Reading Reviews From Member: eclipse
  
90 Reviews Found

Review #1, by eclipseClash: Hold

6th March 2014:
I have convinced myself for a while now that there were no longer any stories to be found that were simply riveting. This story has proven me wrong. I am in love with the path you have decided to take with the next generation. Instead of writing this generation as sublimely happy, you have chosen to follow the darker scenario of what could have happened in this world after the war... And I love it.

Furthermore, I adore the running motif of the story with "history always is repeated". As the reader, one is able to understand how Rose and Albus encompass past generations and the struggles related with that particular generation. The duo are similar to the founders with their need and love for knowledge and learning which did not end well, they are Dumbledore and Grindelwald and how power/ambition will destroy relationships, and they represent Harry and Voldemort in that they are two orphans with a choice to either be good or evil. It is no surprise then that Rose and Albus would play a part in the end of the Wizarding World if they represent the hardships from all the generations that came before them.

I also enjoy the fact that the story is meticulously thought out. Every scene we read has a purpose whether it is meant for character development or to simply keep the story progressing. There are no filler chapters to bore me (which I am extremely happy about). And I am very intrigued about the backstory as to why the Golden Trio would mold Rose and Albus into these people... Did they understand the extent of such consequences when they began teaching them? I do hope they are not dead. Thus, Rose and Albus can ask them these type of questions.

Basically, I love the premise and story you have written. And I lament the fact I must now wait for an update since I read all 10 chapters within hours.

Please continue being amazing!

Author's Response: TBH, Rowling's epilogue felt like a cop-out to me (though I think it was the intelligent thing to do. Readers wanted to see happy-with family!Harry after 7 long books of war and gore and everyone wanted to know who-got-with-who. It made sense but I don't think she adequately tackled the psychological repercussions of war. there is NO WAY Harry would have come out of it mentally healthy--it's not realistic. Ok, forget this tangent).

There are a lot of running motifs in this story, and yes those parallels are something I intended to draw (but not be blatant with). You're analysis is perfect. The hardships of Rose and Albus are meant to be universal: in their struggles to achieve and overcome and compete and survive and thrive, they embody countless generations before them. however (and this may or may not be a spoiler given how much you've thought about it) they manage to do something no generation has before. They bring a final and destructive END to magic, not only as a society but as an entity in existence (Old!Rose alludes to this in the very beginning, and so does Ollivander).

That's all I'll say for now. A lot of thought has gone into this story (lots of foreshadowy-things are hidden between the lines and scenes and dialogues) and I'm glad it's been thought-provoking as well as entertaining :) I always appreciates these sort of reviews--that really grasp at the bigger picture rather than the obvious details.

I can't answer your super-important questions right now but they are definitely relevant. Will try to update as soon as school allows me!

NO. YOU KEEP BEING AMAZING.

:)


 Report Review

Review #2, by eclipseThe Art of Being Bad: The Art of Fraternizing with Puppy-Kicking, Child-Punting, Owl-Punching Ruffians

16th August 2013:
I love Malfoy. I enjoyed his sarcasm and love how he mostly acknowledges her by saying "love" or "little red". I am really looking forward to reading their interactions during their art of being bad lessons.

Author's Response: Haha thank you! I'm elated about the positive feedback on Malfoy. And, just so you know, the official badness lessons are going to be pretty insane. So prepare... ;)

 Report Review

Review #3, by eclipseBeauty Queen: Not a Date

11th February 2013:
My favorite pairing has to be Molly and Gryffin. I would love it if you wrote an outake of their date. I laughed so hard when Molly explained where Gryffin was!

Author's Response: Molly and Gryffin are my favorite pairing too. Sometimes I wish I could write the entire story through their perspective, because I love how much they argue. I've considered writing a oneshot or something for the two of them but I don't have any ideas for what it'd be about yet. I guess I'm just waiting for inspiration to strike.

