Reading Reviews From Member: Daanana
  
237 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DaananaA Different Perspective: A Different Perspective

23rd August 2012:
Hi, Daanana here. First off, thank you for joining my challenge. And second, WOW! I loved this. It was such a subtle piece, yet blatantly obvious. You don't tell us much abut Adrian, but it feels like I've known him forever. Te language you use is just gorgeous and perfect for this story and for some reason I found myself wanting more at the end, while at the same time I felt like you had ended it on a perfect note.

I really, really liked this, from the portrayal of Sirius to Remus' little 'cameo'. Well done!

Author's Response: Hi! No worries, I loved writing it so in theory I should be thanking you for coming up with such a fantastic challenge!

I'm really glad therefore that you loved reading my entry and I'm so happy with all the comments you've made, making me blush haha!

Once again thank you and I hope you continue to enjoy reading the other entries! :)x


 Report Review

Review #2, by DaananaCapture the Dark : Betrayal

7th August 2012:
Wow. I saw 580 words and I thought to myself, short read, curious what can be said in so few words, but I should have known better. Everything can be said in few words.

This is absolutely heartbreaking. I can feel for Sirius. I don't just feel FOR Sirius, I actually feel him. Felt my life shatering apart. You just transported me into the mind of Sirius and for a moment I really felt like it was me experiencing this.

His guilt is so beautifully portrayed, especially in contrast to Peter's selfishness. I wasn't ready to die. That line really set the tone for me.

Truly, I am impressed. This piece was really powerful and I think the shortness only adds to it.

Well done!

Author's Response: Wow, this is such an amazing review! Thank you so much for your wonderfully kind words. Sirius is the most heartbreaking of all to me, so this piece really took a lot out. I'm so happy that you were able to feel everything I think Sirius did during those terrible minutes.

Thanks again!

Jami


 Report Review

Review #3, by DaananaLetters to Astoria: Birthday Booze

19th July 2012:
Sooo, I don't really read stories with Draco as the main character because I don't find him believable in many of them. Now, in this story, to me, he is still OOC, but for some reason, after getting through the first chapter and actually liking it, I find it believable. And this Astoria, the way you wrote her, is just the girl that could get the mighty Draco Malfoy insecure. I love her. I love them. And I really like this story. The party was fun, the House Elves are still there and most importantly, Astoria is still in the house, so I can't wait for the next chapter.

I'll be back to review again.

Author's Response: Yeah I'm the same way. I'm inclined to agree with you about him being OCC but I'm sooo happy you find it believable. He's the one I worry about the most to be honest. Aw, it's so nice to hear you love Astoria. It really means a lot to me to know you enjoyed it. Hopefully you will enjoy the next chapter as much!

Thanks so much for the awesome review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by DaananaThe Tale of Natasha Fielding: I. Of Being Late and Understatements

18th July 2012:
Sorry for the late review. I was wondering to leave a review for the first or last chapter, but then decided to just review all three and start here. So, Natasha .. She's lovable, in a stereotypical way. Because when I first started reading, I thought, 'oh, another one of those OC's', but then I continued and I started smiling and liking her until at the end of the chap I really, really liked her.

I just don't understand why Laney - who's a complete bitch by the way - would want her to be the first guest writer. Anyway. Liked this chapter. Off to the next.

Author's Response: Pssh, it's okay! Things can sometimes get so busy :p Thanks for reviewing this, by the way! Writing Natasha is so fun but so different because she's not like a regular OC - she's more normal and refreshing to write, so I'm glad you liked her :) Yes, Laney's not very nice, is she? She knows Natasha is good at writing and she knows that people like her enough so I suppose that's why she chose her - she wanted her success to be certain. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by DaananaA Mother's Tale (Task One challenge): A Mother's Tale

17th July 2012:
Oh my, I loved this. I really did. I held my breath throughout the entire piece. It almost felt like canon to me. Also, Narcissa only caring about her son is such a strong emotion.

Lucius' patronus, a peacock, is so fitting.

All in all, I loved the way you described things and your sentences flowed really well. I all read it all which usually is a problem for me, especially with one shots, since I tend to skip to the ending a lot, so yeah, 9/10 for this one.

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I am glad you liked this so much, and that you found it close to canon, and felt Narcissa's emotions were strong about her son :)

I am happy you liked the peacock patronus too, I was a little worried about that part.

