Reading Reviews From Member: Pookha
  
242 Reviews Found

Review #26, by PookhaBlood Moon: Blood Moon

6th January 2016:
Well, that was terrifying, in a good way. You do a great job building the fear through the chase, getting a sense of urgency going and then keeping the pressure on.

Fenrir here is appropriately animalistic and dangerous, and is shown as someone to be feared.

Your description is masterful, and it is clear and full without being overwhelming in it's descriptiveness (I hope that made sense, lol).

I also like that you imply a lot about other things that Fenrir might be doing to his victims without explicitly stating what they are, letting the reader picture it for themselves.

A great, atmospheric read.

BvB review.

Author's Response: Hi Pookha!

Thank you! That was my main concern in this - action is not my strong point so I'm glad you feel that this was good and I built the fear up well!

He genuinely scares me so I knew I had to portray that here so I am really glad he comes across this way. I think everyone would be scared to be confronted by him so I wanted to get that across that he is a terrifying monster.

Thank you! I do try and work on my descriptions so I really happy you enjoyed them and it wasn't too much!

Well I always get this underlying feeling about Greyback - he really gives me the chills for obvious reasons and it's not stretch to think he could be doing worse things than killing his 'prey'.

thank you so much for the wonderful review!

-Vicki


 Report Review

Review #27, by PookhaA Few Minutes More: A Few Minutes More

6th January 2016:
They say write what you know and it sounds like you know about dealing with toddlers. I've always, always, always thought that Ginny got short shrift in the books, so it's good to see a Ginny-centric story where she's just not a crazy red-headed maniac as she is often stereotyped.

I really like the way she deals with the children individually and how she goes in angry, but when she sees them playing nicely together, she calms right down.

I also really like that each of the kids has their own individual personality.

Very well written from a technical perspective, too.

Author's Response: Hello there!

I agree with you about Ginny - I think J.K. couldn't done a bit more, but the books were really about Harry and good vs. evil. Haha - yeah, I have kids - and they were mainly the inspiration for this story.

Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #28, by PookhaHow can I walk away?: How can I walk away?

5th January 2016:
So I don't normally read Dramione, but I'm glad I read this one. It avoids all the tropes and cliches by removing them entirely. It's a great way to show the ship without context.

You do a great job showing how they want to hide, but also want to be out in the light. The disappearing footsteps were a great choice of description.

I also like how Draco is showing more bravery here than he would have in his past. He wants to bring them to light, and he wants to show the world how it is now.

A great read for mood and tone.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review and I'm happy to have written a Dramione that you kind of like. I do ship them and think they match each other but there has to be a major shift of Draco to bring them together. But here, I did skillfully dart around the specifics :) He's a changed along and walked a hard road to bring him to this point. He's sacrificed a lot in his life but he wont sacrifice Hermione. Thanks for stopping by.

Jacqui


 Report Review

Review #29, by PookhaParachute: Frequent Visits to St. Mungo's

4th January 2016:
BvB review.

I don't think the conversation was too short. You really didn't need to fill in that space with the whole dragged out thing, so summing up was fine. It is okay to tell once in a while instead of showing and sometimes it's right when it's a long tedious conversation (like Lily's wheedling probably was here).

I like the feel of Lily not wanting to follow in the family's footsteps. She wants to do her own thing and be her own person.

You do very well at connecting the reader to Lily's feelings and we understand just how tired of feeling worried for her family she is. She's not just tired of going there, but she's also tired of worrying.

My favorite part is how you make us care about the characters.

 Report Review

Review #30, by PookhaHarry Potter and the Final Year: Prologue

1st January 2016:
This was brilliant. I love 8th year type fics and have been thinking of writing one myself. I thought that Harry was perfectly in character and so were the Malfoys. I've pictured that trial going pretty much the same way, so confirmation of head canon is always nice.

This says a lot of not only Harry's character, but Draco's. Draco is not a nice person, but he's also not a murderer or really a Death Eater. He's a scared, prejudiced teenager who's come under the spell (ha-ha) of bad people and didn't realize until too late just how evil they were.

