Reading Reviews From Member: bester_jester
  
191 Reviews Found

Review #26, by bester_jesterSix Degrees of Separation: The Company We Keep

30th April 2013:
I really like that I'm still guessing about who she'll end up with. Remus.. Sirius.. Octavius.. (So many 'us's!) or no one at all?!

Author's Response: Sirius for now, but I think there might be a little something brewing with Remus, as well. We'll have to wait and see what happens!

 Report Review

Review #27, by bester_jesterSix Degrees of Separation: They Don't Call it Firewhiskey for Nothing

30th April 2013:
She passed out?!

Also, how is Octavius suddenly good friends with the Marauders? The impression that I got in the first few chapters was that Jane and him were kind of on their own. Not criticizing, just curious!

Author's Response: He did make friends with them rather quickly, didn't he? Maybe he's a bit star struck, them being the most popular guys in school... or maybe he wasn't satisfied with just nerdy Dagbert Pips as a friend and bookworm Jane... he's got to express himself!

 Report Review

Review #28, by bester_jesterSix Degrees of Separation: The Gryffindor Four

30th April 2013:
Ahh I love the friendship between Jane and Octavius.

Brilliant prank by the way. Fits in nicely with Snape needing a bath!

Still brilliant so far.

Author's Response: Thank you! :D I have such trouble thinking of pranks, not being a prankster myself... this one was one of my better ideas!

 Report Review

Review #29, by bester_jesterSix Degrees of Separation: Plain Jane

30th April 2013:
Hi there!

I really loved this first chapter. You're a great writer, and I love the voice you've given Jane. Maybe I'm biased - one of my closest friends is called Jane, and she's anything but plain!

I love that all of your grammar and spelling is perfect. There isn't anything more frustrating than poor spelling etc

Off to read more!

Author's Response: Jane is a great name! I'm so glad you liked it--it is a very short chapter to start things off.
And thank you for noticing my grammar and spelling! It is frustrating to read stuff with mistakes all over... I try to keep everything as accurate as possible!


 Report Review

Review #30, by bester_jesterHeroes: The Same

29th April 2013:
Just beautiful. I love the voice you've given to Angelina, and i love the way you discuss the pain of losing Fred amid swims and drinks. So well written.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It is definitely different for me to do, but it was a story I felt had to be told. So thank you for reading :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by bester_jesterNot So Simple: By The Light Of A Magical Moon

24th April 2013:
So good so far. Shame you haven't got more reviews.

I'd like to hear more from Erin about her kidnapping. Something so serious would surely impact her more.

All of your characterization is great! Sirius and Remus are really likeable. Haven't heard anything about Peter?

Looking forward to the next update!

Author's Response: I know, I wish more people would take the time :(

Erin's kidnapping will come out more much later in the story. I think she's trying to block it out of her mind so she can try to have a normal life at the moment, and isn't able to tackle it properly yet.

Thank you! I'm glad you like them. As for Peter, I find it hard to write about him because obviously he turns out to be evil XD he will be dropping in now and then. I think mainly he's going to be a plot device more than anything though. I would've cut him out completely like so many people do actually, except it never feels right to ignore the fourth Marauder when he's so important canonically. Hmm, I don't know, but I agree I'm not doing him justice :(

Thank you though, more soon :) x


 Report Review

Review #32, by bester_jesterNot So Simple: How Soon Is Now?

24th April 2013:
Hey! I really liked this (especially The Smiths reference!).

I think Erin is a great character so far. The only thing niggling at me is Alice and her announcement - shouldn't she have waited for Frank to come back first?

Anyway, great first chapter. Off to read more!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you for reviewing, enjoying this, and for recognising The Smiths!

I think Alice is more the mouthpiece of their relationship, and she wanted to tell her friends first.


