Reading Reviews for The Best Disguise for Shame
153 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Andromedatonks She Knows His Name

3rd July 2007:
It is a lovely chapter, the little scene between Elise and Severus is cute, I loved the way you showed his awkwardness ("Just run away…no, no, don’t run away, you need your transfiguration essay." is just brilliant!) and her openness. She begins to remind me of some person I knew.

The only thing, I wish the scene in the Slytherin common room was more detailed and descriptive.. It kind of goes too fast, and it would be really great if you showed the atmosphere of the room... But it's just my small wish, more curiousity than anything else.

Great work!

Author's Response: You know, you're probably right. Often times, when I get caught up with the plot moving, I forget detailed descriptions. I might go in and edit that, thanks for catching it!

 Report Review

Review #27, by Andromedatonks Money and Girls, Girls and Money

3rd July 2007:
Oh, another wonderful chapter!..

I really like this Elise, she sounds like an unusual and pretty interesting girl, and somehow, I guess very much fitting Severus... I hope there'll be some happy moments between the two of them, I want him to be happy at least in fanfiction... anyways, I'm rambling.

It's very well-written, I loved this chapter.

Author's Response: haha, chapter 6 and you're already looking for romance!! hehe, never to worry never to worry :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by Aazareth Epilogue

3rd July 2007:
realy good story..ur a talented writer.
Im sensing a bit of a Snape fan in u:P...i have to admit..the way u write seems like the marauders were complete gits..and Snape was realy a guy who was cold because other ppl made him that way..well..a rather captivating story i have to say.
BTW..the wolfsbane potion was invented by that guy's..(belby i think) uncle..slughorn mentions him in HBP.And i tought the wolfsbane was something like dark liquid and slightly smoky...there are details about it in POA:)..hope the criticism helps:P

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the criticism and the review! I did some research on Wolfsbane before I wrote it and couldn't find the actual inventor so I just wrote it like that. I wasn't sure, but thank you for alerting me. Well, I'll probably leave it and call the story AU or something, hehe. It would disrupt the plot a lot if I got rid of it. I might change it to the colors you said, however. Thanks so much, you know so many minute details!!

 Report Review

Review #29, by SnapeIsHawt Epilogue

27th June 2007:
I absolutely loved it! :) I was well hooked on it and you certainly know how to finish off a chapter making the reader eager for more. I'll wait impatiently for the sequel. :) I'm sure it'll be even better! x

Author's Response: I'm so happy you loved it! I'm not entirely sure about the sequel yet, I'm going to read Deathly Hallows and see where things go from there, but thank you so much for reviewing, I really appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #30, by Violet Gryfindor Destiny's Perfect Son

24th June 2007:
Haha, nice touch in adding Malfoy. He sounds just like Draco, gloating in the exact same way. My favourite was the scene between Severus and his father - it was great to see Severus stand up to Tobias and use his magic for the first time in that way. I also liked how Severus came up with a story about who his father was - I thought that it fit well with the "Half-Blood Prince" title he later gives himself and making up a story about his father is the first step to him becoming the HBP. While the Diagon Alley scene is a bit "typical" for a lot of stories, you've also made it your own, suiting it to Severus' differences as a young wizard. Instead of being in awe of the colourfulness of the Alley, he's "distracted", which I thought was perfect and very Snape-like.

This is very well written and really interesting to read, Rita, and I hope to keep reading more of it soon. =)

Author's Response: Well thank you so much! It's been almost 2 years since I've written those chapters, so I had to go through and read what I'd written.

I figure that I'd comment I've been doing edits lately because I wrote the descriptions of certain characters before I ever knew what a Mary Sue was so...I'm trying to fix that ASAP, haha.

I know the Diagon Alley scene is typical, but honestly I agree that it would be typical for Snape to be distracted.

Ugh, isn't it horrible that I make excuses for my story? The thing is, it's not so often that a really extroadinarily talented writer reads my own stories and well...everyone is their worst critic, right? haha.

