Reading Reviews From Member: ilharrypotter
  
171 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ilharrypotterStill Delicate: Awkward.

16th October 2011:
I don't know why but I picture Tom to be this little mousey guy, not the guy for Rose at all - Scorpius isn't either, because he's a jerk, but come on!

 Report Review

Review #2, by ilharrypotterClash: Wrecked

11th September 2011:
I had an odd feeling that was a lacrosse reference.

Bless this chapter. Forreal.

 Report Review

Review #3, by ilharrypotterVital: Chapter 7

1st August 2011:
Hey there! back to re-review some more chapters. I could've sworn I favorited this so I could keep up with the chapters, but perhaps I didn't. Oh, I don't know anymore, I keep getting so darn distracted by everything.

This chapter was amusing - I feel like every story involves a bar and drinking at some point, and it's nice to see it appear in your story and actually fit in the plot.

Elena is so awkward compared to Corinne, as well - so amusing. I love how she's always wishing that Simon was with them. It's a sweet thing, really. She really needs Simon around sometimes, when she gets herself into things like that.

This story is so intense. I love it.

-Paige.

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks for the review.

I do think that this chapter really shows the differences between Elena and Corinne. And I can see why it might be funny as well. Poor Elena has no idea what she's doing.

I'm really glad you like the story so much!


 Report Review

Review #4, by ilharrypotterWithout : Argus Filch

1st August 2011:
Hello there! ilharrypotter/polkadot from the forums with your requested review.

I've always wondered about Argus Filch - it's nice to see a one-shot that's trying to expose a bit about his character. Looking forward to reading and reviewing!

You do a great job exposing Argus' pain and sadness when he realized he had no magic. I can only imagine - being part of a magical family, only to never recieve my letter to Hogwarts. It would break my heart. I feel for him in this piece - honestly, I do.

It makes so much sense, and you created Filch so well. I hurt for him - and I even feel bad for disliking him as much as I always did throughout the series.

Great job!

10/10

-Paige.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review!

I know- Argus Filch is present in the books but his character is hidden. I'm glad you think that I do a good job of characterizing him. And (I know this sounds horrible) I'm glad my Argus Filch affected you.

I'm so glad you think it's believable and thanks so much for the compliment.

Thanks once again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by ilharrypotterSomewhere in Brooklyn: Somewhere in Brooklyn

1st August 2011:
Hello there! ilharrypotter/Polkadot from the forums with your requested review.

Right away, I'm super excited to see a Theodore/Luna story. I absolutely ADORE weird pairings. I'm still trying to write a weird pairing, other than Hermione/Oliver, but reading them is just so much fun. So I'm looking forward to this.

(Your banner is beautiful, also.)

Anyway, time to get down to business.

You asked about the characters. Immediately, Theodore is a humorous character, and he seems realistic as a person. We don't hear too much about Nott, anyway. So you can kind of make him your own. It's nice, and you seem to do it well.

The story seems to flow very nicely - the beginning intro was a little bit long-winded for being so minor to the story, in my opinion, but that's all that I can think to say about the flow. Everything else moves like you want a story to move. Very well done there.

Oh, you did Luna so well! She talks and talks, without Nott even responding - it's hilarious, and so very Luna! She acts so much like herself. You wrote her wonderfully!

I find it hard to tell who's talking at times. You break into another paragraph, but the same person is talking. Luckily, Luna's dialogue is so distinctive that I don't stay confused for too often. In other cases, however, that could pose a problem.

It's a beautiful little piece - and I love that it doesn't have a perfect happy ending, and he doesn't even know who she is. It's lovely. I adored it. Great job. :)

10/10

-Paige.

Author's Response: OOh, so happy you think I did Luna well. She's so hard to write, though I had a bit freedom, since she's older in this story than she was at Hogwarts. If she's OOC, I could easily say, 'hey, she older!' :p

Thank you for reviewing, by the way. Almost forget that ;)


 Report Review

Review #6, by ilharrypotterDancing Queen: A Night's Surprise

31st July 2011:
Very cute! I loved the song that you used, too - even though it was used for another challenge, it really fit well for Dominique and Lorcan. :) I loved it!

Thanks for entering my challenge (right before the deadline, too! Bravo on that) and I'll have the results up within the week.

Author's Response: Thank you! I love the song as well, glad that you thought it fit well with the pairing. Absolute pleasure... yeah the queue timing still throws me off slightly. Thank you for the good challenge ^^

 Report Review

Review #7, by ilharrypotterJust a raindrop: Just a raindrop

31st July 2011:
Awh, this was adorable. :) There are quite a few grammar/spelling issues and typos, which could be cleared up with an edit or maybe a beta.

