Reading Reviews From Member: Pookha
  
244 Reviews Found

Review #1, by PookhaThief: Scones And Jam

15th July 2016:
Gonna leave you a late hotseat review. I realize that I read this when it was posted and inexcusably didn't leave a review.

I like that we get to see a different side of Romilda here. So many authors (myself included in this) have her as a scheming sort. It's good to see her here showing her Gryffindor-ness. I really like the way she takes one for the team here.

Very well done.

Author's Response: Hi Pookha!

Thank you so much! That's very nice of you!

I definitely wanted to explore more than just the ditzy, scheming, love struck girl and show her evolution into a tough Gryffindor woman. :)

Thanks again for stopping by!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #2, by PookhaBlackbird: Blackbird

11th July 2016:
Here for review tag at HPFT.

I know I read this at AO3, and think I left kudos there for it, but I'm not sure, I've read a lot lately. This is one of my favourite Beatles/McCartney songs.

I like the characterizations her of Albus and Brandon and Cora. You get a sense of a real happy family here. They all love each other and there's a familiarity without contempt.

This is a relationship built on love and mutual respect and it shows in the way the characters all relate to each other. It's hard for me to believe that just six years ago, same sex pairings were a warning for a fic, but now they're a category and a type of celebration. We've come a long way, but still have some ways to go. Stories like this should help speed the rest of the way.

Very well done.

 Report Review

Review #3, by PookhaAzrael Rising: Rest In Peace

24th April 2016:
Here for the review exchange from TGS. I'm always glad to read a great, moving, atmospheric piece with little or no dialogue. I think a lot of people automatically assume such a thing is boring, but when it's well written, as it is here, it is a thing of almost poetry.

Your descriptions and the way that you are able to show not only his thoughts, but the atmosphere surrounding his thoughts is clear and precise. This is probably the best story that I've read since returning to the site in force.

I also like the 'girls are lithe, boys are..' line. We don't often see fics with Tom having sexual thoughts and I definitely think that he would have, especially when he was a teenager. This line says it all and doesn't need adding to.

Beautiful and evocative. Well-crafted and technically well-written. Clear and precise. Emotional and fulfiling.

A very nice 10/10 from me and a kudos for one of the best fics I've read on the site.

 Report Review

Review #4, by PookhaThe Unmarried Weasley: The Unmarried Weasley

16th April 2016:
So Charlie/Tonks unrequited or unfinished or in some other way doomed is my second OTP after Harry/Luna, so I usually seek out stories to read and review for it. I saw Unwritten Curse's link on the forums to this and had to come here.

I really like both of their characterizations and think that you nailed both of them perfectly. I also believe in the relationship as you put it on the page. We see the difference here in their relationship compared to Lily/Snape as Charlie and Tonks are able to forgive each other.

I also really love the vignette style that the story is told in with the scenes coming quickly.

Great job

Author's Response: Hello Pookha!

OMG Thank you so much for stopping by. I didn't think Charlie/Tonks was shipped by so many, so I'm really glad when you said this was your OTP. After writing this story, I'm kind of feeling them out as well.

Ohhh, yes the Lily/Snape reference did pop into my head when I was writing this as well, and I wanted to highlight how different from Snape Charlie was, yet how similar they were in how they adored their women.

I'm so glad you liked the format. I was a bit worried that it was too long.

Thank you so much for stopping by :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by PookhaLa Vie En Bleu: Gorgeous Baby Blues

11th April 2016:
Well, while it may be plot light, it's fine. A one-shot can be a snippet of a story, or just a snapshot of a moment, like this one is.

I like the characterization of Charlie quite a bit and I like him being a bit of a playa even though he says he isn't. I also like Luna's characterization. She's a bit less strange here than normal, but I like that (I specialize in writing Luna, so I understand). She presents as someone who would be open to Charlie's advances, but not in the way he thinks.

A very nice Charlie/Luna story.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!

Whilst writing this, I found capturing Luna's character difficult. She is strange and unique but at the same time, she is still a teenage girl. I wanted both sides of her to show.

