been able to understand about his story - why did they need him to become a Death Eater so soon? He wasn't even of age yet! I'm glad that this scene is natural and effective - it's very important in setting the tone and framing the story.

Thank you again for reading and reviewing this story! You loved it! That's what matters most to hear. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #29, by marinahillAll the Abstract Nouns: Sixteen

29th July 2012:
Oh my god, I am so with you on the fact that people saying they know you'll do AMAZINGLY on exams doesn't help one bit.

So many girls' names end in y/ie! In my uni house this past year all our names ended in ie/y, it was awesome. (and I can probably imagine someone out there reading this and thinking that Marina doesn't end in a y/ie, but hey, that's a mystery for you).

"It had been unexpected because Erin wasn't one of the elitist, slightly orange populars herself" hahahaa oh my god this is why I love this story. So many lovely nostalgic memories of high school. It's like you've just broken into my life and stolen it and stuck it on a page.

Awesome chapter. :D

Author's Response: It's a pretty little mystery which I think I've possibly considered before reading this, ahha. I'll let it lie though. AHH my parents always do the 'WE KNOW YOU'RE GOING TO DO SO WELL' thing and it's just horrible.

Ohdear. Just remember about results day. Okay, moving on.

Well, breaking into your life and sticking it on a page was definitely what I was aiming for xD

Thank you! :)


 Report Review

Review #30, by marinahillBrink.: When Everyone Becomes A Stranger

29th July 2012:
First of all I have to say that the composition is spectacular. I like the mix of old and new scenes, it just added to the jumble of thoughts and memories that must be inside her head.

Second: wow. You approached this so sensitively and what I can only imagine is true to the real thing. There were a whole mix of emotions mashed together and I could feel her panic and desperation and wanting to remember and hold onto lucid thoughts but struggling so much against her illness. It's not her fault but her family were so concerned and frustrated at the same time by it. They can't help her being ill either but it must be so painful to have to go through that. You really wrote this perfectly and beautifully and it was so heartbreakingly tragic.

Wonderful. ♥

Author's Response: Hey Marina! Eee, this review has made me so happy :).

Mm, yes, I wanted to have those fragments of Mary's memories in there to really emphasize how confusing and upsetting the whole thing is~ I wanted it to build a sense of panic, as well, and a sort of 'history' of the disease. I wasn't sure whether to do more or not, but decided that they were pretty angsty and there's enough angst in this already :D.

Like I said in my author's note, I really don't have much experience with this illness apart from the fact that a neighbour of mine has it, and I often bake her cookies and it's always really scary how helpless she seems.

Anyway, gosh, you have no idea how much this review means to mee, or what a compliment it is :O. Thank you so, so much!


 Report Review

Review #31, by marinahillMalice: Chapter XVIII: Desinence

29th July 2012:
OH MY GOD.

IT'S DONE.

AHH!

Okay. So it seems like a decade ago that we first talked about this and we were throwing titles at each other and my ideas were really crap and you had some really good ideas and you stuck to this one. I'm so glad you did, it was perfect for this story.

It was epic, Jenny, as epic as you first hoped it would be and you should be so so incredibly proud. The plot was so clever and twisty and bigger than I could have thought when you first pitched it and I am so excited for the sequel.

I'm just going to go off and squee for Noah and Evie. SO CUTE.

Also, BEST ending line ever. I could almost hear some awesome soundtrack-y music going on. Just... brilliant.

Congrats! ♥

Author's Response: YAY! Ahh I remember, that was the first time I spoke to you! Fun times. Thank you for your lovely comments, reviews and for always helping me whenever I've needed it, or needed some motivation to write/finish the damn thing. You are amazing and I'm glad you liked this, especially the end :D

LOVE YOU!


 Report Review

Review #32, by marinahillMalice: Chapter XXII: Showdown

29th July 2012:
Oh my god yes!!!

Answers! The kiss! Fighting! Best chapter so far, definitely. You've got an awesome plot here, I don't know how you think of these things because it was just so superb. It explains so many things that I was bursting to know and the truth is way more awesome than I was imagining.

