Reading Reviews for The Wandering One
  
39 Reviews Found

Review #26, by MissesWeasley123 Northern Ireland

21st August 2013:
Review tag! Sorry this took a while, I had to eat breakfast...

Yes, I'm so happy to snag you! Sian is always going on how she loves everything you write! Anyways, on with the review :D

Victoire Weasley. Man, I seem to be reading her a lot these days. But this one was just so, different! No Teddy cliches at least ;P

The intro. I mean, how interesting could it get? Immediately you started off with telling us that she gets suspended upside down by the giant. It was very captivating!

Dominque. Victoire hated her, and you made me hate her too. Eurgh: That just about sums up my feelings for her.

I like the little things in this. The giant, the Candian dude (hehe I'm a Canadian too so, represent!), and Condescending Alexander. They all were such strong characters, and I think you pulled them off well as an author. :)

All in all Lululuna, you did a great job, and I know this was for the HC, and you incorporated the theme of travel amazingly!

Nadia :)

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Aw, Sian, that is so nice! :) I'm so glad you got a chance to drop by as well, so that I got to receive your lovely review!

Haha, I actually had the idea for the story before choosing the Weasley I was going to write about, and Victoire just felt like a perfect fit. In many of the fan fictions I've read she's portrayed as being shallow or mean, and I wanted to give her a different spin. I'm glad you thought the Teddy cliches were avoided as well! :)

Ah, I'm glad you liked the intro! The story and plot of meeting Finn was so much fun to write, so I'm very pleased you enjoyed it.

Haha, I imagined Dominique as being the typical annoying little sister who Victoire clashes with: she was a great deal of fun to come up with and write, however! She would be pretty annoying to have as a sister!

Hooray for another Canadian! I knew I couldn't write a travelling story without at least one American and Canadian making an appearance, we are everywhere after all! I'm glad you liked the minor characters, they were all based on people I know and I had a very specific idea of them in my head, so very glad that came across.

Thank you so much for leaving this amazing review! :) It was so lovely to receive, you are awesome! :D


 Report Review

Review #27, by patronus_charm Northern Ireland

14th July 2013:
Hi, Iím here with your second of five reviews!

I really loved the backstory you provided for Victoire Ė it really made me laugh. That is quite an art, giving a reader lots of information and them not getting bored. I really loved all of it, though I think the thoughts from Bill about why his daughter loved to travel were the best. The scenes where he was looking over his daughterís cot were so adorable and then to see her gallivanting off to Ireland helped me understand why he was like that.

One thing which was really great and added to the travel theme were all the Irish things in this story. The Giantís Causeway, the whiskey and the accent! Everything merged together and made something really lovely. Though it did make me want to go and see the Giantís Causeway because it sounded really cool and now I have an Irish accent running through my head!

Iím sort of glad that Teddy and Victoire were broken up for two reasons. The first being condescending Alexander could then attempt to flirt with her which made me laugh and then itís sort of done that pairing. Oh yes, I forgot to say that the idea of Teddy moping around after her made me chuckle in an ever so slightly evil way. I never thought him to be a crier so it was great mental images!

The letter from Dom was really sweet and loved getting to know more about her family. I feel as if I knew all of their unique personalities really well for a one-shot. Thatís such a rare thing so I really must congratulate you on that!

Yay for the random Scot! They always add more fun to any party and this Finn guy certainly did. I have a Scottish accent in my head now, which I guess is better than an Irish as Iím part Scottish so it wonít be too weird going around and saying wee bonnie lass :P

I know youíre Canadian, so Iíll try and remember to be nicer and not get them confused with Americans in the future. Next time, if in doubt Iíll ask if theyíre Canadian first not American. I really liked how you played with the country stereotypes in this story it added a lot of fun and humour and, again, fitted with the theme of travel!

That was another really great one-shot! ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hello again! :)

Ah, I'm so glad you liked the story and Victoire's character and backstory! I had a lot of fun coming up with the basis for her experiences; Bill was definitely one of the best parts to write. I'm glad you thought it was cute and made sense for him to think so! :)

Haha, I'm so pleased you liked the Irish details as well! The story was pretty much just a re-telling of my trip to the giant's causeway, minus the giant involvement of course! Haha, you should definitely go and visit it!

