Reading Reviews for Off the Rails
  
533 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Lauri epilogue

3rd February 2015:
I just read this entire story and wow!! The plot was amazing and the way you described quidditch in so much detail kept making me forget it's not a real sport. So excited to read the sequel!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm really glad you enjoyed it! I got so immersed in the Quidditch side of things when writing this that sometimes I forgot it wasn't a real sport as well... And I think I'm now sick of it completely, whoops! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by merlins beard thirty-three

27th January 2015:
I cried through the whole chapter... hope it gets better soon, i can't take much more of this... really well written though

Author's Response: This chapter was the hardest one to write. It was oddly enjoyable, as things had been working up to this for a long time, but at the same it was very sad to put James, Harry and Ginny through this pain. It's all up from here though! :) thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #28, by Matthea epilogue

18th January 2015:
This story was great! You gotten it done to tell multiple stories in one. It was not just a story about quidditch, or about falling in love with a muggle, it was more than that. It had many details and background without making it boring, they were original and had emotion.
You also had many plot twists, they made mistakes or had trouble and some twist I didn´t like in the beginning, but in the end made your story better. You definitely deserve the Dobby Award you´ve won for that.
So thank you, I´m sure gonna read the sequel!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your lovely review, I'm really glad you enjoyed reading this! Hope you enjoy the sequel, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #29, by Syd epilogue

12th January 2015:
This was an absolute fav of mine. I wanted to post reviews on every chapter but curiosity got the better of me. I was going to go straight to Derailed but then I decided that such a wonderful story diserved a review.
I really really love this sttory. You got all the characters right.
Though it was quite hard to get used to lily being a squib I reallly loved her and Her character was lovely.
James is portrayed wonderfully. I absolutely love him.
Every one else is as Perfect as can be.
Whenever I read a fanfic I always pick up negetive aspects and edit them in my own head but this was a really delighting and wonderful story and every part was perfect.
You are an amazing writer and I will read all of the stories you have posted or will post in the future.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your lovely review! :) I'm glad you liked Lily's plotline, it was a big thing to make her a Squib but I thought it would be an interesting way to explore what it's like for Squibs in the wizarding world. Although it's now become my headcanon and I get confused in other stories when Lily's at Hogwarts.

Hope you enjoy the sequel, thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #30, by everBlazin_ epilogue

10th January 2015:
I absolutely loved this story. It's the first NextGen story I actually read. I usually keep to Marauders/PreHogwarts stories, but somehow I ended up reading your story. :)

The plot was amazing. I didn't expect it to go that way, thinking other stuff would happen. I did get the feeling that James would become the new professor.. He seemed to enjoy teaching those kids without really realising it at that point.

You're a really good writer. Your characters show a lot of depth. Your plot is really well thought out.

Can't wait to start on the sequel!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading, I'm honoured that Rails was the first Next Gen you read! And I'm very glad you enjoyed it. :) Hope you enjoy the sequel too, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #31, by drifting thirty-nine

14th December 2014:
This is a long overdue review.

I really like your story - my favourite characters are Ginny and Lily. I like your development of Ginny a lot more than the canon Ginny. Sad as it was, your writing of the scene/ confrontation between James and his parents when they come to his flat, was excellent. The part where James shuts the door on Ginny was really gut wrenching; very well written.

I never saw the plot twist coming. But looking back there were so many hints. That was beautifully done. Lily is a really fun and intense character.

I really like that your story goes so much beyond the standard fanfic romance genre. There is a lot more depth to the characters. This is so evident in the conflict in so many of the next gen characters. In fact it was this point, which sets your story apart from most others, that made me finally write this review after so many chapters (sorry about that - you really deserve many more reviews; but if it means anything the review count really is not an indicator of story quality most of the time). Ok I am rambling now.

Back to the story - the transition from World Cup call
-up James (where you had me as a reader in a really upbeat frame of mind) to downbeat James (where I was depressed) was very good. You really managed to move around my emotions as a reader all over the place.

I wish there was more to Carla so far. But there's many chapters to go, so fingers crossed.

And congrats on your Dobby win. You really deserved it in my opinion.

Author's Response: And this is a very long overdue response!

