Reading Reviews for The Lost Wolf
  
84 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Gabriella Hunter In Limbo

4th August 2014:
HELLO!

I'm back here with your review and you'll have to pardon me for being so late! I was busy writing and trying to catch up on some of my own stories and wishing I had candy. Hahah.

Anyhoo, poor Cassie! I feel so sorry for her, especially knowing that the Colonel just tossed her aside so nastily. I don't know if I want her to see him again, just to beat him down or what but I can't believe he actually just pushed her away and thought that giving her that poor excuse of a house would make up for anything!

I thought you did a really good job portraying how lost Cassie was thought, the description of her new home had my heart aching. I was able to picture every broken thing and I thought that it was a beautiful way of showing just how torn up she was on the inside. I also personally like that Cassie isn't some raging beauty and has both mental and physical scars and it really sets her apart from some of the other heroines that I've read in the past. I think its a bold thing to try for a main character but I'm happy that you decided to go in this direction, you don't shy away from how ugly the scars are or how they've damaged her self-esteem. The hysterical laugh towards the end made my blood chill though and I was so upset at the thought of how alone she was just then, it really stood out to me.

What also was brilliant were the flashbacks! What could they all mean? I have to know more and I want to know what Lupin and Sirius have to do with her life, I really hope you keep moving in that direction the hints are driving me crazy. Hahah.

That last line at the end was wonderful as well, it really made me feel for Caassie. I hope she gets rescued because I hate to think of her being lost right now, it really makes me want to hop right into this story and hug her. Hahah.

I think this was a great chapter but you missed a few capitalized words here and there. Other than that, it could be a bit smoother in some parts but was a great read regardless!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you for the review!

I'm glad you liked my description of Cassandra! I am trying to depict her as different. Not beautiful, sexy or anything... She is, as you said, quite messed up, both physically and psychologically, and magic won't do anything on these aspects, I fear.

Oops! Typos are my damnation! I'm glad you pointed them out, this story will undertake a massive editing soon, and knowing what mistakes I should look for will be immensely helpful. Just one little thing... I don't actually know what do you mean by "smoother". It's not a citric to what you said, mind you... I really don't know what you are referring to, if you mean that my style should be smoother, aka less descriptive in wounds/violence, or if you intended that some of my sentences are too long or intricate. It it is the latter, thank you for telling me. Since in Italian we tend to use lots of commas and not many full stops, I may have written too long sentences, and I would be eternally grateful if you could tell me which one seemed too... Wrong in your opinion.

If you referred to the amount of details in my descriptions... You may not like some of the next chapters. Oops! ;)

Anyway, thank you again for your suggestions, and if you don't mind I would like to re request as soon as I can!

Maryhead


 Report Review

Review #27, by Chazzie Atoms For Peace

28th July 2014:
Ah you updated! :D
It was a brilliant chapter, I loved it. Meh, I love all your chapters. I mentioned that before, right? Well, the backstory about the wolves and the Magoi was brilliant. I loved the way the creatures responded to the Trojans, with the rising fear that started to accumulate as they destroyed the island. And the little girl was called Cassandra too! Is Cassie named for her ancestor, or is it just coincidence?
Yay, some Cassie and Neffie (that's an adorable nickname) action! I loved the way they interacted, neither fully trusting each other. I do hope they become very good friends, because Nymphadora is headstrong and impulsive and caring - just like Cassandra! Thank you so much for writing that!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for the review!

I'm glad you liked the backstory :). I was a bit doubtful about it, I feared the readers would have dropped the story, thinking "where the hell did this think come from?!", but you liked it, so yay!

Cassie and Neffie rule! They will certainly dominate the scene in the next updates, so don't worry! ( Not to mention the fact that this WILL be a Remus/Tonks universe, so yeah... ;))

Thank you again for the review! I hope to hear from you soon for the next chapter, which is already up!

Maryhead


 Report Review

Review #28, by Gabriella Hunter A Wolf at the Door

14th July 2014:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review, my dear! Nice to meet you and all that junk. So, this was really unique! I'd never read anything like this before and I think the way you opened this chapter was very bold and very dark. Most stories don't open on such a violent event but I applaud you for having the courage and its very well written. I was able to feel every bit of pain that Cassie was going through and my heart stopped towards the end of that flash back.

