74 Reviews Found

Review #26, by newbeatle The One With The Chewed Quill

5th May 2014:
I'm dying to read the next chapter. Checking for updates every few days.

I liked this chapter. I love the dynamics of the relationship between Abby and James. Although the quill thing is a bit weird. :D But let's face it, everybody has some weird thoughts ocasionally. :D

And I find Michelle really, REALLY annoying, but it's supposed to be like that, I guess. But my 6th sense tells me that there's more to her as a character. We just need to hate her now to find out. ;)

Just wanted to let you know, that this is a really great story. One of the best reads in a while (and there goes my decision to stop reading fan fiction so much :D).

Author's Response: The next chapter is up! I'm sorry that it's taken me a while to update it. I'm trying to work on a system to get them updated more regularly.

Thank you so much for your review! Haha the quill thing is weird but you're right, who hasn't had weird thoughts? :P

Yes! I am glad! She is not a nice person. Ah yes, there is a different side to Michelle at some point. Haha :D

Thank you so so much! You have made my whole day, I absolutely love you for reading,reviewing and for being so awesome!! :D


 Report Review

Review #27, by ReeBee The One Where James Is Up All Night

29th April 2014:
HI AGAIN TAMMI! So, I read your responses and was so happy that I decided I should probably catch up with this story! So here I am! Firstly, can I just say that I LOVE that you called my obsession with James 'bordering creepy'! That came out sarcastic, but seriously, it wasn't! And also, you made me tear up with happiness (you must know that I'm super emotional by now :P ) Anyway, onto the review?

Honestly, I loved this chapter!! It was sort of quiet (if that makes sense) but totally showed a new side of James and Abigail! I mean! The doodling thing?! Amazing portrayal of how comfortable they are with each other! And it made me smile! Like seriously, today, I spent a whole double lesson (1.5 hours) scribbling in one of my best friend's school diaries (with her) and we completely ruined the whole page! But it was super fun! And its so realistic!!

And my god, i so did not know that it was possible to miss a fictional character so much! Well, i should say plural! Abigail and James! And well, you know my usual rant by now! James! He's such a cutie!! And the fact that he actually looks bad (I totally doubt that btw ;) I mean James looking bad? puh-lease ) it makes him so much more real and almost tangible and so much more LOVEABLE!!! And also, Jarie ftw ;) But of course, considering the story, ill give way to Abigail ;)

But of course, ill give way happily! She is an amazing and relatable character! I absolutely love that she focuses on little things like how close James' and her knees are (eurgh- grammar)! And the fangirlling about James! Perfection!! And the mention of William! I seriously love his friends! They're awesome! :D

And the Michelle thing at the end :( Eurgh- Michelle! She's just such aa well, you get what i mean! But Isabella on the other hand, she's just that type of friend that everyone has! And I absolutely love her (you must be getting bored of my proclaiming my love for fictional characters by now!) I think she provides such an interesting twist for the plot!

And then the plot! Its going so smoothly and i really am in love! I love that it isn't anything super crazy or dramatic but sort of normal? And so much more relatable! Seriously, its genius and i love the progression of things! Its actually so unique!

I cant wait to go on to the next chapter! I promise I will get to it soon! Cant wait to see more Jabigail! They are SO cute together! :D

Stay awesome,
Curie :)

Author's Response: Hey Curie! :D

Haha, I'm so glad that you loved my responses. Haha oh the bordering on creepy obsession with James. :P I have a bordering on creepy obsession with your reviews. James however would love if you were stalking him! Maybe you could be Abigail instead? I wonder if it's too late to change her name to Curie?

Yeah, that did make sense, a quiet chapter had to happen, poor guys need a break from dramas. But there is a lot coming up. :D Yes, the doodling, they're so meant to be together! It's fate! Haha a lot of people have said that they've done the same, so I'm glad that it seems realistic.

Awww they missed you too! :D I love your rants! They're my favourite parts! Because then I get to gush about James as well, haha I found it hard to think of James looking bad too. Yes! Jarie FTW! :P

Abigail is such a fan girl of James, I am never going to get bored of your proclaiming of love for ficitional characters, I love it so much! :D I wish I could print your reviews out and frame them. Then every morning when I wake up I can just look at them and get so happy!

Eurgh Michelle! She needs to be shaken roughly. But Isabella is such a better friend for Abigail.

Aw I'm in love with your reviews! I would say you... but I don't want James to get jealous... I'll say it secretly *whispers* I love you!!!

Thank you so so much for your outstandingly awesome reviews! The next chapter is up and waiting for you! :D


 Report Review

Review #28, by loony_lovegood101 The One With The Chewed Quill

11th April 2014:
This is such a cute story :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much :D

 Report Review

Review #29, by potterfan310 The One With The Chewed Quill

5th April 2014:
James and Abigail = ♥

Haha their ideas for a program are great!

Yes Abigail that is creepy you want the quill James has chewed back. Talk about Ewww.

Please let them do a talent show, please! I wonder what James' special talents include. Hmmm.

I love that her and James have been partnered together and that this for sure means bonding!

Eurgh Michelle, go annoy someone else. Poor Abigail for having to put up with her and the mean things she says. Isabella is such a good person, she's exactly who Abigail needs as a friend.

I've had a brainwave, What if Michelle secretly likes James which is why she's being so mean to Abigail about it? That could explain a few things.

Hugs to Abigail ♥

Can't wait to see how their Muggle Studies project goes.

