Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews From Member: Girldetective85
  
815 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Girldetective85Trying to Resist: What Goes Around, Comes Around

30th September 2009:
Ooh I was very interested to start this story! This is probably the best portrayal of the trio in an AU story that I've come across. Every development makes sense and you always have a good alternative for why Ron didn't end up with Hermione, Harry didn't end up with Ginny, etc. I could totally see Ron running back to Lavender - I mean, who else if not Hermione? And Francine sounds like a nice girl but one of those people who are really annoying just by being nice; I can understand Ginny's feelings towards her. I love your Hermione/Ginny even more than your Hermione/Pansy ... these two girls have been friends for a long time so it's more natural to establish a relationship between them. They're so cute together! Anyway, the end of this chapter was really dramatic ... so many feelings and emotions and battling personalities all mixed together!

Author's Response: Ohh. Thank you! You really reviewed! :)
About this story, it's actually a sequel to Unfaithful. You've started reviewing that a long time ago (er...last year?), but I was so slow with updating the story that most of my readers forgot the plot. LOL *coughs* I've completed Unfaithful, though, and now I wrote this sequel.
I've never written a sequel to a novella before, but I hope this was quite okay. I've mentioned many scenes/events from the last few chapters of Unfaithful in this first chapter...
Anyway, thank you Jules! :) Your reviews are always motivating, but don't be shy to give me some critiques, too. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #2, by Girldetective85Golden Rules: Rule Number 2: Don’t Kiss Your Boss

30th September 2009:
Whoaaa things definitely moved a lot faster than either of them expected! I think Amanda was mistaken when she thought Hermione was definitely straight ... lol. I'm surprised she took the initiative to kiss Amanda since she is in a position of authority, and Hermione always seemed so self-righteous and careful about that kind of thing - but her mixed emotions and the things she still feels about her Hogwarts days must have upset and confused her a little bit. Plus alcohol helped a little ;) I like the conversation between the two women, they're definitely getting to know each other better. A LOT better. LOL. I love that I saw hints of Dramione in this! Great story so far Mitch, can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: LOL You love that you saw hints of Dramione in this story? I thought you don't like Dramiones very much. ^__^ Anyway, thanks for the terrific review, babe. You're the best.
Though I hope you could post some critiques too, you make me feel like I do everything all right, and that my stories are all perfect, which isn't actually the case. haha. ^__^


 Report Review

Review #3, by Girldetective85Golden Rules: Rule Number 1: Don’t Fancy Your Boss

30th September 2009:
Hi babe! It's me again :) I recall writing the summary for this story but haven't gotten around to reading it, and now I'm so glad I did! I really like Amanda. She seems like the kind of down-to-earth girl that readers will really identify with, as I did with her. You write her crush on Hermione so well, with just the right touch of melodrama and hopelessness that show how young Amanda really is. She's still immature but her youth is charismatic. The way you wove that flashback of her Hogwarts days with Lucy was very skillful and I like that you included that sort of initiation into what Amanda really wants. She's sort of moved past that hurdle of maturity and is now facing another one, with her massive crush on her boss. Great job so far, I'm going on!

Author's Response: Thank you babe! Thanks for the wonderful feedback! I'm glad you liked this chapter. And I'm glad that you think that I wrote Amanda's character believable. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Girldetective85A Proper Appreciation: A Proper Appreciation

30th September 2009:
Whoa!! I was wondering in the middle of the chapter why you had posted this story in your femmeslash account, and now I know :P What a lucky mistake Luna made, huh? I'm glad that the poem Ginny wrote for Harry (which was actually inspired by Hermione) made it into Hermione's hands! What good luck for Ginny. I wish we could have read the whole poem ;) I really got fooled into thinking Ginny cared for Harry, but all the time I should have seen the signs throughout your story. The two girls understand each other much better and while Harry is clueless and misses the point, Hermione is deeper and more thoughtful and understanding of Ginny's nature. This was a wonderful Valentine's Day story, Mitch!

