Reading Reviews for Portmanteau
  
55 Reviews Found

Review #26, by FannyPrice Prologue: Fire

30th October 2009:
OOOo! I am adding this to my favorites! I’ve never read a Charlie romance before, so I am very excited to read the rest. I love stories that have action to them, and this definitely qualifies. It was also well written and I admire the effort you put into looking up at least some Romanian and researching the country. But…HAPPY HPFFSAD! In order to show my appreciation for all the work you do here at HPFF (including validating a few of my own fics!) I thought I’d leave you a review—because who doesn’t love a review! Anyway, Thanks again, hope your day goes wonderfully, and, like I said, can’t wait to read the rest!

Author's Response: Thank you, Fanny. It's true, reviews are wonderful. Thanks for participating in this staff surprise. HPFF has the best members ever!

 Report Review

Review #27, by iloveblack Prologue: Fire

30th October 2009:
Hey there, I’m here to spread the love for HPFFSAD,
First off, congrats on winning a Dobby!

I really like how you begin the chapter. It has me wondering who these men are and what they’re up to. I’m wondering, are they the good guys, are they bad ones? And that is what keeps me reading.

Your desrcibtion of the place and of the atmosphere is very well done and I especially enjoyed the one of the people in the tavern. It’s very realistic and the picture you created is that which everyone, who’s never been to Eastern Europe and especially Romania, needs to imagine what it’s like there. So, don’t worry about misinterpreting things. I’m currently living in a small village in Hungary and though I find it very traditional at times and could see this village in your description, I’m told that it’s even more traditional in Romania.

The desription of the attack was amazing. There is no other way of putting it. I had goosebumps on my arms all the way through and when Charlie saw the Dark Mark, wow you’ve got no idea of how impressive that scene was.

I can already see now that your writing is definitely Dobby worthy, I’m going to favourite this right away, and I can’t wait to see how this continues.

Antje

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review and participating in HPFFSAD. I was very touched by the whole endeavor. I'm glad the descriptions of the village and the attack read alright. It's particularly nice to hear that from someone a lot closer to that region of the world than I am.

 Report Review

Review #28, by timeturner14 Chapter Three: Portkey

27th July 2009:
Wow. I am really enjoying this story so far. Kudos to you for choosing a rarely used character to write about and creating such a detailed background and fleshed out story. You can tell that you really put a great deal of time and research into the story and I am looking forward to seeing how it unfolds. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you, timeturner14. I'm a bit of a perfectionist so I do try and at least pull up pictures or read about locations before I write on them. Whether that makes me thorough or just unimaginative I'm not sure, but either way, thank you for the R&R.

 Report Review

Review #29, by shadowycorner Chapter One: Money

21st July 2009:
But once again, you're doing an absolutely great job creating the scenery. Don't worry at all. it doesn't matter whether you've been there or not. :) Honestly, I could perfectly imagine both settings. Your descriptions are vivid, not overdone and overall very good.

Henry is definitely an interesting character. And I liked the style of this chapter. It felt so...real, you know. And you know your stuff. Sometimes when i read fics I feellike reading nonsense, but definitely not this time. :) Interesting topics. I like this entire idea of searching for dragon bones and how the characters talk about it is cool.

I'm favoriting this story!

Author's Response: Thanks for the favorite!! That means a lot. I'm glad the imagery came of well here. I've always wanted to go to Egypt and dig around in the sand, so this was really fun to write. I'm really happy you liked Henry. He's grown rather "real" to me too. I hope I get to work for someone like him one day. Thanks for the r&r :)

 Report Review

Review #30, by shadowycorner Prologue: Fire

21st July 2009:
I like when there's action at the beginning of stories, even though Ioften find it hard to follow because of my horrible concentration. Still, the writing style felt smooth and was easy to read. It really made me wonder and want to find out what's going on and that's always good on the writer's part.

