Reading Reviews for Not Just a Sidekick
  
35 Reviews Found

Review #26, by not_that_girl The Woes of Ronald Weasley

15th February 2007:
i really liked this story. a lot. i've read a few stories with this kind of plot, but in the end, hermione goes for ron. i liked the twist. its one of my favorites.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'm glad you enjoyed it! I've read a lot too, but I wanted to keep it realistic, so that's why Hermione doesn't end up going for Ron (sadly) or anything. One of your favorites? Really? *hands cookie* Your review was just what I need to hear today!

Thanks so much,

-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #27, by taylorj828 The Woes of Ronald Weasley

13th February 2007:
Oh wow. Where do I begin? I'm almost speechless... *sigh*

Well, I LOVE the title of the story. And I must confess that one of the MANY reasons (to me) for Ron and Hermione being together, is that if H. and Hr. get together, that makes Ron just a sidekick! And he's sooo much more than sidekick or a 3rd wheel. To reduce Ron to that, well, I won't even go there! (o:

I'm not sure how to express my thoughts about your story (and I venture to say that that's a good thing!) I think you've really captured Ron's voice. At first I thought parts of it were a bit too cynical, but then I realized it wouldn't be a happily-ever-after thing. And Ron does get pretty bad when it pertains to Hermione.

Wow, seeing H/Hr this way really bothers me. It could definitely never happen!

Oh, and I loved this line: "We’re two peas in a pod, two miserable, love-struck peas in a pod, watching as our only loves get married to someone else." It's cute and sad, and I love that sort of paradox, er, whatever it should be called. (o:

And I love the conversations with Ron and Ginny. You've really captured a perfect Ron and Ginny sibling relationship. Sounds just like them!

Well, I am still stuck for trying to express my proper thoughts about this story. It's left me with an odd feeling. The feeling that... well I love the writing, the idea, what the story is, and yet I hate it! Hehe. I imagine many H/Hr shippers would see this happily ever after scene, meanwhile, I hate what's happening with Ron! Uugh. Well, I hope somehow my lack of words to explain my thoughts will nonetheless convey *something* to you!

This is truly a great piece of writing. Excellent, and skillful. I normally point out any errors, but I didn't see any/many. (o: Excellent, excellent, and I love your writing. (o: I'm on the attempt to find the good authors on hpff, and I think I've found one here! Great!!

Author's Response: I've been putting off answering this review. It's just so amazing, that I'm not even really sure how to start.

Well, we're alike, aren't we? I'm not sure how to expression my views about your review either and THAT is a definite good thing! I'll try, though. I'll really try.

It didn't take me long to come up with the title, surprisingly, but when I did come up with it, it just seemed to work. And you're so right-Ron doesn't deserve to be just a third wheel! I love that guy, I really do, and it bugs me so much when he's portrayed negatively in fanfics. I mean, he deserves SO much credit than he actually gets!

Yes, a few people seemed to find it cynical (even if you changed your opinion), and I agree, it is, but I also agree that it is necessary. I guess it's hard for some people to transition their views of Ron from the "funny" sidekick (ugh, that word again!), to someone who really does feel. I'm really glad you understand this-Ron definitely gets bad when it comes to Hermione, you're so right.

Yes, it could never happen, and I'm SO glad of that! *lets out sigh of relief* I was worried about writing Ron and Ginny's relationship, but I really think that more fanfics need to see how deeply they do deeply care for each other, and maybe why Ron sometimes reacts the way he does. It's his own, slightly twisted way of communicating things, I suppose, but not because he's abusive or anything-it's because he cares.

And yet you hate it...I think that's one of the oddest, yet most wonderful and meaningful compliments I've ever received. I know just what you mean, too-this was hard to write at times, since I really, really don't want this to happen to Ginny or Ron, ever! But-I think it does have a point, and (hopefully) a good one at that. I know; that really saddens me! It'll be interesting to see how Harmony shippers (I believe only a few have so far have reviewed) will view this fic...I'm afraid that many will hate it.