I LOVED writing Charlie. I liked the idea of him being a player but not in a malicious way, in a sort of "justified" sense because of his job.

Again, many thanks for the review! It's greatly appreciated.

~dysfunctional


 Report Review

Review #6, by PookhaMary Su and the Totally Profound Plot: Love and Time Travel

8th April 2016:
"NOTHING WRONG WITH A GOOD CRACK-FIC" He said calmly (pretty sure that's a reference to the movie where DD is anything but calm). It's always good to descend into well-written silliness once in a while and a parodic interpretation of the traditional tropes is always fun.

I especially like George and Georgina's doomed love because their names were too similar. and the voldemortyrannasaurus rex. You caught the extremes of Mary Su well and she is Perfect.

Author's Response: "THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR YOUR REVIEW!" the author said calmly. Yeah, that was definitely a reference to that scene in the movie. :P And there is something very liberating about writing a bad story. You know, it gets all the absurdness and silly ideas out of my brain so I can go back to writing real fic without feeling the impulse to put dinosaurs in the story.

I'm glad you appreciated that truly tragic love story and the most fearsome dinosaur of all. And that you loved Mary Su! Of course, I knew you would love her - everyone does, because she is just that lovable. :P (haha, ok, jokes aside, I'm glad this story gave you a laugh! Thanks so much for reading.)


 Report Review

Review #7, by PookhaConnect the Dots: hermione

4th April 2016:
So, I quite like this, too. Viktor is more than just the simple cardboard cut-out that he is so often portrayed as. He's human and real. His backstory of the girl with the travel bug gives him a trueness that is often missing.

Hermione here is perfect. She's broken, but needing at the same time. She feels what she's lost with Ron, sees Viktor and knows that he's not the answer either, although he could be a friend. But, I don't think that Hermione's one who could be a friend with benefits and you obviously don't either as she pushes him away.

I get the feeling that while Hermione is broken now, she's strong enough that she will push herself together soon. Especially with the help of her friends.

 Report Review

Review #8, by PookhaOur July: Our July

4th April 2016:
So this is terribly sad and terribly true all at the same time. So many couples just drift apart, little things get in the way, or big things like the miscarriage change the relationship in subtle ways that no one can define or even see until later.

You have an evocative way with words that flows easily and firmly at the same time. Scenes are easy to picture and they are filled with just enough detail to paint the picture of what's going on.

Emotional cheating is cheating, too. And it doesn't seem to be something that Ron understands. You don't have to be physical to be cheating on your spouse. Harry gets it and while he says 'not yet' to Hermione, I think he knows the truth.

Your characterizations are perfection. This is the human side of Hermione that often gets lost in people making her super-smart. Ron is great as the husband who holds the subtle grudge that he's never good enough and he possibly blames her for the miscarriage even though intellectually, he knows it's not her fault.

On a side note, as a cat lover and owner, you also get Crookshanks right. He's a half-kneazle and he's sensing her moods and trying to comfort her at the same time he's taking comfort from her. Very catly. Sorry, I can't take the opportunity to pass up commenting on a cat in a story, even a serious one.

You do a great job showing the small crack turn into a yawning chasm.

a rare 10/10 from me

 Report Review

Review #9, by PookhaInevitable: Inevitable

2nd April 2016:
So, I'm going to come out first (ha-ha) and say that I usually avoid Scorose or Scoral like the plague as they are usually just Dramione in another form. Every so often, I'll read one like yours that is so well-written that I can actually suspend my disbelief and enjoy the story. Yours is one of the very well-written ones that can break through my prejudices against those ships.

What I liked about your story was that it felt organic and true. I mean that I can picture the characters both doing and saying what they're doing and that comes from good characaterization, especially on the parts of Al and Scorpius.

The little line about why it bothered Al so much in his fifth year makes so much sense and it seems like something he would think at the moment. There's nothing wrong with a relationship that always seemed like friends breaking down into just friends.

I think Rose must have noticed at some point how Al and Scorp looked at each other and realized that they would have a much better shot with each other.

Brilliantly characterized and very well scened up.

BTW, I've never heard or seen the term 'Wotters' before, but it's a good word, from the context used.

