Reading Reviews for Wendy Can't Fail
  
51 Reviews Found

Review #26, by The Black Lioness Hong Kong Garden

20th November 2010:
Amazing chapter :) I really, really liked it. I love how Wendy's a muggle, but it's killing me - does she ever find out about them being wizards? Wendy is so interesting, and the detail in all of your characters and descriptions amazes me. AHHH, update soon :D

Author's Response: I would answer your question, but I feel like that'd take all the fun out of it. I'm very glad to hear that you like my characterizations. I'll try to update next week, but no promises.

As always, thank you for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #27, by ericajen Hong Kong Garden

20th November 2010:
I enjoyed the chapter, I don't think you should worry too much over it(: I laughed at the Three R's part. Sad that that is actually a real thing, huh? Wendy continues to become a charming little character, I think you've really come up with something unique in her. It's really a fun story to read. Good job(:

Author's Response: Oh! I'm so glad to hear that you liked it. I was rather nervous earlier today. I've never liked it when people call schooling the "three r's". Not any more than I like it when people say, "I'm gonna learn you some grammar." Most of the time, they're joking, but still.

Wendy is quite a fun person to write. She won't seem to stop bugging me to get more of this story out.

Thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #28, by inessa Hong Kong Garden

20th November 2010:
Love Wendy - she's just the best. Does she knows about Lily? maybe she's a witch too?
Update soon

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm really glad you liked Wendy. Actually, she doesn't know about Lily being a witch. They're pen pals. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #29, by Sorcha15 Lily Is A Punk Rocker

8th November 2010:
Lily is a punk rocker just sounds funny.And Sirius and Wendy met, well sorta.And now they are really gonna meet.

Author's Response: Yeah, but it's a take off of the song "Sheena is a Punk Rocker". That was what I could think off to follow the chapter title themes.

They are gonna meet. I'm excited about it. I just need to write it down.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #30, by Breezy Lily Is A Punk Rocker

8th November 2010:
I love your story so far :) There's something about characters that are so clearly destructive that pulls me in. I love it that she's a muggle! It's awesome :)

Please please please update soon!

10/10

Author's Response: I love that she's a muggle too. I've always wanted to write a story about a muggle caught up in the magical world, but I didn't know how to make it believable. Hopefully, I've got it now.

She is rather destructive. I'd compare her to a hurricane, because she sweeps everyone else into her problems.

Thank you for the review.


 Report Review

Review #31, by Bookworm045 Lily Is A Punk Rocker

7th November 2010:
I am in love with this story. Please, please, please update super-soon, and I'll love you for twelve and a half days. :D

Author's Response: Twelve and a half? Well, I guess I'll have to update soon. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #32, by The Black Lioness Lily Is A Punk Rocker

7th November 2010:
This is such a great story. Wendy seems like such an interesting character, and you make her seem so alive and real. I can't wait to read more and see your story develop.

Author's Response: I'm very glad that you've enjoyed the story so far and that you thought Wendy seemed real. That's what I've really been working toward.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #33, by Insert_Witty_Comment_Here Lily Is A Punk Rocker

7th November 2010:
Ha! Aww, what a sweet story. Love how you're actively keeping it in the 70's too, that just amkes it seem all the more real. I really enjoyed readingthis, I can't wait for the next chapter.

Favourite line --

"Why do your friends have such funny names?"

That made me LARF!!

10/10

-InsertWittyCommentHere

Author's Response: Aw, shucks. You're making me blush! I'm glad you caught that I'm working at keeping it in the correct time period. I felt that I needed to do so to make it seem more authentic.

It's true about the names though. From the outside looking in, they have some pretty wacky names.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #34, by Mrs_Black215 Lily Is A Punk Rocker

7th November 2010:
plz update soon!!! this is a gr8 story!! :)

Author's Response: I'll try to update soon. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #35, by ericajen Rock 'n' Roll High School

27th October 2010:
Not a bad chapter. I rather liked it. Wendy's character is very well done and easy to understand and relate to. She's interesting, but not out of this world quirky which is great because that can get pretty dull after awhile. I'm looking forward to when Wendy meets all the friends, not just James. I hope you update soon.

Author's Response: I'm glad you didn't think she was too quirky. I've run into characters like that in the past. They do tend toward being a little two-dimensional.

Hopefully there will be an update soon and you might get your wish. Thank you for the review.