-Potterfan310
Soph xx

Author's Response: Oh James and Abigail! I could write about those two all day!

Haha she is a bit creepy isn't she? Maybe she wants to clone him? :O

They're going to be doing a talent show, although I'm trying to think of some talents for them to have/do. It's going to be fun though. :D

Yes! I agree! Michelle needs to mind her own business! Isabella and Abigail so go off and be friends and leave Michelle behind to make her think about what she's done.

:O Oooo that could be interesting?

The next chapter shall be soon! I promise! :D

Thank you once again for one of your amazing reviews! I love them!


 Report Review

Review #30, by maraudertimes The One Where James Knocks Me Down

19th March 2014:
Hi!

Well this certainly is different than anything I've ever read on the archives! Wizarding comic books? They sound interesting! And I'm going to guess with a title like yours, something's going to happen with James and Abigail. Something that seems decidedly exciting!

Although I do admit, the running into him thing was quasi-exciting, and the "Guess who I just ran into?" line was absolutely hilarious. :)

Anyways, I really liked your characters so far, although my favourite has to be Daryl. At this point I'm a little confused as to what I feel for Abigail and Michelle, as they don't seem like very good friends, or even nice friends to each other, but more like acquaintances who awkwardly share a train compartment sometimes, but I'm hoping to see them in a more social aspect so that I can love them more!

The interaction with James was quite funny and I liked how Abigail and he were polite, and how James was extremely apologetic. I like your version of him a lot, and Abigail seems comfortable around him, even if they are in two separate social groups in the hierarchy.

Anyways, I think I've rambled far too much and made far too little sense, but in essence I really liked this and I'm hoping that I get the time soon to come back to this and read the next seven chapters (maybe more if I'm late enough...), because I saw this during NaNo and was really intrigued and now I'm even more hooked!

Superb job!
Lo:)

Gryffindor vs Slytherin Blackout Battle Review 5/6

Author's Response: Thank you! A lot of people have said that and it makes me happy, I wanted to make a story that had elements of uniqueness in it. Oh something will happen with James and Abigail. :P

Haha I wanted something different to have the two main characters interacting with each other, and what better than someone running into the other and knocking them to the floor. And I couldn't resist James saying that. :P

Aww thank you, I really like Daryl as well. He was fun to write. They're best friends because that's all they've known, but they're not the greatest of friends.

Haha oh James and Abigail! They are fun to write together, I've been having so much fun with those two. I wanted to show James in a different light and I hope I continue to achieve that further into the story.

Awww you can ramble, I love rambling. :D I hope that you enjoy the rest of the story and thank you so much for your kind words! :D


 Report Review

Review #31, by potterfan310 The One Where James Is Up All Night

14th March 2014:
I am super duper overjoyed that James and Abigail get together at some point thanks to the latest chapter of Louis/Freya! But I'm sad they're no longer together in it but for now I have this and how their love/friendship/relationship blossoms so I'm happy :D

The Muggle Studies classroom and the class itself sounds so fun! Can I come and join in? :p

James and his babbling is super cute! Maybe he does it because he gets nervous around Abigail, hmm.

I am terrible when it comes to attention span and boredom, and I can doodle for hours upon end, so I know exactly how Abigail feels. Me and my one friend were so bored in a lesson we doodled a Disney/Harry Potter picture which covered the full A4 piece! Though to be fair it was a two hour lesson.

James' nightly wanderings/shenanigans are very intriguing... I wonder is he up to something?

Loved it. Can't wait for the next one!!

-Potterfan310
Soph x

Author's Response: Me too! Awww this story is part of a trilogy! So there will be more to them and their story, so don't worry. :P

Yes! Yes you can join in! We can sit next to each other in the class. :D

That is the main reason that he does it, Abigail makes him nervous. :P

Oh wow! That's awesome! That's a lot of doodling! You're just like James and Abigail. :D

Oh he is up to something, which you will find out soon enough. :D And there will be more nightly wanderings in the story!

Thank you so much Soph! :D


 Report Review

Review #32, by Maelody The One With The Four Hour Nap

13th March 2014:
I'm not letting up on Michelle, but I'm beginning to think that maybe she's speaking out of experience here. I think that Ethan did everything she's warning Abigail about to her. It's sad, but she needs to realize that not everyone has to be sad because her love life didn't work out.

Maybe it's the snake in me, but I really sort of hope that when they fall out again, Abigail will realize that Isabella and the Ravenclaw girls can be her friends now, and leave Michelle in the dust for a little bit to help her see that she can't control everything. Of course, if she learns her lesson, they can be friends again ;).

Haha, I would love to see a point from James and William's side. I think William might find this all a bit 'adorable' in the most boyish way I can think of. I hope he's a much better friend than Michelle! By what I've seen, he definitely is. Is he going to be my Horatio equivalent in this story? ;) I hope so! :3

Your story, as always, is absolutely wonderful! I'm falling in love already, and I can't wait to catch up! For now, moving on! :)

~Mae

Author's Response: Michelle needs to remember that Abigail was there for her during her massive crush on Ethan, but sadly Michelle is very selective in what she remembers. She needs to let Abigail work things out on her own.

Haha don't worry, that's what I hope too. :P Maybe it is the Slytherin in us? :O

William would find it funny and will mock James for being so awkward around Abigail. Maybe I need to do that POV? Oooo he could be your Horatio equivalent! :D William is a good friend, don't worry. :P

Thank you once again, your are just so amazing and I will never get enough of these fantastically wonderful reviews. x


 Report Review

Review #33, by Maelody The One With The Change In Friendship

13th March 2014:
Parchment! That's another one of their potion smells! Ooh, this is so adorable!