Yay! Thanks a lot. your review really made me smile :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by DaananaDolche Vida: Ballet Dancing Pandas

10th July 2012:
So I came across this story through the forums and I fell in love with it the moment I started reading. Lavender is just so lovable, still the girl from the books yet grown up now. And Seamus, well, he's Seamus. He's just great. Please, do continue this story. I'm in love. 10/10

Btw, I'm pretty sure it's Parvati, not Parvarti ;)

Author's Response: I have been corrected so many times on Patil's name, I just can't win with her name. :)

Anyway, I'm glad you liked the story and I'm glad you found it! I really do like writing Lavender and Seamus, and it's nice to know that people enjoy the story. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by DaananaIt's Not Unusual: It's Still Not Unusual

10th July 2012:
This had me laughing out loud. I was browsing through your stories - found you through tag - and when I saw this title and the banner I knew I had to read it. And I'm glad I did. It's amazing!

All the cliches are there and I've read multiple Dramione parodies but none of them cracked me up like yours. Well done!

P.S. Loved Goyle ;)

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review, glad you enjoyed it! Unfortntely many of these themes are all too common...

 Report Review

Review #8, by DaananaThe Hufflepuff-Slytherin Incident: Part II

30th October 2011:
This chapter was amazing. It reads like I'm watching a movie - and yes, I know I'm contradicting myself here, but I can't stop watching your novel. Your writing style is brilliant; it makes me completely forget that I actually don't know anything about Joella who - essentially - is our main character. In fact, it feels like I'm reading from my POV. Joella who? I'm the main character here.

I'm probably not making any sense to you, but what I'm trying to say it that I get completely sucked into the story and I love it. I'm just praying to god - secretly - that you're not going to turn this into a Joella/Albus. Please don't.

Anyway, loving this. Together with Unhinged my favorite story on the archives. 10/10

Author's Response: I often see things that I write in my head like a movie, so I completely understand what you're saying! I started out with the idea of wanting to try a second person narrator, a person slightly outside of the action, mostly as an experiment, so I'm really really happy to see that it reads so well!

I promise, really, that this will not become Joella/Albus. That would be the worst match ever omg.

I'm happy you liked it and thanks for your review!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #9, by DaananaThe Hufflepuff-Slytherin Incident: Part I

3rd October 2011:
I'm pretty sure I'm in love with this story. The first chapter was so well written. Scorpius, of course, is hilarious; Albus pretty decent but the Hufflepuffs definitely steal the show. Amazing characterisation - did I spell that correctly? Also, your writing style is so easy to read. Really, brilliant!

10/10

Author's Response: The Hufflepuffs steal the show! This is the most wonderful thing anyone as ever told me. Thank you! They are very underloved. Scorpius is my favorite, of course, but he kind of demands attention anyway. Thank you again and I'm glad you found this a fun read!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #10, by DaananaCharm Those Words: Charm Those Words

24th August 2011:
Hi there,

I'm glad you posted the link in your status update, because otherwise I would've never found this. I'm normally not a Draco/Hermione reader - complicated coward and buck-toothed bookworm just doesn't tickly my fancy - but I like this one-shot.

Yes, it's not realistic - because no, no matter what people say, it will never happen in a potterverse written by JKR - but you make it believable AND entertaining.

I noticed you have another Draco/Hermione up, so I think I'm going to give that one a go as well.

9/10

Love,
Danielle

Author's Response: hey!! thanks so much for reading and reviewing!! And I know its never gonna happen in canon, but then what is Fanfiction for :D

I am glad you found it believable and entertaining!! thanks a lot! and by the way I read your Blaise/Lavendar (from your status update)!! It is also something that could never happen in canon, but you made it so awesome and believable too =D

Anyways thanks a lot!!! And I am happy you're gonna give my novel a shot!!

thanks!

cheers!
AD


 Report Review

Review #11, by DaananaUnhinged: Biased

22nd August 2011:
Yeah. When I started reading the first thing I thought was My Family. But you really made it your own. LOVED IT! Not a very constructive review, but hey, this chapter was perfect. Off to read the next.

Your dialogue is amazing, by the way.

