Reading Reviews From Member: onestop_hpfan18
  
1,733 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18Ways To Ruin A Wedding: Meeting The In Laws

28th August 2016:
I basically was giggling the whole time I read this chapter. So hilarious. Loved it. Everything. I loved James and Hayley's shameless flirting in the lobby and their bedroom eyes across the room. I loved Hayley and Harry one-upping each other in comebacks. I loved the whisper fights between Albus and Hayley. This story is brilliant. I'm looking forward to the next chapter, especially after that cliffhanger. I bet that was Rose's shrill.

 Report Review

Review #2, by onestop_hpfan18Ways To Ruin A Wedding: Second Base

28th August 2016:
This chapter was hilarious. I couldn't even tell you which I loved more. Albus being more frightened to kiss Hayley than he was getting to second base with her. Priceless. This is a whole new spin on the fake girlfriend spiel and I love it.

 Report Review

Review #3, by onestop_hpfan18Ways To Ruin A Wedding: Fake Girlfriend

28th August 2016:
I did not see Albus being gay coming. I just figured it was going to rant about being single. I have high respect for James after you made him Al's confidante. It makes their relationship as brothers that much more important to the story line and their characters. Great first chapter. Also, Hayley's character seems like a riot already. I love it.

 Report Review

Review #4, by onestop_hpfan18The Story of Nicolae: The Antipodean Opaleye

25th August 2016:
I'd like to know more about Erik... his character is just mysterious and makes me want to get to know him more.

 Report Review

Review #5, by onestop_hpfan18The Story of Nicolae: The Japanese Lava-Swimmer

24th August 2016:
Finally some action... yay! But sad that the egg had been abandoned. I wonder if Charlie will take it back with him.

 Report Review

Review #6, by onestop_hpfan18The Story of Nicolae: The Tuatarian Greybeard

23rd August 2016:
The ball is rolling, yet I'm still waiting patiently for things to really start to happen. I want some romance... more importantly, I want to meet Charlie's leading man. Solid writing so far.

 Report Review

Review #7, by onestop_hpfan18The Story of Nicolae: The Imperial Redhorn

22nd August 2016:
i feel like we're still in introduction mode with this story. I'm looking forward to when classes start and the ball gets rolling in the plot. Great writing so far.

 Report Review

Review #8, by onestop_hpfan18The Story of Nicolae: The Sahara Goldenwing

22nd August 2016:
I like the tone of the story so far and you've done a great job characterizing Charlie from the little we know about his character from canon. I'm looking forward to reading more.

 Report Review

Review #9, by onestop_hpfan18Keep Calm and Carry On: Morning

21st August 2016:
Thank Merlin for annoying little sisters like Ada! If it weren't for Ada, then those two wouldn't have gotten back together. And I loved how Oliver came after her with Edie accidentally slamming his fingers into the compartment's sliding door, completely catching each other off their guards. Loved this ending so much! And they lived happily ever after! I'd read a sequel about them if you'd right it... that's how much I enjoyed reading Edie and Oliver and their whirlwind romance. Excellent writing and story telling!

Author's Response: Yes! Honestly I was really struggling with this last chapter, because I knew that they were *supposed* to be together, but it wasn't working. I tried writing endings where they didn't end up together and that also just felt wrong. Maybe I'm biased but I think these two are made for each other--at least for now. Maybe they'll try to have a normal relationship and it won't hold up, but like Oliver said, they were going to *try* it.

Anyway, it just didn't feel right until it struck me that duh, of course, Ada had to be there. She is Oliver's world, and the reason that he and Edie had their rift in the first place. She's also so blunt and logical that she needed to be his voice of reason. Ada would never sit him down and have a heart to heart and give him her blessing, and talk about love--but she totally would yell at him to stop being dramatic. And really, weren't these two being SO dramatic?