Author's Response: ^___^ Thank you sooo much Jules! :) Yeah, the poem... the thing is that I can't write poems, so... LOL :-s
Imagine that I wrote this Valentine's story last Christmas... *giggles* Thanks for the review, Jules! YAY, you made my day! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Girldetective85Guilty Conscience: Guilty Conscience

30th September 2009:
Now you're really starting to convince me about this Pansy/Hermione ship :D As in the previous two one-shots I reviewed, their chemistry and passion are portrayed amazingly. You really have a way with words and drawing the reader into the story. I loved hearing from Hermione's point of view and how her feelings for Pansy are tearing her apart, distracting her until she can't eat or think normally. The love scene is awesome as always and you can really feel their longing for each other. Wonderfully written!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Girldetective85Detention: Detention

30th September 2009:
This was so bittersweet! I'm glad Pansy and Hermione had this one last meeting though, before they have to separate forever. It's very sad that they're in love yet have to live this lie - Pansy pretending she worships Draco and Hermione faking a love for Ron that she doesn't feel. The chemistry between the girls is as palpable as in the first story. You're one of my favorite authors on HPFF because you just have this way of writing relationships that makes them so sympathetic and engaging. You could write a Hedwig/Pigwidgeon story and I would eat it up! Please get published!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Girldetective85Behind The Closet: Behind The Closet

30th September 2009:
I could have sworn I read and reviewed this story before, but I guess the feedback got lost! No problem though, I read it again and enjoyed it every bit as much as I did the first time. :) This was HOT Mitch! I usually wouldn't picture Hermione and Pansy together - I mean, I have a hard time with just Hermione and Draco (except for yours of course!) - but I thought they had fantastic chemistry in this story. Pansy is the quintessential Slytherin and you wrote her exactly as I would imagine her, minus the complete dumbness. She's very bold and forward and Hermione's more shy and reserved, but that makes their pull towards each other even more realistic. I love your descriptions and you really know how to write an intense scene. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you Jules! Oops, I didn't see your review here. Sorry for the late reply. Yeah, you've reviewed this story before, you were one of the first reviewers actually, before the reviews got lost. But I didn't want to bother you to post another, so my double-thanks for re-posting a review anyway. :) Yeah, this story was one of my first few femmeslash stories. Actually my first one-shot. I'm glad you liked it despite the fact that you actually don't like this pairing. :))) YAY, thanks Jules! You're the best...

 Report Review

Review #8, by Girldetective85When Nothing Else Matters: Everything Happens For a Reason

30th September 2009:
Aw I've always loved the name Louie! It doesn't sound like a very Malfoy-ish name but that's probably a good thing :D I wouldn't want to name a baby "Draco" or "Lucius" or "Abraxas." This chapter was full of humor - I laughed at the part where Hermione couldn't think of what to say after his proposal and threw up, and at the part where he wanted to name their baby "Rudolph" and she was thinking that it sounded like a reindeer. LOL. The repartee between Draco and Hermione is, as always, amusing and bitingly funny. You can really see how different they are and I'm so glad you keep them in character - Draco's arrogance and cluelessness, and Hermione's determination and stubbornness - because it makes them that much more realistic.

Figures that Draco would think hiding Hermione and the baby in his room at his parents' house would work. *eyeroll* And then he gave her a house! How very Louis XVI of him ... didn't he give Marie Antoinette a palace when she gave birth too? Maybe I'm not remembering it correctly. But anyway, it's just the sort of thing Draco would do! I thought it was funny how Hermione was just declaring that she would never live in the house in the countryside, and then the next thing is "PRESENT TIME - HERMIONE'S HOUSE IN THE COUNTRYSIDE." Lmao!

This was a great chapter as always, Mitch. Update soon!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Girldetective85Saving Mum & Dad: The Muggle Snapshot

30th September 2009:
Agh! I am so confused ... I need to go back and re-read this whole story. So they saw Ron's dead body - but he wasn't really dead? Because your author's note reminds us that Ron must have lived til at least Harry's seventeenth birthday, meaning that he should not be dead yet. I wonder what's going on - has Hayden's time travel maybe messed things up in the past?? In that case, I wonder if his quest for his parents will stay on the same smooth track as well. I hope so!

The scene between Michael and Cho was heartbreaking :( You can really see how controlling and manipulative he is, and it's terrible that he's treating her this way. She is obviously just a rebound while he tries to get over Ginny. And poor Naomi, having to witness that scene between them!

