Reading Reviews From Member: Drecklin
  
128 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DrecklinShattered Glass: Shattered Glass

15th July 2012:
Dear LovlyRita, that was amazing. I think your characterization of Narcissa and Bellatrix were completely spot on. She had those qualities that were portrayed so well by HBC in the movies here, and it was very awesome to read! Her complete passion for the cause was so well done, I'm still in awe! I loved every bit of this, it was a really great look into a small part of whats going on before the war from the other side :D Fantastic job!

-Sarah

Author's Response: Oh my dearest Sarah, how I love thee, let me count the ways! Thank you so much! I was honestly a little worried there for a bit about the characterization but I'm glad that you like it! I was definitely picturing HBC in this one, her facial expressions and everything. It was great fun and I'm honored to be your first review in a long time!!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by DrecklinGrowing Up Weasley: The Budgy Battle

14th August 2011:
I absolutely loved this. Like you said, in the same general way anyways, the simplest is sometimes the best and that really shows here :D It was just adorable how you made little Charlie have all the qualities I imagine big Charlie to have! He is my favorite Weasley for the reason you mentioned, that we don't know so much about him. But I've always imagined him as easily bored, adventurous and brave :D All of which little Charlie here has. It was just adorable to read and hilarious too! The battle between Budgy and him was just too funny. You really did brilliantly with this, adding in what could possibly be a snippet of the Weasley life before Harry Potter :P

Loved it!

Drecklin
Slytherin

Author's Response: Your review leaves me speechless. Thank you so much for it! Charlie is one of my favorites as well, and so underappreciated in fan fiction, in my opinion. I like expanding a bit on his personality, making him into someone readers enjoy hearing about (hopefully). It's great that someone else thinks the same!

Thank you so much, you totally made my day. :D Glad you enjoyed it so much!


 Report Review

Review #3, by DrecklinQuidditch Friendship: Quidditch World Cup

14th August 2011:
Another review headed your way! Once again, I think your characters are a little too direct in what they say. Like I think there might be some beating around the bush or awkward 'ers' when Charlie is telling Tonks that she threw a vase at him, perhaps? :P There were a few more grammatical mistakes, but they weren't anything to majorly worry about. I hope you continue this story soon, because you are off to a good start! Just be careful for character development and speech patterns :) It can make all the difference in a story!

Drecklin
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #4, by DrecklinQuidditch Friendship: First Meeting

14th August 2011:
No reviews? Why that is just a shame! Let me fix that right up :) What you have here is a really great start with a lot of potential! There are a few spelling mistakes [maninia should be mania :)] and a little grammar issues here or there, but nothing too distracting. I think what you need to work on most is a little character development! You have such a fantastic start, but your Charlie and Tonks seem to fall a little flat in terms of depth. Of course, it might be because they are just third years, but who knows? :P Also, all your characters are very direct in their speech, is that how real people talk? I'm not so sure, so you might want to investigate that further?

I honestly did love this :) It's very sweet and I'm off to read the next chapter!

Drecklin
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #5, by DrecklinPure Poetry: My Charlie

14th August 2011:
I was genuinely sad when this was over. I was just scrolling along and saw your authors note and just hoped that wasn't the end. Unfortunately, it was, of course :P Anyways. This was gorgeous. I love Charlie and you made me love him even more. He was so fantastic. And their love was so tangible in this story, I felt like I could touch my screen and feel warmth aside from the general warmth that is already there :P I have no criticism because I can't find anything wrong with this. You did a fantastic job -swoons- I just adored this!

Drecklin
Slytherin

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I'm glad that you enjoyed this! You're very kind!
I love Charlie, and so I decided to give his character a try; I hadn't seen him portrayed like this before, and this is how I've always imagined him. :)
Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #6, by DrecklinSerendipities: A Simple Smile

14th August 2011:
I would never, honestly, never have assumed that English wasn't your first language. The language and fluidity of your writing is just fantastic and engaging all at the same time. I felt myself feel sad when Stella did, feel embarrassed when she did, everything. You made her a real, believable OC with real insecurities and worries. It all made this such a fantastic one-shot to read. I wish we could know what happens with Stella and Charlie, but I guess not :P I really loved this, as I love all things Charlie, and I specifically liked your Charlie :D He seemed so charismatic and lovely -swoons- Brilliantly done!

