Reading Reviews for The Wandering One
  
33 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Siriuslover177 Northern Ireland

12th July 2013:
I really, really liked this.
Victorie has always been very interesting to me, because she is much older than everyone else, and is part vela.
I have never seen her written like this, and I must say that I really did enjoy it.
It was a nice change from all the cliches, and it made me happy.
Very nice job(:

~Sarah

Author's Response: Hi! :) I'm so glad you liked the story! :D

I agree, Victoire felt right as the main character here, especially since I haven't seen much of her in fan fiction. I'm very glad you liked her character, and found it an original and non-cliche take on her character.

Thank you so much for this lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #27, by ShadowRose Northern Ireland

12th July 2013:
Hi there!

From the few stories I've read by you, it seems you love to start off your one-shots with a punch, and you definitely do that here as well. From the very first line, my interest was piqued, and I had to figure out just how Victoire ended up upside down by a giant.

I really love how you've characterised Victoire here. She's very relatable, and I love how in detail you go with her backstory, talking about the wanderlust she's had since she was a child.

Condescending Alex is a brilliant character as well. I've definitely met people like that in my life, and they're just a bear to deal with, but awfully funny to read about, in my opinion. As long as I don't have to deal with them in real life, haha. :)

I love the detail you go into in this one-shot. You definitely made use of the word count - I'm pretty sure this was almost 5000! You definitely didn't waste it either - I love some of the little details you added, like Bill's overprotectiveness both when she was a baby to now, the story of Victoire and Teddy's break-up, and the story of the giant. They all really added to the story, and I found myself enjoying every bit of it.

Your writing style is one of my favourites to read on HPFF - it's so intricate and detailed. "Since childhood, the girl was overwhelemed with wanderlust. Circled and dotted maps lined the contours of her mind, wide blue Weasley eyes eager to soak in every blade of grass of the landscape, each crag and secret of a strange land." This line is one of my favourites - it's so eloquent and well-written, and a much more appealing way to describe her love of travel.

Overall, this was a really amazing one-shot! Great job! :)

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Thank you so much, I'm glad the first line drew you in and you liked the story. I really enjoyed writing it and coming up with all the little traveling details and quirks.

It's wonderful to hear you liked Victoire and found her relatable! I loved coming up with her personality, especially her need and passion for traveling. A lot of reviewers have also related to knowing someone like Condescending Alexander, and I'm glad you could relate too! Well, not glad that you had to deal with people like that... but glad you thought it was realistic, haha!

You're right, I actually had to cut about 600 words to use it as a submission! I'm glad you didn't think it was too rambling, but complemented and completed the story. I'm glad you liked Bill, and the story of the breakup, which I thought I had better include since the story was about Vic.

Aw, that is such a lovely comment about my writing style, thank you! :) I'm so glad you enjoy it. And thank you for the fantastic review, it was just amazing to receive! :D


 Report Review

Review #28, by Roots in Water Northern Ireland

12th July 2013:
Hello there!

Wow. Just wow. I thoroughly enjoyed this one-shot- you did a fantastic job with it. I haven't read too many stories with Victoire as the main character, but I really liked how you characterized her here. She was a very relatable character, far from the spoiled and vain girl she's sometimes portrayed as.

Her journeys, her way of describing her excitement and the sights around her... It makes me wish that I had a bit more wanderlust myself. But alas- I don't, although I don't mind traveling.

I definitely think that you managed to capture the spirit of traveling. Her meeting with Finn was very interesting and served as a great central event for this story. His story about his encounter with the English giant was very amusing and highly enjoyable.

Even her companion, Condescending Alexander, was a very real addition to this story. Of course you meet people like that when you travel. People who think that they know everything, that they've travelled everywhere there is to travel and can now share their wisdom with the masses. I'm just glad that Victoire was able to escape his clutches in the end.

I also really liked Bill's concern for his daughter's safety. It added another element of realism to the story, because it's an unfortunate fact that women traveling alone are not in the safest of positions. As well, I loved the small mention of the relationships between Bill and Fleur and Molly and Arthur. I'm a bit of a romantic (:P), so I was very happy to get that dash of marriages that worked out and couples that remained in love. However, I also think that you did a great job with Victoire's relationship with Teddy. You explained their breakup very well, including the hint that they weren't, perhaps, done forever.

I also really liked your conclusion. It was fantastic to see hints of what Victoire would go on to experience and the concluding sentence was a fantastic one. It summed up both the piece and Victoire's journey/personal growth beautifully.

