Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
85 Reviews Found

Review #26, by GingerCream 

9th June 2017:
Your story is amazing!!! I literally ready all of it in a few hours, I couldn't put it down (or close the website). Your characters are so funny, realistic and relatable, and your style of writing flows very naturally. Your description and imagery is also fantastic! All of the ups and downs had me laughing, squealing, and getting all the feels! I can't wait for the next chapter xxx

 Report Review

Review #27, by Hidebehind 

29th May 2017:
Hiya!

I love this story! I've read the whole thing over the course of a day which is sad I know... but your writing style is really established and the story arc is gripping. So many plots and subplots being explored here - but you've managed to keep the intrigue going throughout with the poisoning mystery.

I'm also really jealous of your dialogue, it reads in a natural way that I've been finding probably the hardest part of trying to write a fanfic.

Anyway, hope life is a bit less stressful and you manage to carry on with your writing, writers block is a very real thing - here's hoping your muse returns to you soon.

Hidebehind x

Author's Response: It's not sad, it's fantastic! And also, I've been there ;) I'm so glad you like the story and the way it's written... it means a lot to hear that. Also, I'm so happy that the dialogue feels natural to you... It's usually my starting point for a scene... I have the dialogue in my head before I know the scene :)

I am back on track with the next chapter and I will upload next week! Thanks for taing the time to read and to leave a review, I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #28, by Windyo 

27th May 2017:
Kudos to the really interesting plot though, and I must say it's really well-written as well, really enjoyable to read!

Yes, yes, it's me again but I had to add something more :D

Love all the family intrigue...but yes I must admit that I wasn't satisfied with Vila's explanations..surely there's something more going on? Surely?

I also have to say that I didn't really like James' characterization at first, not to offend or anything, I love what you did with him, but the fact that he left her waiting in the potions classroom and never even told her so they could arrange together him not going..I don't know..I get that he's a troublemaker, I love that about him, but I just saw Harry and Ginny putting at least more of those types of manners in him..
Love, absolutely love Freddie here though, I just wanna see more of him, and maybe of this Ginny!:D

I shall await your update (kinda)patiently XD :D

Author's Response: Yeah, I agree... Vala's explanations are not quite satisfying but we mustn't forget that she is family to Seth... and they are kind of bonding as well, which means a lot to Seth considering her family background. Ultimately, Seth is a bit of an unreliable narrator but we're stuck with her view for this adventure and her decitions about who to trust...

My reasoning for writing James like I did was that I imagine him as being very priviliged throughout his life. He has grown up in the spotlight and although I imagine his parents and family keeping him grounded, he also is a good looking celebrity that lived his teenage years at a bording school where everyone simply adores him, both teachers and students alike. He can't do anythign wrong, he's a star on the Quidditch pitch and a lot of girls throw themselves at him... I just felt that it would be easy for those things to go to a teenage boy's head... but he has other, deeper layers to him which I'm peeling off as I go :)

Again, thank you for taking the time to read and for reviewing twice. It means so much and I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #29, by Windyo 

27th May 2017:
Heya! So I just started reading this in the middle of my finals...I know I know, and finished it in a few days, days where I denied my love towards this story. Joking joking :D :D, but this seriously has gotten better and better with every chapter. I love all the ideas that you have put in it, and I must say this whole poison mystery is getting quite interesting...it's funny that this story has won Best Twist while the twist hasn't really been written yet. Not to pressure but I'm expecting something shocking, something awesome :P :D (And I don't really like ratings so I just left it at 8..sorry doesn't really mean anything, I just don't know how to rate stuff XD)

Author's Response: Haha, yeah I totally understand the lure of fanfiction in the midst of finals week. Why study if you have an endless supply of HP soties, right? :) I have been there too, believe me ;)

I'm glad you stumbled upon my story, though, and that you enjoy it. ANd yes, the mistery is still building and I'M afraid it'S not going to be revealed until the last chapter :)

Don't worry about the ratings. I can't see them so they don't really mean much to me anyways :)

Thanks for reading and I hope your finals all went well. NExt chapter is on the way and I hope to see you back :)


 Report Review

Review #30, by Ashleigh 

26th May 2017:
Heyy,
I just wanted to let you know that I have fallen in love with this story. And I would be lying if I said I wanted to leave Seth, I'm sure I'm going to stick with her to the end of this journey, which is turning out to be very interesting, by the way. 😀😀

I can't wait for you to update again. I really hope it's soon! And I think you should also know that I've been reading your author's notes and I've realised that you're going through tough things. I want you to know I understand and sometimes you've just got to brave through it. I know you're strong, and capable of it.