Author's Response: haha, it definitely does have a ring of My Family. but more magical. i'm glad you thought so, and even gladder than you loved it!

psh, constructiveness is overrated (; i love being told my chapters are perfect :p KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK :')

thank you. i worry about my dialogue, mostly because i get caught up in it and then it gets too long and too off-topic and too rambly. so it's a relief to know you think it's good!

cheers for such a lovely review! ^^


 Report Review

Review #12, by DaananaHoley: Chapter Two

19th August 2011:
Well, the really long review will have to wait - it'll come after the third chapter, I promise - because I couldn't wait and had to read this chapter on my to work and are now letting you know - from my windows phone 7 which is a pain with the archives - that I loved this as well. George is so charming and just, you know, George.

Keep on going.

Love,
Danielle

 Report Review

Review #13, by DaananaHoley: Chapter One

19th August 2011:
Ohh yes, I simply adore this story. It's twist from the regular muggleborn goes to Hogwarts because for once the muggleborn isn't a scared but eerily beautiful girl but a little boy with an aunt who's just as scared and actually is the main character! Love it.

I'm definitely faving this and when I get home from work tomorrow I'll read the rest and leave a review that makes more sense than this.

10/10

Love,
Danielle

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! 'Holey' is a bit harder to write than my others :P


 Report Review

Review #14, by DaananaHow he loved her: Lily dead.

14th August 2011:
Hi there,

I'm way out of my comfort zone here .. sorry. But I do like it. It sets the tone nicely for the rest of the story.

[ never raise her hand to brush that amber hair out of her eyes, or turn to look at him with a smile.

But she wouldn’t have done any of those if she’d been alive either ]

Love these two lines. For me, they made the chapter a whole lot sadder - more sad? - because I could feel for Severus. It must've been so hard for him to "take care" of Harry. This is a tough subject to tackle, but so far you've done well.

This first chapter was well-written and really said all it needed to. Normally I'm the first to jump and scream: 600 words?! That's not a chapter. Make it longer! - yeah, I'm weird like that.

But here it's perfect. The shortness makes it even more powerful.

Let me know when you've updated this. Would love to read more.

Love,
Danielle

[review extravaganza
forum name: xdaanana
house: slytherin]

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing despite it not being in your comfort-zone:) the review made me really happy because I was kind of unsure about the whole plot and of the formatting (well, not unsure of the story but of what other's would think of it)

I used to think like that about chapter too but then I realised that a chapter can be as long as I want it to be... and with this story I'm aiming for short chapters showing Snapes feelings and dilemmas...

thank you so much again, really means alot :)

off to review something of yours now!

*huggles*


 Report Review

Review #15, by DaananaWhile You Were Sleeping: While You Were Sleeping

14th August 2011:
Oh wow. So powerful. I'd love to leave a really long review, discussing the story, pointing out some mistakes or whatever but I can't. This was just too perfect.

And it makes so much sense. The events Harry and his friends had to go through were traumatic. It would give every sane person nightmares and such.

This just really was a realistic, touching piece of work. I tip my hat to you.

Love,
Danielle

[review extravaganza
forum name: xdaanana
house: slytherin]

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you liked it! I put so much thought into the ideas behind this, but I still thought that they were a little weird, so it was good to hear that it all made sense!

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by DaananaJust Let Go: Just Let Go

14th August 2011:
Hi there,

This was a beautifully written story. It was so sad, yet it ended on a note of joy. Or, you know, hope.

I love the way you portrayed Draco. How you described the people around him treating him, only remembering what he did in sixth year, and then Ginny saying she wanted to feel that way too, but she didn't, immediately set the tone.

Also, him simply asking to talk to her again, almost had me in tears! This Draco is far away from the proud boy in the books, but he is the sad boy at the end of the movie and last book and it's so easy to feel sorry for him, even though he somewhat did it to himself - yes, under pressure, but still.

Truly, I loved this!

Love,
Danielle

[review extravaganza
forum name: xdaanana
house: slytherin]

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely review. It really made my day to see it! I had worked hard on this little one-shot, and to have someone review it (especially a nice one like this) just makes me happy!!

I was really interested to figure out what happened between the last battle and the epilogue where the trio and draco acknowledge each other, so this was sort of supposed to be my rendition of why and the effects the battle had on them!! I'm glad you like my characterizations, and your reactions were exactly what I was going for.

Thank you so much again!! :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by DaananaOn The Hogwarts Express: Let the Insanity Ensue

14th August 2011:
Hi there,

This was an entertaining read. It was very well-written and the pace was just perfect. Not too fast, not too slow. I like the little hints you've given us about both Scorpius' Rose's personality.