So so good, Jen! Onto the final chapter, I think.

Author's Response: Haha, you're welcome! Lots explained here so I'm glad you liked it lovely. Although to hear you, legendary awesome writer, saying that about my stuff is always weird. :P

 Report Review

Review #33, by marinahillMalice: Chapter XXI: Maelstrom

29th July 2012:
Ahhh! You're so cruel! She was just about to read the note but you cut her off! We better find out the truth about her parents, or else... well, there's no knowing what I'll do. I'm crazy.

ANYWAY. I LOVED this chapter. It was so tense the whole way through and I just wanted her to find out more about her past but then you threw in the Hunter and that was it and now she's caught. Agh, I have to read on.

Author's Response: Hmm, we might find out here, we might not. ;) and thank you! Tense was what I was going for. Read on ;)

 Report Review

Review #34, by marinahillMalice: Chapter XX: Imminence

29th July 2012:
Ooh. There's definitely something very mysterious going on. I hope the answers that Evie finds soon will answer ALL my questions too :P

Also, yay for Noah apologising. They need to get.it.on. like now.



Author's Response: So crude, honestly! Maybe there will, maybe there won't...

 Report Review

Review #35, by marinahillLosing Neverland: Chapter 15: Stage Two

29th June 2012:
OOOH. DRAMZ.

I like this new side to James. I think it just shows how much he HAS changed by the respect he shows Ella and how he acts when he's around her. He could have easily pinned the blame for what happened on his family but he didn't and that was such a step forward. I'm strangely proud!

And they kissed! I like that it wasn't some crazy lust-filled thing which they acted on in the heat of the moment. I feel like this one was a rational decision rather than something that could have been a mistake.

xx

Author's Response: DRAMZ ALL OVER ♥

Yes :D Multiple reasons for Ella. She's my favourite OC ever. So easy and useful as a character. She brings out the best in him (which is why I so desperately want to write a sequel to this about their relationship).

Exactly. She ain't no [non-12+ word]. He liiikes her.

THANK YOU, MY LOVELY

xx


 Report Review

Review #36, by marinahillBreathe: Breathe

29th June 2012:
You did so much in the short 500 words allotted. I could really feel Molly's pain at losing her son. I think the stream of consciousness worked really well here, and that's coming from someone who usually doesn't really like that style. It was simple and effective, and both the present tense and short sentences helped to deliver a sharp and powerful impact. I felt so sorry for her, because she shouldn't have to feel this pain but she has to find some way of overcoming it. Her guilt at smiling was the most powerful part of all, I think.

Great job :)

Marina

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much.

I agree with you on the stream of consciousness; it's not normally a style that I like reading or writing. It's just how this piece came out, so I'm glad that you think it worked well.

Thank you so much!
Del<3


 Report Review

Review #37, by marinahillSongs of Glory: A Heavier Price

29th June 2012:
Ooh this was interesting! The metaphors and figurative descriptions really brought a new dimension to Harry's character. I felt like some of the analogies you chose made everything a lot darker and more sinister. I have so many favourite lines from this, but here are a few:

he feels like a puppet prince, shoved on a pedestal and instructed to lead

That's so true of Harry. He never felt capable of doing what was expected of him, yet he did it anyway. He never wanted to be a leader or the Chosen One, he didn't feel ready for the responsibility yet no one else was there to step up and do the job themselves.

Azkaban is a festering wound, a slain beast with ulterior motives, a pathogen in the newly-born and glorified world where the equal revel, and the less equal are ingested and vomited into this pit of blackened life-preservation.

So wonderfully dark and horrific a description! It really creates an appropriate tone and atmosphere about Azkaban, a pretty horrible place by anyone's standards.

King Potter is here to lay down a flag of peace for the filthy, festering fallen. A shining jewel of a key, glinting in glory, is produced.

