Reading Reviews From Member: brokentrain
  
119 Reviews Found

Review #1, by brokentrainFancy That: The Game

24th February 2009:
Question- what's DFTBA?

Also, I wish I could play chess well. Lost horrible games tonight. I hate to plan ahead. I honestly thought that Charlie was going to go on thinking she had the upper hand until he came out of nowhere and beat her all nonchalantly. Oh wells!

Also, don't let school eat you. Sucks. I would know.

Author's Response: Cheers, BT.
Actually, Quinn is on the Hogwarts Chess what-have-you and is therefore quite good. Yes, she is even better than Remus - nomnomnom. Charlie is horrible at chess; she is plain and simple bad at it. x3

DFTBA is nerdfighter speak for 'don't forget to be awesome'. Sort of like a personal mandate, I s'pose. Nerdfighters are just like normal people only in place of having boring ol' biological makeup are made of awesome... you can prolly google it if you're interested. c;


 Report Review

Review #2, by brokentrainFancy That: The Anomalous

2nd February 2009:
You should have a new chapter up EVERY DAY. Hahaha, yes, I don't really expect that. After all, I can barely get a chapter up every 4 months so, really...I've no room, do I?

But it's still adorable and cuuutes and all kinds of adjectives like that. I wish I had more substance to offer you (I for one love substance in a review) but I, alas, suck. I know, disgusting. But Remus J. Lupin is wonderful. Meaning that I love that Quinn thinks of him in three names. That is cutes, too!

xoxo
BT

Author's Response: Cheers, BT. It brings about all kinds of smiles that you like it and that you think it's decent passable &ct. I happen to be all too happy with cute, let alone cuuute. [insert smiley thing here]. Thanks, really. You, in no uncertain terms, completely rock Dobby's socks so quit trying to deny it. I love that she calls him Remus J. Lupin - even though I keep trying to shorten it to R. J. for short, which she simply won't have; not yet anyway. I can be as stubborn as she is...
I shall post a new chapter presently; I am sorta trying to get better with updates *sheepish smile*.
Best, DFTBA &ct.


 Report Review

Review #3, by brokentrainFancy That: The Sensible

31st January 2009:
It's so cute. And who hasn't had a crush on a guy and friends who are relentless in their discussion of it?

Oh and did I say it's cute? Well, It's cute!

And I like it. And I like Remus. No, sorry, LOVE Remus. And love the name Olive. Will be waiting for Ch. 3!

Author's Response: *squee* 'Lo!
You are too right - friends do tend to excel at tireless teasing when an unexpected crush takes root. I am very pleased that you like it.
I take it that you think it's cute? Many thanks, I do, after all, strive for preciousness. *shameless quotage from "We Gryffies"*
Remus *sigh* what would we do without him?
(A lot more homework, probably...). He is so Albus... I'm stopping now.
Cheers for reading, man. Mille grazie for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #4, by brokentrainThe Life and Death Brigade: Good Boys

6th December 2008:
Dom had to laugh at this "They are on me to strengthen my pureblood connections and they want to make a business deal with muggles."


Ooooh, nice. I love your subtlety. Seriously. Awesome.

More on subtlety- do I sense some Dom-Cass?
Dom.Cass.Dom.Cass.Dom!Cass!
Those are my feelings on the subject. And I am going to use my predictive powers to tell you that...Cass ends up with Dom instead of Sirius, because they are totally perfect, and Mary and Sirius are going to get together as well. Because that is how the ff works. Everyone gets with someone!

Um...lessee, what else? Man, I've missed this story. I need to reread (and rereview) to catch up. I'm sure there are tons of clues in this chapter that I haven't even noticed because I've forgotten the mysteries!
Perhaps another night, though. Tired tonight. Shopping for flat boots is hard. Esp. when everyone made shitty ugly ones this season!

 Report Review

Review #5, by brokentrainWith Pleasure: Strange Day Sunday

19th November 2008:
Miss PG, you're a lovely dear and I am pretty sure I love you a little bit.

Seriously. When all of us other authors have gotten caught up in our lives and gone off to forget about HP and be...awful, in short, you manage to crank out a delightful update! In fact, I think I may go re-read some N&N soon to try to get my groove back. That's how we do it in the HPFF.