I know the train was cheesy, and I'll consider moving it to another location in the many, many edits this story is due for. But I really wanted Edie to break his fingers, haha, so wherever it may move to, that needs to stay ;)

Thank you so much for sticking with this story. I honestly am so amazed and humbled by all of you readers. You're the best ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by onestop_hpfan18Keep Calm and Carry On: You Can Never Really Go Home

21st August 2016:
The tension between them in this chapter is unbearable... yet when she pulls that photo from the tabloid out of his pocket, well I actually felt a twinge of hope for them. But then it got real at the end of this chapter and I'm not sure how it'll all end. Whether they'll get back together or say goodbye. But I don't want them to say goodbye. So many mixed feelings and what-if scenarios dancing in my mind.

Author's Response: I haven't read this chapter in so long, reading your review made me glance over it again. The tabloid photo! Yes! Especially after Edie has gone on thinking that Oliver didn't even care about his press. Then suddenly it's there in his pocket. In my mind he tore it out ages ago and forgot about it. Maybe I should add in some dialogue about how it's an old cloak and he hasn't been staring at it every night. The photo wasn't supposed to be her realizing that he's still carrying a torch, so much as spurring the conversation that leads to their final breakup.

But that's for another day.



 Report Review

Review #11, by onestop_hpfan18Keep Calm and Carry On: Just Edie

21st August 2016:
The build up after six months of no communication in this chapter was torture. I have no idea what to expect once she's faced with Oliver. I hope he's forgiven her and hears her out this time. They so belong together.

Author's Response: This was one of my favorite chapters--I loved showing how everyone's lives had changed (or not changed) over six months. Especially Lisa and Justin being at their wit's end, that was certainly cathartic to Edie as they were always frustratingly perfect in her eyes.

Two chapters left and you're still shipping Ediver! What a writer's dream ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by onestop_hpfan18Keep Calm and Carry On: Girl Seeks General Sense of Purpose

21st August 2016:
I didn't know it was possible for my heart to break more until I read this chapter. But good on Edie for realising that she doesn't want to be a journalist anymore after the realisation that there are no morals and ethics in the journalism field. I just wish Oliver hadn't been so cold to her. I mean, I don't blame him, but one look at Edie should have told him that she truly is sorry and loves him. I want the fluff back. All this angst is depressing.

Author's Response: I may have been a little unforgiving towards the field of journalism. Surely there are morals and ethics, but not where Edie had placed all of her faith: the Oracle Underground. In a way it represents how she viewed herself, as a steadfast and vigilant source of activism and truth. But CLEARLY that is not how she was as a person--I mean this whole fic is her trying to ruin someone's career because of a petty grudge. When she realizes that the OU and Conor are just the same, it was a real blow to her, but it was also freeing.

I totally don't blame Oliver either, but it was really hard to write him being so cold. He's been an extremely understanding character throughout this fic, in ways that Edie never could have been, but she finally dug her own grave too deep. "All this angst is depressing," haha, you're right, it has certainly taken a turn in the last few chapters.



 Report Review

Review #13, by onestop_hpfan18Keep Calm and Carry On: Happy New Year?

21st August 2016:
I so did not see this plot twist coming. I'm beyond shocked. My heart is breaking for Ediver. Just when Edie had chosen Oliver over her job and this happens. I loath Mr Ward and Blakeslee even more than before. There are no ethics and morals at WW. I'm glad that Rose came around and is on Edie's side. Maybe she can play a part in getting Oliver to listen to Edie's side of the story.

Author's Response: Hahaha I love reading these last few reviews, because clearly you have arrived at the portion of this fic where all of the twists come out all at once, very aggressively. Here was another one! And this time (in my opinion) it's actually not Edie's fault! Maybe her naivety is to blame, and she might have done well to remember that magic exists and Ward could have extracted her third article from the typewriter, but still. She had no malicious intentions for once, and it still turned around and bit her you-know-where.

I don't know why but I still want to defend Blakeslee. She definitely had a hand in the retrieval and publishing of the third article, but I think she would have completely lost her mind if she knew that Ward was pointing his wand--a weapon--at their former employee. Too bad she might never know!