I dislike canon Ginny. I can see where Rowling was trying to go with her, but she didn't really show us enough of her. It's only fanfic that has brought me round, and the head-canon I have of her now is, I think, a lot more developed than the book canon. I do adore her in Rails, and I'm glad you liked her too. :)

The confrontation with James and his parents was hard to write, but oddly enjoyable at the same time; all of that angst had been building up for a long time and it was kind of fun to write the explosion. James shutting the door in Ginny's face was fairly brutal, but pretty vivid too.

And Lily. I'm so glad you like the twist, it was hard to not give it away but worth it for the payback, and it's interesting to delve into what life would be like for a Squib.

I always set out to write a story that was more than just a Next Gen romance - I'm all about that angst! I'm guessing that James' conversation with Fred in this chapter was what prompted you to review; I can't help but feel that the fame and life achievements of Harry and co really would affect their kids, although I didn't necessarily expect things to become QUITE as angsty as they did!

There is more to come on Carlotta - lots more - so hopefully you enjoy that. :)

Thanks so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #32, by Rainyday epilogue

26th October 2014:
I cannot explain the way in which this story has touched my heart. This story is absolutely beautiful, in the way it's written and in the way the plot had been so thoughtfully produced. It doesn't feel like an online fan fiction, but like an award winning published book. The characters that you've made up seen like close friends because of the understanding I've gotten from your writing. It's allowed us readers to connect to the characters in a way that requires a talented author. I can't explain to you how much I adored this story. Thank you so much for taking the time to pen this art, it's actually the best story I've probably read on the Internet. x

Author's Response: Thank you so so much for your lovely words! I can't explain to YOU how much it means to pop along to find a review like this. :) I'm so glad you enjoyed reading Rails, I certainly enjoyed writing it and it's a story with characters which are very close to my heart. I hope you pop back for the sequel! Thanks again :)

 Report Review

Review #33, by Roisin one

21st September 2014:
Hello!

So this story has been on my reading list for approximately FOREVER, so SotM and Dobby nominations were just the push I needed to finally jump in!

And MAN, I see why this story has been so popular! I didn't realize it before, but I haven't seen many NextGen novels from a male POV--I'm really enjoying it!

This chapter was definitely a huge amount of fun, while still setting up so many threads for the future, and overall it was pretty masterful. I also really liked how balanced your take on "playboy" was. Writing it through James' POV was really smart, because it gives the reader the space to recognize his less wonderful qualities (he's quite vain, and certainly rather inconsiderate), even if he doesn't totally recognize that himself. It was also infinitely wise to give him a female friend, and that definitely stopped me from stroppily screaming "CHAUVINIST!" at him. Because he's really not just some totally arrogant jerkface--he clearly cares about and respects Brie and he loves his family regardless of his "too cool for school" front. And really, his character is exactly reasonable with canon in mind, and he's still young!

Also, I really liked that you included all the kinds of politics involved with Sport, it really gives depth to the whole "he plays Quidditch" thing, rather than throwing that in as an obvious career choice. I'm super interested in how you visualize that in the future!

Overall, this first chapter is definitely living up to the hype, and I can't wait to read more! I'll try to stop and review, but a fair warning: I might just end up curling up and binge-reading this without stopping!

xoxo
Roisin

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, so this review has been in my unanswered list for about forever and I am a TERRIBLE PERSON. A very belated thanks for popping along and checking us out!

I always find it interesting to come back to the first chapter, as my James is a very different person by the end! He DOES come across as quite vain here, and he's certainly inconsiderate at times! But yes, his friendship with Brie has been a delight to write throughout.

The Quidditch. Oh the Quidditch. Lots more of that to come, it all kind of exploded into a much bigger ball of exposition than I'd ever planned on, and now I don't ever want to write about it again. But I did love it at the time, and my readers seem to enjoy it as well so it's all worthwhile. :)

Thanks so much for popping by and leaving a review, I hope you continue(d?) to read and enjoy! :)


 Report Review

Review #34, by gigi thirteen

31st August 2014:
Lily a Squib, wow, you held on to that quite well, I'd never have guessed. I was wondering earlier why she couldn't apparate at 18 and thought that was a mistake, but now I see the truth. The reveal seems to be going well so far, better than I expected which makes me wonder if I should trust Carla, hope it doesn't backfire.