I appreciate your reviews very much, they mean a lot, and they are among what I would consider the most productive reviews I've had. (Isn't that sad...)


 Report Review

Review #31, by Violet Gryfindor The Beginning of All Things

24th June 2007:
Wow, what a beginning, Rita! It seemed to start almost like a fairy tale, with the happy couple and their young son, but quickly downspiraled into a nightmare for Eileen. The way you wrote it with so much emotion make it realistic and believable, especially if Tobias has the same lack of understanding for magic that Vernon Dursley has. This beginning fits Snape's personality in the books perfectly. Amazing work so far, Rita. I'm looking forward to reading more of this. =)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I do the dramatic emotional stuff a lot better than I do fluff, haha. Just look out for that in the future ;) Thanks so much for the great review, it's so fantastic for someone as fantastic as you to have good things to say about my story!!!

 Report Review

Review #32, by Dragonchaserchick Epilogue

22nd June 2007:
Yay! Your story is like a whithered rose; twisted, dark and beautiful. Well done

Author's Response: Thank you...and thank you for describing my story with such a wonderful simile!

 Report Review

Review #33, by esse Epilogue

21st June 2007:
I loved this story very much. It is wonderful

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading it, I appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #34, by Andromedatonks A Birthday Fit for Darkness

21st June 2007:
Oh my, it's past midnight and I'm still reading your story... I absolutely adore the way you write about Severus, and, seriously, I just can't stop reading it.
I spotted only one thing: I guess the Ministry's attention would be drawn immediately to the killing curse in the a muggle town... though I may be wrong, I never quite understood the way it works...
Anyways, great job!
P.S. I learned about your story at the HPFF forums, btw.

Author's Response: The way I saw it was....true, they probably would be drawn to it, but no one was killed by it..i don't know, I didn't even think about it. Good eye, though! Thanks so much for the great review, and I'm so happy to hear you visit our forums and learned about it from there!

 Report Review

Review #35, by Andromedatonks The Beginning of All Things

21st June 2007:
This is absolutely fabulous! So well-written, I simply fell in love with your fic. Thanks a million, you made my day!

Author's Response: No, thank YOU!! I'm so pleased I made your day!!

 Report Review

Review #36, by Laura Epilogue

17th June 2007:
That..made me cry. Seriously, i cried. The only other time i cried over something other than real life experience was during a song i both love and hate at the same time. I always pictured Snape must have motives behind that cold mask of his, and somehow i always pictured it had something to do with a certain girl. Amazing story, sad..sad ending, but i didn't expect it to be different, since we all know oh so very well that Snape does not have a special someone. going back to my romanian essays for exams before i completly flunk my finals. Thank you for this story.

Author's Response: I'm sorry that I made you cry!! But you are so welcome for this story, it is the single most favorite thing I have ever written, and to have such a positive response warms my heart, you have no idea! Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #37, by TrueLoveStoriesNeverEnd Epilogue

14th June 2007:
ah ha. now is truly explained Elise's death =D
and Snape is on his way to redemption.
good stuff =]
well brilliant story, a great effort all round, and i will definately look out for more of your stories in the future.

Author's Response: I wrote that chapter just for you :) I'm so happy you liked it. Thanks for reading my story, your reviews have put a smile on my face and encouraged me to continue!

 Report Review

Review #38, by TrueLoveStoriesNeverEnd Turn Away

14th June 2007:
Brilliant =]
just need to read your epilogue
oh and thanks for answering my review for the last chapter, it explained a lot =]

Author's Response: You're so welcome! You made me realize that I didn't explain it at all, even though it seemed absolutely clear in my head!