Michelle is getting on my nerves! She can't even allow her friend to feel happiness! I don't know if maybe in her head she feels like she is helping Abigail by not letting her think ahead, but she's not giving her room to breathe! James is being such a sweetheart! I love him already! :3

It's so nice to see a personality to James other than the ongoing prankster or moody Quidditch star. He's so humble, and awkward, and full of little bits of adorableness! I can see how he and Louis are related ;).

Hmmm, I should come up with a ship name for these two, eh? No couple can beat my love for Louisio, but Jamagail sure is adorable! ;)

Oooh, Muggle Hobbies? This class must get more boring as the years go by. XD "Muggles like to sit in front of the television for 13 hours straight." XD

This is just absolutely too adorable! Soon I'll be all caught up and I'll be waiting for updates on BOTH of your amazing stories! I'm excited and sad all at the same time haha :)

Moving on, my dear!

~Mae

Author's Response: Yes! Parchment is! Remember those smells! :P

She's getting on mine too, don't worry. I just want to write something horrible happening to her, but I just can't. *shakes fist at her* In her head, she thinks that she's being nice and helping, but in reality she's just making a mountain out of a molehill.
Awww I love James too :3

I wanted to have lots of him being adorable, I can't imagine him being a player or moody or anything else. And yes, him and Louis are very similar!

Haha you should! Jamagail is a good ship name. Oh everyone loves Louisio, I didn't realise just how big that love would become when I first began writing that story. haha.

Hahaha I can see it getting boring quite quickly, but they keep themselves entertained. They shall be making things out of wood soon enough. :P

Thank you so much! I need to work on updating this story, I have to edit the next chapter and I'm hoping to put it out soon.

Thank you so so much! You're amazing!! :D


 Report Review

Review #34, by Maelody The One With The Chocolate Of Forgiveness

13th March 2014:
Aww I totally trust the chocolate! And James! How sweet of him to personally apologize!

That last but really made me laugh. Who in their right mind would turn down forgiveness chocolate (one if her Amortentia scents I might add ;))?

I like her little declarations throughout this chapter. Like how she doesn't see the personal lives of others being a part of hers, or how she would be the creepy one if she hugged him. By the way, the stalker talk made my night! Goodness, that was so hilarious! James would indeed make a grade A stalker ;).

I love this story so much already! I just might have to favorite you as an author so I can come back and read the rest of your stories because I love the two I've seen so much! :3

I really like Abigail. She's so relatable, and I can't wait to see how she gathers the courage she needs to speak up for herself, and see just what her breaking point to do so is. And James seems so sweet! I love the glimpse we catch of him in the other story, so from there I already know I'm going to love him! :D

Moving on!

~Mae

Author's Response: I trust it too. :P And James felt like he had to apologise, plus it's an excuse to talk to Abigail. :P

Ahh, yes it is one of her scents. :P I wonder if more will arrive?

Haha oh the stalker talk! They're both as bad as each other, but at least Abigail keeps her stalkerness in her head, whereas poor James just blurts it all out.

A favourite? Oh wow! Thank you so so much! If I could favourite a reviewer it would be you! I hope that you enjoy the other stories that I've written. :D

Her confidence will increase over the story and she will build up the courage to speak her mind soon. Oh the connections between stories, they're fun to write, although I need to try and remember what happens in them haha. :D

Thank you so so much! :D


 Report Review

Review #35, by Maelody The One With The Love Potion

13th March 2014:
Oh my goodness! Can I give a big big hug to Abigail here?! The poor dear! The very least I can be happy for here is that it didn't go down in the actual Great Hall (unless I missed that?) so no one really saw outside that circle.

Who the heck were those two meaning to get if they didn't want Abigail? Michelle? I hope it's not one of those dreadfully sad beginnings where we find out that James actually likes Michelle, not realizing how amazing Abigail is. Then again, that'd make it all the more interesting, yeah? ;)

I don't think I hate the boys (though I LOVE William), I think they should definitely be ashamed. I think the two of them and Will alone gives us a good idea of who James is though. A prankster, but he definitely is open to his more mature side. :) I love that!

I think Michelle likes Lucian ;). How cute would that be? Even if I don't like her that much right now xD.

I just love your stories! Your writing is so effortless to read, and I'm always so surprised to find I've come to the end because I'm just so entrapped in the story! Bravo! :D

Moving onward!

~Mae

Author's Response: Yes! you can give the biggest hug to Abigail, she needs it. It happened outside of the Great Hall, so not many people would have seen it.

They wanted Michelle, so they are actually a little guilty at getting Abigail instead. Oh no, James is not going to be falling for Michele, don't you worry. I couldn't do that to poor Abigail. :P As interesting as that would be :P

William is awesome! The better of James' friends, Barry and Elijah are too much of pranksters, well, more so than James and William.

Oo maybe she does like Lucian? That could happen :D :P Stay tuned.

Thank you so so much! Your reviews never fail to give me the biggest grins and the happiest feelings in the world. :D


 Report Review

Review #36, by Maelody The One With The 'Supportive' Best Friend

13th March 2014:
Ok, so maybe this is a little early to tell, but I can't help but think I don't like Michelle. She reminds me of a girl I used to call my best friend for three years before I learned to speak up for myself. It was awful being around her, though when she'd do occasional nice things, it made it harder to get that courage. I'll keep in mind that I don't like Michelle until she really makes an effort to not be mean ;).

