Reading Reviews for Memory Dust
  
767 Reviews Found

Review #26, by CambAngst Of Broken Glass and Closed Doors

11th December 2012:
Jingle bells, jingle bells, jingle all the way...

Back again for another ho-ho-holiday review!

It's hard to even find the right words to explain how difficult and wonderful this chapter was to read. It dipped through such low places and ended on such an amazing high. This is the reason I love reading stories about characters that I know so well and identify with so strongly! For a time, they can take you places beyond the reach of everyday life. Thank you for that.

In the first scene on the chapter, I thought you did a brilliant job of capturing Hermione's swirling mess of conflicting emotions. There's just so much wrong in her life at that moment, it's understandable that it takes her a while to sort it all out. Anger and embarrassment and hurt and guilt and through it all this desire to have Ron back. Throughout the time they've known one another, I'm sure anyone would have lost count of the number of times that she and Ron stormed off in opposite directions, swearing that they would never speak to one another again, but she can't possibly know that, so she's left with only the empty feeling that she's wrecked everything. From her point of view, I guess Scotland would seem like a sensible place to begin sorting the whole mess out. That was where this journey began and she has lots of unfinished business there.

Molly was awesome in this chapter! The love and sensibilities of a mother came through so clearly as she smacks a bit of sense into Ron. I'm sure she was very hurt by Hermione's outburst, but it doesn't take her much time at all to put her priorities in line. The only thing that felt a bit odd was that she didn't go looking for Hermione after she realized what Ron had done. Maybe she did and Hermione had already found her way to the Lovegoods' house, but I think a little bit of clarification from Molly would close that small gap in her reaction.

Finally! Yes! A chapter where I can actually begin to like Ginny. Thank you, thank you, thank you! Not only does she complete Molly's riot act to Ron, but she actually owns up to her own culpability in the great scheme of things. The new information she reveals was very ominous. I'm suddenly very worried about Hermione traveling to Scotland by herself. If the kidnappers know that Ron and Hermione have learned about their past and she's there all alone, then I hope those magical protections Harry gave her were strong, indeed!

To wrap up that section, I really, really loved the way you characterized Ron and Ginny's relationship growing up. A couple of my favorite fics involve an adorable 11-year-old Ron sending letters back to his little sister, admitting how much he misses her and telling her about the exciting things he's doing at Hogwarts.

You probably thing that I was cheering out loud when Hermione lowers the boom on Jonas. Don't be silly. I'm at work. ;) But as much as I wanted to dance with glee, I couldn't help but feel terribly for her. It had to be an awful kick in the gut to realize that this entire life she had built for herself suddenly means nothing to her. She really seemed to be trying to find something, anything that would spark a reaction: sadness or anger or love or guilt. In the end, all she felt was empty. Like reading a poorly-written paperback. It was really sad for her. Jonas can go take a long walk off a short pier. It's like he's more angry than hurt, almost inconvenienced by her leaving.

The scene were she destroys her office gave me a lot of closure. I assume it did for her, as well. She puts the last nails in the coffin of her "new" life. I loved the way that, once the emotional turmoil passed, she actually felt better. You wrote the emotions of this section brilliantly!

So just to balance out this review a tiny bit, I did see one typo:

"Hermione briefly though how strange it was how sometimes one readies himself up for something, the decision is made and in that certain moment the courage, determination or wants just fail, and the person doesnít know what to do." - "briefly thought". I love this paragraph, though!

I'm so close to the last posted chapter! You have to get another chapter up before the queue closes, you just have to! I don't know whether I can make it til January. The air is getting thin. I hear dead relatively calling out to me from a distant point of light...

OK, that was a little over-dramatic, but please update soon. Beautiful chapter! Great job and Happy Holidays!

 Report Review

Review #27, by Singularity Storming of the Weasleys

9th December 2012:
I loved the Weasley reunion! Molly's tearful hug, Charlie crashing through the window, Percy's awkward handshake, all of it was great. The little nods toward Fred missing were really well done and added a twinge of sadness to the otherwise happy scene.

When Harry first apparated to Godric's Hollow, I thought he was taking Hermione to his parent's grave...which would've been a little awkward. I love the idea that Harry had Hermione's parents buried there, near his own. They've always had this brother/sister relationship (which I adore), so Harry taking care of her parent's burial arrangements just seems really right to me. It was such a sad scene, but it was really beautifully done.

 Report Review

Review #28, by Singularity The Unknown Home

9th December 2012:
Yay! Happy and confusing reunions ftw! I think you did a fantastic job with this chapter. I can only imagine how difficult this chapter was to write, as it is a terribly complicated situation. Where do you even begin when trying to recreate a lifetime of memories?

I think you wrote all four (well, five if you count Crookshanks) of the characters really well. Their reactions seemed very natural. I love how accepting Ron is right away and how ambivalent Hermione is. It's so very in character for both of them. Especially because Ron is returning to a world that he has always been a part of, where he has this huge family that is amazing and loves him. Whereas, Hermione just found out that her parents weren't magical and they're dead. I mean, the Weasleys accept her and love her as family, but she doesn't know that and it's not quite the same.

I applaud your skill and can't wait to read more. :D

 Report Review

Review #29, by Singularity Crookshanks's Flight

9th December 2012:
Ok, so it is really, really difficult to stop at this point and leave a review (dang cliffhangers!), but I wanted to comment on this chapter.

As previously mentioned, I adore the budding relationship between Ron and Hermione. The little hints of canon you throw in and the memories leaking through really make this story for me. Their interactions and conversations are just so perfect, especially the one after Hermione's shower. You've somehow managed to write them with a certain level of awkwardness, but also a familiarity. It so incongruous, but fits perfectly with their relationship at this point. Then, of course, jealous!Ron has to show up and ruin everything. Oh, Ron...

Ok, I can totally see where Ginny is coming from, especially since we know that Ron and Hermione are alive and right around the corner, but she is seriously being unreasonable. Harry is kind of a saint at this point.

Side note: the three of them searching London is a hilarious image. You have Ginny in the front with her map, muttering spells under her breath. A few steps behind is an increasingly agitated and impatient Harry. And a few steps behind him, is a fluffy ginger cat, trailing them through the streets. Hilarity!

Wait...can't you accio living creatures? Harry accio's Hagrid in the Seven Potters chapter of DH and it seems to work, at least a bit.

Anyway, I need to cut off this review so I can read the next chapter now. So excited!

 Report Review

Review #30, by Singularity As If By Magic

9th December 2012:
I apologize in advance for how disjointed this review is. I'm kind of writing it as I go through, so bare with me.

