Reading Reviews From Member: Mrs Roonil Waslib
  
205 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Mrs Roonil WaslibOne Second Can Be A Lifetime: The Right Thing

1st October 2011:
Ah, great ending! Very well done :)

Author's Response: Thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Mrs Roonil WaslibThe Longest Walk of Her Life: The Longest Walk of Her Life

1st October 2011:
This is wonderful :) I quite like it as is, although reading it's sequel is great to get an understanding of the background. Love it!! Your description and diction is perfection.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading! It sounds like you read the sequel prior to reading this and it definitely explains more there. I think though that this one shot carries its own :) Thank you for your lovely words!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Mrs Roonil WaslibThe Bell Chimes: The Bell Chimes

1st October 2011:
The simplicity of this fic is stunning; the plot, the scenes, the lack of dialogue are effortless and beautiful. It is not too forced or melodramatic. Definitely a must read for Dramione fans.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Mrs Roonil WaslibThe Fourth Estate: Chapter 4 Distribution

31st March 2011:
Hello! I apologize for the the time it took me to finally getting around to reviewing this chapter.

With that said, I'll start with the small criticisms I have. In the first paragraph (and this is just a nit-picky thing) you described an object as a "scalpel-like cutting tool," which sounds rather odd (to me). Saying "scalpel-like tool" or "a tool that cut with the precision of a scalpel" would flow a little better. But that my opinion. Also, when describing Padma's sleeping patterns, in the 8th paragraph of the second section, you said something like "clearly affecting me" and I believe you meant "her" instead. More general critique I have is that this was a really long chapter - it seemed to drag on for quite a bit. Finally, I thought it was kinda odd... up until and throughout most of this chapter, you mentioned the characters in a fairly impersonal manner. Yet when Lisa was in the bathroom, she was talking herself out of being afraid. That didn't really jive well to the flow.

What I liked was the explanation for the name of The Fourth Estate, as well as your phrase "loosely-defined journalists". You ended each section and this chapter with strong "wrap-it-up" sentences that keep the plot flowing smoothly into the other. I love the way you articulate certain phrases; definitely a strong point of yours. Happy Writing!

Author's Response: Ah, damn my constant typos! But I'm glad you like the story in spite of it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Mrs Roonil WaslibTogether Our Currents Flow: Together Our Currents Flow

30th March 2011:
Hello!
Well, you wanted to know the feeling I got from this story and I have to be honest... I'm in awe. I completely and utterly loved this perfect, little fic. I adore the way that you worded and paced this story. I love the perspective; I love how Hermione refers to the "boy forgotten". Quite lovely my dear.

10/10, no doubt!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! That's just so lovely for you to say.

In awe? Really? That's just...wonderful. Such a compliment.

It is definitely one of my favorite fics and I'm glad you enjoyed it just as much as I did!

Thank you so so much.

Magically Yours,

Dem


 Report Review

Review #6, by Mrs Roonil WaslibSecond Chance: Wake up.

13th February 2011:
Hello!
Let me first start off by saying that I'm not a Harry/Hermione fan in the slightest. Not that that's your fault, but I just want you to keep this in mind when I say: this was really good. Despite the pairing, their feelings and their thoughts are completely human. Some of the things Hermione thought are plausible and very...raw. This phrase really got to me: "This fake illusion about him ever caring about me more than as a simple friend is a lie, but a lie that I like to believe again and again, as I try to, heal with non-existent promises."

Ugh, I just loved that :) It was great. I also love how you said that Harry's feet brought him to wherever Hermione was, that it was natural. That was great!

The only thing I didn't like (besides the pairing) was the spacing. You left these huge gaps between the Hermione and Hermione portions, as well as between the Harry and A/N portions. It messed with the flow a little.

Other than that, good job! I liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Mrs Roonil WaslibThe Fourth Estate: Chapter 3 Staff

13th February 2011:
Hello again!
This chapter made me smile. I keep reading to find out what happens next. I admire your description and dialogue. Now for the specifics: I really liked the beginning, where you gave that terrible quill a name. I love how Morag wrote about Umbridge's school years. I especially loved the end, where you paint a wonderful picture of the odd-ball, throw together sort-of family they have become and how you manage to throw in that sense of daring and rebellion at the last moment: "she most certainly hadn't done it because she was afraid of the consequences."