I want to know what happened to her family even more now and what was happening for her town to be attacked. I hope you go into more detail later on! :D

Cassie herself seems like a really interesting character. She's confident, capable but also vulnerable and I think that makes her a bit more relatable as a person. There's something sensitive about her that I found very realistic and I hope we get to see more of that in the future. You didn't give any descriptions on her appearance, however aside from the scars and while I found that VERY cool (Most people wouldn't have done this) I'd like to have some inkling of her hair color or something. Not sure if you'd intended for her not to be described but I'm just a sucker for detail.

Now, the Colonel is horrible. I've written some awful fathers in my day but there's just something about this man that really made me angry and a little creeped out. Even though Cassie was adopted, he treats her with the same sort of regard he would a dog and that was not a pun. On one hand, I'm glad that she's away from him but on the other...I can't believe that he just kicked her out! I can't BELIEVE that he was going to MAKE her marry someone she didn't love!

I'd like to meet this boy that she deliberately pushed away too. Hah. Cassie was very proud of herself for that one!

Now, that ending shocked me. Lupin?! As in...Remus?! I have to know more now so don't be afraid to re-request!

I didn't spot too many problems but there are a few words that are missing in paragraphs but everything else seems pretty good.

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you for the review and sorry if it took so much to answer. RL sent me to a place where internet is almost non-existent.

I am glad the beginning made an impression on you... I wanted to make it "real", so that the reader would be able to see what was happening... And it looks like I did it! Yay!

As for Cassandra description, the lack of details regarding her physical appearance was made on purpose, because she'll be really carefully described in the other chapters. I understand your concern, I get so frustrated when an author doesn't describe characters or scenes accurately enough! In this case, however, it was inevitable and if you get on reading, and I really hope you do, you'll understand why.

Anyway, thank you again for your review, and I'll certainly re-request as soon as I can!


 Report Review

Review #29, by crestwood Separator part 1

12th July 2014:
I feel terrible for Remus.. he seems to be the only one in the dark here. I wish Dumbledore would stop playing with his emotions because I just want him and Cassandra to be reunited. If Remus, Cassandra, Sirius and Harry could all meet that would make everyone's lives better and ease a lot of the pain that they've all felt. None of them have had an easy go of it, have they? I'm shocked at how naturally you've slipped this OC into the Harry Potter universe as if she's always been a part of it. I'm still astounded that you've managed to write this without being a native English speaker, I really am. You're incredibly talented! Thank you so much for your request and make sure to re-request when new chapters have been uploaded!

Author's Response: AND I DID IT! I answered to all of your amazing, marvelous reviews! Thank you, thank you, thank you for your feedback. I really appreciated it. Oh, and thank you again for your compliments about my English. I simply adore this language, so your words mean a lot to me.

Dumbledore is Dumbledore. He cares for the safety of the majority of people, but tends to forget that the world is made of single individuals... He could be defined as a fan of "utilitarianism", in a certain sense. Why is Cassandra so important in the safety of the wizarding and muggle world? You'll see in the next chapters, which I have almost completed! Right now there are two chapters you could review, but I think I'll wait a bit before re-requesting... I just adore when I open HPFF and I see so many reviews at the same time, apart from you and a couple of other wonderful readers I don't get that much of a feedback!


 Report Review

Review #30, by crestwood I Might Be Wrong

11th July 2014:
I really like the Tonks point of view here in this chapter. I was not expecting that at all. I'm curious what Snape's true intentions are. He seems not so bad in this chapter, but still kind of mean nonetheless. You seem to be preparing to connect everything all together that you're introducing. I can't wait to see that happen!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you for your review!

See? Snape isn't THAT bad... Well, right now he is, but... He DOES have a conscience... Deep, deep down.

Tonks was a surprise for me too! Originally she should have appeared much later, but I just couldn't wait to introduce her! I love her!


 Report Review

Review #31, by crestwood Sommersi e Salvati

11th July 2014:
What did Cassandra let Bill do to her?! Everyone keeps referring to it as letting him "kill" her, but I don't exactly understand what it is that he's doing. It's interesting that Harry met her, even if it was all in his mind. I think that has to do with the Pack's connection in some way. McGonagall's talk with Harry was enlightening and she seems to have doubts about Sirius' guiltiness. Can't wait to read on!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! Well, Bill did what lots of pharmaceutical companies do every day... Just illegally.

Oh, yes, McGonagall has doubts... She has been having them for more than a decade. And she isn't the only one!


