Reading Reviews From Member: witch_in_training
  
113 Reviews Found

Review #1, by witch_in_trainingThe Touch of New: Sometimes We Need a Little Change

10th September 2010:
Hey Zinny!

The entire thing was absolutely gorgeous, of course, but the ending part made my heart flutter a little. I loved how you described her reasoning after she said yes, not before. And that she loved it just because she loved him.

I don't have much to say, just wanted to let you know that I loved this ♥

Sami

Author's Response: Sami! ♥

Thank you so much, I can't tell you how much your liking this means to me! I pulled the idea for the end from some of my own experiences, so to hear that it worked well in this is completely fantastic.

I'm thrilled you like this lovely! It was stellar of you to review this!

xx


 Report Review

Review #2, by witch_in_trainingThe Divide That Corrupts Us: Prologue

22nd August 2010:
I feel like a horrible Ravenclaw for taking this long to review this!

I loved this as an introduction to the main story; I can just see Helena's ghost and her conversation with Flitwick. It feels a bit strange reading this when I already know the outlines of each chapter and the way the plot forms, but I'm interested to see it in story format and how each author puts their own style into the chapters. Like I said, this was a very nice way to set it all off.

Sami

 Report Review

Review #3, by witch_in_trainingTrue Gryffindor: Courage

20th August 2010:
This adds so much depth to that scene! I never considered that Neville must have felt like he did the wrong thing by trying to stop Harry, Ron, and Hermione. It was very observant of you to come to this conclusion. And the part where Dumbledore remembers having to fight Grindelwald... fantastic detail. You seem to have an eye for that sort of thing.

Loved the entire idea behind this! Neville and Dumbledore were very believably in-character, and it was just so heartwarming.

Sami

Author's Response: Thank you for the really sweet compliments and reviews. I'm glad that you enjoyed the story and characterizations. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #4, by witch_in_trainingBright Heart: Hubrecht.

19th August 2010:
Hey Miranda!

I absolutely loved how Hubrecht, despite hating spiders so much, was upset to see one die. I think that just sounds so like something a true Hufflepuff would feel, and being the son of Helga Hufflepuff, it's perfect for him.

I've never read a "Founders' kids" story before, in all honesty, or even much Founders, but I thought it was wonderful for the time period (brilliant descriptions, too), and so heartbreaking at the end. Just out of curiosity, where did you get the name Godefe? I've never heard it before, and I was wondering maybe what it meant/where it originated. -is a nerd-

Sami

Author's Response: YAY!! and Hello, thank you for reviewing!

I'm so glad you asked about her name. It occurred to me while I was creating Godric's sister that in books about that time period, a lot of family member's had similar names. So, I looked up Godric which is an Old English name meaning "power of God." So then i went to a babynames site, did a meaning (god), origin (English, Welsh, Germanic, etc), and first letter search, and Godefe was an Old English name that popped up meaning "gift of God". I liked the strong ring it had to it, so there you have it. I'm a nerd, too and am super excited that someone was interested in the name!

Thanks again for the review and the compliments!

Miranda


 Report Review

Review #5, by witch_in_trainingSmile: smile though your heart is breaking

19th August 2010:
Georgia, how dare you have such a deceivingly happy banner (and beginning) for such a tragic story! I was not expecting the ending WHATSOEVER. Then again, I didn't really expect how Shutter Island turned out, so that's fair; although I at least had a brief thought that not all was how it seemed in the movie. Not so much here.

The last line just about killed me. Well, the entire last portion, but especially the last line.

So very heartbroken for Ariadne... (I was wondering if you stole from Inception, glad you added the Disclaimer :P).

Sami

 Report Review

Review #6, by witch_in_trainingMonster: Monster

18th August 2010:
Wow. That's... awful. How can someone be so horribly prejudiced? I wanted to hit the Auror the whole time, for being so unreasonable and harsh.

And poor Remus -- absolutely everyone he loves is gone now, and he's getting blamed for it! The ending... again, wow. It just hits you right in the stomach. I really wonder what the Auror had to say to that, but it was a perfect line to end with.

Lovely entry, Miranda! Loved the prompt usage :)

Sami

Author's Response: Hello and thanks so much!!

Yeah, isn't he awful. Originally, the Auror wasn't supposed to be so inhumane, but I got the idea for the last line and keeping the indentity of the prisoner more or less secret, and it kind of sprung from there. But, it was odd writing from the perspective of such a nasty piece of work.

Empathy is one of those things I'm always striving for as an author, and I'm glad this short little one shot left you with an emotional reaction. And I thought it would be a unique take on the prompt!

