Reading Reviews for Just Play Your Cards Right
  
44 Reviews Found

Review #26, by fireceltiephoenix Just Play Your Cards Right

15th October 2007:
“What’s the first thing you’re going to do once you get out of school, Teddy?”...“Oh, you know,” he smiles, the tilting edge of a knife that slits across his face, but a warm jovial flicker to outsiders. “Kill my godfather.”

I swear, Dracana, those are some of the most chilling lines I have ever red. Goosebumps traveled up and down my arms. And to know that it was my innocent Teddy that spoke them even gave me more chills. This one-shot is absolutely amazing. If you wanted to, honestly, I think you could bring it into a short-story or novella. It is absolutely stunning in its imagery. You can feel Teddy's seething anger and even Harry's confusion at the end. His impatient tendancies grew and even his supersititions were dead on the money. Absolutely and utterly fantastic!

Even this line got to me: He’s just Teddy. His father’s son, his mother’s child. Teddy Lupin, the one who put to death the boy Voldemort could not. How true that sentiment is. Teddy had, indeed, put to sleep the man that even the history books deemed as the strongest and most powerful wizard alive couldn't do. I am absolutely astounded by this story, Dracana. I know why its on my favorites list. The King of Hearts...sigh. I never before pictured Teddy like this, but its rather interesting to see him in this light. Hats off to you, Dracana. This is one of the best Next-Gen fics I've ever read.

~Fire

Author's Response: Hey Fire!! Thanks so very much for reviewing!!

I wrote the first part of this around 2 am because the plot hit me and I knew that if I didn't start writing it then, I never would have written it at all. Aw, yes, you're innocent Teddy isn't so innocent in this *cackles* The bad boys are always the best :) Do you think so? I'm not sure that anyone would read it if I turned it into a bigger story, but it's an idea, certainly. I promise that if I do I'll notify you. And emotions are always my favourite to write, because every one has emotions and looks at something in a different way. Ooooh, and the superstitions are things that I feel also, so I poured a fraction of myself into his character to try and shape him out. Seriously, I'm totally wierd when it comes to superstition - if there's a crease in the bed I think it's going to be a bad day, lol.

Ah, you're too nice to me *grins* Thanks so much for your great review, Fire *huggles*


 Report Review

Review #27, by infested_with_NaRgLeS_14 Just Play Your Cards Right

15th October 2007:
Wow oh my god this is one of the BEST out of character plots EVER! OMG I love it!! How you wrote Teddy with this hunger for his godfather's blood shed!!! God I love it so much!!! It was so hauntingly beautiful I can't even put it words. Usually I'm not a fan of how people write the new generation fics but this was utterly amazing!!! The last line of the chapter was absolute GENIUS!!! You are amazing!!!

Author's Response: *dances* Thanks!! ^_^ I'm ever so pleased you like it *laughs* Teddy was such a joy to write in this, mainly because it's a different side of him we don't usually see, or if we have - I have yet to come across it. Anyhow, sooooooo glad you left this review, it's very kind, and my ego is swelling *watches as it grows* Not really, lol. Anyway, thank you so very, very much. xx

 Report Review

Review #28, by MajiKat - not logged in Just Play Your Cards Right

14th October 2007:
Helen. wow. that gave me chills. it was so cruel and dark and at the same time, believable. i really felt for teddy all through that. beautiful job. and you said i shouldn't read your new stuff *snorts* ha!! it was wonderful. the imagery. the description. beautiful stuff. and i loved your teddy. loved him. poor tormented boy.

gorgeous :)
Kate xx

Author's Response: *dances* Glad you liked it, Kate. Seriously though *whispers* I've just had a massive clear out of my stories, deleting plenty of them - some are so shameful!! I can only dream to have stories as flawless as yours. :)

Anyway, glad you liked Teddy in this. I adore Teddy completely now, thanks to Fire and her fabulous stories.

Anyway, thank you Kate!! Oh, and I'm at least half way through reading "Her decision" (I figured you wouldn't want me to flood you with reviews for every chapter, so I'll leave a big one at the end), and it's just great. I'm so envious!! :) xx


 Report Review

Review #29, by Hushabye_Mountain Just Play Your Cards Right

14th October 2007:
WOW! That was BRILLIANT Helen! And you dedicated that to me!??!? HOLY CROW! What did I do to deserve this amazing story?!?!? I got chills, it was marvellous! I believe every single second of it! Wouldn't it be interesting if that was what actually happened afterwards... gosh, I LOVE IT! :D

I can't believe some of the amazing plots your brain comes up with sometimes... this was another thriller to add to that ever increasing list of awesomeness! Wow... *hugs* thank you so much Helen! I enjoyed every second of it! :D 10/10, fav'd and on my site, its the least you deserve in return :D *hugs*

Author's Response: Yay, you like it!! That's good, I'd hate to dedicate something to you that you didn't like. What did you do? Apart from being amazing yourself, for giving me great reviews, recommending my stories on your site, making me a great set for a forum a while back, writing great stories and just being you? Lol!! Yes, I did think about writing a little more to say what happened afterwards, but decided to leave it to the imagination.