Josie! Mysteries! Comments about the Bertie Bott's! (I knew they were still lurking about.) Jacko! Ollie and Laine being couple-y and icky!

I think I need to relearn how to give a good review.

I want to know more about these Mysteries. I want to know.

Author's Response: you did update since this review! and I ditto in the love for for it.

I love my running bits, so the beans will be around often. And I know, couples are so gross. Not bitter.

Your review was fine, and things shall get all solved up soon. The next chapter is stuffed with all sorts of [an interesting word meaning stuff].


 Report Review

Review #6, by brokentrainWith Pleasure: Worthy

12th June 2008:
I liked the addition! I agree, it adds something more to the chapter, kind of fills it out and stuff. I look forward to interactions with old Lupin and, you know, all of that charming authority stuff. Here is where I wink lewdly and you roll your eyes because you know Josie isn't going to have it off with Lupin because, uh, he's old. And dated her aunt.

Anyways, this is probably the time where I rate you highly and read the next chapter. Bye!

Author's Response: re-re-re-response. whoot.

I always get excited when I get a review from you by the way. You're awesome.

Wow reading this though reminds me I have a lack of Lupin, I should fix that. Maybe he'll be come to a little BBQ I mentioned later on. At least I think I did. Hmm...


 Report Review

Review #7, by brokentrainWe Gryffies: Make Your Own Kind Of Music

11th June 2008:
Excuses aren't needed when you deliver top quality, m'dear. That's what I'm always telling myself and my particular friends. So, now you're a particular friend. Hope ya don't mind. Anyways, that's what I say- better quality than a short wait!

I loved it! Which goes without saying, but I did! Today is a great day now because you updated! And not only did you update, but also JJ updated P5 and...something else great was updated but I've forgotten. Oh, no I didn't! Prosgal updated, too. So there! Tops day!

And, just to satisfy my burgeoning curiosity and also to use more of these great exclamation points that I've been dotting my review with so liberally, is Callum Lin-Wood supposed to be the kid of Oliver Wood and this bloke-ette Somethingorothera Lin? I know I've seen stories about some girl with an uncommon first name and a surname of Lin before. Maybe I'll go look 'em up and see if they've anything to do with Oliver Wood.

Anyways, if I wanted to actually use this review box to, you know, review your chapter or summat.
I liked the way you handled the BotB and how well it showcased Tegan's righteous opinion of her screwy parents. I also like that the 'Puffs won (go 'Puffs!) and that James2.0 rightfully surmised that you just can't hate 'em 'cause they're so nice (n' cute n' fluffy). I also enjoyed H.U.W.'s illusions (aka the fact that he is a crazy weird mysterious dude) and Lewd Wig. Well done! Quite the thug! Superfluous exclamation points!

Also, Hegwidgeon! Legal Counsels! Rhys's thinking that James2.0 makes innuendos but really he's just kind of poofy!

Okay, I've run out of the ex. points, so adieu.

 Report Review

Review #8, by brokentrainThe Puzzling Prattlings of a Pulchritudinous Potions Professor: The Hogwarts Zoo

11th June 2008:
Out, damn spot!

Snape-does-Lady-MacBeth!

wonderful, hilarious, spot-on, tops, spiffing!

Author's Response: Awww thank you! I'm so glad you approve!

 Report Review

Review #9, by brokentrainThe Life and Death Brigade: The Easy Way is Overrated

5th June 2008:
I checked out chapter four's new end- I like it much better! And who doesn't love running jokes? They keep people on their toes.

The Hudsucker Proxy! Yay! Go Amy Archer. Too bad I'm not up on the Cary Grant or I could rejoice more in your references and emulations. Oh well.

I'm glad to see all of their plans and plots continuing onward. We saw only a little development on the Lily-likes-Dom and Cass-wants-Raver-to-get-some fronts, but it was good. Of course, there was more of the Remus-suspects-Falon-of-crimes-unknown plot, which was good! I was wondering how all of this was going to blow up in her face. And look! Here it comes! Ish?

