Reading Reviews From Member: Agatha_OGrady
  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Sect of the Serpent: Suspicion

15th June 2005:
OK, your Rowling deadpan is getting a little scary. But sometimes...gah, I don't know quite how to say it. Sometimes perfect isn't exactly perfect. There was nothing wrong with this chapter. At all. The pacing was handled expertly, the revelations were parceled out in incrementally precise doses, the tone was controlled with finesse. And yet, I just wasn't grabbed and held by it the way I have been by your best work. There was little incandescence, little...hmm. Excitement isn't the right word. You know the difference between watching a thoroughbred do exactly what it was designed to do, and a wild horse running? It was kind of like that. Be a little more wild and playful next time. Even if it means you make some missteps, those missteps are usually more fun to read. I hope you don't interpret this review as negative because that's not how it was meant; suffice it to say I know how good a writer you are, and as a selfish reader I always want to read you on your A game.

Author's Response: Your observations are spot on, you know that? And I think I can tell you why you weren't feeling this chapter: it's because I wasn't feeling it either. Good to know that I can go through the motions and come out with a passable result, but I totally feel what you were saying. Here's hoping the next one will feel more fluid and passionate.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Sect of the Serpent: Speechless

24th November 2004:
A plot catch-up chapter, and not a bad thing eityher...my next two are going to be t

Author's Response: tuh.... No! Don't leave me hanging!!! =)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Sect of the Serpent: The Sect of the Serpent

24th November 2004:
When I was a child, I caught a fleeting glimpse of distant ships on the horizon...oh, and I'm going to head right on, but I HAVE to mention a little bit about the nice, pseudofreudian dream sequence which I forgot to put in mine. Running his hands across the curves of the violin....niiice. So, maybe I'll be getting my wish? Huh? Huh? :)

Author's Response: HA! I was hoping someone would get that... Actually looked up the symbols in my dream dictionary! Ha!! Go you!! You get a cookie!!!!!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Sect of the Serpent: World on Fire

24th November 2004:
Very very good, as always...Reading your story reminds me of just how far my supposedly canon story has strayed from the tropes which made me love Harry Potter in the first place. Don't get me wrong, I like my story, but yours is making a wonderful change of pace. It is late, I have to get up early, yet i can't stop reading...I have no idea why you haven't been made a featuredstory yet.

Author's Response: Heh. Well, if you'd like to reccomend me, be my guest!! =D (Actually, I think people read the first chapter or so and get turned off by Gwyn. Too many stories have done terrible horrible things bringing in American witches, and people get scared off!!)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Sect of the Serpent: Calming the Storm

24th November 2004:
"I love it when you talk dirty," a reporter named Erin Braugh (you sly dog) and a beautiful romantic interlude IN BOTH SENSES OF THE WORD? What are you doing writing fanfiction? And the answer to that had better be either "Preparing to take the writing world by storm" or "I'm in the Witness Protection Program." I can't even believe I'm saying this, but I might actually be happy if this story broke canon and went for the R rating...those two make a hot duo. Keep goinmng!

Author's Response: ROTFL! Well, I'm not in the witness protection program. =D Fan fiction, for me, became a way to get out of the four year creative dry spell I had been suffering (oddly enough, college will do that to a person). One day the plot just came to me, and Gwyn showed up, and then Demetria, and I just started writing! And now it's taken on a life of its own and become epic in length, and is getting a tad out of hand, but I still love it. But, to answer your question, I do have an original novel idea in its pre-production stages. =) As for the R rating (you dirty birdy!!), I really struggled almost hitting PG-13 with ch. 22 (though not for the reasons you might hope!), so who knows? Maybe I'll write a separate one shot just for you!! Hee hee.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Sect of the Serpent: The Flying Lions

24th November 2004:
Bundy??? Interesting choice for a last name...I thought Ron would have coaching bug in him myself. I definitely like Lindell, and it was nice to have a bit of a break from Gwynn. Another great chapter!