I like here how you've compared the relationship to Harry and Draco to a war - it's almost as though they'd reached a stalemate with neither of them wanting to surrender their pride and once again it's Harry who has the responsibility and he is the one who lays down the flag and offers a truce. He's rescued Draco again, I notice. But Harry was really never one to sort of go "it's your turn", was he?

I love the present tense usage. It makes all your lovely descriptions very powerful and immediate. I also like the fact you have no dialogue; I feel like that would have ruined the metaphor you'd built up by bringing it back down to the normal.

All in all, a great one-shot and you created so much atmosphere and story in so few words.

Marina

Author's Response: Yay, thank you so much! I do mourn JKR's lack of Harry-metaphors, and after reading so much about Azkaban recently, I ended up slotting them together almost accidentally :P I just like constructing them, adding more to Harry, because when we think about how much of his character was left to us to infer...

Poor Harry; I did so want to show how much he didn't want to lead, because he never wanted to and until the fifth book, he never really accepted it. He always just felt like he was an accident :(

Oooh that was one of my favourite gruesome descriptions, because there are just no words for how awful it must be, but I wanted to still try. I'm glad it puts across such a nasty atmosphere, since I did want to put across the contrasts!

Hehe yes! It's just always seemed that way to me, and while Draco won't ask for help, Harry knows he can't just leave his enemy rotting - he's a better person and they both know it, and won't do anything about it.

I'm glad it worked well, it just seemed too vague and useless, especially with dialogue! It needed to feel more like a dream, and in the present, that was the effect that I (hopefully) managed :D

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! :)

~Lottie


 Report Review

Review #38, by marinahillTeacups and Television: Teacups and Television

27th June 2012:
Naww this was so cute! I have to say fluff isn't the first thing I'd associate with Tobias and Eileen, I've read so many fics where they have an angsty, dark relationship, but this was so refreshingly different.

I loved his cynicism of magic, his lack of understanding of how it works. Of course it's going to be hard for him; he's grown up not even knowing it was possible and probably not even thinking about it. To try and make your every day life include magic is going to take a lot of work. He's quick to give up though and slightly bad tempered, which is sort of how I imagine him to be in my had. Of course Snape's father would be grumpy! Perfect!

Eileen's quip at the end was so cute. When in doubt, make tea, and when doubting magic, make tea magically.

This was so cute! Excellent one-shot :)

Marina

 Report Review

Review #39, by marinahillPrime Suspects: The Murderer With a Face and a Name

27th May 2012:
OH MY GOD.

Okay, so I literally just ran here after validating this chapter to say that haha! I've been following as much as I can in between validating chapters and I'm loving this twist.

I love that Teddy can't take things further with her and insists that they wait. It adds great tension and it makes him so realistic. Like, there have been times when I'm like this whole situation is so WEIRD, and sometimes I think it's too much for them to be so involved, but how can he help it? He's fallen into a trap, almost, whilst trying to trick her into confessing. It's brilliant.

Anyway! The letter... oh my god. I'm wary of believing it straight away. It looks as though Scorpius never knew she did it, so that makes me think that either she honestly IS the murderer because she's handing herself in to stop him trying to protect her. OR she knows that Scorpius did it so she's handing herself in to protect him from Azkaban. OR she doesn't know who did it but suspects it's him so she's handing herself in just in case... That last one's a bit unlikely, but you never know :P

So... Argh. I don't know. I hope it's Scorpius who did it so Rose can be free to be with Teddy.

Marina

 Report Review

Review #40, by marinahillThe Promise of a Universe: Teetering Over

22nd May 2012:
Another time, another place, we stood atop a cliff. The wind howled around us, and the skies opened up and proceeded in an attempt to drown us.

Oh my gosh -dies- That... that is so gorgeous. What beautiful imagery! I can just imagine the scene like it's a painting, you've created SUCH a vivid image. Wow.

I just... the descriptions are perfect, the tone is perfect, the dialogue is... spot on! I can't tell you how much I love this.

Brilliant.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! The fact that I envisaged that scene in my head really vividly seems to have come through, which is wonderful. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! -hugs-

 Report Review

Review #41, by marinahillCome, Sugar: I Am Not Saved

22nd May 2012:
Welcome back! It's nice to read more of your work after all this time.