I mean seriously, who just automatically comes up with "He only talked to you because he heard you liked him and he wanted to stop that?" Instead of "maybe he heard you like him and likes you too so he wanted to talk to you!" Eck, her priorities already have me upset! xD Poor Abigail! She can dump Michelle and be my best friend! We can read comics and giggle over James together! :D

I love that you tell us where Hufflepuff Common Room is here because I feel like it's one of those forgotten houses. And James waving at her all adorably like that made me smile! He wasn't even ashamed to say hi to her! How do you like that, Michelle? :p

Anyway, your characters are as lovely as they are in ILHEFTBOU and is it a sin to hope to see Horatio at some point in this? Woah! Aren't they in the same House as Louis and Horatio? :3 I can't wait to see the connection! :D

Great job, as always, my dear! :D I'll move on now! :)

~Mae

Author's Response: It's fine, you can hate Michelle. :O That's the exact same thing with me! That's what Michelle is based on. I had a best friend who tried to control my life until I stood up for myself.

Her main reason is jealousy, she thinks she can talk to Abigail like that. Awww Abigail would love to have you as a best friend! You'll be so much better and a lot more encouraging.

I had to include the common room, it's such a fun common room and I never see it in stories either. Haha James is quite adorable at times around Abigail. Haha in your face Michelle!

Thank you so so much :D You will see Horatio and Louis in this! Don't you worry, they are in the same house. :D

Thank you so so much for your amazing review! :D


 Report Review

Review #37, by Maelody The One Where James Knocks Me Down

13th March 2014:
Hey! Yay! :D I get a chance to read another story of yours! :D I remember your author's note from I'll love Her Enough for the Both of Us and how you said you try to connect your stories. I remember Abigail being mentioned by James, so I had to come check this out! :D

Anyway! How cool is it that she loves comic books!? Super cool! I LOVE comic books! :D and the way you described her comic made me envious that I only have still pictures! XD though this was a great hobby to put in, and I think it'll definitely help in making her unique! :D

You always catch realism so very well in your stories! Like how temperamental cats are, and how friends fall out and come together A LOT for no real reason. I like Michelle for now, but I'll have to wait and see what I think about her once they have their first argument though.

Haha, that's some nice, simple humor and I love it! "We can say we literally ran into each other!" James seems so sweet! :3 I wonder where he was running to?

Anyway, I'm sure you know what brought me here (other than you AWESOME writing and stories) but just know I'll definitely be sticking around even when the challenge is done! ;) I hope to catch up tonight in fact, for the six reviews on a staff member's story! (What can I say? You're pretty awesome! ;))

Moving onward!

~Mae

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so glad that you decided to check out my other stories. I hope that you enjoy them. It's quite a challenge to connect my stories, I didn't realise how hard it would be at times. The main problem is working out ages haha.

Thank you! :D I've never seen them mentioned in a story before so I wanted to have them in my story. I'm so glad that you love comic books! If only we could have wizarding ones.

Aw thank you so much! *can't stop blushing* Most of that I've taken from personal experience. Ah, you may not like Michelle further down the line. Not many do. :P

Haha he was just running, probably to find his friend, who just for something to do?

Awww thank you so very much! You're the most awesome person in the world! :D You never fail to bring a smile to my face!


 Report Review

Review #38, by anythingcouldhappen The One With The Four Hour Nap

13th March 2014:
Hi! Reviewing this for Blackout Bingo!

Michelle. Michelle. Michelle.

Can I strangle her? I know I've kind of said this in all my reviews, but's she's such a meanie! And not a true friend! "I just don't want you to get hurt" Yeah right! I'm beginning to think that Michelle is just super insecure and she hangs around with Abigail because Abigail is also insecure and a pushover to boot.

I really hope that Abigail makes friends with Isabella! She needs a better friend than Michelle.

Although, I have to admit, I'm still a little wary of James myself. It does feel a little too good to be true. I'm interested to see where it all goes and if it turns out their is some kind of motivation behind the whole thing apart from genuine friendship. I kind of hope not, but then again I know things are never simple!

Great chapter!

Sam

Author's Response: Yes, yes you can! Hahaha she is a massive meanie! She needs a good talking to. She's not a true friend at all, she thinks that she's helping but she's really not.

She will, there shall be more Isabella around. She's better for Abigail.

I would be wary too, especially after everything that happened, but maybe he's genuinely being nice? Maybe he has an ulterior motive? :P You're right, things are never simple.

Thank you Sam! :D


 Report Review

Review #39, by anythingcouldhappen The One With The Change In Friendship

13th March 2014:
HI! Reviewing this for Blackout Bingo!

Ooh honey! That's come up before... *grins* How interesting that James smelled honey in when he smelled the amorentia. What a coincidence! Oh and the parchment too? Interesting, interesting!

I"m glad to see that James is paying more attention to Abigail, even if right now it's only about guilt. Also, he's already a better friend to her than Michelle. Don't even get me started on Michelle in this chapter. I have now figuratively punched her. She just can't be happy for Abigail can she?! Ok, she's jealous, but being nasty to Abigail is not going to help that. At least Abigail recognizes that their friendship is not at all healthy. Recognition of the problem is the first step to change right?

There were a couple of times when I think you changed from past tense to present tense. It was a little confusing to read, but nothing major. Again, this chapter felt a little short. But if that's what you're aiming for, go with it!

