Reading Reviews for Off the Rails
  
513 Reviews Found

Review #26, by slytherinchica08 twenty-four

14th June 2014:
I love the brother sister dynamo you have going on between james and lily. They are just so sweet together. I'm excited to see how this whole prom thing goes down I think it will be interesting, very interesting. I also love how protective kit seems to be of lily, I think it adds a little something more to this end of the story as well. Great job I look forward to reading more.

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: The James/Lily dynamic was one of my favourite ones to write in this whole fic. It's so lovely to have such a strong sibling relationship for him to fall back on. :) And the prom scene was one of my favourite ones to write. I'm so glad you like Kit because he's one of my favourites, and I think Maddie gets most of the love, haha. Thanks for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #27, by slytherinchica08 twenty-three

14th June 2014:
Oh no poor James. He seems just down right devastated that she forgot about his game. It's kinda cute really, that his playing was affected by her not showing up. At least they still won though. Gah I just want to read more. I need more! This story is seriously so good and addictive, I just can't help but want to come back and read this all the time. I feel bad about how long its been since I last read and reviewed a chapter. Hopefully I can fix that. Anyways, this was another wonderful chapter and I shall continue onto the next. Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Poor James, he's in way over his head by this point. Bless him. ;) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #28, by nott theodore epilogue

3rd June 2014:
...




Okay. Coherent thought time. (Attempt at coherent thought time, anyway).

SO MANY FEELS!

I'm actually really, really glad that I waited until now to read this (not that I had a choice, stupid exams) because I want to know what happens next and this epilogue was both an epilogue and a teaser for what's coming next in the sequel, and at least now I can read the first chapter and find out what's happening!

Hmm, so you thought you'd fool me with that wedding switch, didn't you? Because you're a mean author who likes to trick people *nods* But I know your writing too well to believe in something at first sight now, and I knew it was Brigid and Freddie's wedding all along! (There may have been a moment when Carlotta walked up the aisle when I questioned my belief, but that was soon resolved). Still, even if you didn't trick me I loved the way you wrote it, with the vagueness of the scene and not necessarily being able to tell who's doing what... I love the circular-ness (that's now a word, and if it's not, I'm blaming the temporary shut down of my brain now I have nothing to do...) of the story, since it starts and ends with a wedding! It reminded me that so much has changed and happened in that time.

James is still terrified of the commitment that would mean a wedding though :P It's nice to see he's not changed that much, and he and Carlotta suit each other for that. It could never have been James getting married only a year later, with us not able to see how it came about! But I love the fact that he's so happy for his friends, which makes Carlotta happy, and both of them being happy (as well as Brigid and Freddie) makes me happy. So happy people all round! (This is definitely not coherent but ah I'm sorry, this story is finished and I can't believe it!)

Poor Cordelia. I'm sad to hear that she didn't survive, but again, it's not that surprising - proof that James hasn't changed beyond all recognition now that another year has passed. And he took the Hogwarts job! It was so strange to hear him being called Professor, and to think of him with that responsibility - I'm also really intrigued to find out what he needs to talk to Carlotta about concerning Hogwarts!

I could ramble on a lot more, but I'll try to limit it, because I really want to go and read the first chapter of Derailed. (Which I am REALLY excited for now!) This story is probably my favourite on the whole archives right now, and I love the fact that I found it ages ago, back when all I was looking for was next generation fluff, and this story has been one of those which has really changed my mind about reading, because now I want much more and this story has it all.

The characters are brilliant. James especially, the way that he seemed so shallow right at the beginning and then we discovered that there was something a lot deeper and more mature to him, and we've continued to see his development all the way through. I think the story has grown with the characters (I could mention all the other characters I love, but it would be more than half the cast, so...) and it's really just fantastic. I'm so glad I decided to click on the title all that time ago, and stick with the story, because it's brilliant. And now I'm off to read the first chapter of Derailed before I get any more incoherent!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Yep, this was definitely planned as a chapter which wrapped up those last two loose ends - Brigid/Freddie, and What James Does Next - but also served as a little tease for Derailed! Which was why I put the first chapter of Derailed up fairly quickly in the end. I'm nice like that. ;)

I was intrigued as to who would fall for the ambiguous narration at the beginning. Obviously I know the exact workings of James/Carlotta at this point, and they're both very commitment-phobic, even if they are living together, so it was never going to be their wedding. And yes, as you've pointed out, I would have cheated you all out of a lot of development between them had I married them off here! But I know there are a lot of people who are waiting for it ... if it ever happens ... ;)

And I absolutely HAD to both start and finish this story with weddings. I think James' change in circumstances from one to the other says eons about his progress in the time in between.