But anyways, thank you so much for a lovely review :)
-Rebecca


 Report Review

Review #4, by eclipseCanis Major: 'The Incident'

19th August 2012:
Just have to say I love the picture of Dearborn because I am a huge Merlin fan. Anyway, liking the story, and I am wondering is this story going to have Sirius/Keira dating eventually or just being good friends?

Author's Response: Haha, yess. I'm glad you liked the CI. When I saw him, I was like, 'ah, too perfect!' and bellatrixx @ TDA did a brilliant job with it. ^_^

Cheers! I'm always happy to hear when people are enjoying the story. ^_^ While I don't usually give away spoilers, yes, they will end up dating eventually. (But shhh! Don't tell anyone! :P) They don't date for a long while yet, but they become sort of friends within the next few chapters, and then it goes downhill from there :P

Anyway, I'm glad you're liking the story, and i'll try and get the next chapter finished soon. :) Thanks for the review.
- Adele :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by eclipseHide and Seek: Arrows, Puddlemere, and Magpies

8th February 2012:
Congrats on the story making the Best of HPFF list. This story deserves the recognition. The moment that made me smile was Oliver not wanting to be poisoned by bacon.
Moments which made me laugh were Fred finding out he could have been a father and they should "name it Fred", and the other moment was Fred exclaiming, "Perpetual saliva-exchangers? Something else cleverly thought up by me that I can't think of ?"
Basically any scene involving Fred will receive a laugh from me. Also Roger is HOT!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am on Best of HPFF for "most reviews" as an author, which is such a great title to have. I really do have the best readers on HPFF. Seriously! You are all amazing.

Fred is so fantastic. And funny. Poor Ang having to deal with him.

Roger is SO DISHY.

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #6, by eclipseThe Quidditch Commandments: Ravenclaw: The Only Interesting Game Plans are the Insane Ones

26th October 2009:
What was that. There he is asking her to be his girlfriend, and when he gives her the explanation it sounds as if it is some master plan to help ensure one of them gets captain. Hopefully I am wrong and he does want to be with her but how you wrote it makes me think differently. Well besides that I loved the chap, favorite part is at the field and Jason kisses her in front of everyone, and how Jill/Jeremy act around each other. I hope to see more of the other Samuels because I find him interesting, that and he sounds just as good as Jason. Also I hope that what other brother said about not breaking his heart is true and Jason really wants to be with her. Well I am going to stop this long review and say overall I loved it and thanks for the link to the Lily story. Hope you update quickly so that I can see if this relationship is real because I hope so.

 Report Review

Review #7, by eclipseLOVE & BROOMSTICKS: Love And Broomsticks

20th October 2009:
Like tacos, for instance. Sirius Blacks world practically revolves around tacos. Maybe that means he wants to learn Spanish, or he likes Mexican food, or he is having an affair with a Spanish woman-”

“I wish…” Sirius mumbles.

“Stay out of this,” I squeak.

“Me too,” Remus says in a melancholy voice.


This is one of my favorite chapters, you had so many funny conversations ( like the one above), that I decided to put all my favorite quotes in this review.



“Sweet!” Frank calls out to us, rising up from his place near the window, making his way towards us. “A zombie pygmy puff!”

“This is dangerous. And beyond normal,” I tell him, my voice raising intervals. There is a pygmy demon in the boys common room! What if it gets loose?

“I know! The thing almost killed me. It had fangs,” he shudders.

“Fangs?!”

“Even sweeter, a vampire pygmy puff!” Frank chuckles, taking the remote from Jessica


Jessica stops what she is doing, kicks Frank off of her, and throws the fat remote dead on point blank. It hits Sirius Black square in the forehead.

“SON OF A BATCH OF COOKIES!”


Sirius smirks. “I have looked in the mirror, and do you know what I saw?” But he does not give her time to answer. “Too much sexiness in one face.”


