Reading Reviews for The Best Disguise for Shame
  
159 Reviews Found

Review #26, by kitsunekilala Epilogue

26th July 2007:
i loved this story im about to cry you didn't ruin anything in the actual storie which makes this story truly magnificent i hope to read more stories from you beautifully done i give you an 110%

Author's Response: Thank you so much, that means a lot to me. This story was my baby, and though it is now AU, I treasure it and your comments :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by MysticalE Epilogue

19th July 2007:
I'm not really gonna say much about this chapter, except: Yeay for a sequel!

I have been re-reading HBP, and was rather disappointed that they do have an inventor of the Wolfsbane potion. :( I like your choice of inventor so much better that I'm going to keep it that way in my mind. So congratulations - you've officially altered my view on the HP Universe (however slightly)!

Can't wait for the sequel, I'm sure it will be smashing!

Author's Response: I know, I was kind of sad to learn someone had invented the wolfsbane potion, and i even researched that!! boooo!! Oh well. But wow, I altered your view on the HP universe! That's big, considering I didn't have anything to do with the HP universe really. As for the sequel well........now that DH is out it makes my story completely AU. I thought about changing it around a bit...keeping Elise as a the love interest, of course, but playing up Lily's role a little more. I did have her be kind to him, so I guess that's good, right? Anyway...yeah. Thank you so much for the time you spent to read my stories, it has meant so much, and you are by far my favorite reviewer of all time :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by MysticalE Turn Away

19th July 2007:
Alright. I know I haven't reviewed this chapter yet... and you'll just have to believe me when I say that I read it shortly after you posted it. I think by reviewing the final chapter(s) I'll be admitting that it's over - which I don't want to do. :(

The funeral scene is horrible, and the break-down Snape had in the Great Hall with Lily is wonderful, and heartbreaking, and terrible all at once.

The meeting with Voldemort is to the point. After having read the next chapter I especially love how he assures Snape that it wasn't Death Eaters that ordered the killing.

And then the ending. It's perfect. You really don't need anything more. It's so sad, and tragic (go you, I suppose ;))

And this is going to end here... because I have nothing else to say! Except Bravo! *tear*

Author's Response: I do believe you, I do!! I'm so happy you liked it, I was going to PM you a few times over at the forums, and I just didn't do it because I didn't want to look like I was asking for reviews. But I thought maybe you didn't see it....but you did! yay! I'm glad you liked it!!

 Report Review

Review #29, by greeneyed Epilogue

12th July 2007:
Fantastic story

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #30, by TheFalk The Beginning of All Things

8th July 2007:
omg.
that man is is is well just awful.
='[
10/10

Author's Response: I know...thanks so much for reviewing though!

 Report Review

Review #31, by Andromedatonks Under the Beech Tree

3rd July 2007:
Oh, I'm so glad for them, I'm wondering where they will end up next. I really love the way you write Severus's inner voices:)
*gone to read the next chapter of your wonderful story*


Author's Response: I'm so happy you do. Part of me really feels like revising some of them, but this helps me to leave it as it is!

 Report Review

Review #32, by Andromedatonks She Knows His Name

3rd July 2007:
It is a lovely chapter, the little scene between Elise and Severus is cute, I loved the way you showed his awkwardness ("Just run away…no, no, don’t run away, you need your transfiguration essay." is just brilliant!) and her openness. She begins to remind me of some person I knew.

The only thing, I wish the scene in the Slytherin common room was more detailed and descriptive.. It kind of goes too fast, and it would be really great if you showed the atmosphere of the room... But it's just my small wish, more curiousity than anything else.

Great work!

Author's Response: You know, you're probably right. Often times, when I get caught up with the plot moving, I forget detailed descriptions. I might go in and edit that, thanks for catching it!

 Report Review

Review #33, by Andromedatonks Money and Girls, Girls and Money

3rd July 2007:
Oh, another wonderful chapter!..

I really like this Elise, she sounds like an unusual and pretty interesting girl, and somehow, I guess very much fitting Severus... I hope there'll be some happy moments between the two of them, I want him to be happy at least in fanfiction... anyways, I'm rambling.

It's very well-written, I loved this chapter.

Author's Response: haha, chapter 6 and you're already looking for romance!! hehe, never to worry never to worry :)

 Report Review

Review #34, by Aazareth Epilogue

3rd July 2007:
realy good story..ur a talented writer.
Im sensing a bit of a Snape fan in u:P...i have to admit..the way u write it..it seems like the marauders were complete gits..and Snape was realy a guy who was cold because other ppl made him that way..well..a rather captivating story i have to say.
BTW..the wolfsbane potion was invented by that guy's..(belby i think) uncle..slughorn mentions him in HBP.And i tought the wolfsbane was something like dark liquid and slightly smoky...there are details about it in POA:)..hope the criticism helps:P

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the criticism and the review! I did some research on Wolfsbane before I wrote it and couldn't find the actual inventor so I just wrote it like that. I wasn't sure, but thank you for alerting me. Well, I'll probably leave it and call the story AU or something, hehe. It would disrupt the plot a lot if I got rid of it. I might change it to the colors you said, however. Thanks so much, you know so many minute details!!

