Reading Reviews for Chai
  
148 Reviews Found

Review #26, by purplestars4life The Truth

16th May 2009:
WRITE! Plz do. Ilm dying here waiting to see what happens! URG! WRITE!

Author's Response: As I have mentioned on several occasions, my life is incredibly busy right now, and I have not had the inspiration or, more importantly, time to write. I do intend on updating soon-ish, but real life does take precedent. (Surprisingly). I do appreciate that you're enjoying the story, but I just don't have the time right now.

 Report Review

Review #27, by purplestars4life The Truth

8th May 2009:
OMG! that was insane! Roger? he canceled it??? i cannot believe it! keep it up!!!

Author's Response: Insane, yes. But haven't you realized by now that CHAI is insane? I'm trying to continue but haven't had the time, so... we'll see. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #28, by Allisonrae38 The Truth

6th May 2009:
Ah love it and can't wait for more! I love how cynical you make Pravati and that you are making a story about two characters who are forgotten more than they should be.

Author's Response: Why thank you! I'm afraid you'll have to wait a bit longer for more, but I'm still happy that you like it. Cynicism and Parvati are two things that are sadly underappreciated in fanfic... so I intend to reverse that trend. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #29, by purplestars4life The Plus One

30th April 2009:
that was good but isnt massi the word for your mother's sister?

Author's Response: You're the second reviewer to have said that... hmm. I suppose it's just a dialect thing, but I think I'll stick with Khala for now. Thanks for the pointer, though :)

 Report Review

Review #30, by purplestars4life The Davies

30th April 2009:
haha! that was funny! keep it up!

Author's Response: I'll certainly try to! Glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #31, by purplestars4life The Preface

30th April 2009:
that was good. im indian so i thought that was hilarious!!! keep it up!

Author's Response: Oh, yay! I'm always concerned about people who really are of Indian descent and their take on the story, so I'm relieved that you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #32, by wudnulike2know The Stiletto

18th April 2009:
There are parts of the narrative of this story that speak to me like no other narrative ever has before, it's great. This was particularly standout:

-"Whatever. If he's distantly related, he's a cousin, and that's that. It's served for Indians for centuries, so I guess I'll have to make do with it." -

This is so true that I felt compelled to give a little nod of affirmation when I read it. Everything's perfectly balanced though and your portrayal of second generation british-asian people is brilliant!

Author's Response: Ohh, thanks so much! -blush- You honestly have no idea how relieved I am to see that that line stood out to you, because it really stands out to me! I'm so happy you're enjoying the story and hope you'll continue to! ^.^

 Report Review

Review #33, by mental_marauder18 The Return

6th April 2009:
love this story!!! Updaate soon

Author's Response: Sadly, I cannot update soon at all. Real life, surprisingly, takes precedent. I'm glad that you love the story.

 Report Review

Review #34, by mental_marauder18 The Truth

27th March 2009:
I love it!!!
Update soon!!!

Author's Response: As I've mentioned before, I do not have the time to write or update. Thanks for the review, though!

 Report Review

Review #35, by Essie The Truth

26th February 2009:
ohmygosh! I know it! Thank you for the dynamic chapter, voiced by Parvati's wonderfully sarcastic voice. The writing is vivid, hilarious and I really love the plot!

Author's Response: Know what, the truth? Even I'm not sure about the truth! Seriously though, I'm so glad you're enjoying the story and thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #36, by prosgal The Truth

25th February 2009:
Haven't managed to review yet, because I'm horrible like that but I've been reading your story since about the fifth chapter or so and I really have to finally let you know how funny it is, especially all the sarcasm of your main character.

Definitely a fun post-Hogwarts read, can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Haha, I know what you mean, because I review pretty rarely myself. So I'm even happier that you're finally reviewing, and that you've been reading for all this time! Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #37, by dianap00 The Truth

25th February 2009:
The least he could have done was mention that he was in love with Parvati before he cancelled his engagement to Padma...
But really... what was he thinking? He didn't tell anyone, other than his family, apparently. Mean. Rude. Gah.

What? Of course my sentences are not ripe with rhetorical strategies! Roger Davies is almost naked! And with me!
Honestly. This is so articulate and much better than any ol' rhetorical literary devices for its wonderfulness.

I hope he's just looking at me and not Padma's twin sister. We are exactly the same, yes, but there is a fundamental difference between us. She thinks she loves him. I know I love him.
I really really really love Parvati. Really. This line is all too endearing on far too many levels.

I love this story.
Parvati is too cool.
What will happen to Roger and Padma? I can barely wait to discover the truth. *squee*
Cheers.

Author's Response: Clearing one thing up: Roger didn't cancel because of Parvati. God, no. Half of my plot would be gone if I did that. But yes, he can be a downright mean person. And Parvati can be... articulate. In her own way.