The wait was long for this chap, but it was worth it when I read this. To many memorable parts in this chapter to put them all down, but I couldn't resist putting a few in this review. Loved where you got the title from. Jame thinking the world went 'round because of broomsticks made me smile.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this fantastic review :]

 Report Review

Review #8, by eclipseMesmerised: Vin and Poppy

5th October 2009:
I loved it. Sirius is my favorite character, he reminds me of Jack Sparrow. Anyway loved it as I said earlier, and take your time writing these chapters because even though I hate waiting it is always worth it in the end. Glad to see everybody is making up and can't wait to see what James has planned for the rest of the night. Looking forward to reading the next installment of this wonderful story.

Author's Response: Thank you!! And I love that you love Sirius, because I realised at some point that I had been majorly neglecting Marauder development so I've been working on it so I'm glad someone likes him!!! And I'm sorry about the wait, I just do want the chapters to be as awesome as possible for you guys. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by eclipseThe Quidditch Commandments: Ravenclaw: You Can't Spell Teammates Without The Words 'Team' and 'Mates'

19th September 2009:
Didn't think Jeremy had it in him to make a decent captain. Guess you proved me wrong. What can I say the chapter was great, as usual, so I'm hoping you don't want any constructive criticism, cause I have none to give. Sorry to hear about the Lily Evans story and when you post it on another site I would greatly appreciate if you will tell me which one so I can read it.

Author's Response: Dear eclipse,
Hahaa yea, Jeremy's captain ability was a bit of a wild card. I'm so happy to hear that you loved the chapter! As for Lily Evans, it's on a different site and the link is on my page if you want it;) Thanks so much for reading!
Your Obedient Servant,
The Phantom


 Report Review

Review #10, by eclipseAll Over Again: First Steps and First Impressions

23rd August 2009:
I love Jenny. How you described her and the her admirer's was amusing. But my favorite character is still Sirius. I don't know why but while reading this story I want to punch and date James all at the same time. I guess there is just something about a Bad Boy that makes girls go crazy. Love the ending with the person watching her. Perfect way to get readers even more interested in the story. And I love long chapters so keep them coming. Especially since no stories will be updated for a while.

Author's Response: I definitely agree with you abouy Jenny and Sirius. Jenny is really fun to write because her charm allows her to get away with stuff other people could never pull off. In that manner she's very much like James and there will be some good battles between the txo cousins which are well worth reading. :)
But just like you my love for Sirius is something else altogether. In this chapter he's sweet, in the next chapter we'll get another glimpse of his nature.
Chapter five and six are already written, but as you said no stories will be updated for a while so unfortunately the readers will have to wait and me too. :(
As always thanks for another review and I'm glad you liked it. :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by eclipseAll Over Again: Lies and Loathing

19th August 2009:
I enjoy reading this story. It's well written and it has a plot, which is refreshing. When I figure out how to nominate stories for the awards this story will be one of them. The plot is interesting and has a storyline that I haven't read before which keeps me guessing on what will happen next and I love it.

Author's Response: Cheer's and wow, if you ever manage to nominate my fic for an award I will officially dub you my favourite reviewer ever lol. Seriously I'm really glad you like the story and ARE guessing because that is what I really want this story to do; make you expect the unexpected. :) Cheers for reviewing, you guys really make my day.

 Report Review

Review #12, by eclipseGossip Witch: Surprising Consequences and Subtle Remarks

17th August 2009:
I was so happy when you updated this story, it's one of my favorites. I am a bit confused is Lily using L.A.E or E.A.L for her name because it is written both ways. Besides that I love the story and hope you update soon. I love Srius! He and that net make me laugh everytime I read this story.

Author's Response: She's tricky that's what! haha, thanks for reviewing! I love Sirius and his net too!
~hpf14


 Report Review

Review #13, by eclipseTears of Ash: Who I Am

31st July 2009:
I'm interested in this story,because it isn't your usual Lily/James fic. But I saw that the story took a very long time to update, so I was wondering if you will be updating faster now. If not please tell me so I will know if I shouldn't be checking on your story for an update.