 Report Review

Review #36, by Sorcha15 Rock 'n' Roll High School

26th October 2010:
Wendy teaching Lily about rock,I think it's gonna be funny.
And I think Sirius and Remus are gonna run into Wendy and Lily,at the concert.

Author's Response: I think it was humorous potential too. I'm not going to say anything one way or the other about your theory.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #37, by Sorcha15 London Calling

19th October 2010:
Wendy sounds so cool.I'm a girl and I like the same things that she does,Joan Jett,rock n roll music,the way we dress.
If she was a real person I bet we'd be friends.

Author's Response: Wow. I never thought that she could be like a real person. I mean, she's real to me, but I've never known anyone like her.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #38, by Sorcha15 I Wanna Be Sedated

19th October 2010:
I love rock music especially punk bands,and I always wanted someone to write a good story about a rocker chick who falls for Sirius.

And I could never find one until now! :)

Author's Response: I'm very glad that you did, find it, that is! I hope you enjoy.

Thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #39, by liza_potter London Calling

24th August 2010:
Wow. That's all I have to say- just wow.

Lily and James seemed spot on (something I could never quite do). The fact that Wendy's a Muggle adds an interesting twist. But I'm curious as to how she corresponded with Lily while Lily was away at Hogwarts. I mean, Wendy couldn't exactly sent her letter off with an owl, could she?

If you couldn't tell before, I really loved this chapter. Siriusly. I think I will go off now and stalk your profile on the forums. That's right. Be very, very afraid. ;)

-Liza

Author's Response: Wow. I'm really pleased that Lily and James were totally in character. I haven't written a Marauders story in years so it's good to hear that I haven't completely lost touch with them.

Yes. Good old Muggle Wendy. You bring up a very good point, but I'll explain it somewhere in the future of the story.

I'm kind of afraid, but also very excited that you liked the story so much!

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #40, by liza_potter I Wanna Be Sedated

24th August 2010:
Hey, it's lizzacc from the forums with your requested review.

I like the idea of Remus and Sirius working Muggle jobs at a garage. I've never read a fic with them working. And the job itself seems to suit them. It's really interesting to see how the two of them fit in with Wendy.

Wendy's awesome. She seems like someone who knows who she is and isn't afraid to show that. I'm intriguied to find out her story. I would definitely keep reading this. Lucky for me there's a second chapter!

-Liza

Author's Response: I'm really sorry I didn't respond to this sooner. I've been having really hectic days.

I'm glad that you liked their occupation. It will become important to the fic eventually, but I shan't tell you when.

I'm also really happy that you liked Wendy. She's definitely unlike anyone I've ever written before.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #41, by ericajen London Calling

23rd August 2010:
I like that Wendy is a Muggle. It makes the story all the more interesting to read, because I know it will be a struggle for them to keep it a secret from her.

Your characterizations are really impressive, I must say. They seem very natural and effortless. I was especially impressed with your James and Lily in this chapter. They just seemed so flawless and they acted exactly how I think their characters should act. They weren't overdone like they tend to be a lot of the time in fanfiction.

Once again, well done. I'll look forward to more in this story(:

Author's Response: I thought it would provide a unique perspective to make Wendy a Muggle. The dramatic irony of everything that goes on is sure to be entertaining.

Wow. I've always struggled with characterization and development, so hearing that is incredible and very much appreciated.

Thank you very much!


 Report Review

Review #42, by ericajen I Wanna Be Sedated

23rd August 2010:
I like this so far. It's interesting and written extremely well. Wendy seems like an intriguing girl and I'll be anxious to learn more about her in coming chapters, because like the old lady sitting next to her on the plane, I figure Wendy's got a pretty good story to tell.

I suppose I should also comment on the part with Sirius and Remus, which was what really got me interested. I like the idea of them having those jobs. It's a much different take on their characters than I generally see, so that's nice to read.

All in all, I think this is good. Well done(:

Author's Response: First, I would like to say that I'm very sorry you had to wait so long for these responses. I've been terribly busy but that's not a real excuse.

I'm glad you want to know more about Wendy. That was my highest goal as I wrote that part.

I'm really glad you liked Remus and Sirius working. So far, I've gotten pretty positive feedback there, so I guess I did something right.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #43, by louise_loves_hp I Wanna Be Sedated

22nd August 2010:
I like how you have written this one with the two different parts that I am unable to see how they fit together at this point, I would deffenty read the next one that this stage to see how they fit together and also becuse this girl Wendy seems to have a story and one that you have teast in frount of me and yet not told me about it.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked my partition right down the middle of this chapter. I was nervous people might not be too thrilled about it.