 Report Review

Review #32, by crestwood  Last Flowers

11th July 2014:
McGonagall and Dumbledore's conversation is interesting. Everyone seems very intent that Cassandra will not be happy in the Wizarding World, but she's still dead set on finding Remus. I'm supremely annoyed by Snape in this chapter, he says some terrible things about Cass. Like, soulless, really Snape? Ugh, he always bothers me even though I know he's working with Dumbledore all this time. He's still not a nice guy. I can't wait to read the first meeting between Cassandra and Remus regardless! You do a good job of bringing all sorts of emotions out of me haha

Author's Response: Eheh, thank you! Yeah, I'm certainly not fond of Snape... Maybe it's because I grew up reading the first four books, maybe it's because I've always adored Sirius and the Marauders... I just can't see him as "the good guy". This won't be a complete Snape-bashing story, though. I wanted to, but I reckoned this would have meant creating a completely stereotypical character. So, alas, he will do some good things in the future. FAR away in the future.

 Report Review

Review #33, by crestwood Feral

11th July 2014:
I love how feral Cassandra becomes when she transitions into the Wolf. I've never seen someone paint Padfoot as a separate personality so well. It makes sense that it would always be a part of Sirius and it's strange how you manage to write it as a completely different character to Sirius in the first place, but still essentially him. That's a fine line and you've definitely found a way to write your way around it all. Great chapter once again!

Author's Response: Oh, this chapter was the toughest to write so far, I swear. The idea for Padfoot's personality came into my mind out of the blue, and it is so intricate that I don't know if I've been able to explain it well enough. I may return on it in the future, to clarify some points I'm still not sure about. I am so glad you liked it, though!

 Report Review

Review #34, by crestwood Kid A

11th July 2014:
I can barely even begin to fathom that English isn't your native language. I wonder how you've created such realistic characters and gripping storylines in a language that isn't even your first. That revelation makes all of this even more impressive. I'm so relieved to get all of this new information about Cassandra's past, this is a beautifully well thought out plot. I can't wait for what happens next!

Author's Response: Ah, thank you! Another unbelievably great compliment I don't know if I deserve!

Whenever I write a chapter I am not sure about where the story will go... I don't have a plan, I have to confess, this is a WIP in every sense! I let my writing being influenced by what I learn, hear and see in my RL, I write on the bus, while I study...I think it's better this way, because if I had written a plan before beginning the story, I would have probably been stuck with the plot line after a couple of chapters. When I wrote this chapter I was beginning to study microbiology, a subject which I adore. All those viruses and experiments lead to this.


 Report Review

Review #35, by crestwood Give Up The Ghost part 2

11th July 2014:
From now on, I'm going to find it hard to imagine the Marauders' story without Cassandra being a part of it. She just fits in so well and makes so much sense. It gives a bit of a reason for everyone thinking Remus is the traitor and even more fuel to add to the fire of his tortured personality. It even helps me gain perspective of why he thinks of himself as so toxic to be around. He lost his daughter and when he found her, he thought she seemed happy to be rid of him. Absolutely amazing writing

Author's Response: Will I ever have to stop thanking you for your amazing reviews? I certainly hope not, they are incredible boost for my self-esteem!
I'm glad you like way the character of Cassandra interacts with the original story. Some may say that my Remus is darker than in the originals, and they are right, to a certain extent. In the books, we only get to catch a glimpse of Remus' life and personality. We see him as the nice guy, with a difficult life, confidence issues and a smile ready for everyone. I just thought that there could have been so much more to write about him, for the most part not fluffy or cheesy, and certainly a lost daughter is none of the two. It will get better for him here too, though. ;)


 Report Review

Review #36, by crestwood Give Up The Ghost

11th July 2014:
So it isn't Remus who attacked her and Remus seems to differentiate between himself and "Moony." I wonder who the werewolf is that attacked Cassandra when she was younger. I expect that to be addressed eventually. I do enjoy this method of an entire chapter length flashback a lot. Captivating chapter!

Author's Response: Well... originally this was only the first half of a 9600 words chapter, but the website has a maximum word limit, so I had to split it in two! Fortunately enough, the general effect wasn't ruined by the separation! Thank you for the review! And don't worry, the attack won't be just an accident in which Cassandra lost a leg...

 Report Review

Review #37, by crestwood 15 Steps

11th July 2014:
Cassandra's first time back to Diagn Alley was purely magical. (no pun intended) Her first real experience with the Wizarding World was great and I loved that she kept having to force herself to not look quite as excited as she was feeling. Sirius' feelings toward her are really great to read as well. Wonderful chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! Again, this was a difficult chapter to write, especially for Sirius' part... So yay, you liked it!! ;D

 Report Review

Review #38, by crestwood Jigsaw Falling Into Place

11th July 2014:
The flashbacks are incredible. You could comb through them for hours finding new information each time. I feel as though my reviews can't even begin to tackle all of the serious literary questions I wish I could find a way to word. The scene in which Cassandra finally meets Sirius in his human form is so powerful. These things could've really happened for all the emotion you ellicit. Everything is wonderful so far. And I love the Sirius/serious joke at the end haha

Author's Response: Hi again!

