Reading Reviews for Portmanteau
  
48 Reviews Found

Review #1, by soccerchicka2421 Chapter Six: Restricted

10th June 2013:
I was so happy to come across this story of yours. I truly am loving this story thus far. I noticed on your page that you have abandoned this story. Is there an possibility that you might come back to it? Here's hoping you do!

Author's Response: Thank you, sc! I'm so glad you're enjoying the story. Sadly, I don't have any plans at the moment to return to it, but maybe one day. I have a couple of WIPs I'd like to complete first, but maybe after that. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Mags2421 Chapter Six: Restricted

10th June 2013:
This story is so intriguing. I'm so sad to see that I have blown through your last seven chapters and to realize that there are no more to read at the current time. I can't wait till the next installment comes out. Keep up the great work.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Mags. I'm so glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #3, by sleepless_nights Chapter Six: Restricted

19th October 2011:
I think this story is amazinly good. It really stands out because of it's unique storyline and the built up of the charakters is very well.
You're writing is awesome. I would love to read new chapters! This is to good to give it up! :)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much. I never even noticed anyone was reading/reviewing this anymore. I've moved on to a new story right now but I certainly appreciate the comments. It really means a lot as this was my first story. Maybe I'll find a way to pick it up again one day.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Drecklin Prologue: Fire

12th August 2011:
Do you have any idea how excited I am to read a Charlie story? Well, if you don't, it is very, very excited. I love Charlie, and I can already tell I am going to love this story. So much of it is shrouded in mystery that I just want more and more [Which won't be too hard with the next chapters, will it? :P] and that mystery is very appropriate for a prologue. Everything about this chapter just screams at me that this is going to be a great story- the writing, the plot, the characters so far. You have done a brilliant job!

I really can't wait to read more, especially find out why the Death Eaters were visiting the village, and why they knew Romanian :P

Anyways, fabulous story, you've done an amazing job so far to draw me in as a reader!

Forum Name: Drecklin
House: Slytherin

Author's Response: Aww, thanks Drecklin. I'm glad you liked it. I've always had a bit of a thing for Charlie myself. It's always good to know he has other fans out there!

 Report Review

Review #5, by AndrinaBlack Prologue: Fire

19th August 2010:
I really liked this chapter. It gave me a real feel of the place you were describing and the fear and danger surrounding it. You create the atmosphere in the story very well. The first glimpse of your characters was also promising. You wrote the scary action also very well. Action is something I struggle with myself as well as scaryness (or danger or whatever you could call this here).

I'm glad you're writing about Charlie. He's the Weasley I would pick myself any day. By the way, he seems to go through his wands fast as I think Ron had an old wand of his and now he needs a new one again. This chapter has a kind of suspense feeling over it that really makes me want to continue reading this story to see what happens next.

Author's Response: Aww, thanks AB. I actually haven't added anything new on this story for a while - aside from deleting a chapter and another random 2000+ words - but you're making me want to take a second look. I'm glad you're a Charlie fan too. I love him to bits. And I didn't even think about his issue with wands but you're totally right! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #6, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 Chapter Six: Restricted

23rd December 2009:
Writing is amazing, yet again! As usual, you make me believe that I'm actually in the story witnessing it all. Great job!:D

Author's Response: Thanks. It was fun to pull in a new area of the Ministry. Who doesn't like a good interrogation room :P

 Report Review

Review #7, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 Chapter Five: Reluctance

23rd December 2009:
Again, your writing is brilliant. Even though you said that the dates and such are off, it's really not that noticeable with your writing. It's great. You're an amazing writer:)

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I really appreciate the read and review.

 Report Review

Review #8, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 Chapter Four: Books

23rd December 2009:
Absolutely love it! Even though it was a shorter chapter, it still matched the others with its quality. Amazing job:)

Author's Response: Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #9, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 Chapter Three: Portkey

22nd December 2009:
Writing was brilliant! Amazing job with details and thouroughness!

Author's Response: I may have gotten a little too carried away with the details here, but thank you!

 Report Review

Review #10, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 Chapter Two: Holdovers

20th December 2009:
Genius, as usual. Your plot is as great as your writing. Amazing job!:D

Author's Response: Your reviews are kind of great for my ego. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment.

 Report Review

Review #11, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 Chapter One: Money

20th December 2009:
Again, you have made the chapter believable. I feel as if I were in the place and time, watching the scenes close by. You're doing a great job! Keep up the good work:)

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad it was easy to envision.

 Report Review

Review #12, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 Prologue: Fire

20th December 2009:
Your prologue was amazing! I absolutely loved the detail and the work that you've put in here so far! It's amazing, and you're an amazing writer! Never think otherwise:)

Author's Response: I think otherwise often, but thank you so much regardless. I very much appreciate the R&R.

 Report Review

Review #13, by alyosha Chapter One: Money

26th November 2009:
Blunders? you? never.

I have never read a story with so much beauracracy in it before. And i am not the least of all annoyed for it.