I did notice a few typos as I was reading and I thought I'd point them out quickly. To begin, with the phrase "was overwhelemed" it should be "overwhelmed" and with the phrase "travel the Muggle" I think you missed the word "way" at its end. As well, with "tricky to disgintuigh" it should be "distinguish". But other than that, your story read very smoothly! :)

All in all, I really enjoyed this one-shot. You did a great job with this and the theme of travel. Great work! :D

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm so glad you liked the story, and enjoyed the way I portrayed Victoire. I really liked coming up with her personality and hopefully making her a round character. It's wonderful to hear you found her relatable and breaking those typical stereotypes. :)

Ah, I'm so pleased you enjoyed and connected with the theme of traveling and Vic's wanderlust! I loved relating the giant myth into the story, and the character of Finn, and I'm glad it enhanced the theme of traveling. I love traveling myself, so knowing that passion came across in the story is just lovely to hear! :)

Condescending Alexander was based on people I've met while traveling, so it's so funny to hear people say they've met similar personalities! I'm glad you were rooting for Victoire to get away, and that her annoyance was realistic.

Yes, I imagined Bill's worries would be very common if a little annoying for Victoire. I imagine it's hard for those left to stress and be concerned at home. And I'm glad you liked the mentions of the other Weasleys, I hope it was tied in enough to the canon of Next Gen! :) It's also great to hear your reaction to the Teddy relationship, I hoped it would seem realistic and sympathetic. And you're right, they're only young and still might cross paths again!

Ah, I will be sure to fix those typos! :) And I'm glad you liked the conclusion, and the hints of Victoire's future adventures. I'm considering expanding on this story just because it was so much fun to write! :D

Thank you for this wonderful review, I absolutely loved reading it! :D


 Report Review

Review #29, by purplepotter77 Northern Ireland

12th July 2013:
Purplepotter775 from Ravenclaw on the forums here for the House Cup!

I am usually an avid Teddy/Victoire shipper, but in this story, I think I rather disliked Teddy and found myself really rooting for Victoire and Sam instead! I really liked the way you characterized Victoire in this piece! I loved her sense of adventure and her bravery, and I think it tied in really well with the theme of travel. It was interesting the way you gave her red hair instead of the typical blonde, and she seemed really unique to a lot of Victoires I've seen in fanfic.

Another thing that I loved was how she gave people nicknames, like Condescending Alexander and Silent Sam. There was someone similar to Condescending Alexander in one of my classes last year, so I can definitely sympathize with Victoire. Silent Sam was another great character. At first, I thought he would be the more quiet, bookish type of person (especially with the name 'Silent Sam'), but I love how he has a sense of humor. Canadians are so rarely seen in fanfic (in fact, this may even be my first time seeing one in the HP fandom), so that definitely added another interesting element to Sam's character.

All in all, this was a very enjoyable read, and I loved your version of Victoire and all the other characters in this, even including the giant! :)

Author's Response: Hi! :)

I'm glad you liked the story, and thought it was a different take on Teddy/Vic. It's great to hear you liked Sam, I thought he was pretty great too. :) It's wonderful that you liked Victoire and her wandering spirit, and that she came across as unique, that's just how I wanted to show her.

Haha, I'm glad you liked the nicknames, it's definitely a secret thing Victoire likes to do. And Alex was just awful, wasn't he! To be honest he's based on a couple people I've met traveling, so I'm glad he came across as relatable. Yes, I imagined Sam as having a more quiet presence and sense of humour, and I couldn't resist making him a Canadian! :)

Thank you for this lovely review, it was a pleasure to receive and read! :D


 Report Review

Review #30, by marauderfan Northern Ireland

12th July 2013:
This was really fun to read, having visited the Giant's Causeway myself last year! I'm pretty sure I know exactly where she was standing when she took the pictures of the ant-sized tourists - your descriptions were so vivid and painted a picture exactly as I remember it. I hope I'm not starting to sound like Condescending Alexander, talking about my own travels ;) He is a pretty hilarious character though!

I think Bill's overprotectiveness was quite realistic too. It was quite funny but I could see where he was coming from, I don't think the constant worrying that went on during the war would just go away easily at the end of the war.

The background you gave Victoire and Teddy was beautiful. I completely understand Victoire wanting to break away and see the world... but the hopeless romantic in me wants Vic and Teddy to reconcile eventually and get back together ;)

Finn MacCoole sounded a bit more Scottish than Irish to me in his speaking, but I love that you included him, he was a great addition to the story!

I always love your writing and this was no exception! Really nice job on this :)

Author's Response: Hello! :) Haha, that's awesome! I'm glad I did the Causeway justice then, I was there about a month ago and was poring over my pictures and memories to get this right! I'm glad you thought Alex was funny, he's also inspired by someone I met traveling haha.

I'm glad you thought Bill's actions were believable and justifiable, I imagine it would be quite hard for him as well especially after living through the war. I'm also pleased you found it funny, although poor Victoire would surely snap at some point. :P

Aw, it's good to hear you liked the Vic/Teddy relationship! I knew I couldn't write a story about her and ignore Teddy, and their relationship sprang into my head fully formed from there. Well if I end up continuing this story, Teddy will mostly likely be making an appearance! :P

I'm glad you liked Finn as well. Uh oh, I better fix up his accent then, Finn would not be impressed to be associated with being Scottish I don't think! :P

Thanks for a great review, I really appreciate it! :)


 Report Review

Review #31, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Northern Ireland

12th July 2013:
What a great first chapter! (I know this is a one-shot, by the way!) What I'm trying to say is... THIS needs to be a full-blown story!! Seriously!!

