Reading Reviews for Alone Facing Darkness
  
217 Reviews Found

Review #26, by gabby Shieldmaidens

23rd February 2009:
I love this story so much! Its one of the best hp/lotr fanfics I've ever read; maybe the best hp fanfic I've ever read! It may even be one of the best fanfics i've ever read (and I've read a lot)! It's hard to find good fanfic these days, and its harder to find any lotr stories, and even harder to find good hp/lotr stories, so please keep up the good work! This chapter was great, can't wait for the next one!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you like this story - keep an eye out for updates, for even though they will only be every now and then, I'm going to finish this story someday!

 Report Review

Review #27, by tommyhtc Shieldmaidens

15th February 2009:
dude I can't wait for the next one, when will you be done?

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I really do have no idea when I will be done writing this story - I've been working on it on and off for about fiver years thus far, but what with validating duties and life, I've only been able to work on it sporadically. I'm glad you enjoy the story!

 Report Review

Review #28, by Anastasia Shieldmaidens

28th November 2008:
I discovered this at the open scrolls archive a few days ago and I haven't been able to stop reading. My heart almost stopped when I saw it here too! And with more chapters. This is the best lotr/hp crossover I have ever read! Please say you'll update soon.

Author's Response: I know that I'm responding to your review very late, but thank you very much! I'm trying to update as often as I can, but with college and studying for MCATs it is getting be be more difficult than it was before. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #29, by Regina Noctis A Seed of Good

10th December 2007:
Wow. The absolute best story of HP/LOTR I've ever seen! You've inspired me to write my own. . . *blushes* Anyway, I found this story a long time ago, in February, but I lost it until today, when I found it in the forums recommended story section. ^_^ You're the best! Keep the good work, and update soon please! ^_^

Regina

 Report Review

Review #30, by Vaughntronic Voices and Visions

11th October 2007:
It was quite a long time ago that I actually tackled this story for the first time, so I no longer remember if I reviewed anything I had read... If I already have, then my apologies!

I really enjoy this! It is so familiar, and well-written... When I read what you have written I feel the same way as I do when I read LotR or Harry Potter, but I get a new story rather than re-reading the original! It is great feeling. I can't wait to actually make it through the whole thing, and hopefully stick with it until the end!

~VT

 Report Review

Review #31, by nice_job A Seed of Good

12th August 2007:
the most strangest idea for a Hp story ever,but i like it :D

 Report Review

Review #32, by Fawkesfire6 A Seed of Good

30th July 2007:
Hey, I know i haven't reviewed before, but i love the story and had a question, the quote on the banner, "The Strongest Power Dwells Within", where is that from, LOTR?

 Report Review

Review #33, by Infairi A Seed of Good

18th July 2007:
In the movies, for some reason, Frodo and Sam's story seemed a little less interesting to me, especially with Faramir. With Harry though, naturally it'll be a bit different. The combination of two of the greatest stories really is one of a kind. I'm sure there are many, many crossovers out there, but this one truly has my full attention, curiosity, etc. I'm really looking forward to the coming chapters, and I hope you update soon!

Being the last posted chapter at the present, I have to comment on it in an over all sort of way. As I've said in most of the other reviews so far, this story is one of a kind, and your writing skills are fantastic. You've really captured the essence of Lord of the Rings, and the characterization for ALL the characters is pretty much dead on.

I'm really, REALLY looking forward to the rest of this story and I'm hoping it will all come very soon (or one more chapter, at the very least!). I'm anxious to see how far into the LotR story this story goes, and I'm even more anxious to find out what the key is to stopping Voldemort.

I love this story, and please update! You've supplied me with some great reading for the past few days. :)

 Report Review

Review #34, by Infairi Sisterly Bonds

18th July 2007:
As I mentioned before, the story line of Hermione, Aragorn, Gimli and Legolas is my favorite so far. I don't know why exactly. So naturally, this was a great chapter!

I really, really liked the part where she banished Saruman from Theoden. I probably wouldn't have thought of the Imperius Curse and that was really clever. Out of curiosity, what does "Animus Cedum" mean?

Now, you titled this chapter "Sisterly Bonds." So of course I have to comment on the growing relationship between Eowyn and Hermione. Being human, I suppose Eowyn actually looks her age. Do you know how old she's supposed to be in the books? I really do like the relationship though. Hermione and Eowyn seem a lot alike and make good "sisters." :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by Infairi Slinker and Stinker

18th July 2007:
I really felt sorry for Sam in the movies. He was alone against Gollum, as you well know. I'm really glad he and Harry are on the same page though. :) Speaking of Gollum, I don't remember that little song he was singing in the beginning of the chapter. If you made it up, well then good job.

