Reading Reviews From Member: henryjones
  
273 Reviews Found

Review #1, by henryjonesMonday, Monday: The Times They Are A-Changin’

8th September 2009:
Hilarious chapter. This coup should be exciting. Anyways, Im in a bit of a hurry, so I wont blather on about everything that was great, just my favorite line "Provoking Dom rather like provoking dragon. Fun until suddenly dead." Great chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks! Do hope I manage to make it exciting. I've actually got a pretty good idea of where I want things to go and when, so hopefully it will all turn out okay.
That was probably my favourite line too actually.
Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by henryjonesWinner Takes All: Their Minds as Cold as Ice

4th September 2009:
this story is really good, even this last chapter which seems to turn rose/scorpius into a repetition of dramione, which i generally just find tiring. but that said, i thought it worked well within the story, which is very good, i dont know if i mentioned that... anyway, please do update soon, im dying to know what happens next, and particularly whats on scorpius' mind

Author's Response: Haha, it's because I dislike Rose/Scorpius even more than Draco/Hermione - it is very much a repetition, with the two warring families and the prejudice between them. But I'll watch out for that too, as I want to stay away from making the Rose/Scorpius relationship mirror Draco/Hermione.

It's great that you liked this story and want to know what happens next. :D Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review it!


 Report Review

Review #3, by henryjonesCheesy Nachos, Clingy Cat Suits, and Viktor Krum: The Handoff

4th September 2009:
so this story is honestly one of the more original things ive read on this site in a while. very well written, teh characters are interesting and the plot is very captivating and im rather anxious to know what happens next, so please do update soon!

 Report Review

Review #4, by henryjonesRose: Centiflora

4th September 2009:
this story so far is amazing. the begining sort of annoyed me but now im glad that i kept on reading because i have loved these latest chapters. i like the character of scorpius but i love the way he makes rose act/think, the way her character comes across now that hes in the story. before rose seemed sort of naive and aloof, things which arent normally so bad in characters but somehow tiring, i think because she never seemed to show interest in any one else. but she is certainly bewitched by scorpius and his stories, im looking forward to reading how it comes out. another thing i like is your narrative style. i like how charmed you seem to be by your own characters and the almost maternal way you describe them. it reminds me of northanger abbey a bit. anyway, ill quit before this review becomes any more incomprehensible (if thats at all possible). please please do update soon!

 Report Review

Review #5, by henryjonesHarry Potter and the Overdone Plotline: Of Cliffhangers and Random Rivals

4th September 2009:
hahahaha this is brilliant! i especially loved the part about lily suddenly falling for james. i cant even put into words how great this is, but im sure youre pretty aware of that anyway, so i wont try. please please please update soon!!

Author's Response: We'll try to keep the updates coming, but it's a little difficult now as we're both at different colleges. :(

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by henryjonesCup of Dreams: Buried Treasure

4th September 2009:
nice story. it had an interesting idea and you developed it quite well

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #7, by henryjonesA Birthright Denied: A Birthright Denied

4th September 2009:
interesting story, very nicely written

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words.

 Report Review

Review #8, by henryjonesSurrender: About a Toilet

4th September 2009:
very interesting beginning. the founders seem very modern - toilets and detentions and all. i thought people had dungeons back in the day for things like that... anyway nicely written, please do continue it and update soon!

Author's Response: haha, I didn't even think that back then toilets weren't commonly used XD I'll have to go back and edit that! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by henryjonesLegend: Chapter Two

3rd September 2009:
a very interesting take on the founders. the few stories i have read that placed them in medieval england among muggles got very tiring very fast, but this story seems very interesting, i would love to read more. please do update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, henryjones! I'm so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed this and I really do appreciate your feedback. The next chapter is in the works and should be posted soon. I hope you have a great week! Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #10, by henryjonesPandemonium : The Eleventh Hour

3rd September 2009:
great story so far, this cliffhanger really isnt fair, ive jst read all the previous chapters and none of them ended with cliffhangers i dont think but of course the last one does. oh well, youll just have to update soon then right?

Author's Response: Aha, I do love my cliffhangers! I'm terrible, I know xD I should hopefully be updating soon as I've got most of chapter twelve written, but I probably shouldn't make any promises because I'm a dreadful updater ;)

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by henryjonesyou've got mail: Victory, it's name is victory.

3rd September 2009:
so when i read the description of this story i have to admit, i was a little nervous. ive read some of your other stories and really liked them but the whole penpals-who-think-they-hate-each-other-in-real-life thing is overdone and often very cliche and hard to believe. but i do think this story is a lot better than most, i liked youve got mail (the movie) and this story is quite good as well. anyway, please update soon!

 Report Review

Review #12, by henryjonesSummer Solstice: Happy Families

3rd September 2009:
excellent story so far. the characters are wonderfully written and although its not looking like im going to be able to get out a very coherent review, i do love it. even if that isnt very apparent... anyway, please update soon this is amazing!