Thanks so much again!

Miranda


 Report Review

Review #7, by witch_in_trainingDreaming: The Crumple-Horned Snorkack

18th August 2010:
I've actually read this before, which means I've read, enjoyed, and not reviewed -- sorry. D: I'm here to make amends!

You know, I can't say I've ever heard of Founders fluff before, but you succeeded in making this fluffy and realistic at the same time. Rowena's and Salazar's wit is wonderful. And the ambiguity of it all! I was actually kind of smirking partway through; that may just be nerdiness on my part, though.

Brilliant idea, and well-executed!

Sami

Author's Response: That's okay! I'll forgive you for not reviewing the first time around, if you'll forgive me for not responding right away.

I'm glad it was Fluffy Realism. Maybe I should start an art movement here. I think that'd be fun. In all seriousness, I'm very glad that you thought it worked out. I was concerned that people would be unwilling to take this flight of fancy with me.

Thank you very much.


 Report Review

Review #8, by witch_in_trainingActor: Actor

18th August 2010:
Haha, aww! I'm usually not huge on fluff, but this was cute. I know this wasn't the point, but I kind of felt bad for Albus, since he was the only one who wasn't in on anything =P Well, he THOUGHT he was...

The line from Glee made me laugh. XD You slipped it in at the perfect time. It might be kind of cliché for Scorpius to be a 'stud,' but that doesn't mean I can't enjoy it, right? ;)

Sami

Author's Response: Haha! I guess near the end-ish he was more part of it, but I've never really felt too bad for Albus in this story.

But heh, that's mean and cruel author for you!

And don't let me stop you from enjoying the cliches! I'm glad you enjoyed the story !! :D

~foundriapenguin


 Report Review

Review #9, by witch_in_trainingThree Reasons Why: Just Another Laurie

18th August 2010:
Hey Zinny!

This adds so much more depth to Charlie, and why he moved all the way to Romania. Yeah, sure, working with dragons is fun and all, but it makes you wonder if he couldn't have found something equally as exciting closer to home. Of course, if you throw Remus and Tonks into the mix this way, close to home is exactly the last thing he'd want.

I love Charlie's thoughts in parentheses, especially when he's correcting Tonks on how long it's been since they've talked, and when he's horrified that Remus calls her Dora.

This was sweet, sad, and beautiful. I feel awful for Charlie, even though I can't bring myself to feel angry at Remus or Tonks. It just goes to show, you never know who might get hurt by someone else's happiness.

Have a lovely day!

Sami

Author's Response: Sami, lovely! I'm so glad you gave this a read!

I always thought there was an extra something to Charlie, and you're spot-on! Romania is such a far off (and random) place, and I was silently theorizing as I was reading the whole series that Tonks was a driving force in his traveling their for work. Because really, it just makes SO much sense! XD

I'm glad you liked the parenthesis! I dunno where they came from really, but I suppose that's how I imagine Charlie's brain working - scattered thoughts that just sort of pop up here and there. Am I making sense? I don't think I am. :P

Oddly enough, I don't dislike Remus/Tonks together. I resent Tonks a bit - that's true, but I love Remus too much too actually hate the one thing that makes him happy. Of course, Charlie/Tonks is just all sorts of perfection (if she had been smart :P) and yep, the whole 'someone else's happiness' bit is exactly what I was going for.

Thanks so much for the review, lovely, I really appreciate it!

x


 Report Review

Review #10, by witch_in_trainingStill Delicate: Turning Tables

17th August 2010:
Oh, wow. This chapter had a way of blurring my opinion of certain characters! And all without any of them actually becoming out-of-character. I think it's great that Rose doesn't blame Daisy, and WOW Scorpius is being a jerk!

Amazing, as always, and while it's not a huge horrible cliffhanger like last time, I still can't wait for the next chapter =D.

 Report Review

Review #11, by witch_in_trainingThe Final Battle: What Is Most Important

17th August 2010:
That was sweet. :) I've never seen a fic where the Malfoys actually make this decision up-front. I like that Lucius chose his family over Voldemort. I wasn't expecting that.

I never imagined that Narcissa would anyone, not even Lucius, that Harry was alive until Harry actually showed it for himself, but I suppose it could have happened, and it fits with the story's idea that Lucius finds his family more important.

The only thing I have qualms about is the use of capitalization instead of italicizing. It looks neater when you use italics to stress a word. ;)

Sami

 Report Review

Review #12, by witch_in_trainingCommitted: Day Fifteen

17th August 2010:
Another brilliant chapter. Is it sad that the chapter summary itself had me laughing? =P And then the full scene with June -- oh my...