All the little details, description, everything is great! I know I'd say the same for every chapter, but it just seemed especially good in this one. 9/10

 Report Review

Review #36, by Infairi The White Wizard

18th July 2007:
Ah, and it looks as though here's where you really deviate from the movie, which is a good thing, I think; not that I'd find it boring, but for anyone who's a total LotR nut, this makes for a pleasant and unexpected surprise, I suppose you'd call it. You know? For some reason I feel like for such a long sentence, it didn't make sense. Ah well.

The only thing I'd change is the portrayal of Saruman. You've got it down that he's evil and twisted, but I think it requires a bit more to really do the character justice. I don't know exactly how, but he needs to be just a bit more evil.

 Report Review

Review #37, by Infairi Hunters and Horse-Lords

18th July 2007:
Out of the three separate story lines, I think this is my favorite (but it's a really close call). As I said with Ron and the Hobbits, Hermione seems to really fit in well with Aragorn, Gimli and Legolas. I'm curious though, is Gandalf coming back? 9/10, as always. :)

 Report Review

Review #38, by Infairi The Uruk-Hai of Saruman

18th July 2007:
Ron seems to fit in with the Hobbits, doesn't he? :P I don't think I have to tell you that I liked this chapter, because I like all the chapters...

My only complaint for this chapter is this: in the books, I think the Uruks and Orcs were a bit more stupid. If my memory is correct, I believe they even killed each other besides just the once. But's that hardly counts as a complaint. I really loved the chapter. :)

 Report Review

Review #39, by Infairi The Elven Staff

18th July 2007:
I really liked that this was both so like the movie and yet it had its own twist, in a way. The part with the staff was a little confusing but I liked that it had a somewhat big part in the chapter.

It seemed like the story didn't progress a whole lot, but I know there's a lot to fit in. There was a great mix of description and everything else as usual, so it's still 9/10. :)

 Report Review

Review #40, by Infairi The Battle of Parth Galen

18th July 2007:
The whole aspect with Ron desiring the Ring is really creepy and well written at the same time. I think Hermione would have sided with Harry though. The "confrontation" with Ron and Hermione -- that was both sad and sweet. I can't imagine it any other way though, even in Deathly Hallows (which we'll all soon read and find out, anyway).

Again I have to comment on your action scenes. It's as simple as this: masterfully written. I loved this chapter.

 Report Review

Review #41, by Infairi Sojourn in the Golden Wood

18th July 2007:
Ooh, I'm curious to see what kind of prowess the staff possesses. Very mysterious. Also, I'm glad to see that you're adding some more original spins on this tale.

I really like the way you portrayed Galadriel and everyone else in this chapter. My only complaint is that the chapter wasn't longer. :P

 Report Review

Review #42, by Infairi Beneath the Mountains

17th July 2007:
For some reason -- one that I don't think I could ever fully explain -- Moria was one of my favorite parts of the first movie. The atmosphere was just so unlike anything I'd seen or read before, which makes it so unforgettable. You've done a great job with it though, and you even put your own mark on it in a way. I may have spread it out over another chapter, but it's still very good. Seeing as how you're fitting presumably all three books/movies into this one story, I can see why you didn't drag it out to the point of monotony as I probably would have done. :P

A lot of people seem incapable of writing good action scenes, but this whole chapter was great! Again, I may have dragged it out just a little longer, but that still doesn't really count as constructive, does it? :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by Infairi The Quest Begins

17th July 2007:
As I said in my first review, I read this all a couple days ago so I'm just skimming it to remind myself. I can't believe I forgot to comment on the sword fighting in the last chapter though (and the chapter was even called Preparations!). I really, really enjoyed it. The detail you put into the story is what makes it so unique and so right. You know what I mean? It just really fits into the LotR world.

So in this chapter, I have to comment on the whole Legolas/Hermione thing. Cute! It's so fun to see a jealous Ron. *evil grin*

"Who are you?" the Man softly asked, eyes traveling from Harry's face to the wand held aloft in his right hand. Talk about chilling moment! I can never stop raving about this story, can I? I'm really having a hard time trying to think of something constructive to say!