Author's Response: If only. Blunders are always near at hand, but I'm certainly glad to hear nothing was too annoying :) Thanks for the R&R.

 Report Review

Review #14, by alyosha Prologue: Fire

25th November 2009:
No wonder this won accolades. The story is so compelling, and well-versed, and captivating. I cannot even begin to convey how good it is.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you for the review. I wish I was confident enough to not think this was written sarcastically.

 Report Review

Review #15, by FannyPrice Chapter One: Money

17th November 2009:
Wow! Wow. This was such a detailed, realistic chapter. I mean, I unfortunately can't vow for your depictions of Egypt--but I study science (biology), and this whole part about grants and privatization, you really nailed that. Great job! Do you study a science, as well --or work in research?

Anyway, awesome read. There were a few small grammatical errors I saw, but nothing that detracted from the reading!

Author's Response: I KNOW I already responded to this review, but it seems to have disappeared. Anyway, thank you again for the review. I've been editing a bit (actually, a lot), so hopefully I've fixed some of the mistakes, though chances are I just added in some new ones.

 Report Review

Review #16, by ohcrapidroppedmybrain Chapter One: Money

31st October 2009:
Happy HPPFSAD!

Woohoo! Now we are going somewhere! I’m excited to see that Kate is a strong heroine, and I’m particularly fond of Henry. You can tell you put a lot of thinking into your plot, because EVERYTHING is laid out perfectly. The reason why I like Kate is because she’s not too harsh but she’s not too nice. She’s very mellow about things, and she’s certainly likeable. With three years passing by, I can see a significant difference between her. She’s calmed down a bit, and I really want to know what happened to cause this. The C-Man, perhaps?

Henry was a great foil! The whole time, I was imagining him as a bearded little Santa Clause, so it made me laugh. I dunno. And I could really relate to it when he was talking about spending getting cut.

There are so many changes! Are the Death Eaters still out and about? I can’t wait to find out! And now that Voldemort is gone, surely nothing will happen to him.

I love the ending of that. I am sooo curious to see what happened between Kate and Charlie. A thousand theories swivel in my mind, yet I do not know for sure. I can’t wait to see how their romance plays out and I really can’t wait to find out (I’m a romance sort of girl =]])

My only CC for this chapter is that you had a typo:

Kate signed, her curiosity and concern outweighing

I think you mean sighed?

Great story =]] You are an awesome writer.

Author's Response: You're absolutely right. I did mean sighed. If Kate speaks sign language, it's news to me. Your comment about Santa Clause was great. That didn't occur to me while writing but it does fit really well. Henry is a character I really like and would love to know so it's great to hear that he's enjoyable to read. Thank you for this review and your participation in SAD. It's so very sweet.

 Report Review

Review #17, by ohcrapidroppedmybrain Prologue: Fire

31st October 2009:
Wow. What else do I say? This is a great start to a Dobby-Award-Winning Story…and I totally see why it is one of the Dobbys. You lay out a complex plot in a little under than 3000 words. The fact that you chose Charlie to write about intrigued me too, because not many people write about him.

The POV that was chosen was a really good choice…it adds to the suspense of it all, and I like that. You also make the characters extremely believable. The elderly woman was quite terrifying- actually…I don’t know if you’ve seen it or not, but she reminds me of that crazy lady on “Drag Me To Hell”. Of course, this lady seemed more terrified than anything else =]]. When she was all like, “Devil,” I gasped. But I do that a lot.

Another thing I like about this chapter is the scene in the beginning. You have a very distinct writing style, and you laid out the imagery perfectly. I could picture the dirt on the road as the Death Eaters made their way to the Drunken Lion. That, along with excellent dialogue, made me want to read more. You write action pretty well =]]

Even though this is AU, the Dark Art was a nice touch. It made me more familiar with your story, and because of this relation, I’m reading more.

My only CC is that you didn’t italicize your spells and had a few sentences that caused me trouble. Hence;

It was after midnight when the three hooded men appeared suddenly on the small plateau overlooking the village.
It was a little overwhelming for me to read, but besides this, I’m in love with this story! On to the second chapter!

Constants.

Author's Response: Thanks, brain. I really appreciate this great review, particularly the CC. I'll have to look into the matter with the spells and at some of my wordier sentences. I can be a bit long-winded at times. I've never seen the movie you referenced but I'm glad that character stood out. I wanted to make sure the villagers weren't all faceless masses. Thank you again for the R&R.

 Report Review

Review #18, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Prologue: Fire

31st October 2009:
Happy HPFFSAD! I'm a day late, but it's better than nothing.

This was an extremely interesting start to a story. Your description was amazing, your characters highly interesting and your plot... just wow. It was a huge start to a story and I really want to get to know the characters more. The way you left the reader hanging with all these questions... My head is spinning. And Charlie, so far, is great.

Author's Response: I do love Charlie :)

Thank you for the review, a day late or not. I'm still in shock at how this whole surprise was planned. Thank you for taking the time to participate. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the chapter.