Author's Response: Hey!

Wow, thank you so much for such an amazing compliment! I'm grinning like an idiot reading it, I'm so flattered that you think so highly of this!

I'm so relieved that you like the characterization in this, especially since they're characters from a separate fic.

I'm not going to lie, this whole fic came out of my dilemma of including Scorose or Scorbus in DMF and my brilliant solution was to just have both :P I'm glad that it worked for you though!

I can't remember where I saw Wotter first, but it's just always stuck with me for some reason.

Thank you again for the amazing review!!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #10, by PookhaThe Secret's Out: Flee!

29th March 2016:
I really enjoyed this. It's really fitting current events. It seemed like a piece that would be in the Quibbler about the time that the Death Eaters took Luna and made Xenophilius stop writing supportive pieces for Harry.

It's a real NSA feel for the story. You did a great job with just a few words telling the story.

I also like 'Eden Snowdenard.'

 Report Review

Review #11, by PookhaOut of the Magical World: The Night of Sorrow

27th March 2016:
I very much enjoyed this story. Cho often gets short shrift, being type-cast as just a crying whiner, much as Luna gets type-cast as just an oddball. They're both Ravenclaw for a reason and you do a good job showing that here. It's clear from your story why Cho's not a Gryffindor and why she didn't fight with Harry at the Dept of Mysteries or stand up against Marietta.

I really like the way that Harry let her down in the hospital. He hadn't realized fully up until then that she still had a thing for him. I really think he would look back on how he handled Cho with regret. They were both young and searching and neither knew how to handle hardship in a relationship yet.

I like Cho's retreat into the Muggle world. It's something that Lavender's doing in one of my stories and I completely get the motivation. I also like that she's at Uni, as it also fits her Ravenclaw side.

A very interesting character study of an underappreciated character. I understand the impetus of the dream sequence at the end, too.

Great job.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much for reading this. I didn't know you wrote about Lavender's retreating into the Muggle world. I'd like to check your Lavender story. I also have interest in writing about her. I tried to write about her and Seamus in the past, but I forgot it.

When I knew Kevin's story challenge, Cho popped in my mind. As you pointed it out, she is a crying whiner, which Harry hated in his younger days. I picutred the story concept, Cho as a coffee shop assistant with a wounded heart, while I was walking in the campus on a fine autumn day.

Yes, she is a smart, Ravenclaw girl, so I think to study at uni will give her power to stand up again. She could have bravery to cut the connection to the magical world in the end.

Thank you for encouragement. I'd like to make time to read your other stories!

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #12, by PookhaI Carry Your Heart With Me: I Carry Your Heart With Me

25th March 2016:
Welcome back, it's always too see another classic writer from the site come back. The site's changed a bit since you were last here, but we're all still welcoming. :)

I really enjoyed reading some Harmony; it made me somewhat nostalgic for the old days when the ship hadn't sailed and it was a true OTP For so many.

You handled it in a good way, showing Harry's PTSD and how he's dealing with the depression from that. With Hermione you show how someone changes through the years and comes to love through friendship. She knows what she's doing.

I always thought that Harmony had to be built from friendship or trauma (death of Ron and/or Ginny) and you showed a great building of it through friendship.

Loved it, and welcome back.

 Report Review

Review #13, by PookhaKeep Calm and Carry On: A Guide to Keeping Calm and Apparating

16th February 2016:
here for a BvB review.

I can see more and more of Lorcan's personality coming through. He's no longer just clumsy, but also, caring, kind of a procrastinator (but not lazy exactly), and uncomfortable with expressing his feelings. I can't wait to see him with his Mum, who is my fave character.

I liked the quick party meeting with the intimidating Wood there to keep order. In the old days, he would have been a Sergeant-at-Arms to keep the peace during the meetings and to be the strong arm of the party.

I love the Malleus reference and would have caught it without the note, but it's a good addition for most people.

The quote at the end with Erick wishing that they were all Slytherins seems really appropriate for politics.

Really enjoyed this.

Author's Response: Heya, thanks for continuing with the story!