I know you've said you've changed as a writer, and there's no doubt you have, there's something definitively you about this. It's in your style, your word choice and syntax. I think I could identify that you wrote this even if I didn't know it was yours, it's so distinctive.

Right, so. I'm undecided on the mood of this story. Let me explain - you've got a great contrast here between the haunting sections in italics, and the almost mundane events of Rose's everyday life. I sort of imagine the interludes as echoes of Rose's mind, horrific memories of her terrible fate. The way it ebbs in and out of the everyday narrative sort of show that it's never far from her mind, that the event is never going to leave her consciousness.

Then again, a closer look at the lyrics don't suggest such horror at all in a way, but they're written in way that is definitely dark. It's sarcasm, it's not temptation exactly... it's taunting, I think. I could be wrong and do tell me if I am, but that's how I've interpreted it.

I think my confusion over mood comes from this contrast. There are these beautifully written sections, where the present tense makes them jump off the page and come alive in my imagination, bringing with them Rose's horror and haunting memories as well as a feel for the consequences of that event. But then, wrapped around that is a completely different tone. I get a feel for some of that horror every so often but it doesn't feel so real and I'm not sure what you were going for. Let me find an example.

I shake my head a little bit and stare across my shepard's pie ≠to look at Scorpius. He waves a chicken wing in my direction, furrowing his brows. The chatter of students beats a dull melody against my ear drums.

Here... I don't know, but the mundaneness of mentioning the food disrupts the flow. I think that sort of reference is fine in something a bit lighter and less literary, but I get the feeling the style you're going for doesn't really lend itself well to those sorts of references. Am I making sense?

Another example:

With that, Scorpius waves the remnants of his chicken wing and heads for the tower. My best friend, he should have been there. Just there. He should have read into my soul through the depths of my eyes. And still, I am not saved.

The first two sentence are so... ordinary that they just seems out of place with the rest of the writing. Then they're followed with a dramatic statement that almost sounds melodramatic in comparison, which is definitely not something that should be associated with this sensitive topic.

The problem is that this is supposed to be a stream of Rose's consciousness, and some of the things in the narrative don't sound natural for anyone's thought processes. I think this would have worked better in the third person, allowing you to use the depth of your writing and descriptive talents to express these beautiful lines without the distracting everyday narrative that sounds more natural for a first person story.

Anyway. I think my main point is that there are some really beautiful lines of prose in here that are being tarnished by the mix of beautiful and everyday occurrences/descriptions. I'd say go for the natural narrative in first person or work on keeping it in third person limited and keeping up the gifted prose.

I hope that helps... I think I just waffled too much, but there you go.

I can't wait to see what else you have in store!

Marina

Author's Response: Hello my dear! Oh, I just sent in a revision of this story that I think made it better - it must not be up yet. Anyway, thank you for stopping by!

Yes, I think I have definitely changed as a writer. There has always been something a bit different about how I structure my sentences and stuff like that. You might call it a bit odd :P

You know, honestly, your guess about the interludes in italics is as good as anyone else's. I wrote a short original piece very similar to this because it contained those kinds of interludes. I don't really know how to describe them as part of the piece. They could be anything really - her consciousness, someone else's voice inside her head, emotions turned into language - I've left it up to the reader, really. Every time I reread it, trying to really make it stand out, I interpret those pieces differently.

Marina, I never even thought of that. I didn't really realize how mundane some of those sentences sounded compared with the other bits. You know I'm a very unconscious writer and so whatever comes out it just very raw. Well, I really think I was trying to go for a deep contrast between the everyday and the horror of her situation. I will be completely honest with you when I say I didn't like putting in those scenes of very mundane, everyday things, like them being in the Great Hall. I wanted to focus on the more haunting prose and things like those first paragraphs, but I really also wanted to give a sense of concreteness. Marina, in the end, I don't even know where this came from, so it's all a bit iffy anyways. Thank you for pointing those things out - I definitely didn't notice them. Thank you!