Thanks so much Kate. xx


 Report Review

Review #30, by AussieAnatomy627 Just Play Your Cards Right

13th October 2007:
Wow, very unique!

Author's Response: Thanks :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by xX mOoNdAnCe Xx Just Play Your Cards Right

13th October 2007:
Wow, what an amazing, moving piece of fan-fiction!
I loved the idea of this story, it's so different to the Teddy that everyone else portrays. It had me on the edge of my seat the whole way through, just... WOW.
Love xX mOoNdAnCe Xx

Author's Response: Thank you!! I thought this outlook on Teddy would be fun to write and interesting to see him in shades of grey. Anyway, I'm really pleased you like this and thank you for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #32, by Hermione Clone Just Play Your Cards Right

12th October 2007:
Wow, Teddy sounded like young Voldemort in the beginning.
Good job!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you :) Yep, he is pretty merciless.

 Report Review

Review #33, by Ging333 Just Play Your Cards Right

11th October 2007:
A very well put story! I loved it but,
When I read it I don't like think of Teddy in such a negative way(Im used to Teddy and Victoire love stories) but, it was a nice change,


Author's Response: Well thank you, in any case. I'm very pleased you liked it, and I know what you mean - there are a lot of great Teddy/Victoire stories out there and sometimes it's hard to refer to Teddy as a different person other than the way he is depicted in those stories.

Thank you for reading.


 Report Review

Review #34, by Snitchsista Just Play Your Cards Right

11th October 2007:
You call it a 'story of revenge', I call it a 'story of a masterpiece.' Seriously. Helen, how do you do it? Come up with an idea so masterful that even the Devil is jealous? Lol. I have no clue where that came from, but bear with me! I actually sat down, saw the time and decided to read it out from start to finish. Spelltastic work! I loved how you created such a vivid picture in my mind of the car, and the whole collision. I couldn't believe it was happening, so I had to go back and retrace as I was so gripped, I hadn't- it had passed me- like a car! Ironically enough. **snorts**

I once again, loved Harry- of course, but I also did feel attatched to Teddy. The name and the plot of this fic just fits together so well because it's such a cute, cuddly name and then Lupin's son goes ahead and does this! Excitement was just rising in my stomach, when the car came. I could feel the whole atmosphere, could hear the screech of the tyres as it hurtled down the road. The cards metaphor was just amazing- symboliding how life is just a game of bets. Having just spoken to you about that, I know you didn't mean for it to be intentional, but it was just so amazing, and created such a vision of plotting, and the notion that if you trip up, it's game over. Sorry for the long review, but I have so much to say!

Um, **Ironically thinks and looks to the clouds** Teddy's relationship with Victorie was well developed as well. You, as the reader, didn't need much back story as we knew a lot anyway, and I loved the little slide in of 'If you play your cards right', at the end. Life's a gamble is the message I got from it. Probably wrong though.

Um, drying up now, er, I once again absolutely adored the description and the attention to detail. “Not tonight,” he assures himself as he hears Harry’s footsteps on the stairs. “Not tonight,” he adds, as the sounds of lips crashing against one another, the calm movement through the thin walls informs him of Harry and Ginny’s intimacy. “Not tonight.” That whole paragraph had to be the one where I thought, I think I actually said to the screen:

"Oh, wow. That is so cool."

And it was, it really was.

10/10 for keeping me on the edge of my seat, for making me want to read a Post-Epilogue story, for making me like Teddy now, for letting me (although you couldn't have stopped me! Lolll), do the voices, and 10/10 for just being you.

You inspire.

:)

xx


Author's Response: Is the devil jealous? Wow, maybe I should get in touch with him. I'm sure we could arrange some sort of deal . . . *shifty eyes* LOL!! Rach, you come up with the randomest things, hunny. And it passed you like a car? *snorts* Yes, dear. :D

Oh, you would love Harry. Sorry I killed him. It was erm, sort of destined to be. lol. Anyways, thinking of Teddy as cuddly makes me cringe. Hot, adorable, snogable, and all the like - yes, but cuddly? Come off it. :p But yeah, you're correct that the irony is there in the name and the character I twisted him into. Oooh, you felt the adrenaline? I had SUCH fun writing this, you would not believe how much so . . . Or at least, I had the fun satisfied feeling when the whole story was completed. Some parts I did tend to doze over and come back to later, but then after the first half was written I made sure I finished the rest the next day, before I quite literally, lost the plot.

