Reading Reviews for The Girl from Slytherin
  
255 Reviews Found

Review #26, by maraudertimes The Slytherin Boys

21st January 2014:
Hello! Review swap! And don't worry, I'm done my studying! (well, as much as I can do at this time with my resources)

So, first, I would like to commend you on your characters. Almost every single one of them is the stereotypical Slytherin, with Death Eater parents, already in line on becoming a Death Eater themselves, supporting You-Know-Who to their full extent, etc. While that might not be original in any way, your writing style and Tor's voice is such that I hate all of them for being on the Dark Lord's side, but I can't help but love them. All of them are just so funny and I can't help but love these horrible, twisted characters.

It takes a lot of skill to mould these seemingly cast-typed Slytherins and turn them into people I honest to goodness want to read about without wanting to rip their heads off every few sentences (okay, there have been a few occurrences when I've rolled my eyes, but never at you or your writing, but purely what the characters are saying and what they believe in). You have somehow managed to create a sort of anti-Trio, and for some strange and bizarre reason, I love it!

I especially like their antics with the muggle herbs. The part where they were insulting Filch? Harsher than the Trio would've done - yet I still love it. Also, when she said that derogatory comment about Professor Flitwick, I wasn't appalled. I've seen some pretty iffy lines in fics, but that one stood out for all the right reasons because I simultaneously wanted to slap Tor for being so rude, but I love her dimension and the fact that you are so good in writing a character that is so bad.

I hope I'm making sense in all this. It's pretty late here and I'm pretty tired, but the gist of this rambling is: I love to hate your characters, and I hate to love them as well. I do both! :)

Ergh! The infamous Theo Nott! I'm excited to see where his plot goes. And ooh! I don't know if this is considered 'right,' but I love Daphne. She's got the Ice Princess thing going on and she's honestly my hero. I wish I could be that awesome! I laughed at the mention of the commencement of puberty affecting the way Tor's friends acted around her sister!

This was a very nice chapter and I really liked it! I'm hoping to be able to read more of this story in the next coming weeks! (If exam preparations ever actually do go well for me...)

Thank you so much for the swap, and again: you've got some great talent at writing these characters. Oh, and did I mention that I love this plot line? Great job!
Lo:)

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Oh dear, I hope they aren't too stereotypical! :P I like to think that they all have their own motivations and values, though at this point especially they really are conforming to the norm and showing off a little to each other. It's great to hear you liked them, they were quite fun to write. :)

Haha, this story is SO cliche. :P My defence is that when I started writing it, the only story I'd read on here was Delicate, so I didn't know it was cliche yet. :P And it's a lot of fun to write and play with them.

I like what you said about being an anti-Trio - they're definitely a lot nastier. Don't worry, I roll my eyes at them all the time. :P

Haha well, teenage boys will be teenage boys! They are quite mean about FIlch, but like you said so were the Trio at times. Tor is such a brat in these early chapters - I have no idea why anybody roots for her, myself included at this point.

I'm glad you love hating them! :D

Daphne is quite awesome, but in a rather intimidating and frightening way. Haha, I imagined there was no way there wouldn't be some crushes on the older siblings of the friends.

I'm glad you liked it enough to want to keep reading! It's great to hear you like the characters so far- thanks for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #27, by ReeBee The Beginning

20th January 2014:
Hi! Review swap!! Another great chapter with heaps of introductions, that were handled super well! :D

Characterisation: Before I start, can I just say that I really like the name, 'Tor'. It's really bubbly, which strikes me as sort of ironic as the narration is really kind of cold and mild, in a way. So, maybe try showing a bit more emotion through your writing? But, I understand if u wanted Tor to be kind of cold, because she does seem to be proud of her Death Eater heritage. But, I pointed it out, just in case :) I think you've handled it quite well. The characters seemed to have well defined personalities :) And I assume you'll develop further on them as the story progresses.

Description: Setting description was good :) Incorporated quite well :D Description of the characters' features was present but I would have liked to see a bit more, just a sentence between all of the dialogue? But even without it was fine :)

Plot: An introductory paragraph, a good one at that! Great job! :D The introductions were smooth and everything was really well done :) Nothing to comment on here except that it was done really well!

Great job! Loved this chapter (I've always been a sucker for fillers and introductory chapters!) Thanks for another super awesome review swap! :D

-Curie :)

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm glad you like the name Tor! It's actually short for Astoria - people tend to get confused about that because she has two last names. :P Haha, that's a funny way of describing the name, I always thought of it being more stern and cold for some reason. You're right, she is a little cold here, but she does get better and more interesting when the drama and angst starts. :P But thank you for pointing that out. :)

Thanks, I'll think about the setting and description as well! :)

I'm glad you liked it - I'm really blergh about these early chapters, but I like to keep them up as a monument to how much my writing has changed. :P So it's really nice to know you actually liked it! :D Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #28, by Brightpaw The Decision

17th January 2014:
Yay! Another update! Keep them coming pretty please. :D

I was a little unsure about Tor's conversation with Dumbledore... what did she think he could do? I guess she's pretty desperate. I really hope she doesn't try to convince her father to abandon the dark lord... I feel like she should know there's no chance, right? If he tries to leave they'd kill him, I would think.