 Report Review

Review #33, by bester_jesterTrying not to love you: Chapter twenty-one - Too Early to Tell

24th April 2013:
Wow another update! Good on you :) I'm constantly impressed by the way you keep all of your plot and characterisation perfect after months of no updates. When I stop writing for a bit, it always takes me a few updates to get back into the swing of things.

At last, I think it's finally happening.. James is trying to show his feelings to Gwen?? Please be true haha it would be amazing.

Thanks so much for updating so soon! You're a fantastic writer and I can't wait to read more

 Report Review

Review #34, by bester_jesterThe Joker and Her: Birthdays

24th April 2013:
Wow you're such a brilliant author! Reading this story was the best decision I've made all week.

Your characterisation of the twins is just spot on. The things they do in your interpretation is exactly the way I'd imagine JK Rowling herself to do. But in saying that, you add your own little twists that I just love (ie George and Brienne! Love them so much).

I love Angelina and her friendship with Brienne and the boys. Because we never really got to see into Angelina and her character, as well as the twins beyond a few pranks etc in the books, the foursome (five with Lee) are a completely credible story line.

Anyway. Wow. Love this so much. Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Hi!

Wow, that's so kind of you! Thank you very much! I love writing Angelina, she's just the right balance with the twins xD Who wouldn't want to be their friend?

And the thing about the characterisation...it made my day.

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #35, by bester_jesterAnd Love Prevails: Mortal Wound

20th April 2013:
Love her for both of us.. Quick, better break off Ignotus' engagement! (I wish)

I find it interesting that Iggy still hasn't told Dom that he's promised to someone else. That's going to cause a bit of a disagreement, methinks.

How awful that Callum died. You wrote that really well, though. Poor Dom, she's going to be so confused now.

 Report Review

Review #36, by bester_jesterAnd Love Prevails: Ambushed

15th April 2013:
So many amazing updates lately!

It was really good to hear from Dominique's family, I was wondering if anyone from her time would come back into the story. She's clearly more missed than she anticipated.

The ambush was unexpected, in a good way. I kind of hope Dom uses advanced magic to save everyone/Callum, to let them know she's not one of them and that women aren't helpless.

Oh and excuse me, Callum?! Engaged?! Didnt leave a review last chapter about it, so here you go! Their engagement was a brilliant twist, but I don't know if I'm happy about it. She's meant to be with Ignotus! If Dom isn't worried about being married, she clearly isn't planning on going back to her time any time soon..

So wow, great updates. Thanks so much! Can't wait to read more. Do you have many more chapters planned?

Author's Response: Thank you SO MUCH for the review!! I'm glad you found it as a nice twist! I was hoping it would be taken that way. There had been a LOT of romance so we needed some action! :)

And I know how you feel! About Dominique and Ignotus. So trust me. :) The story is a huge Dominique/Ignotus ship. Patience. All good things in time. ;)

As for the chapters planned out, I do actually have QUITE A BIT planned out! I think, with the way this story's headed, I think I'm looking at roughly 40 chapters. :O I still surprise myself with that number. :D

Thanks for the review! Hope to see you back for the next chapter!


 Report Review

Review #37, by bester_jesterMissing: Me

11th April 2013:
Wow this is amazing! I have to say though, when I first started reading, Charlie as a character didnt do much for me. I'm glad I persevered though, because both your writing and your characterization has improved so much.

I like how the two story lines run parallel to each other, in terms of the time of year etc.

For some reason, I don't think she's dead.. Is she dead?!?

Author's Response: Thanks so much - it's great to hear you think I've improved, I've been writing a lot lately!

Thanks again!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #38, by bester_jesterBalanced Insanity : A is for Anxious

11th April 2013:
Wow such a fantastic first chapter! I love the way you've written Charlotte's oddities as if they're the most normal thing, not stopping to explain straight away.

Al's last sentence at the end was super effective. Ahh I love this already!

Author's Response: Hey :)

Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving a review! I'm happy to hear that you've enjoyed the first chapter and I really hope you continue to enjoy the rest of the story. I think "oddities" is a great way to describe what Charlotte has going on. Yes, the last sentence was really dramatic wasn't it? You'll see more from his perspective in the future chapters if you keep reading.