Ha, yep, Cordelia dies as a sad-but-a-little-bit-comical reminder that James isn't quite matured yet. Still not ready for marriage! Don't worry, he'll have a new pygmy puff. :)

Thank you so SO much for all your wonderful reviews! It's so lovely to know I have readers who will always leave an interesting, detailed review on a chapter. :) And it's awesome to think Rails has helped to change your perspective on fics you read! I always aimed to dress this up as a fluffy Next-Gen and then uncover the angst underneath (without wanting to sound pretentious, although I probably am) and it's oddly satisfying to know I've lured readers in on that basis and they've stayed!

James' development amazes even me. I never imagined his growth would be as extensive as it turned out to be. It's as though the James of the start is a totally different person!

Thank you, again, for all the reviews! (And don't worry, this wasn't an incoherent review, and besides incoherency is always fun.) Now for Derailed!


 Report Review

Review #29, by nott theodore sixty-three

3rd June 2014:
ELLIE! ♥

I've just finished my exams and now I finally have time to come and leave a review for this chapter! (And having taken a sneak peek at the other reviews, I've just realised I'm a month late... wow. Stupid exams.) I'm just going to say - how could you put that in your chapter summary? Seriously, I was so worried and nervous when I saw it because I was sensing bad things going to happen with James and Carlotta, even though I couldn't see them actually breaking up... but that was mean, and I do not approve of you trying to give me a heart attack with the chapter summary! :P

Mmm, all that food is making me hungry. I love how Carlotta loves baking - it's like a guarantee she'll fit in with the Weasleys.

So I'd already started suspecting a few chapters ago, and especially at the end of the last chapter, that this was coming. And I didn't want it to happen really but I had time to reconcile myself to it, so that when I realised James was going to see Sinead and Brie, I didn't feel that bad at all about him quitting.

Ah, Sinead's so sweet about it all. I think her explanation of the parts not really fitting together to make a professional Quidditch player really made sense, and they helped me to think that it was the right thing to do even more, since his own coach can see that for him. And it feels like the right time - although I normally hate sports players retiring at their best, he's only 21 and he's just won the world cup - there's nothing that's going to match that feeling in professional Quidditch for him in the future, and a lot of potential for disappointment if the teams he played for didn't do as well as they had in the past. So I can understand it, and it'll be good for him to get out of the limelight as well, because that really didn't suit him. And a new and different challenge will do him good, I think.

I love Brigid, really. She's alawys been such a good friend for James and he hasn't always realised the extent of what she's done for him, but that makes me like her even more; she doesn't feel the need to demand James's attention and do it so that he likes her better, she just does what is right for her friend. Their little talk was so cute and I was just smiling all the way through - you write the friendships in this story so well, and I love the fact that while it's a James/OC story, the romance is just an element of the rest of the plot. They've definitely helped each other out! And aw, Freddie and Brigid! ♥ It's nice to see that he finally got his act together and did something...

Teehee. I couldn't help laughing when I read about all of James's aunts and uncles suffering from a hangover, and James just manages to get through it all with no problems, lucky guy. And it's lovely to see Carlotta spending more time with his family and fitting in - she clearly feels a lot more comfortable around them now, especially if she's been hearing Harry's stories when James isn't even with them!

Ah, and the bombshell. Their reactions are pretty realistic - if it was someone in my family that was excelling at a sport like that, and then decided to give it up, I'd be pretty incredulous. But I think they'll come to understand eventually, and the fact that James is able to be happy for the opportunity this gives Roxanne is great, really in character. So is all of the Weasleys piling on her when they realise she's now the first choice Chaser! Harry and James scenes are some of my favourites now that they get on with each other, and seeing just that brief moment of acceptance and understaning from Harry was brilliant. He understands what it's like to be forced into the limelight for something you'd rather not be known for, and Ginny, like James said, will understand as well. He's got great parents and a great family, and it's brilliant that he now realises that and is starting to accept it, too.

The mysterious job, I'm assuming, is the Hogwarts Quidditch teacher? I've wondered for a while if he'd do that, and while I didn't want him to, your wonderful writing has, as ever, made me come round to the idea.

Ah, of course Carlotta realised. They're getting so close to each other but I like the fact that you haven't laboured that point; their relationship is developing naturally alongside everything else. N'aww, James was so cute rambling and getting nervous when he asked her to move in! Of course she said yes - I can't wait to see what they'll be like living together in Derailed, although I suspect that it'll still be a while before either of them say the L word...

The ending was really sweet, too. It just seemed to fit really well and it's clear how important Carlotta is to James, that he'd share something like his grandparents' with her. Although *twitches* I can't believe he burnt the broom! I understand the sentiment behind it, and new beginnings and everything, but... it's like burning a book or something!

Eep, I'm off to read the Epilogue now and then cheer myself up with the fact that the sequel has already started so I don't have to be sad about this ending for long!

Sian :)

Author's Response: SIAN! Well I'm the worst person ever at answering reviews ... whoops :p

Haha, I put that line in the chapter with the plan of making it the summary ... yep, I'm evil! But come on, was I really going to break them up? ;)

All in all, I don't think James' retirement was unexpected, given all the clues I dropped, but I imagine it was something that people still didn't think would happen. I'm the same as you when it comes to sports players retiring before their time, but it really was the right thing for James to do. And it also gives me the option to do something truly awesome with Derailed - which you already know, of course. :) But I'm glad it all seemed to make sense in the end.