You're totally right about the third person. I would consider converting this to that POV, but I cannot write third person to save my life. I feel closer to the story if I'm writing in first person and it gives me a template to write that sort of prose because I feel so free and uninhibited. I don't really know what to do - you've given me a lot to think about!

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, Marina! As always, I love your honesty and critical eye - it helps me grow as a writer because I'm definitely not /there/ yet. Thank you so much!

Shelby


 Report Review

Review #42, by marinahillThe Promise of a Universe: On the Brink

21st May 2012:
I love me some Teddy/Rose ♥

I found this story whilst perusing the archives for potential featured stories and I'm so glad I did. It's both beautifully written and cute and light and romantic and I really loved the tone. I don't know much about either character yet but I don't feel like I need many more details. Their eye colours and middle names aren't going to make a jot of difference to the tension and interactions between them. I've got a feel for their lives already through these few words.

Fabulous start!

Marina

Author's Response: Teddy/Rose is probably my favourite pairing at the moment, they're too adorable and amazing.
I'm so happy you enjoyed reading this! I feel awestruck and somewhat speechless at being reviewed by someone as amazing as yourself. Thank you so much for taking the time to review, and deciding to feature this!


 Report Review

Review #43, by marinahillGhost in the Machine: Nightmares

21st May 2012:
The start of this chapter was even more powerful than the last, I thought. It's so sad but so honest and true that people don't get "better" or "cured" after things like this. She's reached a point where she was well enough to leave St. Mungos but after that there's still a long uphill struggle to bring her back up to even a functioning level. It's just so sad and frustrating to read about her being stuck in the mud.

There's light at the end of this tunnel, though, what with the appearance of Seamus and his job. I can see this going one of two ways: she'll get there and not be able to cope, sending her back into a downward spiral. Or it could be eye-opening for her, providing her with something to distract herself from her anxiety with. Starting on something new might just be the way to go, I think.

I love this story so much. It's beautiful and so true to Lavender's character and the aftermath of the war. I can't wait to see what happens next.

Marina

Author's Response: Oh, I'm glad you thought so! I was a bit worried with this chapter - I didn't want to just gloss over the healing process, but at the same time, writing five chapters about Lavender getting to the point where she could leave St. Mungo's and trying to move on and being unable to just didn't really appeal to me, so I decided on a time skip instead.

I definitely agree that sometimes just starting something new can be what people need. Distraction is underrated as a healing aid, and I don't think it should be.

Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #44, by marinahillGhost in the Machine: Prologue

21st May 2012:
I really love this story, I've been meaning to review for a while but never got around to it *hides*.

You describe Lavender with such delicacy and emotion even though the syntax and description is minimalistic. I like that there's no frilly bits, so to speak. We just see the world as Lavender does, through a fog of numbness. She doesn't remember how to feel or care, she's an empty shell, or as your title aptly puts it, a ghost in a machine. Still, this implies that she's in there somewhere, which is clear to see as the prologue progressed.

I love how it's the echo of a memory that triggers her speech. It's not through trying so hard and practicing, it's not through frustration or a need to please others and speak. Instead, she's just found the right time to speak again, to care again and that's when she finds herself able to speak again.

It was so beautiful and fragile and sad, and I felt an enormous amount of pity for a character I don't usually like. Excellent job. :)

Marina

Author's Response: Aw, no worries, especially given how long it's been taking me to answer your lovely reviews. *also hides*

Thank you so much for the review. I was never a huge fan of Lavender, either, but I always felt like she was a little underrated. She was a little annoying, sure, but the way a lot of people write her, you'd think she was nothing but a ditz, which never seemed to be the case.

And then a plunnie was born. :P

Thank you for the review. ♥


 Report Review

Review #45, by marinahillLosing My Head: 1 - Authority is a problem for me.

4th May 2012:
I love it! Scorpius is so serious but I definitely love him like that. -swoons-. This was very very tolerable, my dear. I like the like-hearted tone and Rose's narration. Her thoughts are amusing, and her friend is annoying so rightly so.