Thank you so, so much for these reviews. I know the responses are very late, but... wow. Thank you so much and I hope you'll continue to enjoy the story. ^.^


 Report Review

Review #38, by dianap00 The Return

25th February 2009:
I am in a wonder. I mean, honestly, what just happened? Who is sabotaging this wedding now? Is it LavLav? I don't know why my mind jumps to her, really I don't. I love Pavarti. I also love Parvati. And I love Harry. But I worship Ginny. And I am so nervous as to how/what my darling red will do. Will she be all class or sass or brass or just the plain old B.A. that I have become accustomed to...? Poor Padma, the kid is in a perpetual dither. I think that she is too lost too often; it's sad, really. Parvati's plan to someday wed Davies is odd. Real odd.

Author's Response: Haha, good guess! But no. (Although, if you are curious about Lavender, check out the prequel, Chai).

I actually dislike Ginny immensely in fanfic; even in the books she bugs me at times. I did not intend to bring her into the story at all, and then I decided that I would, near the end, but... this just happened, so I have no idea what will come of it. And yes, feel sorry for Padma, the poor dear. I love her, and the rest of my characters... except maybe Parvati. But thank you so much for these reviews!


 Report Review

Review #39, by dianap00 The Watch

25th February 2009:
I am in love with sneaky Harry, he is without a doubt my favourite Harry. Pavarti makes me smile all gleefully whenever she thinks Parvatisms. Have I mentioned that I am completely won over by her brilliant personality? Because I most certainly am.
Cheers.

Author's Response: We hardly ever see Harry's sneaky side in fanfic, so I had to put it in, and Parvati is just... Parvati. I'm so happy you like her personality, especially since I don't, but want other people to... if that makes any sense... ahem. Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #40, by dianap00 The Stiletto

25th February 2009:
Why would one want to steal the groom's shoes? A great mystery of life, if there ever was one. I love that Padma is actually oblivious to Parvati's feelings. It made me like her slightly... until she started maiming people with gold heels. I love that Parvati is made of awesome. I thought she was getting good coffee for life now that she'd managed to snag Harry as her wedding plus one... on that note, will Harry be present for all of the wedding shindigs... because that would be nothing short of awesome.
Really.

Author's Response: Ah, the stealing of the shoes is an old and revered tradition that we will surely see much later, so I'll hold off on explaining that in detail until we come to that part of the story. (Also, because I had this wonderful response already typed out and then accidentally pressed cancel, losing said response, and don't want to type it out again).

I really like Padma, honestly. She's oblivious, but honestly, would you really expect your twin sister to be in love with your fiance? No! Plus, she's a bit unhinged in the first place, made worse by the fact that this is her wedding. Parvati is not getting her coffee until everything is over and done with, and Harry will be a bigger character now :)


 Report Review

Review #41, by dianap00 The Plus One

25th February 2009:
Harry Potter, Ginny Weasley's ex, is my date to my twin sister's wedding to my true love.
Her life is far too complicated to not be completely entertaining. I love the first sentence of every single chapter. They are all little moments of uninhibited greatness.

Padma is somewhat frightful in her ignorant obliviousness. But... does she know that Pavarti has particularly warm feelings for her fiance? *shivers*
Padma wanders in. She has no direction anywhere, especially not in life.
Hah. I love how this is coming from a young Skeeteresque reporter. I really mind the fact that Padma is a socialite. That isn't even a legitimate occupation. It is too hysterical to be allowed.
Parvati is such an awesome kid.

Author's Response: Isn't Parvati horribly entertaining? I've always pictured her like a car that will inevitably explode. You just can't look away.

Padma IS horribly oblivious, and no, she has know idea about Parvati's feelings. She would think that Parvati's jealous of her amazing fiancé because he's rich and fit, not because she's in love with him. Also, Padma's a socialite because partly because I couldn't decide what to make her, but she does modeling and such when the whim takes her.


 Report Review

Review #42, by dianap00 The Ultimatum

25th February 2009:
Wow, I never would have taken her for a blind optimist. She seems to have forgotten quite a few little details that may well - or invariably will, rather - be her downfall.
Not the least of which being that Harry is a horrible date, recall the Yule ball. xD. I love that chapter too much. Oh, poor Pavarti. Sigh. This is sure to be nothing short of entertaining. I wonder how much he's changed... x3.
Parvati is such an awesome character. I love her. I love that she loves coffee.

Author's Response: Parvati is not a blind optimist, per se... she just likes seeing things go her way, though deep down, I think she knows that things will go horribly wrong. Also, both she and Harry have grown up and into a strange sort of friendship, which she's counting on, not necessarily his date etiquette (which she knows is not up to par). I'm so, so happy about these reviews! :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by dianap00 The Boss

25th February 2009:
Haven't you noticed yet? My morals are sketchy at best.
I have noticed that, actually, it' rather hard to miss. Not to say I do not absolutely adore her for it. She is rather winning in all her mean Pavartisms. I have the distinct impression that this is somthing of a personal mantra for her: "Tea is death. Chai is worse."
I la-la-love Harry. And I resent how amused I was by her stating that his beep of a best friend was absent. And I love how he had coffee ready for her. And how he remembered Victoria.
*cough* yeah, I'm done.