Brigid IS an absolute gem, and I have to say I really enjoy writing a strong friendship. I think that sort of dynamic can be overlooked sometimes, so I like making those relationships just as important as romantic or familial ones. The Brigid/Carlotta dynamic in Derailed will be so adorable to write. :)

Thanks for your lovely review! Onto the next one... :)


 Report Review

Review #30, by Tuesday epilogue

30th May 2014:
Perfect.
Tuesday xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by DracosGirl012 epilogue

29th May 2014:
I just wanted to say that I have loved every minute of this story. It is seriously, literally, the best Next Generation fanfiction that I have ever, ever read. I kind of had a gut feeling that James would end up taking Madam Hooch's place, ;) And I love the twists in this story. You have done things that no one has! (For example, Lily being a squib is something I've never seen done).
I loved Brigid and Freddie. They were completely amazing. And I really, really loved Carlotta! Her relationship with James was so perfect and so real that I went "Aww" several times and actually smiled reading this.
I've not read a fic this good in a while, and this was absolutely amazing. Thank you so much for sharing this story with us readers, and I cannot wait for the sequel. I really, really love this story.

Author's Response: Ahhh, thank you so much for the lovely review!

I'm glad you liked what I did with Lily. I've always wanted to throw a Squib into a fic to explore that dynamic, and it seemed like the perfect opportunity here. It's also lovely to know you like James/Carlotta because their dynamic is one of the driving forces not just of this fic, but the sequel too. I think Carlotta is probably my favourite character.

Thanks again for the lovely review, I'm really glad you've enjoyed this fic and I hope to see you at the sequel. :)


 Report Review

Review #32, by marauderfan two

21st May 2014:
I'm back and omg I love your Audrey. I love that you made her a kind of gossipy, sarcastic, and funny person. Totally opposite of Percy but hey they say opposites attract. Percy totally needs someone like her anyway who would make him lighten up a little. And kudos to her for putting up with all his "I have a meeting with the Minister" all the time.

Also this family cracks me up - there is no such thing as privacy with them as they're all up in each other's personal business! Hahaha.

Freddie likes Brigid too! I wonder how long it's going to take them to get together. Prediction: forever. Brigid is an avoider and Freddie is oblivious and someone will have to lock them in a room together or something. My bet is on James doing this because he'll get annoyed at the both of them eventually. Anyway that's probably ages away.

Loved the scene with James, Maddie, and Lily! Maddie is cool. I hope she continues to appear a lot in the story because her interactions with James are hilarious, as are Lily's reactions :D

Great chapter! I'll be back (read that in a non-Terminator voice.)

Author's Response: One of my biggest pet peeves in Next Gen is people writing an annoying Audrey because they don't like Percy. I actually think he mellowed after DH, and he would be better suited to someone who would balance out his flaws and lighten him up. Likewise, I like to think he could keep her grounded. I'm often tempted to write a Percy/Audrey one shot, actually...

Oh, the Freddie/Brigid saga. You're correct; they do take a while to come round. I'll say no more on that matter. :)

Maddie appears a fair bit more, don't worry - and she absolutely steals every scene she's in. Thanks for the reviews! :)


 Report Review

Review #33, by marauderfan one

21st May 2014:
Hello! I keep seeing this story popping up recently so I decided it was time I see what it's all about.

James II as an arrogant, womanizing Quidditch player is something I have seen a lot in next gen. BUT (before that starts to sound mean, bear with me because here comes a lot of compliments/gushing) There is something about your James that puts a fresh spin on the cliché and honestly I really like him! His faults are pretty obvious so far, but you can tell that under his carelessness about romance he is actually a caring person. I love the way you've juxtaposed his flippant disregard of relationships with women, yet he has a great relationship with the important women in his life. Already I love the way you've written his respectful friendship with Brigid, and his relationship with Lily. She's a super awesome sister. I love how she and Brigid both put James in his place when he gets too arrogant haha.

Also I must commend you on the number of characters introduced in the first chapter. You mentioned a lot, but it didn't seem like too many. Especially with next gens, sometimes I get overwhelmed when 800 Weasleys are introduced and I'm just like ahhh who are all these people. So thank you for not doing that :p You've got the perfect number of characters for a first chapter, because with only three that you really focused on, I get to know them a lot better. Only one chapter in and I feel like I already know James, Lily, and Brigid pretty well.

It looks like Quidditch will feature pretty heavily in this story which is exciting because I don't know if I've read any story where Quidditch isn't just a subplot - but this is James's life and career, so I'm eager to see where you go from here.

Great start! I am really excited to read on :D so expect to see more of me later. Ciao!

