34 Reviews Found

Review #26, by quixotic Hair-Care Potion Maker Extraordinaire

4th July 2013:
Tag!

I just fell out of my chair, laughing. Then I had to get up and type this review. Does that explain how funny I found this story?

You've just shown that Gilderoy Lockart was and always will be a pompous narcissist. No memory charm can change that ;)

I also love how you've tied up secondary characters into the story, let alone basing your story on one in the first place.

Phenomenal job!

Author's Response: Haha, I'm so happy you enjoyed it! I really couldn't see Lockhart as anything BUT a pompous narcissist! ;) And thanks, I really enjoy secondary characters so it was fun to include them. Thanks so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #27, by Lady Asphodel Hair-Care Potion Maker Extraordinaire

28th June 2013:
Omg, if it wasn't so silent in my place I'd be rolling laughing on the floor right now. :P

This is my first GL story. While he maybe annoying, he added perks to HP and I'm glad that you're not afraid to bring out his selfish perkiness. :D Really this was great. I love how you incorporated James and Sirius into this and James reminds me of Harry hahaha. =^P

You definitely did Lockhart justice. The characterization was nailed into the wood. So kudos.

Keep up the great work and keep on working! ♥


From the Review Tag,


-Asphodel

Author's Response: Thank you! :D I'm so glad you liked it and that you found Lockhart's narration funny. And I agree that although he was an annoying character in the books, he did add a lot of comic relief because he was so ridiculous!

 Report Review

Review #28, by lovethepotters Hair-Care Potion Maker Extraordinaire

22nd June 2013:
I read this one-shot ages ago and I can't believe I forgot to review! I'll do so now :D

This is such a refreshing piece, I don't think many people write about Lockhart. I love how you've incorporated all the canonical aspects (from Lockhart's love of lilac, his unhealthy obsession with his hair, his tendency to take credit for things he hasn't done), it's all very plausible!

What a nice touch, adding that he's friends with Bertha Jorkins. From what we know of both characters, they sound ideally suited to be friends!

Poor James! "Lily of the Valley" haha! Like father like son, it seems as though both Potter boys have the grudge against Gilderoy!

I love the last paragraph: "I bet that in a couple of years, once I'm famous and wildly successful in my career of saving people from distress and making their hair look beautiful, if I tell someone I was Head Boy at Hogwarts they'll believe me. Maybe they'd even believe that I saved people from Acromantulas and met hags on holiday." What a brilliant use of foreshadowing :)

This was such a lovely insight into the obnoxiousness of Lockhart's character. Thank you for all the laughs marauderfan :D 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you :) And I appreciate you saying it's "refreshing" - it's nice to hear that.

I thought Bertha seemed like a natural friend for Lockhart as well. (And Gladys Gudgeon, the girl who likes him in this story, is also a canon character who wrote fan mail to Lockhart in CoS. I thought she'd have always been an admirer, lol.)

Thanks for your review!


 Report Review

Review #29, by Lululuna Hair-Care Potion Maker Extraordinaire

21st June 2013:
Tag! :) I'm glad to get the chance to come and check out some of your work!

This was pure brilliance. I've never read something focusing on Lockhart before, he seems to get overlooked in fan fiction. I think you really brought him to life here: every word, thought and phrase just emanated his pompous and deluded essence. The use of present tense and the fact that he says "I" or mentions himself as many times as possible is just so perfect.

I love how well you tied in canon characters with Lockhart's sphere of Hogwarts. It was great to see Hogwarts during Marauders era from a totally unique and different perspective. The run-in with James and Sirius was excellent, and you managed to bring to life these canon characters even though they only played a minor part through Lockhart's lilac coloured view of the world. I love how James kept messing up his hair: of course Gildy (as I will call him from now on) would notice the hair. Offering James a scent with "Lily" in it was a nice touch.

I like how we already see hints of the crazy man Gildy will grow up to be, like how he makes up stories to glorify himself such as the first years and Acromantula- that was quite funny. And how he is already taking credit for other people's work, even as a student. I like how his hunger for fame could almost be traced back to not getting Head boy, and how he wants to get to a point where he'll be so famous everyone will believe whatever he says, so he can for all intents and purposes have been head boy.