Rose came around! Yes! I loved her role in this chapter. Initially it was going to be Lisa and Edie rekindling their friendship, but this story is about change, and it felt like a cop out or a revisit of the past. Edie and Lisa will always be best friends, but it can't just be the two of them drinking champagne on New Year's like it would have been when they were younger. Lisa has a whole new life now, with a husband and a baby on the way. Rose is now in a similar situation, with uncertainty of their lives and careers. It just felt right that these two try to work things out.



 Report Review

Review #14, by onestop_hpfan18Keep Calm and Carry On: A King on Her Throne

21st August 2016:
This chapter was a long time coming and I thought you redeemed Edie quite well, as well as showing how she redeemed Oliver in her eyes and that was enough before she set the parchment on fire and vanished the ashes, leaving no trace that there had ever been another story. I'm also glad that she quit WW because she's a better writer than that. Hopefully she can find a real journalist job that hold their writers to a higher moral standard than WW. Like OU, perhaps? Still a few more chapters for things to fall into her favor in that respect.

Author's Response: Edie is very big into setting parchment on fire, isn't she? What a drama queen. This was another chapter I was excited to get to. Blakeslee, Ward and Witch Weekly in general were painted the villain in a lot of ways, so I was excited to have Blakeslee bring the issue of Wrong/Right to Edie's attention. It was important to show that there *isn't* a single wrong and right answer. If Edie hadn't happened to fall for Oliver, she would have just been doing her job. The only variable was that her feelings got in the way.



 Report Review

Review #15, by onestop_hpfan18Keep Calm and Carry On: The Unfortunate Truth

21st August 2016:
So much drama in this chapter, and Theo! Gah, I really didn't see that one coming. I'm completely blindsided. I thought Theo was nice and truly friends with Edie. Then again, it's not really a big shock considering Theo was a Slytherin at Hogwarts. Very fitting that he's only thinking of himself.

I'm sad that Rose had to find out about Oliver and Edie in such a public way, but glad that it's all out there in the open. Nothing standing between them anymore. Though the question still stands... will Mr Ward like Edie's nice article, or will he give her an ultimatum of producing an article similar to the ones she wrote or fire her if she doesn't write it? The suspense is weighing down so heavy.

Author's Response: YES I was so eager to get to this reveal, where Edie realizes that not everyone is going to like her. And even if Theo does like her in general, this is what the professional world is like: cutthroat. He's really not in the wrong. If they'd been close friends, it would be more upsetting, but as he said, they were just coworkers. Casual acquaintances.

And even Rose is weaseling her way back into everyone's hearts. I really like her transition in this story. It's partially her becoming a bigger person, and partially Edie realizing that she doesn't need to make Rose her enemy. But like you said, one obstacle is out of the way, and there are a dozen more. Edie and Oliver still have to deal with the article.

SUSPENSE INDEED



 Report Review

Review #16, by onestop_hpfan18Keep Calm and Carry On: And What a Mess It's Been

21st August 2016:
This chapter was very steamy. It was a long time coming, and it showed in both of their eagerness. I loved the morning after with her brothers, Mum, and stepfather all piling into her bedroom as though it was nothing that she had brought a man home the previous night. Already adopting him into their crazy family. And Oliver playing right along, the trooper. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Hahaha, yes, I couldn't just let them have a nice night. Although it was indeed pretty steamy. I figured it was a long time coming, so might as well make the most of it ;) And of course Oliver just sees the endgame (FOOD) and is totally oblivious to how awkward it might make Edie feel to have him meet her ENTIRE FAMILY literally the first morning after their little tryst begins. I guess he just really wanted waffles...



 Report Review

Review #17, by onestop_hpfan18Keep Calm and Carry On: Good Decisions

21st August 2016:
Finally Dean's behaviour makes sense. Unrequited love stinks. But it's a simple matter of learning that everyone you have feelings for aren't always going to return them, and vice versa. You can't force yourself to have feelings for someone you just are feeling it with. I hope Edie and Dean can get past this rocky part in their friendship. But the simple truth is that friendships usually end when one has been friend zoned, or a lot of time has to pass before they were to be friends again.