Author's Response: Aah, thank you so much for popping along! These reviews have made my day. :)

I could sit here and say that I always intended to write a womanising Quidditch player AND YET put a spin on it to be original and clever ... but the truth is, I didn't realise this was a Next Gen cliche when I first started work on this fic. But James is certainly a lot more than just that, as I think is already apparent from the way he treats Lily and Brigid - he has reasons for perhaps disregarding other women.

And yes, Lily and Brigid definitely have the measure over James. :)

I always used to see people bemoaning the number of Weasleys and wonder what was so hard, because I could keep track of all of them easily. But it's one thing to know who's who, and another thing completely to throw them into a fic at the right time without completely blowing people's minds. So it's good to know I didn't go too far with this one. :)

...yeah, there's a lot of Quidditch in this fic. So much that I've pretty much put myself off writing it ever again. I now know why JK avoided writing the matches whenever she could! I hope you'll enjoy that plot, because it's a pretty important part of James' life. :) Thanks for dropping by and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #34, by ohmymerlin epilogue

20th May 2014:
:O

I thought James and Carlotta were getting married and the way you wrote it was SO CLEVER!

But then when it was Brigid and Freddie's wedding and that probably made me happier, haha!

AND POOR CORDELIA! James, you silly boy! STOP KILLING YOUR PYGMY PUFFS

AND NAW CARLOTTA AND JAMES AFRBHJBJFKVNDBKV

I LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT THEM AND I CANNOT WAIT TO READ THE SEQUEL!

This story has been absolutely phenomenal. I think you've done such a wonderful job of it and you should SERIOUSLY think of writing as a professional career! You're absolutely brilliant at it and I think this is definitely my favourite fic on this site and every other site. The way you write is just so glorious and every word manages to blow me away.

I'm guessing James will ask Carlotta to move to Hogsmeade maybe? Will she run The Three Broomsticks or change Hogshead? and she can finally open her restaurant and it'd be magical so there'd be all sorts of cool things and [flails to fall thinking of all the possibilities]

Anyway, I've really enjoyed reading this story. It's been such an amazing experience and you have such a talent for writing and I absolutely cannot wait to read more of James and Carlotta.

So thank you for writing this and thank you for being such an amazing author! You're the absolute best! ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Yeah, that wedding switch was probably a bit cruel, wasn't it? But it gave me some sort of sadistic enjoyment, so there we go. And Brigid and Freddie have finally gotten married, yay!

Yup, it's a year on, and many things have changed, but James still can't look after pygmy puffs. Poor Cordelia. :(

Thank you so, so much for all your lovely reviews throughout this fic, it's been so lovely to receive them and I really appreciate it. :) And it means so much to know you love this fic so much! James is getting a little big-headed, I imagine. :) I'm hoping to start posting the sequel in the next month or so, and I hope to see you there - I think there's something in the first chapter which you'll like a lot. ;)

Thanks again for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #35, by misswow234 epilogue

20th May 2014:
You can't possibly imagine just how much I have enjoyed reading this. I honestly expected it to just be the easy-fluffy romanc-y story that I was so used to, but it was just so much more!! I loved that you didn't just focus on how Carla changed James, but on his whole `Coming of Age` (sort of) story. It was such a wonderful experience reading this chapter and I was immensely impressed with how talented you are at writing. I loved the family dynamics and the characters were so extremely likable and I found it really great that you managed to write not just about James but also about the stories of the people around him. And that's no easy task as often times it can get overwhelming for the reader to follow more than one story.
All in all, just simply wonderful, and I'm so looking forward for the sequel!

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much for reading this! I'm really glad you enjoyed it. :) I don't think I realised, when I was planning this, just how strong James was going to turn out - he HAS come of age in this fic, and he's mostly done it himself, which has pleasantly surprised me. Occasionally I've worried about the balance between James' own story and his friends and family, so it's good to know that worked out well in the end. :) Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, and I hope to see you at the sequel! :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by QkStephen epilogue

19th May 2014:
I absolutely loved your story and it has been a part of a fanfiction resurgence for me. I read the whole thing yesterday and today and it was worth every moment. Thank you for the experience

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for reading! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #37, by LavenderBlue eleven

18th May 2014:
Poor Carlotta. D: It's so sad that her automatic reaction to James is fear, but then, if I were in her shoes and discovered a bunch of nutzo stuff in the flat, followed by James Apparating out of thin air and brandishing a wand, I'd probably be scared to death, too.

This is hurting my heart, all this talk of Obliviating. Looking back, it seems almost inevitable that it would come to this. After all, James isn't very careful and Carlotta is quite clever. All the same, I don't think Brigid is exactly right when she claims that wiping James from Carla's memory won't have any adverse affect on him.