 Report Review

Review #39, by woah.. Turn Away

11th June 2007:
nice job
like the only thing that I noticed in the stories
was that dumbledore and snape don't know that the marauders are animagi

Author's Response: That's true, they don't know. Well, Dumbledore might, the story doesn't really discuss it. But Severus didn't really bother himself with it because he had other problems to deal with. But thank you so much for reading, I really appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #40, by overtheocean Turn Away

11th June 2007:
what a GREAT story! you have such wonderful, realistic characterization, really talented! definitely the best snape story i've ever read. great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! The best, really?? Have you ever read Innocence Found by Accio_Brain? I like that one alot...haha. Anyway, I'm flattered, thank you so much!!

 Report Review

Review #41, by TrueLoveStoriesNeverEnd Anaphylaxis

10th June 2007:
I like it.
Well actually I don't like it because Elise died, but as a story I love it =]
Actually I like you've done very well, since killing off characters is very hard especially your own ones that you become attached to. All I can say is that it's not very clear how she died, or why. Well apart from that Prince was evil. Maybe you'll explain that later of course.
So very good =]

Author's Response: Yeah, I know...I know how she died, and I'm contemplating writing a one-shot sequel to explain it. I'd love to do a sequel but I'm pretty sure, with the release of DH that things will change a bit. I guess I'll explain it here for anyone who wants to know:

His grandfather explained the cause of death as "The ministry wanted them dead because of their previous connections. Their lives were too much of a threat" This, of course, is total B.S.

In actuality, The Dark Lord was very interested in Severus. he was interested in the spells, the potion making talent, the talent in general. And so, in order to secure him as a member, he had to destroy everything that was dear to Severus. He destroyed his mother, and he was able to turn his grandfather and bribe him to kill the Aguirre's since he didn't really like Severus all that much anyway. The Dark Lord, who uses people to get ahead, of course, labeled his grandfather as disposable, hoping that Elise's death would push Severus over the edge.

Why would the Dark Lord try so hard for one person when everyone else is expendable? Because Severus Snape was smarter, most likely smarter than all of the other death eaters. He had the power to create spells, and usually did so to hurt other people. He was brilliant in school, and his knowledge of potions and dark arts would definitely be a good addition. And when he met Severus in his lair for the first time, he could sense a hesitancy at the thought of becoming a death eater. So, the Dark Lord did what he could to secure his own future. When he wants something, he takes it.

I hope I cleared it up a bit...maybe I'll write an epilouge. Oh, and the story is finished now, so there's one more chapter. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, it means the world to me!

 Report Review

Review #42, by mauraderlvr13 Turn Away

7th June 2007:
I love this story so so much! I am not one to cry but this story is so well written, especially this last chapter, I was tearing up and, oh it was just wonderfully dreadfully amazingly sad and wonderful. I loved it.

Author's Response: you have no idea how much it means to me for you to say that. As I've said so many times in the past two years, this story was my baby, and though I'm sad to see it go, I'm so happy I could bring happiness to my readers! Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #43, by blastendedskrewt Turn Away

6th June 2007:
wow. i am blown away by this story. the in depth character study of severus snape was very realistic. the ending was phenomenal. it truly explains the nature of severus snape and shows how he has become what he is.

Author's Response: You have no idea how much this means to me. Your words have given me great happiness. I'm glad I was able to portray Severus in a way that tells how everything might have happened as canon as possible. I appreciate your kind review and I'll miss hearing from you!

 Report Review

Review #44, by EmilyBlack Turn Away

6th June 2007:

Poor Severus. I hate funerals. I've only been to one, for my cousin, and I've never seen my family so sad before. It really does hurt and I somewhat understand where Severus's feelings are coming from.

I was kinda hoping he wouldn't be a Death Eater. Hoping, but not doubting. I knew it would happen.

I feel so bad for Severus...I miss Elise too. She was cool!

I absolutely loved this story and I'm so sad that it's over. You did an excellent job on it! Wonderful!

Author's Response: Funerals are very sad. I went to one for a friend in high school and I think it was the saddest day of my life.

I wanted to keep it canon, so I went ahead and made him death eater. Believe me, if I could have stopped him, I would have!

