219 Reviews Found

Review #26, by krazyboutharryginny The One Where James Knocks Me Down

28th June 2015:
The Amazing Race - House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor!!

This is SUCH an intriguing concept that I couldn't pass it up when I saw it on your AP. I love comic books, so that was probably a factor in how drawn to this I was. But I do have to say how nicely packaged/tied together this is! The comic-themed banner and chapter images, the comic-sounding name - brilliant!

Onto the actual story. This is such an effective first chapter. You've introduced so many things without it feeling like too much information to get at once. You've got me invested in your main character already, which is really impressive because she's an OC. You laid out her relationship with her brother and her best friend Michelle in a way that's pretty frank, but it works.

And Wizarding comics! What a brilliant idea! It makes so much sense that they would have those. Abigail seems a little surprised that she doesn't know more people who like them, but honestly, it's not all that common to see people in real life reading comics either, so it makes sense to me.

I like that you gave us insight into characters besides Abigail here, by having Michelle talk about her disappointment at not being made Quidditch Captain, and having James apologize for knocking Abigail over, rather than just rushing off.

I'm so excited to see how you continue to bring comics into this story and I really want to know what's going to happen between James and Abigail!

-Kayla
#ROAR

Author's Response: Hello! Awww yay! I'm so glad that you're so intrigued by this :D YAY! The banner and title are my favourite things haha, so I'm so happy that you love them too!

Yes! This makes me happy to hear. I always worry that people won't carry on after the first chapter, but to hear that you're invested already has brought a smile to my face. :D

I haven't seen them before in stories, so I just wanted to include them in this, and what could be better than a magical one? :D

Thank you once again for your amazing words!


 Report Review

Review #27, by looneylizzie The One With The Chocolate Of Forgiveness

27th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor! (The Amazing Race)

More more more!!

Yeah, Abigail, it was probably better that James didn’t find you in the Great Hall. That would have been WAY more awkward. ‘Cause then the whole school would have known.

Oh, she told Michelle?!?! That wasn’t a good idea! She’s totally gonna use that against you! It’s gonna come back and bite her in the butt isn’t it?

AWE! James is adorable! He brought chocolate for her! Although she’s right to be a little wary of it…

James! You’re so AWKWARD! Just. Stop. Talking.

Honestly. Foot, meet mouth.

I knew it! I knew he’d noticed her before! Hehehehe! This is just the beginning!

(Of course it’s just the beginning. It’s the beginning of the story! Silly Lizzie…)

Ah, Chocolate of Forgiveness. I approve. Way to go James! He’s so sweet (hehehe, see what I did there? Sweet…chocolate…oh, never mind). I don’t think he would have done this if he wasn’t interested in her. That much is obvious.

I’m just curious to see who is going to initiate the next interaction. I want them to really get talking…to see what their personalities are like once you get beyond the awkwardness (although it is kinda funny).

ANOTHER great chapter Tammi! Your writing is just phenomenal, and so are your characters. Both James and Abigail feel very true to life - especially in their awkwardness. It feels a lot like teenagers as they’re at the beginnings of a relationship. It’s very funny and very well done! Bravo!

Keep writing, and I’ll keep reading! (Although I’ve got loads more to read…)
LL

Author's Response: MORE IS COMING!

Oh yeah, it would have been so awkward if the whole school knew.

Poor Abigail thinks that she can trust Michelle. Poor girl. Oh yes!

He is! I just want to hug him and pinch his cheeks and just hug him again.

HE IS SO AWKWARD AND DOESN'T KNOW HOW TO STOP!

Haha he has noticed her!

Hahaha oh Lizzie! :P

CHOCOLATE OF FORGIVENESS IS MY FAVOURITE THING! Hahahahahah I see what you did there! :P I love it!

You shall see in the next chapter!

Thank you so so much! You are amazing and you bring me such joy! I just can't stop smiling whenever I read one of your reviews!


 Report Review

Review #28, by looneylizzie The One With The Love Potion

27th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor! (The Amazing Race)

I’m baaack!

So I immediately saw the title of this chapter and went - OH CRAP. THIS ISN’T GOING TO GO WELL.

Ugh! Michelle. Go dig your own grave or something. You suck.

“...but what else was I going to do? Accept the fact that my only friend in the world doesn’t seem to want to be around me?”

YES! Sorry Abigail, but yes. And then you tell her to suck it. You deserve SO much better.