Author's Response: Haha. I was wondering if anyone would catch that. In Quidditch Through the Ages, a student named K. Bundy checked out the book (from the list in the front cover). I made his Cannons Star uncle Klete "Bludger-Blooter" Bundy, thus, the nephew is William Bundy. Ha! So, actually, JKR is to blame for Bundy, not me. =) Yeah, I like to take a break from her now and then, because she isn't the main character after all....

 Report Review

Review #7, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Sect of the Serpent: Hearts of Stone

24th November 2004:
And again with the double-entendre chapter titles. Very nice. Nice lovelorn stuff going on...poor Hermione. And ppor Gwyn; this story does a great job of showing the disjunction an outsider would feel if entering into the smotionally fraught atmosphere of Hogwarts. Other than that, DELICIOUS Willy Wonka reference at the beginning; I wondwer why the door didn't have a musical lock ??? :) cvontinuing on...

Author's Response: Oh! Such drama in this chapter! I love the gargoyles. =D And I love that you used the word lovelorn. Hee hee hee. Your reviews have just made my whole WEEK!!!!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Sect of the Serpent: Feeling Defensive

24th November 2004:
NOT a personality I would have considered adding to the already-volatile Hogwarts cocktail, but I can already tell I'll enjoy reading about Professor Lindell (btw, that letys me know which story you submitted to Writer's Duel...and I did vote for you.) I don't have too much else to say here, it was a good chapter, and I want ot hed right on.

Author's Response: I think Demetria is one of my favorite characters I have ever written. =) She's definitely a little bit of me... (Thanks for the Vote!!!!) I'm coming to realize that she doesn't have a whole lot to do at first, but I've got big plans for her later on. =)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Sect of the Serpent: Charming

24th November 2004:
Oh! Magical pseudoscience! You've warmed my cockles! careful though...Gwyn is starting to veer into Mary Sue territory again, despite the fact that she's done what everyone wants to sdee, and told off Snape. Oh, and tres, funny last line....and is it just me, but do i detect a hint of jealousy in Hermione??? For what I wonder??? You haveme on pins and needles...

Author's Response: Ha! I knew you were going to say that. This is my LEAST favorite chapter, and honestly, if I ever go back and revise this thing, I may excise it entirely -- although, I do have a soft spot for the pseudoscience too! *see Demetria!!* Cockles... Hee hee hee...

 Report Review

Review #10, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Sect of the Serpent: Neville's Nightmares

24th November 2004:
You've really achieved some honest emotional gravitas here...I hate to sound unctuous, but I can tell you're older than many people who write here, and from one gorwn-up to another, that's nice to read. And thank you for my shout-out! Awww. The first part, the Neville stuff, was great. Pioor neville. I had such big plans for him in my fic and lately he's seemed to fall by the wayside. A shame really; glad to see you won't be making the same mistake. And wit the second part, the Gwyn/Harry/Draco thing...I think you may have cheated yourself of an opportunity for drama, and perhaps been a little dishonest to your characters, by having her come out so clearly so soon for Harry. Maybe you're going to mix this up later, but I would have rathered see Our hero sweat for a while...but then, I've been told I'm mean to my characters. Another A+ chapter!

Author's Response: Haha. For a while, I thought I was the oldest person out here!! =) As you can tell, I am a HUGE Neville fan. I was talking to someone the other day about how you always identify best with one of your characters, and honestly, I think Neville is it for me... Or maybe Remus... =) You may be right about the G/H/D tension that I should have strungit out longer, but I honestly just couldn't picture Gwyn going for a guy like Draco. He's too smarmy for her. Anyway, I think you'll agree that the drama doesn't go away, despite her rejection of him.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Sect of the Serpent: Fame's Fickle Friend

24th November 2004:
Yaaagh...seriously, it boggles my mind that you don't get more attention than you do. This chapter was excellent...really showed me up in terms of slavish adherence to canon. This was more "old-school" potter-verse though...I felt like this could have been a lost chapter from Goblet of Fire. It's wonderful to read from another wtiter who shares my fondness for throwaway details...I myself had been wondering if Muggle is a word that crosses language lines, and now I knowe it isn't. Unfortunately, now that means I have to figure out what they call Muggles in Germany...Shisse. So what's up with Gweyn's cat anyway? As always, beautiful work, and I'm heading straight on.