Keep writing!

XOXO,
Fancypants

Author's Response: Awww, thank you so much! And I'm gald you like Seth... she's become a very important part of my life and I'm glad others can relate to her as well :)

And THNK YOU for your kind and lovely words, they eman a lot. It's been quite a stressfull time but I'm finally able to breathe a bit and I am motivated and determined to invest more time in HNTBAW aain. The next chapter is almost finished and it will by up sometie next week. Hope to see you back!

Thanks for reading adn for leaving this review, I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #31, by Crescent Moon  

24th May 2017:
I love this story! All the characters are great and I really hope you update soon as I can't wait to read what happens next!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! The next chapter will be up next week. It took me a while with writer'S block AND a crazy busy few months but it's coming, I promise :)

THanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #32, by Guestlist 

18th May 2017:
I miss this story!!! I hope you are doing well and great chapter! Binged read all night and now missing it hahahahaha

Author's Response: I know I miss it too. I feel terrible but work has been crazy these past months and also I've started my PhD AND I'm moving so it's mayhem at the moment :)
Next chapter will be up next week. Promise :)
Thanks for reading and leaving a comment, I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #33, by Maddi 

8th May 2017:
Write more I am in love with this story!!!

Author's Response: I will. I am. I'm sorry for the long wait but it has been crazy busy these past months. Next chapter next week... proise!

Thanks for reading and for the comment!


 Report Review

Review #34, by Molly Rae 

7th May 2017:
I love this! I hope that another chapter is coming soon-- I think that you have developed a really fascinating character with Seth and can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! New chapter is finally on the way... I have given myself a rigid deadline so it will be up next week at the latest :) Thanks for your lovely words and for dropping by to leave me a comment :) Hope to see you back desite te long wait ;)

 Report Review

Review #35, by jkrowlingstone 

28th April 2017:
this is honestly one of the most addicting and interesting fic i have read in a LONG time. all hail the dobbys for introducing me to seth and all of your amazing characters and twists and turns. i love how the plot is deep and you have done a really great job with all of the twists and turns. seth is such a cool character and her relationship with james is EVERYTHING i love about fanfiction. also you have A+ music taste!!! do you have a tumblr for this fic bcs if not you definitely should make one! id love to see more music and pictures for this! cant wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And I am really sorry for this super late reply. Work has been killing me these past months and I just didn't get around to answering my reviews properly.

I am really glad you enjoy the story and that you found me through the Dobbys... honestly, I would have never expected to win even one and this has just been such an honour :)

And I'm so glad you enjoy the music :) I thought no one cares about it but now I'm going to continue with supplying a playlist for each chapter :D I don't have a tumblr for HNTBAW since I really want to invest all the time I can spare into the story and I fear that another channel would take away from taht... but maybe I might start one eventually :)

Next chapter is on the way... I set myself a deadline and I am determined to meet it. Next week at the latest :) Hope you are still interested then after the long wait :)

Thank you thank you thank you again for this lovely review, it really means the world to me! :)


 Report Review

Review #36, by Corinne 

24th April 2017:
honestly loving this story. The comedy aspect is believable and very well written and the personal relationships between the characters are really great! also love how you incorporated some social commentary and dealt with actual world issues that affect teens! Sorry about your writers block and hope you feel inspired soon!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am so sorry for this late reply but I hope you know your words are very much appreciated! I'm glad you enjoy the story and the characters and also the social commentary ;)

Writer's block can be a snitch but I'm finally getting over it it seems and I've set myself a deadline by which I will upload (next week at the altest). I do hope you will still be interested then despite the long wait :)

Thank you so so much again for reading and leaving this lovely comment!


 Report Review

Review #37, by Potterhead57 

24th April 2017:
This story is just awesome.
I love your characters und your style of writing.
I discovered your story this morning and read it in one sitting.

Awesome work - can't wait for the new chapter

Greetings from Germany :))

Author's Response: Thank you so much and also, sorry for this super late reply to your comment. I was swamped with work and had to neglect HPFF a little.

