Reading Reviews From Member: Vanished Petunia
  
44 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Vanished PetuniaIt's Going To Take Time: A heart can be broken; but it keeps beating just the same.

26th August 2009:
"It was like an elastic band. No matter how far away they tried to shove one another, the other would just keep on springing back."

My favorite line. You're a very skilled writer, good job!

Author's Response: Haha I wasn't too sure about that line myself, but if you're sure, I'm sure. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Vanished PetuniaArmistice: Dead and Gone

16th May 2009:
Wow. Mary's just a terrible person, isn't she?

That is all.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Vanished PetuniaTo Define a Sister: One

9th May 2009:
This was really sad and really well-written.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much. I really appreciate the feedback.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Vanished Petunia"Yep, that's a Weasley all right!": The arrival of Rose Weasley

17th April 2009:
This made me smile :)

Hurray! I like smiling!

Very cute and snuggly and all that jazz. Kudos for writing a good R/Hr.

Author's Response: I like smiling too! :D And laughing.

Lol I'm happy it made you smile!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Vanished Petunia La Tourmente: Tempest

25th March 2009:
I'll be honest. I hate Draco Malfoy, but I truly enjoyed this very, very much. I thought you brought a lot of humanity to his character and made him someone I could be very sympathetic towards - not that I didn't have sympathy for him in the books, too; this just brought that sympathy up to a higher level. Love the title, too.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review. :)

The reason why I think you could sympathise with Draco was because I didn't romanticise him; my portrayal of him was ruthlessly honest. He is not a very nice person, which is evident in his attitude towards Myrtle. But he is terrified; like JKR said, after having talked the talk for so many years, when he is finally asked to walk it, he realises that it's not a walk in the park. His first brush with reality, one could say.

Thanks again for the review. :) Much appreciated.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Vanished PetuniaHermione`s Alphabet: Hermione`s Alphabet

25th March 2009:
I liked it! It was funny, and everything about Ron was pretty much true.

Your English was pretty much fine; there were just a few mistakes. Where you have the word 'relay', you actually mean the world 'rely'. Also where you have 'scarred' you mean 'scared'.

So good job! :)

Author's Response: I knew I made some stupid mistakes... Just couldn`t find them ^^
Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Vanished PetuniaNobody Died.: Nobody Died.

25th March 2009:
So, I liked this. I liked its contemplative and somewhat scolding tone. I liked the way Harry's numbness seeped into every word you wrote. I liked the way it's phrased.

I loved the recurring theme of fire and the imagery of the licking flames of hell. There was also a lot of wisdom in this story, especially in lines like..."When one person is cursed, two graves are dug." It is slightly AU/ironic, though, so it was a bit confusing at first. Overall, though, good job.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for such a great review! I'm glad that you liked it. Yeah, I can see how it can be confusing at first since I didn't tell you who I was talking about till half-way. And it is pretty ironic.
~hpf14


 Report Review

Review #8, by Vanished PetuniaIt's Complicated : It's Complicated

21st March 2009:
I think this was really excellent, not only in how it was written but in its incredible potential. This ship could go places! Go to wonderful, dramatic, exciting, fantastical places! And this might be the only story I've seen on this site that explores Teddy/Lily II. I love it! I hate it when people use so many exclamation points, and yet I am doing it myself! Feel flattered!

Have a nice day!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Vanished PetuniaSick: Sick

4th March 2009:
Okay, I just have to get this off my chest: you are so incredibly good at writing. I think I've read everything you've written (God, I love one-shots, don't you?) and everything you write sparkles with this sense of realism and humor, too.

Then with this fic, you are serious and it's almost as good as your humor. If you practice writing this kind of thing more, I am sure that eventually you'll get as good at it as the lighter stuff. I'm glad you addressed the media aspect of the next generation's lives, because a lot of people just love to gloss over it in their fanfiction or make it seem like the characters don't really mind that much and their lives are great or just angsty for other reasons...yeah, right. The poparazzi single-handedly drove Britney Spears insane. I'm also glad you wrote something that was more personal to you. The more personal it is, the harder it is to write and the more meaningful it is.