Ok, I'm very pleased you liked the fact they were broken up as I wanted to do a bit of a spin on the typical Teddy/Vic. Not all relationships survive high school after all, though it's not necessarily over for them yet. Haha, I scoffed a little at Teddy being all mopey as well! :P

I'm glad you felt like you got to know some of the other Delacour-Weasleys and enjoyed Dom. It was so much fun imagining their personalities and giving them little quirks.

Haha, I'm glad you liked Finn, and the accent! And yes, there are some of my countryfolk out there who get quite offended, I do think it's an honest mistake to think we're American however! :P I'm glad you liked the stereotypes about the different cultures and that it helped enhance the theme, as I said it was mostly based on my own experiences so very fun to write. :)

Thank you for another wonderful review my dear! :D


 Report Review

Review #28, by HollyStone73 Northern Ireland

13th July 2013:
This was super cute! I am not normally a reader of next generation stories but I really like this one. I love the details throughout the story, but I loved that Bill was playing nervous daddy and kept sending the owls along to check on her. The giant was cute and I actually felt sorry for him. Silent Sam was fun, and pretty accepting for being mistaken for an American! LOL! (I've met several Canadians who would have decked me if I called them Americans! Hee Hee!) Super great job and super fun to read!!

Author's Response: Hi! :)

I'm glad you liked the story, especially since this was my first Next Gen story and I had no idea how it would be received! I'm glad you liked all the little details, like Bill, which was definitely inspired by my own dad but minus the use of owls! :)

It's also great to hear you also enjoyed the giant and Sam! I'm Canadian myself and am usually pretty understanding when people mistake me for an American, but I know not all of my countryfolk are so forgiving! :P

I'm very pleased you found this enjoyable, and thank you so much for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #29, by Beeezie Northern Ireland

13th July 2013:
Well, you certainly know how to draw a reader in! With your opening sentence, I can't imagine many people click the back button!

I loved your characterisation of Victoire here - it was one of the strongest and most imaginative takes on her that I've seen in a fic. I enjoyed the way you mentioned her role in the larger Weasley family while still maintaining her character as an individual who's very self-directed. I also really liked your mention of her accompanying Fleur to France. I often see that mentioned in fics about Victoire, and it's unfortunately frequently followed up with a comment about her being fluent in French, sometimes to the point that she has a French accent in English. Your mention of her imitating Fleur's accent until she was "close to passable" made me laugh.

Essentially? She came off as a lovely, vibrant human being.

I also liked the way you characterised the people around her. With her parents, it introduced an interesting dynamic that I hadn't thought about but makes sense now that you've said it. Of course a wanderlust would make Bill and Fleur a little uncomfortable, given their history.

And your portrayal of Teddy was also excellent, especially for that first teenage relationship. Victoire's feelings about are still clearly quite complicated, as they should be, and his possessiveness is normal enough to feel realistic but unfair enough to make me cringe.

The people she met on her travels, who were all true OCs, were also amazingly done. We've all (unfortunately) met Condescending Alexanders before, though unfortunately I've never met a Finn MacCoole. Silent Sam was also a welcome diversion.

You described her travel in enough detail and gave it enough of a local flavor that it felt genuine, but your focus was really on how it was affecting and changing her as a person, which is something that I, as someone who loves travel myself, really appreciated.

This story was absolutely lovely. You did an excellent job depicting the characters and their relationships with each other, and it's a shame that most people seem to be too pressed for time to read the longer ones. I really enjoyed it. Thank you.

House Cup 2013 - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hi! Wow, how to start? This review was so incredible to recieve, so thank you for being so thoughtful and kind! :)

I'm very glad you liked the story, and that the first line did it's job by drawing you in. It's great to hear that you enjoyed Victoire and thought she was original, I loved coming up with her character and trying to make her believable and likeable. I definitely know what you mean about her being given a French accent, but I thought this Victoire would be more English than French and definitely not a mini-Fleur. It's so lovely to know that you liked her! :)

I'm also pleased you enjoyed the references to other canon characters. Since we don't know a lot about Victoire from canon I wanted to situate her within the familiar canon characters, and I'm glad you thought it made sense that her parents would be a little uneasy, even if they trusted her and knew she could take care of herself. With Teddy, I wanted to contrast the norm of Vic/Teddy relationships and make it seem realistic: they aren't even twenty yet, after all, and it's wonderful to hear you thought their relationship was believable.