At least, for all his propensity toward arrogance, James isn't big-headed enough to think he can fix the situation alone. I think it speaks volumes that he's willing to go to Brigid and Rose for advice. Even though he doesn't TAKE that advice... That seems to be an emerging theme with James: he starts out with the best of intentions but somehow manages to fumble them into something else. And it's a flaw, but it's a very intriguing flaw that doesn't in any way diminish my empathy for him as a character.

And omg, right when I'm in the middle of all this sad concern, there is a SCOROSE MOMENT. Yess. I love that little glimpse of adorbz even in the midst of all the madness. I only hope that James can track Carlotta down and that drama doesn't ensue. But maybe a secret part of me is hoping that it WILL. >:]

Wonderful, wonderful read!

Author's Response: I really had to put myself into Carlotta's shoes to write this, because it's actually hard to imagine just how much this sort of situation would completely FREAK someone out. And it was horrible, to be honest. As much as we all sit there and go "I'd love to be able to live in the wizarding world", if this were to actually happen to me in real life ... yeah, I'd be scared as hell.

I hope it's becoming clear that underneath, James really isn't cocky at all. He knows his abilities but he also knows his limits - I don't think Harry and Ginny would let their kids become big-headed, for a start! This situation is so BIG that he obviously needs help to fix it, he can't manage it himself. It's just, he doesn't want the only help available to him, because, y'know, memory charms. Nasty business. That's what happens when you break the Statute!

Scorose indeed. :) Will there be drama? I couldn't possibly say... thanks for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #38, by LavenderBlue ten

18th May 2014:
Brigid & James' friendship is such a beautiful thing. Brigid is the best, period, even though she forgoes James' advice and greets Carlotta with a severely snarky remark. I was holding my breath during their meeting. I really wanted the two to like each other, and now I've got my wish granted. :)

It's so fascinating reading the comments from James' fam & friends, over and over again, about the dangers of dating a Muggle and the Statute of Secrecy, blah, blah, especially when I'm in the midst of KYD, with purebloods warning each other off from Muggleborns and halfbloods in much the same way. It's funny how that door swings both ways, isn't it? Because as much as I'm sure most of James' acquaintances don't mean to be xenophobic, they really are. Then again, we're all a little xenophobic, aren't we?

Wow, Ryan. What a class act. Lol. I love how Rose really does take after her mother, though. Clearly SOMEONE at a table of drunken magicfolk in a Muggle setting ought to be a little worried, and Rosie is just the person for the job.

Awe. Team Carlotta and James to the rescue, thwarting Brigid from getting low over what a bleepity bleep Freddie is being, as usual. I really like that they're both well aware of how to look out for her. I also find it highly adorable that the Fam goes to Hugo's games.

This line: "I'm not at all big-headed, I'm just confident in my ability." Hahaha. Love it. It's so James. And it's quite a bit Harry, too, m'thinks. :)

Kreacher cameo! I like how you worked him into the story (as if you didn't already have to seamlessly work in every Potter-Weasley ever!). It's little touches like this that endear the story to me even more and make James' world that much more real. Wuv wuv.

AND OMG. I KNEW IT HAD TO HAPPEN. Everyonnne warning James that he'd break the Statute of Secrecy, and sure enough, he has. EEP. What shall transpire?!?!

Fantastic chapter!

Author's Response: Oh, Brigid. The voice of reason in hers and James' friendship - because he has none whatsoever. She and Carlotta have the capability to get on very well - magic not withstanding that is.

It was actually really uncomfortable to write these conversations with James' family, when they were all trying to stop him seeing Carlotta. Because while I knew they didn't mean to be xenophobic, it really doesn't sound good - "stay away from the Muggle". Yeah, friendly. But they have their reasons, and at least James understands that. Even if he doesn't LISTEN.

One thing Harry and James do share is that ability to value their strengths and weaknesses without getting arrogant about those strengths. Although James isn't always this good at self-assessment, the poor guy...

Oh Kreacher, he's been such a darling to write into this, bless him. He'll pop up again!

...it happened. OF COURSE. Thanks for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #39, by LavenderBlue nine

18th May 2014:
It has been TOO LONG. I'm so excited to have snagged some free time for a healthy dose of OTR. Yummy. :)

Dawr. It bothers Jamsies that he hasn't seen Carlotta in over a week. It bothers him that he has to turn down plans. Why is that James? Why, oh why? >:] Also, it cracks me up every time Cordelia makes a rando appearance like in this scene. I want me a pygmy puff something fierce.

More father/son tension. :( Makes me saddd. But I'm looking forward to unraveling just why their relationship is so tense over the course of the story. Meanwhile, Lily is being an overachiever. Merp. I think Ginny gives her some good advice, and she really should ease off the gas. I was the most psychotically Type A kid when I was younger, and sometimes I wish someone had told me I didn't need to work QUITE so hard at every subject ever.

Now I'm thinking about all the ways that Muggle Studies could go wrong... o.o

Haha, I love that all three Potter kids have the ultimate trump card when their parents try ragging on them for breaking the rules. "Yeah, well you broke into the Ministry!" Bam. Shut down.