I just loved Ron's reflections at the beginning of this chapter about how he had never had close family and friends, and how it doesn't seem strange to him since he was an only child. It was pretty heartbreaking. Of course you miss them, Ron. You have the world's best friends and family!

Can I just say, that little tidbit about George seeing a therapist after bouts of wandering around naked was pure gold. I laughed out loud. Priceless :D

I love how tidbits of their old relationship are slipping back in without them really understanding or even being aware of what is happening. Hermione scolding Ron about his table manners, Ron goading Hermione about always being in the library. It's so great to watch them get to know each other and (hopefully) fall in love again.

Gah! It kills me that Harry was right there and didn't see them! Dang stubborn Harry, if you would have just given in to your weird feeling for three seconds you could have found them! I am glad that Hermione had a twinge of familiarity when she saw him. It would have broken my heart if she hadn't felt anything upon seeing him.

The scene of Ron and Hermione in the Leaky Cauldron was so fantastically written. You really captured what it would be like for two "ordinary muggles" to accidentally stumble into the Leaky Cauldron. Leave it to Hermione to be so logical about the entire situation. I loved what you wrote about Hermione feeling like denying magic is a lie. Especially the part about how it's the same type of lie as her life with Jonathan. She's denying who she truly is, even though she isn't aware of that yet. It was a really great, touching, well-written moment.

And then you threw in a foul-mouthed Jarvey. Hysterical. This story is just getting better and better.

Ah, Harry and Ginny. I really like the way you are writing their relationship. You really get a feel for the depth of their feelings for one another and for Ron and Hermione. I found it a bit surprising at first that Harry had moved on from looking for them, but the more I read this story, the more sense it makes. Harry is used to loss. His whole life had been a series of losing the people he cares for the most, so he knows how to push it aside and move on. It's the only way he could still be functioning at this point. That being said, I'm so glad that Ginny is keeping up the search. And now that Crookshanks is involved I sense a very confusing, but hopefully happy reunion in the future! *fingers crossed*

This was an absolutely fabulous chapter. Definitely my favorite so far, which is saying something since I'm kind of in love with this story :D

 Report Review

Review #31, by Roots in Water Loneliness

9th December 2012:
Well- I'm back for another chapter in another installment in the Review Swap!

Wow- you've certainly move the story along quite nicely in this chapter! To begin, I really enjoyed the first scene in the story because it showed that there were more cracks in Hermione's relationship with Jonathan than just her missing past. It's not that he's a bad person... But he seems rather uncompromising and he doesn't seem to realize that Hermione doesn't enjoy the parties. He's stiff and rule-bound... And now I truly am making him seem like a bad guy. Ah well- at least Hermione has good reasons to give when she breaks up with him. Because she will. To return to Ron. And her proper life.

Ron's section was also very well done. It's nice to know for sure that the connection was felt on both sides and that he wants to figure out what's missing from his past as well. The nurse was mean, but I do understand why she wouldn't give him the information. Ron had no legal reason to be asking for it and I'm pretty sure that I wouldn't want my private information to be given out willy nilly.

And then here I thought Ron was going to have to wait for two weeks before he would be able to track Hermione down at the hospital... You've certainly made their lives a lot easier with this accidental bumping-into. Something tells me that Hermione may end up cancelling the trip she's taken with Jonathan (or at least be a lot less enthousiastic about going on it).

I liked Ginny's section in this chapter as well, especially since it means that Ginny's found a link to Ron! They're all coming together, slowly but surely, and she also has a hint about how Ron and Hermione forgot their past! Yay!

However, I do have one small piece of critique. I suggest that you include more emotional detail during the part where Ginny discovers the Memory Dust because it seems a little odd that she would go straight to the cupboard. I think that a little description about how she found the glow very curious and she couldn't deny her curiosity would really help to explain why she approached the cupboard.

All in all, I think that you're continuing to do a great job with this story! It's very interesting and definitely fast-paced, which is great because it means that we're getting much closer to Hermione and Ron's reunion! Great work! :D

 Report Review

Review #32, by LovlyRita Living in a Lie

8th December 2012:
Hello there!

Well, this is you 96th review on this story, so my guess is I will say absolutely nothing in here that you have not already heard.

I absolutely loved this. What a unique idea. I really don't even want to write this review, I just want to keep reading what you have here, but I shall refrain :)

First of all, one thing I really liked about the characters of Ron and Hermione was that even though they were living completely separate and seemingly Muggle lives, they both felt this component that was missing, something that wasn't entirely right. This of course could be due to the fact that they are missing all their memories, but it serves just as well to say that they miss each other. The void in their life is large.

Believe it or not, I also really like that they have moved on with their lives, gotten jobs, perhaps relationships. They are making it on their own, despite their family looking for them this whole time.

You build suspense so very well, and this is such a shocking beginning to the story, what with Ron's car accident and all. I felt completely captivated throughout the entire thing. The writing was smooth and the transitions between each POV was flawless. Sometimes that transition can feel clunky but I didn't get that feeling here at all.

I also think you have good transitions between dialogue and narrative. The dialogue feels natural, and again, adds to the overall flow of the story

I thought this was brilliantly done, excellent job :)

 Report Review

Review #33, by teh tarik Sleep Don't Weep

7th December 2012:
Hellloo there Liz! Returning a review for the Holiday Review Swap thing :D Thanks for your lovely review; I'll get down to replying soon! I was initially undecided on whether I should review the first chapter or whether I should carry on reading from where I left off with this fic :) In the end I was really curious about where your story was heading to, so I went right on to this chapter.

So...wow! The tension and the drama and the conflict and everything are really building up here. You've managed to do a lot of things with this chapter; the pacing is wonderful and very controlled, and even with all the emotional highs and lows, you also managed to reveal new information! So the Malfoys are coming into the picture now; this just gets more and more intriguing. The scene in the shop was done very well; the exchange between Arthur and Harry was convincing, and at the same time, I think Arthur reacted very realistically. You've managed to portray his anger as well as his grief at Fred's death and Ron's memory loss very nicely. And I especially love the sense of umm...'partnership' (for lack of a better word) between Harry and Arthur! It was an interesting combination, and I think it worked really well and certainly did give your story variation in character interactions and dynamics (I haven't read the earlier chapters so this might be a recurring thing, apologies!).

And that bit with Ron and Hermione was so lovely :) I was sort of grinning like an idiot! Their high and low moments with each other are handled so well. Such lovely contrasts :) And that final scene was just too painful - Ron telling Hermione to leave when she's in such a vulnerable moment. It's really sudden, but not unrealistic, given Ron's very strong sense of family and that inherent Weasley protectiveness toward family.

