Reading Reviews From Member: Jane Potter
  
44 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jane PotterHarry Potter and the Power's Awakening Trilogy: Book One: The DA

11th July 2005:
Continue! CONTINUE! You can't quit... please... NO.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Jane PotterThe Truth that Scars: The Best Feeling in the World

8th July 2005:
My god... that's so sad. I suppose that was foreshadowing for Sirius's time in Azkaban? *Cries*

 Report Review

Review #3, by Jane PotterHarry Potter and The Link: Changing His Ways

29th June 2005:
My gosh, I haven't reviewed in such a long time... I'm so sorry, Sam! I liked what happened in this chapter (not what actually happened, but the way it happened) and I'm so glad you updated! Thanks!

Author's Response: Hey!! Haven't spoken to you Yonks!! lol. Don't worry about not reviewing ; ) Glad you liked what happened in this one :) I think my warning of 'Strong Violence' mostly applies to this chapter, lol. Do you want me to email you from now on when i update? I've started a mailing list so it's no bother at all :) If you do, then just review again or use the contact button to email me :D Thanks for reviewing!! ~Sam

 Report Review

Review #4, by Jane PotterTwinlings: Switched

12th June 2005:
What I mean by characterization does not have to do with Hope, all in all, she is a credible chapter. Aside from that, we have barely learned what her character *is*, so it's difficult to say that she's acting *out of character*. I mean that I think your interpretation of canon characters (Ron, Snape, etc) is a bit off- they aren't much like that in the books. But anyway, keep writing, it'll get better as you move on- things always do. And I think the reason you're getting all good reviews is because if people don't like a story, they don't review at all, not even to tell you it sucks. (Which it doesn't. It's just my personal opinion.)

Author's Response: ok.. i get it! i'm glad you like Hope, because i rather like her more than all the canon female characters. with the exception of mcgonagall and ginny, of course... in response to your "non-canon" comment, isn't that the point of fanfic? to take the characters and change them and create a new story like that? i'm not debating or anything, i'm just asking because you're the only reviewer who's blunt enough to answer that.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Jane PotterTwinlings: Switched

12th June 2005:
Hey, it's me. Well, I've read what you wrote so far, and I'm going to give you an honest review of what I think... All of your grammar and spelling and such is good, which is a mark of beta-ing... but I find I don't like the story much. It's probably just my opinion, but I personally don't care for stories that focus on non-canon characters. This is your first story (and my first was crap, believe me) so it's a bit of a test fore you, you'll find, but I think your characterization needs a bit of work... Don't take this personally, but I truthfully don't care for it much- keep working on it, though! Don't let this get you down!

Author's Response: thanks. i don't have a beta, i do it myself. (product of years of english grammar pounded into me) your next comment sort of surprised me, but i can see where you're coming from. some people don't like non-canon, because the characters are just stupid. i suppose that you could call Hope as a "mary sue", but i'm trying to keep her as original as possible. which could be the problem... what exactly do you mean by characterization? her qualities? please review again, this is REALLY helpful. i have a lot of new friends out there telling me how good it is, but i still need to know how bad it is too... thanks for the honesty!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Jane PotterHarry Potter and the Pendant of Power: Party Preparations and Surprises

11th March 2005:
Woo hoo! A good chapter! Two problems, though: 1) What about underage magic? They're all under seventeen still. 2)You forgot to close the italics tag, so everything from the Imperius curse down is italic. Great story, though, please continue!

Author's Response: Thanx, Like in the fifth book there are exceptions in case of emergency... and now that everybody knows that Voldemort is back... they understand. I also fixed the itallics tag. :-)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Jane PotterHarry Potter and the Pendant of Power: The Unexpected Visits and Dreams

8th March 2005:
Yay! A good H/G story, finally! LOL, I'm a shipper, sue me! This is a great story!

Author's Response: Thanks, I am one for H/G stories too. The next chap. should be up in a week or two. (I am grounded from the computer.) sry

 Report Review

Review #8, by Jane PotterThe Dark Lord's Most Wanted: The Assignment

27th February 2005:
Have you abandoned this story? Will you ever update? I need more, please! (Even a shorty little teaser from the next chapter woul be good.)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Jane PotterReading Between the Lines: Ravenclaw vs. Hufflepuff

28th January 2005:
OK, um, I picked up these three things from the new chapter: 1) WHat is Bethany up to? 2) Why did Aquinas have to keep it a secret from Claire that he was going to the Quidditch match? Was he watching to see what she would do on her own? 3) Aquinas said, "They always stick me with the complete morons," ie, he has done this before. So he's not normally an owl, this isn't the first time he's been an advisor to someone, he's supposedly controlled by the System, and he knows Claire's Grandma... what else is there about him? Is Claire's grandma part of this mysterious System? Who else did Aquinas advise, and why? Or maybe he helped Claire's grandma with her own quest? LOL, I got a lot of theories. Se ya later, and update soon!

