Reading Reviews From Member: Columba_the dove
  
54 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Columba_the doveAccidentally on Purpose: Of Public Break Ups .... or not.

28th May 2008:
you story is great, i love it so far!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Columba_the doveStuck On A Roller Coaster: OF ENCOUNTERS, SHOES AND SELF-PROVIDED ADVICE

24th May 2008:
Hotmail eats my emails on a regular basis, sadly. I tried again however and I will try once more if it didn't work this time.

I did enjoy this chapter, but I think you need to re-read more carefully. Some of this chapter wasn't that clear; the words got a little muddled.

For example when Sirius said: “Just don’t get hurt. And don’t fall in love with what he shows you to be.”

"-what he shows you to be." doesn’t make much scene, did you mean something like "what he shows you to be him" or "the person he shows you he is."?

also "-I drew my hand to the place his hand was resting and moved it out of his face." doesn't flow well, also it's not to clear exactly what it happening. , it would be better to say "I reached up and moved his hand away from his face."

but on the story and character side, this chapter is good. we see more of everyone, get to know them better. I look forward to seeing how Sirius will try to make Charlie jealous.

Author's Response: Oh, I got the mail yesterday, so I could read your complete review. I didn't know you were dyslexic... but let me tell you that you write far too good, though. Well, the problem you have with your writing I have it as well with mine, but in my case it's because I'm from Argentina and I'm a Spanish native speaker, so imagine. If oneself never gets to know his/her own language how am I supposed to learn everything about a different one?
I'll have in mind your advice. I really appreciate that 'cos it helps me with my writing which I'm not very good at, as you can see and I'm having an exam in a couple of months. I don't know if you've heard about the C.A.E. it's an advance level... then I'm going into the Proficiency. I want to have as good management of English as it's possible for a non English native speaker to have. Meaning a lot of hard work. So when I get help from people, I know I'm improving little by little and I know it's something good for me, so don't be afraid to correct me whenever you think something does not fit properly.
I have a friend who is also dyslexic and we've Keira Nightley and many actors and actresses who are as well... and they have gone really far in life... So I appreciate the fact that you write even when it's not easy for you. My mum always says that it's simple to do things the easy way but when you do it the other way around, results are magnificent.
So, good luck with your stories and thanks for the reviews you generously left here. I'll edit the story and correct the mistakes you pointed out.
Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Columba_the doveThat Kiss Will Live In My Heart: That Kiss Will Live In My Heart

22nd May 2008:
Really beautiful and touching.

I particularly love how you have slowly reviled all the details through the story rather than delivering them all at once, you slowly show us all the layers and aspects of the scene, and it’s very effective.

I would suggest you remove ‘(A/N carefree, happy)’ from the first line of lyrics, the note at the start is adequate, and it ruins the wonderful flow of your writing.

i really enjoyed this, thank you so much for sharing it with us:)

Author's Response: Thank you for your review. Your suggestion will be acted on when the queue reopens. I am very fond of this little piece. It turned out better that I expected. I love the idea of Ginny loving Harry but being strong enough to make a life for herself without him yet missing him and not replacing him with someone else. I also love the idea of them being reunited after death.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Columba_the doveDelicate: Secrets and Cigarettes

20th May 2008:
a good chapter, but why the cliffhanger? why are you so mean?

ah, nipple piercings. takes me back to my own rebellious days...not that I have one of those but i did watch a friend get one, at the end of each school term in yr 11 and 12 my friends and i would go to the mall and get new piercing some were. i look back now and wonder why we bothered because we went to a strict catholic school and we always took them out and let the hole close up once school started again...

Author's Response: I'm sorry - but we all get a bit of a kick out of being mean, no?!
Ah yes, I have many a friend with nipple piercings - actually only two but whatever! And high five for Catholic schools! ('Cept not really - I'm almost finished after spending 14 years in Catholic schools - roll on tomorrow!!!) (",)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Columba_the doveDark Clouds: Dark Clouds

20th May 2008:
it's really beautiful. you've captured Ginny perfectly!

Author's Response: thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Columba_the doveFools Like Me: A Cruel Joke

19th May 2008:
shame on you, i'm sick and in an emotionally week state and you made me cry :'(

i don't know why Scorpius did that to Rose, but i hope it is something like he is trying to protect her. from something.