 Report Review

Review #44, by Infairi Preparations

17th July 2007:
The trio's banter is so fun to read! It reminds me of the books. Oh, and Ron and Hermione together is so cute!

The only other thing I can think of right now is the infuriating connection that is Frodo and Harry. Infuriating is a good thing (it's basically just piqued curiosity). :)

 Report Review

Review #45, by Infairi The Council and the Fellowship

17th July 2007:
Ah, poor Hermione. I'm glad you've acknowledged the huge difference between whatever time Middle Earth supposedly existed and the present. If I were writing this story (mind you, it wouldn't be half as good), I probably wouldn't have thought about gender prejudices.

I'm also really glad that you haven't been rushing the plot. So far it's gone at a steady, enjoyable pace, the likes of which we can find in the LotR books. Only, I think those were a bit slower...

I really love the dialogue in this chapter. What with so many characters and lots of info to pack in, you've done an excellent job. The only thing that surprised me a bit was why Ron wasn't allowed in the meeting when Harry was. Another 9/10 though. :)

 Report Review

Review #46, by Infairi A Meeting of Wizards

17th July 2007:
In coming chapters I fear I won't have a whole lot to say. But I did come up with a few things.

1) The likeness between Dumbledore and Gandalf is very mysterious and I'm beginning to wonder if there's more to Dumbledore... Does he perhaps have anything to do with the Istari? (Forgive my total lack of knowledge when it comes to anything not mentioned in the movies... It's been over five years since I read the books.)

2) So, I have to mention again the strange connection between Harry and Frodo. I sort of hope this doesn't have anything to do with reincarnation, but then again I don't want to sway the outcome of the story if it hasn't already been written and/or decided. Come to think of it, that could also be the case with my point above about the wizened wizards. I guess that goes to show that HP and LotR really do have a lot of similarities, doesn't it? For one, the containing of the soul in an inanimate object...

3) I can't get over how well you've mixed these seemingly separate universes. We have the trio, for one, who are all perfectly portrayed, and then the amazing atmosphere that represents LotR. Kudos to you for being able to write in a somewhat Tolkien-ish fashion. :)

 Report Review

Review #47, by Infairi Flight to the Ford

17th July 2007:
Okay, I have to rave again! Your talent for keeping everyone in character is uncanny. I love it.

I think it was really clever to incorporate Ancient Runes as a means of translation. Also, your apparently vast knowledge of the world Tolkien created is VERY impressive.

I'm not sure how necessary it is to have scenes from the movie that are unchanged by the trio, because I think it's pretty much fans of both HP and LotR who are reading this. But it doesn't really matter, I just feel weird not having anything bad to say. :P

 Report Review

Review #48, by Infairi Amon Sūl

17th July 2007:
As always, great chapter. You're probably going to get tired of my compliments pretty quick, what with me not having anything constructive to say. :D

As I said before (I think it was in the last review -- I've already forgotten), I think there would be a few more differences what with the presence of three more people. I guess what I'm sort of missing is how Ron, Harry and Hermione change certain conversations, you know? Then again, I'm not sure how much other readers would come to appreciate that if they didn't know every line from the movie like me!

I've always thought Dementors and Nazgul were a lot alike, which made that last bit of the chapter all the more interesting. I'm very curious to see how the whole magic thing plays out in later chapters. :)

 Report Review

Review #49, by Infairi A Night in Bree

17th July 2007:
What I really love about your style of writing is the mix of dialogue, description, thoughts and all the rest of that good stuff. Too much of any one of those isn't fun to read, but you seem to have a really good handle on it.

Several times already I've been reading and suddenly go, "Eek! I recognize that line!" What with the meddling in time and whatnot, I think there might be a few more differences in the way time unravels -- if that makes any sense -- but it's great nevertheless.

I love the eerie connection between Frodo and Harry, but more of that in coming reviews... ;)

 Report Review

Review #50, by Infairi A Silver Hand

17th July 2007:
Another great chapter. :) I have to admit, it was pretty ingenious of Voldemort to think of such a simple yet effective plan for getting rid of the trio. I can't believe I never thought of that! But surely he knew to what time he was sending them? (Sorry, as I mentioned in my last review, I've read ahead. *guilty grin*)

I would never have thought about what used to exist before Hogwarts. Being a thousand years ago... It's just mind boggling so I usually don't even think about it. Being a LotR fanatic myself, I have to say, this story is like a dream come true. 9/10

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>