I am so gald you enjoy the story and also my writing style... the next chapter will be up soon (finally) and I hope you'll still be there to read :)

Liebe Gruesse (no umlaut or scharfes S on my computer :) ) aus England! Ich freue mich auch deutsche Leser zu haben :)


 Report Review

Review #38, by Rosie_Posie 

24th April 2017:
Hello! So congrats on the Dobby awards they are the reason for me finding this wonderful story :)

I am a big sucker for a James II / OC story and this one has to be one of my favourites. I love that you have the family dynamic and mystery plot to ensure it isn't just James/Seth drama all the time. While I definitely LOVE the romantic drama it can get quite drawn out sometimes in fanfics and the characters can become over-dramatic and it can feel false. But you have wonderfully managed to keep the tension and relationship drama without it tipping into being ludicrous.

Hopefully there will be a new chapter soon because after reading all 31 chapters in a row (when I should be doing my uni essay...) I have no patience to wait for another chapter! Although definitely no pressure quality updates are better than lots of bad updates (also we all have lives other than HPFF to live sadly).

RP xx

Author's Response: Fist of all SORRY for this late response to your review. I honestly feel terrible about not getting back to you earlier but work has been incredibly crazy and I also started my PhD, which basically consumed the little freetime I had. But it's better now and I finally get around to be on HPFF again :)

I also love James II / OC fics... obviously ;)... and I'm really glad you enjoy the story. I agree that romance is great but it also has to take a backseat sometimes and give characters room to display more levels and dimensions...

I am finishing up the next chapter... finally... and I have given myself a deadline by which I will upload (next week at the latest) and I hope you'll still be interested and enjoy the story :)

Thanks for this lovely review again and I hope you can forgive me for the late reply!


 Report Review

Review #39, by thistle 

22nd April 2017:
I found your story just yesterday, and couldn't stop reading it!

I fell in love with all of your characters, each and every one of them is believable and feels like an actual person - with many layers and flaws and space to stumble or grow... I might also have a soft spot for Tarquin, and rooted for him hardcore - I was very happy for him and Katie! And loved how Sam became part of Seth and Katie's friend group so organically.

And, and, and (can you tell how excited I am? :D) I was so happy that the plot doesn't just revolve around romance, loving the intrigue and the mystery, and all the shady behavior (by everyone really but Vala especially, I'm surprised Seth was appeased by her less-than satisfying explanations...).

I'm wondering if there is more going on between the Potter and Woodley clans than we know of? Both Ginny and James' reactions to the Woodleys were suspicious...

Anyway, I'll stop my rambling before I get carried away, there are just so many things I enjoyed that it's impossible to cram it all into a single review - so hats off to your incredible writing skills and a massive thank you for crafting an amazing story!

I'm excited to read more! :)

Author's Response: Hey there and SORRY for the embarrassingly late reply! I feel like a terrible human being for receiving such a lovely review and then letting it sit there unanswered for more than two months... I have been crazy busy, teaching both at uni and in school plus starting my PhD and just couldn't get to do much else... I hope you can forgive me...

Thank you so so much for this wonderful review. Even though I haven't answered, I have read it and it really made my day. I'm glad you enjoy the characters and the story line and it means a lot to hear that you feel the people in the story are believable. Also, I am so happy you feel that way about the mystery plot line... I do like romance but I feel that to have everything revolve around boy meets girl can easily go wrong and make a good story quite boring and one-dimensional.

I am almost finished with the next chapter (which I have neglected shamefully for a while due to my juggling two jobs and a PhD :)) and I set myself a deadline and I will upload next week at the latest. Hope you will still be around to read :)

Thank you so so much again, I hope to see you back despite the late reply and longish pause!


 Report Review

Review #40, by TNT 

17th April 2017:
OMG!
I. NEED. ANSWERS.

Please!!!
Update soon, I love this!
Is it gonna be much longer? Or are we close to the end?
Love TNT

Author's Response: I KNOW! I'M SO SORRY! It'S taking me forever, I know. Work is crazy at the moemnt and I don't get to write as much and as often as I would like to, unfortunately. But I'm on it, I promise :)

We're not close to the end just yet ;)

Thanks so much for reading and for commenting, it's very much appreciated!


 Report Review

Review #41, by EllieStrange 

15th April 2017:
This is probably my favorite fic ever (and I've been a long time reader)! I love the whole poison plot, if makes it seems so much more like the HP universe, because, obviously, there's always adventure and mystery lurking around the corner at Hogwarts.

I can't wait for the update! xx

Author's Response: Awww thank you! I really appreciate you saying this. I feel bad for not getting back to you sooner and I appologize... I was so busy with work and life in general that I didn't get to check HPFF much. But I am working on the update, I promise :)

Thank you so much for reviewing and for reading and saying all those nice things about the story, it really means a lot!