So, Edie is going home with Oliver tonight. That'll be quite an interesting conversation with Ada in the morning. Awkward, I'm thinking. Unless Edie leaves before Ada wakes. Awesome chapter.

Author's Response: I AM TRASH IT'S TAKEN ME SO LONG TO RESPOND TO YOUR REVIEWS

You're absolutely right--you don't owe anybody anything just because you don't return their feelings. Edie can be chastised and even made the villain for a lot of her behavior, but not this.

Thank you again so much for all of your reviews ♥


 Report Review

Review #18, by onestop_hpfan18Keep Calm and Carry On: Makeshift

20th August 2016:
AHHH! I LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS CHAPTER... ESPECIALLY THAT KISS. THAT MOMENT WAS WORTH WAITING 24 CHAPTERS FOR.

Side note, I suspected that Oliver's intentions with Rose were to keep Edie from getting in trouble if it was found out that the girl in the picture was her, but I wasn't sure, especially with how much Rose was rubbing it in Edie's face. I still want to know if Rose knew of the reason Oliver was seeing her from the start, or if she had been as in the dark as Edie. But what Oliver did is redeemable because his heart had been in the right place, and he had wrote her a letter. It wasn't his fault that Edie had went all pyromanic on him, bursting his letter into flames. Anyway, awesome chapter and I'm looking forward to reading on.

Author's Response: Yes I literally made you wait 24 chapters for this moment. The slowest of the slow burns.

But I'm glad that it was worth the wait!

A-ha! You even called the reason why Oliver started dating Rose. (Well, that and, he and Edie weren't like in love or anything and you can date whoever you want and maybe it was a stupid choice to date Rose before Edie but anyway who can blame him, he's super adorable.) And yes, now you finally know what was written in the letter that she stupidly burned!

Thank you again! ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by onestop_hpfan18Keep Calm and Carry On: The Opposite of Dreadful

20th August 2016:
This was a very fluffy chapter, but it was a long time coming. Things are finally starting to come to a head for Ediver.

Author's Response: THE FLUFFIEST. Seriously. Edie meeting Ada and seeing how Oliver chooses to live a quiet life, and isn't the person she thought he was, was a pretty important scene. So I figured "Good job Sarah, you got to one of the Big Reveals, now you can fill the entire chapter with fluff as a reward."

Like sometimes I come back just to read/squee at this chapter.

Whoops.



 Report Review

Review #20, by onestop_hpfan18Keep Calm and Carry On: Vanity, Not Love

20th August 2016:
Finally someone to knock some sense into Edie, and what better person to do it than her Mum. Loved this chapter. And that cliffhanger! Also, sad that the position at the Oracle has been filled... I was holding out hope that Edie would land it.

Author's Response: Hypatia to the rescue!

My own mother is very very blunt and will (usually) give me good advice. Even if sometimes she is telling me I'm wrong just to play the devil's advocate or for the sake of arguing... anyway. Hypatia is definitely quick to knock some sense into Edie. And, somehow, Edie listened.

This is definitely the gateway chapter into the other, slightly more angsty, less-fluffy chapters. Luckily the next chapter is pure fluff to accommodate for all the impending sadness ;)


 Report Review

Review #21, by onestop_hpfan18Keep Calm and Carry On: Apology Not Accepted

20th August 2016:
Dang it all. I just want things to be fixed between Oliver and Edie. They need to get together. I'm so tired of Rose rubbing it in Edie's face that she's seeing Oliver. I'm looking at their relationship as purely a hook-up friends with benefits affair. It doesn't sound like a real relationship to me.

Author's Response: Oh yes, Rose talking about their relationship is a defense mechanism for sure. I mentioned in my last response that she was based off of an old coworker, and there's a moment in this chapter that was lifted from one of our interactions.

I forget where we were or what we were doing, but the moment when Rose kind of flips her hair and murmurs nervously just to fill the silence--this girl did that. And she always seemed so cool and put-together and everyone liked her and she was like this person I could never be, but then in that moment I weirdly realized that every single thing she did was for the sake of maintaining an image of how she wanted to be perceived. I don't know, it was just really weird. Edie definitely want to be a certain person but she isn't as meticulous about keeping up her identity as Rose, so in that moment she felt sorry for her.