All in all - a great chapter! I love the drama of this chapter and all the unresolved tension...and the characterisation as usual was really strong. Great work - I hope to read more soon :D

-teh

 Report Review

Review #34, by CambAngst Sleep Don't Weep

7th December 2012:
Ho, ho, ho, and Happy Holidays! This is your Holiday Review Swap Extravanganza Thingee review! Also, frankly, a good chance for me to get back into your story.

For Arthur and Harry's section in the demolished shop in Knockturn Alley, I was of two minds. First off, I really liked what you had. I don't know why more fan fic writers don't think of Arthur as a wizard who's very capable of stepping up and being part of solving a mystery. He's a high Ministry official and a very experienced member of the Order. His contribution to exploring the shop seemed very valuable. Hold on one second while I say something to Harry...

NO! HARRY, DON'T GET THAT POWDER IN YOUR NOSE!!

Sorry, where was I? Right, back to Arthur. I thought his reaction to finding the Malfoy signet ring in the shop made perfect sense. He's probably never going to forgive Draco's family for all of the horrible things that Lucius tried to do to him over the years. It would be one thing if it all just affected Arthur, but it also had an effect on his family, and I don't see Arthur ever completely getting over that.

I really wished that the scene in the shop had been longer and more involved. Harry and Arthur were going into a potentially very dangerous situation. Also, any little thing -- a scrap of paper, a footprint, a curse burn -- could have been a clue to Ron and Hermione's disappearance and memory loss. I would have expected both of them to be on high alert. Lots of tension and small details and making their way very slowly and gradually through the shop. Harry should have been using all of his super-groovy Auror crime scene analysis spells. I realize the main point of the scene was for them to find the ring, but I felt like you could have added a lot more drama and made it all much more real.

Sigh. And then comes the aftermath of the phone conversation between Hermione and Jonas that poor Ron overheard. You brought a lot of powerful emotion to this scene. I loved Ron's desperate need to keep her near and Hermione's heart-breaking confusion and internal conflict. He makes every argument -- passionately -- that she's already having with herself. The loss of her parents, one of her anchors in her old life, weighed really heavily on her, but Ron isn't letting her off that easily. Then comes...

THE KISS! Yesss! And this time it's him! And she knows it's right. She feels it and if there was any doubt, I think what happens next removes it:

"The sudden loss of Ron from beside her felt like a giant glitch in gravity, and her head was spinning" - I'm a physics geek by training, but I don't think that has anything to do with why I love this line so much. It was brilliant!

The way their scene ends is just amazing, too. He puts her to bed. It's so sweet! When she snuggles up to him and falls asleep, everything feels right in the world.

But everything is not right. Oh, no. Far from it. Pacing, pacing, pacing. Three steps forward and two steps back. Ordinarily, I think I would have had a hard time buying into the idea of Hermione snapping at Molly the way that she did. It seemed so far out of character. But you sold it so well, playing up all of her internal conflict and how disgusted she feels with herself for not having the courage to be honest with Ron. It all turns into venom and Molly is unfortunately the closest available target. I wonder whether she was telling Hermione to be careful with Ron for Ron's benefit or Hermione's benefit? We'll never find out, I suppose.

Poor Ron. His reaction was brilliantly in character for him. This is the Ron I remember from his younger days in the books. The Ron who doesn't handly adversity well at all. The Ron who's paranoid about finding himself on the outside looking in. And he lashes out with all of the hurt and insecurity he's been feeling. It's sad, but it makes sense.

So many highs and lows in this chapter! You're killing me, you know that? Absolutely killing me! But I love it and I wouldn't trade it for all the premature happy endings in the world. Very nicely done!

 Report Review

Review #35, by Roots in Water Risky Business

7th December 2012:
Hello! I decided that I couldn't resist seeing what happened when Ron and Hermione met for the first time since the incident that separates them.

And oooh- it looks like they will be soon working closely together, now that Hermione's determined to learn the truth of her past! I wonder if their memories will start coming back as they spend time together or if there's some barrier between them and their memories that they have to unlock...

I really like how you're writing their perspectives. It's really fascinating to see how they almost remember each other... It's also frustrating. Ron almost remembers Hermione; Hermione almost remembers Ron. In particular I really enjoyed Ron's thoughts about how Hermione's name sounds familiar- "as though he had heard it hundreds of times"! I'm really looking forward to the moment where they do regain their memories (though I know I'm jumping ahead of myself here).

However, I do feel sorry for the people they will have to leave behind. I can already see Hermione breaking off her engagement with Jonathan (that was his name, right?) and it's sad because he probably feels better about their relationship than she does. He proposed to her, after all. At least Ron's friend in the store doesn't have too many romantic expectations.

I do wonder, though, how Hermione is a doctor. Even though she has the knowledge (I don't doubt that) I'm curious to know if she has the correct degrees. I know that, at least in my country, the process to becoming a doctor takes many years- much longer than just three years (about ten, I believe). Where did she get her qualifications from?

All in all, I really enjoyed this chapter and I'm really curious to see how Hermione will seek to learn the truth about her path. Great work! :D

 Report Review

Review #36, by Singularity Loneliness

7th December 2012:
I read the first couple chapters of this story a long time ago, so I am so excited that you posted on my review page and led me to rediscover it! I absolutely love the concept and am looking forward to seeing where you take it!

You write Ron and Hermione very well. You've taken them out of the context that we're used to seeing them in, but they are still completely recognizable as themselves. The details about how they each are handling the fact that they have lost their memories are especially telling. You've nailed their characters...of course Ron would just not think about it too much, and of course Hermione would completely overthink it :P

Ron/Hermione is my favorite ship, so I absolutely love that they can feel the connection between each other, even if they can't remember one another. It's so sweet and romantic and I just love it. :D You've also done a really great job with writing their other relationships and how they both feel that something is a little off. I'm such a hopeless romantic, so that just makes me feel all fuzzy inside :P

You also just write really well. The section where Ron is reflecting on loneliness is especially well done.

I look forward to reading more of this story!

 Report Review

Review #37, by Roots in Water Living in a Lie

6th December 2012:
Hello! I'm here in response to your lovely review and I'm so glad that I chose this story to read. I think that you have a very interesting premise here. I find it curious that you didn't start the story at the moment of the incident that caused their memory loss- will you be exploring this later on in the story? If so, I look forward to understanding the origin of this problem.

I do think that this was a very interesting way to start the story. Immediately you've introduced us to not only one problem but two (at the very least); one, that Hermione and Ron have lost their memory and two, that they've started lives of their own and thus can't melt easily back into a relationship. The loss they both feel will probably make it easier for them to regain their emotional connection but I can't imagine that they'll abandon their new significant others easily, if from a sense of guilt if nothing else.