Overall, great job! I can't wait to find out what happens next.

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying the story, and I hope you won't mind me going to your thread to ask for more reviews.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Mrs Roonil WaslibLeaping Obstacles: Beginning the Tournament

13th February 2011:
Hi again!
It's been a few weeks since I've reviewed the last chapter, so I don't know if it's my poor memory, but the description in this chapter really impressed me. I loved your wording in the introductory paragraph and my favorite phrase was Rachel's description of the portraits "familiar worn landmarks". Something about that I just loved. I'm currently re-reading GoF, so I liked the fresh perspective of the happenings. You also ended the chapter very nicely - it paints a wonderful (yet eerie) image, and even though most readers already know the fate of Cedric, you left me wanting more. Well done! I'll try to get to your other chapters ASAP :)

Author's Response: Wow! Thanks for dropping by! ^_^ I'd like to think my writing got better with each chapter so I'm glad to see you seem to agree.

Thanks so much for leaving a review!!!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Mrs Roonil WaslibLeaping Obstacles: Game On

26th January 2011:
Hello once again!
I really liked your reference to the Flutterby bush when describing the butterflies in her stomach. I also liked how Rachel wasn't all "Oh my goodness Cedric, I hope you don't get hurt!" when they were talking about the Triwizard Tournament. Instead, she encouraged him to go for it, despite what she thought. Very refreshing :) I loved the simile you used for time being liked water in cupped hands. I loved the ending sentence, as well as the terms in which it ended. It is very realistic for a girl to do such a thing - I know I would :) Great chapter! It wasn't too lovey-dovey - there was a beautiful balance of realism and romance. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! =) Ahh, I am so happy you came back to review this chapter. =) I'm really glad you liked this chapter, thank you so much for doing this!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Mrs Roonil WaslibLeaping Obstacles: Rainy Saturday

23rd January 2011:
I love the imagery of the first and last celebratory paragraphs. It's a wonderful way to begin and wrap up the chapter. Of course, I liked the scene in the rain :) I just liked the image of them having a sweet conversation between them in the rain, without it becoming a total snog-fest. I forgot to address the flow from the last chapter - but both this and the last have flowed perfectly :) So far, so good!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you AGAIN! =D I'm so relieved to hear about the plot flow and the imagery, it's great to hear it from someone totally new. =)

Okay, I really don't want to impose upon you, but I would LOVE it if you could read the last 2 chapters... I might go request them. =P Seriously, I cannot thank you enough for your reviews.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Mrs Roonil WaslibLeaping Obstacles: Herbology

23rd January 2011:
Hi again!
My favorite bit of this chapter was the friendly banter between Rachel and the twins. It creates a lovely light, breezy atmosphere. I also love some of the descriptions that the twins use - very true to their canon characters. The romance remain cliche, but I have no complaints. The format is comforting :) Well done, once again. Off to r/r the next chapter!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you again for your lovely review! =) I really should put the twins in more, they're just so fun to write. ^^

Thank you SO very much for doing this for me!!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Mrs Roonil WaslibLeaping Obstacles: Falling

23rd January 2011:
I loved the description in the first paragraph - you glamorize the smell of soot and grime :) Your description is definitely your strong suit. Even though the scene with Rachel and Cedric was cliche, it was sweet. I love your reasoning (in your A/N) for writing this fic - I don't really like Cho either. You mentioned your concern for the progress of the plot and I believe it's at a perfect pace. Overall, well done! I have yet to read a fic that portrays Cedric as one of the main characters, so I'm curious as to where you take this story! Be sure to pop by my review queue, if you want :D

Author's Response: Thank you for your amazing review! :) I'm so glad to hear your comments about the plot (whew!) and that you think it's going at a nice pace. And I never knew so many people out there were as dissatisfied with Cho as I was, and no one's written about it by now. XD