We really don't know them yet and without blatantly telling us, you showed us bits of what they were like. Well done!

I foresee many midnight rendezvous between the two of them at Hogwarts. Can't wait to read about it all.

Love,
Danielle

[review extravaganza
forum name: xdaanana
house: slytherin]

Author's Response: Danielle,

Thanks so much for leaving such a great review! :) I'm glad you think it as entertaining, well-written, and that you liked the pacing! I took my time writing this (I got the idea about a year ago! woah) and I think it paid off. Thanks for leaving the fabulous review!

-KBD


 Report Review

Review #18, by DaananaSecond Place: Second Place

13th August 2011:
Not really what I expected, but I like it. Too bad it's short. The story just kind of .. stops. Will you write more or is this just it? I think it would be interesting to see what happens next.

But on the other hand .. you can also just let us use our imagination.

I just didn't really get this sentence:

“Of course I wanted you to win, but you didn’t lose either, really, did you? The first Tri-Wizard, one of the champions was killed. You, on the other hand, are alive and-”

The rest; perfect. Well done.

Love,
Danielle

[review extravaganza
forum name: xdaanana
house: slytherin]

Author's Response: Thanks so much! :) I know it kinda stops, and I hope to pick it up again one day, if the plot bunny returns to me!

 Report Review

Review #19, by DaananaBusiness, pleasure, and maintaining our friendship.: Prologue

13th August 2011:
Oooh, I like! Normally I review novels/novellas only once there are a couple more chapters up, but I really like this prologue.

I despise Sirius/OC stories but the voice of your OC just appeals to me. I like her, therefore I like this story. Couldnt find any major mistakes, all just flows nicely and really fits the mood I get when reading it.

Also, James is brilliant.

"Going so soon?"

That really cracked me up. Can't wait for the next chapter. Favorite, yeah.

Love,
Danielle

[review extravaganza
forum name: xdaanana
house: slytherin]

Author's Response: Thanks alot for the review! Sorry it has taken so long to respond!

Im glad you like my oc! She's a pretty complicated character who turns out to have a good bit of interesting backstory in later chapters so stay tuned ;)

And you gotta love James Potter dont you?

Thanks so much for the review! I really appreciate it! :)

Your inspiring!

Ladybella


 Report Review

Review #20, by DaananaThis Could Prove To Be Very Useful: A Time Travel Chapter

13th August 2011:
The idea is great and I love the setting you've created, but just as I've gotten all into the story, the chapter's finished ..

You might want to make it a tad bit longer. Might extent the prank James and Sirius pulled on Filch a bit. Now it's basically one sentence telling us there was fireworks and exploding cat food and that was it. I think you could delve deeper into that.

I do like the story, however. And I can't wait to see what youre going to do with it. Off to the next chapter!

Love,
Danielle

[review extravaganza
forum name: xdaanana
house: slytherin]

Author's Response: I really do appreciate your opinion it means a lot to me. I think you are right about making it longer and my brother thinks so too. I will think and mull over the idea of adding to the story, but right now I am working on three others (in my notebook so they are not on the site yet) Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #21, by DaananaLike Father, Like Son: Platform 9 3/4

13th August 2011:
Hmm, Scorpius befriending James instead of Albus. I'm guessing this is AU then, since Scorpius started school the same year as Albus, right?

Anyway, I like this twist. So far so good.

Also an eleven year old James asking his mother to change the law so his best friend can come to Hogwarts. So cute!

I like this far and am curious to see what you're going to do with it. Keep up the good work!

Love,
Danielle

[review extravaganza
forum name: xdaanana
house: slytherin]

 Report Review

Review #22, by DaananaMoving On: i.

13th August 2011:
OhmydearMerlin. I almost cried. I'm way too emotional. I don't know. It was really short, but for some reason you managed to convey a lot of emotion without telling the story from George's POV.

Wow.


“Mum,” it was one of the first words George had spoken all night. “Everyone. I want you to sing to Fred as well, please.”

Really loved that line. Reall, you did a great job. Just remember to watch your spacing and such!