I'd love to hear what you think about the other chapters and thanks again!

-Avis12


 Report Review

Review #39, by bester_jesterTime to Go: Time to Go

4th April 2013:
I just love this so much! It's so real, and actually really funny.

Thanks so much for sharing :)

Author's Response: I love Ron and Hermione, and I think that relationship was one of the most realistic and well developed of the series. I enjoy imagining them as a married couple with children and work and lives that get in the way. Thank you so much for the review!~GW

 Report Review

Review #40, by bester_jesterAnd Love Prevails: A Proposal.

21st March 2013:
Hey!

Thanks so much for updating. This chapter is fantastic, as usual.

I love how you've developed and introduced Callum into the story. I like him as a person and I like him for Dom, if it weren't for the existence of Ignotus! I'm so nervous to see what happens when Dom finds out about his proposal. Is the housekeeper truly ignorant of Dom and Ignotus' relationship?

I'd really love to hear more about Dom's family back at home. Where do they think she's gone? How are they going to find her?

And what about Lady Brigid? I hope she comes back into it. I wonder what Ignotus will tell Dom about her.. so really, in a way they're both guilty of encouraging other suitors. They need to talk!

Haha okay thanks for reading my essay. Thanks for updating!! :)

Author's Response: Ack! I know! I understand how you feel, and hopefully I can give you answers soon! I have the entire next chapter all written out, and hopefully that one will provide some answers for you!

As always, thanks for being such a faithful reviewer. It really means a lot to me! Thanks, and hope to see you back with chapter 14! :)


 Report Review

Review #41, by bester_jesterDethroned: Prologue

20th March 2013:
I really like this introduction! You have a really nice tone to your writing and use great imagery.

I was drawn in straight away by the banner, but it's a bit disappointing that you don't have a story description - unless you're simply relying on your beautiful banner of course.

But yes, great start. Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for commenting, as a new author I really do appreciate it!

Funny story about the banner actually, I was just toying around in photoshop and came up with that. It actually inspired me to write this story, when it's usually the other way around! And thank you so much for reminding me to add a summary, I wouldn't have remembered otherwise! But yes, thank you for my first review, and for being so lovely about it.


 Report Review

Review #42, by bester_jesterKeep Calm and Carry On: Clink

26th February 2013:
Yay another brilliant chapter! I just love your regular updating, it means I don't need to wait forever to get my fix (at the risk of sounding like a drug addict).

I'm not so sure that I like Jae. He gives off a strange vibe to me. And Dean's behaviour at the start of the chapter was really cute. I feel bad for him.

Thanks for a mega chapter! I can't wait to read the rest of the interview :)

Author's Response: Hello there!

Yes! I've really tried to update this story regularly because I used to be so bad about it. It's getting a bit more difficult these days, as I don't have all of my pre-written chapters from NaNo anymore. So currently I'm finishing a chapter and sometimes uploading it immediately afterwards--but that makes me really nervous! Of course I will try to keep up with the updates, though!

ANYWAY, rambling over now. I don't really like Jae either. Haha, could you tell? I do feel bad for poor Dean, though! :c

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #43, by bester_jesterAnd Love Prevails: Creature of the Afterlife

26th February 2013:
Great chapter! I really liked Death's return. Their interaction was perfectly written.

Ignotus' anger was so easy to understand - I often read stories where the actions of the characters make no sense at all, but you always set up scenes really well.

Thanks for the chapter! Can't wait to read more :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked that interaction.

And I'm glad you can understand Ignotus' stand on that situation. I was worried how that scene would be interpreted, he being a guy who isn't full of much anger, but it was just a scene that I felt like he would do in such a situation.

But thanks for your review! As always, they made my day!


 Report Review

Review #44, by bester_jesterRules on Loving a "Muggle": Prologue *EDITED*

26th February 2013:
Hi there!