Basically what drew me in was that it's a story that has Charlie. i was looking around for him. :) The characters, along with Charlie, didn't really leave an imprint on me yet, but I'm sure that'll change once the pace after this action-filled chapter will slow down. I really can't wait to read more. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. It's always good to know there are more Charlie fans out there. I hope that the characters over the course of the story become much more three dimensional. This is really one of the few action sequences in the whole story, so hopefully there will be plenty of chances to really get to know Charlie and the others. Thank you again for reading and reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by inkpot Prologue: Fire

20th July 2009:
Great opening, it's nice just to be plunged into a story without too much set up. Very atmospheric. Good job!

Inkpot x

Author's Response: Thanks! Prologues are fun like that. You get to throw in the big action without explanation. Thank you for the R & R.

 Report Review

Review #32, by Laugharama_llama Chapter Six: Restricted

6th July 2009:
Haha, this is such an interesting story! I can't wait until Kate asks him why he disappeared! The Prologue was really well written too. I was so into it. I can't wait to see what happens next! :)

Author's Response: Thanks! The disappearance will be solved in chapter seven. Glad you are enjoying and thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #33, by Laugharama_llama Chapter Five: Reluctance

6th July 2009:
Haha you have a funny typo:
-"He was sturdy, thickly built, with wide shoulders and strong arms. His skin, fair and freakily by birth, was perpetually tanned and flushed, as if he had just stepped inside from a long run on the beach." (I think you mean freckly haha)
-“Because it good work,” he replied, sounding slightly defensive. (it's)
-“Ginny’s playing profession quidditch, if you can believe that.” (professional)
-Anyway…you liked like you were going to say something?” (looked like)

Alright, i just wanted you to know about those before I continued reading. I'll do a story review at the next chapter for the whole story so far :)

Author's Response: Oops, thank you so much for pointing these out. I fixed them. Guess I didn\\\'t proof this chapter very well *blush*

 Report Review

Review #34, by RemusGal Chapter Six: Restricted

4th July 2009:
Another really enjoyable chapter. Has the review board caught on that Kate is seeking information from what Malachi is reading? I can't think what else she might have done to get herself restricted. Charlie's a riot - perceptive enough to keep Kate from pissing off the wrong gut, but he asks her on a date to go meet his brother's new baby. That's either an established girlfriend role or just a really old friend outing. In any case, they continue to be fun together.

Author's Response: Thanks, RG. We definitely haven\\\'t heard the last about the restriction...it has a big part to play in later chapters. I\\\'m glad you like Charlie. I love how you described the \\\"date.\\\" I hadn\\\'t thought of that but it\\\'s perfect. Hopefully his cluelessness is off-putting and explanations in the next chapter will redeem him a bit. Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #35, by TheForestAgain Chapter Six: Restricted

30th June 2009:
Ah I am so excited for the romance in the next chapter, but its okay you don't have to rush it. Sometimes its all about the chase, and it looks it may turn out that way due to Kate's reluctance to say yes! I'm excited to see why Kate has been banned from entering the Ministry, I wonder why. I will definitely recommend this story as soon as I get the chance!
Great chapter, its so good I can't think of a suggestion!
10/10,
TheForestAgain :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I\\\'m sure there is a bunch of stuff I could improve but I appreciate the compliment for sure. And while it may have taken a while to get to the romance, once it starts, there will be more than the two of them can handle :P Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #36, by daydream_it_to_life Chapter Six: Restricted

29th June 2009:
Oh, wow. I'm interested to know if it was really a mix-up about her being restricted from the MoM. And good lord, Bainbridge is SUCH a creep. Pervert. Ugh. Charlie is so adorable though, and sweet! I wish he was real. And lived close by. ;] Lol that little section about the dragon dung made me smile. XD You've made the characters come so alive already, that I can totally see Kate doing something like that. And Charlie reacting by laughing. =D Anyways, nice long chappie. LOVED it!! I can't WAIT for you to update, it was amazing! Again, your writing is just so descriptive, it's amazing. Update soon! (Though your doing a great job with quick updates already! ^_^)

daydream_it_to_life

Author's Response: Thanks, Daydream. Glad you liked the chapter. The next one should be pretty long as well (and hopefully finished soon). Thanks for commenting on the characters. I am glad they come off somewhat realistic. I like Charlie too...poor guys has no idea what is in the works for him. And nope, this isnt the last of the restricted access for Kate. Thanks so much for continuing to R and R. I am so happy to know people are out there reading this :)

 Report Review

Review #37, by RonsGirlFriday Chapter Six: Restricted

29th June 2009:
Glad to see another chapter! I am really enjoying this story.

