Reading Reviews From Member: JLHufflepuff
  
1,143 Reviews Found

Review #26, by JLHufflepuff Remains of an Existence: Irresolution

30th June 2010:
I like the way you have characterized Harry here. This kind of mirrors his thoughts on death right before he submits to die in DH, only now it is not viewed with a passionate urgency but through the lens of experiences and nostalgia. I like the backstory with the healer and Albus, giving just hints about some of the things that have happened in Harry's long life to this point.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, Jessi. And also I'm very sorry about this dilatory response.

Definitely, the way Harry sees death in his fic will be different from canon. He's more insightful now and also more perceptive than he was in the books, but that's to be expected isn't it, given his age and all. Harry will walk down the memory lane in this story, recounting his life in brutally honest detail. He's by means lived a perfectly righteous and saintly life the way I see it, and I thought it'd be interesting to explore how he perceives his mistakes and errors at the twilight of his life. :)


 Report Review

Review #27, by JLHufflepuff zephyrs: Teddy

30th June 2010:
I was browsing through your stories, and this just looked too interesting to pass up! I love reading about pairings that seem so out there just to see how it works out!

So far you've done a great job setting up Teddy's background story, the idea that he's just done everything because it would please everyone else and just because to the point that now he's disenchanted with everything. His resolution to simply "do nothing" promises some interesting times in the future, especially since that's kind of childish and he's (according to the summary) going to be in a relationships with a woman old enough to be his mother.

This is really cool so far!

Author's Response: It's unusual, isn't it? Personally, I think this is the most challenging bit of writing I'll ever be doing, simply because just getting into the minds of these people - especially Hermione - and transcribing their not so pleasant, very morally contentious thoughts is going be challenging. It's scary sometimes, and also emotionally exhausting to write - because I've never experienced anything like this, I don't have these thoughts in my mind, so it's like I'm going to have to rummage through the deepest and darkest part of my mind and my feelings and my emotions, and exaggerate it greatly to create the atmosphere and the intrigue and the darkness.

With Teddy what's tricky is that in a way it's his upbringing and his sense of indebtedness to Harry and the Weasley family that forms the mainspring of his life and his decisions. He didn't realise this when he was MAKING these decisions, but looking back in retrospect I think he sees it very clearly, how 'doing the right thing' at every stage of his life deprived him of so much. I think it's a horrible position and state of mind to be in, especially if it gives him reason to get into a relationship which is just wrong and destructive.

With Hermione... the main concern here is not to make her OOC, whic is what happens in most stories (read Dramiones) where Hermione invariably ends up cheating on Ron with Draco. Whilst I do not believe Hermione is morally irreproachable or even above being adulterous, I just don't see her with Draco. She's a multi-faceted character, and one facet of her character which I haven't seen explored much is her power. She is a powerful witch, an extraordinarily intelligent and successful woman who can be every bit as domineering as she's vulnerable. I find her a lot more interesting than Ron or Harry, and this story is as much about her as much it's about the relationship.

So I wrote an essay in response, but I was so totally chuffed to see this review, by one of my favourite authors on this site no less. Thanks so much.


 Report Review

Review #28, by JLHufflepuffThe Final Battle: The Epitome of a Cold Heart

29th June 2010:
Not many people have written about the minor Death Eaters, and I'm glad you did. Rodolphus was an interesting person to choose because he has so many connections to the other DEs, yet we rarely hear much about him. The idea that he became a cold, dead husk because of Azkaban and Bellatrix is so brilliant. I love he way you portray his desperation at his lack of emotions. It makes he such a pathetic character. I love angst!

 Report Review

Review #29, by JLHufflepuffThe Final Battle: She Is Mine

29th June 2010:
This is a characterization extravaganza! All the emotions that run through Arthur's mind are just so - chilling - to me. Someone who isn't typically what one would consider "passionate" feeling these desperate things and passionately wanting to protect the woman he loves. It's almost like a poem as he watches Molly fighting Bellatrix. And then his burst of feeling at Harry being alive and his subtle realizations about the relationships in his family. Beautiful! I love that Ginny is chanting, "He'll win." It's realistic and desperate and filled with all the love you know Ginny Weasley has ... SQUEE! :)

 Report Review

Review #30, by JLHufflepuffThe Final Battle: Gentle Acts of Kindness

29th June 2010:
I love this! You took a character that has no characterization in the books except that he is fat (if I remember right) and fleshed him out into a Hufflepuff of Hufflepuffs! He's kind, selfless, and brave because he wants to protect those in his care. I thought it was poignant that he wonders if his prayers for safety will reach heaven even though he's dead. The situation with him helping the students out is just perfect, and I love his interaction with the little girl and how he keeps her brother safe. His role is a humble one, but he does it well.