As usual, thank you so much for your review...I wrote and re-wrote the scene of Cass and Sirius meeting so many times, because I wanted to make it "powerful", as you said, but not too... fluffy. I actually wrote a version of this chapter which was all tears and hugs... But Cassandra isn't one for hugs, and it would have ended up quite in contrast with the general mood of the story... So yeah. I'm glad you liked it!
(I had also decided not to insert that pun, but well.. It happened :D)


 Report Review

Review #39, by crestwood Go to Sleep

11th July 2014:
I find it sad that Remus overheard Cassandra talking about going to America, since I know that she was lying and he could have saved her from going off to war and getting her leg bit off and generally eased a lot of her suffering. I hate that he thinks everyone is better off without him because of his condition, but that's exactly how he was in the HP series of course. This story is going far more in depth into the events of Prisoner of Azkaban than I thought it would. It's almost filling missing moments from the book, even. I am really enjoying your ideas and the way you've chosen to share them with the reader. It seems like it'll all come together soon in an amazing way!

Author's Response: Thank you for your great review, again! As I specified in the notes, this is and will always be an AU, but as you noticed, it will follow the books quite closely... I actually keep consulting my copy of the PoA every time I write a chapter, afraid that I could leave out something!

 Report Review

Review #40, by crestwood A Reminder

11th July 2014:
So Cassandra is the girl that decided to take Sirius in! It's going to be quite the shock when he eventually reveals himself to be human, especially since she saw him on the news. You've written a really natural character in Cassandra. Her interactions and thoughts all suggest that there is more beneath the surface than there appears to be. This feels like a story that I'd pick up at a bookstore, written by a professional. The pacing is so natural. I'm completely drawn in now.

Author's Response: When I read this review, I actually spent two hours running around and showing it to my relatives, my cats, the mosquito that keeps tormenting me... Well, anyone! I was a bit moved by it too. Yeah. Because, as I said before, I would really like to see my story published one day, so... You gave me the greatest encouragement a young writer could ask for. Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #41, by crestwood Street Spirit

11th July 2014:
I was really hoping you'd have a chapter like this. I love that you've switched to Sirius' point of view in order to show us what he's up to during the time period of the story. I can't wait until Cassandra and him finally meet. You've written his character very well here. I'm impressed with how you've managed to place this new story right in the middle of the one we all know and love. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Hi again! Ah, Sirius. My absolutely favorite character EVER. I loved writing this chapter, and I'm really glad you liked it too.
Thank you for you review!


 Report Review

Review #42, by crestwood In Limbo

10th July 2014:
Okay, now I have a frame of reference for when all of this is taking place. It's happening in the midst of the events in Prisoner of Azkaban (one of my favorites of the series!!) and Cassandra may or may not be related to Remus Lupin. She definitely associates his name with Sirius and I believe she was bitten by a werewolf. You're very good at letting bits of information slip without simply telling us in a list what's going on. I much prefer this method of letting the reader figure out what they believe is happening at any given time. Awesome chapter here!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I'm happy you don't find the slow pace of this story too frustrating... I'm just a great fan of realism in fantasy (If this makes sense...) and good fantasy films. So, when I started reading fan fictions I was a bit let down by some stories which had such a GREAT potential, but were ruined by an excessive. speed which made them look more like a cartoon rather than a good movie. So I thought: let's make an extra long story that looks like an extended version of the longest and most detailed fantasy films! I don't know if my ramble makes any sense, or if I actually reached my goal... But your review lets me hope that I did at least come near it! ;)

 Report Review

Review #43, by crestwood A Wolf at the Door

10th July 2014:
Hey, crestwood from the forums here with your requested review!

I apologize for taking such a long time to begin your reviews. My real life became kind of busy for a while there, unfortunately.

This chapter is very, very well written. It was so realistic and if not for the mention of The Great Hall it would have seemed like original fiction. I assume that Cassandra is going to spend the story finding out more and more about her past. The flashbacks/dreams are a great tool to use in order to show us the small bits of things she remembers from her past, if they end up being real memories. The Colonel is a really terrible man, but it seems as though we wont be seeing much more of him from here. I'm left wondering how you're planning on connecting this story of a Muggle war with the Wizarding World. I can only hope you keep up this kind of quality moving forward!

