Reading Reviews From Member: Vanished Petunia
  
44 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Vanished PetuniaForgive Me: One

11th October 2008:
First off, I do have Missy Higgins cds - both of them - and I love her music. "Forgive Me" has been one of my favorite songs of hers since I started listening to her, and it helps capture this time in Remus' life so well. You're a remarkable writer, you really are, and much as I love Molly and Arthur, it's lovely to read something you've written about one of my very favorite characters. Remus' behavior (particularly, his fight with Harry and overall cynical/hostile attitude in DH) was unsettling to anybody who grew to love his character in the 3rd book, but this piece sheds a little light on that and to be honest, just makes me feel better about the whole thing. :)

Author's Response: Yay! Isn't Missy fabulous? I love her voice, and her lyrics are so powerful. I thought Remus was completely losing his mind in DH - who would leave their pregnant wife in the middle of a war?? I never would have thought it. Thank you so much for the review, I'm really glad to hear that it gelled for you :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by Vanished PetuniaDelicate: We Don't Do Things The Normal Way

8th October 2008:
Oh, that's so sad that Grandpa Hubert died...but now Ron and Hermione are back together! Yay! I love this story so much...

 Report Review

Review #28, by Vanished PetuniaChai: The Preface

25th May 2008:
Tee hee...this is good. I think this could even be the start of something special. At any rate, I like it very much and I think you've done a nice job of developing Parvati's voice even just within this first chapter. Keep it going!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! Something special? That's so exciting! And flattering! *feels ego swell up* Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #29, by Vanished PetuniaWe Gryffies: Let The Sound Take You Away

4th May 2008:
YAY! I like this story lots and lots. I really love your characterization of Jamesie :) The effeminate touch makes him downright hilarious. I can't wait for the next chapter and for the Battle of the Bands and whether Fancy New J.D. or J. Dizzle will win out and what Christmas at the Burrow will be like. I am so hooked. Keep it comin'!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! Oh yes, we have many exciting plot events ahead of us ^_^. And it's interesting the way you put it, but I just realized that according to James's interpretation, J.D. has multiple personality disorder. Eh, but Dobby will help him out with that.

 Report Review

Review #30, by Vanished PetuniaYou Deserve Much Better than Me: Severus's Love

3rd May 2008:
This was nice, but sad :(
Good job!

Author's Response: Thanks. That is exactly what I was going for. I'm all about the angst and I wanted an angsty Severus story with Lily.

 Report Review

Review #31, by Vanished PetuniaAnd It All Came Pouring Out: And It All Came Pouring Out

13th April 2008:
Well. I think this is a really interesting piece of writing. You're obviously quite a good writer, and there's a lot of soul in your writing. My favorite quote from this: 'Life is just a funeral for the dreams that won't come true. We did our own graves with realities we refuse to accept.' It'd be cool if you expanded this into something longer. Very, very excellent!

 Report Review

Review #32, by Vanished PetuniaDark Days Pass But Are Never Forgotten: But Never Forgotten

1st March 2008:
This was a beautiful piece of literature. I just loved it, loved it, loved it, loved it. But I can't BELIEVE you killed him...! Still great, though.

 Report Review

Review #33, by Vanished PetuniaI Know: I Know

1st March 2008:
I thought this was really quite good, albeit rather depressing. You might want to go back through it and edit it because there are some grammatical errors that make it harder to read and fixing them will make a difference.

I like Lily's attitude in this story. I hate to think that she and James weren't at all realistic about their impending deaths, even though it seems that way in the books.

9/10

Author's Response: Thanks:] I'll look at the grammar, I really try to read them through carefully, but sometimes it slips, thank you so much for the tip:)
I've always thought Lily to be a smart and clever girl and when you watch people get murdered every day, you really can't keep on believing you're destined to survive, so yeah just like you I believe they weren't as positive as it sounds like they were.
My story's depressing. Yeah it is. The times were dark and killings were happening everywhere at that time and they fought for a reason but really they had no idea who were their ally and who were a fiend.
But I tend to write darkish, I dunno, it justr works for me:]


 Report Review

Review #34, by Vanished PetuniaThe Summer Before Seventh (as told by Lily Evans): Something Random, Guaranteed.