Author's Response: very nice on picking up the facts. not entirely sure about your theories, but you are DEFINITELY in the right frame of mind! ^^ lol i shall return soon with the next chappie! love ya!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Jane PotterHarry Potter and The Link: Class Time

1st January 2005:
Um, just a couple other things I missed... I think I submitted my review to the wrong chapter before. Why can Gabie see Thestrals? Just wondering.

Author's Response: Woot! Somebody noticed!! lol. Okay, I have beem waiting for someone to ask me this, but now I think I'm just going to have to say,wait for the chapter after next (maybe) as all will be explained then, (when Harry finally realises too!) lol. Thanks for reviewing (+noticing!) ~Sam.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Jane PotterHarry Potter and The Link: Visions of Evil Foes

1st January 2005:
Another great chapter! I'm a big fan of duels, and I think this one was fairly well written. You wouldn't believe how many duels I've seen that go: STUPEFY! EXPELLIARMUS! PROTEGO! And there's never any detail. Pfff. Yours was pretty good, I think. Is there there going to be any Harry/Gabie? I hope not, I think they'd be better off just as friends.

Author's Response: Thanks! :D Glad you liked it! Don't worry, they will strictly be friends, a lot of people are asking this, so i may need to add some Harry/Ginny stuff in the next chapter? just to set things straight, ;) otherwise, Gabey is just going to be a friend of Harry's. ~Sam.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Jane PotterHarry Potter and The Link: Welcome Home

31st December 2004:
Gee, what would happen if Harry or Remus slipped up in class? LOL, don't do that, please. BTW, what does LAMO mean? You've said it several times. Actually, that's wrong, I know it's wrong, but I'm too lazy to go back and check. ;) I want to go see Phantom of the Opera too, and I can recommend the Shrek 2 CD, which I am listening to right now... Another spiffy chapter, keep up the good work!

Author's Response: lol (LMAO= Laughing My Ass Off) You should totally go and see Phantom! If you get chance to, definitly go!! :D I saw Shrek2 at the cinema, I might just have to check out the CD too. lol I'll try not to let Re/H slip up in class, although it could be funny, I don't think I'll let it happen. (not on purpose anyway) ~Sam.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Jane PotterHarry Potter and The Link: Moonlighting

31st December 2004:
Well, if you really want me to tell you what I want... definitely some R/H and clueless Ron... It would be cool if Harry did some physical training, nothing too major, but maybe learn to use a dagger or something... and definitely more Snape. He's so cool, I agree with you. Can he have a slightly softer side? Not mushy, but not so... mean. At least civil? Please? *Puppy dog eyes.* Do it for Padfoot...

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! :D There will be quite a bit of R/Hr eventually, the Masquerade, is something to look out for. :) Ron's always clueless, lol. I had (funnily enough) actually thought about having Harry train physically for certain 'techniques' I migt just use that brilliant idea of yours, there. :D Snape, is my fave! There will definitly beloads of him...again eventually though, I have to work it in to the plot first... Yep, he will never be mushy, in my opinion, but you will get to see a somewhat civil side of Severus Snape, lol. ~Sam.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Jane PotterHarry Potter and The Link: Birthday Surprises

31st December 2004:
I've been snowed under too... with snow! Eleven inches of snow in Regina... that's way too much. One inch is too much. I think the weather is going to be mystery for tonight with a possible chance of Ron and Hermione and lots of amazing chapters near the end of the day. LOL, you get it?

Author's Response: LOL yeah I get it. :D Like the forecast... I think the weather people may actually have forecast something right for a change! lol Anyway, Thanks for reviewing!! ~Sam.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Jane PotterHarry Potter and The Link: Connections

31st December 2004:
I think there's plenty of action already! Geez, you other people, review! How can you not take three seconds to review? *Shakes fist at non-reviewers.* On another note, that's definitely something new I've never seen before: Remus having a connection with Voldie. I wonder... if several Occlumenses attcked Voldiewith Legilimency at the same time, wouldn't that distract him for a few seconds, and them Harry could Stun him or something? Couldn't Legilimency be used as a weapon? And, um... oh shoot, I forget what else I was going to write. Mmph. Great chapter, yet again! :D

Author's Response: LMAO Maybe the non-reviewers will now be reviewers!?! lol. Yep, I wanted to have something different to all the other fics that I read.. I hadn't read that yet, and thought it would be interesting, :) Hmm, I'll think about your theory of Legilimency... Thanks for reviewing! :D ~Sam.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Jane PotterHarry Potter and The Link: An Evening With Snape

31st December 2004:
Huh? Sorry, I read that last bit several times, but I don't get what Lupin means... but on to the next chapter!

Author's Response: lol Don't worry, all will be revealed in the next chapter... a small cliffy for you, lol. ~Sam.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Jane PotterHarry Potter and The Link: Happy Times

31st December 2004:
Awww... Harry deserves his happiness! But really, Remus: a jacket that makes Harry look more ripped than Arnie? Come on... Amazing new chapter, can't wait for the next one.