Love the scene between Hermione and Draco as always. You write them so realistically and it's so easy to sympathize with them. I especially like that they are star-crossed lovers in this story because we're so desperately rooting for them yet we know how it will end - unless Hayden can do something about it.

And time is running out for Hayden ... if he's going to be conceived next month, he has to work FAST.

Awesome job Mitch! Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Sorry for the confusion. Yes, you got it right, actually. Ron must have lived until Harry’s seventeenth birthday, so he “shouldn’t” be dead yet. Meaning, someone else has killed him on purpose. So there’s something wrong going on. To bring him back to life, there’s someone else who’ll die for him, but of course I can’t tell you now without giving out the plot. :-s And his death WILL change the course of fate in Draco and Hermione’s relationship, which is actually the beginning of this whole drama—their broken marriage later, the fights, the accident, etc. *sighs* So confusing. But don’t worry, it’ll become clear at the end.

Yeah, Michael is a control-freak. And poor Cho. But that’s exactly how it should go.

And thank you so much for the reviews. I love them. ;)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Girldetective85Saving Mum & Dad: Something More

30th September 2009:
Hi Mitchy! I'm back to leave reviews :) :) I know I say this every time, but your Dramiones always wow me. They are the only exception to the fact that I hate this pairing. I think the only reason I hate this pairing is because most people write them so unbelievably, but you make it seem perfectly natural and canon so there really isn't any reason to hate D/H any more is there?! The way you build up their relationship is flawless. In this one chapter you managed to create more chemistry than most Dramione authors do in an entire novel length story. I love the way you had Draco's passion and uncertainty kind of battle each other in the opening scene; I could really feel this reluctant pull he has towards Hermione. They are from completely different worlds and opposite sides, yet there's this force that is drawing them inexorably together.

The scene with Naomi and Hayden was so powerful. Hayden's heartbreak and shock at these new developments was very obvious, and the news that he had killed Hermione - WOW. I can't wait to find out more about this storyline. There was one section in the middle where you had copy and pasted the same paragraph over twice - the one where he was demanding of Naomi why he had heard his mother screaming during the car accident. :)

My favorite section of this chapter undoubtedly is when Draco and Hermione abandon all pretenses. I love, love, LOVE this paragraph: "There were no holding hands when they walked together, nor arms wrapped possessively around each other's waists, nor exaggerated sweet names, nor mushy gifts he presented to her like red flowers, nor a huge stuffed heart, not even a romantic declaration of love. Everything that lovers do for the sake of public display of affection was set aside. All of that wasn't necessary to make the audience notice the change between them." They are so above all that - they don't need to do all the obvious "couple" things to show the chemistry that is rising between them. Wonderful descriptions.

This story is amazing.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you sweetheart for the wonderful review. You really kept your promise! :) I haven't read many Dramiones yet, and I don't like all Dramione stories either. I know what you mean. Maybe it's just because of Draco's "bad guy" image that I like him so much.
It's hard to write them without making them totally OOC, I know. I think I made here and there a couple of mistakes, too, so my Dramione isn't that flawless... LOL ^_^ I turned Draco kind of into a softy with depressions, and Hermione into a neurotic, apathetic girl who's possessed with sating her curiosity about Hayden that she completely forgets about her friends. In my story, Draco and Hermione really DON'T like each other, and they DO try to avoid and hate each other, but because of Hayden's, their son's, "secret" magic, they feel this attraction towards each other, which they mistakenly confuse with love.

Thank you for pointing out that error in the H/N scene. Oopsy. I wonder why no one else noticed... *hmpf* And I wonder how THAT happened, that I copy-pasted the same paragraph without noticing it. Huh??? o.O

*hugs*


 Report Review

Review #11, by Girldetective85Behind the Mask: Late Night Meetings

24th September 2009:
Wow! Holden was so decent to confess that much to Lauren. Unfortunately he also told her a lie (about not liking Alyssa at all) because if he didn't like her, he wouldn't even have given her a chance at friendship. Poor Lauren, I can definitely feel for her and you write her insecurities so well. She reacted exactly the way anyone could react - sort of cautious and nervous at the same time. I really hope Holden's feelings for Alyssa don't change with time, but who knows? She seems devious enough to try to win him over and the fact that he gets to her sometimes proves how much she likes him, no matter what she might say to her friends. This is great Leslie, keep writing!