By the way, I'm a gigantic Radiohead fan, so these chapter titles are brilliant in my opinion :)

Author's Response: Hi!

AND MARYHEAD LIVED.

Sorry If it took me so much time to answer to your fantastic reviews, really. Wifi absence can be a horrible enemy to fight.

I'm so glad you liked this chapter! I was actually thinking of building an OF out of it, so I'm really happy you viewed it as a possible original fiction.

The Colonel... I am actually writing the new chapters and... well, you'll see! ;)

Wohooo, a Radiohead fan! I swear, I'm gathering all the Radiohead fans in the HPFF, which is a GREAT thing! I thought I was the only one to like Radiohead AND Harry Potter at the same time :D. I am running out of songs with which to call my chapters after, though... I'll soon have to change artist (or start inventing them on my own... Naaah).

Anyway, thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #44, by Iellwen Sommersi e Salvati

9th July 2014:
In the name, House Cup 2014, review, blah!

AH SHE MEETS HARRY!
And understand such strange circumstances, too!!

Okay, so this chapter brought forth new questions like; what the heck did Cassandra let Bill (whom I presume is the Mr Thompson I didn't recognize in the previous chapter^^) do to her?! And so regularly, too, even though her body was under such critical conditions?!
And what's going to happen now that Sirius morphed back into a human form in front of Muggles?! (lemme think... Bill is a Muggle, right??!!)
And who was that ghost-like girl Harry saw - young Cassie while she stayed at Hogwarts? (would make sense, since her dad was a Griffie)

Also, my little grey cells finally managed to come up with a logical explanation to why Remus got bits of Cassie and Sirius' conversation!
I mean, it's only logical (look at me, Spock-ing around *sigh*) - it's the pack connection, right?
Ugh. I can't believe it took me so long to get there (please tell me I'm right, it's been driving me nuts for days! ^^') since you've left clues all over the place! :D


You forgot to finish that sentence ^^ "light leaked through the keyhole and the ." but judging by the context, I'm thinking you meant the crack underneath the door? :/
Also, I love the lucky coincidence that a typo had you call the caretaker 'Mr. Flinch', because the name really fits xD

Also, I love that you had McGonagall doubt Sirius being a mass murderer a little, because I often thought her attitude towards her previous student was a bit weird and cold, considering just how much she knew the Marauders and the consequences of the Potter's death. I mean, yeah, of course, Pettigrew is weak and no one would suspect him and he disappeared and everyone though he was dead, but heck, Sirius was innocent and had she bothered to actually talk to him during his imprisonment, like it seems she has done here, would definitely have brought doubt in her heart like that!

I positively adore your use of the drowned and the saved, Minerva's regret towards the young souls she couldn't save no matter how hard she tried!

Okay, enough rambling, I have to read on!!!

*Gee

Author's Response: Hi again! Thank you for the review!

The exact nature of what happened to Cassandra because of Bill will come out in the later chapters, I am afraid, but the clues are all here. It's probably just to... horrible to think about it. Oh, and Bill is a muggle, don't worry! My plot is twisted enough as it is, I don't... think he will bother us in the future. Sirius should have taken care of that.

Answering your question... Professor Lupin knows what is going on, and Harry will know too, soon enough. :D

Ehr... You guessed right, sorry! I meant the crack underneath the door, but I wasn't sure how to say it in English, BUT I was in a "I have to write this NOW" mode, so I left a space in order to go and look it up in a dictionary later. Then, when I went to find the space... I didn't see it. Bravo, maryhead.

AND Flinch. I mean, Filch. Yeah, him. I keep spelling him wrong, but I think I'll adopt this typo as sort of signature... It really fits him! I am joking, of course ;). I'll go and fix everything as soon as I can.

I've always seen McGonagall as the stern but secretly kind aunt of the Gryffindor students. I simply can't believe she would have accepted that one of her Lions had been able to commit such a crime without even wanting to ask him why. I love writing about her, and her behavior will surely be analyzed in great detail!

Thank you again for the review, dear :)

Maryhead!


 Report Review

Review #45, by Iellwen  Last Flowers

6th July 2014:
In the name of the House Cup 2014, I review thy story!

Aaah, my eyes love that the font in this chapter is back to normal! ;)

Okay, so I love that you skipped the talk between Sirius and Cassie to have her be where she'd hear McGonagall and Dumbledore and that slime-ball talk, because you didn't forget to let the reader know about what Cassandra and Sirius talked about.
And that Cassie's Wolf now has a name - Amal, that's pretty!!