Drecklin
Slytherin

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I honestly can't put to words how I happy I was to log in after two years and read two new comments, both of which are so amazingly encouraging that I almost let out a squeal. I'm so sorry for the late reply and am glad you liked the story! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by DrecklinBreakfast at Charlie's: Voldymuffin

14th August 2011:
I think you are off to a great start here, with this being really funny from the get-go! I love the "don't have a thestral" line, that was incredibly brilliant. As well as "hold your hippogriffs"! I love it when authors put magical twists on common phrases, it makes everything seem a lot more fun :P I think you might need to explain more why Harry thinks the name is sweet, because that confused me a bit, but I'm guessing that'll be explained in future chapters, yes? :P So far you have a really good start and its very amusing! I hope to see more from you with this :)

Drecklin
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #8, by DrecklinEphemeral : Ephemeral

14th August 2011:
I am honestly a sucker for anything Charlie. But I do have to admit, I was never a huge fan of Charlie/Tonks because it seemed so AU to me. This one-shot though, kind of made me smile in a twisted way because I loved that you were able to convince me it wasn't so awful. I really felt Charlie's pain as Tonks moved on to another man. The fact that you were able to convince me the pairing isn't so bad and that you made me feel sorry for Charlie just makes me love this one-shot! Brilliant job, honestly :)

Drecklin
Slytherin

Author's Response: I think Charlie is my favorite Weasley, closely tied with Ron, and I have no clue why. He's a buff, ginger dragon-keeper, so I think that explains a lot of it! :P

I'm glad I could change your mind, and that you enjoyed it as well :) That's such a huge compliment in itself.

Thanks for your kind review! It's much appreciated.


 Report Review

Review #9, by DrecklinPhoenix in the Ashes: The Wooden Doors

14th August 2011:
This was a very nice and incredibly relatable one shot. Perhaps its because I'm going through basically the same thing James is right now, but you wrote this very realistically! I can definitely understand why he feels that way and sympathize with him as well, which isn't a feat easily accomplished in so short of a one-shot. I also liked the fact that you didn't make James suspicious of Peter in any way, because even though its closer to them dying, would he really trust someone he was suspicious of with the life of his wife and child in the future? So, really good job with all the characterizations in this! Everything about this made it a fun and easy read, so kudos! :D

Drecklin
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #10, by DrecklinPhoenix in the Ashes: What Was Lost

14th August 2011:
I have to tell you, I absolutely loved the use of nobility references in this one-shot. It was completely brilliant and definitely added to get your point across. My favorite part probably had to be "he would be nothing more than a boy who had lost his crown". That is just such a poignant line in this one-shot and gave me a wonderful image in my head, which I suppose was the point :P But really, this is a wonderful one-shot and I definitely appreciate the different take on the Sirius/Regulus relationship. I've often come across it as Regulus was always incredibly attached to Sirius, but I like the fact that you added to it by pointed out that Sirius leaving him left him incredibly wounded too. Unfortunately the only way he could heal his wounds was with a scar in the form of a Dark Mark.

Wonderful job on this one, really!

Drecklin
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #11, by DrecklinPhoenix in the Ashes: A Snatcher's Past - Trystan Scabior

14th August 2011:
This was such a beautifully written one-shot that I'm finding it hard to spot any faults, aside from the canon stickler in me throwing a little fit :P You really made me feel sympathetic for a snatcher, which I assumed beforehand would be pretty hard to do. The only thing I can think to criticize is the fact that the moment Aurora found out about Sirius being his father, she became very superficial about it- whereas she seemed very deep beforehand. Also, the fact that Sirius was his father threw me for a loop, but with further explanation [him being a sixth year] it was easier to accept :P You did really well with this and I absolutely loved the little references you put in here or there, such as the Umbridge reference :P That definitely made me giggle!

Great job with this one, was really fun to read!