I hate the Michelle makes her feel so embarrassed about doing the simplest of things… like looking around the classroom to see if she was the only one who noticed the smell. NOT COOL DUDE.

Wow. James is brave for admitting what he smells. That can be kind of personal, depending on the person. And that he’s willing to do that in front of his friends. AND that he’s a teenage guy willing to do that. It says a lot about his character.

I like him already.

But the fact that he smells Parchment and Ink tell me that he’s a closet comic book fan too. I mean, that IS what the story is about, right?

Oooh. They’re going to be MAKING the love potion? That’s not going to end well. Someone’s going to sneak some out of the classroom and use it. It’s just a matter of who…

Perhaps Michelle? She’s a jerk who’d use it for evil.

Just kidding…

Sorta.

OH! Abigail smells parchment too!! Hehehehehe. *smiles evilly*

Man. Is Michelle REALLY a Hufflepuff? I mean, she’s so NOT a ‘puff in about a thousand different ways. It’ll be quite interesting to see what else we’ll find out about her.

Although maybe the things she smells aren’t a sign that she’ll love a Quidditch PLAYER, but that she just loves the GAME.

Ah, so it was Barry, huh? Uh oh… is James going to get a dose of it?

Yup. It’s him. OH THAT’S EMBARRASSING!! And SO awkward.

And she likes him too! Oh, don’t say anything Abigail! It’s gonna be super weird if you tell him that you like him too!

*phew* She didn’t.

Who exactly were Barry and Elijah planning on having James fall for? Michelle??

Don’t be embarrassed Abigail! It’s not like YOU did anything wrong! It’s all those jerks James calls friends!

AND THEY LEFT?!?!?! SERIOUSLY??? Good Godric they’re horrible!

At least this isn’t in front of the whole school. That’d be way worse!

Oh! Hey, look! James has a friend that’s NOT a jerk! YAY! At least Barry and Elijah feel bad. Jerks.

Poor Abigail! :( She doesn’t deserve to have James say things like that to her when she wishes they were true.

Oh man. This was a really great chapter! I loved it, despite all the craziness. What a way to kick start some interaction between Abigail and James. I guess we’ll have to see how the aftermath of this goes… I’ll bet James is gonna be pretty embarrassed. I wonder what he’ll do…

Can’t wait for more!! :D
LL

Author's Response: YAY!!!

Does any chapter with that kind of title end well for anyone? :P

YEAH MICHELLE! GO AWAY! BOOO!

Abigail needs all of the hugs, and nicer friends.

I hate her too! SHE IS NOT COOL AT ALL!

He is! He has his Gryffindor Courage!

I like him too :D

:O Interesting! I like your guessing

Michelle is a total jerk! She would totally use it for evil.

SHE DOES!!!

I know, right?! She's the meanest Hufflepuff in the world! I'm sure that she just didn't even get sorted, just took a seat at a random table when she walked into the school for the first time.

Hahaha

Oh yeah! Barry needs to go away too!

She does like him! I want to hug her because she's awesome and Barry and Elijah are meanies!

THEY DID! BEcause they're terrible people! :(

BUT WILLIAM IS AWESOME AND SAVES THE DAY!

THank you so much! James is going to be very embarassed when he realises what he's done. Poor guy.


 Report Review

Review #29, by looneylizzie The One With The 'Supportive' Best Friend

27th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor! (The Amazing Race)

Tammi,

I’m back again! :D

Okay, I don’t even have to get two paragraphs in before not liking Michelle. I mean, I was a bit ambivalent about her from the last chapter, but now… nuh uh. Not a fan.

Friends shouldn’t treat each other that way.

And I don’t like that Abigail is aware of how bad their relationship is, but doesn’t bother to do anything about it because she’s comfortable with things the way they are. I wish she knew that she deserves better.

Although I think she does know, she just doesn’t know how to go about changing things, and may be a little afraid of actually doing something about it.

It definitely tells us quite a bit about her personality.

You do like writing about ‘Puffs don’t you? It makes me smile. A lot of people don’t write their characters as Hufflepuffs.

How is Michelle a ‘Puff? She’s a seriously mean one. I mean, she thrives on putting people down doesn’t she? And Abigail lets her just walk all over her. It’s terrible.

I think the fact that Abigail is AWARE of it is what really gets me. I hope she eventually gets to the point where she can tell Michelle how terrible she is.

But it’s interesting that even though Abigail knows that Michelle treats her terribly and is probably wrong most of the time, she still is affected by the things Michelle says.

That’s a messed up relationship there.