Anyway!

On to your next lovely review.


 Report Review

Review #22, by onestop_hpfan18Keep Calm and Carry On: The Match

18th August 2016:
Oh my goodness, Edie sure did let her big mouth get her into trouble this time. I loved everything about this chapter except for the fact that Rose is dating Oliver. Ediver forever.

Author's Response: lololol EDIVER FOREVER *said in a Friday Night Lights "Texas forever" voice*

I just love humiliating Edie, what can I say? Plus the angst! of Oliver losing a match. It was too easy.



 Report Review

Review #23, by onestop_hpfan18Keep Calm and Carry On: Nothin' but a Number

15th August 2016:
I loved this chapter, especially Leo telling Edie how much Oliver was talking about Edie and how much he liked her. I wonder if Oliver will take her back. I wonder if he's really seeing Rose, or if Edie has misconstrued all of the Rose-Oliver interactions that she's witnessed. Gah. Can't wait to continue reading. So good.

Author's Response: I loved that conversation between Leo and Edie too! Especially when Leo was like "yeah seriously I tried to tell him that you're the worst so idgi"

It's so funny, at first when I started writing this fic, I was kind of childishly writing the character of Rose to get back at a coworker in a weird way? She was based off of this girl, and our confusing relationship where she was nice one moment and then catty another and always very flirtatious with everyone--EVERYONE. She was voted "Most Likely to Flirt with an Inanimate Object" at work. So I didn't really like the character of Rose when I first started writing this, and then she became one of my favorites. The dynamic between her and Edie, and her and Oliver, is one of my favorites!


 Report Review

Review #24, by onestop_hpfan18Keep Calm and Carry On: You've Got Moxie, Kid

15th August 2016:
Loved this so much. I'm glad she got busted. Yet Blakeslee ended up offering her a position as a journalist out of it. Things are finally turning around for Edie. And I bet Oliver picks her out of the crowd at Sunday's match, easy. Great chapter!

Author's Response: This chapter was so fun to write! Usually I think ragtag heist scenes are so cheesy but it seemed like something the fic needed, so I actually struggled with it at first, haha. It's funny because this chapter has one of the highest read counts in the fic, by hundreds. So I guess it went over well?

Oh yes, the match! That was also a fun scene to write.



 Report Review

Review #25, by onestop_hpfan18Keep Calm and Carry On: Incendio!

14th August 2016:
Edie is being stupid and acting too much like a hothead. If only she hadn't burned Oliver's letter. I would have liked to have known what he wrote her. :(

I hope this doesn't ruin Edie's chance at becoming a reporter. She applied to Oracle Underground so I don't even know why she's letting it get to her that Rose let her off the hook for the second and third articles. I wonder if Oliver is only going along with Rose taking the lead of writing the last two articles so that things can progress with him and Edie... we may never know. Because I still don't think he kissed Rose back... I think he was too caught off guard to react. Gah. This is crazy.

Author's Response: Ah yes, this is really the culmination of her pigheadedness. Or one of the culminations. If she hadn't been such an idiot and just read the letter, she would have saved the next (how many? 20?) chapters and probably added a couple years back to her life.

She needs a life coach.

I think Edie is upset about being let off because she is genuinely loving the chance to write what she considers to be very edgy, informative work (it's not). Also, she already did the work of writing a second article. And, to her anger, she really needs the money. (I think in this chapter she even shouts "I DON'T WANT YOUR MONEY" and is secretly like "no wait plz I'm broke can I have your money?")

Also she is wildly unqualified for the Oracle Underground and knows in the back of her mind that she probably won't get it. Writing for Witch Weekly, even if it's under the table, and not the kind of work she wants to be doing, is her only chance to be a journalist.

Not defending her stupid, letter-burning, Oliver-shunning behavior, but there's a glimpse into the way her brain works ;)

Thank you again!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>