 Report Review

Review #19, by FannyPrice Prologue: Fire

30th October 2009:
OOOo! I am adding this to my favorites! I’ve never read a Charlie romance before, so I am very excited to read the rest. I love stories that have action to them, and this definitely qualifies. It was also well written and I admire the effort you put into looking up at least some Romanian and researching the country. But…HAPPY HPFFSAD! In order to show my appreciation for all the work you do here at HPFF (including validating a few of my own fics!) I thought I’d leave you a review—because who doesn’t love a review! Anyway, Thanks again, hope your day goes wonderfully, and, like I said, can’t wait to read the rest!

Author's Response: Thank you, Fanny. It's true, reviews are wonderful. Thanks for participating in this staff surprise. HPFF has the best members ever!

 Report Review

Review #20, by iloveblack Prologue: Fire

30th October 2009:
Hey there, I’m here to spread the love for HPFFSAD,
First off, congrats on winning a Dobby!

I really like how you begin the chapter. It has me wondering who these men are and what they’re up to. I’m wondering, are they the good guys, are they bad ones? And that is what keeps me reading.

Your desrcibtion of the place and of the atmosphere is very well done and I especially enjoyed the one of the people in the tavern. It’s very realistic and the picture you created is that which everyone, who’s never been to Eastern Europe and especially Romania, needs to imagine what it’s like there. So, don’t worry about misinterpreting things. I’m currently living in a small village in Hungary and though I find it very traditional at times and could see this village in your description, I’m told that it’s even more traditional in Romania.

The desription of the attack was amazing. There is no other way of putting it. I had goosebumps on my arms all the way through and when Charlie saw the Dark Mark, wow you’ve got no idea of how impressive that scene was.

I can already see now that your writing is definitely Dobby worthy, I’m going to favourite this right away, and I can’t wait to see how this continues.

Antje

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review and participating in HPFFSAD. I was very touched by the whole endeavor. I'm glad the descriptions of the village and the attack read alright. It's particularly nice to hear that from someone a lot closer to that region of the world than I am.

 Report Review

Review #21, by timeturner14 Chapter Three: Portkey

27th July 2009:
Wow. I am really enjoying this story so far. Kudos to you for choosing a rarely used character to write about and creating such a detailed background and fleshed out story. You can tell that you really put a great deal of time and research into the story and I am looking forward to seeing how it unfolds. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you, timeturner14. I'm a bit of a perfectionist so I do try and at least pull up pictures or read about locations before I write on them. Whether that makes me thorough or just unimaginative I'm not sure, but either way, thank you for the R&R.

 Report Review

Review #22, by shadowycorner Chapter One: Money

21st July 2009:
But once again, you're doing an absolutely great job creating the scenery. Don't worry at all. it doesn't matter whether you've been there or not. :) Honestly, I could perfectly imagine both settings. Your descriptions are vivid, not overdone and overall very good.

Henry is definitely an interesting character. And I liked the style of this chapter. It felt so...real, you know. And you know your stuff. Sometimes when i read fics I feellike reading nonsense, but definitely not this time. :) Interesting topics. I like this entire idea of searching for dragon bones and how the characters talk about it is cool.

I'm favoriting this story!

Author's Response: Thanks for the favorite!! That means a lot. I'm glad the imagery came of well here. I've always wanted to go to Egypt and dig around in the sand, so this was really fun to write. I'm really happy you liked Henry. He's grown rather "real" to me too. I hope I get to work for someone like him one day. Thanks for the r&r :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by shadowycorner Prologue: Fire

21st July 2009:
I like when there's action at the beginning of stories, even though Ioften find it hard to follow because of my horrible concentration. Still, the writing style felt smooth and was easy to read. It really made me wonder and want to find out what's going on and that's always good on the writer's part.

Basically what drew me in was that it's a story that has Charlie. i was looking around for him. :) The characters, along with Charlie, didn't really leave an imprint on me yet, but I'm sure that'll change once the pace after this action-filled chapter will slow down. I really can't wait to read more. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. It's always good to know there are more Charlie fans out there. I hope that the characters over the course of the story become much more three dimensional. This is really one of the few action sequences in the whole story, so hopefully there will be plenty of chances to really get to know Charlie and the others. Thank you again for reading and reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by inkpot Prologue: Fire

20th July 2009:
Great opening, it's nice just to be plunged into a story without too much set up. Very atmospheric. Good job!

Inkpot x

Author's Response: Thanks! Prologues are fun like that. You get to throw in the big action without explanation. Thank you for the R & R.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Laugharama_llama Chapter Six: Restricted

6th July 2009:
Haha, this is such an interesting story! I can't wait until Kate asks him why he disappeared! The Prologue was really well written too. I was so into it. I can't wait to see what happens next! :)

Author's Response: Thanks! The disappearance will be solved in chapter seven. Glad you are enjoying and thank you for the review.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>