I wish I could meet a Finn MacCoole as well! Although I could do without meeting another Condescening Alexander as well, haha. I'm glad you liked all the OCs! :)

I'm glad this spoke to you as a fellow traveller, and how the story is both about traveling and Vic's growth as a person. I really wanted that love and excitement for traveling to come across, and I'm so very pleased you liked it. If I end up adding more chapters to this story (which I have brainstormed a little, just for fun), hopefully I'll see you back! :) Thank you for just a wonderful review! :D



 Report Review

Review #30, by ohmymerlin Northern Ireland

13th July 2013:
Hey there!

I really enjoyed reading this story! I loved your portrayal of Victoire, she seemed very real to me. I could understand her desire to get away, especially if her parents were so protective and sheltered. It makes sense, so that's always a good thing! :p

I loved the way you explained her on a coach, I could feel her discomfort and I really just wanted to give Condescending Alex a smack! I've never really been to a place with American people, but my parents have and they always say that each time there's an annoying person in the tour group, it's always an American. :p So you picked the right choice haha!

Silent Sam seemed rather sweet! I liked his polar bear joke haha!

I'm kind of glad the way you showed Teddy and Victoire's relationship, that it was suffocating and was a partial reason for her to go away on a big trip. Teddy seemed a bit, 'Oh you're my property so no one can flirt with you blah blah blah' so I didn't like him, I was kind of glad when we got Dominique's letter saying that he was moping around, good riddance in my opinion! :p

I really liked the giant in this! You wrote his speech really well and I liked his story, it was really interesting.

Overall, this was a wonderful one-shot!

Great work!

- Kayla. :D

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm very pleased to hear you liked the story! I loved coming up with Victoire's character so having her well received is great to hear. I'm glad you could relate to her a little and understand her need to travel.

Haha, I'm glad you could relate to the scene on the coach as well! I know, Alexander really was awful, wasn't he? I enjoyed winding Victoire up with his character, haha. And I'm glad you liked Sam!

Good, I'm glad you thought the breakup was justified and realistic. I definitely agree, Teddy was being a bit suffocating even if he didn't mean to. Haha, "good riddance," I love that! :)

I'm glad you enjoyed Finn as well! It was really fun writing the old story into dialogue and letting Finn tell his tale.

Thank you for this really lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #31, by LittleLionGirl Northern Ireland

13th July 2013:
I have to say this is one of the best stories about Vic yet :) I think I might feel that way because I share her wonderlust... I enjoy the fact that you have Teddy and Vic "issues" because everyone normally wants the perfect romance for the two. I understand why Vic didn't invite him though a part of me wished she would have... The giant was a fun character and so was "Silent" Sam. I am also pleased to see someone took after Arthur's love for muggles
XOXOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: Hello!

Wow, thank you so much and I'm very pleased you liked the portrayal of Victoire. I definitely share her wanderlust as well, so I'm glad you could relate. I know, it's too bad their relationship didn't work out but in my mind it's still far from being conclusive. :P I'm very glad you liked the other characters as well, I really enjoyed coming up with them.

Thank you so much for the review! :D


 Report Review

Review #32, by Siriuslover177 Northern Ireland

12th July 2013:
I really, really liked this.
Victorie has always been very interesting to me, because she is much older than everyone else, and is part vela.
I have never seen her written like this, and I must say that I really did enjoy it.
It was a nice change from all the cliches, and it made me happy.
Very nice job(:

~Sarah

Author's Response: Hi! :) I'm so glad you liked the story! :D

I agree, Victoire felt right as the main character here, especially since I haven't seen much of her in fan fiction. I'm very glad you liked her character, and found it an original and non-cliche take on her character.

Thank you so much for this lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #33, by ShadowRose Northern Ireland

12th July 2013:
Hi there!

From the few stories I've read by you, it seems you love to start off your one-shots with a punch, and you definitely do that here as well. From the very first line, my interest was piqued, and I had to figure out just how Victoire ended up upside down by a giant.

I really love how you've characterised Victoire here. She's very relatable, and I love how in detail you go with her backstory, talking about the wanderlust she's had since she was a child.

Condescending Alex is a brilliant character as well. I've definitely met people like that in my life, and they're just a bear to deal with, but awfully funny to read about, in my opinion. As long as I don't have to deal with them in real life, haha. :)

I love the detail you go into in this one-shot. You definitely made use of the word count - I'm pretty sure this was almost 5000! You definitely didn't waste it either - I love some of the little details you added, like Bill's overprotectiveness both when she was a baby to now, the story of Victoire and Teddy's break-up, and the story of the giant. They all really added to the story, and I found myself enjoying every bit of it.