I love that Sirius sat around, giddy at the prospect of getting revenge on Snape, on the thought of having fun with Remus, making things right!

Cassandra is so resigned, so broken and insecure (who could blame her?) that she easily accepts being branded as a monster, seeing herself as a robot... Created for a purpose she did not fulfill, rejected as a failure, saved by the kindness of her father (though even that, she twists around) yet still ending up alone and tortured.
Then came Sirius Black. He is her hope (hehe, I'm paraphrasing your summary ^^) and I love that she only worries about him, about his safety when she understands Snape knows and is dead set against her...

A little thing that Dumbledore said bothered me "I swear, Minerva" because I simply can't picture him saying a thing like that since he doesn't need to reinforce the credibility or accuracy of his thoughts and remarks. Personally, I think he'd rather simply say this is the first time he saw her so frazzled and maybe tease her a little with a twinkle in his eyes behind his glasses. But that's just me and I really wouldn't dream of telling you how to write (I mean, the snake doesn't tell the lion how to roar, doesn't it^^)

Aah... Poor Remus... I can't wait for him to meet her, for their misunderstanding to clear up, for their family to finally reunite even if broken... For the Pack to run together again.
But knowing you, it'll probably take a while and for some reason, I'm expecting one of the good guys will die some time soon ^^'

I wonder where Cassie and Sirius will be off to and who that Mr Thompson is!

And that flower crown! I just know the story behind it is heart-breakingly cute!

*Gee

Author's Response: Hi!
God, I love your reviews. Really, they make me smile every time I read them! And I read them all at least twice, so we can easily say you make my day with each comment you write!

I'm glad you liked my choice to not include the dialogue between Cass and Sirius... I had already given so much space to dialogue in the past chapters, so I thought another update like that would have turned boring :).

Yeah, Cassandra is a tiny bit depressed here... But in the next chapters you won't see her moping around, I swear!

I assure you, that "I swear" in the chapter was meant to be a bit teasing. I think I sort of translated an Italian term, which maybe doesn't exist in English. Thank you for pointing it out!

And who knows... Maybe the encounter won't be so far away, after all...


 Report Review

Review #46, by Iellwen Feral

6th July 2014:
In the name of the House Cup 2014, I review thy story!

Okay, so I really dig the Wolf and Grim voices (I also have a plot with voices and second personalities ^^).
I wonder what Cassie's wolf's name is going to be! :D

I LOVE how you keep the Alpha, pack and Beta relationship.
There's a lot of raw, animal instincts in this chapter and I love it!

The new moon incident was really interesting. Earth Nymph and werewolf, that's a rare and original combination!
I wonder if Cassie can only summon brambles or if there's more? This is so exciting! :D


I wonder what Shackelbolt was doing with a computer and trying to have it repaired in a Muggle shop?! Was he spying on Cassie for some reason?
Oh.
And.
SNAPE?!?!?!?!?

Snivellus dared?! Moony isn't going to kill Paddy. He's going to kill Sevy. Slowly. Painfully. With pleasure.

I love Cassie's sass xD And kudos to her in managing to control herself from ripping Snape's throat to shreds.
And good Doggie didn't do it either ^^


Oooh, they need to talk indeed!
I'm hurrying off to the next chapter, I'm so pissed at Snape right now, I want to, nay, need to know what happens next!

You evil genius, you.


*Gee

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for your review!

Yeah... Snape here is maybe even worse than in the first books... And he won't improve, I fear!

Shackelbolt. You'll see. I can't say too much, but...Keep that computer in mind!


 Report Review

Review #47, by Iellwen Kid A

6th July 2014:
In the name of the House Cup 2014, I review thy story! (This is becoming my HC catch phrase ^^)

OH MY MERLIN!
This chapter started really cute and innocent! Cassie has a wolfs tattoo on her back (love the irony, btw ^^), she and Sirius enjoy a relaxed morning, companionship and he even laughs!

I love that spell he used (that's some really ancient German you dug up here!) and the realistic after effects!
And how you vary from the flashback to the present?! Your writing is pure genius, I tell you, pure genius!

Also, I didn't know hot salt (heck, I didn't even understand the term until Cassandra acted) was good for the joints! That is awesome!!

I ADORE Sirius' reaction at Cassie's telling of the Colonel.
The whole Alpha aspect you don't sway from, being a dog person myself, I find incredibly appealing and simply wonderful. ♥

BUT SHE FINALLY HEARS THE TRUTH - and what truth!
Kid A?! That is so sick. Even for Voldy, that is so sick.
I guess it'll be difficult to find out who her mum is... If she's even alive...
So horrifying. Beyond anything I could have ever expected. Just wow.