Drecklin
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #12, by DrecklinPhoenix in the Ashes: The Beginning

13th August 2011:
This was a very intriguing piece and the mystery you let build up made the end all the more pleasing. I think the fact that Dumbledore gave Tom a worried look when he was sorted, and the fact that Tom felt so at home right away were definitely spot on with what the characters would have been doing. Your descriptions were amazing and I felt like a little muggleborn student waiting for myself to be sorted as well! Also, I like the fact that you left it so mysterious, because I think it echoes nicely with what happens with Riddle in the end. Very well done! Great characterizations and writing, made it a pleasure to read!

Drecklin
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #13, by DrecklinPhoenix in the Ashes: Werewolf

13th August 2011:
The fact that you made Peter seem like such a nice guy made me like this story from the beginning. I mean, it seems ridiculous to assume he would be evil in first year [I'm assuming] and still be friends with the other three the rest of their Hogwarts lives. So, really great job on that. But onto the rest involving Remus! I loved how you characterized him :) He acted his age, and acted about his illness appropriately- which can definitely be harder to do when the characters are so young.

Overall, this was really nice to read and it was a great sort of fluffy friendship piece and I was glad to have read it!

Drecklin
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #14, by DrecklinPhoenix in the Ashes: Gone

13th August 2011:
I'll be honest and say I never really liked Cho as a character, but you made her into something special here. I could really feel her grief and pain over Cedric's death that it made me have a little more respect for her. Your descriptions in this were amazing, by the way. I didn't feel either overwhelmed or underwhelmed by the descriptions- my favorite being 'The chains that bind me to you are firm and unyielding, so tight I can hardly breathe'. That line in particular seems like such a real thing to feel it just really struck me. In fact, everything she felt seems so undeniably real, and I'm jealous of that :) Great job here!

Drecklin
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #15, by DrecklinPhoenix in the Ashes: Two Hearts

13th August 2011:
I feel so sorry for Dean :( This was an extremely well-written piece and I really felt his pain. I was wondering who you were writing about from the beginning, but because you wrote Dean so well I already knew I wouldn't like them for breaking his heart. And then you popped it on me that it was Harry/Ginny and the canon-fan in me kind of had a fit! That is truly saying something! Your writing is fantastic in this, really bringing out the emotion and pain, and that is something I highly admire. Great job!

Drecklin
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #16, by DrecklinFive Rebeccas: Rebecca The First

13th August 2011:
I think it is a well known fact that I adore everything about your writing. But really? How on earth did you make a five year old romance sound so sophisticated and real? :P It's magic I tell you! Anyways. I adore everything Charlie and this was certainly no exception. He was funny [even as a five year old] and I just loved the way you wrote him. Imagining a little Charlie running around on a playground giving soda pop rings to another little girl just makes me giggle with pleasure. The whole idea of this story is just adorable too.

Anyways, before I go off fangirling about how much I adore your writing, I'm off to read the next chapter! Excited to see what's in store :D

Drecklin
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #17, by DrecklinCharlie the Dragon Hunter: Crikey!

13th August 2011:
This was utterly adorable. I adore Charlie in this story, and he seems just the way I imagined him! Really, this story was very funny and adorable, and I just loved every minute of reading it :P Especially the grumpy teacher turning into a more amiable one [even if he did still give Charlie a detention ;)]. It would be really hard to choose a favorite part of this, because all of it is brilliant. I don't know what else to say because everything was spot on.

Wait! I thought of something. Your writing is so wonderful. Everything flows superbly and it was such an easy read, your use of description was just perfect!

And that's it. Lovely story :)

Forum Name: Drecklin
House: Slytherin

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I liked writing this one. Oddly, it's the only Charlie-POV I've ever done, even though I totally love him and may or may not project my husband onto him (both redheads with stocky-ish build and burly arms, burn scars, etc.). I should write a Charlie/OC one of these days. It was fun to write him as a kid though. I like writing the young Weasleys.