No one's very grateful for anything Hugo does for them, are they? First Rose glares at him for stopping her fall last chapter, and then Al punches him for getting him a date. Lovely family.

Poor Hugo. Four weeks of life missing now. And from the looks of what he ordered at the pub, he might not remember much of that night, either.

Moving on...

Sami

 Report Review

Review #13, by witch_in_trainingWinner Takes All: Now It's History

17th August 2010:
You have no idea how long I've been meaning to read this, and now I'm finally here to both read and review. :) Finally.

I love how different this is from most Rose/Scorpius tales. From most love stories in general, actually. Scorpius isn't willing to do whatever it takes to be with Rose; he won't go after her, or even wait for her. And Rose isn't willing to do anything so that she can marry him, not if it means giving up her dreams of adventure.

Of course, it's you, so the writing is beautiful by default. :P Some of my favorite lines (though it's hard to choose!) were 'The spoiled little boy still lurked within him, ready to burst out in tears and pleas when his desires were unfulfilled.' and 'Together, they would have been the most perfect match to come out of Hogwarts since the original Lily and James Potter.'

These might seem like strange favorites, so I'll explain. I loved the first one because it recognizes that Scorpius is not the polar opposite of his father as seen in some fics. Obviously he's different, but he's not absolutely everything that Draco wasn't, or absolutely nothing that Draco was.

And the second line I loved because it infers that while they could have been perfect together, Rose wasn't willing to make them perfect. At least, that's what I got out of it.

I'll be coming back to this soon (I hope)!

Sami

Author's Response: Really? Wow, it's strange to think of this story as popular and on reading lists - it started in this form as a bit of a joke to turn the Scorose cliches on their head, but it's become something rather more serious since, and it's hard to get my head around that.

I wanted to make Scorpius a Malfoy, a real Malfoy, and that meant tearing the ship to shreds, forcing both him and Rose to grow up and decide who they really are, and what they really want. Not to mention that it's fun writing Scorpius in this way - he's positively evil at some points, yet has the potential to be the complete opposite, but the choice is entirely up to him.

Thanks very much for reading and reviewing! I look forward to seeing what you think about the rest of the story! :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by witch_in_trainingCommitted: Day Four

16th August 2010:
Aww, loved the sibling love between Hugo and Rose. You know, when Rose wasn't snapping at him or threatening bodily injury. And your Rose isn't oh-my-God-fantastically-good-at-EVERYTHING, as demonstrated by the line about Transfiguration, so that's good. Not that I doubted your ability to make believeable characters. =P

Also: the appearance of not only one of the mental patients, but also Molly, Lily, Lorcan, and Louis! The steady trickle of familiar Next Gen names, rather than a whole section of one chapter bombarding me with everyone's names at once, is refreshing.

Brilliant as always, Molly! (Why haven't I read this before?)

Sami

 Report Review

Review #15, by witch_in_trainingGood Night, Severus: The Sorting of Students

16th August 2010:
That last line was heart-breaking. I had no idea what the title had to do with the story until that point; Then again, 'Good Night, Severus' doesn't exactly sound like an insult unless it's in context such as this.

I really liked the way you approached the "Albus is in Slytherin" topic. I'm personally in with the people who say he is a Slytherin, but when actually showing how he was Sorted, you have to be careful in making it sound plausible. I think you did that well.

The only thing that I thought was perhaps a little off was James's reaction. I suppose twelve-year-olds can tend to be dramatic, but something sounded forced when he was ranting off at Albus about how he'd betrayed the entire family. Other than that, though, I can't fault much.

Again, those last two words... I could almost feel the hit to the gut, the same way I imagine Albus felt.

Glad I found this in the Story Seekers recommendations. :)

Sami

Author's Response: I think in my mind James is extremely proud of the whole Gryffindor family legacy thing, so to have that image shattered for him was really upsetting. I hope it didn't sound too awkward though :)

I'm glad you enjoyed it, and thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by witch_in_trainingCommitted: Day One

16th August 2010:
Again with the legs, Hugo! It's only to be expected, but you'd think he'd at least be a tiny bit more focused on the memory-loss thing than the long leg thing. He's just lucky the best Healer in Britain didn't turn out to be a man.

Reading Hugo's train of thought is brilliant; maybe he's not the cleverest person in the world, but that's probably why he's hilarious. The mega-watt smile line xD.

HAHA, loved the ending. I feel like Rose maaay now suspect that Hugo needs a "loon healer" for more than just memory loss. Perfect casual mention of Wrackspurts.