Author's Response: Ha, I struggled at times to keep this one quiet! I remember stumbling across a fair few issues when writing these early bits. I'm glad you liked it, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #35, by gigi twelve

31st August 2014:
The SoS confuses me. There's got to be some bylaws for Muggles who have magical kids and those who marry wizards. Obliviation can't be the only option. Still, amazing read, cant quite put this down :-)

Author's Response: I'm pretty sure there is some dispensation for magical people who marry Muggles, and obviously the parents of Muggleborns learn about magic as well. Having said that, it does seem that even after marriage, magical people tend to be very hesitant to tell their Muggle spouse about magic. This instance is entirely different to those scenarios though, because James and Carlotta aren't even in a relationship, let alone married. The whole ethos of the Statute is that the fewer Muggles who need to know about magic, the better, and Carlotta definitely doesn't need to know about magic right now. Hope that makes sense! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by gigi ten

31st August 2014:
So what happened to Ron and Hermione? After 10 chapters that included a family wedding and their son's game, they're blatantly MIA. They're not goners are they? Nice story though.

Author's Response: I'll be the first to hold my hands up and say I'm not very good at juggling a large cast. In the beginning I was making a concerted effort to include all the Weasleys, but that soon fell by the wayside as other plot developments took over. They don't just vanish though, they will crop up again! Thanks for reviewing. :)

 Report Review

Review #37, by madness epilogue

16th August 2014:
This. Was. Amazing.







.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much, I'm glad you enjoyed it! Hope to see you at the sequel :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #38, by Bijn epilogue

7th August 2014:
I really, really loved this story (although it deprived me of a lot of sleep, hehe). The thing I really liked was the fact you made the characters very credible; their relationship towards others, their personalities, it all fits. I enjoyed reading from James’ POV because his reactions and thoughts were in line with the personality you gave him.
I also liked the Quidditch-part of the story. It is evident you have put a lot of effort in it and it pays off. Although all the names, positions and so on were a bit confusing in the beginning (well, for me) I really liked the individual roles they had to play. It is nice to read a story in which you come to learn more and more about the people in it whilst reading it; a lot of things became clear in stages, a thing I love about stories. For instance, Lily being a squib was quite a revelation but once I knew, a lot of things fell into place.
I am looking forward to reading the sequel and keep up the good work, because your writing style certainly makes the lack of sleep worth it!

Author's Response: I take no responsibility for sleep deprivation, ha. :) I'm glad you liked the characters, I do try to put a lot of effort into developing them all as people. James' POV was very interesting to write; I'd never written in first person before and it's definitely very different to third person narrative. But James' head was a fun one to get into, I do miss writing him.

I ended up developing the Quidditch side of things much more than I imagined I would, but it was enjoyable and I'm pleased with how it turned out, although I can't bring myself to write any more Quidditch now. I'm done with it!

The squib revelation was fun to write, but very tricky not to give away before time. I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #39, by Evans5 epilogue

29th July 2014:
So good! I couldnt put it down! Can totally see this as a movie! :D

Author's Response: Wow, that really IS a compliment! I'm so glad you enjoyed it, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #40, by Tris  epilogue

10th July 2014:
Read your whole story. I have found myself more wrapped up in your quidditch than any sport ever in my life. The details were amazing and carefully thought out! I love the bits of history thrown in and the unique plot line! I CANNOT Walt to read Derailed (but unfortunately I cannot start or I will never sleep again...) also I am not supriwed at all but the ending the foreshadowing was so much from the moment McGonagall asked if he know of anybody-- but anyways amazing story, reccomended it to all of my friends!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading! It's lovely to know you enjoyed the Quidditch aspect as I put a lot of thought into it, although I now never want to write another match again! Hope you go on to read Derailed! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #41, by slytherinchica08 epilogue

17th June 2014:
Well I have made it to the end. And while I am sad that I am out of chapters to read on this story, I am also very excited to begin the next! I am sorry that I have not reviewed every chapter. It had been my intention to review every single chapter but I found that my reviews left something to be desired because I really didn't have much to say. Each chapter that I have read has been absolutely fantastic and just wonderful and so amazing to read and I sort of ran out of ways to say that. But alas I have at least finished this story and very much enjoyed it! I can say that James leaving Quidditch to become the professor isn't a huge shock for me. I was actually kind of expecting it so I was really glad when he did announce that. I thought this chapter was really well done and makes me want to continue reading onto the next story with these amazing characters that you have created! I loved all of the different pairings that were thrown into this story that all added their own arcs to them. It was such a wonderful read! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Firstly thank you so much for reading! No need to apologise for not reviewing every chapter, I often have that feeling when trying to leave a review and struggling to write it! Also all the reviews you left were so lovely to read, especially as the reveal about Lily occurred. :)

I didn't expect James' retirement to be a shock, as I had foreshadowed it a LOT. I expected people would think "but surely he wouldn't actually retire" but given all the signposting, it was hardly a left-field development. And most of all it's reassuring that people believe it as a realistic move. :)

Thanks again for all your reviews! I'm really glad you've enjoyed the fic, and I hope you continue reading Derailed!