That's exactly where I'm trying to take Lorcan! To be perfectly honest, he is very much based on my own experiences...I'm very all over the place and clumsy and somewhat awkward, but at the end of the day I swear I have more to offer than that! I'm so scared of writing Luna...she's also one of my faves, and I want to do her justice!

Wood is definitely something from another time. In the show this is inspired by, the character that's his equivalent is truly terrifying, so I wanted to transfer a bit of that.

Glad you enjoy that reference! It's totally Katie's brainchild but I am happy to take credit. :P

Yeah, I've spent a lot of time thinking about Houses and how they would play into politics...I'll try to work that more into the story in the future!

So glad you're still enjoying this! Hope you continue to like it if you read on! :)

--J


 Report Review

Review #14, by PookhaI Dreamed A Dream: I dreamed a dream

9th February 2016:
A BvB review. You definitely did the song justice. And Les Mis is a terrific framework for this. In a lot of ways, Snape is like Javert (but so unlike in others).

I think you do a good job putting us into Snape's angsty bewailings. And I mean that in the best way. Snape has had his dream destroyed, first by himself in how he treated Lily, and then all hope of redemption with her destroyed by Voldemort.

You do a great job showing his pain here and letting us explore his more human side that isn't shown in the books much until the very end.

His choices trapped him at an early age and he's paying the price for it now.

A really good job of characterizations particularly, and a good re-telling canon scenes from his perspective.

Author's Response: Aww...thank you. I've never done a canon scene before as I'm nervous about getting all the characterisations and things right, so I'm really happy that you liked it. Especially with Snape who is one of my favourite characters. He has so many layers to him and so many experiences have shaped him into who he became. I found this piece hard to write, but maybe it's because it looked so grand in my head and then didn;t seem quite so grand on paper. But reading back on it now, it is better than I first thought. Thanks for your review

Jacqui


 Report Review

Review #15, by PookhaKeep Calm and Carry On: A Guide to St. Mungo's and Carrying On

9th February 2016:
BvB review.

Don't sweat the AUness of the Scamander children being different ages and twins since it won't really impact your story much. As long as you keep putting great characterizations on them, then it it's fine really. It's much more important to have a strong story and good characterizations and you have that.

I see the tension now between Lily and Lorcan that seems more than just work tension. There may be a history or future there that we just haven't seen yet.

I like Lorcan's clumsiness and it reminds me of Tonks quite a bit. She was clumsy, but undeniably good at her job.

I like what Lorcan had written for his job descriptions so far. It sounds like so many times when I open up Word to write and out comes, not garbage, but nothing useful.

Branson seems like someone who would be good to have in the Ministry. It would be nice to see a bit more about her and I think that you have that planned for when they work up her platform and policies.

A really good read, and now I'm going to favourite it as well.

Author's Response: Heya, sorry you got ninja'd but I love hearing your thoughts on the chapter!

Thank you so much! I felt like a bit of an idiot when I actually looked up what Pottermore info was out about the Scamander kids...two chapters into the story. But I'm not so much a stickler for Pottermore stuff so I'm rolling with it. (We'll see what I'm feeling with the Cursed Child though...it'll all be ruined!!)

Very perceptive! I also really love how you've worded "There may be a history or future there"-- something about that phrase is really lovely.

Lorcan is a lot like Tonks! I'd never thought about it but that's definitely true. (Incidentally I also love Tonks...)

Haha "not garbage, but nothing useful" sums up so much about life! I really relate.

Branson's policies are definitely expanded in the future chapters!

Thanks again for your review and your favorite! I'm so glad you're enjoying this story. :)

--J


 Report Review

Review #16, by PookhaKeep Calm and Carry On: A Guide to Keeping Calm and Coffee Stains

8th February 2016:
Here for a BvB review.

I was hesitant to read this story at first because I saw Lorcan/Lily in the header for the story and wasn't in the mood to read a Lily/Lorcan ship-centric story. I'm glad I opened it, since it wasn't at all what I expected.