I completely agree that Narcissa would have avoided Azkaban and Lucius would have spent some time there. I've always vacillated on Draco, leaning toward how you depicted it here.

Great characterization and good dialogue. Keeping it in character the whole way through makes it easy to read and makes it seem real. Going to favourite this and try to remember to read more.

Author's Response: Well hi there, I just wrote you a review for the latest BvB, so here I am answering your review in kind.


Thanks so much for the praise. The story had been rattling around in my head for ages before I committed it to paper, actually long before I'd even read one single Harry Potter fan-fiction. As such it is full of my head cannons and what-I-think-should-happen-next's.

To have my head cannon match that of someone else is wonderful to me. This chapter was a necessary evil, in so much that it had to happen sometime. The stuff that happens in the next chapter and beyond is what was going through my mind for all those years, not the trial of Draco. But once I realised that it had to happen, the only logical place for it to occur was right at the beginning of the story.

It is really gratifying to me to read that you think that my characterisation of Harry and the Malfoy's was a match for the books - I really did try to keep them in the spirit of what JKR was doing with them. The stuck up upper-class mother and the spoilt petulant child of the earlier books dissapear in the light of the greater evil of Voldemort. They are much changed by the end of the seventh book and I tried to extrapolate that out.

Your second paragraph I agree with totally. Draco may never be nice. I remember reading that JKR thought that, despite all of the fan fiction that she'd heard of to the contrary, Harry and Draco would never be friends. I don't necessarily agree with that, but I think that it would be hard for them to become bosom buddies too.

We shall see what the community service of Draco's brings. I have started to write the chapter and it occurs sometime around chapter 10 or 12 or so. It will certainly be a learning experience for the young man, that it will.

So thanks again for the praise and the review, it was a very welcome thing to see and to read. Please keep reading and I hope you like what I am attempting to do.



 Report Review

Review #31, by PookhaAnthony Goldstein's Chanukah: Anthony Goldstein's Chanukah

14th December 2015:
I quite enjoyed reading this. It's good to see the holidays from a different perspective. I must admit that I never thought about Chanukah happening during Hogwarts term, but this year it's 12/6-12/14 so it makes sense. It would be hard to be at Hogwarts during such a holiday, but Anthony handled it well here.

Thank you so much for this glimpse at his holiday. I like that the other students were accepting of his beliefs, too and celebrated with him (at least by wondering what his presents were).

 Report Review

Review #32, by PookhaA Happy Holiday Indeed: Happy Christmas

13th December 2015:
Super sweet and any story featuring Dobby will be faved if good, and this one is GOOD. I like the way DD visits and spends time with Dobby. He knows that Dobby is very much feeling the same way as he does and they can both enjoy each other's company.

Terrific characterization of Dobby and DD.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you feel that way! I've always thought holidays would be very difficult for Dumbledore so I wanted to express that. Thank you so much for the lovely review! :D

 Report Review

Review #33, by PookhaStar-Crossed : Party

12th December 2015:
Extremely well-written, especially for a first fanfic. Kudos for writing a minor character, too. I quite enjoyed Argus's characterization and the way he's worried about what his family thinks, but also the way that he wants to fit in.

The Shakespeare theme will help to tie it all together and it will be interesting to see more. I'm going to favorite this.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this, I hope I don't disappoint!

 Report Review

Review #34, by PookhaThe Cornish Pixie Clock: The Cornish Pixie Clock

11th December 2015:
I love this story. I'm always up for some fluff with Luna and I like Luna/Rolf quite a bit. Rolf knows that Luna's going to want something unique (like him!)

I really like the gift that he gave her with the clock and the wood-working that he had to do to fix it. I find myself liking your Rolf quite a bit.

Keep writing fluff, the world has enough angst! (Ah, write angst, too).

I really see the love that they have for each other come through in your writing.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!
Luna/Rolf is a ship I need more canon info on. They have to be a near perfect take on the cute 'quirky' couple.
I'm glad you liked my version of Rolf and his relationship with Luna. Rolf is, for lack of better words, my precious little nugget.
(Actually, the world doesn't have enough angst.)