Awesome chapter :)

Sam

Author's Response: Yes! Yes it has come up before! I'm so glad that you spotted that. :D Yes yes yes! :D Ah I'm so happy that you spotted those. :D

It may be 60% guilt and 40% liking her... although that amount will go up soon.

Oh Michelle, she brings out so many emotions in people. :D Haha yes! I'm glad that you figuratively punched her, she deserved it. :D
No she can't just be happy for Abigail, mainly because the attention isn't on her.

Ah no! I shall go back and edit it, so thank you for pointing that out. :D

Thanks once again Sam! :D


 Report Review

Review #40, by anythingcouldhappen The One With The Chocolate Of Forgiveness

13th March 2014:
Hi! I'm here yet again, reviewing this for Blackout Bingo!

James' apology was so adorable and awkward and just generally funny. I'm not sure I trust him or the chocolate, but I still loved this chapter. I am a bit curious as to why James apologized rather than Barry and Elijah, since it was actually their fault. Suspicious...James is an interesting character, and I want to see more of him.

As for Abigail, her reaction and feelings were great. I actually felt like I was reading about myself in this chapter. While I'm not like Abigail in a lot of ways, this chapter showed a part of her that was very like me. The thing that stuck out to me most was the turning over the chocolate in her hands. I do that when I'm uncomfortable or not sure what to think!

Michelle.she needs to have some redeeming qualities or I am going to figuratively punch her. She's such a jerk to Abigail!

Great chapter!

Sam

Author's Response: Well hello again! :D

Haha I'm not sure if I would trust his chocolate either, especially if I knew that he was hanging around with Elijah and Barry. The reason he apologised instead of them is that they ... honestly don't care, that's the basic gist of it. They're not nice people. There shall be more James! don't you worry! :P

Aw I'm so happy that you could connect with Abigail, I wanted to have her as realistic as possible so it's great to hear that she had quirks like other people. :D

She does have some. eventually... It's just she doesn't always show them.

Thank you so much! :D


 Report Review

Review #41, by anythingcouldhappen The One With The Love Potion

13th March 2014:
Hi! Reviewing this for Blackout Bingo :)

*raises hand* I hate Barry and Elijah! Seriously, that was such a nasty thing to do. I can't even imagine the kind of embarrassment that that sort of thing would bring. Poor Abigail! And to have it happen pretty publicly! With Ron, at least it all happened pretty early without anyone seeing. And of course it creates a whole awkward situation for James and Abigail now. I'll be very interested to see how they deal with it!

I am also still very irritated with Michelle. She is not a good friend, and its frustrating that she's Abigail's only friend. She deserves better than a friend she lies to and is embarrassed to tell things to because she know Michelle will tease her! I really enjoy all your characters--in that they're realistic enough for me to love and hate some of them already.

One thing--what do Barry and Elijah look like? What about William? Professor Noble? I think they could use a little more description. Otherwise, I thought this chapter was really well done!

Sam

Author's Response: *raises hand as well* ELijah and Barry need their heads knocked together, they're pretty mean and don't seem too bothered about what they've done. I feel really sorry for Abigail, and James when he finally comes off of the love potion.

She really isn't a good friend, she needs to be a better one definitely. Hopefully Abigail branches out soon, she doesn't deserve to be treated like that.

Thank you so much :D Ahhh I forgot to add descriptions! I have gone back and edited some in. :P

Thank you once again! :D


 Report Review

Review #42, by anythingcouldhappen The One With The 'Supportive' Best Friend

13th March 2014:
Hi! Reviewing this for Blackout Bingo :)

I loved the way you expanded on Abigail's character in this chapter! She's clearly got a lot of room to grow, and she's flawed--which is always good and realistic! Her friendhship with Michelle is interesting. I'm not going to lie--I hope she at some point she confronts Michelle about the way she treats her. Michelle is a bit of a jerk. I hope she's got some good qualities to her--because right now she seems really selfish.

I'm of course hoping to see more of James in the next chapter! I love me some Potter kids ^_^

The chapter felt a little short, but I think it works. Mainly because you lay out some more of Abigail's character. All the writing and everything was great! My favorite part was probably when Abigail was talking about food...I love that she has being close to the Great Hall as a pro of being a Hufflepuff! It was pretty amusing to read, especially because I agree with her :)

Great job! Can't wait to read the next chapter!

Sam

Author's Response: Hey! :D

Thank you, I really enjoy writing Abigail, she's a fun character to explore. Very different to the other female characters I've written about. Oh at some point Abigail is going to snap and tell Michelle exactly how she feels, but when that'll happen...

Of course there shall be more James soon. :P

Haha that would totally be one of my favourite things if I was in Hufflepuff. :P So I had to make it hers as well. :D

Thank you so much Sam! :D


 Report Review

Review #43, by anythingcouldhappen The One Where James Knocks Me Down

13th March 2014:
Hi! I'm reviewing this for Blackout Bingo :)

I really like the comic book theme! There are so many next gen stories on the archives, and I think having a theme like this sets yours apart! And comic books are so much fun. I love that Abigail has a slight obsession with them--I haven't read many stories with a main character like that before! Abigail seems like she's going to be a very interesting and unique main character.

I'm very curious as to how she and James are going to be interacting...and how their friendship/relationship/whatever it may be develops. From the fleeting glimpse I got of James in this chapter, I like him! He seems funny, and also like pretty nice guy.

Your writing is all very nice and clean and flows very well. Nice job!