 Report Review

Review #42, by slytherinchica08 twenty-eight

14th June 2014:
Oh poor James, things keep getting worse and worse for him! I hope that he can turn things around soon because this has to be really hard on him (and of course everyone else since he keeps yelling at them and taking out all of his stress and anger on them). I look forward to the next chapter!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: James definitely needs to cool his anger at this point! The more cross he gets, the more people he turns against him... Poor boy. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by slytherinchica08 twenty-seven

14th June 2014:
Oh no this chapter is just so very sad! From James finally telling her about his dad and his involvement with everything and how he thinks he is this huge let down and then the fight with her! Gah this has to be a horrible day probably one of the worst! But it was a really good chapter. You really made me feel his emotions and how raging he was and everything. This story is so enjoyable. I look forward to reading more!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Yeah, this was a sad chapter to write. Poor James. :( But at the same time it was a fun one to write because it was the catalyst for pretty much EVERYTHING. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #44, by slytherinchica08 twenty-six

14th June 2014:
YAY he made the team! I'm so excited for James! But seriously, those questions he was asked were crazy. I would hate to have someone assume that I surpassed my mom and that I would be proud of that. I think I would have done the same as him and just walked out the door without a care for any of the other interviews. And then to get home and be asked about who the boy who lived is, yeah this is definitely a stressful day! Anyways great job on another chapter, I enjoyed it!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: I think it would be very difficult for any Quidditch player with a parent who played professionally to deal with the comparisons. Likewise, I can't imagine it was easy for any of the Potter kids, purely due to being Harry's kids. So for James to be in both positions at the same time, the press attention is pretty horrendous. This was definitely a stressful chapter for James! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #45, by slytherinchica08 twenty-five

14th June 2014:
Wow I felt so bad for James at how poorly he had been doing at the beginning of his match. But the fact that he had been able to pull it off and switch around his luck is pretty amazing! I hope that things go well for him tomorrow with the call! Anyways another great chapter and I can't wait to read more!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Yup, James is a much better player than he gives himself credit for, to be able to turn that match around. Poor boy lets nerves cripple him at the worst of times. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #46, by slytherinchica08 twenty-four

14th June 2014:
I love the brother sister dynamo you have going on between james and lily. They are just so sweet together. I'm excited to see how this whole prom thing goes down I think it will be interesting, very interesting. I also love how protective kit seems to be of lily, I think it adds a little something more to this end of the story as well. Great job I look forward to reading more.

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: The James/Lily dynamic was one of my favourite ones to write in this whole fic. It's so lovely to have such a strong sibling relationship for him to fall back on. :) And the prom scene was one of my favourite ones to write. I'm so glad you like Kit because he's one of my favourites, and I think Maddie gets most of the love, haha. Thanks for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #47, by slytherinchica08 twenty-three

14th June 2014:
Oh no poor James. He seems just down right devastated that she forgot about his game. It's kinda cute really, that his playing was affected by her not showing up. At least they still won though. Gah I just want to read more. I need more! This story is seriously so good and addictive, I just can't help but want to come back and read this all the time. I feel bad about how long its been since I last read and reviewed a chapter. Hopefully I can fix that. Anyways, this was another wonderful chapter and I shall continue onto the next. Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Poor James, he's in way over his head by this point. Bless him. ;) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #48, by nott theodore epilogue

3rd June 2014:
...




Okay. Coherent thought time. (Attempt at coherent thought time, anyway).

SO MANY FEELS!

I'm actually really, really glad that I waited until now to read this (not that I had a choice, stupid exams) because I want to know what happens next and this epilogue was both an epilogue and a teaser for what's coming next in the sequel, and at least now I can read the first chapter and find out what's happening!