Author's Response: oh, sorry :(

you'll find out soon!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Columba_the doveStuck On A Roller Coaster: OF MEETINGS, SILLY KISSES AND MISTAKES

17th May 2008:
i like this story, it's funny.
i sent you a email, see that for full review!

Author's Response: I didn't get the mail, I'm crushed by guilt... You wrote an e-mail for me and the sodding computer, Internet, hotmail or whatever isn't decent enough to send it to me.
Well, I guess you don't have to, but if you happen to have another copy of what you wrote, or saved the info in the e-mail, you can send it to me... But if you don't, it's ok, don't worry... I won't put you through the pain of having to write another one just beacuse this thing doesn't work. I appreciate the review and... well, that's all.
Just, thank you very very very much, and I'm sorry... DOWN WITH HOTMAIL!
cheers!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Columba_the doveStuck in a Harry Potter Romance: I'm Showing You My World

17th May 2008:
ah,what would a cliché fanfic be without a Veritaserum influenced game of truth or dare? nice chapter, and you certainly are a fast updater!
there is something going on with Ria, are we going to find out some time soon?

Author's Response: Maybe and maybe.

:D


 Report Review

Review #9, by Columba_the doveRon Weasley and The New Regime: Chapter 1

17th May 2008:
if you want a banner you should go to the dark arts,

//www.the-dark-arts.net/

that's were most people with no banner making skills, myself included, get them. under the "request a banner" on the main page there is a guide to making your request, the proses is easy and it is all explained for you!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Columba_the doveRevealing This: Annette's Story

15th May 2008:
i read this story and it's prequel about a week ago, and i just can't get it out of my head. i can't tell you exactly what it is, if it's the story line, your writing or characters but something about it just won't leave me alone.

you should take this as a compliment even though i might sound a bit ambiguous, i love the story.

i keep replaying in my mind different scenes and thinking it over, and about a day ago i realized what an effect it had had on me. like i said i couldn't say what it is exactly, but i think it has something to do with Grady's need to find something good in himself. -having written that I've looked at it and though it doesn't have anything to do with that, it is far more the relationship between him and Annette that is touching, but that doesn't seen quite right ether.

i think what i love about your story is the way the surreal, the marriage, fits so well into reality. Or how well you have combined the two. like at first the idea of Grady marring this girl just so she could stay at hogwarts seemed amusing but it became so serious and in the end it wasn't hogwarts but Grady that became most important to Annette.

Maybe it is just that you have made love at first sight believable. because you have.

any how, let me recap by saying good story.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Columba_the doveAll Was Well: Planning a Weasley Wedding

14th May 2008:
it wasn't a boring chapter, i really liked it. i was a little worried that Rose seemed to go flying in her new dress robes, not the most practical flying ensemble I'd have thought.

I absolutely loved the part where Hugo was reading out Rose's diary, i laughed and cringed at the same time. and the interaction between Scorpius and his family was lovely. great job!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review.

I'm soooooo happy you didn't think it was boring chapter because not a lot happened so i was worried what people would think but we both tried our best to make it good fun.

It was so fun exploring Scorpius's family life. We thought it was important to show just what his family life is like- we all know about the wealey family.

We like the idea of Rose and Hugo being typical sister and borther- always arguing ang getting each other back for everythign and then there parents stepping in to sort them out. i thought i was cridging while we wrote it- poor min.

Thanks again.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Columba_the doveDelicate: Ask Your Mother

4th May 2008:
really cool story! i just read the hole thing through.

at first i thought scorpious was a total shite and way didn't deserve Dorm who is really nice, or Rose. but the chappy with the bit from his point of view helped SO much to understand what is going through his head.

really enjoyed reading this, looking forward to more!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Columba_the doveFools Like Me: Paris when it Sizzles

17th April 2008:
wonderful chapter, loved it but WHAT I CLIFFY! arg, update soon i want to know what happens.

Author's Response: Sorry! I will update as soon as possible.

(I love cliffies)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Columba_the doveI Never Knew You: Yuh huh, Nuh uh!

26th March 2008:
i had gold fish once. they all died though, i still have the tank.

i'm really enjoying this, it's really REALLY funny.