Shall continue soon!

Sami

 Report Review

Review #17, by witch_in_trainingCommitted: Prologue

16th August 2010:
Hugo is such a boy; naturally, the first things he notices about the woman who's supposed to help get his memory back are her LEGS. And even fixated on her looks he manages to think she's annoying.

I'm so looking forward to Hugo meeting the other patients. =P All he's got is a few weeks of missing memories, and he's going to be stuck in a room full of lunatics? Hardly seems fair to him. But I'm not complaining, because like I said, can't wait to see them in the story xD

Onward to Chapter Two!

Sami

 Report Review

Review #18, by witch_in_trainingDriftwood: An absence of gulls

16th August 2010:
Hey Jane!

It's easy to believe this scene could have happened in canon, especially since Dean and Luna are so in-character! Even without a straightforwardly romantic approach, it's so sweet to see them just together and talking and comfortable with each other, even though it's unlikely as anything that they should feel comfortable.

The insight on how Dean views Luna, and also the way Luna wants to help anyone who's helping Harry, are my favorite parts. Basically, the whole thing was beautiful and I loved it.

Sami

 Report Review

Review #19, by witch_in_trainingAnd Death Did Them Part: I Will Not Bow

16th August 2010:
Wow. This was dark. Disturbingly dark, really, but at the same time I had to keep going, just to know for sure how it all ended. Possibly the most frightening part is the desire and passion behind all the violence. That, more than the ending, was what gave me chills.

The descriptions were very well done (although in some place I feel I would've been better off if they weren't :P), with an almost poetic feel to some of the lines.

I'm not too sure about Draco's dialogue in some parts -- at times it just doesn't sound like him to me, when he's taunting Harry. Then again, I have no idea how old they are in this story, and so I have no idea how much time you imagined it took his character to reach this point. He's certainly darker than in canon, but things can change, of course.

I'm very sorry about the rambling quality of this review; it's 2:00 AM. If anything doesn't make sense, that's why.

Anyway, I applaud your ability to write something that genuinely makes me shudder, in a good way -- by now there's not much that will make me flinch back a little, unless it's something atrociously written, which of course this wasn't. :) I'm not entirely sure what to say, beyond that. :P This was a nice piece, and I liked the way "I Will Not Bow" was incorporated. Mostly because I love that song. xD

I should stop before I hurt myself. Goodnight!

Sami

Author's Response: I think I always manage to go a little over the top when writing my Draco/Harry stories! I think I go into darkangstyangry overload!

I agree that Draco is definitely darker than in canon, but I wanted to portray their relationship as one that had gotten so twisted that their personalities had almost warped with it.

In response to their age/ time it took to reach that point I have no idea! When I write one-shots I rarely think about events that happen other than the ones that are happening right there. I like to think of them as little moments in time that make no sense but deliver a dollop of emotion! It's not just me being lazy... haha, yes.

I love that song too! I'm also very pleased I made you shudder - in a good way :D - because I did want to create something dark and evil here! Don't worry about rambling! A good ramble is perfect in a review. :)

Thank you so much for reviewing this! Your review made me very pleased. :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by witch_in_trainingThe Final Battle: Like a Dream

15th August 2010:
This question posed be Lily is an interesting one; Was she half-here, or was this only a half-world? It's an observation I wouldn't have thought to make, but I suppose re-entering the world after you've died, especially when you're not there in full, must be a slightly strange experience.

Every description of how Lily feels is haunting This sentiment -- It could have been like this every day -- is one I've seen quite a bit in fanfic, but usually in Harry's point of view, not Lily's. It's different hearing it from the one who died and didn't get to be there for any of it. I like that she can feel everything Harry's feeling, and the idea that she and James are always part of each other's presence.

The last line was also a favorite of mine, because it reflects what Sirius said in the book, only instead of someone saying it as reassurance, she's feeling it. She's not afraid, she only feels like she's drifting off, and I can see it in my head without any further description of what it's like.

You're a very talented writer, and it's amazing that you've written so many pieces for the collab! I hope I'll be reading more of them soon. :)

Sami

 Report Review

Review #21, by witch_in_trainingThe Final Battle: Together

15th August 2010:
Ron's sheer admiration of Hermione throughout the whole piece was touching. It's really the best way to portray love in a time of war; he can't help but regard hold her courage and determination.

One of my favorite lines was Hermione laid a hand of his arm and any fears he had had was overcome with calm. Although, just nitpicking, I believe 'was' should be 'were,' and I know "of" was a typo (which I actually didn't notice till I copy/pasted, enamored as I was with the line itself :P). It's really sweet that one touch from her and all of his fears disappear.