You have a positive gift for writing snappy dialogue. Yes, there's a lot of cursing, but people really do talk like that (I have a hard time convincing my wife of that, as I was raised in the inner city in the Rust Belt and she was raised in a small town). Your dialogue flows naturally and when spoken aloud it doesn't sound strange or stilted.

Your action is well managed and it makes the reader present in the scene. I can picture Branson's office and her staff clearly.

I also really like Lorcan's characterization. He's so different from his parents and how people expect him to be (I also picture him this way). He's good at his job, but kinda lazy, but not in an intellectual way. He means to do good, but doesn't strain himself to push too hard. He may or may not change as chapters proceed, I'll just have to see.

Lily's kind of a blank in this chapter, but I see there's Lily centric chaps coming up, so this makes sense.

A great read and makes me want to read more.

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for this wonderful review! I really appreciate it.

I've been thinking about working on the story summary because it's throwing a lot at you, and I think I've changed the direction a bit since starting. I'm glad you liked it though, despite your expectations! :)

Thank you so much! Writing dialogue is my favorite and least favorite thing. I swear a lot myself, so that just kinda puts itself in the writing, to be honest. The television show that inspired this fic is also full of very...original insults/cursing, so that was part of it. I'm glad it works!

I'm trying really hard to balance "showing not telling" with my general hatred of actually describing things, so I'm glad you think it's working! :)

Lorcan is my favorite. I love writing him, even though I mostly just abuse him, and I relate to him immensely. He's definitely fighting a losing battle against becoming super odd like his parents, but sometimes it shines through. I hope you like him as the story continues!

Yep, Lily develops more over time. :)

Thanks again for the great review!

--J


 Report Review

Review #17, by PookhaBraver than Most: Braver than Most

30th January 2016:
This is a great read. The PTSD and other problems that the survivors would have faced so often gets over-looked and just kind of 'black-boxed'. It's good to see someone step forward and just put it out there for the world to see.

You do a great job with Lucy showing her fears and making us feel for her. I also really enjoyed the soft way that Harry approached her and opened his heart to her. He's a good man and we get to see that here.

There is a weird bit of dialogue that I notice. At the end of the second section Molly (Nana) says, "And George, dear, Congratulations..." I think you may have meant "Congratulations, Percy..."

 Report Review

Review #18, by PookhaBroken Memories: The Velvet Box

25th January 2016:
I've always been drawn to George/Angelina since I learned it was canon. I've always imagined their tough relationship with everything they went through together with Fred's death.

I really think you nailed the characterizations on the head here with how tough Angelina is and how broken George is at first, but that he wants to bury himself in his work and make people laugh again.

The flashback scenes are well-written and add to the background of the story and it makes it clear that this was no fling from Fred, but the real thing.

Technically well written with great flashbacks and great characterization.

I also like that you avoid using cliches in describing Angelina. It's too easy to fall into descriptions that are unnecessary in describing a woman of color (I've done it myself, so first-hand here).

A great first chapter that makes me want to read more.

BvB review.

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks so much for the review! I'm so happy you liked this! I've been meaning to write another chapter for ages, but it hasn't happened yet...

I too have always been quite curious about George and Angelina. How did they come to be??

I wanted to make it very clear from the beginning that what Fred and Angelina had was absolutely the real thing. They were going to get married and everything.

I never really thought about the cliches when I was writing Angelina. I'm not quite sure what they would be, but I'm glad you thought my depiction of her was good! Proper POC representation is important!!

Thanks again for the review!

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #19, by PookhaDragon Fire: A living fire to light the darkness.

14th January 2016:
This is the type of story I appreciate. A series of vignettes that illustrate a scene or character perfectly. You capture the friendship between Charlie and Tonks perfectly. This fits my headcanon with them so well.

I love the way you portray their friendship, and you do a great job keeping it ambiguous so the reader can make up his or her own mind about the extent of their relationship.

I must admit that Charlie/Tonks unrequited, or in the past is my second OTP after Harry/Luna and I find this story to be right up my alley.

Your descriptions are great and add to the feel of the story. The end scene with her seeming a bit of stranger to him, even though he's always able to tell her when she changes is great.

Beautiful and sad at the same time.

A BvB review.