 Report Review

Review #35, by PookhaButtercup: The Anemones Won't Die

10th December 2015:
This is beautiful. So very Luna and Harry. The language is simple and evocative, and it shines through with power and grace. We can FEEL, FEEL, FEEL, the love and the simple truth of the pairing through your writing.

I admit that I was searching for a great Harry/Luna story to get me back into feeling this ship like I used to and this one was it.

Your use of language is clear and colorful. I like the way that some of the story read like poetry. Thank you for a beautiful and sad story.

 Report Review

Review #36, by PookhaHurricane Luna: They Meet in a Tree

19th January 2015:
So I'll start with your headcanon for Rolf; T.J. Thyne. He's not my first choice (I picture Rolf as very large and Viking-looking, more like Zakk Wylde), but I love the choice and I can see the Rolf in your story looking like this. Great faceclaim for Rolf.

As someone who writes Luna a lot myself, I think you got her characterization right on the money. So many people make her too strange or not strange enough and then she's flat or not understandable or relatable. You got her spot-on.

Her eagerness to help and learn often exceeds her skill, but she learns quickly and she's willing to listen to people, but if they don't agree with her worldview, she will think about it then dismiss it if it's not correct to her. You capture that well here with her stubbonness about the birds.

I really liked Luna watching him for days in the trees before announcing her prescence. I've already read the other chapters and hope to review them soon.

Author's Response: Hey there!

Haha - So, SO many people comment on TJ! Thanks for the compliment about Luna - I can't wait to read some of your work with her in it!

Thanks again - I'd love to hear what you think about how this story develops!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #37, by PookhaFeel Alive: Feel Alive

14th January 2015:
Ron/Hermione is one of those relationships that either love or hate it seems. I really like the canon pairing and understand where they come from.

Ron does make her FEEL, that's why they're such a good pairing. The sisterly love that Hermione feels for Harry is so different from what she feels for Ron. It's so much deeper for her. Yes, he's not as smart as she is and yes, he's inconsiderate; but, he does love her as she is and that counts for a lot.

My headcanon has their marriage solid as a rock, with these little things never threatening it or causing more friction than exasperation, and that seems to be what you have here.

A great little insight into Hermione's feelings for Ron.

I loved it.

 Report Review

Review #38, by PookhaStating My Independence: Stating my Independence

12th January 2015:
While this goes against my headcanon and JKR canon, I quite enjoyed the AUness of it. This is what fanfic is about; finding the 'what ifs' and using them to make an interesting story.

This is a good character study of Draco and it shows the side of him that is willing to change, the side that wouldn't betray Harry to the Snatchers at Malfoy Manor in DH. This is the sort of Draco where we can see humanity.

I really liked the way he steeled himself to leave his mother especially. I truly can see this Draco having a hard time cutting the maternal bonds (but not the paternal ones).

A very nice character study.

Author's Response: Thank you. I wanted to explore Draco a little more with this story and hopefully justify his actions and show him making a change. I feel it was his fathers control which dictated much of his decisions. Without him ruling his life, I believe he'd be a different person...still driven, cunning and devious, but not quite so ready to follow a murderer.

 Report Review

Review #39, by PookhaRiddikulus: Riddikulus

7th January 2015:
I really enjoyed this story. Minerva's Boggart being the dead from the Battle makes so much sense to me. The biggest thing that I enjoyed here is that Winky is shown being redeemed and active at Hogwarts instead of moping about in misery.

I will say that she should have known it was lying for sure when Fred accused her. She had to know that Fred wouldn't have thought she hated them. Boggarts are great at really pulling the emotional strings.

Very nicely written.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review! Miverva is definitely intimidating to write, I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #40, by PookhaBroken: i. a broken lavender

5th January 2015:
I really enjoyed finding this story. It's good to see someone giving Lavender her chance. I'm currently writing a Dudley/Lavender story that has some similar themes (Lavender with PTSD), so it was good to see someone with like thoughts.

You handled the self-harm and other sensitive subjects with aplomb and care. I really liked the tender relationship between Lav and Parvati.

So many students at Hogwarts have to have PTSD, but it's a subject that often gets ignored.

Really well written and evocative.