One thing I just have to thank you for--she changed into her robes!!! Thank you! There are so many stories that have students just walking around in their ordinary clothes and it always bothers me! It's so off canon, and it doesn't even make sense. So anyway, thanks for that!

Sam

Author's Response: Hey! :D

Thank you so much! I wanted to try and have this as different to other next gen stories as I could, so that's where comic books came in. Oh yes, Abigail has an obsession with them.

Ah their relationship develops a lot over the next few chapters so you will see a lot more of James soon. :D

Thank you so much! *squishes in a hug*

Hahaha I'm so glad that you liked that part, it always bothers me too! Why wouldn't they get changed? They're going to school haha. :D

Thank you once again! :D


 Report Review

Review #44, by nott theodore The One With The Chocolate Of Forgiveness

13th March 2014:
Hello!

Michelle is really starting to get on my nerves. She reminds me of some people I've known at different times in my life, and is it bad if I say I kind of want to throw something at her? If only you could throw things through a computer screen...

Aw, I hoped that James would come and apologise, and so I'm really glad that he did in this chapter - even though it wasn't his fault, it just seemed like the sort of thing that he'd do. Really his friends should be coming and apologising to Abigail but he's even apologised for them - he seems really cute.

His apology was adorable, too. I loved the way that he was so awkward and embarrassed about the whole thing and that even though he'd probably planned an apology in his head, he ended up saying some very strange things, like the fact that he had the potential to become a very good stalker. Not necessarily what a girl wants to hear when you're apologising to her :P But he reminded me a bit of Harry and the way that he got so flustered and embarrassed around girls he liked, which was really nice to see because James II is so often portrayed as cocky and a bit of a charmer. I have a feeling he was also struggling with his apology because he actually likes her, though!

I couldn't help laughing at the bit about James making up a love poem for her when he was under the influence of the potion! There are still some really funny bits in these chapters, and I love Abigail's thoughts, too. Her decision process is similar to what I think mine would be when someone gave me chocolate (which I don't want to believe contains a love potion, at least not to James's knowledge!).

These have been great chapters so far and I'll be back soon to carry on the story!

Sian :)

Blackout Bingo staff reviews 6/6

Author's Response: Hey!

Michelle really is a big meanie, she's not a nice person at all. But I wanted to have her not being nice as like you said there are many people in our lives that aren't nice. Haha we should all throw things at the computer screen!

Yes, he came and apologised even though he didn't have to and he was being all rambly. His friends are jerks and should have apologised.

Oh yes, he was very awkward with his apology. I blame Abigail, she brings out the goofy adorable side of him. He must have feelings for her. :P Yes, he planned the apology but it really didn't come out the way it should have done. Haha yes! Like father like son!

I so wished that I had put that into the scene, maybe one day William can mention it? Embarass James in front of Abigail? :P Awww thank you so much for your amazingly awesome reviews! They really make my day! :D


 Report Review

Review #45, by nott theodore The One With The Love Potion

13th March 2014:
Hello!

Oh wow, as soon as I saw the chapter title for this one I knew that it was going to be a great chapter, but I didn't expect that to happen! I loved the way that you built up the chapter so that it seemed quite innocent and calm and then all of a sudden both James and Abigail are really embarrassed!

Michelle seems pretty annoying - not a good friend, and I still feel sorry for Abigail for needing to stick with her, since she's so quiet that she finds it more difficult to make friends. I imagine that at somewhere like Hogwarts, it would be difficult to break away and make new friends in your sixth year. I'm glad they made up for now, but I still hope she finds some better friends.

I didn't mention this in the last review, but I did mean to - I love the fact that she's in Hufflepuff. It fits so well with her personality and it's a nice change to see a protagonist who isn't friends with all the Weasleys.

I liked the way that you showed James's personality had changed a bit and he came across as more cocky and arrogant here, like he's playing a role to make his friends laugh. I think it's true for a lot of people, especially when they're teenagers and trying to fit in. The smell of Amortentia intrigued me though - I'm sure that one or more of those smells is going to be connected in some way to Abigail, and they've already got the shared smell of parchment!

And then Barry and Elijah have to go and do something like that! I'm sure that they thought what they were doing was hilarious, but I don't really like them for it, even though it's kind of typical behaviour for people like them. They just didn't think it through and I'm wondering if, with the line about it not being meant to be Abigail, they thought James fancied someone else, and were confused with how the potion worked or something.

William is really sweet, though! I'm glad that he came along and helped James out and told the other two off - he seems like a really nice guy and it's nice to know that James has at least one good friend.

I felt so sorry for Abigail here, though. It really hurt her to hear James's declarations of love when she knew they were brought on by a love potion, and it was so embarrassing for her. I have an inkling that James does have some feelings for her, which might be why he spoke to Abigail, but I feel so sorry for the two of them. I hope it brings them closer together rather than driving them further apart!

Sian :)

Blackout Bingo staff reviews 5/6

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so glad that you were excited about this chapter! :D It was a lot of fun writing it, although poor Abigail went through a lot. :P

She isn't a good friend at all, she's a little mean and very controlling, hopefully Abigail sees sense soon and manages to get a better friend. But sadly she feels like Michelle is all she has.

I'm glad that you love that she's in Hufflepuff, in my head no other house seemed as good for her as Hufflepuff did. Abigail is too shy to be friends with all of the Weasleys. :P

Thank you, I really enjoy writing James, he acts a lot different around his friends, but then again who doesn't? :P Ahhh they do have a shared smell... I wonder if there's a reason for that which is totally going to come up soon in a future chapter? :P

Yep, Barry and Elijah need to ruin things, oh no they were being really mean. They didn't mean to get Abigail, they meant to get Michelle.

