Reading Reviews From Member: Meg_
  
182 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Meg_Moon Fire: Midnight Run

6th July 2010:
I like the story thus far. You've got a great talent for description. Lord knows, I would not have been able to come up with all that writing about horses. Haha.

Anyway I like the way you have characterized Snape. I saw from your home page that you're very sensitive about that particular character. I have seen this story up before and the main reason I have been avoiding reading it was because when it comes to certain characters I fear that writers will not characterize them the way that I think they should be. That being said, I'm glad I actually decided to sit down and start reading this.

Anyway I give it an 8/10. And I'm off to read the next chap.
~Meg

Author's Response: Thanks for giving this a shot.

I wrote that because I took a lot of flack from some reviewers on another site when I characterized SS as being a misunderstood character who was not evil, but who had made bad mistakes and then tries to atone for them.


 Report Review

Review #27, by Meg_Identity Crisis: Chapter One

6th July 2010:
Great first chapter. This looks like a real fun story. I'm wondering where you're gonna go with it. You've got tons of options. I'm scared to be excited about this type of stuff because it's only the first chapter and I feel like I shouldn't commit yet. Haha... sorry but I'm a skeptical kinda gal.

Anyway update soon. I'm interested to see what happens.
~Meg

Author's Response: I'm glad that you are so interested in it! I have a basic outline of where to go, it's just the point of getting there. haha. I'm a bit skeptical too, so it's alright. I'll update as soon as I am able!

 Report Review

Review #28, by Meg_Come Clean: Come Clean

5th July 2010:
Wow... I did not expect it to go like this. It's a really cute premise. I have to be honest, I would have written it differently. But I do like what you've done. You made me laugh out loud at some things like the whole "I can't kill someone, I'll go to Azkaban, they're not allowed to bathe there." That line was perfect. There was no need for the explanation after that.

But anyway I really liked and I thought it was very cute. 8/10
~Meg

Author's Response: I'm not used to writing cute, fluffy stories so this was definitely new territory for me. I don't even like Harry/Hermione fics, but I just wanted to get this out. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #29, by Meg_Define Shagging: Define Shagging

5th July 2010:
This made me laugh. I liked it. Very short and creative.
~Meg

 Report Review

Review #30, by Meg_Unconscious Confessions: Quality Time

1st July 2010:
Ok so for some reason I thought this story was complete? What is going on? I feel like I'm missing out. Great chap. Post soon please.
~Meg

 Report Review

Review #31, by Meg_Unconscious Confessions: Dinner Dilemmas

1st July 2010:
Corner of the mouth? That sure is some scary territory. I'm trying to put off a sarcastic tone so as not to reveal how excited I am for the next chap. It's all in this last! 9.
~Meg

 Report Review

Review #32, by Meg_Unconscious Confessions: Relationship Uncertainty

1st July 2010:
Wow Harry's all wise and stuff. Haha. I'm curious as to how this is going to happen. I feel like Ginny is going to be pissed in these next few chaps. Anyway good chapter. The whole bubble bath situation was awkward and funny... I feel like he would've ran out of there a lot sooner though. Anyway. 9.
~Meg

p.s. Whether you get a full 10/10 is going to be based solely on what happens with Ginny... sad but true. Here's hoping you treat her well.

 Report Review

Review #33, by Meg_Unconscious Confessions: Confusing Thoughts

1st July 2010:
Every thing's so awkward... I like it. The moment where she knows that Ron's got a thing for Luna is great. I've always been a fan of the Ron and Luna situation that never happened. Anyway this was great. Definitely still loving it. 9/10. Off to read more.
~Meg

 Report Review

Review #34, by Meg_Unconscious Confessions: Harry Potter ~ Legilimens

1st July 2010:
Cute so far. I actually am really enjoying the Ron and Hermione fighting situation as Harry sits on the sidelines. You've got a great comedic air that flows well throughout your writing. This premise is new to me and I'm really enjoying it. Anyway off to another chap. 9/10.
~Meg

 Report Review

Review #35, by Meg_Hardboiled: Hardboiled

1st July 2010:
Ah that was great! I felt like I could hear the private eye detective voice in my head... It makes me happy that they would role play haha.