Thanks for entering my challenge, and I'm sorry I took so long. I'll be announcing the winners within the week.

Author's Response: I`m glad you liked it! Thanks for reviewing and for making this challenge, I had a lot of fun writting it! :D

-LL


 Report Review

Review #8, by ilharrypotterWe tried: Prologue

31st July 2011:
This is a really cute piece, and I enjoyed reading it. :)

Thanks for entering my challenge, and I'm sorry I took so long. I'll be announcing the winners within the week.

 Report Review

Review #9, by ilharrypotterPerfect Spiral: Perfect Spiral

31st July 2011:
This was horrifyingly good - it was wonderful! I was shuddering with Molly - you can really feel how much she's suffering. Most of the entries for my challenge were sappy, fluffy love pieces, which I usually enjoy more than things like this, but this was really great. Loved it. :)

Thanks for entering my challenge, and I'm sorry I took so long. I'll be announcing the winners within the week.

Author's Response: thank you so much, this is my first next generation fic so i'm so pleasd you enjoyed it!! Your comments are so lovely and i'm glad you liked it even though you don't usually go for styles like this. It's definetly not fluffy by any means. It's just sad, hard life. I'm pleased you enjoyed it! And thank you for issuing this challenge, i probably would never have written anything like this if not for that! Thank you again!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by ilharrypotterHow Soon Is Now?: William, It Was Really Nothing

30th July 2011:
Hey, sweetheart! Sorry I took so long. I try to keep up with all of these reviews, but I get so darn distracted.

I love to see Audrey in the story. And to see that she disapproves of Victoire and now Lucy and the way they're dressing and acting. It's an amusing thing to read. And a nice addition, as well.

This was another amusing chapter, and I chuckled quite a few times. You're really in your element with this style of writing, and Lucy is getting to be such a great character!

I love Will much more than Mark. i think this story might turn out as a "Who will she choose!?", which is so much fun - but so nailbiting at the same time!

Loved the chapter.

-paige.

Author's Response: thanks for this! its no rush at all!

so glad you liked seeing audrey, i thought it was about time we saw a parent! percy will drop by soon im sure :D

so glad you like it now! oh will is quite the charming man, i agree! he'll be coming back soon, dont worry about that!

thank you!


 Report Review

Review #11, by ilharrypotterMasterpiece: the excuse

24th July 2011:
God, I'm so glad they're together now - and even more glad that they're not a typical couple right off the bat. I can't see Henri in a cliche, cuddly, PDA relationship - he's too awkward with people for that. :D

This is a wonderful chapter - it made me happy! Like most of your updates do, I will admit.

I also love that he showed her the portrait. And I also love that she requested to be painted doing/wearing/etc. certain things, and he would ignore that and paint her as he wanted to. It's a touch that shows you a lot about both Henri and Apolline.

Loved it. :)

Author's Response: Yay, I'm glad that you're glad! Haha, Henri and PDA in the same sentence?? Definitely not his style. You're right, he's much too awkward, and too much of a snob as well, to really go for that xD

Aww, thank you! That's just the kind of thing that puts a smile on your face, which is exactly what I need after a day of reading Dickens for my english coursework :(

Oh I'm glad you liked that! And Henri always knows best, obviously, so if she wasn't going to agree with him then he'll just have to do it his own way. Thanks so much for another brilliant review, and I'm really glad you enjoyed the chapter - after all your loyal reviewing, I'd hate to disappoint you!


 Report Review

Review #12, by ilharrypotterPretty Boy: Iím Judging You

17th July 2011:
love. serious love. albus and louis both. they're great!

 Report Review

Review #13, by ilharrypotterSave the Date: Chapter Six: Mr. and Mrs. Potter

13th July 2011:
DON'T EVER DO THAT AGAIN!

I'm so glad to have this back...

"You are the most beautiful person, place, or thing I have ever seen in my entire life."

This was the best line I've ever seen in a wedding-centered chapter. Just sayin'.

 Report Review

Review #14, by ilharrypotterRain, Rain, Go Away: Rain, Rain, Go Away

13th July 2011:
Hello there! ilharrypotter/polkadot from the forums with your requested review :)

Hugo! Hugo!!! I am so excited to read something about Hugo. /calms self.

Woah. This is written in a different perspective than I'm used to - a difficult one to write in, I know. Wonderful to see - makes it stand out, and it seems to be written very well. Bravo on that choice of perspective.

Oh, one thing I noticed - it's spelled Lily, not Lilly. Just a little pet peeve - and potentially a typo, anyway.

This is a really unique piece - the whole thing. The story, the way it's written. I really love it. It's adorable, to say the least. :) Great, great, great job, really.

-Paige.