But, d’awww she has a crush on James!! Hehehehe. This is gonna have some really good squee-worthy moments isn’t it? I was hoping it would. ;)

And we all know that James totally has a crush on her. Or at least, he will very soon!

Awww. Poor Abigail. I hope she really does stand up for herself soon. Maybe James will come along and help her think a little bit better about herself. Or perhaps another Wotter? It’d be cool to see one come in and play a role in her life as well as James.

Mmmm. I guess I’ll just have to keep reading on and see! Another excellent chapter Tammi!
LL

Author's Response: HELLO!

Hahaha that's some quick hating of her, but I approve of your hatred!

They really shouldn't.

I wish that she knew that as well, and that she had more courage to take herself out of that destructive friendship.

She is afraid of being alone.

I do love Puffs! They're so much fun to write!

I know! I seriously don't know either, she has none of the awesome traits!

*hugs her and you*

It really is messed up.

She does have a crush on him! She's so cute! Oh there are going to be some squee moments.

Oh he totally does! WE ALL KNOW IT JAMES! WE KNOW YOUR SECRET!

Thank you so soo much! You're awesome!


 Report Review

Review #30, by looneylizzie The One Where James Knocks Me Down

27th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor (The Amazing Race)

Tammi!

I did warn you…

So I have read the first few chapters of this before - but it was quite a while ago - so I’m going to reread them and review, as well as everything else… ;)

On first impressions, I really quite like Abigail. She’s kind of quiet and sweet, but I like her sense of humor.

I like her relationship with Daryl as well. They don’t pick on each other or tease each other too much. They’re sweet and clearly care for each other. It’s kinda refreshing to just have a sweet relationship between siblings - they’re not often written that way.

The way you describe the comic books in here are just phenomenal. I really feel like I can picture them in my mind's eye. I don’t read a ton of comics, but I have read a few here and there, so I think I can imagine what a magical comic book must look like.

I love the slight stereotyping that you’ve done here with Abigail and comic book readers. That she’s considered a little weird (at least, by Michelle), and kind of introverted and geeky. That she’s always got comic books on her mind - like when she’s thinking about how long until the next edition comes out and how she’ll handle the wait. It’s kind of amusing to think that the same stereotypes can exist in both worlds.

Hehehe, James crashing into her like that… it’s quite amusing. His concern for her is quite pronounced for someone who doesn’t know her very well. Actually, I find the sheer number of times he said her name quite interesting. I mean, I can understand that having been in the same year for six years would give him plenty of opportunities to remember her name, but the fact that he repeats it so many times makes me feel like he has spent time thinking about her before. Even though they’ve never had much of a conversation.

Well, this story is off to a great start! I really like both the concept and these characters and I’m absolutely fascinated! Can’t wait for more! *clicks next chapter*
LL

Author's Response: You did! :P

Aww yay! I'm so glad that you've come back to this, I am so excited about how you like it :D

YAY! I love her!

Her and Darryl don't pick on each other (much) they have a nice relationship as siblings, I think it's because they don't see much of each other.

Aww thank you! I'm so glad that you like them! I wish that I could somehow make my chapter image to show a moving comic book. I need to look into that.

Yay! I'm so glad that you liked that slight stereotype. :D

Oh yeah, he cares a lot and it's obvious like you've said. He's totally thought about her before :D

Thank you so much! You're incredible!


 Report Review

Review #31, by Guest The One Where I Meet A Duncan In Disguise

21st June 2015:
Can you update soon please? I love your story! Abigail and
James are just perfect. And going to Ethan's house? That
sounds interesting. Although the fact that James is along will
probably be really helpful to her. And Duncan is so funny. He
seems so sweet. And I absolutely can't wait until Abi meets the
potters. Harry and Ginny just seem like such sweet parents to
have. Plus with all James has said about her I'm pretty sure
you couldn't dislike her. Anyway I hope you get time to update
soon!

Author's Response: I have updated the next chapter :D Yep, they're off to see Ethan, and when Michelle finds out she's not going to be happy at all. And Ethan's reaction to Abigail?... well you'll just have to read and find out :P

Abigail will meet them soon! They've heard quite a lot about her from James already, so I bet they feel like they already know her. :D

Thank you so much for the review and for reading! :D


 Report Review

Review #32, by ShannonRay (not logged in) The One Where I Meet A Duncan In Disguise

3rd June 2015:
Loving loving loving it as usual.. Please try and update as soon as you can! I understand if you are busy but otherwise I tend to forget things about the story... and sorry this took so long to review... but yeah I really love this story-they are all too cute keep writing and updating ! xx

Author's Response: Thank you! I am trying to use this month to get as many chapters as I can of this written. I'm hoping to get them out as soon as I can, sorry about the wait for them. That's alright, I love reading your reviews, they really make my day!