Anyway great work. 10/10
~Meg

 Report Review

Review #36, by Meg_Broken Strings: Broken Strings

1st July 2010:
First off. I absolutely love that freaking song. I always get it stuck in my head and it is entirely the reason for me reading this lil one shot you got here.

Secondly, I am normally not good about reading pieces from the "future". I don't know how I feel about reading things about Rose or Scorpius or any of the kids. It kind of scares me.

With that said, I am so happy that I read this. It was fantastic. And the whole reason it was for me was because of your syntax and diction. I loved your descriptions. More so than anything, I absolutely loved your paragraph set up... is that nerdy? As many writers as there are on this site I never actually have seen a writer use the overall look of a piece to their advantage. It was like song lyrics that weren't really song lyrics in between actual paragraphs of explanation.

I think you have made me a Rose/Scorpius believer. Anyway I give you a 10/10. Best thing I've read in a while.
~Meg

Author's Response: Hah, you know I usually make one-shots out of songs I can't get out of my head? I reason: If I can't get rid of it, I might as well put it to good use and make a story out of it!

I understand the whole 'future' thing - I thought that too at first.

Hahah, liking my paragraph set up is not nerdy! It's... retro fabulous ;] I'm glad you liked my style, I'm always worried about my writing style being too different. I know alot of people aren't used to it.

OMG. YOU MADE ME THE HAPPIESTER PERSON ALIVE. Did I convert you? *_*

I am so happily in a daze right now. I LOVE YOU! & read more R/S stories! =]


 Report Review

Review #37, by Meg_A Taste Of Heaven: A Taste Of Heaven

30th June 2010:
Tragic... I like it.
~Meg

Author's Response: Thanks! ^^

 Report Review

Review #38, by Meg_In Time: Putting a plan into Motion

30th June 2010:
This is all going far too much according to plan. Plus don't you have to apparate with a wand? I thought you had to have a wand. I feel like this story isn't fool proof.
~Meg

Author's Response: Really? I didn't know that.

 Report Review

Review #39, by Meg_In Time: Shouting Matches

30th June 2010:
Ok so I can totally tell you are a biased person. You love Draco Malfoy and hate Ginny and love HHr. A couple of things: I absolutely hate it when people bash Ron or Ginny. I am a HHr shipper too but I hate the bashing. Saying that Ginny had to give him a love potion really irks me. It also irks me that you just say that he needs to stay away from the two younger ones. Second, I hate it that the grim reaper comes right out and says the Granger girl is your soulmate. Can we not have a build? Or any intensity in the plot?

I do think it's interesting that he recommends befriending Malfoy. Interesting and yet terrible at the same time because I cannot imagine Harry without Ron and Hermione, but coming from a strategy standpoint it would have benefited Harry to become friends with Malfoy and play nice.

This seems funny and it might be good so I'm gonna read on. BUT you have already done two things that I absolutely despise writers doing in their first chapters.
~Meg

Author's Response: I'll be honest with you, this fic was started three years ago back during a time when I hated Ginny intensely, these days I've pretty much outgrown that, so there won't be any character bashing the way it seems like there will be in the first few chapters. In fact, I'm probably going to go back and rewrite the early chapters to get rid of some of that.

The soulmate thing I had to put in because this story is an answer to a challenge and Harry and Hermione being soulmates was a requirement. I can tell you now that it won't be as perfect a relationship as it sounds as I plan to incorporate some of my mother's ideas about soulmates into later chapters, and they aren't exactly fairy tale worthy.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #40, by Meg_For Whom the Bell Tolls: Prologue

30th June 2010:
Is there supposed to be more here? It seems like a great premise. I don't like the whole you were engaged to him thing. It would be more interesting if they weren't then he came and found otherwise. Anyway this says short story but it's like a one shot. Ever planning on continuing?
~Meg

Author's Response: There will be more! :)

I decided to focus on finishing my other story (In Retrospect) before continuing this one so it's been on hiatus, but I've just completed IR so I'm now ready to begin work on this one!