Your writing style is one of my favourites to read on HPFF - it's so intricate and detailed. "Since childhood, the girl was overwhelemed with wanderlust. Circled and dotted maps lined the contours of her mind, wide blue Weasley eyes eager to soak in every blade of grass of the landscape, each crag and secret of a strange land." This line is one of my favourites - it's so eloquent and well-written, and a much more appealing way to describe her love of travel.

Overall, this was a really amazing one-shot! Great job! :)

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Thank you so much, I'm glad the first line drew you in and you liked the story. I really enjoyed writing it and coming up with all the little traveling details and quirks.

It's wonderful to hear you liked Victoire and found her relatable! I loved coming up with her personality, especially her need and passion for traveling. A lot of reviewers have also related to knowing someone like Condescending Alexander, and I'm glad you could relate too! Well, not glad that you had to deal with people like that... but glad you thought it was realistic, haha!

You're right, I actually had to cut about 600 words to use it as a submission! I'm glad you didn't think it was too rambling, but complemented and completed the story. I'm glad you liked Bill, and the story of the breakup, which I thought I had better include since the story was about Vic.

Aw, that is such a lovely comment about my writing style, thank you! :) I'm so glad you enjoy it. And thank you for the fantastic review, it was just amazing to receive! :D


 Report Review

Review #34, by Roots in Water Northern Ireland

12th July 2013:
Hello there!

Wow. Just wow. I thoroughly enjoyed this one-shot- you did a fantastic job with it. I haven't read too many stories with Victoire as the main character, but I really liked how you characterized her here. She was a very relatable character, far from the spoiled and vain girl she's sometimes portrayed as.

Her journeys, her way of describing her excitement and the sights around her... It makes me wish that I had a bit more wanderlust myself. But alas- I don't, although I don't mind traveling.

I definitely think that you managed to capture the spirit of traveling. Her meeting with Finn was very interesting and served as a great central event for this story. His story about his encounter with the English giant was very amusing and highly enjoyable.

Even her companion, Condescending Alexander, was a very real addition to this story. Of course you meet people like that when you travel. People who think that they know everything, that they've travelled everywhere there is to travel and can now share their wisdom with the masses. I'm just glad that Victoire was able to escape his clutches in the end.

I also really liked Bill's concern for his daughter's safety. It added another element of realism to the story, because it's an unfortunate fact that women traveling alone are not in the safest of positions. As well, I loved the small mention of the relationships between Bill and Fleur and Molly and Arthur. I'm a bit of a romantic (:P), so I was very happy to get that dash of marriages that worked out and couples that remained in love. However, I also think that you did a great job with Victoire's relationship with Teddy. You explained their breakup very well, including the hint that they weren't, perhaps, done forever.

I also really liked your conclusion. It was fantastic to see hints of what Victoire would go on to experience and the concluding sentence was a fantastic one. It summed up both the piece and Victoire's journey/personal growth beautifully.

I did notice a few typos as I was reading and I thought I'd point them out quickly. To begin, with the phrase "was overwhelemed" it should be "overwhelmed" and with the phrase "travel the Muggle" I think you missed the word "way" at its end. As well, with "tricky to disgintuigh" it should be "distinguish". But other than that, your story read very smoothly! :)

All in all, I really enjoyed this one-shot. You did a great job with this and the theme of travel. Great work! :D

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm so glad you liked the story, and enjoyed the way I portrayed Victoire. I really liked coming up with her personality and hopefully making her a round character. It's wonderful to hear you found her relatable and breaking those typical stereotypes. :)

Ah, I'm so pleased you enjoyed and connected with the theme of traveling and Vic's wanderlust! I loved relating the giant myth into the story, and the character of Finn, and I'm glad it enhanced the theme of traveling. I love traveling myself, so knowing that passion came across in the story is just lovely to hear! :)

Condescending Alexander was based on people I've met while traveling, so it's so funny to hear people say they've met similar personalities! I'm glad you were rooting for Victoire to get away, and that her annoyance was realistic.

Yes, I imagined Bill's worries would be very common if a little annoying for Victoire. I imagine it's hard for those left to stress and be concerned at home. And I'm glad you liked the mentions of the other Weasleys, I hope it was tied in enough to the canon of Next Gen! :) It's also great to hear your reaction to the Teddy relationship, I hoped it would seem realistic and sympathetic. And you're right, they're only young and still might cross paths again!