Love,
Danielle

[review extravaganza
forum name: xdaanana
house: slytherin]

Author's Response: aw, what a sweet review! stuff like that is what makes me want to write. thanks so much!
x


 Report Review

Review #23, by DaananaThe Quidditch Bet : and they told me i don’t need to worry

13th August 2011:
So, I still like the story and the characters, but I have my pet peeves so I'm going to complain first - not really complaining, just mentioning certain things.

Ari and Avril are both Americans at Hogwarts? Or Ari is Australian, I didn't quite get that. But still. Why?

Why exactly - really exactly - does Sarah hate James? Did something happen?

Also, I don't know where you want to go with this story yet, but the first chap was introductory and in the second chap not much really happened, you were still introducing characters, so might be a good idea to merge the chapters..?

But, I'm getting ahead on things.

Might seem like I'm complaining, but really, I'm not. I love this story and I love Sarah. Can't wait for the next update.

Author's Response: Well, this chapter is more of a filler, then anything else; just wanted to introduce the last two Hufflepuffs.

Ari is from America, but she moved to London before she started school (I haven't decided why quite yet), but she has family in Australia (yeah, she's quite multi-cultural). I might add more into this story about that, or into another story that I might write once I get this one up and going. And Avril is from London, though that part should be fixed by now.

And I actually plan on writing a prequel to this story as well, or at least, I might write a flashback chapter soon. The thing is I haven't quite decided what exactly happened between Sarah & James yet. But, I know it's something horrific (at least, in Sarah's mind). Actually, now that I think about it, I'm just going to do a little editing, and add a small bit of that into chapter 3.

These are not complaints, it's constructive criticism, which is something that every writer needs to get better, and I really do appreciate these comments. It means a lot to me, that not only do you take the time to read my stories, and review, but to point out things that you've really noticed are not quite right, no matter how small they seem to be. Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #24, by DaananaThe Quidditch Bet : this year is gonna be incredible

13th August 2011:
Oh, a Hufflepuff story! Brilliant. I'm a Slytherin by heart but I think the archives house way too few stories starring Hufflepuffs. They're the Forgotten House. The Underrated Students. But now you're here with a leading character from Hufflepuff who is a girl all can relate to and seems really normal. Not extremely sarcastic and witty, or incredibly beautiful and athletically built. Simply the girl next door. I love her!

Also, I love the fact that you write in first person, but don't fall into rambling. You see that with most stories written in first person. Authors try to be witty and funny, resulting in unnecessary rambling which is okay in fanfiction, but still .. unnecessary. You don't have that - I do, I'm rambling right now - and this makes me really love your writing style.

Just one question. Dominique is in Hufflepuff? I just have this idea that she's .. well. I don't know. I just never read a story before where she's in Hufflepuff. We'll see how that's going to work out. Either way, it's creative and original ;)

Love,
Danielle

[review extravaganza
forum name: xdaanana
house: slytherin]

Author's Response: I agree; there aren't many stories out there a with main characters in Hufflepuff. Although it's not my favorite house, I do feel certain that if I were to be sorted, I would be in Hufflepuff, so I just felt like that would be best.

I'm glad you really like Sarah; she's been a working character in my head for a good eight years (since the fifth book came out), and I've been trying my hardest not to make her a mary-sue.

I'm super glad that you like my writing style, as well; I find it extremely difficult to write in first person, because I do tend to ramble on way to much, but I felt like this story needed to be written in that way, and so I'm glad my rambling hasn't gotten on to paper to much.

Yes, Dominique is in Hufflepuff. I guess there isn't much more I can say about that, except for the fact that the reason she's in that house is because she's not as 'one-sided' as most Gryffindors, if that makes sense? Like, she's not so closed minded as I see James, and the other Gryffindors are, I guess... Please, tell me if that doesn't make any sense.

Anyway, thanks for reading and reviewing the story, and I'm glad you liked it.


 Report Review

Review #25, by DaananaA Midnight Chat: The Black Brothers

12th August 2011:
Well, you shouldn't say this one-shot is pointless, because second of all - yes, second of all - it scares away readers and first all - reverse psychology ;) - this isn't pointless at all.

It's actually a good piece of writing. You might be pushing it with Sirius having slept with all the girls twice, though I understand that's probably just what people - including Regulus - think of him.

Even though it was a short, I think it was powerful. A quick glimpse into life with the Blacks.

You're really selling yourself short calling this pointless. I loved it!

Love,
Danielle

[review extravaganza
forum name: xdaanana
house: slytherin]

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>