Author's Response: The second person style was actually for a challenge ^_^ I'd never written in this style so I thought it'd be fun to try :) But thank you so much for this review XD It made my day! And I could have sworn I'd put Lily... oh well, I'll fix that when I edit it. Thank you so much! And for getting to my request so quickly (: This review made me so happy!

 Report Review

Review #15, by ilharrypotterChange: Getting to know

13th July 2011:
Hello there! ilharrypotter/Polkadot from the forums with your requested review :)

This is a very well written one-shot! Few errors that I noticed, and the details and setup are perfect for this kind of piece.

I love how you described the beginning of Narcissa and Lucius - no one thinks about how they fell in love, but it's clear that they did. I like that you laid that out for all of your readers, and you did so very well.

I do hate that Narcissa and Lucius fight in this way - but that seems like a logical part of a marriage like this, with two people like this. And I hate that Lucius betrays Narcissa - she doesn't seem like she deserves that. No one deserves that! And the Death Eater thing, as well.

In all, this is a well-written story. I enjoyed reading it, and I love that you brought some light to an often-ignored couple. Very nice job!

-Paige.

Author's Response: Hey Paige! Thanks a lot for the read and review. I am glad you found this a good read.

Thanks once again for your awesome review =)

Cheers!
AD


 Report Review

Review #16, by ilharrypotterRice Milk Macabre: Now You See It...

13th July 2011:
Hi again!

Because of a new job and a short attention span, I've had to reduce to only doing 3 reviews per request. I apologize for that, but feel free to re-request as many times as you want :)

Once again, there's not much for me to say. This story is so well-written - it has so much substance, without being unforgivably long. It's a really great piece, and you should be proud. I haven't even seen the plot really begin to unfold, but already, I can tell there's so much going on that will keep your readers very interested.

I also love that Johanna's story will be entangling with Harry, Ron, and Hermione. So intriguing!

-Paige.

Author's Response: I'm glad that you like this story so much!! The length vs content was really a worry of mine, so thank you so much for the feedback!! I really appreciate you taking the time to write this review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by ilharrypotterRice Milk Macabre: Eucalyptus

13th July 2011:
Hello again!

Your story really provokes a lot of thought from me, which is why my last review seemed so lacking, I'm sure. I stop and ponder a lot of what I read - not because it's confusing but because I'm curious as to what all of this could posisbly mean. I'm interested in this, and I guess I forget to give you an in-depth review. Oops.

Anyway.

Lovely chapter, again. You describe everything enough to give the story substance but not enough to be too much. You characterize enough for us to learn about Johanna - but not too much. You seem to be doing everything right - you're making my job so easy.

I also love to see Fred and George suddenly in the story, too! They lighten up every story, no matter what's going on.

I can't wait to hear more about this Ministry thing, as well.

You're doing a great job with this story. There's not much more I can say. Great job!

-Paige.

Author's Response: YAY!

Good, I'm glad the balance makes sense, I know I have a problem sometimes with not enough info in the beginning, so it eases my mind to know that you liked it.

I know I sound like a broken record, but THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for the lovely review!!!


 Report Review

Review #18, by ilharrypotterRice Milk Macabre: A Well-Timed Enchantment

13th July 2011:
Hello there! ilharrypotter/polkadot from the forums with your requested reviews. Sorry it's taken me so long, I've been terribly busy - I apologize for the wait!

Right away, the first thing that draws me to your story is your title. It's so... unique. When I was going through the list of stories I needed to review, I would always pause and look at your story title for a little longer - it's just so intriguing!

Seeing it's your first story, I'll try to be attentive - from the first bit I've read, I look forward to not having to say too much, though. :)

'much too high for us to reach, thank you so much Miss Johanna, we appreciate her works so much, Miss!' this made me chuckle. I do love house elves.

I'm really interested in the South African influence that is clearly in this story. This makes it so... interesting. Really incredible at how you're mixing it into the Harry Potter world, actually. I like that a lot.

I can't think of any criticism or improvements - this is a great story so far.

-Paige.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Sorry it took me so long to reply, I have had a whirlwind month.

I'm glad you liked the mix and the title. The ultimate goal of this story was to be a total detour from the usual fic, so I'm very happy to hear that its purpose has been fulfilled.

Thanks again for the great review!!


 Report Review

Review #19, by ilharrypotterMasterpiece: the critics

12th July 2011:
I don't even have words.

So beautiful - I'm so happy that Apolline is already back and where she belongs!

Author's Response: Haha I'll take that as a good thing, shall I? I'm very glad/relieved that you liked it! Thanks for being such a loyal reviewer, as well :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by ilharrypotterHow Soon Is Now?: Panic

12th July 2011:
Hello again, dear! Sorry I've been away for so long.