I think this is a great plot you've got lined up! And Victoire's characterization is SO unique, even down to her RED (not blonde) hair; I really like it! I won't lie, a part of me secretly hopes she'll go running back into Teddy's arms, but I love the story regardless!

I thought it was very realistic and understandable that Bill would be so protective of Victoire. I imagine that everyone who was around at the time of the Battle of Hogwarts would always have to deal with a fear of things returning to the way they were, especially if they lost someone, like Bill did.

All in all, I think this is a wonderful one-shot and a great story in the making! *Winks*

Author's Response: Hello! :) Haha, funny you should mention that because I'm seriously considering turning this into a short story collection or short story detailing more of Victoire's adventures. They're so fun and light to write, so you may see more of Vic yet! :)

I'm glad you liked Victoire and her personality, I really enjoyed coming up with her and trying to make her unique. And hey, if this story continues the saga of Teddy is definitely not completely done with. :P

I'm also pleased you thought Bill being over-protective was believable, I liked writing Vic's frustration even thouhh she knows where he's coming from.

Thank you for this wonderful review, my dear! :)


 Report Review

Review #32, by HeyMrsPotter Northern Ireland

12th July 2013:
I absolutely love your writing style and have left you reviewed before in which I pretty much just gushed and used many variations of the word 'amazing' so expect pretty much the same here haha.

I adore all of the imagery you've used in this, it sets the scene perfectly.

I like Victoire's character too, I think the beauty of next-gen is that it gives writers the freedom to create a character and I love how Victoire is in this. Her sense of adventure is good, her bravery too. Though giants aren't uncommon in the wizarding world I can't imagine many people wanting to sit and hear their stories. Speaking of which, I loved Finn and I loved his story, so clever and funny and sweet!

I think her break-up with Teddy was a nice touch to the story, not many relationships survive beyond school in the real world and it's always something I think is a slight flaw in the HP series that most of them do. Alex was incredibly annoying and Sam balanced him out really well.

This was excellently written and a pleasure to read :)

Author's Response: Hi! :) Wow, thank you so much for this lovely review, it was such a pleasure to receive! :D

I'm glad you liked the imagery, and the story itself. I loved writing it and coming up with the character of Victoire so it's wonderful that you liked her. Yes, she is very brave! I loved the story of Finn from the Giant's Causeway and it seemed like an interesting old tale for Vic to discover, especially from the giant who lived through it himself.

I definitely agree about relationships in the HP world, and I'd imagine relationships being more tumultuous and difficult especially when Vic and Teddy want different things. I'm glad you found Alex annoying and Sam a nice change, I liked coming up with them as OCs as well.

Thank you for a lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #33, by Canadian_Hogwarts Northern Ireland

9th July 2013:
What a lovely story :) I really enjoyed it! Although I was really looking for a nice fluffy Teddy/Victoire fic, this made me really happy. I think that too often their relationship is portrayed as too basic, if that makes sense: they don't have the fundamental differences in character that would be true in real life. I'm just going to imagine that they get together after Victoire comes home, even if that's not what you're picturing ;) It'll make me happy that way!
I really liked your style; your writing is very engaging and entertaining. I kept catching things that I thought were mistakes, but then you'd address them and prove that you were one step ahead of me! Great story! I thought your portrayal of both Teddy and Victoire were interesting and different. I especially like the idea that Victoire would be filled with wanderlust, especially since both her parents seemed to have similar personalities: Bill working in Egypt and Fleur moving to Britain. Last but not least, CANADA REPRESENT!! :) Was Silent Sam from Manitoba? Go Churchill!
Once again, wonderful story. I really enjoyed it :) Bon job!

Author's Response: Hello! :) Thank you so much for this really lovely review, and for being the first reviewer! I really appreciate you taking the time to both read and leave your thoughts. :D

I'm glad you liked the story, and even though it wasn't really focused on the Teddy relationship that you enjoyed the explanation of their breakup. I wasn't originally going to include it, but since all we really know about Vic is that she dated Teddy I knew he had to have a role, and it just sort of continued from there. :) Haha you are very welcome to imagine that! :P I was thinking about expanding this story and writing more about Victoire's travels, and Teddy may or may not then make an appearance...

I'm so glad you like my writing style, that's so sweet! :) I got the idea for this story before deciding which character to write it about, but Victoire just seemed to fit perfectly. You're right, both her parents are quite adventurous so it makes sense she would be as well. And yes, being a Canadian myself of course one of our countrymen had to make an appearance! In my mind he was probably from Ontario, but Manitoba is even better. :P

Thank you for this lovely review, I really enjoyed it! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>