27th February 2008:
Fantastic. I love your take on Lily -- how she's spunky and funny and still compassionate. I must confess...I'm addicted to this story! Keep it coming... :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Glad you liked :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by Vanished PetuniaBeneath The Trees: Beneath The Trees

25th January 2008:
Thank you. This story is absolutely fantastic. I love everything about it. You create such a strong parallel between the future Gryffindor trio and Harry, Ron, and Hermione that really displays just what the latter went through. If Jo has a single fault, it's that she doesn't do a great job of making it real -- and you do. Reminiscing like they do in this story is something I'm sure that these characters would do. Reading this made me sad, in a way, because you do such a fine job of capturing their character that it made me remember how sad the end of Half-Blood Prince really was without knowing that Deathly Hallows would eventually have a happy ending. You are officially one of my favorite authors on this site now. I love 'A Red and Black Sky' too! Can't wait for the last two chapters. Anyway, I give this 10/10. I'd give it much more if I could. :)

Author's Response: What a review. I've left this sitting for a while, because I really don't know how to response. Whilst the JKR referance is bogus, in my opinion, I am touched that you would say that. You seem to have caught everything I wanted to convey with this fic...the reason behind the flash forward...the need to remember...the sadness that came with the end or such a huge era of my life. The end of HBP was horrible, but what I found more painful was that feeling of wanting an end. I wanted that Herry Potter world to come to an end...I wanted the series to live out it's final days of writing. I suppose they have become timeless, but even so there is something horrible about the fact I will never read a HP book for the first time again and to think I craved that feeling is awful. Don't you agree? Thank you so much for such a thoughtful review and such wonderful compliments. 'A Red and Black Sky' is finally finished and I'm glad to know I wasn't posting for nobody. I hope you drop a a review for the final chapter, I really, really would love to know what you think of the piece, my baby, as a whole. :) Once again, thank you so very, very much! andy x x x

 Report Review

Review #36, by Vanished PetuniaMy Shiny Teeth And Me: My Shiny teeth and Me

22nd December 2007:
This so made me laugh, I must admit. That song actually makes me laugh all by itself, but coupled with Draco Malfoy -- you just made my day.

Author's Response: Aw, that review made my day! I'm so glad!

 Report Review

Review #37, by Vanished PetuniaWhat's Expected of Me: Chapter One

14th October 2007:
I really like your writing and your stories, but I can't help but get the feeling that you just plain don't like Ginny. Out of curiosity, is there any particular reason for that?

Author's Response: Yes, I do really dislike Rowling's Ginny. Ever since OotP, she's irked me. I feel that she's a Ginny-sue, and I'm bothered by the fact that her character wasn't developed. She just suddenly...was. I find her character snobby, selfish, and arrogant. That's my opinion, though, and I understand that not everyone feels that way.

If you're looking for a fic where Ginny isn't portrayed so negatively, check out The List. It's not Rowling's Ginny, so she's technically OOC, but this is how I always envisioned Ginny would eventually end up (instead of, in my opinion, miss perfect).

Thanks very much for reviewing! :-)


 Report Review

Review #38, by Vanished PetuniaSuperman Complex: Superman Complex

14th October 2007:
I really liked this. I think it serves as a great reminder for all of those people out there who consider Hermione as just the brains of the trio. You know, a lot of people forget that to be a Gryffindor you have to be very brave, and I believe that Hermione really would do anything to save Harry, so I love the last line. Hermione does have a hero complex, just not in the way you'd think. Great story!

Author's Response: Thank you! I absolutely agree. Hermione is much more than the "smart one." And yes, Hermione would most definitely do anything to save Harry, as she has proved numerous times.

Thanks for reviewing! :-)


 Report Review

Review #39, by Vanished PetuniaDew Drops: Chapter 2: It Begins

3rd October 2007:
cute story! keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thanx! I'm glad u took time to review!
~Ginny~


 Report Review

Review #40, by Vanished PetuniaLetter To Hermione: Hermione Haunted

20th September 2007:
Please please please update soon! I want to know what happens so badly, and that's the best compliment I can give!

 Report Review

Review #41, by Vanished PetuniaHopscotch: Hopscotch

12th September 2007:
This is such a good story! It's so sad. Oh, the games that people play...

Author's Response: I know, right? Poor Remus. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #42, by Vanished PetuniaThe Long Black Veil: The Long Black Veil

3rd September 2007:
Wow, this is a really great story! I love the way Sirius eases Lily of her guilt...it's so sweet.

Author's Response: It was very sweet of him, yes. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks a lot!

 Report Review

Review #43, by Vanished PetuniaI'll Stand By You: I'll Stand By You

19th August 2007:
I agree with you 100%. I hadn't heard this song in a really long time until I heard Carrie Underwood sing it on 'American Idol' back in June -- and the first thing I thought of as I listened to the words was Harry Potter. This song could be the official Harry Potter theme song: it truly is what it's all about. Great story!

 Report Review

Review #44, by Vanished PetuniaMum's the Word: Mum's the Word

15th August 2007:
What a cute story with a hilarious ending! Nice.

Author's Response: Thank you.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>