 Report Review

Review #35, by SnapeIsHawt Epilogue

27th June 2007:
I absolutely loved it! :) I was well hooked on it and you certainly know how to finish off a chapter making the reader eager for more. I'll wait impatiently for the sequel. :) I'm sure it'll be even better! x

Author's Response: I'm so happy you loved it! I'm not entirely sure about the sequel yet, I'm going to read Deathly Hallows and see where things go from there, but thank you so much for reviewing, I really appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #36, by Violet Gryfindor Destiny's Perfect Son

24th June 2007:
Haha, nice touch in adding Malfoy. He sounds just like Draco, gloating in the exact same way. My favourite was the scene between Severus and his father - it was great to see Severus stand up to Tobias and use his magic for the first time in that way. I also liked how Severus came up with a story about who his father was - I thought that it fit well with the "Half-Blood Prince" title he later gives himself and making up a story about his father is the first step to him becoming the HBP. While the Diagon Alley scene is a bit "typical" for a lot of stories, you've also made it your own, suiting it to Severus' differences as a young wizard. Instead of being in awe of the colourfulness of the Alley, he's "distracted", which I thought was perfect and very Snape-like.

This is very well written and really interesting to read, Rita, and I hope to keep reading more of it soon. =)

Author's Response: Well thank you so much! It's been almost 2 years since I've written those chapters, so I had to go through and read what I'd written.

I figure that I'd comment I've been doing edits lately because I wrote the descriptions of certain characters before I ever knew what a Mary Sue was so...I'm trying to fix that ASAP, haha.

I know the Diagon Alley scene is typical, but honestly I agree that it would be typical for Snape to be distracted.

Ugh, isn't it horrible that I make excuses for my story? The thing is, it's not so often that a really extroadinarily talented writer reads my own stories and well...everyone is their worst critic, right? haha.

I appreciate your reviews very much, they mean a lot, and they are among what I would consider the most productive reviews I've had. (Isn't that sad...)

:)


 Report Review

Review #37, by Violet Gryfindor The Beginning of All Things

24th June 2007:
Wow, what a beginning, Rita! It seemed to start almost like a fairy tale, with the happy couple and their young son, but quickly downspiraled into a nightmare for Eileen. The way you wrote it with so much emotion make it realistic and believable, especially if Tobias has the same lack of understanding for magic that Vernon Dursley has. This beginning fits Snape's personality in the books perfectly. Amazing work so far, Rita. I'm looking forward to reading more of this. =)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I do the dramatic emotional stuff a lot better than I do fluff, haha. Just look out for that in the future ;) Thanks so much for the great review, it's so fantastic for someone as fantastic as you to have good things to say about my story!!!

 Report Review

Review #38, by Dragonchaserchick Epilogue

22nd June 2007:
Yay! Your story is like a whithered rose; twisted, dark and beautiful. Well done

Author's Response: Thank you...and thank you for describing my story with such a wonderful simile!

 Report Review

Review #39, by esse Epilogue

21st June 2007:
I loved this story very much. It is wonderful

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading it, I appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #40, by Andromedatonks A Birthday Fit for Darkness

21st June 2007:
Oh my, it's past midnight and I'm still reading your story... I absolutely adore the way you write about Severus, and, seriously, I just can't stop reading it.
I spotted only one thing: I guess the Ministry's attention would be drawn immediately to the killing curse in the a muggle town... though I may be wrong, I never quite understood the way it works...
Anyways, great job!
P.S. I learned about your story at the HPFF forums, btw.

Author's Response: The way I saw it was....true, they probably would be drawn to it, but no one was killed by it..i don't know, I didn't even think about it. Good eye, though! Thanks so much for the great review, and I'm so happy to hear you visit our forums and learned about it from there!

 Report Review

Review #41, by Andromedatonks The Beginning of All Things

21st June 2007:
This is absolutely fabulous! So well-written, I simply fell in love with your fic. Thanks a million, you made my day!

Author's Response: No, thank YOU!! I'm so pleased I made your day!!

 Report Review

Review #42, by Laura Epilogue

17th June 2007:
That..made me cry. Seriously, i cried. The only other time i cried over something other than real life experience was during a song i both love and hate at the same time. I always pictured Snape must have motives behind that cold mask of his, and somehow i always pictured it had something to do with a certain girl. Amazing story, sad..sad ending, but i didn't expect it to be different, since we all know oh so very well that Snape does not have a special someone. Anyway..im going back to my romanian essays for exams before i completly flunk my finals. Thank you for this story.