I wouldn't be too worried about this not looking like a romance yet. Sometimes it's nice for things to develop slowly, and I think it fits here, considering Kate's hesitance and resentment towards Charlie. On that note, I'm happy they have a dinner date. Or something similar to a dinner date, at least.

Charlie is just really oblivious, though. It's sort of maddening, actually. Can he really be so dense? Maybe it's just willful ignorance.

The whole thing with Kate's access being denied is a good twist, and I'm eager to see how it works out -- particularly because I got a feeling that it wasn't just a mix-up in paperwork. But I guess I'll have to wait and find out. :-)

Bainbridge gives me the creeps. Good job with him! You seem really versatile at writing different kinds of characters, and the diversity is part of what's making this story so enjoyable.

Great chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! I am glad you like the different characters, and they come off distinct enough to me memorable. Bainbridge is a sleaze, but surprising fun to write. I have been worried the whole thing is moving too slow, but once the story picks up, my intention is to have it run pretty fast, so maybe it will all balance out in the end. And hopefully Charlie won\\\'t come off as an idiot for too much longer. Thanks again for the review!!

 Report Review

Review #38, by RemusGal Chapter Five: Reluctance

23rd June 2009:
Another really intersting chapter. I can't tell if Kate and Charlie were a couple in the prologue or just good friends ("this wasn't just some old acquaintance", "Why did you leave me"), but it's so interesting how different people react to seeing someone they last saw years ago on awkward terms. I don't want to say it's a male/female difference, though that's how you've portrayed it here. Charlie acts like she's an old friend and there's no nervousness that he might have behaved badly in the past, so she might not be glad to see him. Kate is much more tentative (though we obviously see more of her feelings since you write from her POV). I liked how Charlie blurting out the news of Freds death deterred her from asking the hard questions she wanted to ask. That rings very true. I am guessing it was the attack on Bill that made Charlie leave Romania, but I'm sure if it's important it will come up later. Thanks for the author's note. I was confused about the timeline without it. Keep writing, I'm really enjoying your work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, RemusGal. I'm glad the author's note helped. I was worried it had gotten confusing. I hadn't really thought about the male/female dynamic, but you're right, that does fit the scene. Their varying reactions to each other will be addressed pretty completely in chapter 7 (I hope!). I'm glad the way Charlie tells Kate about Fred felt realistic. I just couldn't see him telling her in any other way. Thanks again. This review totally sparked an idea for me too. I bet you'll notice it come chapter 7 ;)

 Report Review

Review #39, by TheForestAgain Chapter Five: Reluctance

17th June 2009:
AH finally, we meet Charlie. Looks like they have a complicated past. Will things start to get romantic soon? I hope so! Great chapter!
10/10,
TheForestAgain

Author's Response: Yes, romance in many forms to follow. Maybe in chapter seven...? Thanks for the R&R!!

 Report Review

Review #40, by RonsGirlFriday Chapter Five: Reluctance

14th June 2009:
Well, you've definitely got me wondering what happened that made Charlie leave Romania. He took off in the middle of the fire, though? That is very strange.

I definitely didn't expect Charlie to be working a Ministry job, but Auror doesn't seem too terrible. Auror work always seemed to be one of the jobs that involved the least amount of paper-pushing -- they go out and do exciting tasks -- but if Kate really is anti-establishment, I guess I can see her reacting this way. Maybe a lot of her reaction is the lingering resentment over Charlie leaving? -- like she feels as if he abandoned them for a more cushy existence?

I was a little confused by her reaction to the pub they went to, because it seemed like the kind of place she would like, judging by what I know of her so far. But it occurred to me that maybe it was just the totality of the circumstances that was bothering her -- seeing Charlie again and everything.

I liked the contrast in their personalities as they "caught up" with each other -- with Charlie being super friendly and asking questions, and Kate being reserved and not wanting to give out any personal details. And Charlie seems happily oblivious about what's really bothering Kate, which is a little bit maddening because it makes me wonder whether he really has no clue how upset she is, or whether he intends to give her any explanation -- he's just going along as if it were old times again.