Thank you so much.


 Report Review

Review #41, by Meg_10+ Reasons Ginny Weasley Should Never be a Maid of Honour: The Proposal

24th June 2010:
I love the premise, again. But you keep doing this to me, small subtle mis-characterizations... which I don't think is a word. Anyway first, Hermione is not dense enough to be unaware that her boyfriend wants to propose. Hermione would know he wanted to propose before he even thought about proposing. That's her over analyzing nature. She knows, she always knows. And she always has a plan.

She would be just as awkward as you made her out to be though. That's normally what happens with over analyzing something. You psyche yourself up and then are awkward as all hell.

I could believe it if she went to Ginny saying that she thought Andrew would propose. Other thing, Ron and Harry are pretty thick, but I don't think you can be friends with someone for 16/17 years-ish and not have realized that you may be in love with that person. Hermione may just want to deny it with the whole Andrew situation, but Harry would have figured it out by then. Hermione probably would've figured it out by then too though. She knew back in fourth year that she liked Ron and that he liked her. She just didn't do anything about it.

I don't know. I like the idea. I like Ginny's funny all knowing character. I like it that you make Ginny out to be a puppet master and her friends her puppets. I just think you over exaggerate the actions and thoughts of everyone else.

But then this is a comedy and that's kind of the point of comedy... I don't know. I feel like I'm just blabbering. Anyway 8/10.
~Meg

Author's Response: I agree that the characters tend to be on the OOC side. It's something that, if I were still writing Harry Potter fanfic, I'd try my best to remedy. I think it's more problematic with my comedic pieces than with my serious ones. I've always struggled with finding the balance of staying true to a character while placing them in comedic situations.

That said, I must disagree with you on two points: 1) Hermione being dense about her boyfriend's plans. That's one part of the fic by which I actually still stand. Hermione might be intuitive when it comes to OTHER people's relationships, but she has shown time and again in canon that she struggles with understanding romance when it concerns her. Hermione might always try to have a plan, but that doesn't mean she can't be caught off guard. ;) And now point 2) Hermione being aware of her feelings for Ron and his feelings for her in fourth year. I think the films definitely make this clear, but in the book it's really not. Hermione is genuinely confused by Ron's jealousy and the actions he takes at the Yule Ball. It isn't until the end of the night that, in a fit of rage, she spits out that he shouldn't have saved her as a last resort if he was going to act like this. It is my belief (and I think this all comes down to your interpretation of the books) that it isn't until the summer of sixth year/sixth year that Hermione begins to truly recognize her feelings for Ron and his feelings for her. But, again, it all comes down to your interpretation.

Thanks for your well thought out concrit! I really appreciate it. If I return to the Harry Potter fandom hopefully my next fic will be able to benefit from your advice. =)


 Report Review

Review #42, by Meg_View from the Sidelines: View from the Sidelines

24th June 2010:
I liked it. I like the premise too. I have always thought that Lily would love for Harry to be with Hermione... Then again, Hermione is more like Lily than Ginny is aside from the whole looking alike deal. They both were stubborn and bookish. Very intelligent woman those two. Although people always make Ginny out to be some ridiculous idiot of a girl... I actually hate that stereotype. In order for the HHr pairing to work, everyone tries to characterize Ginny as a worthless, selfish young girl. I don't really think she's as foolish as James and Sirius were. I don't think she would've told Harry to hex people for fun. But I do agree with you that James would like Ginny more and Lily would like Hermione more. Just because I can see a little bit of each in the other. Anyway 8/10.
~Meg

Author's Response: Thank you! There's quite a lot of debate about how similar Hermione is to Lily. While I think they have similar core values, I feel that Ginny is almost a carbon copy (red head, feisty, etc.). Somehow I can't imagine Lily sticking to the rules like Hermione did. ;-D But Hermione cares deeply for Harry -- the Harry that isn't just the face of the Wizarding world -- and that's why I think she would've preferred her to Ginny (who often seems to not know Harry at all).