I really liked how you ended this chapter with the possibility of a reunion (I am correct in my guess that that was Ron being wheeled into the emergency room?) It certainly made me very intrigued and curious about the next chapter! I do imagine that if it is Ron that their lives will be colliding permanently now.

One thing I did notice, though, was that in the first paragraph of a section you tended to include a lot of details in a short space. Though the details were fantastic, I would try and spread them out- perhaps increase the amount of description even more- so that the paragraph doesn't sound crowded. However, it's a small thing in an otherwise great chapter!

I did like the opening scene, though it was disheartening to learn that Harry had given up hope. It was a great way to explain the situation without going into awkward and out-of-place detail in the scenes with Hermione and Ron. I wonder if Ginny will start another search for Hermione and Ron and if she'll find them and help them regain their memories... But I guess I'll have to read on to find that out!

All in all, I think that you did a great job with your first chapter. Everything flowed very smoothly and you have a very intriguing hook into the next chapter. Great work! :D

 Report Review

Review #38, by Arithmancy_Wiz Living in a Lie

6th December 2012:
Hello, shadow! I'm here returning the favor for the holiday review swap.

First, I have to say, what an interesting idea for a story. When I read the summary in your thread, I just had to check it out. I love when authors create or use new magical elements. I can't help but wonder how Ron and Hermione got exposed to the Memory Dust, and who might have had a hand in it.

On to the chapter itself. It was really nice to get a glimpse into the lives of the characters straight away. The idea of Ginny with that scrapbook was very touching. I can absolutely imagine her collecting clues that might lead to her missing brother and friend. I would expect someone in her shoes to feel a little desperate, like she needs to do *something* to bring them home. I also like how you hinted at the toll it's all taking on her and Harry's relationship Ė the way tragedy sometimes pulls couples apart. I can't help but wonder though why Harry has given up on his friends. Knowing his character, I'd expect him to be out there looking for them, no matter how long they'd been gone.

It was fun to see Ron and Hermione portrayed this way, living separate. lives (until the end, of course!) Even though they don't remember who they are, they still have a lot of their personalities intact. Ron is still a little goofy, perhaps contented to live below his potential, and Hermione is still the studious, hard-worker she always was, unable to pass up the chance to get some paperwork done.

If you don't mind a little CC, I'd suggest looking for opportunities to punch up your descriptions by being a little more specific at times. I'm thinking, for example, in this section, "A young girl hummed to herself her favourite song from Bryan Adams, placing various groceries on shelves in a grocery store." You could have said what exactly she was unloading (canned beets, fresh loaves of bread, milk cartons that were nearing their expiration date). Each of these (or any item you liked), conjure up something just a little different. The bread would bring to mind a specific smell, the nearly-expired milk might suggest she doesn't work in the most reputable of establishments, etc. (Also, don't forget, you aren't supposed to use the names of actual living people in your stories. For legal reasons, it's against the site rules ;))

Thanks for picking me as one of your swaps for the review exchange and sharing your story with me. It's a lot of fun getting to read all these new stories. Happy Holidays!

 Report Review

Review #39, by Beeezie Living in a Lie

6th December 2012:
Hey, here to return a review for the holiday swap! :)

I'm really intrigued! This was a great way to start the story, and I feel like you balanced establishing the premise and leaving a lot of questions open really well, which can be hard to do. I'm still left wondering how exactly they lost their memories, how Ron and Hermione have gotten to the points in their lives they are right now, how Ginny and Harry's relationship has been going despite the tension from losing them... I could go on and on.

However, within that, you did give me enough information that I could fill in some of the blanks. Ginny and Harry are clearly having some issues with their relationship, probably in a large part because she's so preoccupied by something he sees as hopeless. Ron seems to be trying to just get on with it (as much as he can, anyway), where Hermione is clearly distracted and disconnected from her life.

Speaking of Hermione, I especially liked the way you depicted her relationship with her fiancť - there was just enough affection that the relationship felt genuine, but I also definitely didn't feel like her heart was completely in it. She's certainly not madly, wildly in love - which I guess is kind of the same problem Ron is having with Chelsea.

I do have a little crit, though - hopefully you don't mind and will not end up regretting swapping with me. :P

First: Your writing style is really crisp and readable, and you definitely pull the reader (or at least, this reader) into the story. However, I do feel like you sometimes go a bit overboard with the adverbs and adjectives when it's either unnecessary or there are better ways to get the sentiment across. For example, in the beginning of the chapter, I felt like you spent more time than you really needed to talking about the owl. A little more detail than "the owl flew to the window" can be a nice touch, but writing out every action can make it drag a little, and there are a few points in the chapter where that happens.

There are also a few points where I feel like you rush things, especially when Ron gets hit by the car. It was just all stated very plainly and without any real narration, and that was especially jarring because your narration in general was really solid. Off the top of my head (and I hope you'll forgive me for how awful this is - I'm a bit tired), something along the lines of, "Ron was so caught up in his thoughts that he didn't notice the gravel beneath his feet until it was too late. He heard the screech of the car's brakes and looked up just as it hit him, and everything went black." Does that make sense?

All in all, though, great start, and I really enjoyed reading it! :)

 Report Review

Review #40, by AC_rules Living in a Lie

6th December 2012:
Hullo there! :)

So, I've seen this story floating around for a really long time and have actually been meaning to read it, because the whole thing seemed so intriguing! But for the past year I seem to have hardly read any fanfiction at all and so it just keeps slipping past my radar. But, I'm really glad that I'm here now, especially as this is a radar and one rarely finds a really good radar!

So, I really love the premise of it all. This is a very introductory chapter but as introductory chapters go it's a really interesting and well written one. For one I'm really thrilled that Ron is the one who hasn't properly moved on, as there's so much Ron bashing in fanfiction so it's nice that Hermione is well.. not portrayed badly, or anything, but that she's the one who's taken steps.

In terms of characterisation, I really liked how Hermione had obviously thought about and questioned her lack of memories a lot more than Ron had, as I can imagine something like that would have irked Hermione continually until she had some form of answers... and I really want to know more about that. I sort of want to hear more about Harry, because I find the idea of him giving up on them really really sad, but I guess... three years is a long time.

But yeah, this is a really interesting story and I'm glad to finally get a chance to read it!

Happy writing :)

-AC

 Report Review

Review #41, by Jchrissy We Are Legends

5th December 2012:
First of all. The chapter title to this. Per-freaking-fect. I can't even get over how awesome it fit the entire chapter.

The first section with Hermione's dream, the thoughts about Ron, the confusion surrounding those thoughts... is one of the most identifying features of their relationship. Friends, more than friends, dating.. it's all been surrounded by so much of their personality that even the two of them being together is somewhat of a legend. Now, I know the title was geared more toward the heroes, they are, but I think it still fits perfectly with their entire relationship. Their fights, their miscommunications, then the care they feel for one another has always been legendary and in your story you show that no matter what, where they went, where they ended up, they would always find one another and bahhh. You're just stuffing me full of Ron Hermione feels and I want to blubber.