Author's Response: Hello, thank you so much for the read and review! I'm definitely not the first to give Lavender the attention she deserves but she's so underwritten and it's such a shame because I think she's an incredibly interesting character.

I'd garner a guess at saying the majority of students suffered from some level of PTSD after the war but you're right, in general quite an ignored fact.

Thanks so much for the feedback. Also, I feel I'll be checking your Lav/Dudley story very soon - I can't wait! :D

xo


 Report Review

Review #41, by PookhaI see trees of green, red roses too: I see trees of green, red roses too

4th January 2015:
A wonderful story. I liked the way that Ron subtly falls in love with Hermione more and more over time. Toasts at weddings are always awkward and you captured that great.

It's nice to see a characaterization of Fleur that doesn't just make her a cliche. I also like your characterizations of Ron and Harry.

Author's Response: I'm glad that you enjoyed it. Thanks for the review.

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #42, by PookhaTwo Earthly Kingdoms: To Anger a God

3rd January 2015:
Orpheus in the underworld with Snape as Orpheus and Voldy-baby as Hades. An interesting take on Snape's tale and one I thoroughly enjoyed.

The lyrical style is almost like proesie, some of the best of Baudelaire, like 'Les fleurs du mal.' It evokes a mood, which is as important to this story as the plot. Beautiful and moving.

Author's Response: Hey there - thanks so much for stopping by! :)

Yeah, I just loved the idea of Snape fitting into that role - it's an incredibly tragic role, which fits his character, even if not completely, and it meant there was a lot of space for other characters to fit into it too. I'm so glad you liked it - I know Greek Mythology isn't exactly everyone's cup of tea :P

Wow, thank you so much! I've read enough Baudelaire to know what that means, so thank you so so much! :) I really enjoying writing this, making all the connections and the links (even if it was pretty hard), so I'm so happy some of that came through :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review - it was such a great surprise! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #43, by PookhaA Deception: To Deceive

3rd January 2015:
Well, this is quality writing. Beautifully evocative and subtle. It gives the proper feeling of Andromeda, haughty and proud, but still unsure of herself at the same time.

Appearances are just as important to her as reality and she knows it. Her ability to see within herself really rounds out her personality and adds to her relationship with Ted.

At first, I thought she was too cold, but I began to understand her better as you went on with the story. It's good to see Bella as someone who was a sister, and not just as a mad Death Eater. It's something that people often forget to do with Bella; which is to give her life.

It's also interesting how her tale parallels Sirius's a bit with running away to escape. Always good to see the minor characters get some love.

Author's Response: Hey there! Thank you so much for dropping by! :)

Gah, thank you so much! I'm so glad you like it - it was something I wrote on a complete whim, so I was nervous about posting it and how it would go down... so thank you so much! :)

I really wanted to bring out the more pureblood side of her, and explore the idea that maybe it wasn't just for love, or something 'good' that she ran away. I loved turning round the more typical presentation of her, by making her colder towards Ted, and making her more friendly with her family, more fond of them than normal.

Yeah, I liked making a kind of connection to Sirius running away, since I always liked seeing them as similar things, and having similar ideals behind it. I do love minor characters! :P

Thank you so much for the lovely review! It was so great to get! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #44, by Pookha19 Years: Year 1: The First Day

21st December 2014:
No language errors that I noticed, and I'm fairly strict that way. It's so nice to come back to HPFF and find quality fanfic still lives.

This is one of the best stories I've read in a while and it's so nice to see someone trying to stay canon while telling a missing moments story. Looking forward to reading more of your work.

Author's Response: That's good to hear. And wow, thank you so, so much for all your kind words. I'm thrilled to hear you're enjoying it that much so far, and will keep my fingers crossed that you'll continue to :) Thank you again!

xx


 Report Review

Review #45, by PookhaAshes of Dust: The Constant Vigil

18th February 2011:
This is beautiful. I love your style in this piece. You capture their emotions wonderfully, especially Helen's. They have a very real and complicated family dynamic and it directly gives the reader a view of what made Alastor what he is.

