Reading Reviews for A Summer Thing
  
279 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Leigh Kelley Turn of Events

16th November 2009:
Ah. I'm happy to see that you included the match. I know it was to be expected, considering this story surrounds the game for the most part, but some would skip it all together, and just mention the aftermath. You did a brilliant job with describing what happened. I saw it all clearly, and almost wanted to shout at Gudgeon for his dirty play. And it is realistic that they won with the other team at least scoring. The match wasn't boring at all, but I'm a person who loves Quidditch scenes, so anything along those lines is good for me.

So, what's up with Oliver? He's a confusing lad; staring at her, not really explaining himself well. Could he possibly like her but doesn't want to compromise the team? I don't know. Maybe with them having to find the hotel together I'll get more insight into his strange behavior and whatnot.

Wonder if they'll find the hotel, or if Puddlemore will end up losing a seeker and a keeper in the process. It will be harder than Oliver thinks to do it as muggles would, definitely. But he does have the assistance of someone who did some things without magic, so we'll see.

Moving on.

~L. Kelley

 Report Review

Review #27, by Leigh Kelley Young, Beautiful, and Successful

16th November 2009:
I'm a little surprised. I expected this chapter to continue where the other left off, but it didn't. I actually find this to be a good thing, as it leaves the reader room to wonder what exactly happened after the food fight. Considering Wood's blush and such, and Mockridge's comments and looks, I suspect it went deeper than just breakfast?

Martha Tinsel. Interesting name, and it seems she has a part in this whole story aside from baking delicious sweets? Because Oliver's reaction to her name is a bit...interesting. Is it safe to assume that they had a past? It sort of seems that way, but I could just be reading too much into this.

Anyway. Another good chapter. Dialogue's still good, the plot seems to be advancing. One thing though; are we eventually going to know more about Cody and the incident? I know it's too early and all, but whatever happened doesn't seem to affect her that much, aside for the period of time when she just climbs onto the broom. So, just curious.

Reading on.

~L. Kelley

 Report Review

Review #28, by Leigh Kelley Textured Batter

16th November 2009:
I'm not too sure about Oliver's characterization in this chapter. Yes we have always seen him as the overenthusiastic Quidditch captain, and I'm sure there is another side to him, but I don't think he's this fun. Maybe between close friends, but not to someone he's only met...two days ago? At least someone he's getting to know anyway, because they might have met before tryouts. Even with Harry, who he thought gave him a proper shot at the Cup, he didn't really let loose. And I view Cody in the exact same manner; as a seeker who might bring him the Cup. So in this instance, I do feel it's moving a bit too fast.

I also think you could do with a bit more description. I'm not visualising everything clearly enough. The characters could do with a bit more fleshing out as well. Oliver is almost too-perfect. Captain in a short span of time, good cook. He could do with some flaws other than Quidditch-obsessed.

All of that aside, I enjoyed this chapter. It was cute; from Cody almost attacking Oliver, to Oliver thinking she was some swamp thing. It was all very amusing. I also liked the dialogue. It didn't seem forced in the least, and it flowed very well. So good job on that.

Next one, then.

~L. Kelley

 Report Review

Review #29, by Leigh Kelley Unexpected Happenings

16th November 2009:
Me again.

The first part of this chapter has me laughing. That's so Oliver, to be discussing tactics and plays over dinner. Honestly, I don't think that guy knows how to just enjoy himself. He's just completely Quidditch-obsessed, and I think you did a good job with portraying that. That he didn't notice everyone else being not to keen on having the conversation does seem like something he would do.

I like that Cody interrupted him. I think what she said was on everyone's mind, so it was a nice touch. So she didn't mean to say it aloud, but it still had the desired effect. Oliver without magic? Ha. I'd like to see that.

I didn't realise that Oliver was such a gentleman. Nice of him to walk her home, as you never know what loonies will be wandering the streets.

Before I forget. How do Cho and Cody know each other so well? Did they know each other before going to seperate schools or something? Because they seem pretty close, and I don't think you mentioned Cody working at the Ministry. Nothing really important, but I'm curious.

Reading on.

~L. Kelley

 Report Review

Review #30, by Leigh Kelley Ditch the Shoes

16th November 2009:
Here's the next one.

I like your portrayal of Cho. Because we mostly saw her crying in the books, most people just pass her off as this weepy girl who can't do anything but. Here we see a concerned friend, and she seems confident as well. Seeing her interacting with her friend, and being the voice of reason, is a nice change. She seems to have matured well post-Cedric.

I don't think you have much to worry about Oliver. He seems just about right, what with criticizing the new members. I think he has a problem with only giving praise. There has to be something to work on. It goes with his need for the perfect team so as to come out on top. Not OOC, to be honest.

Hm. I wonder why he was running late as well. Guess I'll just have to read on, and see?

~L. Kelley

 Report Review

Review #31, by Leigh Kelley Pompous Gits

16th November 2009:
Hey there. Here from the forums with your requested review :).