Thank you so so much! :D xx *squishes you*


 Report Review

Review #33, by BellaLestrange87 The One Where James Knocks Me Down

15th May 2015:
Hi Tammi! I'm here to return the lovely review you left me (and finally start reading this story. It's been on my reading list since forever ago)!

I love Abigail already. I really like she defines herself as average and doesn't seem to be a stand-out, extremely popular kind of person. The fact that she and her best friend, Michelle, have fallen out a lot, over what seems like inconsequential stuff is interesting. If they get into fights that often I'm going to guess that they're not as close as Abigail claims.

I really love Abigail's love of comic books. I haven't gotten into them myself, but when I read the excellent paragraphs on what it was like to really get into a comic book and read it I found that it's the same for reading a regular book.

I loved the conversation with James. I feel like there's the beginning of a connection there. There was the right mix of normal conversation and joking, as well as attraction (I think) on Abigail's part.

I noticed a few typos:

Maybe this year Michelle and I would move passed her jealousy and obvious trust issues - move past her jealousy

Daryl was two years older than me and had graduated from Hogwarts in the June - in June

He life now consisted of moping around on the sofa - His life

I not sure I have the energy to change yet - I'm not sure

I really enjoyed this chapter! I'll be back for the next one (at some point, hopefully soon. I'm a slow reviewer. Be warned.)

~Olivia

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much! And yay! I'm so glad that you're reading this! That makes me so happy!

YAY! Abigail loves you! Haha The friendship between her and Michelle is based a lot on my old friendship with my ex best friend. The amount of times tha we fell out over something was ridiculous! Abigail is just holding on because she doesn't think she deserves better.

Oh Abigail and James, I love writing them so much! Haha.

Whoops! Thank you! I shall go back and edit those in.

Thank you so much Olivia! :D


 Report Review

Review #34, by Guest The One With Colin Deacon

14th May 2015:
Can I just say that this story is absolutely amazing! I love Abi and James. They just seem to go together. I also love how Abi isn't perfect and she doesn't pretend to be. I can't wait to see how Harry reacts to Abi. I'm sure he'll love because really how can you not? Although I imagine that Abi will probably be freaking out before hand as well. I hope that you update soon because this story is awesome. Also, could you try to incorporate Christina and Abi's siblings and Albus and Lily in the story a bit more? I feel like Abi and James are both very family oriented and the fact that they haven't even met each others siblings yet seems strange. Anyway, hoping for an update! Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful story!

Author's Response: Aw you're the amazing one for reading and reviewing! :D

James and Abigail bring me such joy to read, and I absolutely love writing about them. Their happiness just writes itself haha.

Harry meeting Abigail is coming up soon, so you get to see his reaction before you know it! :D The siblings are coming! Don't you worry, I haven't forgotten about them. :D

Thank you for such a sweet and lovely review :D


 Report Review

Review #35, by beka_wotter The One With Colin Deacon

15th April 2015:
I absolutely ADORE this story! I love how awesome Isabella is and how sweet James is and how lovely Abigail is, both the characters and the story are realistic and really gripping :) I was just wondering whether you decided to make a sequel or keep going, my personal preference would be a sequel but if you've already decided otherwise I'm sure I'll just love reading a nice long fic ;) I honestly can't wait for the next chapter!! This story really is incredible! x

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am so glad that you love this story so much :D I love writing it and I'm going to try and focus on it as much as I can this month. :D

I'm going to have it as a sequel I think? :D

Thank you once again :D xxx


 Report Review

Review #36, by TheEighthHorcrux The One With Colin Deacon

24th March 2015:
I jus love your story so much! Your writing style is so realistic. This story isn't filled with dramatic garbage and James is so adorable when he is with Abigail. This story is amazing. I hope you update soon :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this wonderful review! And for your kind words, I didn't want to just cram this with dramatic drama and wanted to focus on James/Abigail. More updates are coming soon and I'm planning lots of chapters! :D

 Report Review

Review #37, by bumblebee The One With Colin Deacon

24th March 2015:
Ahhh... Ive been waiting for this chapter for ever... James' reaction didnt disappoint.
Good read :D

Author's Response: Aw I'm so glad that you enjoyed James' reaction, I've been looking forward to writing this chapter for quite some time now. Thank you for reading and reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #38, by Ayame The One With The Slap

23rd March 2015:
Just wanted to start off by saying this I absolutely love this story!