Author's Response: Hmm, no i'm definate;y updating this story as fast as i can. The problem in the beginning (which may happen again) was that it was too dark and becuase of that it kept getting rejected and rejected! This time i'm really censoring, so i hope it wont be a problem again.
I really hope you do decide to follow the story though, it's going for a couple of wild twists!! Definately not the standard fanfic ...
-Wise Eyes


 Report Review

Review #14, by eclipseMesmerised: Three Old Dances

26th June 2009:
Loved the chapter. I'm glad that Nia and Lily are starting to patch things up. And when James finally admitted he liked Lily ,to Sirius and Peter,was my favorite part. I have to say my favorite character is Fred. When he shows up it always makes me smile. I hope he is in future chapters. Well I love the story and hope you update soon.

Author's Response: Thank you! I like Fred too, so much in fact that I never intended him to make an appearance but he was so much fun, I try and slip him in wherever it can be slightly believable. He'll be coming, don't worry.

 Report Review

Review #15, by eclipseGossip Witch: Cheaters Never Win and Winners Never Cheat

14th June 2009:
A friend of mine told me about this story saying I would love it. She was right. Can't wait to read the next chap. Hope you keep Sirius' net in the story. I would love to see him try to catch someone in that thing.

Author's Response: omg really? My story was recommended? Wow! I feel so good right now. lol (don't worry it hasn't gone to my head-yet) I am in love with Sirius and his net! Thanks for reviewing!
~hpf14


 Report Review

Review #16, by eclipseBlame: It's Freakin' Peachy

5th June 2009:
I liked it. It was the summary that caught my attention, and I wasn't disappointed. Hope you do carry on. And the book you mentioned is a good one. A friend let me borrow it and the saddest part is when she dies.

Author's Response: Oh gosh. Thank you so much for the FANTASTIC review. I wasn't sure on the summary at first, but I'm warming up to it.

AAHHH. I'm so happy I'm not the only one on the face of the planet who has read Before I Die. It's amazing. I love it so much.

I will carry on with it at some point, but at the minute Madame Butterfly has my main priority. You might like it. Give it a go.

Thanks so much for the review
:parades about and tosses you cyber cookies:


 Report Review

Review #17, by eclipseLOVE & BROOMSTICKS: Bad Boy/Strange Boy

31st May 2009:
I loved it. The last part was amazing. I can't believe that James completely changed his personality in days. Hope you update soon. Really can't wait to see what James does to hide his real feelings from Lily.

Author's Response: ...who says he isn't already hiding his real feelings?

;)


XD


 Report Review

Review #18, by eclipseLOVE & BROOMSTICKS: Here With Me

19th March 2009:
I am sorry I haven't reviewed the chap earlier. You see I decided to prolong my spring break. Which I now think was a horrible idea because I have a ton of homework and scholarships to write. But enough about my excuses, I loved how James knew the kiss was fake. And how afterwards he says he has to follow her because she is worth it. And I loved the red lips scene I never saw that one coming. Before I read this chap I started from the beginning because I wanted to procrastinate my hand injuries from the work I must do. As I was reading there was a part when Lily mentions how James and her converse by using quotes from movies and I was wondering if you could do it again. Cause I loved it when Lily was thinking of Mr. and Mrs. Smith and then James says Angelina. I guess that is all. Oh, as for your comments above I must say I didn't see any foreshadowing. But my English teacher did tell me I was dense when it came to these things. I guess I don't have the power that Shawn has off of the show Psych. Awesome show by the way,I recommend it. I guess the only thing to write now is can't wait to read the conversation that is about to evolve. Huh,now that I read the review I just wrote it seems somewhat random. I guess that is what I get for being up at 1:30 a.m. But I find that I get inspiration to write at this time at night. Or morning. OK now my rambling will end.