Ah, I will be sure to fix those typos! :) And I'm glad you liked the conclusion, and the hints of Victoire's future adventures. I'm considering expanding on this story just because it was so much fun to write! :D

Thank you for this wonderful review, I absolutely loved reading it! :D


 Report Review

Review #35, by purplepotter77 Northern Ireland

12th July 2013:
Purplepotter775 from Ravenclaw on the forums here for the House Cup!

I am usually an avid Teddy/Victoire shipper, but in this story, I think I rather disliked Teddy and found myself really rooting for Victoire and Sam instead! I really liked the way you characterized Victoire in this piece! I loved her sense of adventure and her bravery, and I think it tied in really well with the theme of travel. It was interesting the way you gave her red hair instead of the typical blonde, and she seemed really unique to a lot of Victoires I've seen in fanfic.

Another thing that I loved was how she gave people nicknames, like Condescending Alexander and Silent Sam. There was someone similar to Condescending Alexander in one of my classes last year, so I can definitely sympathize with Victoire. Silent Sam was another great character. At first, I thought he would be the more quiet, bookish type of person (especially with the name 'Silent Sam'), but I love how he has a sense of humor. Canadians are so rarely seen in fanfic (in fact, this may even be my first time seeing one in the HP fandom), so that definitely added another interesting element to Sam's character.

All in all, this was a very enjoyable read, and I loved your version of Victoire and all the other characters in this, even including the giant! :)

Author's Response: Hi! :)

I'm glad you liked the story, and thought it was a different take on Teddy/Vic. It's great to hear you liked Sam, I thought he was pretty great too. :) It's wonderful that you liked Victoire and her wandering spirit, and that she came across as unique, that's just how I wanted to show her.

Haha, I'm glad you liked the nicknames, it's definitely a secret thing Victoire likes to do. And Alex was just awful, wasn't he! To be honest he's based on a couple people I've met traveling, so I'm glad he came across as relatable. Yes, I imagined Sam as having a more quiet presence and sense of humour, and I couldn't resist making him a Canadian! :)

Thank you for this lovely review, it was a pleasure to receive and read! :D


 Report Review

Review #36, by marauderfan Northern Ireland

12th July 2013:
This was really fun to read, having visited the Giant's Causeway myself last year! I'm pretty sure I know exactly where she was standing when she took the pictures of the ant-sized tourists - your descriptions were so vivid and painted a picture exactly as I remember it. I hope I'm not starting to sound like Condescending Alexander, talking about my own travels ;) He is a pretty hilarious character though!

I think Bill's overprotectiveness was quite realistic too. It was quite funny but I could see where he was coming from, I don't think the constant worrying that went on during the war would just go away easily at the end of the war.

The background you gave Victoire and Teddy was beautiful. I completely understand Victoire wanting to break away and see the world... but the hopeless romantic in me wants Vic and Teddy to reconcile eventually and get back together ;)

Finn MacCoole sounded a bit more Scottish than Irish to me in his speaking, but I love that you included him, he was a great addition to the story!

I always love your writing and this was no exception! Really nice job on this :)

Author's Response: Hello! :) Haha, that's awesome! I'm glad I did the Causeway justice then, I was there about a month ago and was poring over my pictures and memories to get this right! I'm glad you thought Alex was funny, he's also inspired by someone I met traveling haha.

I'm glad you thought Bill's actions were believable and justifiable, I imagine it would be quite hard for him as well especially after living through the war. I'm also pleased you found it funny, although poor Victoire would surely snap at some point. :P

Aw, it's good to hear you liked the Vic/Teddy relationship! I knew I couldn't write a story about her and ignore Teddy, and their relationship sprang into my head fully formed from there. Well if I end up continuing this story, Teddy will mostly likely be making an appearance! :P

I'm glad you liked Finn as well. Uh oh, I better fix up his accent then, Finn would not be impressed to be associated with being Scottish I don't think! :P

Thanks for a great review, I really appreciate it! :)


 Report Review

Review #37, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Northern Ireland

12th July 2013:
What a great first chapter! (I know this is a one-shot, by the way!) What I'm trying to say is... THIS needs to be a full-blown story!! Seriously!!

I think this is a great plot you've got lined up! And Victoire's characterization is SO unique, even down to her RED (not blonde) hair; I really like it! I won't lie, a part of me secretly hopes she'll go running back into Teddy's arms, but I love the story regardless!