Thank you so much! xoxo


 Report Review

Review #13, by Mrs Roonil WaslibThe Human Factor : The One Where It All Begins

23rd January 2011:
I quite liked this chapter. It was very clever of you to place a quote at the beginning - it adds intrigue and makes the reader want to know what caused him to say that. I love the witty insight Pippa provides for the reader - but it also tends to be distracted. She often goes off on a tangent that can be confusing. It provides immense humor, but I fear by the third or fourth chapter it will grow old. Smaller doses of it would probably be more effective. The wit is the strongest and weakest factor of this chapter - balance would make this perfect :) Overall, I really like this! Best wishes for the story's success and pop by for another review, if you want.

Author's Response: Hiya! I hope you're having a good day! I'm so glad you liked it, that means so much to me! It makes me super happy. Thanks! I like to set my chapters out a certain way, i do it with my other story too. Thanks, I'm glad you liked her insights. Thanks so much for your honest opinion! I'll take that into consideration. I'll try to work on the balance!

Thanks so much, that's so kind! I'll be sure to pop by when the next chapter is up!

xxx


 Report Review

Review #14, by Mrs Roonil WaslibMirror, Mirror: Attack

23rd January 2011:
Well, that chapter seemed to fly by. I really enjoyed the light, care-free dialogue between Lydia and Lily. I thought it was sweet that Lily called Harry and that little moment where he ensured she was alright was sweet. Now to address your concerns...

Lydia is likeable and believable. I really like how you mentioned the antique shop being a risk for the Ravenclaw - it added some depth to her character. Her relationship with Scott seems a bit dull and over the top, considering they've only been on four dates. Aidan just faded into the background, although I was curious why he came into the store with his eyes averted and feet dragging beneath him. There was a hint that he has something for Lily - maybe that will be addressed in future chapters?

Pacing is consistent until the action scene - that seemed quite sudden and intense (considering Scott could have died) and it's only the first chapter. I didn't notice any grammatical issues :)

I really cannot give you a well-rounded opinion until I read further chapters - after all, it's only the first. Great potential - I'm curious to see what you do with it!

Author's Response: I'm glad to hear the dialgoue was good to read! And that the chapter flew by.

Hmmm...I'll be sure to work on the relationship between the two of them then. But it should be noted that they have known each other longer than they have been dating. I have not revealed that to readers already but thanks for the advice.

The intensity and suddeness of the attack was intended to be that way but thanks for letting me know.

I'm thankful for the review--thanks!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Mrs Roonil WaslibLittle Louis: Louis

16th January 2011:
Hello!
I really liked this first chapter. It was nice and light, for the most part. I loved how you portrayed Dom and Victoire as total opposites. I liked the supposed reason Fleur doesn't like Dom as much as the other two. When they arrived at the station, and Louis was all happy to see them, that was a great scene - I love any scenes that show the unity of the Weasleys/Potters. The flow was appropriate. I liked Louis' description of him pressing the button in the car - but I also liked how you used that as an opportunity to describe how Louis' life is changing - "Maybe he was still up there in the big, scary car, waiting for someone to bring him down. I had a feeling that he was hanging on for dear life and that if I didn't find a way to get my act together soon, he would fall, never to be seen again." I loved that!

Overall, I really liked this! Feel free to stop by for another review :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review. I, too, love showing the closeness of the Potter and Weasley clans. I will stop by for another review soon, thank you!
Fleur


 Report Review

Review #16, by Mrs Roonil WaslibThe Fourth Estate: Chapter 2 Editorial

16th January 2011:
Hello again!
What I find most striking about this story is the perspective - I love how you have characterized and made personal those names we Potter fans have only seen mentioned in the books. There is also this sense of recklessness and unity that is like that of the DA that is a lovely touch. More specifically, I liked the description of Morag reading Lisa'a piece. And I found the bit about "the successfulness of the day" being measured by how much they could divert Umbridge from teaching amusing! I'm liking this story more and more - well done! :)