William is a better friend for James than Elijah and Barry, he's good for James.

Awww Abigail needs lots of hugs *hugs her* Ahhh James may have feelings for her :P I feel sorry for them both too, they didn't want everything to come out like it did.

Thank you for the reviews! You're awesome!


 Report Review

Review #46, by nott theodore The One With The 'Supportive' Best Friend

13th March 2014:
Hello again!

Waking up early after six weeks of going to bed late was not an easy task, let me tell you that. This is genuinely how I feel after every single holiday. It's so unfair that you have to get up at a normal time for things like school and work!

There were so many funny lines in this chapter that I couldn't help smiling all the way through. I think that ties in well with the comic book theme and the style of writing does as well. Have you written a lot of humour before? I really enjoyed it here, even though a lot of it seemed quite subtle.

The way that Abigail was talking about all the food and being near the kitchens actually made me want to be in Hufflepuff for a moment. She makes some very good arguments as to why Hufflepuff is the best house.

And there's a character called SIAN! This has genuinely never happened before in any story I've read here, so I'm just going to give you a massive hug for that now, because you picked a great name! *hugs* (I promise I'm not as strange as this makes me sound. I just think it's exciting :P)

Ugh, I'm starting to like Michelle a lot less in this chapter. She seems really annoying and it's not just that she bosses Abigail around and tells her what to do, but it feels like she's keeping her around to make her feel better about herself. Something tells me that she wouldn't take kindly to a relationship between Abigail and James, because it would mean Abigail would seem more popular than her or something. I felt really sorry for her with this, but she seems like a very realistic character and that makes her relatable too.

Aw, James waved at her, and he was looking at her during the meal! That's cute, I'm excited to see if there's more interaction between them soon!

Sian :)

Blackout Bingo staff reviews 4/6

Author's Response: Heya! :D

Haha that's how I feel after everything actually. :P I know! Work and school should start about 1pm and only last until 2pm. :D

Awww thank you, I'm glad that it made you smile. I really enjoy writing comedy, the only comedy I really write is from the 'sidekick' in my stories. Like Horatio in my Louis story and Albus in my other James story. So it's fun to make other people be the comedy value in the stories.

I am envious of Hufflepuff because of that reason! They are so close to the Great Hall and kitchens, how they don't spend all day in there is beyond me!

Haha yes! There is a Sian! Aw *accepts hug* That's alright, I never see my name in stories ever! There's never a Tammi anywhere.

It's alright to dislike Michelle, even hate her. She isn't a very nice person and I agree that she does keep Abigail around to make herself feel better, she likes that it's just her and Abigail and hates other people getting involved in their lifes. She's very jealous and demanding and controlling.

Oh Michelle doesn't like James and Abigail talking.

Yep, James is being all cute. :D There will be more soon!

Thank you so much Sian! Your review is as awesomely cool as your name! :D


 Report Review

Review #47, by nott theodore The One Where James Knocks Me Down

13th March 2014:
Hi! I'm here reviewing staffer stories for the Blackout Bingo but I was really glad to get a chance to read this - I haven't had much time to read FF recently but this caught my eye when I saw the description in the Loony Lounge a few months ago.

This was really great! I love the premise of this - I don't think that I've ever read a story about someone who reads comic books before, and the only time I've seen them appear in fanfiction is when there's a weird, lonely boy who spends all his time reading them. To see a girl, and the main character no less, reading comic books here was a really refreshing change. I also now really want to read a magical comic book, because the way that you described them here they sound amazing! I'd never thought before that magical comics would move like their photos do, but that would make them even cooler to read!

Also, your CI for this chapter fit perfectly :D

I really liked the normality here in the characters that I got to see, and that you didn't introduce a massive cast in the first chapter. There are a lot of stories that introduce me to so many characters I never keep track of who they are, but the few we saw here made me feel like I have a handle on the characters. Daryl seems quite sweet as a big brother and Michelle just seems like a normal friend - teenage girls do argue a lot, so it makes sense to see a friendship here that isn't completely perfect.

Aw, look at James knocking someone over :P He was so cute and embarrassed over it as well, it seemed really sweet. I know this is a James/OC story so I'm looking forward to seeing their relationship develop - clearly they share a sense of humour!

Sian :)

Blackout Bingo staff reviews 3/6

Author's Response: Hey!!! I must say that I did love this challenge. :P I got a lot of reviews that day.

I'm so glad that you remember it from the Loony Lounge.

I don't think I've ever read a story like that either? That's why I wanted to write it, you don't see many girls in stories liking anything like this. Or have many wizards liking something like this apart from weird lonely boys like you've said. Haha I want to read one as well! I'm so jealous that they get moving ones and we don't.

Thank you very much! I had so much fun making that chapter image and the others after it. :D

I wanted to try and keep the first chapter simple, have you meeting Abigail and have James involved in a scene and how they 'crash' together. The friendship between Michelle and Abigail is based off of my relationship with my old best friend, she would try and control my life and in the end I had enough.

Haha yep, at least he apologised and was embarassed instead of just leaving her on the floor to recover. Oh yeah, they have a lot of interests that are the same, so I'm excited to show more of that as the chapters develop.