I agree -- Ginny isn't worthless or selfish. Unfortunately her character wasn't written well, which makes it difficult to ascertain WHO exactly she is, but she's definitely neither of those things. But I believe that she IS short-sighted and a little bit too in awe of Harry to help guide him and be there for him in a way that's needed. She would never tell Harry to hex someone for fun, but she would (and did) make excuses for his behavior (and she herself hexed someone because they were "annoying" her).

Thanks for reviewing! =)


 Report Review

Review #43, by Meg_A Moment: A Moment

23rd June 2010:
Wow. Well played. Hermione's ridiculousness and Harry's awkwardness were all right on point. I'm glad you didn't make them kiss. It was satisfyingly surprising. Anyway I loved the one shot. 9/10. I feel like you should right a sequel or make this a short story though. Just a suggestion.
~Meg

 Report Review

Review #44, by Meg_Dancing: Nothing Lasts Forever

23rd June 2010:
Ok liking this one more. I just like the way Ron broke into her conversation to say Let him go. That was good.
~Meg

Author's Response: thanks =) I took a chance and made him mature in this story.

 Report Review

Review #45, by Meg_Dancing: Dancing

23rd June 2010:
Beautiful song... I had never heard it before but I just listened and it is fabulous. I'm not sure yet if I like this one yet... I may just really really like the song.
~Meg

Author's Response: I first heard this song on so you think you can dance, as a dancer i loe that show and when i saw a dance to the song, I fell in love. it was also the same time I read Deathly Hallows and came to terms with never seeing Harry and Hermione in canon. i fused the to together and created this. it's a really hauntignly sad and beautiful song =)

 Report Review

Review #46, by Meg_The Real Thing: Out Of The Blue

23rd June 2010:
Way to end it at the interesting part. Ok two things: first I'm surprised you had them admit so much to each other straight to each other faces. That would be tough and I feel like something that they wouldn't necessarily do. Second, this is actually from the last chapter, but yeah I didn't like it that Hermione didn't kiss Ron goodnight for real. She's too harsh to him especially when he was so vulnerable. I feel like that wasn't her. Anyway this chap gets a 7.
~Meg

 Report Review

Review #47, by Meg_The Real Thing: In A Second

23rd June 2010:
Ok Ron was redeeming in that last one. Yay! You're getting an 8 this time!
~Meg

 Report Review

Review #48, by Meg_The Real Thing: Hanging By A Moment

23rd June 2010:
Sounds like this is gonna be an awkward morning for them... can't wait. I don't really like how angry Hermione is to Ron. I believe in H/Hr ship but then again I don't believe making Ron and Ginny look like idiots or like Harry/Hermione hate them because I feel like if they can't have a romantic relationship they would all still love each other. Maybe it's just me... Anyway 7.
~Meg

Author's Response: I think it's probably because I didnt put up much of the behind the scenes about what really goes on between ron and Hermione that makes her so upset. sometimes i get so caught up in the development of Harry/Hermione that i dont pay more attention to the others. I deffinetley need work on that =)

 Report Review

Review #49, by Meg_The Real Thing: Stolen

23rd June 2010:
Liking it... not loving it. Still hooked on reading though. 7 again.
~Meg

 Report Review

Review #50, by Meg_The Real Thing: Can't Stop

23rd June 2010:
I'm hoping you actually have Ron come out better. Because as a writer right now you need a better dynamic. Ron and Hermione need to have a cute moment and so do Ginny and Harry. Just so that it makes it hard for them to want something else, and it yet it also needs to make sense. I don't know. I feel like the dynamic is about to be ruined. I'll give it a 7.
~Meg

Author's Response: I can see your point, like they need a reason to feel guilty for the feelings towards one another. thanks for pointing that out. maybe i'll revise it =)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>