Oh God, and you don't stop with the R/H feels. NOW we have Ron Harry bromance feels and bah. I'm not going to make it! These two were meant to be friends just as much as Ron and Hermione were meant to end up together, weren't they? I think so, and through the Hogwarts journey you demonstrate that beautifully.

And of course Hermione would be in the library... where else? AND SHE KNOWS. SHE FINALLY KNOWS. Why don't you tell Ron, Hermione??! I swear, she just wants to give me heart palpitations. But I am so happy that she finally figured it out, now we can lose Johnathan and skip off into the sunset, right?... no.. oh :(. Well, I'll wait (semi) patiently then :P. You handled everything from her feels about finding out, to needing to take the book but promising to return it PERFECTLY. You really know these characters.. and that's what has captured me so completely with this story. So many people ruin Ron and Hermione, but you've reminded me of every single reason I love them so much. Gah.

Amazing, amazing chapter darling ♥

Author's Response: Chapter titles hate me and I hate them and we hate each other, but this one, this one worked out pretty nice, I guess. Thanks for mentioning it. :)

Of course their romance is legendary, they've been driving me crazy since book three. :D I guess the intensity between them is never-ending, and I just love that. And well at least we're even now that you blubber, I have to sweep myself up after every single chapter of BTF, so there! :P :D

Like you said, Ron and Harry were meant to meet in that compartment and become best bros forever, because otherwise the universe wouldn't work properly. Oh and thank you, I really enjoyed writing the visit to Hogwarts. :)

YES, Hermione had to go to the library, there was never any other choice. Library is her safe haven, and she really needs to feel some real safety and familiarity. Oh and she did find answers there, because it's the Hogwarts library. I think I know these characters because I love them so much and they've stayed with me since I was a kid all the way until now that I'm so much older. I am thrilled beyond words to explain when you say I made you love Ron and Hermione again. √ʬô¬• Thank you so much, dear. This review just made my day!


 Report Review

Review #42, by Anon Searching, Finding, Running

5th December 2012:
Amazing story! I love it and it keeps getting more and more interesting. I read the whole thing in two days. Great writing. Please update soon, I can't wait to find out what happens next!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'm so happy you're enjoying it. I'm also thrilled you read this so fast, that's so nice of you. I'll try to update as soon as possible. :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by CambAngst Trials of Hermione Granger

4th December 2012:
Hi, there! I am so back again for more! And writing like a Valley Girl talks for some reason. Are there still Valley Girls or am I hopelessly stuck in the 80's? Enough pointless nonsense, though. On with the review.

The first section with Hermione was sad in a lot of different ways. Poor Hermione is so conflicted. On the one hand, she has this wonderful life she's discovered, the first time that she can remember when she truly feels as though she belongs. But she's unable to do the one thing that defines "belonging" to this world. And then there's Ron. Everything about being with him feels right to her, but how will be feel about her if she can't manage to reintegrate into this world that he's already decided that he truly belongs in? On the other hand, there's Jonathan and her "old" life. It's safe, it's a known commodity and she's good at it. That last part is probably very under-rated for a person like Hermione, who needs to feel like she's in control of her destiny and making the most of herself. No matter how wrong her old life now feels to her, things work there.

Moving along to Ron's section inside WWW, I'll point out one sentence that read pretty awkwardly before we move along to matters of substance: "He was placing it in the shelves, daring to levitate them with his wand occasionally when George wasnít looking." - Since the previous sentence refers to "products", I think the first part of this one should read, "He was placing them on the shelves..."

I thought Ron's section was also sad in a way, but also very positive and hopeful. Things are really stating to come together for him. He seems to know, at some level, that Hermione doesn't belong with Jonathan. He just hasn't quite figured out where she really does belong, or what he should do about it. I love that George was so conflicted over what to say or whether to try to help things along. Out of all of Ron's brothers, he strikes me as the one who's most likely to throw caution to the wind and just tell Ron what he thinks that Ron deserves to know. Oh, by the way, I think I'm going to call Jonathan 'Jonas' from now on.

The picture of Fred and George that Ron gives to his brother was a really heart-warming touch. Having Bill be there to straighten the old photo was nice, too. A great moment shared among brothers. And at the end, George does the right thing. Bless him!

Sigh. Ginny, Ginny, Ginny... Once again, she's keeping things from Hermione. Out of all of the characters in this story -- let's leave Jonas aside for a moment -- her behavior has been bothering me the most. I don't know whether it's nerves or some need to take charge, but I'm starting to feel like this lone wolf thing she's doing with her investigation of the memory dust is really hindering progress. I would think that she would remember that Hermione was always their best asset when it came to unraveling mysteries.

Grrr! The girl just gets more and more frustrating. Even with Hermione telling her about how she doesn't feel like she belongs, even with Hermione confessing all of her frustrations and anxieties, Ginny still won't bend. It's so vexing. Honestly, she's rapidly becoming my second-least-favorite character in the story, behind only Jonas.

The phone conversation with Jonas was really well done. It was so stunted and awkward. I think it really helped to clarify a thing or two for Hermione. I know it sure did for me. The way that his concern seems to be mixed with so much anger. I suppose it's understandable that he'd be angry, but why hasn't he been looking for her if he's so worried? And it seems to take a huge effort for her to tell him that she loves him. Yes!

But Ron was listening in. Booo! I knew that this wasn't going to be easy for the two of them. Once again, I have to stop and laud you on your pacing. Just when Ron was feeling so very close to her, another moment arises which drives them further apart.

Obviously this chapter didn't have huge amounts of action, but the character development was really impressive. Both Ron and Hermione spent some quality time absorbing and reflecting upon recent events, and it helped to advance our understanding of both of them.

Augh, I'm running out of chapters! Please rectify this as soon as possible. ;) Great job. Until next time!

Author's Response: Sometimes I get the feeling you understand these characters better than I do. You're so great at describing what I imagine the characters are feeling. It's so flattering and lovely for the writer to know that the reader understands the characters and what I'm trying to convey about them. The Hermione issues, yes, THAT exactly.

Thanks for pointing that out, I'll fix it after this reply :) George is not the one to tip-toe if it's not absolutely necessary, especially since people have been tip-toeing around him for a very long time. If Bill hadn't interrupted, George would definitely tell Ron the truth. But I'm bad like that and not yet, sorry! :D But at least I could put in a nice moment of brotherly love. They really need to stick together, and I guess it's a great opportunity to have Ron and George help out each other. They both feel needed by the other.