Author's Response: THANK YOU!!! Wow! From a high roller like yourself, that is high praise!! =) Oh man, I have had such fun thinking about what the American wizard world might be like... I hope I get a chance to throw in a few more details like that before it's all over. As for "slavish adherence to canon," well... That was the whole point for me in writing this. I wanted people to feel like it really *could* be the next book in the series (even though she released the title right after I started and screwed me all up...). =)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Forest of Shadows: Disruption in the Grounds

24th November 2004:
Man, I had a FEELING that was Krum! A sort of test of bravery, resourcefulness, and skill is a GREAT idea to get into the Order; I might actually like it better than the Phoenix vow. And how sweet that Hagrid is getting married! Poor Fang...very true moment. Don't make us wait so long for your next chapter, you hear??? Not that I'm one to talk or anything, but still... :)

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! I've been having some computer troubles, and seriously considered quitting this fic, but now I found chapter 9 back so I should be ok... working on it now...

 Report Review

Review #13, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Sect of the Serpent: The Best Birthday Ever

15th August 2004:
You're right. This was light and airy as a great birthday cake, and that's just fine with me. Nice touches with Hermione's mixed emotions on finally seeing how the Dursleys treat Harry...again, I'm really enjoying this.

Author's Response: Thank you! Yeah, that chapter was just a bit of fluff before things get serious. That's one of the things I most admire about JKR: her ability to know when we need a bit of comic relief. =D Can't thank you enough for the nice long reviews. They are priceless!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Sect of the Serpent: The Last Straw

15th August 2004:
Wow...it's almost like you read my last review before I wrote it. The increased focus on action with more dialogue and a more standard Harry characterization improved this chapter immeasurably. You've written the scene everyone wants to see; Harry beating the living daylights out of Dudley. Why didn't I think of that? :) Anyway, keep up the good work!

Author's Response: The way I see it, Dudley has had it coming for a while now... So glad you liked this chapter better. I feel like maybe I was getting into more of a rythem. Thank you SO MUCH for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Sect of the Serpent: The Heat

15th August 2004:
there is a lot to recommend this chapter. For starters, I'm really a fan of double-entendre chapter titles, and this one's a doozy. However, there are some characterization issues which keep it from really, shall we say, catching fire. I'm a little concerned at this point that Gwyn might become a Mary Sue--she's hot and beats up bullies AND pays for ice cream? What next, saving puppies from burning buildings? And Harry. It's true, most guys go through a bit of a quantum leap at about sixteen when they realize that (gasp!) there are such things as clothes, but you might have pushed Harry too far in the fashionista direction. A little more restraint in characterization, and a little more emphasis on characterization, and I think you have the beginnings of a great story here.

Author's Response: Yes, looking back on that first chapter, I can see Gwyn through Mary-Sue colored glasses. Unfortunately, I wrote that chapter right after discovering the world of fan fiction (and anxious to become a part of it) and I actually had to look up the defenition of Mary Sue when someone told me Gwyn was one. Thankfully, I think she matures into a more well-rounded character as she goes. You'll have to let me know if you agree...

 Report Review

Review #16, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Forest of Shadows: Death Eater at Privet Drive

15th August 2004:
This is the best chapter you've written in any of your stories, bar none. It's the only one to which I'm giving a 10, because I'm just not a 10 kind of girl, but this deserves it. It's short, but that's not a criticism necessarily; it say exactly what needs to be there and nothing else. I'm dying to know what happens next...I can't believe Bellatrix would let him go that easily. Hurry up, you bilingual fiend!

Author's Response: triligual, actually :) lol, I'm glad you liked it, because I feel like hiding under a rock after having read your spectabulous chapter 9...