Also, I enjoyed your description of Charlie in the beginning of the chapter, especially this part:

"Looking at him was like looking at an old stone house, built to survive and protect, whatever the elements might throw at it."

The physical description was very much what I expected from what we know of him in canon, and I had always imagined him as a warm person, and you took it a step further in describing him as someone safe and secure. It's a little ironic, considering what he used to do for work -- working with dragons is adventurous and might not make a person seem like the epitome of stability -- but it's a nice character trait that rounds him out and adds depth, I think.

I'll be watching out for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for such a detailed review!! Kate's reaction to Charlie's job has a lot to do with her disappointment that he isn't the man she remembers, a person (who like herself) could never be happy working at the Ministry. Maybe I should have come out and said that more clearly. But you're right, it's also just the emotion of the whole situation too. She's overreacting to the wrong things.

You make a good point about the pub. I didn't write that part as well as I should have. Kate would like such a homespun, humble place. Her reaction was more ironic, in that such a shabby establishment would be described as "great," and her sensitivity to wizards looking down on muggle establishments. You're right though, SHE wouldn't look down on such a place.

Thank you so much for commenting on Charlie's description. I plan to return to that in the future chapters...her seeing him as a constant, steady protector. I really wanted to go beyond the cliche of him being a super attractive ladies man, but I still think a person with such a physical job would be larger and fit, and none of the Weasleys are ever described as unattractive. I also wanted to contrast it with another traditionally handsome character, who will make a return in future chapters.

Thank you again for all your reviews (have I said that enough yet :P)


 Report Review

Review #41, by RonsGirlFriday Chapter Four: Books

14th June 2009:
Ooh, Charlie's finally here! Although I do like how we got to know Kate pretty well over the course of a few chapters before Charlie entered the picture again.

You have a really nice way with words. I especially noticed in this chapter when you were describing the Ministry -- for example, with this line:

"No one seemed particularly happy to be there but everyone understood its necessity; one important step toward reaching some penultimate goal."

That, as well as the description of the Ministry as an institution that had failed everyone repeatedly. It's very fitting of the Ministry we know from the HP series -- all wrapped up in its own importance, but woefully ineffective.

Great job again, of course!

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I'm glad the more snarky comments about the Ministry stood out in a good way. Somewhere along the way, Kate as a character started channeling some old Moody "Ministry Malcontent." Maybe that's just a bit of me sneaking into Kate. Thanks for another awesome review.

 Report Review

Review #42, by RonsGirlFriday Chapter One: Money

14th June 2009:
Ah, bureaucracy! I like it when fics use issues that readers can relate to - bringing a real world element to stories set in the magical world - like budgets and land ownership and things like that.

I really like Henry. He seems like an eccentric, and even slightly paternal, older man clinging to his passion and his pet projects because he knows he's doing something worthwhile. He's a lot of fun to read! I like Kate, too - she seems like a down to earth person who does an honest day's work, and that makes her very relatable.

Also, good idea with the wizarding archaeologists and how some other wizards consider it a Muggle pursuit. I think it makes sense that there would be wizarding archaeologists, especially if they really want to learn as much as they can about different kinds of magical creatures. I'm fascinated by things like dinosaur digs, so I like seeing it translated into dragons.

Another great chapter! 10/10

Author's Response: I always wanted to be an archeologist when I was a kid, so I'm totally living out some lost dreams here. And I'm glad you found the ideas realistic. I was really trying to ground the story in things I could relate to on some level. I've been worried about Kate being likable, so thank you so much for commenting on her. It seems the other characters, like Henry, are just easier to write. Thank you again for the review. I really appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #43, by RonsGirlFriday Prologue: Fire

14th June 2009:
This chapter was mesmerizing. I really like your description, especially of the little village, which seemed quaint and peaceful and quiet before the image of the entire place going up in flames. The panic of the villagers was realistic and palpable, and I could see it playing out in front of my eyes like a movie scene.

I don't know a lot about Romania myself, but going by what I know from conversations I've had with a few friends from Romania, your descriptions seem accurate.