 Report Review

Review #42, by Runespoor 

13th April 2017:
I'm loving this fic! Hope your writer's block eases off soon because I think there's a lot of people eagerly awaiting an update :) congrats on a truly imaginative piece, it really is one of the best I've read.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Yeah... the block is horrible... I know where I want the story to go but my head is so full with work stuff at the moment that I just can't seem to write it all down... but the next chapter is definitely on the way. I promise :)

Thanks so much for your lovely words and for reading and taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #43, by QkStephen 

13th April 2017:
I had been away from HPFF for so long so I went back and re read the whole story and I have to say I'm so proud of what the story is molding into. I remember joining in on the story fairly early and it's so nice to see it taking off. I hope you keep updating fairly regularly because I really can't stand to wait 😊

Author's Response: Aw, you're so sweet! THank you so much for saying this. It means a lot to me. I feel awful for not replying earlier but I've also been away from HPFF for a while as I was swamped with work... I'm still working on the next chapter but it's almost done... taking longer than I expected but, unfortunately, life got in the way ;)

Thanks so much for reading and leaving this comment. It means a lot!


 Report Review

Review #44, by Anon 

12th April 2017:
This story has been getting so much recognition lately and I'm absolutely lovin it :) It deserves all these reviews!

Very excited for the next update, hopefully it's soon?? Cant wait!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And sorry for the late reply... I was drowning in work :( Still working on the update but I promise I'll hurry up! Thanks again for reading and for being so sweet :)

 Report Review

Review #45, by luciusobsessed 

10th April 2017:
I'm in grad school rn and I literally stayed up all night till 2 AM b/c I couldn't stop reading your story; it was so rewarding! Pls update I'm craving more James/Seth :)

Author's Response: Haha, I know what grad school's like so I'm flattered you gave up valuable sleeping time for HNTBAW. I'm really glad you liked it and I promise that the next chapter contains major Jeth moments ;)

Thanks so much for taking the time to review, it means a lot!


 Report Review

Review #46, by Lorz Potter 

6th April 2017:
I'm really enjoying this story! Keep writing x

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoy the story! Even though I'm a little behind on uploading I promise the next chapter will come :)

THanks so much for reading adn commenting, it's very much appreciated!


 Report Review

Review #47, by elen 

5th April 2017:
I read this entire story in one night (and stayed up much later than I should have in order to do so) and I honestly adore it. Somehow, you have managed to keep the characters and their drama from being at all cliche, which I appreciate SO much. I especially love the ending of this most recent chapter (I love Freddie & James (& basically all your other characters)) Do you know how long you are planning on the complete story being? Not to sound impatient but I cannot wait for the next update. Keep up the great work :)

Author's Response: Haha, I'm sorry for keeping you up but I'm glad you like the story :) I'm also glad you feel that the story is not chliched... I know it can happen all too easily with NextGen stories and I definitely play with a lot of common chliches of the genre.

I'm super happy that you liked the latest chapter... it's one of my favourites as well so this means a lot to me. I promise I am working on the update (unfortunately work and life somehow keep getting in the way) and will post as soon as possible.

Thank you so much again for reading and for taking the time to review, it'S very much appreciated!!!


 Report Review

Review #48, by Gemma 

3rd April 2017:
I just stumbled on this story late last night and have been devouring it with very, very limited stops (you know, eating, not enough sleeping, that sort of thing) ever since. I'm absolutely in love with this story and your take on Hogwarts and James and the whole thing! Most of all, though, your characters--Seth and Katie are awesome, and I love that they've added Sam to their friend mix! Keep up the amazing work--I know writers block can be the WORST, but you're killing it with this fic! Waiting with bated breath for the next chapter : )

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm so happy you like the story so much and my OCs... I feel really abd for taking so long again but like you said, writer's block is real and it's even worse in combination with too much work... I hope to have a breather over easter and will finsish and upload the new chapter then :)

Thanks so much for taking the time to read and to leave this sweet review, it means so much to me!


 Report Review

Review #49, by Ja 

30th March 2017:
Hi, I absolutely loved this story, binge-read it in well under a day, can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoy it! Thanks for taking the time to let me know... it's much needed motivation and a reminder to finish the next chapter :)


 Report Review

Review #50, by Reagan 

29th March 2017:
Brother. When is that update coming man? Miss the fam. Also can we throw Rose Weasley in for a hot sec. like smart girls club. I heart that.

Author's Response: Haha I know. I'm struggling with writer's block and too much work at the moment but I'm on Easter holiday soon and I will upload then. Thanks for the comment and for reading, I really appreciate it! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>