Ah, the Ginny thing, I'm so sorry you're not liking her anymore because you mentioned you did like her in the beginning. I totally understand, though. I guess Ginny just doesn't know what to do. She's never been a part of the trio and doesn't understand how things work: ALWAYS TELL HERMIONE, SHE'LL KNOW! She's channeling Molly and her worries, at least that's what I was going for. I thought of Molly and how strictly she was against the kids knowing details about the Order's work and such. I hope that as the story progresses she'll somehow redeem herself for you. :)

Yes, Jonathan hasn't exactly been searching for her. He knows she's capable, and so he's just angry with her instead of trying to work out why exactly is she gone. And Ron just had to hear her forced 'I love you', didn't he? Now there'll be stuff to discuss!

I'm glad you weren't upset by the lack of action, I needed to give more insight into what was going on inside the characters.

THANK YOU!!! Once again, I'm just bouncing and grinning over here. Thank you for being such a fantastic reader and reviewer, and for pointing little things to me and being honest. I'm so thankful, you have no idea. :)

As for the next update, I'm now planning to find some time during the weekend and finish the next chapter so I can update the story before the submitting closes. I'm not promising anything, but I'll really try! :)


 Report Review

Review #44, by Calypso  Risky Business

29th November 2012:
Hello! I'm back (finally) with your requested review!

I really love the way you're portraying Ron and Hermione's quiet but pervasive dissatisfaction with their lives. I was quite curious about how you'd go about explaining their former years, but in both these chapters you've done a really good job of it. They're both different but definitely not unrecognisably so- you've managed wonderfully well to bring through their personality traits, whilst still highlighting what they're missing.

I must admit I was close to screaming at the hospital scene when they were so close, and yet couldn't remember each other! The bit where he said her name... ! It's great to see them connecting already, if rather ironic that they were finding common ground in their memory loss: the thing that drove them apart in the first place.

Another this you do a brilliant job with is the flow- the events moved from one to the next pretty much seamlessly and I you wrote their emotions so well that I could really identify with the characters!

And oh I'm so curious to find out what has happened to their memories! So many questions- I will have to read on and find out!

It was a pleasure to review this! Anytime you feel like re-requesting, please do so!

-Bethany

PS. I loved the chapter image!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for this lovely review. I really tried to portray that even though they don't remember anything, they're still sort of the same people underneath. I loved writing Ron saying again. HBP moment inspired me, I have to admit, and I wanted to add it as a parallel to really ignite some sense of recognition within them both.

I'd love to re-request, thank you. :) I'm very happy you enjoyed it so far.


 Report Review

Review #45, by CambAngst We Are Legends

29th November 2012:
Back again!

So I absolutely love what youíve done with Hermione in the first part of this story. The tension between the pragmatic, curious, intellectual woman who wants to find a cure for her memory loss and the shy girl who refuses to tell even her best friends that she has dreams about THAT is just awesome! And then Ron comes along and inspires all the wrong feelings in her, followed by saying all the wrong things. ďĎIt was nothing inappropriate, that I can tell you!í she exclaimed...Ē Ha! That line sums it all up pretty well.

ďRonís composure was growing weaker by the second. He had spent all morning preparing himself for meeting Hermione, staring at himself stupidly in the mirror for nearly an hour to rehearse a casual expression.Ē Ha. OK, good. For a minute there, I was afraid it was just her. These two are just brilliant together!

ďHarry stumbled out of the bedroom too, bumping into Ginny with his glasses askew, slightly out of breath.Ē

ďHermione almost moaned, thinking the situation couldnít get any more awkward.Ē

Now really, Iím actually going to write a review here instead of just pulling quotes out of your chapter, but I couldnít let that one get away. Youíve created a masterpiece of awkward, humiliating tension between the two couples. In the last chapter, Ron was feeling somewhat abandoned because the rest of his family had gone back to their day-to-day lives and he still hadnít remembered who he was. It seems that Harry and Ginny are continuing to live the lives of a newly-engaged couple, as well. Although Hermione is definitely dealing with it better.

I loved the way that you described Harry as he was telling Ron and Hermione about their past lives and the war. The mechanical delivery and suppressed emotions actually made perfect sense to me. So many of the stories would have to be so unpleasant and emotional for him to remember. Telling them about people who were no longer alive must have been terribly painful. And in spite of all of the heroic things the three of them did, Harry never liked to think of himself as a hero.

I do wish you had expanded this section with more dialog and detail, to be honest. I know the chapter is pretty long already, but there are so many great moments in the trioís past that must have inspired such feelings of fear, pride, loss, anger and other emotions in each of them. Especially with this being told from the omniscient point of view, the reactions would have been amazing to read.

And thereís going to be a penseive scene? I am literally on the edge of my seat! You havenít gotten to the sections of CoB with memory magic yet, but itís one of my absolute favorite magical things to write about.

All of your descriptions of Hogwarts and the feelings that it inspires in Ron and Hermione were beautifully done. Ron, in particular, had a lot of small touches that made it all really easy to relate to, like the way that he kept looking for spiders in the forest and when he immediately knew which house they had belonged to and that they didnít get on with the Slytherins. The moment of reassurance and friendship that Ron and Harry share was heart-warming.

I loved Hermioneís trip to the library. The sense of belonging and familiarity were perfect for her. The way that she scoops up book after book and submerges herself in what she knows and does best was great. And then she finds the book full of pictures from their years at Hogwarts...

Gah! So she knows now! It probably wasnít the best way for her to find out, but at least she knows. The obvious question is what will she do with the information?

The atmosphere you created when the trio find their way to the great tower full of moving staircases read like a very solemn, reverential parade. I donít know whether that makes any sense at all, but with the ghosts trailing slowly behind and all of the portraits bowing in respect, that was what I saw in my mind. I guess it was unavoidable that Ron and Hermione would eventually learn about their celebrity in their old lives. Of all the ways you could have chosen to make them away, this one seemed particularly kind.

Oh, no! I was so in hopes that Ginny was going to come back with a sample of Memory Dust or better still drag back the old shopkeeper and make him spill on his customers. This development introduces a menacing new tone to things. Somebody doesnít want Ron and Hermione to remember.

Another absolutely wonderful chapter! I feel both happy and sad to be slowly closing in on the last one youíve written. :-/

Author's Response: Hello! Here I am for some replying time!

Haha, I love Ron and Hermione being awkward around each other, it's such lovely tension. Adding Harry and Ginny into the mix was funny, too, these situations happen all the time, I guess.