I'm also glad you're curious about Wendy. That was my goal.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #44, by Fluteline24 London Calling

21st August 2010:
Oh, I liked this chapter! :) The introduction of Lily and James was sweet, and I like how he seems to always to bring her flowers when he leaves. Men. Sheesh. :P

So Lily and Wendy are pen-pals? Fun! I loved having a pen-pal when I was a kid. It's a cute concept to a story that could be a little bit bland or cliche (with another Marauder falling in love with a friend of Lily). I like that Wendy is simply a pen-pal, and not a friend-from-school or something.

Good job on this chapter! :) I'm starting to like this story...

Author's Response: I know, right? Men are silly that way. Or at least James is. Can't picture Rodolphus Lestrange being that sentimental.

Yes, they were indeed pen-pals. I thought of this that a really long time ago and needed to write it and see how it turned out. :)

Thank you! That's a high compliment from someone who doesn't typically like Marauder stories.


 Report Review

Review #45, by Fluteline24 I Wanna Be Sedated

21st August 2010:
'Toto, I don't think we';re in Kansas anymore...'

Gurtz from the forums here! :D

For it being Marauder's, I liked it so far. Having Sirius and Remus work at a car company is quite interesting indeed, and I like that Wendy is a rebel who needs to escape from her everyday life, needing a change of pace.

I also like that it isn't taking place at Hogwarts, normally stories like those drive me insane. XD So thanks for the different pace of story. Good start so far.

Author's Response: I'm glad you've been enjoying it, despite the Marauders.

Sirius and Remus did need something to keep them out of trouble. And I wanted Remus to have a chance at having a job for once.

Luckily, I love Hogwarts stories, but I can't really write them convincingly, so I stay away.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #46, by kyokolinda London Calling

21st August 2010:
Great chapter! Wendy's in England! Haha update soon

Author's Response: That she is. And I'll try. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #47, by propertyoftheHBP I Wanna Be Sedated

20th August 2010:
(Just a note: I just typed the whole review up and lost it. -__- Bear with me, please. :])

Hi there! I'm here with one of your reviews for winning my challenge. :)

I really like this idea so far. The thought of Remus and Sirius running a Muggle car shop is certainly an original one, and I'm sure they'll be getting into many more escapades as the story progresses. Their dialogue flowed very nicely, they definitely came across as Marauders. I particularly liked the line where Remus compared Sirius to a "cantankerous...old man who'd misplaced his false teeth at suppertime - with hunger pains". It was certainly a different way to describe Sirius being grumpy! I liked it, haha. :P

I also really like Wendy. I loved how you introduced her as an American--well, at least culturally American--character in an uncliched way. Actually, her entire character isn't cliched which is always a plus. I like how she reflects her time period--it's also always nice to read about OCs who aren't drastically ahead of their time or any other unrealistic thing.

I loved what she said to the old lady (who is also totally awesome): "Most people stare at me. Why didn't you?" It's surprisingly genuine and true. None of the dialogue between them was forced, it all flowed very well and was extremely unrealistic. I'm also intrigued as to what her secrets were that she spilled to the old lady. It doesn't seem as though we'll be finding them out any time soon, however, so you've done a good job of keeping me pulled in and hooked.

I really like the start you've got! Your characters are interesting and the plot definitely seems original so far. Great work! :-)

Author's Response: I absolutely loathe losing an entire review like that! I completely understand!

Oh, escapades. You can bet on it. That particular comparison what supplied by JulNoWriMo and sleep loss, but I love it anyway. There was a lot that I had to edit out, but I didn't have the heart, there.

I know that Americans in Harry Potter are typically considered cliche. But I have this desire to write what I know, so I have to come up with plots that make sense having Americans in them.

I love Wendy's punk rock attitude. She's a lot of fun to write. And as a historian, anachronism with what characters do or the way they act bothers me. My eye actually twitches. Its comical.

Wendy is that way. She doesn't really beat around the bush and she doesn't really care if what she says is outrageous. Yay! My dialogue flows nicely! I'm always striving for those realistic moments.

Nope, no secrets here. Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain.