Author's Response: Ah, but maybe Holden is just too nice of a guy to turn down anyone, no matter how awful they are to others ;). And I'm so happy that you found Lauren's reactions and insecurities to be sincere, that really means a lot because I am really trying to make the characters seem as real as I can. As for Holden's feelings for Alyssa changing as time progresses, well, I don't think that's going to mess with any chances he has with whoever he hands up with xD. Thanks so much for reviewing, Jules, I really appreciate you're opinions and the feedback that you give me.

xD Leslie


 Report Review

Review #12, by Girldetective85Behind the Mask: Friendship

24th September 2009:
Ugh no Holden no!! LOL No secret friendship with Alyssa. This poor guy - I have a feeling things might blow up in his face after this. His friends will be appalled at the friendship if they ever find out and I know that Lauren will be really upset if she discovers that Alyssa is Holden's Masquerade Girl. I wonder why Holden gave her a chance - I suppose he's nice and he also felt something between them, but I feel like it's just physical attraction and the fact that the two of them were playing some kind of twisted game. Gah! The tension is building!

Author's Response: heheh, I'm glad you're still enjoying the story xD And things are only going to get more twisted from here... -attempts to whistle- It's times like these I wish I could whistle. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Girldetective85Behind the Mask: Atop the Astronomy Tower

24th September 2009:
Hi Leslie! Sorry I haven't been reviewing in a while :) I'm taking a break from validating and getting back to some reading, and I just now saw your request from months before! I'm so excited that this next chapter has finally come up and it did not disappoint! I was very worried that Holden and Alyssa would not meet because of that nosy Natalie. But I'm glad that Holden had the presence of mind to think of a way around it. And now he finally knows that his Masquerade Girl is none other than Alyssa, who spread horrible rumors about his friends. She sure has a lot of nerve, asking him not to hate her for what she did and looking so smug and confident. I don't blame Holden for leaving! I wonder what will happen next... it seems as though Alyssa will not get what she wants after all. Yay because I want Holden to end up with Lauren!!

Author's Response: Yes, Holden does have quite a sharp mind with working around something or in this case, someone. And I'm still not saying who Holden will end up with... lots to come. ;)

Thanks so much for the review, Jules! It was just what I needed after the very long weekend that I've had.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Girldetective85Ripples: Prologue

26th August 2009:
I thought this was a very well written and intriguing prologue. Your summary pulled me right in and now that I know the story will be about minor characters, you have my full attention! I'm excited to see where you go with this. Will continue reading :)

Author's Response: Thankyou very muchly! I'm a huge fan of 'Give up this fight', so its an honour to be reviewed!

Minor characters have always interested me, I feel like I have more of a right to write them.

Since I wasn't coming across enough of the type of fanfiction I like to read, I was forced to make my own. I hope it stays interesting for readers!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Girldetective85Dance With Me: Dance With Me

20th May 2009:
*giggle* You gotta love Luna! I think you've written her so, so well. From the very first sentence, which made me picture Luna immediately, I could tell this was going to be a pitch perfect characterization of her. I have never read a Ron/Luna story before but seriously? It's a possibility! I've never been crazy about the idea that she married someone we don't know well, that Scamander guy (I'm a Neville/Luna supporter) but I could possibly see Ron overcoming his weirded-outness towards her. Nice job, I enjoyed this!

Author's Response: Yes, Luna is amazing! And so incredible to write. Thank you so, so much *hugs* I've never read Ron/Luna either, it was a challenge and I'm so glad I got it because it was tonnes of fun. Thanks so much for the amazing review *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #16, by Girldetective85Astute Observations: Astute Observations

20th May 2009:
I always enjoy reading what you write and this one-shot is no different. I thought the layout of the story was ingenious. The way you put together the pieces of Tonks and Remus's complicated love affair makes it seem sort of like a jigsaw puzzle - it doesn't matter which pieces come first because in the end, it all fits together beautifully. Your characterization of Tonks was fabulous. In a Tonks-centric story there's always the danger of being too weepy and depressing but I love the way you've written her - she is weakened by love but she's still a strong and determined woman. How could Remus refuse, you know? There was just enough tension between them to show us the conflict that each of them felt, yet the incredible pull as well - they're definitely soulmates! This was wonderful. You're one of the writers I most admire on the site, everything you do is effortless!