That's one of the reasons I was so afraid of writing Harry telling them in actual words what happened, because I myself just didn't know how to make it sound right. But I'm working on it, as you know :) I guess he tries hard to distance himself from it a little, say it mechanically, not get teared up because he cannot dwell in those dark places forever. Still, he needs to tell them the truth and therefore revisit those memories, because they can't.

Pensieve scene is coming, and it was supposed to come earlier, but once again my chapter planning just keeps betraying me, grr and then some things get jumbled up, but I hope it'll still be okay. Oh and there's memory magic in CoB? YAY!!! I love memory things, and I have an obsession with memory loss, I'm even working on another R/Hr that's very different but has memory issues in it again, which is kind of lame that I can't come up with anything else, but I really want to write it! Memory stuff, mwahaha, so fascinating.

Writing Hogwarts was scary as hell, because it's, well, Hogwarts! But I enjoyed it immensely in the end. I kind of like the result, it was also a way for me to visit that place again, because it will forever be a home to us! -tear-

The friendship. The friendship between these three people is, for me, by far the best thing ever about the entire series. Just, too much for me to handle every time. I love the Marauders, and the Order, and the little things, but THEM THREE JUST...so I'm really trying to focus not only on the romance between R/Hr, but also the relationships between Harry and Ron, and then Hermione. I realize there's not so much space for that in the story, but slipping in these little moments cheers me up. Thank you so much for appreciating that. I know you understand, because your trio is brilliant in CoB so far.

Hermione HAD TO go to the library. It's her home more than the Gryffindor tower. She always finds answers there, even now.

Thank you so much for this review. It was some cool and lovely happy time reading it again and replying to it. You just...ah!! THANK YOU!! :)


 Report Review

Review #46, by Monisse Searching, Finding, Running

27th November 2012:
Hello!
I found this story because someone recommended it, and after I saw what the plot was about I was reticent. I don't usually read stories that diverge greatly from the original story, but I decided to give it a shot. I have to say that it was the best decision, because as soon as I started reading I couldn't stop. I read well into the night and finished all available chapters in a few hours! I absolutely loved it. It's a divergence from the original plot, but it's plausible, well written and makes the reader want more. You also wrote insights into the characters keeping them as in character as possible. I'm eager to read more, and I hope you update this soon.

Author's Response: Hi! You have no idea how much this review cheered me up. It's such an amazing feeling to find new readers and I'm thrilled you enjoyed all the chapters. I'm a canon person, so I wanted to take a time that we didn't know much about and twist it my own way, but staying true to the story and its characters. I'm glad you think I succeeded.

Thanks so much. I hope you'll like the next chapters. :)


 Report Review

Review #47, by Tori Searching, Finding, Running

26th November 2012:
Hey! As I said last time, I never post until the end. But! Yet again, I'm left without an ending. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE keep writing and posting more chapters! You're such a GOOD writer and I'm addicted to this story! I can't read another yet because I so badly want to know how this ends. Please finish it, you're really talented!!!

Author's Response: I will keep writing, I promise. I'm just in the middle of exams so I'll probably update in December with more chapters. :) Thanks for all your kind words. I'm thrilled you're still reading and enjoying it. :)

 Report Review

Review #48, by Jchrissy Dream On

26th November 2012:
Yay finally back to review the next chapter! Sorry for my absence!!

I am often not impressed with how dreams are done. They usually seem too understandable or too concrete and aren't fuzzy enough. This though, was absolutely amazing. I wanted to strangle Ron for usually forgetting more concrete parts of them that could have connected before he was able to jot them down, but that is usually the way it works. And his part about dancing naked in front of Jonathan , loved it!

You are tangling together so many feels in this! Frustration at no being able to do anything, the memories of Fred brought up by Ron's thoughts surrounding George and the shop, Ron's simple but painful thoughts around the fact that he just kisses Hermione. That was my favorite part, because even though he has no clue how close they really were and how much they shared, he still had that built in need to just he close to her. Ahh it made me gooey.

AN GINNY FINALLY remembered! Now she can get the memory dust!! Except I've read ahead and now that doesn't happen.. But I can at least hope :P

You have no idea how much your story had enthralled me, m'dear. I am so hooked and invested in every chapter, I love being this into it.

Be back soon to review the next ♥

Author's Response: Hii! It's no problem, I'm glad you had a great time while celebrating! :) Dreams are so hard to write (which is why it baffles me that I started a new fic centered hugely around dreams, lol). I wanted to make the dreams feel real, random and strange, yet significant at the same time. Ron could come up with a lot if he weren't so unwilling to do his homework! :D

Ron and Hermione kiss wasn't even supposed to be in this chapter, it just somehow happened as I as writing, because the characters are so alive, and I'm very fond of the moment. So I'm hugely happy you and Dan both liked it. It's one of those things that the writer is so eager about and prays other will like it as well as he does. Thank you!

Yes, the moment you've been waiting for, Ginny did finally remember! It won't be as easy and circumstances won't allow a closer inspection for some time, but it will be dealt with. And...and I don't know what else to say. I cherish your reviews, and I was so glad to see you back with this review. YOU GIVE ME FEELS. I'm just sitting here, my heart swelling and being so happy you're actually enjoying this. It's a blessing. Thank you so much! :)


 Report Review

Review #49, by CambAngst Dream On

26th November 2012:
Hello, again!

Iím going to start writing this review tonight and more likely than not Iím going to have to go to bed partway through it because my eyes are aching and the words on the screen are doing funny things. But thanks to the magic of the cloud, Iíll be able to pick up where I left off after I get to work tomorrow morning. All hail the cloud!

I really liked the way you wove together the various elements of Ronís dreams. To categorize them loosely, there were the things that resemble events that we know happened during his ďoldĒ life, the things that seem to relate to his and Hermioneís abduction and lastly the things that are just plain goofy. I think we can all agree on where the part about dancing naked with a seal on a leash fits into the list, so letís focus on the more interesting things. Bellatrix Lestrangeís vault was an interesting place to take him back to. I wonder whether the feeling of being trapped and crushed by the objects multiplying under the gemino curse has any relation to his feelings of being trapped in his ďnewĒ life? Then there is the scene where heís playing Quidditch and then being mocked by a group of Slytherins. It seems to tie into the events of HBP, but I wonder whether it might also be a clue to the identity of his abductors...

The really interesting parts of his dreams are the scene where heís trying to save Hermione only to get pulled away by a feeling resembling a portkey and the feeling of being smothered by dust. Again, we see memories of dust emerging. I sense a pattern here. And was he trying to save Hermione while he was being abducted? What were the strange objects she was holding in her hands? I feel like you just handed me a treasure trove of puzzle pieces, although Iím not at all sure where they fit.