Hmm, so you thought you'd fool me with that wedding switch, didn't you? Because you're a mean author who likes to trick people *nods* But I know your writing too well to believe in something at first sight now, and I knew it was Brigid and Freddie's wedding all along! (There may have been a moment when Carlotta walked up the aisle when I questioned my belief, but that was soon resolved). Still, even if you didn't trick me I loved the way you wrote it, with the vagueness of the scene and not necessarily being able to tell who's doing what... I love the circular-ness (that's now a word, and if it's not, I'm blaming the temporary shut down of my brain now I have nothing to do...) of the story, since it starts and ends with a wedding! It reminded me that so much has changed and happened in that time.

James is still terrified of the commitment that would mean a wedding though :P It's nice to see he's not changed that much, and he and Carlotta suit each other for that. It could never have been James getting married only a year later, with us not able to see how it came about! But I love the fact that he's so happy for his friends, which makes Carlotta happy, and both of them being happy (as well as Brigid and Freddie) makes me happy. So happy people all round! (This is definitely not coherent but ah I'm sorry, this story is finished and I can't believe it!)

Poor Cordelia. I'm sad to hear that she didn't survive, but again, it's not that surprising - proof that James hasn't changed beyond all recognition now that another year has passed. And he took the Hogwarts job! It was so strange to hear him being called Professor, and to think of him with that responsibility - I'm also really intrigued to find out what he needs to talk to Carlotta about concerning Hogwarts!

I could ramble on a lot more, but I'll try to limit it, because I really want to go and read the first chapter of Derailed. (Which I am REALLY excited for now!) This story is probably my favourite on the whole archives right now, and I love the fact that I found it ages ago, back when all I was looking for was next generation fluff, and this story has been one of those which has really changed my mind about reading, because now I want much more and this story has it all.

The characters are brilliant. James especially, the way that he seemed so shallow right at the beginning and then we discovered that there was something a lot deeper and more mature to him, and we've continued to see his development all the way through. I think the story has grown with the characters (I could mention all the other characters I love, but it would be more than half the cast, so...) and it's really just fantastic. I'm so glad I decided to click on the title all that time ago, and stick with the story, because it's brilliant. And now I'm off to read the first chapter of Derailed before I get any more incoherent!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Yep, this was definitely planned as a chapter which wrapped up those last two loose ends - Brigid/Freddie, and What James Does Next - but also served as a little tease for Derailed! Which was why I put the first chapter of Derailed up fairly quickly in the end. I'm nice like that. ;)

I was intrigued as to who would fall for the ambiguous narration at the beginning. Obviously I know the exact workings of James/Carlotta at this point, and they're both very commitment-phobic, even if they are living together, so it was never going to be their wedding. And yes, as you've pointed out, I would have cheated you all out of a lot of development between them had I married them off here! But I know there are a lot of people who are waiting for it ... if it ever happens ... ;)

And I absolutely HAD to both start and finish this story with weddings. I think James' change in circumstances from one to the other says eons about his progress in the time in between.

Ha, yep, Cordelia dies as a sad-but-a-little-bit-comical reminder that James isn't quite matured yet. Still not ready for marriage! Don't worry, he'll have a new pygmy puff. :)

Thank you so SO much for all your wonderful reviews! It's so lovely to know I have readers who will always leave an interesting, detailed review on a chapter. :) And it's awesome to think Rails has helped to change your perspective on fics you read! I always aimed to dress this up as a fluffy Next-Gen and then uncover the angst underneath (without wanting to sound pretentious, although I probably am) and it's oddly satisfying to know I've lured readers in on that basis and they've stayed!

James' development amazes even me. I never imagined his growth would be as extensive as it turned out to be. It's as though the James of the start is a totally different person!

Thank you, again, for all the reviews! (And don't worry, this wasn't an incoherent review, and besides incoherency is always fun.) Now for Derailed!


 Report Review

Review #49, by nott theodore sixty-three

3rd June 2014:
ELLIE! ♥

I've just finished my exams and now I finally have time to come and leave a review for this chapter! (And having taken a sneak peek at the other reviews, I've just realised I'm a month late... wow. Stupid exams.) I'm just going to say - how could you put that in your chapter summary? Seriously, I was so worried and nervous when I saw it because I was sensing bad things going to happen with James and Carlotta, even though I couldn't see them actually breaking up... but that was mean, and I do not approve of you trying to give me a heart attack with the chapter summary! :P

Mmm, all that food is making me hungry. I love how Carlotta loves baking - it's like a guarantee she'll fit in with the Weasleys.