Thank you. Thank you so much for giving me such a wonderful review, and yes, never has a lack of words meant so much to me. I can totally relate, as I said earlier, because that's exactly how I felt after seeing your review. Your last line...oh, you really think so? You're so incredibly sweet and I can't even begin to tell you how good that makes me feel. You've given me a lot of things to think about as well, so hopefully, I'll be able to get over the painfulness and write the next three chapters. I hope they'll live up-I'm striving to keep things honest to the way things would really happy. Even if it doesn't mean a happy ending in the way everyone's expecting.

Thank you again. I'm glad I took the time to respond to this, and hope you aren't offended by my prostination-it was just a wonderful read and I mean that will all my heart.

-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #28, by AndrinaBlack The Woes of Ronald Weasley

13th February 2007:
I just have to add a little comment.
I didn't mean you were rambling. I meant I was rambling in the review. That's just what I thought - that I might have been confusing. But you understood the rest of the review, so that's good! Lol!
Sorry for being a bit confusing!

Author's Response: Oh, that's okay, I'm glad you don't think I was rambling! I ♥♥♥ "rambling" reviews by the way....it wasn't a serious problem, but thanks for clearing this up, anyways! You weren't confusing at all. ;-)

Thanks again,

-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #29, by Savanna Weasley The Woes of Ronald Weasley

12th February 2007:
UPDATE!

Author's Response: I'LL TRY! :D It might be a little while, though. Glad you enjoyed it enough that you're begging for more; teehee!

Thanks for the r&r!

-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #30, by Virtue The Woes of Ronald Weasley

12th February 2007:
Ah! That wasso sad! Very realistic though. Ron would be furious but he wouldn't step in because hd didn't feel he was worthy enough. Great job! Can't wait to see the next chapter!

Author's Response: I know, it was sad, wasn't it? Fluffy R/Hr's will be written to make up for it! I'm glad you thought it was realistic, though; I'm not afraid that it will ever happen, but I'm glad you think so! Poor Ron. He'll change by the end of this fic though and get more confidence-promise!

Will try to update ASAP! I still have to finish the 2nd chapter and nothing really happens in it, so I'm going to try and update "3" at the same time, too, but I'll really try. :D

Thanks for taking the time to r&r! I'm really glad you enjoyed. It means a lot.

-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #31, by MsHarryPotter The Woes of Ronald Weasley

12th February 2007:
No oiffense.but ermmm that wasnt really good...i mean it made Ron seem as a huge drama king :l

Author's Response: Sorry, you felt that way. He's much better in the next chapter. Thanks for giving me your honest opinion, though! :-)

 Report Review

Review #32, by MrsHermioneWeasely The Woes of Ronald Weasley

12th February 2007:
oh i love this story i hope that ron's story ends up like the muggle tv show!!

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad another Ronmione shipper (I'm assuming), was able to enjoy this! I'd hope so too...*is very sad for her Won-Won*.

Thanks for telling me how you liked it! It meant a lot.

-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #33, by GinnyWeasleyPotter The Woes of Ronald Weasley

12th February 2007:
Oh dear- I wanted to be the first to review, but I never get to it!! I don't have time these days, always rushing around...

But OMG, Mara, OMG, I really, really liked this. It's great how you did it in Ron's PoV, you're right, we never get to see his side of things, his feelings when people write Harmony.

And even though I'm a proud H/G, Ronmione- is there a nickname for H/G? Hinny, Garry?- I enjoyed this. Even though Harry/Ginny, Ronmione BELONG TOGETHER, this was great.

You portrayed his feelings really well, and I like the style you wrote it in, it really adds to the story. There's a tiny bit of humor- just a tiny bit, after all, Ron's depressed, not happy- and this story's just great!!!

So 10/10

~Loli

Author's Response: Aww, it's okay, Lauren! You were the first reviewer to "Lost and Found" after all, and that's my favorite out of all my fics (*remember today is chapter posting day-hooray!*).