I do think she's right to believe Pyxis. What does he gain by telling on her? I'm not sure he won't, but what can she do but trust him?
I think it makes sense that he figured it out. She's stopped being very careful... someone had to notice. She seems like she's decided they're going to find out eventually and is trying to minimize the damage, you know? Ok maybe not that extreme, but I would tell her to chill and do some duels or something. :D

Thanks for the great chapter... more Draco soon?

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Tor is getting very desperate! She's not thinking clearly, necessarily, but her heart is in the right place and she does want what's best for her family and herself. She trusts Dumbledore and thinks he could protect her family in the same way he later tells Draco that he could protect his family if he joins the right side, only Tor is the one who seeks out the protection. :) I agree, Yaxley would definitely not go quietly.

Yes, exactly- Pyxis means well, and he's a good friend despite having those Slytherin self-preservation instincts. She doesn't really have a choice here.

She was being very careless! Tor... doesn't always make the best decisions every single time. :P Pyxis was bound to find out, especially since he got a good look at that Boggart on New Years. She's quite lucky he took it this well.

Thank you for the wonderful review! :D I actually just put the next chapter in the queue, and there is a fair amount of Draco in fact! I hope you like it. :)


 Report Review

Review #29, by ReeBee Prologue

17th January 2014:
Wow! I loved this!!! I mean, there were heaps of 'I'm the daughter of Voldemort/a death eater' stories, but this is amazing! I've actually been meaning to read this for a while now, but I never realised it was your story! Can I just let u how much I love your writing style! Eep! So so well done!! I could feel the emotion in the writing style!! I'm using way too many exclamation marks :/

Anyway, ooh, I wonder who the boy is?? A canon character? And the girl?? Canon?? I'll have to see!! Interesting!! :D and I loved her characterisation! I love that she doesn't seem that bad or one of those crying weak types when faces with a romantic interest. She just seems normal, which I love :D

And my totally favourite part of this story is definitely the characterisations if the death eaters. I mean, sure, they're cruel and mean (light word :/), but they are still human! And who doesn't live little kids? I absolutely loved that part! It made me tear up that such apparently nice people could do such terrible things. And that's really realistic, that things aren't what they seem... So that was awesome!

Great job!! Loved this! Can't wait for more! :D thanks for the awesome review swap! Talking about that I need to respond to all those amazing reviews that left me speechless!! :D

-Curie :D

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm glad you liked it! :D I agree, there are a lot of stories following that vein. When I started this I hadn't read any of them yet, so hopefully it manages to be original. :P I'm glad you wanted to read it for a while - yay! It's wonderful as well to hear you liked the writing style and the emotion. :)

You will have to see! :D I'm glad you like her so far- I'm very attached to her by this point, so getting feedback on her is really great. She is quite a normal girl, she just seems to end up in abnormal situations.

I'm glad you liked the Death Eaters as well! A big theme of this story is balancing their evil and human qualities and exploring how they can be so horrible to some people and so kind to others. I imagined it would be confusing for her, as well.

Thank you for the fantastic review! :) I hope you like it if you continue to read on! :D


 Report Review

Review #30, by marauderfan The Decision

14th January 2014:
Another wonderful chapter!

I really, really hope Tor gets to meet with Andromeda, Ted, and Tonks! Hm, something tells me that this isn't going to happen. I just get a bad feeling that something will happen before the summer. Eep!

“Well, I wouldn’t call him blond exactly, more sandy -- haha! I loved this, her timing for her humour when she's trying to not have her world crash down around her because she's been found out by one of her best friends. I don't really trust Pyxis, but I don't think he'll tell on her. I think he's too scared, though obviously he'd never say that.

Ok so I know it was at a serious point in the story when the Association of Slytherin Students was mentioned again but I laughed out loud at the acronym (like I do every time - I think I have a low maturity level :P ) I just picture all these solemn, intense Slytherins in an organisation with those initials and hahaha it's just too great :D

Liked the little cameo appearance of Harry and co. and cleverly sneaking Tor into canon! Ooh, and Cadmus Scamander - Rolf Scamander's brother, perhaps? ;)

I really liked Tor's talk with Dumbledore. I think even though she's obviously desperate at this point, it shows a new maturity to her character in that she is really starting to understand everything that's going on and how it affects herself and her friends/family/acquaintances. That was very noble of her, and though I think she'll never manage to convince her father, she might possibly be able to with some of her friends, and possibly Daphne, if she's lucky. It's hard to tell with Daphne :p I liked the last line of the chapter too - Dumbledore going on about love again :) A very Dumbledoreish thing to say at that point, and it's quite obvious that's what is going on, sometimes you'll do desperate things for love.