Abigail loving comics made me read it from the very first chapter because it's such a great theme. It's something really new, to me, in the HP fandom because I'm not sure I've ever seen comics really addressed much if at all. I love that James and Abigail are comic geeks/"fangirls" together. I've also always had a love of comics, like Abigail, but didn't particularly want people knowing because of how they'd take it. So I can absolutely relate to her from the comics' side.

Isabella slapping Rebecca was great, both because Rebecca deserved it and how Isabella was so prepared for the consequences. Though I'd love to see Abigail stand up to Rebecca at some point because we've seen that she's capable of standing up for herself. Even to Michelle in the past, which even surprised Abigail herself.

William is so fun too and I'm excited that we may get to see some more of him in the coming chapters. As well as him flirting with Isabella, who is just so fierce it's fantastic.

I'm so excited that Abigail is making plans to tell James about who her dad is. I won't lie, I'm a bit worried that Michelle might tell him before Abigail gets the chance for some revenge. Especially because she's been acting so petty and childish despite acknowledging that what she did was wrong.

But I hope James finds out soon! I can't wait to see how he reacts and I really, really hope that it isn't badly due to her keeping it a secret for quite a while. But to be fair and logical, they haven't been together long and James obviously understands wanting to keep some things private (as he said about her dad using a pen-name ages ago.)

Finally, I know that at the beginning of the last chapter you asked for opinions on whether the continuation into seventh year etc. should continue under this title or under a new one. I think, especially as you're planning to do POVs other than Abigail's, that it would be best to do a new story for it. For the sake of continuity because The Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy has been solely from Abigail's point of view. It's even in the name, she's the headliner (of course) so it makes sense that it's all from her side and focused primarily n her.

So I think, depending on where you're planning to go with it as well, the different POVs and seventh year maybe deserve to be their own story with a new title to reflect the changes from this one. I meant to comment on the last chapter to tell you what I thought but things were so hectic and stressful for a while that I completely forgot, sorry!

Hopefully that all made sense to you ^^; thank you so much for writing this and I hope you update it soon! It's definitely one of my favorite stories on the site and I give a little flail whenever it shows up as updated in my RSS reader.

Author's Response: Awww thank you so so much!

I haven't ever seen comic books in a story before, so that's another reason why I wanted to have a story with it in. Oh Abigail and James are the BIGGEST fan girls, they love them so much haha, if anyone knew just how much they would think that they were weird :P

I know! I am so glad that she did get to do it. Brought me joy :D Rebecca so needed that slap, and as for Abigail standing up for herself? It's coming :P

Oh William! I have so much love for him! There is going to be more of him, and his flirting with Isabella :P

I have to say that James finding out about her dad is my favourite thing that I've written in this story, so I hope that you like it :D

Thank you for saying that, I am definitely going to go with the sequel plan, for the other PoVs

Haha thank you so so much! and wow, I'm so happy that seeing this being updated makes you flail! :D Thank you thank you thank you!


 Report Review

Review #39, by purwa The One With The Slap

22nd March 2015:
hey you always say my beta you know in our language beta means son what do you mean by beta? don't mind.By the way update soon i really want to read more i can't wait to read this :)

Author's Response: Hey! Does it? By beta I mean someone who looks over my story and edits it so that it flows better and checks for mistakes. I shall update as soon as I can, I'm so glad that you're enjoying my story and I can't wait to see what you think of the other chapters. :D

 Report Review

Review #40, by purwa The One With The Slap

14th March 2015:
that's amazing fanfic i ever read

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope that you continue reading :D More is coming soon!

 Report Review

Review #41, by James101 The One With The Slap

10th March 2015:
This chapter was so good!

It was hilarious when Isabella slapped Rebecca...mostly because Rebecca deserved it.

William and Isabella would be so cute together-like a secoundary pairing or sonething.

IS James going to meet Abigail's dad in a few chapters or alot of chapters?

Overall this chapter was adorable and funny ;as usual.Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Yay! Thank you!

Oh yes! Rebecca so deserved it! She's a meanie!

I have so many plans for William and Isabella, I love them so much!