I can see the line from here to Mad-Eye. His monomania and paranoia are very well drawn out by you. I wish I could write in this style; you are beautifully evocative in your ability to be poignant without being cloying or over-the-top.

A very rare 10/10 from me.

Author's Response: This review has left me speechless - it's absolutely fantastic to hear that you think so highly of this story. When writing it, I was uncertain about the simplicity of Helen's memories and emotions - it's very everyday, which I don't usually deal with, so I really stripped away metaphor and description to find something surprisingly moving. It's not my usual style, either, I think I'm trying to say in a feeble way, but I am very pleased to hear that you liked it.

For once, I'd wanted to write a growing up story that didn't include grand tragedy or sweeping drama, but that was fairly normal (for the wizarding world, of course). I'm glad you could see the themes of paranoia and watchfulness slowly emerging in the young Alastor, especially inspired by his mother's warnings. His childhood and adolescence set him on the road to becoming Mad-Eye - the war with Voldemort ends up being the figurative straw that broke the camel's back for him.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing this story. I really appreciate hearing any opinion from you, and that your opinion on this story was so favourable only makes it better. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #46, by PookhaFighting Is Perfection: Fighting is What we Do

26th June 2010:
Well, first of all, I want to say that I have a quite different view of Ron and Hermione. But, that's what I love about fanfic, I can find a piece written from another view and find things to enjoy about it.

What I love about this piece is the dialogue driven story. The dialogue really makes this story shine. Ginny's character was minor in the story, but the way she speaks makes her character come alive.

Ron's and Hermione's characterisations through the dialogue were very good, too. I can totally hear Ron speaking his lines and Hermione's responses to them.

Some people might tell you that there's a lack of description in this story, but I would urge you not to listen to them. It's rare to find a story that leaves the descriptions up to the reader so the reader can picture the scenes. What I mean is, if you add too much description to this story, the wonderful dialogue would take a back-seat.

Author's Response: I am really intrigued about how you view Ron and Hermione. I felt that the dialogue would be most important and in the forefront with Ron and Hermione. I'm not exactly sure why, I just felt it had to be that way.

I am very glad you liked the characterizations. I mostly write Next-Gen because I am deathly afraid of writing a character we all know and love and not being able to do them justice.

Thank you for your kind review!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #47, by PookhaFinally Got It Right: Part Three

7th May 2010:
Xeno is slowly realising that the Muggle girlfriend just isn't right for him and you do a great job showing that slow realization as she rejects him. Capria's a much better fit.

I find it interesting that Capria was a fan of Xeno's before she met him. That makes the relationship a bit more interesting and more likely than just a chance meeting and it's a great bit of imagination from you. It makes Capria a more interesting character and gives her a bit of more real feel.

Again, I love your characterisations of Xeno and Capria and we can see the growing attraction between the two of them. They are learning that they're soul-mates

The scene with the two of them releasing the animal from the trap was brilliant and perfect for the two of them to bond over.

Author's Response: He's becoming more and more aware as the story goes on, yet not losing his dreamy quality. I definitely think this is progress. (:

Glad you liked that detail! I imagine Capria to be quirky enough to read silly little nature magazines. So, I had to add it. It just seemed so... quaint to me. Perfect.

Ah, yes. The animal in its cage. That image was one of the first that came to me, back when the story was just a vague idea in the back of my mind. I loved writing it.

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #48, by PookhaFinally Got It Right: Part Two

1st May 2010:
I really enjoyed this chapter as well. We see so much more of Xeno's personality here. I love the way the he moons a bit over his girlfriend, but then moves on when something else catches his eye. He really seemed ill-matched with her. I could picture his unsaid past conversations when he tried to explain wizards to her.

I also really like the way that people react favorably to Xeno. He's a very likeable, but eccentric character and you show that with his actions and people's reactions very well.

Capria's characterisation is very well-done. She's intriguing, but strange and you can just picture her passing that on to her daughter. The scene with the spider web really got my attention, since I love spider webs covered in rain or dew. They're beautiful and says a lot about Capria that she can see that.

While very minor in this chapter, I enjoyed Astrelius, too. He's very caring about his brother, but still determined to live his own life.