I'm really excited to read the story. I have never read one about Charlie at all, and it seems there aren't many out there.

Awesome prologue! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm glad the descriptions fit with what you've heard too. It all seemed real in my head and it's good to know it doesn't seem way off to others. And I haven't seen a lot of Charlie stories out there either, so I figured I might as well put one up! Thank you again for the R and R. Hope you enjoy the rest of the story.

 Report Review

Review #44, by daydream_it_to_life Chapter Five: Reluctance

13th June 2009:
Hmm, this chapter makes me so curious! Why is Charlie acting like nothing went on? Why DID he leave? That budgeting group seems so mighty suspicious to me! Once this queue opens up again, I certainly hope you'll have another chapter just waiting there! =] Still in love with your story, keep it up!

daydream_it_to_life

Author's Response: Thanks, dd. You're reviews always make me smile! I'm already working on the next chapter. Hopefully I'll get it up soon.

 Report Review

Review #45, by RemusGal Chapter Four: Books

31st May 2009:
Another lovely descriptive chapter. The two older wizards arguing about the young witch with the stolen lacewings were quite funny. I also liked Kate's wondering what was happening back at the dig, and feeling slightly guilty for hoping they didn't make too many discoveries without her. Those little glances into her character really flesh her out. You have a lot of balls in the air (settings, characters, intrigues) and I hope some of them start to come together soon. I'm really enjoying your prose.

Author's Response: Thanks, RG. Hopefully at least a few things will really start to show their connection in the next chapter, but there are still more twists to come. I hope they don't disappoint. And I'm glad you liked my old guys. I might just have to bring them back later. Thanks so much for the R&R.

 Report Review

Review #46, by daydream_it_to_life Chapter Four: Books

29th May 2009:
HE'S HERE!! =D Oh that's so exciting! And I've always loved Charlie. =] This was a really descriptive and fantastic chapter! I will never get over how vivid your writing is, and how I can see these places in my mind. I'm so glad you updated, it's made my day better, and I can't wait to see how Charlie and Kate react to each other, learn about their history, etc. I'm so excited! ^_^ Update soon and I'll be one happy camper.

Charlie Weasley! *dancing*
daydream_it_to_life

Author's Response: Thanks, daydream. You're reviews are always so much fun to read. The next chapter is all Kate and Charlie. I hope it won't disappoint. Thanks again!!

 Report Review

Review #47, by TheForestAgain Chapter Four: Books

29th May 2009:
Ahhh! What a cliffhanger. Great story, great chapter!
Update sooon please!
10/10

Author's Response: Thanks, I'll try to post again in the next week or so. :)

 Report Review

Review #48, by daydream_it_to_life Chapter Three: Portkey

15th May 2009:
Simply fabulous, as always. =] I still absolutely adore your descriptions. I can't help but think that whoever just arrived is important. ;] You've got to update soon, because though it may not SEEM like much of a cliffie, I sense some underlying reason. ^_^ Maybe I'm just crazy. Lack of sleep and a long week can do that to a person. Either way, I can't wait to read more!

Ready for the ministry,
daydream_it_to_life

Author's Response: Thanks, daydream. You're reviews always make me smile. I'm shooting to have chapter four done by Friday. Thanks so much for the support!!

 Report Review

Review #49, by RemusGal Chapter Three: Portkey

15th May 2009:
This was a pretty quiet chapter, but the descriptions of the city and the portkey office were excellent. I'm really enjoying the story.

Author's Response: Yeah, a little too quiet the more I look back on it. Hopefully you'll find that it picks up soon. Thanks for sticking with it and reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #50, by RandomRyter Chapter Three: Portkey

14th May 2009:
Well, the first exit may be good for you, but I personally would have loved for you to have kept going. This is quite good. Can't wait for her to see Charlie. The only thing is that I wish the chapters had a little more in them, which would also make them longer. It feels like I'm missing something. Love this FanFic, though!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the comments. I totally agree, the chapters aren't as beefy as I really want. I've never written a drama/romance before and am struggling to find the right balance. Hopefully once Charlie joins the story (teaser next chapter and then all Charlie after that!) it will get a better rhythm. Hopefully it will be less boring after that. Thanks again for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>