THAT ENDING THOUGH. Here I was, thinking, "Yeahh, James better pick out his own present for Grandma Weasley, because she'll be able to sniff out an insincere one from a mile away..." But no. No, it's not Grandma Weasley at all; it's the grandparents he never knew. D: The hand holding. The burning of the presents. The lilies on Lily's grave. Ugh, my heart. That was such a beautiful vignette. And I'm going to have to keep reading immediately, because now I'm in a very sad place.

Author's Response: Hello again! Lovely to see you back for more. :)

Seriously, if you're ever looking for cheap humour in a post-Wheezes fic? Throw a pygmy puff into it. An ENDLESS source of amusement. And, yes, I'd also love a pygmy puff of my own. If only.

The Harry/James ... yeah, that's a slow burner. Certainly there are reasons for the tenseness. And Lily... well, in some ways yes, she's an overachiever, but again SHE has her reasons for wanting to do so well. The girl has a hard life at times, poor thing.

HA, yeah, I would imagine it would be hard for Harry and Ginny - and Ron and Hermione - to discipline their kids given all the school rules and laws they've broken over time. Although those were mostly in the name of stopping Voldemort, I suppose...

Guh, Lily's birthday. ALL OF THE EMOTIONS. Thanks for reviewing. :)


 Report Review

Review #40, by Spyci epilogue

18th May 2014:
I'm so happy right now I don't think you understand

Author's Response: Aha, that makes me happy! :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #41, by Chazzie epilogue

18th May 2014:
That was amazing. Really. I started this yesterday and have just finished. It was so realistic and funny, and the characters all had flaws, aswell as their good points. I love Carla, and her cooking skills, but fish and pumpkin? Well let's just say we played truth or Dare at Hallowe'en. Never again. I loved that James managed to get through the bad times to rise up and get his life back on track. Teaching the kids to fly had me wondering if he would take the job instead of his parents. We didn't have a lot about Albus, but he seems to have his life planned out. Lily was every bit the person I imagine her to be, and the Squib thing works out really well. And she is either really sweet or really feisty! Kit and Maddie were pretty cool too, and I'm glad Lily has such amazing friends to help her out. Mrs A was fantastic - 'I just wish she'd stop drinking wine through that snorkel.' was my favourite quote of the story. Brie was my favourite character because she tried so hard to please others and is a great friend, with exclusion to the Ingrid Incident. Freddie was an idiot, but I could understand why. Poor him and Roxy. I really hope Audrey can find a cure for Parky, because Parkinson's at 20 is horrible. Teddy! He was so sweet, but I think Dora took the prize. She was adorable. (Sorry, I can't help my terribleness at jokes :P )
The Quiddich games you described really brought me into the action, which was amazing. I loved your descriptions because they were so detailed that I could picture it all I'm my head. James' perseverance in getting Carla to see the magical buildings around her was really admirable.
I can't belive how long this review is, I think it could be most I've ever written in a review. So I'm really sorry. I can't wait to read the sequel!
Chazzie

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for reading this fic so quickly! I'm truly in awe. Your advice on fish and pumpkin is noted, I'll stay well away!

You're right actually; Albus doesn't really feature all that much, does he? Hopefully he'll have more of a role in the sequel. You're right though, he does have things planned out, much more so than James. He's generally a lot more comfortable in his own skin. Lily's one of my favourites so I'm glad you liked her, especially the Squib thing. Maddie ... well, she writes herself, snorkels and all.

As for Brie ... oh Brie. I put her through the ringer, didn't I? But she got her happy ending, bless her. I'm glad she's your favourite, she deserves the love.

Thank you ever so much for this review, it was so lovely! Please don't apologise for the length, I love knowing what people think about my characters and writing. :) Thanks again, and I hope to see you at the sequel!


 Report Review

Review #42, by misswow234 seven

16th May 2014:
God I love this so much! Not only is the plot captivating and interesting but the writing is wonderful as well!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm really glad you're enjoying it so far! Hope you continue to read, thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by a rollerball epilogue

15th May 2014:
awsome story, cant wait for the sequel

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm so glad you've enjoyed the fic! Hopefully the sequel will pop up in the next month or so. Thanks for all your reviews. :)

 Report Review

Review #44, by LoonyLovegood11 epilogue

15th May 2014:
I knew he was going to take that job. Haha *happy dances*
Congratulation on finishing this story. It has been over all a joy to read (we're going to ignore how much pain you put me through at some points)
Best of luck with the sequel, I will be keeping a look out for it.

Author's Response: Haha, there were quite a few clues about James' job in the end, weren't there? :) Sorry for the pain I've put you through! If it's any consolation, it hurt me just as much to write the sad bits. I'm so glad you've enjoyed this fic! Thanks for reviewing, and I hope to see you at the sequel :)

 Report Review

Review #45, by Slide epilogue

14th May 2014:
OH MY GOD this is the end. Ooh, time-skip. Ooh, James and Freddie. Ooh - WEDDING? OH MY GOD WEDDING. WHOSE.