One more thing - I'm pretty sure I read in one of the notes at the beginning of one of your stories that you're only 14? That is totally ridic, girl. You keep writing and never stop because you've got SKILLS and people who have skills like you have the potential to become a great author someday.

Keep it up! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much! One-shots are fantastic little fellows, I feel. So useful. I'm glad you liked this one, as I do enjoy doing it, and it is VERY different from my usual stuff, as you did note. I also feel like the media has a huge impact on people and agree with you about Britney Spears; she was my girl back in the pre-drug days. :)

I'm fifteen now, but I will still accept that lovely compliment. You flame my ego and make me want to skip in happy circle, but I won't right now.

I appreciate your wonderful review! :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Vanished PetuniaWhere Do You Think We Are?: Where Do You Think We Are?

1st March 2009:
Where this fic ended up is NOT where I thought it was going. Absolutely brilliant and wrenching, really.

10/10

 Report Review

Review #11, by Vanished PetuniaOur place: A visit too late

1st March 2009:
This was really sad and touching. It's impossible not to pity Andromeda, whose life was torn apart in the war. I thought it was really quite good; my only complaint is the last line (particularly the "Then with a final, heart-wrenching sob" part) is over-the-top melodramatic.

But generally excellent! 10/10

Author's Response: Yea, I must admit I always felt sorry for Andromeda in the books, she had such a hard, depressing life. Thanks for the review, and I appreciate the criticism!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Vanished PetuniaThey Did It Better: They Did It Better

13th February 2009:
Oh, my absolute goodness. I am a huge H/G and R/Hr shipper, but sweetie, this was magical. You had everyone (well...me, at least) rooting for Harry and Hermione by the end, and it was all so desperately sad.

The style is what really made it shine, though - I wish I knew all the English terms and everything so I could speak about this intelligently. Anyway, spanning the years with snippets of conversations was absolutely brilliant. I don't know that I've ever read anything that employed the same elements.

It's a tragedy, the plot of this story, and it really made me think about all the things we lose when we grow up. Because we do lose a lot, don't we? And we almost always lose something we love, cherish, adore. The scariest part of this is that when Harry and Hermione slowly made the biggest mistake of their lives, they didn't know it could be a mistake. Deep down, maybe they felt something was not right, but feelings like that are so often pushed aside because they're harder to think about.

As always, this was beautifully written. You said you adored writing it - well, for heaven's sake, I can't imagine not being able to adore writing something as crazy good as this.

10/10

Author's Response: !

This is THE MOST AMAZING REVIEW I'VE EVER HAD!
THANK YOU!

I mean, you've got it, the biggest topic in this one was about growing up and yes, we always lose something, whether we want it or not. We change. Harry and Hermione changed. One of my favourite parts in this oneis when Harry asks what happened to them and Hermione answers, 'We grew up.' It's really as simple as that.

But THANK YOU. You've put the biggest smile on my face!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Vanished PetuniaWithout a Prayer: Secrets

7th February 2009:
You know, the plot itself is fine; however, much of the conversation between Dean and Ginny is halted and unnatural. Normal people don't talk that way. In fact...all of it sounds haughty and forced. Dean - how he talks and his characterizations in this piece - seems like a prissy fool. This story is written like an essay, with no contractions to be found. The language altogether is antiquated and just odd. I'm really sorry! I almost never write bad reviews, but I had to this time.

Author's Response: oh, that is fine! i love receiving all suggestions and ideas. getting a review that contains advice is influential and exciting and it will honestly help me as a writer. do not feel bad about it! i am glad that you reviewed in this manner. i do have to agree with you, seeing as the dialogue seemed a bit forced and unnatural, but i did that purposefully in a way. Dean and Ginny are both unnatural characters and i find that writing tension and awkwardness between them was the way that i had to go with this. thank you once again for the wonderful review. i mean it. i love getting feedback that will help me in the future.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Vanished PetuniaStill Delicate: O Come Let Us Abhor Him

3rd February 2009:
I wonder whether you even read the reviews, seeing as you get so many...but I'm going to go ahead anyway.