 Report Review

Review #17, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Green Flame Torch: Saved By Hermione

3rd August 2004:
I think the coolest thing about your fanfiction is that you've managed to take everything we like about Harry Potter and sort of concentrate it. It's like a japanese line painting; Dumbledore's conversation, for example, might not be as long or involved as we're used to, but you include enough to give us the shape of his thought processes and remind us of why we like it in the first place. Almost a return to the form we all first enjoyeed in Sorcerer's Stone. This chapter was a particularly good example of that, being as it included the Dursleys, Dumbledore, Luna, mysteries solved, angsty teenage emoting...the whole kitten kaboodle. :) I'm really going to miss this story when it's finished. You'd better write something else stat! Oh, and BTW, Labyrinth. 1983 children's fantasy classic. David Bowie, the Muppets and a freakishly young Jennifer Connelly. Go see it.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Shield of Grindelwald: The Ultimatum

3rd August 2004:
RESPONSE TO MARAUDER4EVA: Thanks for your comments. Unfortunately, you're not showing up in my review section. You're right though. Poor Neville, he always gets left by the wayside. We'll do something about that, though, don't worry.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Green Flame Torch: And Thus, With A Kiss, I Fly

2nd August 2004:
THIS CHAPTER ROCKS! I loved loved loved the bit with the Crumple-Horned Snorkack. Perfect! (Except, Luna does say in order that they can't fly. I don't care, it was awesome.) I don't know if this reference will mean anything to you because I don't know how old you are, but the snorkack reminded me of Ludo from The Labyrinth. And the kiss was beautiful...so touching. GREAT job. I only rated the last chapter 9 so I could rate this 10.

Author's Response: THEY CANT FLY?! eeks! my fault for not reading carefully. anyway, thanks for telling me. It's a little late now, though, lol. I don't know who Ludo might be... Probably has little to do with my age (16), I'm simply clueless. You liked the kiss? *sigh* i decided to make that part extra-cheesy...

 Report Review

Review #20, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Green Flame Torch: A Matter Of Blood

2nd August 2004:
Holy censored, honey. This I didn't expect. HOW is Gryffindor blood in Voldemort? I have recently been working on my own wizarding geneology for my book and I would be interested to see how they compare...think you may have a unique direction here. I really liked this.

Author's Response: lol. Well, I actually failed to put this into the story because I thought it was obvious... In book four, Voldemort uses Harry's blood to rise again. Since Harry is Gryffindor's heir, Voldemort's blood has supposedly been tainted with it.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Green Flame Torch: Too Late

15th July 2004:
Excellent chapter and well worth the wait...beta reader my eye. You write well without any crutches. I definitely didn't see this coming...I'm very interested to see where it goes. This was awesome, dearie.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Darkest Abyss: Thrice Defied

5th July 2004:
I just read your entire fanfic. Wow. My eyes are burned and my mind is blown...you're obviously a writer and well in command of your Rowlingese. The only comment I have is this; you've written a sixth year story, no doubt about that. The issues facing the trio are thornier, the broblems more nebulous and the solutions less direct--a lot like being sixteen in any Muggle world. But it seems as though the characters, and the characterizations, are still more reminiscent of fifth year and don't characterize a lot of growth. Remember how different Harry was from Goblet of Fire into Order of the Phoenix? I'm not seeing the same sort of quantum leap here, one which would make all your actions and plot points that much more arresting. Perhaps consider what the events of last year would have done to the characters internally (and by this I don't mean just Harry, I mean all the others as well). Again, I need to say great story, and I will be excited for an update.

Author's Response: Wow, thanks for your long review. I always like those. I'll make sure to add a little more character growth in the future.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Agatha_OGradyHarry Potter and the Green Flame Torch: Finding Your Centre

17th June 2004:
Well, it's me, Michalina who just gave you the long review! As you can see, I have a pen name and an account now. I have also published the first chapter of my fanfiction, called "Harry Potter and the Shield of Grindelwald." I'd love your opinion! And thanks for replying to my review, it gave me a perspective on fanfiction I didn't have before. I look forward to your upcoming chapters!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login