The potion draws my interest, because I always had the idea that Luna was good at potions, but never precisely followed the recipes, which would have driven Snape mad.

One last thing. Often in fanfic, I see the author making the characters too pretty or charming and that's not the case here. We see two realistic characters with flaws, but also with redeeming qualities. They feel human and not carboard cutouts. Bravo for defying stereotypes of fanfic.

Author's Response: Ah! Your reviews are just fantastic!

Yes, they are very unmatched. Yet the strange this is, Xeno doesn't really seem to see it. He's content to just go along with it, without knowing why. Oh, Xeno.

He is likeable, despite his eccentricities. I think it's because he can be so clueless. It's kind of adorable. (: But he's also just a nice guy. Really, he wouldn't hurt a fly.

I added the potion bit because all we really know about Luna's mom is that she liked to experiment with magic. Now, I know it was a spell gone awry that killed her... but I figured, hey, if she's experimenting with spells, she's probably experimenting with other facets of magic as well. Why not potions! So it's her own concoction, an experimental stuttering remedy that may or may not work.

What a compliment! Thank you! I strive to make my characters real, and through doing that, fall in love with them (an author/character relationship is so rewarding - and now I sound like a mad person! haha). I appreciate you saying that they feel human.

Again, thank you!


 Report Review

Review #49, by PookhaFinally Got It Right: Part One

30th April 2010:
I really like this chapter of the story. I think you capture Xenophilius very well. It says a lot about him that he doesn't like to waste time, but doesn't consider the time he spent cloud-watching while waiting for the pain to pass to be wasted. What's important to him isn't necessarily what would be important to another, but he's not crazy, just eccentric.

I really enjoyed Capria's characterisation as well. You can see traces of Luna in both her parents and you can see the sort of woman, who while plain has a great sense of being comfortable with who she is.

When I look at them together, I see a sort of destiny that draws them nearer and I can tell that's what you're going for in the writing.

I must say that I don't think the addition of the Muggle girlfriend did much. Her character is so one-dimensional that I have a hard time seeing what Xeno saw in her. Maybe like most guys, he could still have his head turned by a pretty face.

Overall, I really enjoyed the story, and knowing where it's going to come out in the end doesn't detract from being interested in the story.

The addition of Xeno's brother, Astrelius also helped to round out Xeno's character. He's good to have a brother that understands and supports his writing.

I've already read the next two chapters, and as I re-read them, I'll review them. I was glad to get a story to review on the review exchange that I had already favourited to read.

Author's Response: Pookha! So so sorry it's taken me so long to respond to this. But I hope you know I really appreciate you taking the time to review! So thank you.

Wow, great catch there! Yes, he does consider his daydreaming time well spent. His priorities are a bit different than those of other people, which may or may not be a weakness. We'll see. ;)

Thank you for bringing the Muggle girlfriend up. Yes, I did want her to be somewhat one-dimensional, and for reasons that aren't apparent until later chapters. Although, when the story is done and I re-read and make edits, I may work on her character a bit. You're not the first to point that out, and I wonder if I what I had in mind is coming across.

So glad you enjoy Astrelius and Xeno's interaction. I didn't want Xeno to live entirely alone, even though he is a loner character, so a sibling seemed perfect, especially one who encourages him in his somewhat eccentric pursuits. There just aren't enough people like that in the world.

Again, thank you. I really appreciate all you've said!


 Report Review

Review #50, by PookhaSocks.: No socks?

28th April 2010:
This is super cute and fluffy and worthy of my challenge. I enjoyed reading it very much.

I apologize that it took me a while to get this review in. The real world is definitely not 12-.

I rally like the way the mystery of the missing socks is set up and that Vicky calls Teddy 'Teddy Bear.'

This was a wonderful, cute little story and it fit the challenge very well. Thanks for taking it up.

Author's Response: hahahaha...thanks!

I'm sorry for the delay in responding, and I must agree. The real world is definitely not 12-. Ugh.

Your challenge was so much fun. The whole 12- joke was a blast, and I really couldnt resist getting into the spirit with a story. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I have tons of free time now, so i may get around to updating it soon.

Thanks again for the review!!



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>