Author's Response: lol I wanted to impliment the fact that Wizards really aren't that clued up on Muggle atire, lol. Yep, I wanted some happiness for Harry, before things get bad again, lol. Thanks for reviewing! ~Sam.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Jane PotterHarry Potter and The Link: Fateful Words of Power

31st December 2004:
That was a reat chapter, I liked the bombshell about the second prophecy, and him being heir of Gryffindor, but I'm not too happy with Harry being related to Dumbledore and McGonagall. How is he ever going to look either of them straight in the eye again? Beside the fact that while Dumbledore is somewhere around 150 years old, McGonagall is only 60 something, making Dumbledore nearly a century older than her. I think I'm being too much of a critic here; it's probably just because I personally don't like Harry being related to Dumbledore, but if it's important to the plot, I understand. Very well written.

Author's Response: Thanks!! Glad you liked the prophecy :D I think he'll be able to look at them straight in the eye, lol. Although, what you said about the age difference is a bit scary to think about, lmao... hadn't thought about that really, but eventually it should matter to the plot, :) ~Sam.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Jane PotterHarry Potter and The Link: Seeking the Truth

31st December 2004:
Argggh! A cliffhanger! Grrr, those irritate me... but I like to write them, LOL. I think Harry's temper rises too quickly sometimes, it's becoming a bit cliche... maybe he should speak with dangerous mildness sometimes; that can be just as scary as shouting, and it shows self-control and maturity. Doesn't Harry want people to respect him? He won't get that if he keeps losing his head and screaming.

Author's Response: lol Cliffhangers are great to write, but killer to read! lol Luckily for you, you can skip to the next chapter, lol. Hmm, maybe Harry could take on some of Snape's traits? lol ~Sam.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Jane PotterHarry Potter and The Link: The Reading of the Will

31st December 2004:
Wow... I can't believe that you update so often... I update maybe once every week, if that. You definitely deserve more reviews than you're getting. You seem to be putting too many capitals on some words, like 'will' and 'parchment'. I'd prefer short chapters, more updates, if that's OK. Cheers, amigo!

Author's Response: I don't think I update that often, lol. I think the earlier chapters were more often because I had some time off from college... anyway, Thanks for reviewing! :D I'm trying to update as often as possible, although my chapters do seem to be getting longer as of late... Thanks again! ~Sam.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Jane PotterHarry Potter and The Link: Revelations and Discoveries

31st December 2004:
I'm so glad that Harry accepted Remus! And Snape of all people should know that it's not a good idea to piss Harry off... he's such an idiot.

Author's Response: lol yep Snape is an idiot, but I love him, lol. Yep, I couldn't have Harry not accept Remus, now couldI? :D ~Sam.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Jane PotterHarry Potter and The Link: Healing

31st December 2004:
Yay! I can see that Harry's growing new powers already! I'm a huge fan of Remus being Harry's guardian, so more points for you! 10/10! Um... nothing bad to say! Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks! :D I'm also a fan of Remus/Harry Guardianship, :D Wow! 10/10?! Thanks! *big grin* lol. ~Sam.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Jane PotterHarry Potter and The Link: The Suffering

31st December 2004:
*Sobs* Mean person... you made me cry! But it's a good thing, I suppose, it means you write well. I don't mind the darker parts, I have plenty of them in my own story. I was too busy reading the chapter to find any mistakes... LOL.

Author's Response: LOL I know, I'm mean... but in later chapters you'll find out why I had to be so mean... Plus I was going make it a LOT worse, aren't you glad I didn't? lol. Thanks for reviewing! Glad you're enjoying it still! ~Sam.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Jane PotterHarry Potter and The Link: Mixed Emotions

31st December 2004:
Oh dear... Harry really needs to control his temper! The only thing I can find wrong is how Hermione could have gotten an O in Astronamy, when she was shouting about Hagrid and McGonagall. Even if her work was perfect, wouldn't they have taken off some points for that? And Troll seems to be too humerous for such an official thing, doesn't it? Maybe make it stand for Terrible, or something. Either way, I had to look hard to find those mistakes, so good job!

Author's Response: Yep,Harry really does need to learn how to curb that temper of his, I guess it's just in the genes, lol. Hermione is always perfect! lol Of course she got an O in everything... lmao... I don't know, maybe she was almost done before the atack happened? maybe...lol. Yep, I agree, Troll does sound too humourous for something as official as OWL's maybe I'll change it later? Anyway, thanks for reviewing! :D ~Sam.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Jane PotterHarry Potter and The Link: Returning

31st December 2004:
*Whistles* Another great chapter! Keep up the amazing work! I can really see what the characters are feeling when you write, it's wonderful. Just a few spelling mistakes in the chapter, and some spacing. (Sorry if I'm nit-picking, but I try to add some critique with the compliments.)

Author's Response: lol Thanks! I really try to get behind the characters, almost to the point where I'm IN character when I'm writing the story, lol. Critique is always welcome! :) ~Sam.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>