Thank you so much! I love your reviews so much! :D


 Report Review

Review #48, by ReeBee The One With The Muggle Studies Project

24th February 2014:
HI AGAIN! And as usual, I'm late again. Eugh! So annoying! But life has been hectic! But, today's my reading day (you know something big's due tomorrow when I have a reading day :P) Just like James, I seem to ramble too much. ANYWAY, guess what?? I finally got around to favouriting you! Yay!

So, another fantabulously awesome chapter! Made me wanting so much more at the end! Ah! Please please please update soon? Anyway, usual rant about James about to commence. Its probably getting really boring for you, so feel free to skip the next paragraph ;)

Anyway (I digress WAY too much!) I LOVE HIM! The rambling is so so cute! And OMGG! GAH! I like died (and then had to resurrect myself again because this story was that good :P) So anyway, omgomgomgomgomgomgomgomgomgomgomg! I love it how he's the one who rambles, not the girl! So original! And they way he talks about his parents! I can almost sense the love in his words! Adorable! Gah! And he digresses too! Eep! I will not go on about how we're a match made in heaven, because tbh, it's not that healthy :P But seriously, I'm in love! ;)

And your character Abigail! I swear, she's the only one who I'll ever give up James to! (not that he's mine or anything :P I'm just realising that this review is bordering on the edge of creepy :P) Anyway, really though! She's awesome!

I love how she waits for him to come into the room! And the scene with the: I hope you dont mind me sitting here, to Yes, you do. I stated, as James began to pull his things out of his backpack. That scene was perfection in written form! I was like legit squeezing out loud! ADORABUBBLES! OMGOMGOMG! SO CUTE!

*clears throat* anyway, I should probably stop, this is probably getting really annoying for you...

Just one more thing: update soon!

Stay perfect,
Curie :)

Author's Response: That's alright! I'll forgive you as long as you forgive me for being the latest. Hahah I hope you managed to do whatever was due the next day? Haha you can ramble, rambling is fine! :D :O YAY!!! I LOVE THAT!

Thank you, thank you :D *blushes* I promise I will be updating soon, I have some time off so I should be able to. Hahaha I love your rants about James, they're my favourite thing. :D

Hahahaha you're brilliant! I love it!

Oh yeah, he's very rambly and nervous around Abigail. Hahaha maybe you could come and steal him? Jamrie! That shall be your ship name! :D

Aw Abigail will be so happy to know that, although she could never stand in the way of Jamrie! You border on the edge of creepy! I love it! :D

Hehehe Thank you so much!!! I am seriously fan girling over all of your awesome reviews! You are so awesome and amazing! :D

Hahaha it's not annoying at all, I love it!

Thank you so so so much!!! *big squishy hugs*


 Report Review

Review #49, by academica The One Where James Knocks Me Down

21st February 2014:
Hey girl! Here for the TGS review exchange :)

First of all, congratulations (belated as they are) on finishing a NaNo novel and getting it up on HPFF! That's a fabulous accomplishment.

I think the comic book theme is really cool. I like the normalcy of your characters; they talk about typical teenage things and thus seem very relatable. I love your details, like the way you described Snowball being upset about being caged. That sense of normalcy fits with the way comic books usually read--they're about a normal person who ends up with special powers and becomes a hero, and I can see that potentially happening for your main character. It's a good theme idea.

Leave it to James to awkwardly barrel into a girl :) I liked the cute way you introduced Abigail's relationship with James, again because it seems very normal. It's realistic to think that she's aware of his presence (like the way people were aware of Harry) without really knowing him well.

I would definitely recommend having a beta take a look at this story, maybe when you've finished posting it or even before then. You have quite a few run-on sentences and some punctuation misuse and it does make it a little hard to follow the piece and get into the story. I think a beta's help would improve a good story even more!

Oh, and of course, I love your cute CI as well.

Nice work! Looking forward to hearing from you :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Heya! I'm so sorry that it's taken me this long to respond! I'm terrible!

Thank you so much! NaNo is really fun I absolutely love taking part in it and I'm glad that I managed to get a few chapters up so far. :D

Aww thank you, I'm glad that they all seem normal and not too OOC and that comic books fits really well in the story so far.

Haha yes, oh James. But at least he apologised. :P I wanted to have them both know who the other is, as I don't find it believable when two characters who have been in the same year at school for a very long time, not know who the other one is. So wanted them to know each other but only distantly.

I definitely do need a beta, it's just finding the time to. :S So thank you for suggesting that. :D

Awww thank you, I absolutely love making them haha. :D

Thank you so so much for this amazing review! I love it so much. :D


 Report Review

Review #50, by potterfan310 The One With The Muggle Studies Project

14th February 2014:
YAY! Love that James thought about them getting paired up and he'd only been in the class a few minutes.

Their project sounds really fun, although I don't know how Wizards survive without TV, so many good programmes :p

James is story is so adorable, Harry definitely needs to relive his childhood.

Ginny banishing the TV to the shed is great, looks like Harry has his own mad shed.

I can't wait to see more of their project as it sounds so interesting!! And plus it means they to spend time together so yay.

Loved it :D

-Potterfan310
Soph x

Author's Response: James totally wants them to get paired up! He wouldn't have taken no for an answer :P

I know! I'm jealous, I want to take part in it. And I have no clue how they would be able to survive without TV! Don't they know how amazing shows like BGT are? :D

Harry definitely needs to relive his childhood, he missed a lot of it. Although yes, now he gets his own man shed. :D

More of the project shall be in other chapters :D

Thank you Soph! You're so awesome! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>