Bertha was such a wonderful addition. We don't know much about her besides the fact she was a bit of a follower and a gossip, and when Lockhart was disinterested in the gossip that wasn't about him it really made me laugh. She was definitely one of my favourite characters.

Overall I think you emanated the canon Lockhart perfectly, and did a good job of creating a world in a few short words. Excellent job, and I really loved reading this! :D

Author's Response: !!! First of all, thank you so much for such a long, wonderful review! I was grinning the whole time as I read it.

Lilac-coloured view of the world - haha, I like it, that's brilliant.

I'm glad you liked James and Sirius' appearance in the story. I really enjoyed writing that scene, especially since Lockhart messed things up for Harry twenty years later, it just seemed fitting! (And yes, the first thing he notices about anyone is the hair!)

I'm glad you liked the inclusion of Bertha as well! Based on the little information we had about her, she seemed like an ideal friend for Lockhart.

I am so happy you enjoyed this story! As you might imagine, it was pretty fun to write, since Lockhart is such an absurdly conceited character. I saw him as someone who hadn't really changed much since he was a teenager, although he just got more famous.

Thanks so much for your review!!!


 Report Review

Review #30, by -BookDinosaur- Hair-Care Potion Maker Extraordinaire

2nd June 2013:
Okay, this was really good. I think you captured and characterised Lockhart really well, he'so biased and oblivious to everything, not to mention vain and arrogant. It surprised me he was in Ravenclaw! :)
I loved how you got him to make a spell mistake with James, it was really funny and was a bit of foreshadowing to what he'll do to Harry later on. ;)
I liked the haircare potion bit at the end as well-I mean, how oblivious does he have to be not to know what the name 'Lily' would mean to James?
Eh, anyway, a really good one-shot that had me laughing out loud.

Author's Response: Ravenclaw seemed to be the best house for him, yeah. After all, he had to be somewhat intelligent to come up with good Memory Charms to take credit for all his adventures, and I felt like he could be good at Potions (when he wasn't getting distracted). Anyway, he didn't seem to fit the other three: he's certainly not brave, he doesn't think about anyone other than himself, and he doesn't really have the cunning/shrewd personality for a Slytherin, so it had to be Ravenclaw, haha. Thank you so much for your review!!! :D

 Report Review

Review #31, by Cassius Alcinder Hair-Care Potion Maker Extraordinaire

2nd June 2013:
Review tag!

So I've always thought Lockhart was a bit overlooked in fanfiction, but you really captured him perfectly here. His arrogance and vanity, combined with a complete lack of awareness for what is actually going on around him, were totally spot on.

Giving James the fins was such classic Lockhart, and was very good foreshadowing of how he eventually is as a professor. Just like when they go into the chamber of secrets, Lockhart manages to make things worse when he tries to help, and every time he has to actually do something, his myth unravels a little more. The part with the potion at the end was pretty great too, especially how he was completely oblivious to the significance of the name Lily and what that would mean for James.

Great job at completely nailing Lockhart.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. It was really fun to write from the POV of such an oblivious, biased narrator, lol. I'm so glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #32, by LilyEPotter Hair-Care Potion Maker Extraordinaire

30th May 2013:
Hi! Here from the review tag!

I think you captured Lockhart perfectly! From taking credit for other people's work to believing the world revolves around him. :)

And messing up another spell with Harry's dad... Priceless.

This is a very entertaining story!

Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I felt like Lockhart wasn't someone who learned from his mistakes much over the years (since according to him, nothing was his fault) so I figured he'd be quite similar as a teenager lol. I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks :D

 Report Review

Review #33, by Allison Hair-Care Potion Maker Extraordinaire

29th May 2013:
I don't know when I last laughed so hard! You did a fantastic job with Lockhart's character - you captured him just right. Really, magnificent job. His constant references back to his hair care potions and his own humbleness and kindness were spot on, not to mention completely hysterical. This was a super fun read. Great job! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much!! I'm so glad you liked it. Lockhart is ridiculous but he's a pretty fun character to write!

 Report Review

Review #34, by Bronykatnisshermionie Hair-Care Potion Maker Extraordinaire

29th May 2013:
When I saw the title, I knew this was going to be great.
It was.

Author's Response: Thank you!! :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>