Yes! He is going to meet him, don't you worry :D

Thank you so much! I love reading your reviews so much! :D


 Report Review

Review #42, by ShannonRay The One With The Protection of Sacred Pancakes

1st March 2015:
Hi! soo i read this story quite a while ago when the latest chapter was chapter 11! and then I just forgot about it, I didn't have an account then so i couldn't add it to currently reading or favourites so it happened. I got really excited when I saw this in the recently updated thingy! and i re-read the first 11 chapters then i read to chapter 28 in a day! I am so pleased with how you made the story, even though it was heart breaking when i read it I am so glad that you added some drama with them getting together! Though Im very glad that they're together happily now! I really want Isabella and Willaim together! though i feel kind of sorry for Sian all the time... I'm probably over sensitive! I really cannot wait for Abigail to tell James about her dad, I hope he is just excited not annoyed she didn't tell him- she needs to tell him sonn! i just can't. I am terribly sorry for the bad grammar in this review- and that some of the 'i'S are not capital- on my laptop it doesn't automatically make them capital and then i cant be bothered to change them and yeah, and also my laptop also liked to autocorrect things to change the words so you may have to guess on some words because i cannot face changing them all thought I've tried with some... yeah i need a beta for my reviews :') ANYWAY as always keep writing you are great and fab woo yeah.. update soon :)

Author's Response: Hello ShannonRay! Aww yay! I'm so glad that you came back to this story and I'm so happy that you're enjoying it! I'm sorry about my late reply.

Wow and entire day! That's a great achievement! *gives cookies* There was going to be some drama, I didn't want it to be easy for them to get together. There's going to be more drama soon though, it's not all going to be plain sailing for those two.

I feel sorry for Sian too, I really need to include her more, she's quite happy though, so no need to feel too sorry for her.

I want Isabella and William to get together too! I have a spin off planned for them actually haha.

She does need to tell him soon! but she's worried, which I can understand.

Awww that's perfectly fine! IT's an absolutely perfect review and I love it and you so much! :D

Thank you so much! You are the best person ever! :D *squishes you tightly*


 Report Review

Review #43, by james101 The One With The Protection of Sacred Pancakes

28th February 2015:
Ive been reading 'Beat It' for a while now and i saw the name Abigail so i decided to check out this story and its brilliant

I cant believe that Michelle thinks that Sian would ever take her side...

Isabella and William were cute because they have that funny sarcastic type relationship...And when Isabella mentioned kissing Ethan you could tell that William did not like the sound of that one bit ; D

And finally James and Abigail were completely adorable with the presents and James sweetly watching her...Utterly adorable

Author's Response: Aw yay! I hope that you like this story too!

I hate Michelle, and Sian wouldn't have taken her side at all. Michelle needs to just go away, she's done enough damage.

I love William and Isabella, they are so much fun to write :D And yep, William is so jealous haha.

Yay! I'm so glad that you liked them :D Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #44, by burli The One With The Protection of Sacred Pancakes

25th February 2015:
It is always sooo nice to read your story. Your writting is nice and good and I could get lost in it and read and reread and reread it again. :) Anyways: good chapter as always, they are so lovely together and that makes me happy :)
I would love to follow this story 'til the (hopefully un-) bitter end. Maybe you could switch the POVs in this one between Abi and James and do a spin off of William? I love him and would like to know more about his backround, etc.
So, keep it up :)

Author's Response: Thank you for such a wonderful review! You are so awesome! I hope that you like the future chapters I have in store for you! :D

There is going to be quite some time until the end and I'm sticking with this until it's finished! :D I think that I'm definitely going to have this as a Abigail/James PoV with a few chapters from William and Isabella's pov. James' pov will start from their seventh year.

There will be more background information on them all coming soon! :D


 Report Review

Review #45, by macpp The One With The Protection of Sacred Pancakes

24th February 2015:
ahh love this! they are so cute! I'd love James POV but maybe do isobel/William in a spin off? or in here if you'd like as I like them as characters so I think it'd work either way :)

Author's Response: Thank you! And I love you for leaving me an awesome review and for loving this so much. :D
Okay, I think that an Isobella and William spin-off is necessary! I think I'm going to have this as a James and Abigail pov story. :D


 Report Review

Review #46, by Leah The One With The Protection of Sacred Pancakes

24th February 2015:
Ackkk this is so beautiful I love them together!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! :D I'm trying to make them as cute as possible :P

 Report Review

Review #47, by potterfan310 The One Where I Learn More About William

14th February 2015:
Hey!
Oh look at that I'm finally getting around to R+R'ing (at last!!).