Author's Response: I'm sorry that I made you cry!! But you are so welcome for this story, it is the single most favorite thing I have ever written, and to have such a positive response warms my heart, you have no idea! Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #43, by TrueLoveStoriesNeverEnd Epilogue

14th June 2007:
ah ha. now is truly explained Elise's death =D
and Snape is on his way to redemption.
good stuff =]
well brilliant story, a great effort all round, and i will definately look out for more of your stories in the future.
10/10
~Rhona~

Author's Response: I wrote that chapter just for you :) I'm so happy you liked it. Thanks for reading my story, your reviews have put a smile on my face and encouraged me to continue!

 Report Review

Review #44, by TrueLoveStoriesNeverEnd Turn Away

14th June 2007:
Brilliant =]
just need to read your epilogue
oh and thanks for answering my review for the last chapter, it explained a lot =]
~Rhona~

Author's Response: You're so welcome! You made me realize that I didn't explain it at all, even though it seemed absolutely clear in my head!

 Report Review

Review #45, by woah.. Turn Away

11th June 2007:
nice job
like the only thing that I noticed in the stories
was that dumbledore and snape don't know that the marauders are animagi

Author's Response: That's true, they don't know. Well, Dumbledore might, the story doesn't really discuss it. But Severus didn't really bother himself with it because he had other problems to deal with. But thank you so much for reading, I really appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #46, by overtheocean Turn Away

11th June 2007:
what a GREAT story! you have such wonderful, realistic characterization, really talented! definitely the best snape story i've ever read. great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! The best, really?? Have you ever read Innocence Found by Accio_Brain? I like that one alot...haha. Anyway, I'm flattered, thank you so much!!

 Report Review

Review #47, by TrueLoveStoriesNeverEnd Anaphylaxis

10th June 2007:
I like it.
Well actually I don't like it because Elise died, but as a story I love it =]
Actually I like you've done very well, since killing off characters is very hard especially your own ones that you become attached to. All I can say is that it's not very clear how she died, or why. Well apart from that Prince was evil. Maybe you'll explain that later of course.
So very good =]
~Rhona~

Author's Response: Yeah, I know...I know how she died, and I'm contemplating writing a one-shot sequel to explain it. I'd love to do a sequel but I'm pretty sure, with the release of DH that things will change a bit. I guess I'll explain it here for anyone who wants to know:

His grandfather explained the cause of death as "The ministry wanted them dead because of their previous connections. Their lives were too much of a threat" This, of course, is total B.S.

In actuality, The Dark Lord was very interested in Severus. he was interested in the spells, the potion making talent, the talent in general. And so, in order to secure him as a member, he had to destroy everything that was dear to Severus. He destroyed his mother, and he was able to turn his grandfather and bribe him to kill the Aguirre's since he didn't really like Severus all that much anyway. The Dark Lord, who uses people to get ahead, of course, labeled his grandfather as disposable, hoping that Elise's death would push Severus over the edge.

Why would the Dark Lord try so hard for one person when everyone else is expendable? Because Severus Snape was smarter, most likely smarter than all of the other death eaters. He had the power to create spells, and usually did so to hurt other people. He was brilliant in school, and his knowledge of potions and dark arts would definitely be a good addition. And when he met Severus in his lair for the first time, he could sense a hesitancy at the thought of becoming a death eater. So, the Dark Lord did what he could to secure his own future. When he wants something, he takes it.

I hope I cleared it up a bit...maybe I'll write an epilouge. Oh, and the story is finished now, so there's one more chapter. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, it means the world to me!


 Report Review

Review #48, by mauraderlvr13 Turn Away

7th June 2007:
I love this story so so much! I am not one to cry but this story is so well written, especially this last chapter, I was tearing up and, oh it was just wonderfully dreadfully amazingly sad and wonderful. I loved it.

Author's Response: you have no idea how much it means to me for you to say that. As I've said so many times in the past two years, this story was my baby, and though I'm sad to see it go, I'm so happy I could bring happiness to my readers! Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #49, by blastendedskrewt Turn Away

6th June 2007:
wow. i am blown away by this story. the in depth character study of severus snape was very realistic. the ending was phenomenal. it truly explains the nature of severus snape and shows how he has become what he is.

Author's Response: You have no idea how much this means to me. Your words have given me great happiness. I'm glad I was able to portray Severus in a way that tells how everything might have happened as canon as possible. I appreciate your kind review and I'll miss hearing from you!

 Report Review

Review #50, by EmilyBlack Turn Away

6th June 2007:
Aww!

Poor Severus. I hate funerals. I've only been to one, for my cousin, and I've never seen my family so sad before. It really does hurt and I somewhat understand where Severus's feelings are coming from.

I was kinda hoping he wouldn't be a Death Eater. Hoping, but not doubting. I knew it would happen.

I feel so bad for Severus...I miss Elise too. She was cool!

I absolutely loved this story and I'm so sad that it's over. You did an excellent job on it! Wonderful!

Author's Response: Funerals are very sad. I went to one for a friend in high school and I think it was the saddest day of my life.

I wanted to keep it canon, so I went ahead and made him death eater. Believe me, if I could have stopped him, I would have!

I have enjoyed your comments over the past; your words have meant a lot to me and I am thrilled that you chose to take this journey with me :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>