Author's Response: *Sigh,
I to am a goldfish killer.
IT WASN'T MY FAULT!
They just... died. ):
I think the reason they died was because when I was younger, I would always want to touch them.
Maybe they died from shock. I mean I would too if I saw a humungerous hand coming down from the sky and it tried to catch me. =S
ANYWAYS.
Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Columba_the doveFools Like Me: Son of a Death Eater

8th March 2008:
Defiantly more Scorpius! I am toughly happy and satisfied by your little peek into scropius' mind/life. It fits perfectly his behaviour in the beginning of the story.

I thought it might be a tad difficult to expand on his character and not make it disjointed from the other chapters but you have surpassed my expectations and done it well. So well done.

Author's Response: hehe, I love Scorpius. I'm glad this chapter met your Scorpius needs! lol. Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Columba_the doveThere's No Way: Chapter 6: Pancakes

29th February 2008:
it might be just a touch too fluffy, but other wise it's an enjoyable read.
some parts of this are really cleverly written and theres lots of good character development for hermione in this chapter.

Author's Response: Glad you noticed that about Hermione, this is the chapter that starts her changing. Thanks for reading and reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Columba_the doveAll Was Well: A Malfoy/Weasley Meeting

28th February 2008:
it was a good chapter, worth the wait.

i like the use of humor, lit makes what could be a rather somber chapter enjoyable.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Columba_the doveFools Like Me: Battle of the Bee's

25th February 2008:
oh. they didn't really get to have a sneaking around faze. they got thrown straight into the everyone knows faze, poor things. Olivia's a pretty troubled gal ain't she?

i'd like to see a bit more of scorpius, he's only a loosely drawn character at the moment and i feel he needs a bit more substance.

Author's Response: Oh yes, she really is. I was noticing that about Scorpius too (I tend to re-read my writing alot) so the next chapter will give us alot of Scorpie, don't you worry. THanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Columba_the doveFools Like Me: Every Rose has it's Thorns

12th February 2008:
I LOVE THIS CHAPTER! it is just perfect! absolutely perfect!
you did it really well, i'm convinced of Rose's feelings and everything.

when scorpius said this bit 'I fell in love with you.' He stated firmly, without a trace of doubt. i swooned.

i say 10! and on to chapter 8. bring on the ball and the family conflict!

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so so so glad! Yes, Scorpius is my love....:)

On we go! Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Columba_the dove:

9th February 2008:
*is SO glad you didn't abandon it*

i laughed so much at the rose and cassie conversation, she set her on fire? fantastic! cousin? I KNEW IT! ya!

looking forward to the next chapters!

Author's Response: Thankyou so much :D!! Aye, fire. Fire is good. Pyscic much?! Thanks so, so much for the review. Ty ty xx :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Columba_the doveFools Like Me: Late Mornings and Hasty Notes

8th February 2008:
interesting chapter.

poor Rose, life ain't fun when your friends let you down.

to adress the romance issue, i've not really got the feeling yet that rose would be interested in scorpius. sure he likes her, but it seems like she's got her feelings about him buried too deep still.

i think something is up with that cat...
looking forward to number seven!

Author's Response: Thank you :) I was a little worried that it would be boring...but hopefully the next chapter will make up for it!

Rose is slowly but surely realizing that most of her so called friends only like her for her popularity. That will hit hard later on!

About the romance...you're right about her burying her feelings. Rose knows that she can't love a Malfoy, that's why she makes herself hate him. But Scorpius is very...persistant. You'll just have to read on and find out how that goes!

Thank you for the review :D


 Report Review

Review #22, by Columba_the doveThat you were mine.: That you were mine.

27th January 2008:
oh wow. that made me cry.

Author's Response: Sorry, and thank you! X

 Report Review

Review #23, by Columba_the doveA New Kind of Forbidden: Plans for the Summer

25th January 2008:
yay new chapter!
it was a good as always!(worth the wait)
looking forward to the next, as Scorpius will have to talk to rose.

poor Scorpius, he's all sad and in love.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Columba_the doveFools Like Me: You Don't Know Me

18th January 2008:
i like it. rose isn't the nicest ever, but frankly it's a nice change to have a flawed heroine. she's human, it's more real.

i like it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much :) I'm glad you see it that way!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Columba_the doveFrench Knickers: Things going bump in the evening

18th January 2008:
oh, fantastic!
the last bit was just hilarious! it's wonderfully different, at story from Fleur' pov. i just love it.

and you just can't leave it there! i want to know what happens next!

Author's Response: Lol, oh thank you sweetie! Don't fret, the next installment is not long off now :) X

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>