AHHH I am still reeling from the fact they kissed!!

"You're worth it." - I just died a little, so cute!

I am a hundred per cent in agreement with Isabella, is there anything she can throw at Michelle?? haha. Isabella and William, oh my god these two, why have they never been together before because they are brilliant. Me thinks Isabella is less badger, more honey badger XD

Aww William, bless. I can totally see him and Isabella having a love/hate relationship. That or they act like they're together but they aren't.

Yes! James totally needs to do the musical number! James is just so adorable and geeky and I love your characterisation of him, the nerd.

Tammi, this chapter just asdfghjkl! It's brilliant (as always :D). Can't wait for the next one, I just hope it doesn't take me a month to get around to reading it again.

-Potterfan310

Author's Response: YAY! I've missed you! *squishes you*

Oh yes!! They kissed and it was so glorious!! and it made me so happy!! :D

Haha they are cute, aren't they?

I agree with her too, we need to find lots of things to throw at Michelle. Oh yes! Those two are special, I have a lot of plans for them. Hahaha she is a total honey badger!

Their relationship is going to be an entertaining yet fun one :D

He does!!! He's so geeky and nerdy and he makes me smile so much! No wonder Abigail likes him so much.

Aw thank you! haha I hope that you love the next one as well :D


 Report Review

Review #48, by oldershouldknowbetter The One With The End Of A Friendship

23rd January 2015:
Review#26: the review which makes it all worth while.


Again Abigail has stayed up all night working on her comic. I really, really want to read that comic.

Abigail is reminded of the day’s Quidditch match by Michelle. Michelle is blunt and it seems she tries to gee Abigail up, but when Abigail refuses her request and stands up to her firmly she leaves the dorm without a further word.

Abigail resigns herself to probably having to leave her dorm sometime when Sian rushes in. She must come with her now; Isabella had a word with James, and with William and … something’s up which she must come and see for herself.

She comes out to hear shouting between Isabella and … it’s not James? … it’s Michelle?

And then she hears the truth.

Michelle is truly in denial. She makes out that this whole thing is not her fault. She warned Abigail, in her mind poor, hopeless, unlovable Abigail about James. He wouldn’t want a girl like her; couldn’t want a girl like her. And when he did - against all of Michelle’s expectations and in the face of her overwhelming jealousy that her mousy friend could succeed where she haddn’t – she did her best to sabotage it all and prove herself correct. And she still cannot see what she has done wrong.

At this, this ultimate betrayal, Abigail finally stands up to Michelle and says what she has said only in the quiet confines of her mind before. All the stuff she’s repressed and put up with about the awful friendship that she’s had to endure all these years comes out. That it also cost her a true shot at happiness is just the bitter twist at the end.

But maybe not, William has overheard all – have I said how much I like him as a character?

He tells them that Michelle’s perfidy runs even deeper that they expected. She actually approached James and spewed her bile down his throat (metaphorically speaking of course). Does Michelle’s treachery know no limits?

They have to leave her before worse is done or said.

William and Isabella fill her in on the details as go to find James.

He hasn’t given up for her, it’s not too late.

Abigail rushes to see him and …

I cannot comment upon the rest as it is just too perfect. Everything is done right: The miscommunication is all cleared up; the humanness of the first kiss going so right and yet so gracelessly; their easiness with each other; and finally, their mutual esteem.

So glad am I that when I came to review all this work, that you had completed this chapter and posted it; so glad that I wasn’t left in suspense with the tragic events of the previous chapter.

And as everything perfect does, the chapter ends with a kiss

Author's Response: Yep, she's really putting all of her time and energy into her comic book, trying not to think about James and kinda failing in that.

Michelle is too blunt, she needs to give Abigail some time, instead of being so mean! But at least Abigail is beginning to stand up for herself.

Haha oh yes! Something is happening! And it's Michelle! The truth is out!

Oh she is so in denial! And wants to still play the victim even though everyone knows that it's entirely her fault now. She can't see Abigail happy for one moment!

It is definitely the ultimate betrayal, but it gives Abigail the courage to stand up to her.

William is awesome! Haha :D and Michelle's treachery knows no limits! She's just the devil!

Isabella definitely would have hurt Michelle if they stayed around. :D

Awww thank you! I wanted their first kiss to be as normal as I could make it, I certainly don't remember my first kiss being all fireworks and amazingness where everyone knew what they were doing. It was all teeth clashing and ... eurgh! We don't think about it haha.