I like how you started here, jumping right into the story without giving a ton of back-story to overwhelm the reader. I was able to get a feel for the characters, and picture the scene pretty well. From Marcus Flint and his greasy personality, to him trying to show off and practically getting shown up in the process. To Cody and her mysterious past.

Your inclusion of subplots is nice too. I wonder what happened to Cody, why seeing the snitch being released was so painful to her. Something terrible must have happened to her, and you did a good job at portraying that. I like how she jumped back on a broom despite her bad feelings, and experienced the rush that only riding a broom could give. Just enough elation to let her temporarily forget her past.

Hipshook's wife running away with the seeker is nothing short of scandalous. I already knew something was wrong when he turned grey; it was a simple enough question on Cho's part, so I was curious as to why he had problems with answering it. And then we get the true story through Davies, and it all became clear.

Oliver's characterization was on point. He's the Oliver we got peeks of in the books. Completely focused on the game and assembling a proper team. Why he objected to her being placed on the team and then smiled at the end, is something I don't know, but I figure will be revealed eventually. Maybe he just saw that she was good enough? Hm.

Good start to a first chapter. A couple errors here and there but since you didn't list any areas of concern, I wasn't sure if I was to point them out. So I'm just giving you a basic review.

On to the next one, then.

~L. Kelley

 Report Review

Review #32, by Brigitte Malfoy Wood Embarrassing Incidents

1st November 2009:
Oh please hurry up with the next chapter. I've fallen in love with your story! The cliff hanger you have left is almost to much to bear! You character portrait of Oliver Wood in my opinion is definatly one of the best!

Author's Response: Thank you! That's definitely very encouraging :)

 Report Review

Review #33, by Brigitte Malfoy Wood Unexpected Happenings

10th October 2009:
I love this story. I myself am writing a Oliver Wood romance story. Just one thing, why couldn't Cody use the Knight Bus?
But I guess if Wood hadn't walked Cody home he wouldn't be staying the night, like you said, would be interesting. Haha!
10/10 definatly one of my favourites!

Author's Response: Hehehe, hmm... I'm not too sure, actually ;) But yes, it is more interesting/juicy this way, isn't it? lol glad you like it, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #34, by lizzie95 Embarrassing Incidents

6th September 2009:
I loved this chapter and have now read the whole story twice. When are you going to be updating?

Author's Response: Oh wow - that's awesome! :) Hmm, guess this story has been on unofficial hiatus for a while, and I didn't think anyone was still sticking around reading it... but after getting some reviews on it recently, I think I might try to get back into it. Thanks for the review! (And to answer your question - hopefully soon :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by Cassandra Lockhart Embarrassing Incidents

22nd August 2009:
This is hilarious! I absolutely love it! I started at the first chapter and didn't stop reading till the end of this one. It's really well written and addicting. I really cannot wait for the next chapter. 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #36, by ravenclawbrunette Embarrassing Incidents

11th June 2009:
this is a really interesting story. i wonder what cody was talking about... i wonder if Hipshook is trying to set them up, because it seems like he's hinting towards it. the rita skeeter article will definitely be interesting with all the crazy stuff in it. i'm looking forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Haha, Hipshook's a bit of a crazy fellow! ;) He's cool though. Ah, Rita sure does love to stir up trouble. :)

 Report Review

Review #37, by MarieBlack Embarrassing Incidents

3rd June 2009:
OMG! I'm excited for the next chapter. Your stories are AMAZING. I must say, I want to know what happens nexttt!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you for the kind words!

 Report Review

Review #38, by HPsmartone32 Embarrassing Incidents

2nd June 2009:
REALLY?!?!? I WAS READING THIS STORY ALL HAPPY AND SUCH AND THEN I SEE THIS AND I WAS LIKE THANK GOD ITS NOT ENDING HERE... THEN IT DID! grrr not cool at al. you have to update soon. sooner than soon. WHAT HAPPENED?!?!?!

Author's Response: Hahaha, what happened indeed?! Tiny teaser though - I'm going to have to refer back to some sections of Deathly Hallows... Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #39, by miss_ravenclaw09 Embarrassing Incidents

31st May 2009:
GAH! I've finally gotten around to doing the second part of your review! :)

The improvement from the first four chapters to this one is definitely noticeable. You can really sense that the first part of the story is a little OOC and moves a teensy too fast relationship wise, but this part pulls it back together. I love the chapter with the first quidditch game! It was very well written. :)

This chapter was also very well written, and it's nice to see you writing longer chapters. I like the awkward sleeping arrangements, and the horrible room. They provide for so much more emotionality (is that a word? :/ ) in the story, and they force your couple together very creatively (and evilly... :D ).

Awesome job on the story! I hope you are happy with your reviews, and if you need another one, don't hesitate to ask! :) Keep writing! I'm looking forward to seeing how it ends!

Miss_Ravenclaw09

Author's Response: Whew - and yay! Good to hear it gets better; improvement is pretty much integral to the writing game, so if it's happening, then great!