I love that 'neither Remus nor Moony/the Wolf' could remember and the terribly wonderful reaction as he 'heard' his daughter's voice.

Spotted a little typo: "belive" when you mean 'believe' :)

Oooh, I do hope Cassie is angry because of what Voldy dared do to her family, her kind and herself! Not angry at poor Sirius for telling the (hard, shocking) truth!

But the mysteries surrounding Cassandra Lupin are not yet entirely lifted!
Who was the wolf that attacked her?
And what was that moment when Remus smelled cinnamon and oranges, mint and lemon as well as hearing Cassie's voice?

AWESOME CHAPTER! I'm off to the next! :D

*Gee

Author's Response: Hi Gee! Thank you for the review!

Being a medicine student myself, I tend to put lots of "medical" descriptions in the story... Hot salt is a home-made remedy particularly effective whenever there is an excessive production of liquid, typical of irritated joints or backaches. I'm glad you found it interesting!

Oops! Sorry for the typo! Writing at two O'clock in a foreign language doesn't help the least ;)


 Report Review

Review #48, by Iellwen Give Up The Ghost part 2

6th July 2014:
In the name of the House Cup 2014, I review thy story!

Okay, so how much do I love that you ended this chapter with the same sentence you ended the previous AND had both Sirius and Cassie say it to each other?! VERY MUCH!

I love Sirius' automatic answer "I'm innocent" straight from his tortured soul!
Also, I love your mention of Italian cheese xD and the talk about the wizarding world and it's weaknesses, the political aspects and lack of army! AND THE YETI MENTION!!! XD

And wow, Remus, so young! That would mean his Third Year hence a bit before the Marauders learned to be Animagus but already after they've learned of his... furry little problem ;)

I absolutely adore Cassie's reaction! Your description as her brain assimilates what she's just been told and as her feelings bubble up! I couldn't help but smile with her!

Sirius' feelings!! His point of view from the War, October 31st and Pettigrew! You pinpointed his personality, his feelings so perfectly!

You had a tiny mistake there "who was her by the way?" as you mean "she" and another adorable one at "Who was him?" (sorry if 'adorable' offends you, but face it, it is xD) as you mean "he". ;)

I love the character you've created so much! Cassandra is such a wonderful, warm soul that did not let the horrors of her life stop her from thinking freely.
Honestly, she's probably the best OC I've ever encountered.
You've given her such a rich, complex and credible background, giving her perspective a completely different approach on the wizarding world and it's history and traditions!

I think what I love most about your story is that the characters suffer, suffer and suffer some more, yet keep holding on and now that they've found each other, neither having lost their kindness, they'll start healing. Bits by bits. Together.
It's a very warm, loving approach to life.
I love it :D

*Gee

Author's Response: Hi! And again, I come to answer your review with a shameful delay. Sorry, really. I have a book in front of me that I should study. And two kittens that meow me not to study, and beg me to give them permission to use the tablet. I am not joking. They play with my tablet. And are even better than me.

ANYWAY.

Thank you so much for the review! I am glad you like the way characters are developing, and I hope the angst that will come next won't make you change idea ;).

Urgh... Grammar mistakes... Grammar mistakes EVERYWHERE. Thank you for pointing them out so kindly, and believe me if I say that "adorable" does not offend me, at all. On the contrary, I quite like it :D. You are actually one of the most helpful reviewers, this story will soon undergo a major edit and I'll use all your suggestions. Again, thank you.

Oh, and I think congratulations are in order! You'll be a great Prefect!

Maryhead


 Report Review

Review #49, by Iellwen Give Up The Ghost

6th July 2014:
For the House Cup of 2014.
And because I love your story ;)

Okay, the goosebumps this chapter gave me... You have no idea. *shiver*
The description of Cassie's attack?! SO AWESOME!

Her chanting her oath, to strengthen her resolve, to remind herself of her duty as a nurse/doctor while she faces the beast (the sounds! It reminded me of a horror-story I was told when I was a kid of the no-legged psycho that escaped with two knives, I don't know if you know which one I mean, with the "boum-boum-tchak" sounds... ARGH! THE SHIVERS!) and does all it takes to protect the patients!