Thank you again for the lovely review, I'm really glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #18, by DrecklinInfection: Infection

13th August 2011:
I always feel some amount of pity for the Bloody Baron, even though he killed Helena, and you definitely made me feel it again here. I love the unique way you took this canon story and made it something special, leaving the reader guessing for a bit as to what was going on. I also loved the bit about it being an infection, the hate and evil- its a pretty powerful message when you think about it. I don't have anything to critique on this, because it was really well written and thought out! The last bit about the knife and his body confused me just a bit, but eventually I figured it out :P

Really, this is a wonderful read, though somewhat darker than what I'm used to, I did like it a lot :) Stories like these, about the ghosts, always interest me!

Forum Name: Drecklin
House: Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #19, by DrecklinGirlfriend: Looking at Me

13th August 2011:
:O Aw, I feel so sad for Ron, and yet because I know what happened in the books, I'm also a little 'too bad' towards him too! I really loved this one-shot and normally I'm not a big fan of stories that incorporate songs into them. But, you did it so expertly here that I couldn't help but giggle as I imagined this playing out and Hermione singing the song just like the actual song goes. Very creative with that, and I give you some major props for it :P

Also, loved how you characterized Ron. This is exactly something I can see him doing and it made me smile to see it! Overall, despite the sad[ish] ending, this was a really fun piece to read and I'm glad I did read it! :D

Forum Name: Drecklin
House: Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #20, by DrecklinAcceptance: Acceptance

12th August 2011:
Aw! This was so adorable! I loved everything that Harry felt because it seemed so real. You made such a relatable story in only 500 words, which is very impressive. Also, I must commend you on your writing. I always find it hard to find faults in people's writing, and this was no exception :P You wrote this so well that I felt like I was there, I might have even felt a little choked up when Harry got that way.

This was very sweet and nice, and I'm glad I read it! Lovely work :)

Forum Name: Drecklin
House: Slytherin

Author's Response: It's a relief that you thought Harry was real in this and such a huge compliment! I only realised halfway through writing this that I had absolutely no idea what Harry was supposed to be like. I had a fair idea how I wanted him to act and think, but I had no idea if it was believable, so it's always nice to know that someone thought I didn't botch his character up too much.

I can't believe you found no faults in this! That is so sweet, you have no idea how much that means to me.

And that is so sweet that you choked up. I don't want to sound horrible when I say that, but it's nice to know that I could touch you in that way.

Thank you so much for your review!
Joop.


 Report Review

Review #21, by DrecklinHis Golden Lady: His Golden Lady

12th August 2011:
Wow. Just wow. This was such a beautifully written story that I just need to sit here in awe of it for a moment. You made this such an emotional piece [for me at least] and I sat here with the Baron feeling rejection and loving his golden lady at the same moment. I really love it when I happen across stories that explain missing moments from the series, and this is no exception. I've always been fascinated with the stories of the ghosts and the founders, and this was such a pleasing piece to read because it catered to both :P

I think what I liked the most about this story is the way it was told. I felt like I was watching a movie where there was a bunch of narration going on with the gravelly old voices talking about it- and I guess that really is the case here, since he was talking about it from a ghost form XD

Anyways, I absolutely loved reading this! You did such a splendid job with everything that I have nothing to critique :)

Forum Name: Drecklin
House: Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #22, by DrecklinThe Simplest of Words: Prologue

12th August 2011:
This was just so sad. I mean, I am sure you expected it to be that way, but this is just really sad D: I've often thought of what it would have been like for Sirius when he died, and it was like this- but you made it so much more real that what I had imagined. The most effective part of this story had to have been where Sirius watched Harry suffer, and yet wasn't able to do anything about it. Just the thought of that playing out in my head brings a sad face to my face.

Your writing was really effective in bringing out the emotion of this story, and I commend you on it. Such a great job, and I am glad to have read it. I hope there is more to come on this story, such as an explanation of the 'I love you'- but to be honest, considering the challenge and the summary, I think that is the whole point of this story :P

Great job, Selene!!

Forum Name: Drecklin
House: Slytherin

Author's Response: Oh Drecklin, thank you! Even if I am almost two years late with it. :) Obviously the challenge is long gone, but I'm still attempting it. There are only two more planned chapters before this is finished and I'm having some difficulty with the 3rd one. I want it to have the same depth of emotions as the previous but I haven't given up hope on it. Never, since I want to see this through so badly.