Author's Response: You've hit the nail right on the head with both points. Parvati's morals and the tea mantra. I also really love Harry and Ron, but... well, I can't stand them in fanfic for the most part, so naturally I must rip them apart. Vicky's also one of my favorite characters here, so I'm doubly glad that you like her :)

 Report Review

Review #44, by dianap00 The Davies

25th February 2009:
Right. Pavarti is the most magnificent creation since the big bang... or summin along those lines. She is too snarky and generally amusing to be allowed. I think that Padma may actually feel slightly but not actually threatened by her twin. Interesting dynamic... such rivalry. What's Padma do anyway?

How is it that when one is earnest and uninhibited in one's observation, one is called cynical? How can it be cynical if it is the truth... facts... realistic? Honestly. I love Pavarti. She is my favourite witch.

Author's Response: o.O You're so kidding. I can think up thousands of better creations than Parvati, but seriously, thank you so much. Snarky and generally amusing is what I'm going for. You have an interesting opinion about Padma, but I'm going to have to shoot that one down for the most part. Padma is not jealous or threatened by her sister, it's just an extreme sibling rivalry. And surely you realize that Parvati is an EXTREMELY unreliable narrator? She doesn't tell facts, she tells distortions. But thank you for this flattering review!

 Report Review

Review #45, by dianap00 The Preface

25th February 2009:
Pavarti is a real star. I mean, it's true, people are horrible. Not all people all of the time, but most people most of the time, to be sure.

My business is in print, not real life. And there is a very sizable difference between the two.
I love how one can't but agree with anything she says. She is incredibly articulate and the wit is quick. I am intrigued. Love the premise.

Author's Response: Aha, thanks so much! I really liked this beginning, not in part because I agree with a lot of what Parvati says. To an extent. Glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #46, by RoseCrimson The Truth

24th February 2009:
Huh??! He cancelled it?!! Why?

Did he get scared all of sudden or what? or did he realise that he doesn't love Padma--which I'm sure Parvati would see as a perfectly splendid explanation.

Clear this up for my little head soon, please, I'm dying to know *puppy eyes*

Author's Response: You're asking all of the right questions, but I'm not giving any answers. :P I want nothing more than to clear up this issue once and for all, but I can't, sadly. Thank you for the review! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #47, by PrettyatMidnight The Truth

23rd February 2009:
He canceled it?! Gosh, I love this story!

UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! asap please!!!

10/10

Author's Response: Canceled the PARTY. Not the engagement. Just clearing that up again. And again, I CANNOT update soon, but I'm trying. Promise. Thank you for the review, though! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #48, by haventloggedin The Truth

22nd February 2009:
I canceled it.
amazing cliffie!
so you HAVE to update soon!
this story is the bomb...and yes, i did just say "the bomb" !

Author's Response: I can't update soon, as I've said several times, but I'm trying, definitely trying. Haha, my story, the bomb? XD Awesome. Thanks for the compliment! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #49, by jenrabbit The Truth

22nd February 2009:
Oh dear, will she drag him back to London still I the bathrobe? I would personally, just to spite my sister and show her how her fiance Really feels.
But I'm mean and inpulsive, I don't know if Pravati is quite so impulsive, though she may be as mean.
Anyway, excellent, and update as fast as you can, please, Please, PLEASE!!! ^.^
kisses
~*Jeni*~

Author's Response: Will she? Parvati isn't impulsive, either. She's cunning, manipulative, at times pragmatic. And remember, she's starting to empathize with Padma... but then again, you never know with either Parvati or myself. Thank you for the review! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #50, by crazybibliophile The Truth

21st February 2009:
OH. MY. GOSH.

That seems to be my reaction most of the time when reading your cliffhangers - but honestly! Wow! How could Roger do that? WHY would Roger do that?!

I will laugh if it turns out that he's been in love with Parvati this whole time... but I doubt it. Besides, I kinda like Roger/Padma. They're cute, in a weird sort of way. And it would be messy if Roger and Parvati got together at all.

And poor Harry! I can't believe Parvati just left him to deal with Ginny all by his lonesome! Now that's just cruel.

So yeah, great chapter again, absolutely spiffing and brilliant and stuff like that - update so I can find out why on earth Roger would be mad enough to cancel the engagement party! XD

Author's Response: -snickers- You're asking all the right questions, which is always good, and you're reacting in exactly the right way, which is even better. Roger has a lot of explaining to do, doesn't he? But that can wait until I write the next chapter :P Is he in love with Parvati? Maybe. I don't think so myself, but since I never originally intended for Roger to skip out, you never can be too sure with me :P Harry, however, you definitely should pity. Although he did bring this on himself, didn't he? So there.

Thank you so much for this review! It's so gratifying, knowing that I can cause such an uproar XD


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>