So I'd already started suspecting a few chapters ago, and especially at the end of the last chapter, that this was coming. And I didn't want it to happen really but I had time to reconcile myself to it, so that when I realised James was going to see Sinead and Brie, I didn't feel that bad at all about him quitting.

Ah, Sinead's so sweet about it all. I think her explanation of the parts not really fitting together to make a professional Quidditch player really made sense, and they helped me to think that it was the right thing to do even more, since his own coach can see that for him. And it feels like the right time - although I normally hate sports players retiring at their best, he's only 21 and he's just won the world cup - there's nothing that's going to match that feeling in professional Quidditch for him in the future, and a lot of potential for disappointment if the teams he played for didn't do as well as they had in the past. So I can understand it, and it'll be good for him to get out of the limelight as well, because that really didn't suit him. And a new and different challenge will do him good, I think.

I love Brigid, really. She's alawys been such a good friend for James and he hasn't always realised the extent of what she's done for him, but that makes me like her even more; she doesn't feel the need to demand James's attention and do it so that he likes her better, she just does what is right for her friend. Their little talk was so cute and I was just smiling all the way through - you write the friendships in this story so well, and I love the fact that while it's a James/OC story, the romance is just an element of the rest of the plot. They've definitely helped each other out! And aw, Freddie and Brigid! ♥ It's nice to see that he finally got his act together and did something...

Teehee. I couldn't help laughing when I read about all of James's aunts and uncles suffering from a hangover, and James just manages to get through it all with no problems, lucky guy. And it's lovely to see Carlotta spending more time with his family and fitting in - she clearly feels a lot more comfortable around them now, especially if she's been hearing Harry's stories when James isn't even with them!

Ah, and the bombshell. Their reactions are pretty realistic - if it was someone in my family that was excelling at a sport like that, and then decided to give it up, I'd be pretty incredulous. But I think they'll come to understand eventually, and the fact that James is able to be happy for the opportunity this gives Roxanne is great, really in character. So is all of the Weasleys piling on her when they realise she's now the first choice Chaser! Harry and James scenes are some of my favourites now that they get on with each other, and seeing just that brief moment of acceptance and understaning from Harry was brilliant. He understands what it's like to be forced into the limelight for something you'd rather not be known for, and Ginny, like James said, will understand as well. He's got great parents and a great family, and it's brilliant that he now realises that and is starting to accept it, too.

The mysterious job, I'm assuming, is the Hogwarts Quidditch teacher? I've wondered for a while if he'd do that, and while I didn't want him to, your wonderful writing has, as ever, made me come round to the idea.

Ah, of course Carlotta realised. They're getting so close to each other but I like the fact that you haven't laboured that point; their relationship is developing naturally alongside everything else. N'aww, James was so cute rambling and getting nervous when he asked her to move in! Of course she said yes - I can't wait to see what they'll be like living together in Derailed, although I suspect that it'll still be a while before either of them say the L word...

The ending was really sweet, too. It just seemed to fit really well and it's clear how important Carlotta is to James, that he'd share something like his grandparents' with her. Although *twitches* I can't believe he burnt the broom! I understand the sentiment behind it, and new beginnings and everything, but... it's like burning a book or something!

Eep, I'm off to read the Epilogue now and then cheer myself up with the fact that the sequel has already started so I don't have to be sad about this ending for long!

Sian :)

Author's Response: SIAN! Well I'm the worst person ever at answering reviews ... whoops :p

Haha, I put that line in the chapter with the plan of making it the summary ... yep, I'm evil! But come on, was I really going to break them up? ;)

All in all, I don't think James' retirement was unexpected, given all the clues I dropped, but I imagine it was something that people still didn't think would happen. I'm the same as you when it comes to sports players retiring before their time, but it really was the right thing for James to do. And it also gives me the option to do something truly awesome with Derailed - which you already know, of course. :) But I'm glad it all seemed to make sense in the end.

Brigid IS an absolute gem, and I have to say I really enjoy writing a strong friendship. I think that sort of dynamic can be overlooked sometimes, so I like making those relationships just as important as romantic or familial ones. The Brigid/Carlotta dynamic in Derailed will be so adorable to write. :)

Thanks for your lovely review! Onto the next one... :)


 Report Review

Review #50, by Tuesday epilogue

30th May 2014:
Perfect.
Tuesday xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>