Author's Response: Firstly, thank you so much for reviewing this as well as Pandemonium! Secondly, I'm so glad you liked it! Thanks for reading :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by henryjonesAstute Observations: Astute Observations

3rd September 2009:
very nice story. the picture of remus is very haunting

Author's Response: Thank you! Haunting is exactly the way I was trying to characterise Remus - one who is haunted by ghosts and his own curse.

 Report Review

Review #14, by henryjonesRose Weasley's Guide to Life: On: The New Year

3rd September 2009:
really entertaining story, the part with the shoes was great. please update soon!

Author's Response: Hahaha, I'm glad you liked it! Thanks so much for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by henryjonesSpiraling: One

3rd September 2009:
good first chapter. at the risk of sounding too snarky, i thought id point out a small but reoccuring error. youre is a contraction of you are. you used it several times in place of the possesive your. its a small error, but its sort of a pet peeve, so i hope youll forgive me pointing it out like a stickler...

Author's Response: Thankyou! I wrote this last summer, I know there are so many errors! I'm sorry, I just sort of abandoned this story, to be honest, I haven't gone back to edit, however, I will asap. No problem, I appreciate the correction. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by henryjonesBaby, look up when you're down: III.

3rd September 2009:
this story is really good. the characters especially seem very believable, which is great because normally i think the whole shag someone then dont remember as a device to get people to realize their feelings is a little contrite but this is really well written. the authors notes apologizing for waits between updates worry me but... ;) please update soon!

Author's Response: Thankyou, I'm glad you think so :) I'd read so many Teddy/Victoire stories where I didn't like their characterization.. so, I thought I'd write my own.

I honestly didn't think the story would turn this way, I can't say that I like this story that much... I didn't start this story for it to center around them shagging... it just happened, however, the focus will turn in the next chapter.

I'm touched you think its well-written, really. The next chapter is coming along much quicker... so hopefully it'll be out soon.. although, I can't say when. Thankyous for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by henryjonesMidnight Rose: Midnight Rose

3rd September 2009:
this story is a beautiful moment. i cant think of any better or other way to say that, so this will be a short review. anyway, brilliant!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It is just a moment in time, which suits the short story (one-shot) form. It's wonderful that you liked this piece!

 Report Review

Review #18, by henryjonesSongs of Calico: A Realisation

3rd September 2009:
hey, so ive read all these chapters but i felt like it would be rather redundant to review each one since basically what i have to say is that its great. that said, i do have some criticism, but do keep in mind that the storys great, things just always seem to come out harsh. so what bothered me in this story was how quickly things moved because it made it seem a little choppy. the kiss, for example happened so quickly that i almost missed it. i know that was sort of the point, but maybe if you had described it in more detail or if lily had thought about it more or something. i realise her character is supposed to be very impulsive but somehow i wish the narration was a little less so, maybe with more reflections or if conversations were longer or something. the story seems to tell about 10% of the days/lives/etc of the characters, so maybe if there was more detail the characters would have more chance to be developed. i feel like a lot of character development happens in the authors notes at the end of the chapters. i do love that a lot of things happen (it keeps it from getting boring) but reading this story is getting a little exhausting. i do like it though.
so if that wasnt incomprehensible enough. the story really is very good and please do update soon! ;)

Author's Response: Haha man, this story is definitely deserving of some criticism. Anyone, point is I'm definitely willing to take it onboard. If you came to this after Monday, Monday I can definitely understand why you would be disappointed :P

Okay - read through the whole thing properly now. I won't try to address your specific points because really, you're spot on. Well, except for the kiss - because I don't quitee agree about that.

What I thought was most interesting was your point about the importance of separating the characters impulsiveness from a narrative impulsiveness. If I remember correctly, this story was actually the first time I tried writing in first-person so there's my excuse. Works for the character development point as well :P

Seriously, thanks for your critique. It's definitely something I'll work towards in any future chapters.


 Report Review

Review #19, by henryjonesMonday, Monday: Oh! You Pretty Things

1st September 2009:
this story is amazing! i read (and favorit-ed) the one shot which this is a continuation of i guess. it was also amazing. very funny i love the way you narrate it. anyway update soon this is great!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! It's so good to know that people liked AGS enough to come over to this as well. And when I say people, I obviously meant you. Anyway, glad it's making you laugh, chapter three is written and waiting for the queue and I've started chapter four. Look back soon, it'll be there!

 Report Review

Review #20, by henryjonesMarie-Antoinette: Dinner at the Lestranges'

22nd May 2008:
so i know you put in an authors note from a previous chapter that you had no plans to abandon this story, although now you seem to have done just that. is this really abandoned? for good? i hope it isnt, because i have loved reading this story, even if i only just found it. youre a brilliant author and this story is rather original. and what it lacks it originality, it makes up for in utter marvelousness. im in awe of how detailed you have created this future setting, and i absolutely love the character, marie-antoinette. youve written her point of view amazingly well. she really feels like an actual, living, breathing human being, not just some cardboard cookie-cutter character. the other characters are also written incredibly well. i feel like i identify with marie-antoinette's struggle to prove herself as not just a stupid child, but a full grown adult, capable of running her own life, and although my situation is nowhere near as dire or dramatic as marie-attoinette (i hope ive spelled her name correctly), youve written everything so nicely that i identify with her struggle, even if it is rather dramatic. i even like bellatrix! not actually her character itself, but the way youve written her is brilliant.
i hope and pray that you havent abandoned this forever. i will continue waiting for an update, or even a change in status so that i know there is no more hope for new chapters. i loved the chapters youve written so far, and it feels like the story was just about to open up into new realms of fantastic adventures and intrigue, and then it stops so abruptly...
please please please update this! or give some signs of life on this story!