I thought it was very realistic and understandable that Bill would be so protective of Victoire. I imagine that everyone who was around at the time of the Battle of Hogwarts would always have to deal with a fear of things returning to the way they were, especially if they lost someone, like Bill did.

All in all, I think this is a wonderful one-shot and a great story in the making! *Winks*

Author's Response: Hello! :) Haha, funny you should mention that because I'm seriously considering turning this into a short story collection or short story detailing more of Victoire's adventures. They're so fun and light to write, so you may see more of Vic yet! :)

I'm glad you liked Victoire and her personality, I really enjoyed coming up with her and trying to make her unique. And hey, if this story continues the saga of Teddy is definitely not completely done with. :P

I'm also pleased you thought Bill being over-protective was believable, I liked writing Vic's frustration even thouhh she knows where he's coming from.

Thank you for this wonderful review, my dear! :)


 Report Review

Review #38, by HeyMrsPotter Northern Ireland

12th July 2013:
I absolutely love your writing style and have left you reviewed before in which I pretty much just gushed and used many variations of the word 'amazing' so expect pretty much the same here haha.

I adore all of the imagery you've used in this, it sets the scene perfectly.

I like Victoire's character too, I think the beauty of next-gen is that it gives writers the freedom to create a character and I love how Victoire is in this. Her sense of adventure is good, her bravery too. Though giants aren't uncommon in the wizarding world I can't imagine many people wanting to sit and hear their stories. Speaking of which, I loved Finn and I loved his story, so clever and funny and sweet!

I think her break-up with Teddy was a nice touch to the story, not many relationships survive beyond school in the real world and it's always something I think is a slight flaw in the HP series that most of them do. Alex was incredibly annoying and Sam balanced him out really well.

This was excellently written and a pleasure to read :)

Author's Response: Hi! :) Wow, thank you so much for this lovely review, it was such a pleasure to receive! :D

I'm glad you liked the imagery, and the story itself. I loved writing it and coming up with the character of Victoire so it's wonderful that you liked her. Yes, she is very brave! I loved the story of Finn from the Giant's Causeway and it seemed like an interesting old tale for Vic to discover, especially from the giant who lived through it himself.

I definitely agree about relationships in the HP world, and I'd imagine relationships being more tumultuous and difficult especially when Vic and Teddy want different things. I'm glad you found Alex annoying and Sam a nice change, I liked coming up with them as OCs as well.

Thank you for a lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #39, by Canadian_Hogwarts Northern Ireland

9th July 2013:
What a lovely story :) I really enjoyed it! Although I was really looking for a nice fluffy Teddy/Victoire fic, this made me really happy. I think that too often their relationship is portrayed as too basic, if that makes sense: they don't have the fundamental differences in character that would be true in real life. I'm just going to imagine that they get together after Victoire comes home, even if that's not what you're picturing ;) It'll make me happy that way!
I really liked your style; your writing is very engaging and entertaining. I kept catching things that I thought were mistakes, but then you'd address them and prove that you were one step ahead of me! Great story! I thought your portrayal of both Teddy and Victoire were interesting and different. I especially like the idea that Victoire would be filled with wanderlust, especially since both her parents seemed to have similar personalities: Bill working in Egypt and Fleur moving to Britain. Last but not least, CANADA REPRESENT!! :) Was Silent Sam from Manitoba? Go Churchill!
Once again, wonderful story. I really enjoyed it :) Bon job!

Author's Response: Hello! :) Thank you so much for this really lovely review, and for being the first reviewer! I really appreciate you taking the time to both read and leave your thoughts. :D

I'm glad you liked the story, and even though it wasn't really focused on the Teddy relationship that you enjoyed the explanation of their breakup. I wasn't originally going to include it, but since all we really know about Vic is that she dated Teddy I knew he had to have a role, and it just sort of continued from there. :) Haha you are very welcome to imagine that! :P I was thinking about expanding this story and writing more about Victoire's travels, and Teddy may or may not then make an appearance...

I'm so glad you like my writing style, that's so sweet! :) I got the idea for this story before deciding which character to write it about, but Victoire just seemed to fit perfectly. You're right, both her parents are quite adventurous so it makes sense she would be as well. And yes, being a Canadian myself of course one of our countrymen had to make an appearance! In my mind he was probably from Ontario, but Manitoba is even better. :P

Thank you for this lovely review, I really enjoyed it! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>