I liked the Dom flashback, it's nice to see his insecurity and how it was effected by the actions of the others in the group. Their whole group dynamic is endlessly interesting. How they work in pairs, how they work as a whole, all very intriguing to watch you develop with your lovely story-crafting skills.

I liked how much marauder action there was in this chapter, it really opened up the characterization of them all which we hadn't seen so strongly yet. I liked Peter's especially. I could totally see him doing that. Now I kind of want muffins, though.

Can't wait to see the resolution of oh-no-Falon's-under-a-boy's-bed-and-he's-coming-for-her situation!

ps- I so hoped this was the story you would be updating when you mentioned you had been editing a chapter on my meet-the-author page. Yay! I'll answer your questions eventually,...just need to stop thinking about what the two Remuses would do if they met and contemplate the Levy/Jan meeting instead.

Author's Response: If you're an Audrey Hepburn fan, check out Charade with Grant. It's oodles of fun.

I hate putting so little of those plots but I'm glad you like what I've got. Falon is the main character in the end but I should shelve aside more time for the others. Which leads me to Dom, who has some trouble ahead. Developing? oh god, I still feel like an amateur compared to some *ahem you*

I haven't really decided entirely what I'm doing with Peter, maybe keep him as the back-background player but I always feel like people don't do enough with him or rely on rat and cheese references.

Oh man I hate to keep you waiting for C7 but have you ever wanted to get something exactly right? It's this one part that I'll probably fix again and again and still not be happy after I submit it. Thankfully I've got WP to keep me occupied.


 Report Review

Review #10, by brokentrainInbred: Ministry Regulated? I Don't Think So

4th June 2008:
'More like your morals,' Ron cut back.

'Because that's a word.'

Oh, man, I almost died from that one. Seriously, I love how you manage to bring up and mock every single Dramione stereotype that exists. No end to the fun with this story!

 Report Review

Review #11, by brokentrainThe Puzzling Prattlings of a Pulchritudinous Potions Professor: The Mirror of Erised

3rd June 2008:
Hello! Salutations! I should be posting this on chapter 16, but I already reviewed that. Crazy!

Anyway, Queenspuppet and I write a fortnightly fic recommendation/"book club" over at hpffbookclub dot livejournal dot com, and this fortnight we're featuring this story! Hooray! So, thanks for writing this, and go revel in the praise we're dishing out!

-BT

Author's Response: Um, I LOVE YOU. I'm overcome. I'm incapacitated. You guys are...THE BEST. I read what you wrote on hpffbookclub and honestly got a bit emotional. So thank you and thank you again, for spreading the Snape. I am eternally grateful.

And on a separate note, you guys should think about becoming book reviewers. Your recommendations were really well-written. They sounded...real. :)

Thanks again!

I still love you.


 Report Review

Review #12, by brokentrainThe Unsinkable Molly Prewett: You Can't Hurry Love

2nd June 2008:
You write them very in-the-time-period (which I think should be early 1960s?) with the language and all. It's cute.

I also really liked Thaddeus and his perfection and all, he kind of reminds me of a character in my story, except without a few, um, effeminate qualities. I think that the main root of my giggling at him is the name Thaddeus. It's amazingly suited to the boy, in my opinion.

Author's Response: It's the 1966-1967 school year, so late 60s really... Thank you so much! I like Thad too, he's fun. He's sort of a Scarlet Pimpernel type only without the secret spy double identity haha.

 Report Review

Review #13, by brokentrainThe Puzzling Prattlings of a Pulchritudinous Potions Professor: The Love Doctor is In...Trouble

30th May 2008:
Triumphant Bus Driver face? Hilarious!

This whole thing is amazingly funny, I don't even know how someone can be so funny without instantly exploding. Really. If I was that funny I'd sit around and laugh at myself until I died. (From lack of breathing, I hyperventilate when I laugh)

Anyway, I can't wait for more! You're a comedic genius.

Author's Response: Awww well thank you times a billion!

Believe me, I'm not funny all the time. Like when I sleep, for example.