Author's Response: http://www.fictioncentral.net/hpforum/index.php?showtopic=26912

 Report Review

Review #21, by henryjonesThis Longing: A Bit of Bedlam

11th May 2008:
and the plot thickens... grimm is making an utter fool of himself and its hilarious. although sometimes minerva and grimm remind me of james/lily. maybe just because minervas straight-laced and smart, like lily is usually written. and grimm is from an influential family but doesnt seem very ambitious. but he isnt a trouble maker like the marauders.
anyway, my favorite character so far is definitely moody. i love how youve written his character. he was hilarious in this last chapter, because he was just sort of chilling there for like their whole conversation, even when it had nothing to do with him. that was probably my favorite part, although i cant quote just one single part. my favorite line was -Did they offer lessons on how to speak like a pirate? She would have to tell Grimm, he might be interested in such a class.-
brilliant chapter(although a little short)! brilliant story! please update soon! ;)

Author's Response: This chapter was only a couple hundred words shorter, but I will definitely make the next a bit longer. It's always good to know that people like longer chapters. :)

Yes, there are sadly similarities between these two and Lily/James, which I will try to change to make it less obvious. But Grimm is a bit different, and I think the next chapter will show more of that (hopefully *crosses fingers*).

It's fantastic that you like how Moody turned out. I wasn't sure if I quite had him right, since his canon character is so distant from this - the First War transformed him, and trying to make an un-crazy version of him that works is a challenge. I'm just sorry that I didn't include him in earlier chapters, since he makes for great comic relief while Grimm blunders about. =D

Thank you very much for the review! It's really appreciated. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #22, by henryjonesHalfway To Infinity: Chapter Twenty-Five: The Professors' Grudge

10th May 2008:
so the professors are starting to creep me out a bit. are they just being ornery because lottie and andrea are going to france? because some of the things breckenridge said at the end were a little weird... -there may be times when you must keep your mind protected for days—weeks—on end. Not for this trip, most likely, but in the not so distant future.- is he referring to when they graduate? or is there something sneaky going on...?
anyway, brilliant chapter as always. please update soon! ;)

Author's Response: Hmm... I don't want to say too much, but Lottie's time at Alsemore is definitely not the average student's.

Thanks for the review!
Eponine


 Report Review

Review #23, by henryjonesThe Life and Death Brigade: There's Always a Morning After

5th May 2008:
so this was pretty hilarious. although it looks like theyre going to get caught! i do love the characters though. and falon does have an awesome reaction to sirius' umm... "interrogation techniques" lets say.
great chapter! i love this story so much! please update soon! ;)

Author's Response: That is a good term for it. Yes, people are starting to get suspicious and why exactly that's a bad thing will be touched upon in the next chapter as well, hope you'll like.

 Report Review

Review #24, by henryjonesPotter and Prejudice: Fear and Loathing

4th May 2008:
so im not really sure why, but i didnt really like this chapter. maybe its the cliched death eater attack, during which of course the marauders have to save the day, followed of course by the invitation to join the order...

Author's Response: I'm sorry you're so put off by it. Forgive me for using a 'cliche' that's plausible. i'm amazed you've gotten 24 chapters into the story, and this is the only cliche that you've felt necessary to point out. perhaps you should try to be more open-minded.

 Report Review

Review #25, by henryjonesHaunt My Dreams: The Department of Mysteries

4th May 2008:
so i dont really know why, but this story has always been rather intimidating to review. but its a really excelent story, so im going to try to get over my intimidation to get out this review.
so this chapter was really really really sad. but really amazing all the same. really well written. the characters seem very real, and i actually feel bad for them when bad things happen to them, or i feel happy when things are going well. well, there wasnt really all that much of that in this chapter, but...
although there was one thing that i didnt really get. if ledas harrys godmother and lived in grimauld place, why didnt she ever meet harry? only to avoid making it au?
please update soon! there was such a long wait before this chapter i had almost given up hope!

Author's Response: yeah i wanted to avoid making it au so i made leda go back to neil when harry was home for christmas. since she arrived in sept. after harry was already at school, there was no other chance for her to meet him before the dep. of mysteries because dumbledore didnt want harry to know wizards before he went to school and by then leda completely turned to a muggle life.
i tried to incoorperate sirus' depression in OotP towards the end of christmas holidays with him doubting leda was coming back. thanks a lot for your review and for your questions! reviewing shouldnt be intimidating hahah its always a compliment, even if its contructive crit. that someone wants to take the time to discuss your work


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>