This is a really good introduction to what I think will be a great story! Alexis seems like a nice girl, and you've really established her character.

Just a heads up - it helps readability if you proof read your work. There are a few spelling and grammar errors (ie 'I was will to do anything', 'trunk in toe' instead of tow)

Other than that, a good start!

Author's Response: Thanks and yes I really do need to work on that :) I will be editing over all my chapters soon to smooth out any bumps:) xx

 Report Review

Review #45, by bester_jesterSilver with a Blue Sapphire: Introduction: The Proposal

24th February 2013:
This makes me go, naw :) you've captured Ron so perfectly! His awkward nervousness and blunt way of saying things. And Hermiones reaction when he wouldn't tell her what's wrong was perfect.

Hehe put more up already!

Author's Response: I'm answering this review because I hate that it keeps coming up with "1 unanswered review" all the time (even though I'm a year late). but thank you :D

 Report Review

Review #46, by bester_jesterTaking the Biscuit: Bad Break-Ups

18th February 2013:
Yay so happy to have found your Just Rose sequel! Glad you're back :)

I'm really enjoying it so far. Good for Molly for her engagement. I like Matthew and Rose together, but can't help but feel something is missing? But that might be because I like lots of fluff and romance rubbish.

Can't wait to read more :)

Author's Response: Perhaps something is missing? ;) You'll have to wait and see. In general though it should be noted that this story is very much not about romance - it's more about the characters and their growth and their relationships with each other. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #47, by bester_jesterAnd Love Prevails: Lady Brigid of Pellinor

26th January 2013:
Why oh why did she have to be so lovely?

Author's Response: I know, I know. :) All the reasons will come in good time! Thanks so much for another review, and thanks for always being such a faithful reader and reviewer.

 Report Review

Review #48, by bester_jesterKeep Calm and Carry On: Mother/Matchmaker

19th January 2013:
Oh my dear god, don't ever stop writing. You're hilarious.

I absolutely love Edie. She kind of reminds me of Bridget Jones, with the cigarettes and drinking and being single. What I like even more is that she actually has drive too, wanting to be a journalist.

I'm shipping for her and Dean, I hope you don't mind me saying. Awkward moment when you have no intentions of them as a couple haha

Wood is great, but I can't help but feel his character hasn't been as defined as everyone else's. Then again, he has only been in a few chapters so far.

Honestly, one of the best stories on this site. Thanks so much for sharing it!

Author's Response: Hey there! Ahh!! I can't believe all of these new readers, it's so amazing :'D

Don't worry, I find myself shipping Dean and Edie sometimes in my head, too! I know what you mean about Wood's character. It's been a challenge trying to define him for the reader, because I wanted to have them believe him to be a certain way (when he was posing as Krum) and then experience a noticeable change in his character. It's more difficult than I thought! Jane Austen did it with Mr. Darcy, but then again she was Jane Austen. haha.

I am so flattered and humbled by your words. Thank you so much for taking the time to read, and even to review. :'3


 Report Review

Review #49, by bester_jesterMy Definition: And The Holes In My Apologies

14th January 2013:
The 'making it up as you go along' thing is definitely working. I love this story so much! Dom is an agnsty cow when she wants to be, but what dying person wouldn't be? Also, Finn seems like a real cutie - desperate to know his reaction to Dom's unintended confession. Thanks so much for sharing!

Author's Response: aw aren't you just lovely! i do have a vague idea of where it's going, but then finn seemed to butt in and go 'i wanna know!' and well, how could i say no? :P yes, dom is a mopey thing isn't she? so glad you like finn, i reckon he's pretty cool. thank you so much for the lovely review :)

 Report Review

Review #50, by bester_jesterIn My Head: Sunshine

14th January 2013:
Oooh I love this story. Lily is such a well rounded character. Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: I'm glad you do! Thanks :) and thank you for reading.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>