I remember writing this, we had just had a passing in the family, which helped draw on the emotions that might have been going through the characters at such a time.


 Report Review

Review #23, by DrecklinTaking the cheesy way out: Taking the cheesy way out

12th August 2011:
Cheesemaker. That is such a brilliant idea, and you really did execute it so well! I loved every bit of this story, and the only comment I have to make, is that the first part between Andromeda and Teddy seemed a bit flat? I don't know how to exactly describe what I mean by that. I think it might be the fact that there wasn't a lot of action in that one sequence, like maybe Andromeda putting a hand on his shoulder, or Teddy crossing his arms- and there was more action in the other parts of the story? That sounds like what I was trying to get at, at least :P

But really, this story was very cute and funny, and a little sentimental- which I can appreciate. I also found Teddy so relatable, as I am in a position where I am supposed to have some idea what I want to do, but really don't! So, I am extra appreciative of that as well :)

Overall, I just loved this! Super cute and fun, and a really great read!

Forum Name: Drecklin
House: Slytherin

PS: That dashing guy on the banner? Wherever did you get the idea to use him? ;) -fangirls-

Author's Response: Hi Sarah! Thanks for the review!

First up, I don't remember who the guy on the banner is, sorry! I asked on twitter who I should use as Teddy and had this one come up as a suggestion, so I used him. If I remember who he is I'll let you know though. :D

You could be right in that the first scene is a little lacking in action. I admit that I didn't do a lot of proofreading before I posted this one - like so many one-shots, I just wrote it, gave it a tweak or two and put it up, mainly so Alo could see what I'd made of her idea. It was a good idea, though, wasn't it? I can't imagine why no one had latched onto it before.

Anyway I'm glad you liked the rest of this, and could relate to Teddy's lack of direction career-wise, which is oh-so-common for people of that age. Heck, I'm in my 30s and I still dont' know what I want to do, so it doesn't always go away. :) Nice that it hit a chord with you, though,b ecause that means I must have done something right.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by DrecklinForgettable Me: Forgettable Me

12th August 2011:
I... I don't really know what to say about this. I liked it, of course, but it was so sad... and yet hopeful at the same time, which shouldn't really be possible should it? I guess this story makes me feel like Marian described in the first part of this, saying how Sirius made her feel every emotion. I feel bittersweet about this, which is two conflicting emotions :P Anyways, this was very well written. I'm not much of a person for stories without action in them, but this is just so well written and nice- I'm genuinely glad I stumbled upon on!

You did such a great job on this, wonderful story :) Like you said, it was rather simple- but it's simplicity makes it special. And this is a special story!

Forum Name: Drecklin
House: Slytherin

Author's Response: Every time I read this review, I always start of thinking 'Ah, she must've hated it...' and then it turns into a really wonderful review! And I'm all like 'Psych!'... Yeah.

Anywhooo... Hi Drecklin!!! ^.^ I'm so sorry it's taken me so long to respond to this truly lovely review! I love how the story is such a contradiction that it actually left you feeling like one yourself! But I think bittersweet is absolutely something I was going for - that balance of sad and pathetic, but still sweet and hopeful. I'm incredibly flattered that you enjoyed the writing itself! I was very nervous to post this as my first one-shot (I almost removed it from the queue three times, actually)! It's great to hear that you're glad to have found it! Yay!!! :-D

You're so sweet. Thank you for the review, it's so lovely. I'm very grateful to hear this simple story called special - you've really made me smile! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #25, by DrecklinLet It Be Known: Let It Be Known

12th August 2011:
I am a real sucker for the Founders as I feel there is so much to be explained with their story and just everything about them. With this story, I got a lot of that! I liked getting an entirely plausible idea as to how the split happened between the Founders and I felt that everyone seemed quite in character. Salazar, while I imagined him to be more hot-headed, he retained that cool and slick quality that I feel Slytherin's have. Godric was certainly a leader in this case. Helga seemed so nice and honest. Rowena was very... smart about it all!

This was a nice piece of writing and I felt there could have been more depth with the characters, but I really did enjoy this! Great job :D

Forum Name: Drecklin
House: Slytherin

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>