This is an amusing chapter - it kept me chuckling. Lucy is getting much less boring, and that's really exciting.

She even has men in her life - and I like them both. If it comes to a point where we have to choose, I don't think I'll be able to.

You've got the humorous style of writing that I really prefer - I love that. It's a well-written story, and I love it so far!

-Paige.

Author's Response: Hiya! So glad you like it, sorry you thought lucy was boring before - but it was kind of neccessary!

I'm glad you like both :D

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #21, by ilharrypotterBend or Break: A Funeral and a Visitor

12th July 2011:
Hello again!

I like - no, I LOVE - that Draco comes back to see the baby every single day. I don't know why that strikes me so deeply, but it really does - it's such a un-Draco-like thing, but at the same time, after the accident it makes so much sense. It shows that there's more to Draco than what everyone thought, and that's really beautiful. I love it.

The funeral was so... well-written, I suppose. I haven't been to a funeral since I was very young, but I could feel Draco's pain and guilt, and it was striking. It brought a few tears to my eyes, even. Beautifully written.

And this next part... Oh, Draco. I love how much drama and how much STUFF is going on in this story - there's more to it than just one thing and it's a treat. So many moving parts. And I'm just shaking my head at Draco now.

Great chapter!

-Paige.

Author's Response: It is un-Draco-like as we know him but also Draco-like in how he is now. Thank you so much for that!

Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by ilharrypotterBend or Break: Chapter Five

11th July 2011:
Hello again!

Right away, I'm drawn in - Draco was having an affair with Sybil!? Oh, the drama. I love it. (If I'm right, at least. Which doesn't tend to be the case.) If I am right, though, it's so perfect, and it's a great addition to the rest of the plotlines.

Another thing I found incredible - Draco, wanting to see the baby. It was a really heartfelt moment, and I love that you're writing your story this way. Clearly, this is much more important than Draco and Hermione - this is about the baby, and the accident, and the lives that it affected. I love that you captured this so successfully!

-Paige.

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes! High Drama!! Love it!

I love that you loved that scene with the baby. I thought it was time to introduce the actual main character to the story :) I definitely wanted to write a Dramione that was actually more than a Dramione!

xChar


 Report Review

Review #23, by ilharrypotterBend or Break: Chapter Four

11th July 2011:
Hello there! ilharrypotter/Polkadot from the forums with your requested reviews. Sorry it's taken so long - an extended vacation and serious drama took over my life for a bit there. Oh, summer. :) I'm glad to be back to reading this story though!

I feel like I dwelled on this a lot before, but I love how canon-ly you portray Draco. Even in the beginning of the chapter, he seems exactly like the Draco we know, love, and hate.

Example: "Here he truly learned that life was just a matter of looking out for his own interests, and that anything else hindered his survival." Such a Draco thing. In my opinion.

I also really like how you've mixed the Muggle world with the magical world. A car accident, a drunk driver, mixed with our magical characters - it's really the kind of modern thing we expect, but a lot of the time, writers don't mix the two worlds - not realistically or, more importantly, meaningfully. It's a fresh change of pace for me to read something that does in this sort of way - and it's very well done, as well!

You asked at the end if Harry was believable - oh, he most definitely is. Very canon, very realistic. You shouldn't have to worry about that!

-Paige.

Author's Response: No probs.

I breathe a sigh of relief that Draco is still relatively in character (as much as he can be in a Dramione). Thanks.

I've always been fascinated with how these teenagers grew up with all the advancing technologies and magic and it's been fun to mix it (albeit subtly but still). Maybe I'll pursue this line of thought in a different story.

Thank you for the kind words on my characters. I was a teeny bit worried ;)


 Report Review

Review #24, by ilharrypotterBreaking the Quidditch Code: Enemies

11th July 2011:
Does it get any better? No. Of course it doesn't.

This story... oh. It makes my day to see it at the top of my recently updated list.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! You make me happy. So happy. Especially when my knees hurt and I'm at work half-dozed watching a preseason football game on the lobby television even though I'm not a football fan. SO THANK YOU.

 Report Review

Review #25, by ilharrypotterHow Soon Is Now?: Sheila Take a Bow

17th June 2011:
Hello again!

This chapter is pretty amusing - you've got great secondary characters here, and you characterize them all really well. I've chuckled a couple of times already through this, especially whenever Pippa talks and pretty much does anything; she's hilarious. I love that name, by the way.

This was a good chapter - a lot happening, and it all was very entertaining for me. :P

I'll be reviewing again when I come home!

-Paige.

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks, glad you liked! So glad you liked Pippa, she's the first of the Finnegan girls I've talked about, but I have them all ready in my head for future stories :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>