Emotionality...hmm. Possibly not haha.

Thanks for the feedback!


 Report Review

Review #40, by marieluz Ditch the Shoes

31st May 2009:
Yeah, really.. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks. =-)

 Report Review

Review #41, by marieluz Pompous Gits

31st May 2009:
I'm liking it so far! Great job!

Author's Response: Glad you like it, thanks :)

 Report Review

Review #42, by miss_ravenclaw09 Textured Batter

30th May 2009:
Hey, here's 1/2 of the review you requested (since I'll probably forget all the stuff I want to say by the time I get to chapter 8). :)

As Cody said, so far, so good. I love Oliver stories because he can be so full of himself, yet sweet natured, and I like how you've portrayed that here. You are doing a good job on characterization for both Cody and Oliver. The last chapter (in the restaurant) had me giggling, and this one had me 'aww'ing, so the story must be going good so far!

I personally think the plot may be going a little bit fast up until this point, but I haven't read the rest of your story yet, so it may slow down. Other than that, I have no complaints, and I'm off to read the next four chapters! :D

Author's Response: Yippie for good characterization! ;) Aww, great to hear [the chapters] elicited a reaction from you.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #43, by Caoimhe Embarrassing Incidents

30th May 2009:
AH! I was all excited because it said you'd updated, but I already read this chapter (...I don't know if I've reviewed it yet, though, so at least one good thing came out of the false alarm lol). More please! I want to know what was "very wrong"! I love this story!

Author's Response: Just trying to work out some of the kinks & typos ;) Sorry for the false alarm! Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #44, by Fuzz Embarrassing Incidents

30th May 2009:
Grr... i don't like cliffies. Update soon please i.e a whole new chapter please update. Good chapter though
thx
xoxo

Author's Response: Thanks, and hopefully the next chapter won't be too long in coming.

 Report Review

Review #45, by zee Embarrassing Incidents

18th May 2009:
ohh thats mean! i want to know what happened! update soon!

Author's Response: Haha aww, hopefully it won't take too long ;) In order to write the next chapter though, I'm going to have to go dig out my copy of Deathly Hallows, just to reference and get the facts straight first. A slight hint of sorts ;)

 Report Review

Review #46, by Phoenix_Flames Embarrassing Incidents

7th May 2009:
Haha, another brilliant chapter. I loved the part with Cody when he was thinking about Oliver and the "rebel" in him. That was quite funny, I thought.

Wondrdul job! Update as soon as you can! And be sure to let me know!

9/10

Author's Response: Haha, he's an independent one, that Oliver ;)

Thanks for the feedback!


 Report Review

Review #47, by Phoenix_Flames Nasty Surprises

7th May 2009:
Another fantastic chapter!

Sweetie, I really have no CC to give you. It was all just perfect!

And I'm to excited to get to the next chapter, so toodles!

10/10

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much for the kind words!

 Report Review

Review #48, by Phoenix_Flames Turn of Events

7th May 2009:
Wohoo! An awesome chapter! Wow!

The match was so exciting!! It really was. You wrote it fantastically. Normally, Quidditch scenes turn more into a list than a story, but you kept it alive. You spaced everything so nicely with descriptions, dialogue, and actions, and reactions.

It was all very exciting to read!

Well done!

10/10

Author's Response: Phew- that's reassuring to hear that the Quidditch scene went well; that one was a bit of a challenge as well, because, I mean, it's not exactly like we've seen Quidditch matches in real life, so how to make them realistic, y'know? Glad you liked it, thanks :)

 Report Review

Review #49, by Phoenix_Flames Young, Beautiful, and Successful

7th May 2009:
Hello, dear! So, when I saw you requested, I was so excited! I had remembered reading it before, but it had been such a long time that I felt I should read all over, and I picked up where I left off!

Brilliant job! EVerything is coming along so nicely! I don't have much to say right now! Very excitedf or the next chapter.

9/10

Author's Response: Hello! :) That's great to hear, that you remembered reading it previously and was excited! Thanks for the nice words :)

 Report Review

Review #50, by alanapotter Embarrassing Incidents

4th May 2009:
Oh, how could you?! Great cliffhanger, but... I want more! :]

I really wouldn't have considered Oliver one prone to drink... but maybe. Either way it fulfilled it's purpose well enough in this chapter.

If that could be considered OOC, you didn't keep that up for long because when he offered to take the floor -- just the thing Oliver would do.

Overall this isn't a very appealing chapter to me. But that may be the result of the HUGE cliffhanger you let us with ;].

Nice job, definitely let me know when the next chapter's up and I'll come review... whether you want me to or not! ;]
-Jill

Author's Response: Me too! haha, the next chapter's going to be kind of emotionally tough, and I'm going to have to brush up on the events of Deathly Hallows before writing it, so... a bit of work for the next one.

Eh-heh, yeah, kind of couldn't resist the cliffie...

Thanks for the awesome feedback!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>