 Report Review

Review #31, by JLHufflepuffSerpentine: Prologue: Not Gryffindor

28th June 2010:
I love this! It is such a creative dialogue between the Hat and Lily, and I'm really curious to see where it goes. I love that she wants to be in Slytherin in order to be able to transform it and help people to stop hating other people...

I also like the idea of the Slytherin-ness of Harry being due to Voldy inside his head.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #32, by JLHufflepuffThe Essay: The Essay

28th June 2010:
This story is really a quintessential Ron/Hermione type story. It is something that is so believable that there is no doubt in my mind that at least piece of this story aren't canon! :p Their relationship is just quirky in and of itself, and you really played with that in a fun way! The ending with them both just screaming, "I love you!" was lovely. Great characterization.

Author's Response: Aww thanks very much! I so enjoyed writing this. I tried to write them in canon, so I am relieved you thought I had! Yes, I thought given their arguements they would really play up to that between them loll hahahahh oh yeah I loved writing that at the end

 Report Review

Review #33, by JLHufflepuffMrs. Crouch's Gift: Mrs. Crouch's Gift

28th June 2010:
I like the way you depict the effect of Azkaban on Mrs. Crouch's morale. She knows she is giving a gift she wants to give, but it chips away at her. The phrase "Daylight never comes to Azkaban" just sticks with me for some reason. This is a really poignant tale.

 Report Review

Review #34, by JLHufflepuffTutelary: Tutelary

28th June 2010:
It took me a while to try to figure out who the narrator was because I was listening to the podcast and didn't see the banner. I LOVED the way you set it up that it was not just a given who it would be. It gives the piece an air of mystery. It's amazing that he notices what Tom can do with his eyes. The characterization of both Tom and Dumbledore REALLY work given what we know about them. I think it's interesting that you make comparisons if not a direct connection between Riddle's ideology and Grindelwald's. The concept that loyalty is Voldemort's ultimate weakness is very powerfully portrayed. I love the ending - "Checkmate."

 Report Review

Review #35, by JLHufflepuffThe Sign of the Birtwhistle: The Sign of the Birtwhistle

28th June 2010:
I thought this was a very cute idea. It's so completely random and quirky and weird that it really does seem like it could have come only from Luna Lovegood's mind. The concept of Ginny and Draco being perfect matches because of their hair colors makes me laugh so much, as well as Luna's weird conclusion that the same philosophy would pair her with Voldy. HAHA!

 Report Review

Review #36, by JLHufflepuffMy Dark Angel: My Dark Angel

28th June 2010:
I LOVE how dramatic this is. I am assuming that it was written before DH or as intentional AU? Either way, it's a really feasible AU ending. Some parts of it were so close emotionally to when Harry goes into the forest at the end of DH that I was stunned. I had chill bumps at the part where Draco says, "I waited for you." It conveys so much meaning in so few words. I also think it's beautiful that his name isn't used. It gives it a more intimate feel, almost.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for you're review... It's truly appreciated :D This story was intentionaly written as AU... It was just one of those things that hit me in the middle of the night and I had the whole things laid out in under two hours. The "Draco" thing never fails to amuse me because there have been so many different theories on who it actually was.. which is part of the reason that the "dark angel" was never named :p

I'm so glad you enjoyed it though... can't wait to see what you think of my other stories :D

*huggles*
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #37, by JLHufflepuffAl Potter and His Very Epic Plan: On The Hogwarts Express (om nom nom food)

28th June 2010:
Anyway, I've been dying to read your story for a while. I finally ended up listening to the first two chapters over at HPPC, but I decided to come over and review here, too, because, well -- hello! You wrote this thing!

I love how Albus comes to the conclusion that he needs to be in Slytherin by logical means, that he wants to fix Slytherin. It's very Potter. I love how Faith says that Slytherin is a mixture of Ravenclaw and Hufflepuff! Too great of an observation! Faith is an interesting character.

Al is polite and confident. Rose and Scorpius are characterized very well, also. I have a feeling they will end up best friends (and or lovers? jk) by the end of the story.

I'm also completely in love with the fact that this is what seems to be an in-depth first year fic!?

Author's Response: Argh! I'm really sorry, I had no idea there was a review here. Please forgive me :'(

Thank you very much!

Yep. I really had no idea they were that uncommon. I thought everyone'd be doing it, but no, it's all about when they're legal. Crazy.

Thank you very much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #38, by JLHufflepuffThe Final Battle: I Will Always Love Him

24th June 2010:
I love the fact that you show all the motivations behind what is going on in Ginny's mind when she tells Harry that Luna can go with him. Very, very insightful! :)

 Report Review

Review #39, by JLHufflepuffThe Final Battle: The Inner Eye

24th June 2010:
I love this! It's a great characterization of Trelawney!