Author's Response: Wow, I still can't believe this. I keep coming back to see that this review actually exists. It's an honour that you read and reviewed this story, and writing a response worthy of it won't be easy.

I like your simile of the jigsaw puzzle; it suits this story and the way I often end up writing, all out of order and in fragments that later need to be assembled. I'm glad it worked out well for this story, though, having been unsure if the strange structure would make no sense at all. (A lack of confidence is the bane of my existence) But taking risks and doing writing experiments has helped a lot over the years; having one work is a definite success. :D

It seems that I need to read more Tonks stories. :P I had no idea that she was so often portrayed as weepy and depressed. The latter at least makes sense, being somewhat canon to HBP, but weepy? Tonks? An Auror? She definitely gets depressed in this story, but weeping does not suit her well; she's too happy and bouncy the rest of the time. Her determination didn't show up very much in HBP until that final scene between them, and I wanted to make Tonks persistent, not following Remus around like a sick puppy, but actively pursuing him. It seems that in a lot of romances, it's more often the guy that does the pursuing, so I was glad that JKR switched things around in this case. ;)

I think I'm starting to ramble. Anyway, it's wonderful that you enjoyed this story, and I thank you for taking the time to both read and review. :D It was fascinating to write these characters, but it was not effortless by any means, haha. I wish it could be. Writing for me usually goes by way of dentistry - pulling words out as one would pull teeth. *shudders*


 Report Review

Review #17, by Girldetective85Her Last Word: Chapter One

20th May 2009:
I really enjoyed this Amelia Bones one-shot! I've always wondered what kind of person she was and how her death came about, and this answered the questions nicely. The scenes between her and her niece Susan were so sweet, and it was incredibly sad that she died with Susan's name on her lips - yet totally fitting because it is for the good of Susan that she died. Voldemort is absolutely chilling in that scene, it gave me goosebumps how well you wrote Amelia's demise. Great work!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Girldetective85Insidious Deeds: Insidious Deeds

20th May 2009:
Ooh I always admire writers like yourself who can make prose seem like poetry. :) Your words pull up images so easily in the reader's brain. I also liked the organization of this story. I'm also envious that you can write in the second person without making it seem incredibly awkward, the way I surely would have. The slash element made this one-shot so interesting and it definitely stands out from among the other entries. I have never read a Sybill/Alecto pairing, wow! Very unique and excellent writing. Great job.

Author's Response: Oh, my goodness! Coming from you, this is extremely high praise. *blush* Prose like poetry? You are too kind, especially when you've written the amazing Give Up This Fight (which I simply adore). This was my first foray into second person, so I'm extremely relieved it didn't seem forced or awkward - and, simultaneously, the first time I've written slash. It was definitely a new thing to try out. The pairing came as randomly as the story itself. Thank you so much for this amazing review, my dear! *hugs*
XOXO, K.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Girldetective85Romilda's Bad Day: The Only Chapter

20th May 2009:
HAHHA! Love the last sentence :D This characterization of Romilda was really funny to read. I feel kind of bad for her actually, after reading all of these one-shots about her "love" for Harry. She's such a social climber, it's kind of pitiful. She's also so mean about Neville and Luna and if she thinks that she can compete with them, girlfriend has another thing coming :D Nice job!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! She definitely has another think coming, lol. I don't feel TOO bad for her, though, although I suppose she is a bit pitiful. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Girldetective85Ashes: Ashes

20th May 2009:
Carl, this gave me chills! I can tell that Luna is your favorite character because of the sensitive and poignant way you write about her. I've always felt that she was more perceptive than the others and it makes absolute sense that she would be able to see Dumbledore and say goodbye when the others could not. The part where she said that there would always be someone loyal gave me goosebumps and reminded me so much of Harry. In many ways, Luna could be a Gryffindor and more. I so enjoyed this one-shot as I do all of your work. Wonderful job!

Author's Response: Jules, thank you for the nice review. You're correct that she's my fave character.

I found it interesting as well that Luna was the only non-Gryffindor to fight at the Department of Mysteries and the Battle of the Tower. She has many Gryffindor qualities.

I'm glad that you liked this story and that it's being so well received. I'm also glad that people are picking up on the echoes of other conversations that I placed in here.