Thank you for the awesome review and again for picking my story as challenge winner! :)


 Report Review

Review #48, by SpellSpinner I Wanna Be Sedated

11th August 2010:
Oh wow! This is really good. I'm really impressed with the utter lack of critique I have to give you - to answer your questions, I loved it, it drew me in, and if you had another chapter I would be reading on even if I wasn't asked to. I enjoyed what you did with Sirius and Remus (I'm looking forward to figuring out what's going on and how they ended up doing what they do now) and the entire scene with Wendy was very well-done. I want to know her story.

Now, as far as any true critique, you have some typos and something that maybe should have been worded differently here or there, but nothing that would require beta-ing (I keep needing to suggest it). Actually, I think the biggest issue with the story is the summary you have posted. A good summary is really difficult to write, and I would want you to really consider writing a new one. If you are set on the one you have, go for it (it'll probably make sense later) but it's a little vague and confusing. Take notes on what you did with your chapter, because it's very intriguing, and lend it to your summary, and I'm sure you'll get more reads.

Oh, and I give this a ten. I don't score lightly. Well done. :)

Author's Response: First of all, I'm going to grovel. I'm so terribly sorry that I haven't responded to this fantastical review yet.

I'm ecstatic about the answers to my questions. I was so concerned about this lonely little story with few reviews, but now I'm breathing a little easier. Thanks for the peace of mind.

I'm going to go over it with a fine toothed comb soon and hopefully see any misspellings or weird-ness. I will look into a new summary. I'm typically not so great at coming up with them (maybe because my stories are so off-beat?).

Thank you for the rating! I truly appreciate it immensely.


 Report Review

Review #49, by DarkLadyofSlytherin I Wanna Be Sedated

10th August 2010:
Hey there,
Here I am with your review as promised.

First, I'm going to start off with the first part of the chapter. Sirius and Remus, to be exact. At first I was taken aback by the fact that Sirius was a mechanic and Remus his book keeper. For a good while I was wondering if this was an AU fic in which Hogwarts didn't exist. Boy was I glad when I turned out wrong!

I really like the idea of Sirius owning a garage. Its not a job people often give to Sirius, I find. It is definitely an original idea (in my opinion). We all know that Sirius worked on his flying motorcycle, so why not a garage working on muggle cars too? I never even considered it until now. Good on you for the originality!

I feel sorry for Remus sometimes. Sirius has such huge character flaws - like his temper. I often wonder how Remus and Sirius were ever really friends, they are so different from one another. But I can't imagine them not being friends either (if that makes any sense at all). I love that Remus actually has a job, given that most places would never hire a werewolf. Its so refreshing to see him in a job.

Now to the second half of the chapter, with Wendy. I feel the girl's pain. I hate flying. Absolutely hate it! Even when I flew six times a year for school, I couldn't get over being in the air. So I completely understand where she's coming from. I really like that she finally came out and had a conversation with the little old lady beside her. I was beginning to fear that it would be all description (which doesn't normally bother me).

Now to some nitpicky things: Wendy wished for the thousandth time that she could listen to some muslc Just a small typo in the word 'music' and I thought I'd point it out to you so you could correct it.

Anyway, the chapter is wonderful and I would definitely continue to read it. So feel free to request again when you have the next chapter posted.

Author's Response: Yay! Originality of ideas is always something I strive for in my career choices for the Marauders. There are so many things that have been done over and over again.

I feel sorry for Remus too. He's such a sweetheart and he handles so much coming at him from every angle. I wanted the reader to be aware that there is a darker side to Sirius, which is dominating and ungrateful. Too often he's romanticized, but I think he's one of the more flawed characters that JKR wrote.

Yes, Wendy hates flying. That isn't actually personal experience there, though. I adore flying but Wendy had a lot on her mind and she was going somewhere she didn't really know anything about.

I will fix that error. Thank you for pointing it out and thank you for the beauteous review.


 Report Review

Review #50, by VioletBlade I Wanna Be Sedated

10th August 2010:
Interesting, very interesting! And honestly, I loved it! Please continue the story, it sounds really interesting. At least what I can tell from the first chapter. I really like the different perspectives--one from Sirius and the other from Wendy. I wish I could have clicked to the next chapter, I want to see how these two are going to meet and what's going to happen. I didn't expect this, I thought for sure it would start out with a piece from Lily and then go on to Wendy, but I like that you got right into it.

You are very talented! Can't wait to read more!

VioletBlade

Author's Response: It is a very good omen that you would've clicked to continue reading! I'm happy that that was the case.

I love doing the perspectives thing. And I love doing it especially in the third person, so I can use names and other descriptors to help the reader understand the shift.

Thank you very much for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>