Author's Response: Hi there!

Well, good thing you appreciate this style, because it's kinda my fave. I don't have nearly enough muse to deal with full-blown plots, especially for one-shots, and ideas just sort of occur to me in this way. I cba with all the filler stuff.

Charlie Weasley is pretty ambiguous! There is nada about him apart from his love of dragons, and that he was in the same year as Tonks. Therefore I made to the jump to them being friends.

Thank you so much! Your comments mean a lot.


 Report Review

Review #20, by PookhaOnce More: Once More

12th January 2016:
This was very well written and beautiful in its simplicity. You may or may not know that Abraxas Malfoy died from from dragon pox, so this seems even more poignant to me.

I like the descriptions of the canon characters. I've always thought the main actors were a bit too pretty and not real looking enough to play Harry/Ron/Hermione. Your descriptions make them more like real people and less like models or actors.

The heart wants what it wants and this is a great example of it. Scorpius's reluctance to admit his sexuality even to himself rings true, as does his epiphany of what he was really like.

A story where the relationship is unrequited or not possible due to some reason is one that always speaks to me, so I like the Rose/Scorpius bits as well as the Albus/Scorpius relationship.

Nicely tied up and beautifully written.
'As was his want' should be 'As was his wont' it's a weird word but wont means customary doing.

a BvB review.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, I'm glad that the BvB brought you my way.

Once you mentioned it, I remembered that fact.
braxas would have died long before Scorpius was born, so he would not have seen Abraxas' death first-hand, but it does make this all a bit more personal for him doesn't it. I'd like to say that I had written this story with that fact in mind, but I cannot say that I did. It is just one of those happy accidents that happen to an author that we have to thank the writing gods for.

I thought that the Rose in this story was a bit hard, emotionally, so I made her match it physically too.

That's well put, the whole story is about finding out that the heart wants what it wants. It's what Scorpius finds, that what his brain has been telling him that he wants might not be what his heart desires. He does still like Rose, but one too many times of her nastiness has extinguished any love for her.

This story was originally written for two challenges: one was for an angsty tale, the other was for a Scorbus one. As I was looking around at other challenges, I came across one that would sink my ship. I realised that for the ship of Scorbus to rise, the Scorose one had to sink. So a few additional paragrahs saw to it and made the whole work better for it.

Thanks for the CC, I have to go and correct it sometime.

Thanks again for the lovely review, I'm glad you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #21, by PookhaHefty Headlines: An Expose of Bullying at Hogwarts: Big Girls Don't Cry

12th January 2016:
This is an important subject to tackle. Too often fanfic is about perfect bodies, perfect personalities and the heroes are Mary Sue or close to it and the villains are mustachioed caricatures. I've got a first year in one of my stories who is plus size, but it's a sub-plot to the story rather than a main emphasis, so I applaud you for tackling this head-on.

I like the way that Constance and Jayde are both portrayed. Constance is obviously bright and well-adjusted except for being bullied and the self-confidence issues that go with it. Jayde, while being a muckracker is also sympathetic to Constance for some reason (which I believe will be revealed later).

I have a hard time believing Luna and Rolf would put up with a bullying Lorcan, but that's headcanon and up to the author. You do a good job showing the bullying without going too far. And Lysander being so different was a nice touch.

Going to favorite this and wait for more.

Author's Response: Thank you for your nice review!

Yeah, I'm a huge fan of not writing about skinny people, simply because that's not my experience. I'm not a skinny girl, so it doesn't feel right writing about one in my own work. Also, it's just so fun to write diverse characters--whether they be diverse in body type or some other aspect. Thank you!

Yeah, Constance has major self-confidence issues that will come out later, and while Jayde is semi-sympathetic, she's also on the lookout for a big story. So she's kind of self-serving but also awesome? Idk, I love Jayde and her conniving journalistic ways. :)

Yeah...I characterize the Scamander twins pretty wildly, and they're always polar opposites. In one of my other stories, Lysander acts like a Freudian psychologist and Lorcan is a Gobstones nerd. But for the purpose of this story, I wanted the dichotomy to be really clear between them. Lysander kind of complies with his parents' weirdness, while Lorcan rebels against it in all the wrong ways. And that isn't necessarily my headcanon for them either, don't worry! But that's what I needed for my story. :)

Thanks again!
Mallory


 Report Review

Review #22, by PookhaPrincess: Princess

12th January 2016:
This is a really good character study of Astoria told in a few words. It shows who she really is. While she is spoilt, she is also a person with a conscience and does what she believes in when it can make a difference.