Author's Response: Well, thank you for the lovely review, and I hope you won't mine me begging for another on your thread!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Mrs Roonil WaslibPrincess of Nothingland: And the Prince of Everything

9th January 2011:
Hello!
I quite enjoyed the story - mainly the ending, as that is what he deserved. I typically am opposed to OCs, but I found Adelaide's character very plausible. I also liked the fresh perspective of Scorpius. I have seen him as the opposite of his dad - polite, quiet, reserved, even kind. However, this Scorpius is very likely; I doubt Draco and Astoria would want to deprive their "little prince" of whatever he wanted. While overall, it was depressing and disturbing, I liked the point of view. Well done! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you liked it. It's great to hear that my OC was plausible. OCs are my favorite =P

I'm not very well versed in Scorpius, so I didn't actually know how he was often portrayed, but I had a feeling this was quite different from the way he's usually seen. Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it and I appreciate your review ♥


 Report Review

Review #18, by Mrs Roonil WaslibThe Fourth Estate: Chapter 1 Compose

30th December 2010:
Hello!
First off, I just want to comment on how original this plot line is. It is very clever - creating a spin-off from an actual event in the fifth book; it makes the scenario seem highly plausible. I also love the fresh perspective - I think some Potter readers tend to get caught up in the goings on of the Gryffindors that we almost regard that point-of-view as the only one. I liked visualizing the effect Umbridge's decrees had on other Hogwarts students.

At the beginning, there were a few sentences that seemed to run on or tend to be a little more confusing than necessary. I had to sometimes re-read a sentence because of its length or unneeded complexity, which disrupted the flow.

However, when the story progressed and these sentences were pulled off, you did so magnificently. My favorite of them being, "It was an insecurity most Ravenclaws possessed, but it was especially prevalent in Mandy's case." It was simple enough to understand yet the subject matter was explained a little more eloquently than just any old, "This was really typical of Mandy, even though other Ravenclaws did this too."

The Quibbler article titles provided subtle comedy, which I appreciated. I liked how, in the last sentence, you personified sleep - it was a simple yet poetic way to end the chapter.

Overall, I really like this! Very unique story you have here - I cannot wait to see what you do with it. If you want, pop by my review post and request another :)

Author's Response: Well, I felt like the other Ravenclaws had to do something while everyone else was in Dumbledore's Army. My house pride refuses to believe they were just sitting around, twittling their thumbs while Umbridge was around!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Mrs Roonil WaslibLady Malfoy: The Aftermath

30th December 2010:
Ah, Harry. "You mean like romantic stuff? That was funny :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Mrs Roonil WaslibLady Malfoy: The Shadows within the Darkness

30th December 2010:
Creepy and intriguing chapter! I look forward to the next :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Mrs Roonil WaslibLady Malfoy: Goodmorning

30th December 2010:
Malfoy to the rescue! I thought their fight was petty and childish, but other than that, I enjoyed this chapter.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Mrs Roonil WaslibLady Malfoy: The Manor

30th December 2010:
Ooh, intrigue! I really liked this chapter - I think Eli's presence is favorable to the bickering between Hermione and Draco. Well done!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Mrs Roonil WaslibLady Malfoy: The Long Commute

30th December 2010:
I really liked the last scene. I love Eli's dialogue - and it's a comfort to know that Hermione won't be completely alone without friends in the Manor. Looking forward to the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Mrs Roonil WaslibLady Malfoy: Goodbye

30th December 2010:
I really like the pace of these chapters - it feels like the fic is progressing nicely. Again, I thought Ron was played out to be a little more dumb than he really is. And I would have hoped that Malfoy would have grown up a little, if he is 27 years old. It really ticked me off that he called her a mudblood again, and that she called him a prick. Hermione would be the type of person to rise above, I would think.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Mrs Roonil WaslibLady Malfoy: Telling Them

30th December 2010:
Once again, I liked the ending. It keeps the reader interested and wanting to read more. What I didn't like was the dialogue between Hermione and Ron. I feel like you wrote Ron a little daft. But he does tend to be explosive and Hermione would try to protect him, so that was true to form. Off to read the next chapter!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>