Okay, listen: Rose's story is a great one. In 'Delicate' you've put together a fanfic that will likely be at or near the top of the Best of HPFF lists for a long, long time. But in this fic, Rose is just too depressed for the storyline to work the way it's meant to. The humor is much more subtle and has a darker tone, and to be frank, especially in this chapter, it's difficult to read. With Rose this sad, the plot loses its readability. You wrote that you've been having writer's block and I understand that probably has time to do with it.

Anyway, cheer Rose up and get the story going!!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Vanished PetuniaCold Shadows: Cold Shadows

28th January 2009:
Spooky! Scary! Sinister! Absolutely chilling. In short: totally brilliant.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Vanished PetuniaA Day With Daddy: A Day With Daddy

23rd January 2009:
Aw! Lilybud is just too cute. This one-shot was sweet and adorable with just the right amount of funny to balance it out. Excellent!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'd fully give my sisters permission to have kids if I could guarentee that their kids would be like Lily. :) :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Vanished PetuniaTo the Guilty, From the Innocent: The Magic of Three

17th January 2009:
BRING JAMIE BACK!!! Wow, what a suspenseful and captivating chapter. Can't wait to see how this story wraps up!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Vanished PetuniaTwas the Night Before Christmas...: Not a Creature was Stirring... If Only.

28th December 2008:
This story was so full of charm and wit it's hard not to absolutely adore it. So, I do adore it! I loved Fluff the fairy. That was an annoyingly cute touch.

Author's Response: :D Thank you!

Haha I like Fluff too! Even though she is a bit rude. . . lol


 Report Review

Review #19, by Vanished PetuniaProtection: Unleashed

23rd December 2008:
Well, another extremely well-crafted chapter, but you just had to go and leave us on a cliffhanger, didn't you?

Author's Response: I did...I really did. :D Although, deep down I feel bad about that, lol. Sort of. :-P

The good news is that I'm about to post the next chapter, so you don't have to wait nearly as long as normal to find out what happens.

Thanks for the review and I hope you enjoy! :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Vanished PetuniaAngels on the Moon: Angels on the Moon

9th November 2008:
I think it was pretty darn good. You did an excellent job of capturing Remus' character, and that's more than enough to ask for. So good job!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I was uber nervous about posting this, cause like I said, it was my first one, so I'm glad you thought it was good. Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Vanished PetuniaDeath of a Hero: The Death of a Hero

29th October 2008:
Intense. Sad. Beautiful. Haunting. A wonderful, wonderful picture into the mind of a dying man.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Vanished PetuniaMy Angel: Remember Me

25th October 2008:
May I say, this was SAD? But very well written, and a very nice reminder that life does go on. The one thing I must point out is that the quote you have at the beginning about love? While it was quoted in A Walk To Remember (fabulous movie), it's actually a quote from the Bible -- 1 Corinthians 13: 4-8 to be more exact.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for such a lovely review. I didn't know that it was quoted in the bible, but I would rather leave it as is because readers will remember A Walk To Remember, and I'm hoping to envoke some emotions. =)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Vanished PetuniaEverybody's Fool: Everybody's Fool

22nd October 2008:
What's amazing about this is that Ron, in the 7th book, really does have some serious issues with those feelings of being second best and there they finally come to light - but here, you address them before then. Now, I don't think Ron would ever ever every betray the trio, but this is still a great piece. Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much ^_^

 Report Review

Review #24, by Vanished PetuniaDelicate: No More Mister Niceton

17th October 2008:
Ooooh, gotta love the big Quidditch fight. Poor Al and Lily! The Potter kids are having a rough go of it, aren't they? Also, for Scorpius to borrow money from his dad is not the smartest thing he's ever done. :( But excellent chapter! Not to badger you (I'm just curious) but how many more chapters will there be?

 Report Review

Review #25, by Vanished PetuniaDelicate: The Hitch In The Plan

13th October 2008:
Well, I do love Al and Jenny! But you know you're right, not everything can be perfect...I still hope Slytherin beats Ravenclaw anyway. I love this story so much. Every time I see that there's a new update I go "Yay!" You're such a good writer. Keep it up!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>