It answers a question my wife and I have always had. Surely, some of the Slytherins would have stayed and fought, even though canon contradicts it. I can't picture the whole house being the same, and this shows a Slytherin with that spark of righteousness.

Draco is presented very sympathetically here, even though his appearance is brief. He's certainly a match for Astoria here and I believe that these two could heal each other over time.

PTSD and related issues have to a problem for more than just DA members and that's something to remember.

Very nice to read.

Author's Response: Hello!
I'm glad you enjoyed this, and thought it was a good exploration of Astoria's character.
I don't think everyone in Slytherin would have supported Voldemort's cause. After all, they're place in that house because of the qualities they have/value, not because they want to be Death Eaters. I think Astoria is very ambitious and resourceful, which is why she's a Slytherin, but she doesn't believe in blood purity or anything like that.
I agree that Draco and Astoria would make a very good match. They were both very damaged by the war, and can understand one another, so they help each other heal as time goes on.
Thank you for the great review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by PookhaFive Exclamation Marks: Five Exclamation Marks

12th January 2016:
So, this being a Pratchett challenge makes it even more thoughtful. I also have been reading Pratchett for years. With his Alzheimer's it draws a parallel between the way his mind/abilities started to slip toward the end of his life and the way that Hermione managed to hide her illness until too late. It's poignant and moving.

Ron in this story is perfectly in character. Too often, he's just used to show humor, or as abusive (which I can't see, EVER). You show him as a loving, caring husband who's willing to go through great personal hardship to care for his sick wife. He has way more than the emotional range of a teaspoon.

I really enjoy the way that Hermione is using her skills, even though slowly unraveling to help with what she believes is important. She's still brilliant even though she's sick.

A wonderful read.

Author's Response: Wow, another lovely review, thank you so much.

When the Pratchett challenge came up I thought I should go in it, then when I got the prompt I knew I had to. It was a quote that I not only remember, but I remember it each time that I have ever had occasion to even think about using an exclamation mark ever since I first read it.

So even though he wrote stuff that was so funny, I just couldn't do it for the challenge. For some reason this story just popped into my head. I realised the same thing too, that I was eerily paralleling his slow decline in his later years. Thank you for the praise.

I really like Ron as a character. He was used for a lot of humour in the books, but he always to me had a lot of depth that his light hearted surface veneer hid. In so many of the Next Gen things I see, they have him being a violent guy. I can see that he might have an issue with his only daughter dating the son of his old school enemy, but even then ...

Take for instance his admonishions to Rose on the station in the epilogue. I really took those to be said in a light-hearted manner. He has a character arc in the books every bit as great as Harry's, even though it is largely played out in the background. I truly believe that, post-Hogwarts, this is him living his dream. Not the Hermione thing where she is slowly using her faculties, but him being a dad and a good husband. For Harry and Hermione were the dreams of professional careers, but for him I believe his wanted reward always lay in family.

Hermione, just because her faculties are degrading, doesn't necessarily mean that her magical abilities are as well. Also there are many forms of madness, some leave some capabilities relatively intact.

Thank you for reading and reviewing, and I'm really glad you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #24, by PookhaEvent 3: At Night's End: The sun sings lullabies.

7th January 2016:
This may have been written quickly, but it is beautiful. The descriptions of the colors give it a real, evocative feeling of what you are describing.

Ollivander had a hard time in the dungeon, and Luna's presence made all the difference. I like the added touch that she reminds him of his daughter.

It's good to see someone showing him making a wand, and describing it instead of just 'black-boxing' it.