The cards were actually meant to display that you pick your chances, as well as the way Teddy has little inklings of thought and the crease in the bed suggests to him a flaw in his plan, which clearly causes the declarative "Not tonight". But you looked into it more deeply than that, as a further metaphor, and I'm glad, because quite honestly, as seems to happen more frequently than not, my brain was dead when I was speaking to you earlier, only allowing random spurts of pointless thought and occasional noddings of my head. ^_^

But yeah, game over for Harry. *evil laugh*

I had to ask Ali for a game of cards that included hearts, before I quickly headdesked and went "Oh yeah - hearts!" I'm so incredibly thick at times. Anyway, that's certainly the way I wanted to end it, with a reference to the title, just to round it off as neatly as I could.

Oh, that bit was fun to write. I assumed that if Teddy repeated everything, it would re-enforce the amount of times he has gone over this plan over the years, gradually allowing his hate to build upwards and expand.

Anyway, Rach - thank you for your marvellous review and I'm thrilled you liked this so much. *huggles*

*is flattered*


 Report Review

Review #35, by insider Just Play Your Cards Right

11th October 2007:
aww...
this is so touching.
it really shows a side of teddy no one has even thought of before...
10/10 (:

Author's Response: Yay, thank you!! I thought I was going to get my head bitten off by readers for writing something like this, a different side of Teddy that perhaps others would despise me to even look at, but I had great fun writing this story and thus far, my reviewers have been fantastic.

Thank you very much for your lovely review.


 Report Review

Review #36, by Inspiration Just Play Your Cards Right

11th October 2007:
Wow, that was really interesting. I would've never thought of Teddy that way but the story was just excellent! I like the end when Victoire says 'If you play your cards right'. It was so fitting.
Great job.

Author's Response: Wow, thanks :) Yeah, I had to make sure I rounded the ending off with something like that just to make sure it ran more smoothly. Anyway, very glad you liked this, and thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #37, by Snitchsista Just Play Your Cards Right

11th October 2007:
Your banner is amazing!!! I have a writing session soon, so I can't review now but I can't wait to look later. This looks so fantastic, Helen. I truly mean it.

:)

xx

Author's Response: Aw, hunny no worries about how long it takes you to review, lol. Just review whenever you can or if you can.

Thanks anyways.


 Report Review

Review #38, by iloveharry1234 Just Play Your Cards Right

11th October 2007:
that was great i loved it!

Author's Response: Yay, thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #39, by kyrandia Just Play Your Cards Right

11th October 2007:
very very interesting

Author's Response: Lol, I hope that means you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #40, by arid05 Just Play Your Cards Right

11th October 2007:
Wow, way to put a different spin on things! Great work!

Author's Response: Haha, thanks!! *grins*

 Report Review

Review #41, by magical words Just Play Your Cards Right

10th October 2007:
Wow. That was amazing. Certainly a different spin. 10/10.

Author's Response: Thanks!!

 Report Review

Review #42, by Ginny and Harry Ship Fan Just Play Your Cards Right

10th October 2007:
Woah that was really weird. Teddy reminded me of Voldemort that time. Nice ending. Flawless as always lol 10/10

Author's Response: Aw, thank you. And I'm really glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by Bluebelle Just Play Your Cards Right

10th October 2007:
That was certainly... interesting. I like the idea, and it was written really well. It was different, yet familiar... if that makes any sense. Anyways, good job. :)

I just wanted to point out (although you may already be aware), that Teddy is not a werewolf, as has been clarified by JK Rowling.

Author's Response: Thank you for your comments and for your criticism. Glad that you liked this over all, as I had fun writing it.

Yep, I'm entirely aware of Teddy not being a werewolf, especially as I looked it up on the Internet quickly rather than going through the book again, just to certify it. I think it makes it more fun with him as a werewolf though :D Don't ask why, I just think it's more interesting. *shrugs* But yeah, you're entirely right and thanks for informing me anyway. :) You've given me the idea to writing it in my author's note now, just to make sure people realise. Hmm, maybe I should put this as AU . . . Lol, no idea.

Anyway, thank you very much for reading and reviewing, means a lot. :)


 Report Review

Review #44, by bring_back_sirius Just Play Your Cards Right

10th October 2007:
why is teddy so mean? it wasnt harry's fault remus and tonks died

Author's Response: Lol, yeah I know. I just saw an opportunity for a plot and made it. Revenge was the theme, and sometimes people blame others for something horrible that has happened because they don't want to accept anything different. It's just a plot :D Thanks for reviewing in any case.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>