Ronís waking life seems to be hitting a bumpy stretch, as well. Everything you wrote about that made lots of sense. Sooner or later, the rest of the Weasleys are going to need to go back to their normal lives, meaning that heís going to be left with a lot of time to do nothing but brood over whatís been taken from him. And I have to imagine that George still has a lot of residual issues from Fredís death. He canít be fun to be around all the time. Throw in the fact that Ron isnít sleeping well at all and Iím sure things were very trying for him.

I really liked the way that you took his thoughts on Hermione full circle. From being powerfully frustrated and annoyed with her to admitting to himself that he misses her desperately to convincing himself that she canít possibly feel the same love for him that he feels for her and then right back to feeling madly, uncontrollably in love with her. When Hermione once told him that he had the emotional range of a teaspoon, we knew that it wasnít true. But in this one section, youíve done a lot of justice to the true emotional range of his character. He isnít just a goofy shmuck. Ron is a deep guy who happens to wear his heart on his sleeve. I love the way that you manage to avoid so many of the fan fiction cliches that plague his character.

I wonít dwell on it because itís a small thing, but Ron and Victoire are absolutely adorable together! Like Harry says -- sort of -- two kids together.

Aha! I knew the dust was important somehow. Thinking way back to Ginnyís trip to the dodgy shop in Knockturn Alley, I have to believe thatís where sheís headed. I sort of wish that she would at least give the others a hint what sheís thinking about, but for some reason she seems very intent on doing this herself. Regardless, Iím feeling very hopeful.

Two lines I just have to highlight because they were amazing:

ďYou have a wonderful family,Ē Hermione said quietly, looking down at her hands.

Ronís heartbeat quickened when he heard her speak to him calmly. ďItís your family, too, you know.Ē

The moment that Ron and Hermione share just melted me. I absolutely loved everything about it. All of the descriptions of how the close contact affects each of them were lovely. I am normally not a fan of the ďomniscient point of viewĒ, i.e. when the reader is privy to the thoughts of all of the characters at the same time. But in this scene it works so beautifully! And then they kiss again! Gah! Theyíre getting so close to figuring it out for themselves. But then Harry returns, and they have to put their appearances back on. Itís still great pacing, but part of me wants to kill Harry. ;)

[OK, going to bed now. Donít worry, the time warp will be imperceptible to you...]

Iím back! Itís a whole new day. Letís finish this review strong!

Hermioneís dream felt very telling, just like Ronís dreams earlier in the chapter. I think the moment that she and Ron share in the familiar kitchen was fairly obvious. Beautifully written and tantalizingly close to the ending weíre all hoping for. The darkness that always comes but she can never quite remember, with its dusty qualities and feelings of being torn away from Ron, seems to parallel the imagery in Ronís dreams. Something terrible happened to the two of them when they were abducted, Iím sure of it. They were together and then someone or something tore them apart. Gr... I want Harry to find them and make them suffer.

Yay for Hermione figuring out the difference between Ron and Jonathan. Obviously sheís going to have to see him again at some point. I am seriously rooting for an ugly breakup. Maybe her magic will come back at just the right moment to hex him!

Oh, the feelings this story inspires! I love just immersing myself in Ron and Hermioneís quest to find themselves. Wonderful job, as always. Until next time...

Author's Response: So I actually had to copy this review to my word and look at it so I wouldn't forget to address anything. Did you know it's two pages in Word Document. Wow, that's just incredible. Long reviews like this are a writer's dream and you made it come true, thank you!!

I admit I'm kind of undecided about whether I like to write dreams or not. Sometimes I do, sometimes I'm worried about the content, especially in this case. I didn't want everything within the dream seem overly significant, because dreams don't work that way. There are bits and pieces scattered across lots of random stuff. You really got where I was going with it, so I'm very giddy about that. I wanted to put him into a familiar place from his past while also adding something that might flicker some light on what happened to him, mixed with random silly images. The mocking group really were meant to be Slytherins, but I like the double parallel about it being also his abductors, so yay! Why not, everything's possible with dreams. :D I wrote his waking life from a personal experience. I was once away from my family for a very long time when I was a kid. When I came back, everyone was so happy and with me, but then they had to go back to their real life and responsibilities while I was still adjusting. Things with George are tough, but they will be a little better.

It was so refreshing writing Ron's thought about Hermione. For some reason it's much easier than writing Hermione's side of things. Ron has so much potential and so much depth, like you said, I love bringing it up. Victoire is lovely to write as a kid. She's the first Weasley child/grandchild so I imagine that she was a real sweetie. And Ron is exactly that kind of uncle that will be silly with his nephews and nieces. :) Ginny didn't tell the others because she was in a rush and wasn't sure whether it would even be relevant. There was also the awkwardness and perhaps even guilt of the situation she wanted to escape from.

Again, I have to admit, Ron and Hermione were never meant to have this moment in my original plan. But that's what I love about writing, because some of the random, spontaneous decisions can lead to nice scenes. I'm quite fond of that one, so I'm very happy you didn't see it as awkward or over the top. Oh and yes, the omniscient POV is my obsession, I write almost all my stories like that. I really have to try out sticking to one character's point of view for once :D I really, really like your idea of Hermione breaking through her magic barrier by hexing Jonathan :D If that scene hadn't been already done and posted, I would seriously consider it. It's so rewarding when you say this story inspires all these feelings. That's what I love to do with my writing, to write, for me, and also to invoke something within the reader. It has to be one of the best things I've ever heard in all these reviews, and I will say it again, thank you, thank you, thank you.

I just want to print this review out and hug it all the time. I really can't wait to finish exams and start writing new chapters for this story. Readers like you really inspire me.




 Report Review

Review #50, by Ginger Lust Searching, Finding, Running

25th November 2012:
I'm BACK, I'm here! What happened? DID I miss anything?!? ... I lost internet for about 2 weeks there. :-)
Yay!! Another chapter. I'm so excited.

Oh no... Ron's been kidnapped? And with Chelsea? Oh my! Poor Chelsea. I can't wait to see what you have planned for her. I mean, a muggle thrusted into the Wizard world... so rudely!
OK! So... now we have Hermione back and Ron gone. Wow... go away for 2 weeks and see what happens?
I'm so on the line about Draco. Is he trying to help? I would think so but it could be a trap. But I'm sure he knows that even after all this time, the Ministry would still be watching him.

Great chapter.. eagerly awaiting more.

Author's Response: Hi! Welcome back, I'm so glad you read another chapter. I know what it's like to lose internet for so long, must've been frustrating. Yeah, I wanted to give Chelsea more of a closure than Jonathan got because she was such a better character than him, so she'll stick around for a little while. Draco is a tricky one, so we'll see, but your guesses are all on the right track. :)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, made me really happy! -huggles-


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>