The way they mutually decide to continue holding each other at the end was also sweet (I can't find another word that I want to use instead, so I'm just going to repeat myself). The title sums it all up perfectly without really saying much at all.

Good job on this! Ron/Hermione is a ship I love to see written well. :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by witch_in_trainingThe Morning Waffle: Snappers, Creepers, and Other Things That Go Bump In the Night

15th August 2010:
HAHA, one of the loveliest chapter endings in the world. I'm guessing James is slightly obligated to go on a date with Andy, though? :P What with him paying tons of money in the name of the show. Something tells me Fred will MAKE HIM do whatever it takes to fund the Morning Waffle's cause. Oh, Fred.

I'm rather in love with Tibbs and Fred's platonic relationship. They're perfect friends, and I think it would seem kind of incestual for all involved if they tried anything past that. xD James, however... -cough- That (totally not) said, I don't hate the prospect of Tibbs and Albus. Although that's mostly because of Fred's phone call to James ("Is Albus anything like you?" "Go to hell and die.") and Albus's reasoning as to why he thinks he'll like her.

Each character is so unique and brings something new and hilarious to the story. Can I marry all of your male leads? Please?! You'll have to let me know when it's Fred's turn to auction off a date, because I wouldn't mind coughing up a couple hundred dollars for him ;). He can convert that to Galleons, right?

Also, before I forget -- LOVING lady-killer Hugo. xD So different from a lot of Hugo characterizations I've seen.

Can't wait for Chapter Ten!

Author's Response: XD Yes, James is not going to be able to wiggle his way out of it. Poor guy.

I like Fred and Tibbs' friendship, too. Tibbs relies on him quite a bit for things, but Fred really doesn't mind. I'm glad you like them together (as friends). I am also very glad to hear you're open to the prospect of Albus/Tibbs. ^_^

Hmm...you can marry all of my male leads except for Raj. He's mine. Sorry.

Ah, Hugo - I didn't even originally plan for him to take on a life of his own like this. But I'm so glad you love him. He is a joy to write.

Thanks for the awesome review!!

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #23, by witch_in_trainingQuidditch Affairs: Quidditch Affairs

15th August 2010:
I fell completely in love with this. Cedric's feelings through the whole thing are great, the description is lovely, and my favorite part, Oliver's outburst... It just makes sense that there's a reason he needs Quidditch so much, aside from his love of the sport.

And poor Cedric, trying to reason with Oliver, but it just can't work because Oliver's so distraught. I felt horrible for him once Oliver started shouting at him. I can't imagine standing there and taking all that from the guy you like, and in the end he just wants to make him feel better.

Like I said, I really liked this, and it just makes me kind of happy inside for some reason :P I've never heard of Cedric/Oliver before, but it's kind of a cute concept if you think about it.

Sami

Author's Response: Hi, Sami! Thanks so much for your awesome review! :)

Yeah, I've always thought there was something more to Oliver's Quidditch obsession, and I'm glad you thought the same. Poor Cedric, indeed. XD He was clueless at the start, and this was the first time he understood why Oliver was such a fanatic.

I'm sooo psyched to hear/read that this made you happy. *does happy dance* And yes, Oliver/Cedric FTW! One of the sexiest slash couples out there for sure. ;)


Gill



 Report Review

Review #24, by witch_in_trainingThe Final Battle: Remember

14th August 2010:
Aww! I don't think I've ever read a story where the Longbottoms get their memory back! At the very least, I've never read one like this. I loved the Healer's confusion, and their excitement, and of course Neville's reaction. Thought I admit, I might have expected him to be a bit more stunned. All the same, it was sweet!

And poor Frank, having his memory back only to get smacked with a door in the attmempt to find his son xD. Ah well, he'll be okay.

I had no idea what the story called "Remember" was going to be about when I clicked on it, but it turned out to be original and heart-warming.

Sami

 Report Review

Review #25, by witch_in_trainingThe Final Battle: The Moment It Ended

14th August 2010:
Gah, I've always wanted to see what was going through Narcissa's mind in that moment!

It's ironic how relieved she is that they're going to lose the war. But then, your explanation was true; Voldemort was not exactly providing a comfortable life for her, and even if Harry wasn't the perfect savior for someone in her position, it had to better than Voldemort, right?

Narcissa's reasoning that she couldn't let Harry was beautiful. Actually, everything in this piece was beautiful, from the descriptions of the moment to Narcissa's every thought. Glad I chose to read this story!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>