We never do, do we? That's what inspired me to write this fic! I'm really glad you liked this-and I have no idea whether there is a name for Harry/Ginny; I've been trying to figure it out! Oh well, "Hinny" for now-I like it better than "Garry". That reminds me of....Spongebob's snail, to be quite honest, and I haven't watched the show if forEVER. Teehee.

Glad you like the style, I was worried about pulling off Ron at first-and yes, I added a sub-genre of humor because, well, Ron IS a funny guy! The 2nd chapter's even funnier...hopefully it will go better with everyone who thinks I've made Ron too depressed, but, hey, I'm glad you didn't think so.

Huggles, Loli! Thanks for the review once again.

-Mara, :-)


 Report Review

Review #34, by mathias The Woes of Ronald Weasley

12th February 2007:
Interesting first chapter. I can respect what you were trying to accomplish here despite your misgivings about the pairing. I ship Harmony but not as indiscriminately as I used to.

The always loving her bit is a bit hard to swallow considering how Ron has been akin to treating Hermione. But, I could see him falling in love with her. That's the main crux of the shipping wars, it wouldn't matter who Ron and Harry were getting with if Hermione wasn't such a strong and wonderful character.

I liked Ron's reaction to Ginny and it showed him in a very positive light.we shall see if that lasts. I think that maybe once he sees them actually married he can let it go.life is too long to remove love from your life at such a young age.

Thanks for writing,
Mathias



Author's Response: First of all, I am SO glad that a Harmony shipper for able to pretty much enjoy this. I was getting very concerned that one would take offense, so I'm really glad you didn't.

It is hard to swallow, especially for a Harmony shipper. I agree with you-Hermione's a great chapter, and even though I'm a Harry/Ginny shipper, I think you're right-it wouldn't matter who she ended up with if she weren't so great. I mean, we don't have-Cho shipping wars do we? (Don't kill me Cho lovers-I don't mind canon Cho so much, but after reading her in "Her Secret"...*shudders*).

Glad you liked Ron's reaction to Ginny-I strongly believe Ron really does care about the people around him very much, he just has a hard time showing it sometimes (he IS a teenager after all). I can't tell you whether your prediction is right, but I totally agree with you. Reminds me a bit of "Romeo and Juliet"-life IS too long to remove love from your life at such a young age! Wish Romeo and Juliet would have heard it me...it would have been a different outcome, but then again we wouldn't have a story, now would we? ;-)

Thank YOU for reading and taking the time to review! It means so much to me that a Harmony was okay with this-really, it does.

-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #35, by AndrinaBlack The Woes of Ronald Weasley

12th February 2007:
Very good!!! I liked it. I just hope that in the rest of the chapters there will be happening something more, because one chapter just about Ron's sorrows is good, but more of only that would get a bit too much. But I'm sure you have something planned. Just wanted to say that anyway.

What I especially liked in this story was that you have there all the different feelings that Ron has concerning the Hr/H relationship. I mean, there's the sorrow and anger he feels for him not being able to be with Hermione, then there's the anger he feels because of thet towards Harry, but wich he tries to hide. I like it that you kind of show that their friendship could really break, but Ron tries to smile and look happy. Then there's the anger he feels because ginny is sad. And something more... Yes, he tries to feel happy for Hermione, and I'm sure there is something I forgot, but the point is that you can get it all nicely into the fic and have really put yourself in Ron's place to see what he would feel (all the feelings).
So I hope you got something out of this rambling and are not just annoyed by it. Really the point is that the story is good!

Author's Response: I do have more planned! The second chapter is kind of...eh, but it's funnier (since Ron still has his tongue in cheek during all of this), and the third chapter especially boosts his chapter up. I totally agree with you-it WOULD be very boring!

You're so right-there are so many feelings that Ron has concerning the Hr/H ship. I'm glad you thought that I was able to express it well, because it's really complicated when you think about it.

Yes, I think I am getting something out of it-I wrote this, mostly not to ramble, but to bring to more people's attention that Ron isn't a bad guy, and that I think he really would be hurt by the Harmony thing. There definitely is a point!

Thanks for your awesome review! I'm glad you're enjoying it so far and thanks for taking the time to tell me.

-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>