I have enjoyed your comments over the past; your words have meant a lot to me and I am thrilled that you chose to take this journey with me :)

 Report Review

Review #45, by theenix Turn Away

6th June 2007:
oh wow! that was such a tragic but incredible ending. Her death! Hmm but it was sort of inevitable thought wasnt it? The way you described and explained Severus' emotion was amazing, so indepth and realistic. I really like how you ended with 'he was not plagued with his best disguise for shame.' and refered back to the title...made me smile hehe.
WELL, basically i loved it! I feel kind of bad for now reviewing on every chapter actually :S
but i really do LOVE how you've portrayed Snape. I think..well yeah i reckon he would be something like this underneath all that hardcore exterior.
well done/congratulations haha i dont know waht to say now really, aw well! thank you for the erm...good read?! really was fantastic. 10/10!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I am honored that you would enjoy reading my story! I'm pleased you liked the way I portrayed him, his characterization was very important to me throughout the process of writing the story, and I'm so happy i was able to finish it and that you enjoyed it. It means loads to me!

 Report Review

Review #46, by MysticalE Anaphylaxis

24th May 2007:
Eek! I almost accidentally read the reviews for the chapter before reading the chapter! Thank goodness that didn't happen!

As horrible as it sounds, I'm happier with Elise's death than the other option I was afraid of - which would've been their separation. But shame on you for the teaser with that blasted locket! I sat up in my seat thinking she was going to live after all, and then no. :(

The intensity of the chapter is extremely well done. With the scent of the burning bread, and the breathlessness you can feel as he runs through the woods... It's intense and scary and it feels like you're there.

And then to find out it was his Grandfather. The exchange between the two is quick and to the point. I wouldn't change any of that (except one word says 'cowering', and I think you meant 'towering'?)

The ending of this chapter feels very final. I'm glad to see that there will be more, although this could be an interesting place for an ending (not that I want you to end!). I love the inclusion of Dumbledore, and his cover-up, hense the begining of their relationship, and the hint of Someone watching.

Great job - I was looking forward to reading THE chapter - and you did not disappoint! :)

Author's Response: This review made me so happy, even though it took me about 5 years to respond.

You're right this was THE chapter that I planned and slaved over, and I think I'm happy with the way it turned out. There's either one or two more chapters left, I haven't decided, but we'll see.

I was so sad to see Elise go...I'd grown quite fond of her ;) Oh well...what else would have turned Severus evil?

Thank you soooooo much oodles and oodles and oodles! I heart you!! :)

 Report Review

Review #47, by shotgun_sinner Anaphylaxis

21st May 2007:
Wow, that was intense..I cried but, it had to happen and the plot just thickened dramatically. Love this story to death!

Author's Response: I'm sorry to make you cry :( I'm so happy you love the story though, so do I!! I'm sad to see it end soon. But maybe a sequel? We'll see!

 Report Review

Review #48, by blastendedskrewt Anaphylaxis

20th May 2007:
i didn't find any flaws with the chapter, but for some reason, i didn't find it too sad. i guess i knew elise was going to die, otherwise snape wouldnt be what he is like now.

Author's Response: You know, I figured that most people would figure that out. But oh well, you're so astute!! Thank you for your kind review, I really appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #49, by mauraderlvr13 Anaphylaxis

17th May 2007:
I weep for Severus! Nooo! Oh darn, just when everything was starting to look bright...

I loved this chapter, despite the death of Elise, and you write so well I really don't see any point in trying to change the chapter any further. Very very well done.

10/10 -El

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it, I wasn't sure about changing it, but your confidence has definitely helped me :)

 Report Review

Review #50, by Dragonchaserchick Anaphylaxis

17th May 2007:
Wow Severus's first murder. Really well done. It's sad that Elise had to die, but I'm glad you didn't turn the story into some light floaty fairytale. This is a great story! Well done.
Is this the end? If not I can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you. I had such a hard problem killing her off, I didn't understand how very upset I would be at killing off my protagonist, but it was so difficult. It's not the end yet, but it'll be coming up soon. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>