 Report Review

Review #40, by JLHufflepuffThe Final Battle: Until the Coward finds Courage

24th June 2010:
I like the way Neville had the courage to confront his greatest wish and deny himself because he wanted to help the right side. I like that his courage builds throughout the chapter.

 Report Review

Review #41, by JLHufflepuffThe Final Battle: Another Picture

18th June 2010:
My favorite part of this is how Colin likens all the curses to pictures being taken, and I love how it is the last line. It adds something to reading about his death. It's great that he wants to stay and fight, like it's his destiny.

 Report Review

Review #42, by JLHufflepuffThe Final Battle: IOU

18th June 2010:
I like that you picked a character that had a more minor role in the battle and brought out what his thoughts/feelings were. I like how Seamus gets to come to terms with his period of being against Harry.

 Report Review

Review #43, by JLHufflepuffThe Final Battle: The Gift

18th June 2010:
This is a really awesome concept. It's cool that the story is viewed as a flashback almost. You set up Colin's death to be really emotional for all involved. I like it that he died valiantly, and there seemed to be a good bond formed between him and Oliver. Harry's emotions over the whole thing are what make this superb.

 Report Review

Review #44, by JLHufflepuffThe Final Battle: Snake Mother

18th June 2010:
WOW! I love this! You perfectly capture how frantic and desperate Narcissa was to keep her family together, to protect Draco. You had so many realistic, reasonable details in here - Crabbe being mad because his son was dead and Narcissa lied, her worries that Draco IS dead, her throwing herself in front of him to protect him, her borrowed wand (I was wondering where these wands came from, but then I realized there are a lot of dead bodies to choose from).

I think it's amazing that Arthur steps up to the plate and protects Draco and Narcissa when they are defenseless. Even though the two families have been at odds and have vastly different stances, Arthur shows his love for them as fellow humans by putting that aside to help them. Despite what has happened to him, he stands up for what is right, which obviously couldn't have been easy.

I LOVE IT! GO PUFFS!

 Report Review

Review #45, by JLHufflepuffThe Final Battle: A Squib's Help

18th June 2010:
I really like seeing Filch doing what he can. He's doing the natural job that he always does, and it's cool he felt himself liking the students just a little bit. It also really hit me that it's no wonder Filch is the way he is if such simple nice words carry a big impact with him. I guess you never know the impact of your words, good or bad. And Filch and Peeves teaming up together! Love it!

 Report Review

Review #46, by JLHufflepuffThe Final Battle: Apologies Forthcoming

18th June 2010:
I love when the family gets back together and Percy realizes that he is accepted back, forgiven. The gestures between each of the family members are really well-done and realistic. I could see Percy feeling guilty about Fred's death. He's the type to accuse others of things and very rule following, which usually means those type of people turn their critic inward as often as outward.

 Report Review

Review #47, by JLHufflepuffThe Final Battle: The Last Straw

18th June 2010:
Your characterization in this is amazing. I love the way you bring out all of Molly's maternal feelings for the people in her life. I liked the way you began the story with Molly viewing Harry's lifeless body and ending with her seeing him protect her from harm. My favorite line was the idea that "Hell hath no fury like a mother scorned." The frenzied fight that came out of Molly was none other than that instinct to eliminate any possible threat from one's child. It's in this instant that we see all the passionate, desperate, mother-love that is within this seemingly tame woman.

 Report Review

Review #48, by JLHufflepuffThe Final Battle: We All Have Our Strengths

18th June 2010:
Okay, I was already a fan girl of your work, but now I am a squeeing fan girl! This is an absolute work of genius. I love your characterization of Wood - the fact that his maniacal Quidditch strategies helped him participate in the final battle. Attacking from above is such an ingenious idea. It was actually kind of darkly humorous to me, imagining most of the team up there knocking off Death Eaters. It's so ... Quidditch. I also LOVE that they were shooting to kill because that's one thing that really drove me crazy in the books - that Harry never did that! Oh, and I thought it was sweet that Alicia taking his hand gave him courage to get the killing on...

And the AU ending! SQUE! I love it!

 Report Review

Review #49, by JLHufflepuffThe Final Battle: Grey No More

18th June 2010:
This is brilliant! The characterization fits with what little we know about the Grey Lady, and I feel that I really get to know what she stands for, what her issues are. I love that she gains redemption at the end and is no longer doomed to be grey - because she faced her resentment toward the Baron and her fear in general. When she learns to use her heart instead of just her head, she is "freed." This is a great idea!

 Report Review

Review #50, by JLHufflepuffThe Final Battle: My Other Half

18th June 2010:
This almost made me cry, dang it! :) It was neat that you used the mysterious connections that twins have to let George know there was something wrong. I also think it was completely fitting for him to originally think Fred had convinced Percy to play along in a joke. It's very typical of both of them - and that's what makes it so horrifying when he realizes it's NOT a joke. Very moving!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>