I adore the way you keep bringing up the smells, true to the animal nose Remus, Sirius and Cassie have! Cinnamon, orange, mint and lemon!
I KNOW WHO SMELLS OF CINNAMON AND ORANGES (and here, quoting your 3rd chapter, a touch of jasmine and honey :D ) and I love the way you bring citrus smells into the story, since I'm a citrus lover and can identify the smell as I read.
It's a joy to my nose :)

AND HOW MUCH DO I LOVE THE REMUS/MOONY DIFFERENCE?! So much I want to scream! Slightly deranged schizophrenia, the Wolf and the Man, possessed by his demon yet trying to reconcile, reunite their strength!? SO AWESOME!

You had typos here and there (I got so sucked in by this chapter I forgot to type them down before reading on and the font is so tiny it's really killing my eyes even with my glasses on, sorry ^^') so I'd recommend a beta-reader from the forums simply because they are great crutches and crutches are great ;)

The main questions remain: who attacked you, Cassie Lupin? And who the heck is your mommy?!
Also, why couldn't Remus move? Was it his consciousness while the Wolf attacked?
Ahhh, I love the mysterious shroud!

Another great chapter for a great story ♥

*Gee

Author's Response: Hey there! Thank you again for your reviews, they are always amazing!

I'm so happy you enjoyed this chapter! Well, actually the first half of a chapter, but I have to stop pointing this our and start writing shorter updates... ANYWAY, I was afraid this chapter would have been too... Graphic for this website, as a reader pointed out. I joined this website months ago and I still don't know if this level of darkness is appreciated here or not... But, hey, you liked it, that's the important thing!!!

Again, typos/format is my damnation. For the format I was able to sort it out in other chapters, but as I said, I still have to revise everything. For the typos is a bit more complicated. My computer doesn't correct English language, my phone does, but it is incredibly annoying to write on it, my thumbs are way too big for those tiny letters... Moreover in these last months I had time to write only on the bus, or in other not-too-comfortable places, surrounded by people speaking (loudly) another language , and then editing everything at two o'clock in the morning...I re-read the first chapters and found out so many mistakes... But I can correct everything! I swear! I just need a time-turner...

Anyway, thank you again for your review!


 Report Review

Review #50, by Iellwen 15 Steps

6th July 2014:
HEY MARY I'M BACK! :D
I'm review-bombing you again and this time, it's even for a good cause! :D
This is my first review for the fifth event of the HOUSE CUP OF 2014 (Go Slytherin! hehe) and since I've been meaning to catch up on Cassandra's mysterious past, I'm hitting two birds with one stones (and feeding them to my pet snake ;) )
Anyway.

I LOVE that Cassandra was worried about her appearance and that Sirius couldn't help, since, well, he's been out of the 'real' world for so long as you didn't forget to point out!

I love that she was nervous at Sirius' lack of/frozen reaction at the mention of Obliviate! And that she asked if it was a bad word - really cute and credible!

Oh, Merlin! How I adore your description of Cassie's first impressions of Diagon Alley! A man with scales and tetacles, a mermaid in an aquarium?! SO AWESOME! And confusing and shocking for poor Cassie xD

Really tiny typo spotted: "Anger filled the escaped convict heart" - it should be the convict's heart ;)
Also, "Cassandra lied on the ground for a few minutes" I have the same problems with the verb, lying on the ground and telling a lie xD
The correct form is "laid" on the ground :)

This chapter also suffers from the archives' formatting, huge gaps of space and tiny script, but even if it's tough on the eyes, your writing and plot still stays wonderfully amazing!

Sirius' POV filled me with warmth and happiness ♥
He is so filled with love, beyond his shame and anguish, so good-natured and truly wants to help her "regain her wings"!
He is definitely the best wizard Cassie could've run into, the best man to re-introduce her to her world, to bring back her joy for life.
Two broken individuals, leaning on each other for support as they take baby steps towards happiness.

Another great chapter for a great story ♥

*Gee

Author's Response: MARYHEAD LIVES.

Sorry for the tiny little bit of drama here, but phew, it really took me A LOT of time to answer... I am so ashamed of myself, really!

Anyway, thank you SO much for your wonderful review bombing! I happened to view these reviews a few days before a nasty exam, and they really gave me the energy to face that quiz!

I'm glad you liked my description of Diagon Alley! I wanted to describe it with much more detail, but then I would have had to fill at least three chapters of shops and odd wizards, so... I had to ignore most of the ideas that kept appearing in my mind!

Ugh, those typos... I'll soon have a huge edit of this story. And that verb... I've always had problems with it, even at school. I should have checked on a dictionary before writing it, but I opted to check it on the net... And I didn't understand a thing, so I just went for the version which sounded better... Obviously I was wrong! I'm glad you pointed those mistakes out, though. Otherwise I would never get better!

Thank you again!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>