It's so vague. I swear I could give a thoroughly coherent assessment of this setup, and the people, and how adorable that it's another Weasley wedding in a marquee out in the back garden of the Burrow and that's very sweet but WHICH ONE OF THEM IS GETTING MARRIED.

...I wonder what sort of qualification/cultural role 'old wizards who conduct weddings' have in magical society. I mean, obviously it's not religious; is it just a Job People Go Into or is there some sort of tradition of a community elder or the like? Wait. Now is not the tme for this kind of rumination.

Okay, Carla's shown up - too soon, yes, no - RIGHT! Not the bride. Yeah, you would mess with us at the last minute, wouldn't you? You're cruel.

YAY BRIGID AND FREDDIE ARE GETTING MARRIED.

I'm sorry, you wanted this to be a coherent review? You have picked the wrong circumstances in which to set your epilogue if that's the case, bucko. Oh, of course it begins with a wedding and ends in a wedding; I was too distracted by my sheer, uncertain squeeing terror to be able to analyse that properly. But a nice case of beginnings, a nice opportunity to nod at how much James has changed over the course of the story. D'aww, and Carla noticed how happy it made him, and that it made him so happy for his friends makes ME happy.

But he's not changed that much, because marriage is still pitting him into blind terror. That's my boy! Nooo not Cordelia. She had so much to live for! The final tragedy to remind us of the frailty of life amidst all this happiness and new beginnings!

Derailed Derailed Derailed. *hops up and down*

Okay. Right. Phew. Post-story analysis and overview and stuff. FIRST, your James is a sweetheart, and the James Potter to end all James Potters for me. I've adored him and adored following his story. I think what I've enjoyed the most is that you set him up as the typical arrogant playboy, learning the error of his ways and growing up, but most of all he was ALREADY a lot older and more mature than the first glimpse implied. The story wasn't just about seeing him change, it was also about peeling back the layers.

The James Potter we thought we knew was neither the James Potter he became NOR the James Potter he was in the first place. A play-boy, but with reasons for his apprehension - and nevertheless a devoutly loyal friend, the furthest thing from selfish. A Quidditch player star keen to succeed, but who hated the fame - and on the pitch was where he was his most sensible, level-headed, and mature. And these presented both beautiful contrasts in him but also the beautiful conflicts for him to resolve.

That, and the side characters. Carlotta's a darling, though for me my adoration does fall all the more on Brigid, Lily, and Maddie. Two original characters who just dominated every scene they were in - one with raucous hilarity, the other just by being such a solid friend and solid character as to stand out. And Lily - the best, most original take on Lily, and yet one which somehow fits so perfectly. Honourable mention in the end to your Audrey, too. The coolest aunt.

Three moments stand out for me in the story. The Lily twist, the one which was set up all along and so OBVIOUS when it came out, but which I never saw coming. The first proper conversation with Harry, which I had been so keen for, to finally discover what James' daddy issues were - and I remember you put it when he was at its lowest, where something I'd been hankering for just made me SAD, because it hurt him so much! And, of course, the Carlotta revelation, the one we knew was coming in some way, shape, or form, and yet anticipating it didn't make it any less satisfying, any less heartbreaking.

I got into your writing (aside from returning the favour on the reviews) because I was ALL ABOUT the war-time angst of Frozen, and mostly checked out Rails Because It Was There. But there are reasons I can get snobby about Next Gen dramas; they need to feel like logical continuations of characters and the magical world, not just high school hijinks with Next Gen names slapped on, and this does everything a genuine continuation of the Potter world should do.

I'm hyper-excited for Derailed, but if nothing else this is a superbly well-rounded and finished story, and if they rode off into the sunset at this point, I would have no regrets.

Good story, bro.

Author's Response: ...I don't even know how I'm supposed to respond to this review. It's like having two reviews in one - the wonderful incoherent mess and then the good wording bit. It makes me oh so happy.

THE WEDDING SWITCH. Oh, there was much evil cackling as I wrote this. OF COURSE James and Carlotta aren't getting married. And yes, we both start and end with a wedding because I am clearly Very Good at doing symbolism things. I think it's a nice way to see how James has changed over the course of the fic though, bless him.

Yes, Cordelia's fate is evidently a reminder of the frailty of life. Or just demonstrating that James still isn't quite capable of looking after a pygmy puff. But he's getting there. :)

James. Oh, James. I always knew he was going to be a deeper person than who we thought we knew at the beginning, but he honestly surpassed my expectations in every way. Initial plans for Rails were different to how things turned out - because Carlotta was meant to have a bigger part to play, she was meant to be the person who grounded him. But in the end I had to change it, because James saved himself. And I'm glad that happened because I think it makes for a far better story than "girl saves guy". He's been so lovely to write, and I know I'm going to miss being in his head for Derailed.