Fab stuff ♥

Author's Response: Oh I'm glad you think this is more than tolerable ;) LOVE YOU

 Report Review

Review #46, by marinahillMuggle Studies: Frying the flag

9th April 2012:
Haha, we have a light-up kettle at uni. Oh, the novelty! Ours doesn't sing though, shame.

I loved it, as usual. Love all the pancake puns, they pan-ed out really well in this chapter. ;) I loved Archie and his sense of humour, of course and I am looking forward to reading the next chapter. All the students are hilarious and I think my favourite part was the sticky-Vicky gag haha. Brilliant!

Marina

Author's Response: We have a light up kettle that 'sings' but... that's a bit of a lie. It whistles. That's not singing. That's just a regular kettle noise. And it's annoying.

AHH. Pan-ed out. Love it. I may have to go back and edit that one in at some point xD

Thanks for the lovely review :)

AC


 Report Review

Review #47, by marinahillProgress: One

24th March 2012:
I'll never be okay, George thought to himself quietly. Half of me is dead.

ERR, way to go break my heart! It is sooo wonderful to read your angst. This was so sad, so emotional and I felt so sorry for George, bless him. The poor guy no doubt has no idea where to start. But you're ending this with a positive note and I love that! This is definitely going to be an emotional journey for both him and ME, and I have no doubt there will be blips along the way but I am EXCITED.

Much love! ♥

Author's Response: THANK GOD YOU THINK THIS IS EMOTIONAL! I wondered if it wasn't enough :( you are always a cutie, I'm glad you liked it :wub:

 Report Review

Review #48, by marinahillBreak Me: Lucy

20th March 2012:
Erm... right. Haha.

I'll go all out and say this definitely isn't one of my favourite sensitive topics to read about, but I appreciate that this must have been incredibly difficult to write about. It's one thing writing about it, but really trying to understand the motives behind it and the mix of emotions Lucy feels is another thing altogether. I really felt her self-loathing, her shame and helplessness here. And it's great how you managed to end in a positive note despite the horrible horrible sadness you wrote before then.

Your writing was exceptional, even if the topic itself is not one I'm particularly comfortable with. You are a brave writer indeed.

Marina

Author's Response: Yeah, this something I've wanted to write about for a really long time but put off because it's definately not comfortable... but I'm glad I eventually got everything into words and such. Thank you for reading this even though it's not your thing and... yeah, thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #49, by marinahillDiscombobulated: Amoretti

19th March 2012:
Wow. I pretty much adore anything with Ariana in, but this was something else. The ship was brave, but I love this all the more for that. Gellert's pain and loss felt so real. I could almost feel the blood, your descriptions were so vivid. It was simple and thus haunting and memorable.

I'm not sure how you managed to put so much across in 500 words, but I'm impressed. I feel like I know so much about them just from what I read here. You create their characters so well.

I loved it!

Marina

Author's Response: Thank you! Ariana is such an underloved character! It's an unusual ship isn't it but it's weird because it kind of works? Thank you so much! :D

Jaz


 Report Review

Review #50, by marinahillPortraits of Courage: The Phoenix Rises

18th March 2012:
I've heard many many good things about this story so I'm glad to be able to finally read it :)

You have the measure of both Dumbledore and McGonagall very well. Their dialogue felt so easily in character, and I loved how this sets up a plot. Here is the birth of the order of the phoenix, aptly named as you've shown here. Though they both seem apprehensive, they're not afraid to fight and to stand up for what they believe in.

A lovely opening chapter. Your characters are wonderful :)

Marina

Author's Response: You have no idea how excited I am to hear that you've heard good things about this story. :)

Dumbledore and McGonagall are certainly difficult characters to write, so I'm always terrified to tackle them. It felt necessary to include them here, and I write more of McGonagall in later chapters as well.

They are both apprehensive, but they know what needs to be done and they're both strong-willed enough to be the ones to put it into action.

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I'm very pleased you enjoyed it. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>