 Report Review

Review #14, by brokentrainThe Puzzling Prattlings of a Pulchritudinous Potions Professor: This Snape is Bananas

30th May 2008:
This chapter title made me want to sing "This Snape is Bananas, B-A-N-A-N-A-S", but I'm guessing that's what you meant by it, elsewise there wouldn't be a "this" and it would just be "Snape is Bananas".

Anyway, I'm still trying to keep myself from hyperventillating with laughter. I keep having to take breaks to do something inane like make businessy phone calls or clear my floor of all the shoes that have accumulated recently.

Author's Response: Yup, the chapter title referenced that song. I'm glad someone caught it!

Thank you!!!!!


 Report Review

Review #15, by brokentrainThe Puzzling Prattlings of a Pulchritudinous Potions Professor: The Mad, Harry Beginning

30th May 2008:
Wow, this is hilarious. I wish Snape was really like this on the insides.

I think the chapter length works well, also, lengthy chapters probably wouldn't suit the style as well.

"Golden Gates of Boredom" had me audibly laughing.

Author's Response: Yeah, I like the short installments. I've never been one for endless chapters. But people whine about it sometimes.

But I take issue with one comment you made...because Snape really IS like this on the inside...aduhhhhr.

Just kidding, I love you! Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #16, by brokentrainThe List: Prologue

29th May 2008:
Ha, the lists are very humorous. I'm interested to see where this is going, one doesn't see a large number of James/OC fics on the HPFF.

Also, a side note, in my mind James McAvoy is Remus Lupin, so to see him as James on your banner...very weird for me.

 Report Review

Review #17, by brokentrainWith Pleasure: Wrecking Force

27th May 2008:
Yea! So much of your writing to read today. I'm happy.

Josie is uptight, it's hard to imagine that coming from living with Paige and Amy, but that sort of thing does seem to happy in real life, so I must be crazy. Yeah, that's probably not a surprise.

Anyway, I again am forced to admire your OCs. Not really forced, but convinced by your amazing talent and OC-craftmanship. I like Jack overly much, so I hope he sticks around, and somehow the Laine (is it Lane or Lain-ee?) Josie dynamic resembles the Paige/Amy one, which is nice and exciting and just a bit nostalgic.

Lovely!
Delightful!
I'm going now, off to life outside of HPFF!
Elle

Author's Response: Josie has some deep down oddness from her fake aunts but lots of things contribute to who she is presently, past/being a muggleborn/etc. I look forward to fleshing her out.

Jack will definitely be sticking around. I have some important stuff for him. Lane is the pronunciation in this case, and I'm glad you like their friendship, I wanted them to be a bit lighthearted. Laine is sort of the Paige who brings out the oddness in Amy/Josie so yay for that.

Life outside of HPFF...okay....if you're sure.....we'll wait. Speaking of, I should probably get outside.


 Report Review

Review #18, by brokentrainThe Life and Death Brigade: Three's a Crowd

27th May 2008:
Still laying the ground work, eh? I like the sound of that. Epic saga, three cheers!

By the way, I have no idea how you're so prolific as a writer- this chapter, a one shot, and the first chapter of your sort of sequel were all up very very quickly, in my opinion! I'm impressed, it takes me forever to get things written, it seems.

Aside from that, I could actually comment on this chapter, no?

Well, your long string of awesome and creative ideas continues! I very much enjoyed the pillow-broomstick-air jousting, especially the Dom/Rafe dynamic it highlighted. Knowing more of Rafe and Dom's past together was interesting as well.

Cass's comment about people not wanting to be seen with her was a little bit tear-jerking, the poor girl, and then that coupled with her denial of friendship with Falon was just endearing, really. And did I sense something going on with Remus? Oh, I think I did. As a Remus enthusiast, that makes me happy.

Can't wait for more!
Elle

Author's Response: The one shot and sort of sequel had actually been brewing for quite awhile. I added and subtracted so much from those over March and April. Luckily I had LD&B to keep me going with a smile. So I can't take too much credit for speed.

I find that the main difference between Cass and Paige (as opposed to the weirdo likeness) is the self esteem. Paige never cared and always felt everything was cool while Cass struggles with being different. It makes Paige simpler to write but Cass's story can take me far.