I do hope Carlotta wins even more of your adoration come Derailed, but even so I can see why Brigid, Lily and Maddie get the love. The Lily twist was so satisfying to write, and it gives the opportunity for all manner of wizarding/Muggle contrasts which I never get sick of exploring. Much more of THAT to come in Derailed.

Oh, that Harry moment. It absolutely broke me, having to post that chapter, when I knew you were so keen for the Daddy issues but the conversation that came wasn't quite the one you were hoping for... that was James' lowest point by far, and it was nice to be able to write the HAPPY father/son conversation a few chapters' later.

Derailed WILL happen. I won't be able to live with myself if I don't get that plot written. Trust me, I'm as excited as you are for this.

I was so surprised when I saw your first Rails reviews. I saw your username and thought "ooh, she's come for Frozen" - and then I looked again and got VERY excited. It's been so lovely to have your reviews and support while I've been writing, because I know your thoughts on Next Gens and it's very satisfying to know this is a fic you've genuinely been able to enjoy. And the reviews have all been so helpful, especially when I've had worries about a particular chapter. THANK YOU.

Good review bro.


 Report Review

Review #46, by whykay epilogue

14th May 2014:
I hope Carlotta is cured - but how? Waiting for the sequel!

Author's Response: Hmm... well, the sequel will answer that one for you. :) I hope to start posting it within the next month, keep an eye out! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #47, by Jones epilogue

13th May 2014:
Eeeep! Loved it, adored it. Such a well written ending. Can't wait for the sequel :)

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm so glad you've enjoyed the fic! Hopefully I'll start posting the sequel in the next month or so. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #48, by a rollerball sixty-three

7th May 2014:
amazing chapter, i can completely understand why he would of done it. cant wait for the next one!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you understood, I was worried people might not like it! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #49, by miluv sixty-three

5th May 2014:
AWH THIS IS SO PERFECT IM CRYING WOW THIS IS GREAT IM SO PROUD OF JAMES HES DEVELOPED AND GROWN SO MUCH AND JUST WOW ILY OK

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked this - and I'm proud of James too. :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #50, by Penelope Inkwell sixty-three

5th May 2014:
Someone, now, unleash the ninjas!

Just kidding. I actually sort of saw this coming. i wasn’t certain, but that loose plot thread about the Hogwarts position had been bugging me. For a while, I was like, “No, surely not.” But then I began to wonder.

That said, it still surprised me a little bit. Like they say, James’ Quidditch career is on top of the world. I was actually kind of sad.

BUT,

You somehow won me over. I don’t quite know how you did it. I was like, “If he does this, I’m not gonna like it...”, and then I was like, “He has done this, and I do not like it...”. I had determined that this was not the way I would have wanted things to go.

And somehow you went and changed my mind. All in one chapter! I don’t even know where it happened, exactly, but the way you set it up is brilliant. James really *does* hate the media circus. It *will* only get worse, which won’t be healthy for him. He *has* sort of reached the top of what he can accomplish there, and, while it’s sad to think of the Falcons without him, given how loyal they all are to each other. It still works. And Roxy finally gets her chance. And this job does seem like it’ll fit James. Oh, and of course now he won’t be pushed to have a job that requires him to leave the country, so that he can be there for Carlotta.

And it’s...it’s really sweet. *sniffle*

Plus, I know that Harry turned out to be an Auror, and he wanted that, and that’s great. But there was always a part of me who’d hoped he’d have gone back and taught D.A.D.A. And this is the next best thing. Harry was always an excellent teacher for Dumbledore’s Army, and it makes sense that that ability, and the passion to pursue it, would have been passed down to his son, right along with his (and Ginny’s) love for Quidditch.

All to say, you’ve thoroughly convinced a recalcitrant reader, which is quite an impressive writerly achievement, in my book. Good twist, good chapter. :D

--Penny

Author's Response: Trust me, I found it sad to write this. Because James could play for England for years! Most people would do anything for that opportunity. But it IS the right thing for him to do. Had he not won the World Cup, he might well have stuck it out for another chance, but when you're a World Cup winner at 21, that's surely going to make you rethink things.

And also, as you mention, he can be around more for Carlotta. That was originally going to be one of the main reasons for James retiring - that he could spend more time with her, and she wouldn't have to feel like she was holding him back - but then I tweaked things slightly. It still would be there in the back of James' mind though.

I think my favourite part of OotP is the DA. I love every single DA session in the book, and I almost wish the film had included MORE of it. So yes, I agree with you that I would have loved to see Harry teach. So it's nice that James can do that (spoiler alert - you might JUST be right with your oh-so-educated guess).

I am, naturally, chuffed to have managed to have changed your mind on this, even within the space of the chapter. Like I said, I always knew this was going to happen, and I knew that there may be people who won't necessarily agree with it, which is totally fine. But all the same it's good to know that I've managed to convince you. :) Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>