 Report Review

Review #21, by Girldetective85Hopeless: Break Down

20th May 2009:
I love this piece and what you've done with Draco's reflections. He's stuck between a rock and a hard place and honestly, it's too much for a 16-year-old boy. But the way he has resolved to do what he can and prove himself to everyone is admirable. I thought this was a terrific missing moment because we never get to see what he's thinking in the books, and I enjoyed how realistic and fitting this seems. Great job!!

Author's Response: Gosh, thank you so much! I can't begin to describe how happy this has made me! I always felt sorry for Draco during the 6th book, so this is my "tribute" to him, if you will. ;) Thank you so much for dropping by and leaving such a wonderful review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Girldetective85When The Sun Sets: The Night Before

20th May 2009:
I am so floored by how amazing these Ravenclaw entries are!!! *proud* This was a beautiful piece. I like how it's so perfect for Dumbledore's journey to death because it starts out sort of uncertain, unknowing, yet it ends with a kind of calm and peace that Dumbledore must have felt, dying for the cause that he died for. His voice is so ... Dumbledore ... in this one-shot; you've kept him beautifully in character and it's so bittersweet and moving to know that he died for a cause but never got to see Harry, the boy he loves almost like a son, fulfill their dreams. Gorgeous writing!

Author's Response: Awww, thank you. I'm not used to writing anything that's bitter, I usually do happy things, so I couldn't have him completely freaking out. Plus, I think bittersweet pretty much sums up Dumbledore's life. A lot of bad stuff happened, but in the end he caused a lot of good. Thank you so much for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Girldetective85The Nerve of Neville: The Nerve of Neville

20th May 2009:
This is one of my favorite challenge entries so far; wonderful, wonderful job. It made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside :) You truly have a gift for writing. Neville has rapidly become one of my favorite characters and you've definitely done him justice in this one-shot, showing exactly how he has changed from that awkward, insecure boy to someone who has proved himself - not only to everyone else, but to himself. Love the sass he gave Minerva and it's wonderful how that came full circle from his mother. You've also characterized McGonagall very well. Awesome job!

Author's Response: Your review flattered me so much. :-)

I had a fun time writing this one-shot. Neville was kind of a dark horse of favorite characters for me. Every time I re-read the books, I like him more than the last time. He's one of those characters who grows on me the more I think about how great he is.

I hope to write more about Neville in the future, so your review has really motivated me. Thank you again!!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Girldetective85Little Brother: Little Brother

20th May 2009:
This was so bittersweet :( To think that Albus died with all of these regrets about things he could have done better, particularly being a better brother to Aberforth. That scene on the train was well done but I wish Albus wouldn't be so hard on himself! He was just acting like a normal older sibling would :D But I suppose at this point in his life, he wishes he could go back and do it all over, knowing the outcome. The end of this story was especially moving, since we know what will eventually happen to Dumbledore. One of my favorite things about your writing is the fact that all of the characters sound like themselves. I hope that makes sense! I never feel like they are out of character when I read your dialogue and you've done well with Dumbledore here. Great job!

Author's Response: I think with all that happened in the Dumbledore family that Albus must have suffered from some regrets and I think it would have been one of his deepest regrets that he had become so estranged from his brother. I am always pleased when people comment on my characterisation because I always like to get into characters' heads when I write and I always hope I have been able to find their voice. Thanks so much for reviewing, I'm glad you liked this piece. :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Girldetective85Something Amusing: Something Amusing

20th May 2009:
Minor characters = *love* You've done an awesome job with Ernie, Annina! I love the way you have characterized someone who is barely talked about in the books and made him so real. The description of the potions class is also great. I like how Ernie is a little bit jealous of Harry and feels slighted by Slughorn; how could a classmate of Harry Potter help feeling that way, you know? It just made me realize how much the Hogwarts teachers play favorites. Great work, I really enjoyed this story!

Author's Response: I like minor characters a lot too! It's great when you know just a bit about them and then you can keep guessing at what they really are like. :) I'm glad you liked how I wrote Ernie and that he came out as believable!

Yeah, more than one of the teachers play favourites, though Slughorn more than most. It makes you love the really good and fair teachers even more! Thank you for the awesome review and I'm happy you enjoyed the story!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>