Oh I can't wait for chapter seven to be finished after six, I have something fun planned for Falon that greatly involves Remus. I hope you'll like.

definitely more soon, thanks.


 Report Review

Review #19, by brokentrainThings are looking up: The Sound of Settling

15th May 2008:
Congratulations on your second story finished! I liked the "mushy" ending, I think it was sweet. Maybe I'm hormonal or something, though, because sweet isn't usually my style.

I'm horrible at giving compliments, apparently, but I meant for this to be very complimentary. I've quite enjoyed this story and I'm sad to see it end (but glad that it was a good ending).

I like that you didn't exactly spell it out for us that everything gets fixed in Delia's life. You gave us enough hints to know that it will get fixed without explicitly showing us how it does. Which is nice. We don't need everything spelled out. We're smart. Ish. Well, I'm smart enough when it isn't nearly 2 in the morning.

Whatever. Great story. Love the Remus. And your stories.

Huzzah!

Author's Response: whew, thanks.

I was going to get a little expository but in the end I felt it was all about Remus and Delia and everything else would feel like filling if a tied up all the ends. and I do dislike adding filling sometimes.

I wonder what I would have done if I ended this chapters ago like it once appeared. I suspect much unhappiness.

Thank you for all your terrific reviews, I looked forward to every one.


 Report Review

Review #20, by brokentrainWe Gryffies: Let The Sound Take You Away

10th May 2008:
Oh, frick on a stick, I caught up with this thing. Suckkksss.

Well, it has been very enjoyable since I last reviewed up to here- very very enjoyable! So fun! So cute and entertaining and hilarious! Very creative! And the cliched parts are funny because you obviously know they are cliched and can make fun of them whilst writing them. If that made any sense whatsoever.

Latest developments have me sad-faced, though! I like Mr. Llelewyn (uh, something like that) but now he's all angry at Jamesina and stuff. And that kind of sucks, though it is understandable- though it was rather harsh of him to call Tegan "just like her mother"...but people get angry so I'll forgive him. Also because he's fictional and it's silly to be angry with fictional people. Right?

I can't wait for the battle of the bands, by the way, totally cool idea!

Also want to add that you do a very good job of keeping so many OCs in check and in character, very nice job!

And how are you so good at Welsh stuff? Are you Welsh? I look at the stuff and all I see is a bunch of Ws, Ys, and Ls.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! I love playing with clichés, and I'm glad you're one of the few people who realizes that I don't take the clichés seriously =).

Rhys Llewellyn is a complicated man, and we'll see that straightaway in the next chapter.

And as for my OC's, they literally live in my head. It's not hard to write them, since they're in the back of my mind all the time.

I'm of Irish descent, actually, but I love all Celtic cultures. Rhys and Tegan are Celtic, and Eleni is not. A clue about Tegan's parentage? Ah, but I'm probably misleading you.


 Report Review

Review #21, by brokentrainWe Gryffies: A Snog, An Imagination Journal, & A Chanting Mob

9th May 2008:
This story is intensely amusing. I don't know why I haven't found it before. I must be a loon. As in a crazy person, not a bird.

Anyway, I have to ask (although I know the answer)- You really like Scrubs, don't you? I love scrubs. I love J.D. so much...which is why I find J.S. here so amusing, I think. And frick-on-a-stick is my favorite semi-swear, courtesy of Elliot, of course.

I also wanted to say that I love the names you give people, very original. I love naming things. Sigh. I need to buy something new so I can name it. Or find something new. Always fun. Not on topic though.

Anyways, I'm going to read more of your delightful and hilarious story, okay? Do you agree that this will be an okay thing for me to do? Do I need your permission? Well, I won't wait for it, at any rate. Byee.

ps- I am not normally this crazy. Biochemistry makes me this crazy. As in the class. That I dislike. And will finish tomorrow. yay. Okay, again with the crazies. Wah.

Author's Response: Haha, glad you like it! I really love Scrubs ^_^. And I love naming things too! Hence the billion OC's. I hereby grant you permission to read more of my insane story =D.