Author's Response: i was actually thinking the other day about adding another movie quote... all in good time, child. all in good time ;)

alot of people seemed to have liked that james knew the kiss was fake and i've been getting many responses where my reviewers immediately put on red lipstick ahaha. so...yes! i'm glad everyone seemes to like those little thingies i threw in the chapter.

tis okay about being up at 1:30 AM because i fall asleep when ever the heck i feel like it. i get inspired in the most random of moments. i once was in school and almost wrote a scene between lily/james on the back of my test but then remembered what the crap i was doing. XD thanks for the wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by eclipseMesmerised: Beth Leighton's Riverdance Ballet

24th February 2009:
I am so sorry I haven't reviewed this story before. But I am going to make up for it by reviewing for now on. I love your characters, they are well developed and you actually care for them and that doesn't happen a lot while reading. So all I am saying is don't change anything. And I must say I love Bella's plan. And James totally dug himself a hole. The best part in this chap though was when all the friends were drunk in the beginning, I believe you should write more of that. Can't wait to read what happens next. The chap rates a 10/10

Author's Response: Well thank you for reviewing this chapter! I love reviews but really, if you're still reading, I'm happy.

I do really care about my characters and try and make them as real as I can because of that because I have his need to make people reading the story care about them too. I'm happy that translates in some way.

The drunk scene, it's funny you say that because when I think of the times in which someone's a bit drunk, I realise that I have more of those scenes than most stories I've read. Three or four already but I don't know, I'm 18 and I have friends and for some reasons that's what they all like to do, which is why I put them in so they're probably will be another cropping p in the future.


 Report Review

Review #20, by eclipseLOVE & BROOMSTICKS: False Accusations

28th January 2009:
I love the first paragraph. And I cannot tell you how many times I yelled. First the whole Amos/Lily/Frank action, then Frank/Jess and just now Lily and James. But my favourite part was when Lily finally told Amos what she thought of him. That was brillant. This chap was worth the wait and I can't wait to read the next one. But I do hope Lily doesn't hurt James since right before they kissed it looked like she didn't want to give him the wrong impression. I like the song as well it's on my ipod. The Rating was a perfect 10/10

Author's Response: O.O

this is going in my 'favorite reviews forever' folder.


 Report Review

Review #21, by eclipseHold Back The Tears: Chapter Nine- Just Talk To Me

30th December 2008:
My vision is totally coming true because now Madison is worried about Sirius. I can't wait for them together. Great chap and you will hear from me soon.

Author's Response: thanks so much. I hope i get to hear from you soon. I'm so glad that you like it. Yay!

 Report Review

Review #22, by eclipseHold Back The Tears: Chapter Eight- Black To The Bone

30th December 2008:
I hope I get a sugar cookie for this review. And I must say my vision is coming true with each chap. I mean Reg made that threat about Madison and Sirius throws a punch at him. I think he cares about her. Good chap and I love the song.

Author's Response: *sugar cookie for you* i love the song. Thanks so much for reviewing

 Report Review

Review #23, by eclipseHold Back The Tears: Chapter Seven- One Day, But Definitely Not Today

30th December 2008:
I am a little mad that she hasn't got back on the team but I will live through it I guess. And I can't wait to read the next chap for the Josefina song!

Author's Response: hahahah the josefina song wasso much fun to right. I garentee you'll love it. Thank you so much for reviewing. The next chapter should be up within a few days

 Report Review

Review #24, by eclipseHold Back The Tears: Chapter Six- The Memory Of A Sunset

30th December 2008:
I think the vision I had earlier will come true. Sirius and Madison will together. Love the chap and the whole smoothie scar incident. And I am glad there are more clumsy people in the world. It makes me feel less lonely even if they are fictional.

Author's Response: hahahaha thanks so much. :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by eclipseHold Back The Tears: Chapter Five- His Voice

30th December 2008:
Do you know what this chap reminded me of. The book called New Moon. It is part of the Twilight series and if you haven't read it I am sorry but I am about to spoil some of it. When Edward leaves Bella goes into a depressed state. And she seems to here his voice when she is being irrational. And that is what it reminds me of. So good chap and I will leave another review very soon.

Author's Response: i love twilight. I've read the whole sereies. I didn't realize until later that it was so much like that. I'm glad you like that.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>