I am so so glad that you reviewed this story! You have been such an amazing and awesome secret santa and I'm very honoured to have your reviews to read.

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #49, by oldershouldknowbetter The One Where I Try To Avoid Everyone

23rd January 2015:
Review#25: the review which tries to pick up the pieces.


Isabella finds her and tries to pour some balm into her poisoned bosom.

Comics as catharsis – I love it. It is like the ‘break-up album’, singer/songwriters nearly always do their best stuff just after a break-up. So too has Abigail and the subject is very telling.
But in the end the comics only serve to remind her of what she’s lost.

Isabella tries to comfort her friend, but what comfort can truly be given in such a circumstance?
The sleepless night spent producing comics has another result in an exhausted Abigail. She sleeps the day through avoiding everyone and deliberately missing the appointment with James.

When she wakes she immediately feels guilty at her standing him up because of her intrinsic good nature, but then she remembers why. She rationalises and beats herself up for getting sucked in – all the while not understanding why it has happened. She has been a good judge of character all throughout this story, even though she has doubted her abilities. She couldn’t have gotten him so wrong could she?

Isabella and Sian return with news on James: that he was ‘playing the victim’; that he wanted to talk to her; that he wondered what he had done to upset her. But again the information from seemingly disparate sources seems to confirm the worst.

It was Isabella who brought the food, I thought so – it smacked of her generosity of spirit and not Michelle’s.

Abigail is left alone to ponder just how she will face anyone tomorrow as worthless as she feels.

Author's Response: Oh Abigail, I just want to hug her, she deserves nothing but happiness and is all sad because of certain people!

Abigail definitely has her own version of the 'break-up album'. It's what she knows and loves, it's what she goes to when she's upset or nervous, or happy. So it made sense for her to go back when she's heartbroken.

Poor Isabella, she's tried to be there for her, but there's not much she can do.

Abigail does feel guilty, and I feel sorry for her for going through such conflicting feelings. I'm a terrible person :P

Isabella and Sian are definitely great friends for her, a lot better than Michelle.

Thanks for reviewing!! :D


 Report Review

Review #50, by oldershouldknowbetter The One Where My Heart Tore To Pieces

23rd January 2015:
Review#24: the review which leaves one with little hope.


The chapter begins with Quidditch and an ominous title.

Oh I like her realising the changes that have been wrought in her psyche by the events of this year. I love the fact as well that she has made her own comic book for him as well and based it on their ramblings and conversations.

She goes to freshen up in a bathroom and walks into horror. Everything she feared, no dreaded, is now said to be true: James playing her; William in on it; Rebecca his girlfriend; and worst of all her supposed best friend knowing about it and not telling her.

‘Overheard hurtful gossip’ should now be added to things which are staples of a thwarted romance.

She is gutted and in her misery and her fragile ego makes little inconsequential things fit what she now thinks to be true.

Quote: “ … who walked on by as if I was nothing.
Because I was nothing. I had always been nothing.”

Oh damn.

How heartbreaking.

But she does have one little moment of clarity, maybe it wasn’t true, maybe it was all a lie. She would ask her best friend. Until she confirmed or denied it she would not – well try not – to think it was true.

Michelle confirms it with such honesty and sincerity that Abigail has no reason to doubt her. Her world collapses around her and she has had enough of the world and everyone in it

The only positive thing that the reader can take away from this is:

Quote: “ … Michelle would have no reason to lie about it and have no reason to have talked to those girls.
It had to be true and it was killing me.”

This is supposition and is a classic tool of spycraft. Abigail knows no connection between the girls in the toilets and Michelle and therefore there is none. So to have two dissimilar groups privy to the same information must make that information true. This is based upon the false assumption that Michelle and the girls have not colluded whether directly or through a third party.

It is a small hope and one that this reader, at least, grasps to himself like a drowning man clutches at a life preserver.

Author's Response: Oh that was a very ominous title!

Yep, they both like comic books so much and she had no clue what to actually get him, so it was the perfect idea for her.

Of course it had to happen in the girls toilet, it's where all of our good gossip and unladylike behaviour towards other girls comes from. When you wonder why we all take so long in the ladies, it's this reason entirely. Gossip!

She's absolutely heartbroken when Michelle confirms it and she doesn't have any reason to doubt Michelle, aside from the fact that she's evil...

Awww I'm sorry it was a sad chapter, but I'm so glad that you left an amazing review! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>