 Report Review

Review #22, by brokentrainThe Life and Death Brigade: There's Always a Morning After

7th May 2008:
I'm sorry I didn't review all the chapters, but honestly I haven't the motivation. Exams to study for, attempt to pass, etc.

But the lack of reviews doesn't mean I didn't enjoy them heartily- this is an incredible idea for a story, you know, and I don't think it would work without your ingenious details and original OCs (Which, by the way, isn't supposed to be a redundant phrase. There are a lot of OCs that are very similar to other OCs, I suppose you could call them stereotypes.) I like the four houses, the secret room, the fact that Rafe is gay, their names, the fact that they all have their own problems and issues, etc.

One thing that bothered me just now, though, was those last couple of lines there- Falon's acknowledging the fact that there's a group with secrets that she belongs to that has similarities to the marauders? I didn't expect her to do that. Hm.

Well, I'm interested to see where this goes, and intrigued to see what dares/stunts will be pulled off next. Kudos on the originality of those, by the way.

Also, this is so different from Things Are Looking Up, I was not expecting that! But I like them both, so good job mastering two very different styles.

Author's Response: I know what you mean for about the exams, I was hidden away in my room for awhile in April. Just when the weather was getting nice too.

When I wrote the part about the Falon, I intended for her to mean nothing specific, just a general observation about people forced to keep secrets but I realize you're right and what I intended looks different written down.

Thank you for writing what you liked, that's always awesome to hear, also gives ideas on what's better to focus on in the future. I'm always happy to read your reviews.


 Report Review

Review #23, by brokentrainWanton Confessions of a Teenage Witch: Sincerely, Sergio Navarro

2nd May 2008:
Did you know it's taken me about a month to read this whole thing? Well, despite the fact that I didn't fly through it, I seriously think the world of it. It's cute, it's light, it's amusing (and pervy!) but it has substance and deals with very interesting issues.

And, oh, god, is Suzie relatable or what. Who hasn't had a crush on a hot guy, who hasn't been oddly and extremely attracted to a professor? My O.Chem professor...mm. What a fox.

Anyways, I just wanted to say that I have loved this very very much and I can't wait for you to continue it!

Cheers,
BrokenTrain

 Report Review

Review #24, by brokentrainSilent Wedding Bells: All We Know Is Falling

1st May 2008:
Wow, I can't believe you updated. Seriously! I've had this in my favorites since I read it (...11 months ago?) and I seriously thought it would never be continued. Let me say that I am SO excited that it is being continued!

When I first read it I thought it was one of the most original, intriguing and well-written stories on the site and I still do. I love the characterization and the society that you give us a view into and I love the interaction between Severus and Camilla. You portray the ease with which two people who seriously care about each other can misunderstand each other painfully well. I'm constantly impressed by your writing and look forward to seeing more of it, hopefully more than annually. :)

Cheers,
Broken

Author's Response: I couldn't not finish this story. Camilla and Severus are too ingrained in my head for me to let them go now :) I'm so grateful you thought this story was good enough to come back and read the new chapter even though I haven't updated in months. Thank you so much for reading and leaving such a kind and awsome review!

 Report Review

Review #25, by brokentrainThings are looking up: Waiting for those Good Things

27th March 2008:
Ah! I'm so glad that was a mistake and you meant final four! I'm so sorry I was kind of harsh about you ending it quickly and stuff...! Anyway, I'm very happy.

And I think you did an excellent job of capturing the nervous holy-crap-what-did-I-do waiting feeling. Never a good feeling to have, especially for three days! I love that she's so obsessed with her nerves that she starts believing the other girls about the mono when she clearly knows that he's not actually sick. Wonderful.

Also wonderful was the background of Ross's skipping a year. I find it very believable for both her character and the school.

Anyways, I love cliffhangers! I'm a suspense junkie, I swear, so good for you! I'm appreciative if no one else is!

cheers!

Author's Response: Don't worry, I didn't find you too harsh, you had a right to be a bit annoyed considering what you thought. It would have been bad of me if I was to end it right there.

I always meant to give Ross a little backstory but kept forgetting to include it, she's been a fun character to write.

A cliffhanger lover? That's certainly a swell thing, hope you enjoy the end result.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>