Great that Sunflowers come up when he tests the wand. Luna's like a sunflower herself, always positive and unshakable in what she believes, loyal as a Hufflepuff, brave as a Gryffindor, intelligent as a Ravenclaw.

BvB review.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for stopping by! You are too kind!

Ollivander as a character is also very fascinating, and I found the relationship he had with Luna while they were at Malfoy Manor really interesting. If I was going to be tortured and kept in a dungeon for more than a year, I would love Luna to be my only company!

I find wand lore so interesting as well - literally being able to harness magic and put it into a wand, which then everyone uses to perform magic. THE BASICS of magic, essentially! Difficult to think about, obv.

And you're spot on with your description of Luna!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by PookhaHarry Potter and the Final Year: Chapter 4: Lightsthefire

6th January 2016:
Whew! that was a very long chapter, but very well done. I must admit that I don't have a strong head-canon of goblin lifestyle, so it was interesting to read a take on it.

I really like Stampofiron and her no-nonsense method and I actually like the cursing from her. She feels like a real person, as do all the other goblins in your story.

Harry is portrayed absolutely accurately, with astonishment, curiosity and an intelligence that often gets under-rated by many writers. He's not stupid, and is in fact fairly gifted (not Hermione gifted, but gifted). He sees more in people than any of his friends (Except Luna who notices everything, even if she mis-understands it).

This was a great chapter, and I particularly enjoyed that Goblin Made is the anti-Horcrux. I'm writing a story about a necromancer boy going to Hogwarts, and he's able to put small bits of peoples souls back into the zombies he can raise, so I understand about using bits of souls in different ways.

A great read so far, and so far I've been remembering to read more!

Author's Response: Hey there, what a great review, and totally unexpected too. I knew you were enjoying my story as of the first chapter, but I'm glad that you stuck around to read more.

It was a very long chapter, but there was no good place to split it up. I can remember talking to my beta at the time about this very issue. There was no logical place to split it so a long chapter it stayed.

I didn't really have any really strong head-cannon of goblin lifestyle either, not before I started reading this story. I came from it from this angle because of hints from the books. The banking staff seemed to be predominantly male, that was one thing. Secondly the wizarding world always seemed to be a bit behind the muggle one. I jumped off from these two elements and extrapolated them out. Living underground and caught between two great cultures might force the goblins along certain lines. What you have been reading is an exploration of all of that.

I really like Stampofiron too. She was a happy accident that the writing gods bestowed upon me. I wanted a tough boss of the kitchens, no nonsense and practical with it: after all of that she just wrote herself.

In my stories, I have tried to keep the swearing at a minimum. I have not excised it completely because I don't have to write for small children as JKR had to. But what I have tried to do is to only use it where appropriate or where it fits to do so. If she is a hard, no-nonsense sort of goblin, who has had to fight her way to the top and to make her way in a probably patriarchal society, then she very well might swear as a matter of course.

Thank you for that. I really wanted the goblins to be people. One of the things I particularly hate in sci-fi and fantasy is when an author makes a whole race stupid. We are diverse as a species, even within one society/country/city there are a wide variety of temperaments and abilities. I don't want to do less for any non-human characters I write.

Thank you as well. I really have been trying to make my Harry live up to what I understood his abilities and potential to be. As to his giftedness, it is funny that you should mention that. I have a particular head-cannon that is going to be coming up in a later chapter about that very subject. Stay tuned.

(ps. I know what you mean about Luna)

It is sort of, to my mind at least, much like an 'anti-horcrux'. One of the things that always keeps coming back to me is that statement of Arthur Weasley's when he admonished his children to never trust anything that could think and you couldn't see where it kept it's brains. That and a bit of logic was what got me on the path of what 'goblin-made' items must really be. I don't think it's too far from the books either. To my mind if there are things that JKR has established in her books - like the ability to transfer portions of your soul into items, or the transdimensional nature of extension charms - then it is free for us who are expanding her world to take them and run with them.

Take for instance your idea about the necromancer. That is quite an interesting idea that could very well fit in with what JKR has already established - horcruxes, inferi and the like. I wish you well with it.

I am very glad you have been reading on. Thanks for the very positive and lovely review.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>