I didn't think this chapter was rambly at all! Or if it was, I like rambly chapters so it's all good :P Great job, once again!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Yay, I'm glad you liked it! :D It's so great to be updating this story more consistently again.

I hope so too! I love Andromeda, and she would be a really great influence for Tor. Hmm, something bad, whyever would you think that?? :P

Haha, typical Tor diverting the tough questioning. Interesting thoughts about Pyxis- he is a good friend, but he's not as strong and brave as Tor can be.

Haha don't worry, I laughed too! I almost wished I could have kept the Association around for a little longer but the plot sort of outgrew it. It is funny to think of how seriously they take themselves and then... yeah.

Yes! I'm super sneaky. :P When I was reviewing HBP I just thought that it was only right to have Tor be the girl. I wish I had more time in the story to devote to Cadmus- he's quite funny, and quite probably related to Rolf.

I'm glad you liked the conversation! She is becoming more mature, and starting to see the bigger picture and that things are changing both internally and externally. It is tricky with Daphne, she's a little unpredictable and quite self-centered. Haha Dumbledore does love to talk about love. Tor is doing something desperate for love, but also for larger reasons than that. For love of humanity, of her own beliefs as well.

Thanks so much for the awesome review! :D I love reading your thoughts on the story! Thanks for being so supportive and lovely. ♥


 Report Review

Review #31, by MidnightBlue_x The Future

12th January 2014:
I just love Tor and Terry so much. I can't wait to see how things progress for them. I loved seeing Michael and Anthony too- I really liked seeing how they interacted with Tor. I'm so excited to read on!

x Ely

Author's Response: Hi! :)

Aw, I'm so glad you like them! :D I'm very happy they're back together. It's also great to know that you liked the Ravenclaw boys as well: they're a riot to write and imagine and get along quite well with Tor. :)

Thanks so much for the lovely review! :D I'm so happy you enjoyed the chapter!


 Report Review

Review #32, by marauderfan The Future

12th January 2014:
Tag!

Tor and Terry are so cute :D I am glad they're able to be honest with each other now, even if it means there are some awkward conversations. Things will get better in time :) I liked Tor's conversation/"working" with the Ravenclaw boys in the library, she fits in quite nicely with them.

I love that you brought up LGBTQ issues in the wizarding world! In some ways, the wizarding world seems more progressive than the Muggles (in terms of gender equality - look at Quidditch for example) but I think in this case, they are behind the Muggle world. The pureblood/mudblood thing is pretty evident of that and I imagine gay couples would be seen the same way (though this is probably more of an issue to purebloods and those concerned with tradition and propriety.) And I love it when social issues come up in fanfic, it just adds such a depth and reality to it all. (And makes me ramble for ages, sorry)

...hm. I wonder what Pyxis is going to do with that information, he saw her! I would assume he won't do anything, since he's one of her friends, he'd just warn her... but I guess there's no way to tell. Uh oh.

OOH THE END IS SO OMINOUS. I mean, I know what's going to happen there with Scrimgeour and Thicknesse because I've read the books, lol, but I really liked that little bit in the POV of a very well respected/feared Death Eater. That part about Amelia Bones was almost touching though - I'd forgotten about her. Perhaps Yaxley's reasons for moving people around in the Ministry are more personal than Voldemort-related reasons :p

Great chapter!! I'm glad to hear the next chapters are finished too, means I have less time to wait till I can read more ;)

Author's Response: Hello!

Ah, they are cute, aren't they? :) Their relationship has reached a more honest level and so it is important for them to be open and understanding. I really love writing the Ravenclaw boys, so I'm pleased you liked that scene!

Yes! I think it would be so interesting to hear from JKR what LGBTQ issues would be like in the HP-verse, but had to go off what we know here. I agree, I think the wizarding world would be a little slow about gay rights and acceptance, also because of the pureblood thing like you said. I loved writing this bit and expressing my thoughts a little through the characters. :)

Hehe, guess you'll have to wait to find out what Pyxis might do or not do! (not very long though!)

I love ominous! I quite liked writing it and from now on is when Yaxley enters the HP-verse and becomes a prominent death eater and character. I picked him to be Tor's father because of the parts which are coming up in this story, really. I'm glad you liked it, and the part about Amelia! We haven't heard from Yaxley in a while so I wanted to remind the readers about him a little and his own secrets and motivations.

Thanks for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #33, by shez The Beginning

10th January 2014:
So I can't tell you how excited I am about this story. You said you felt it was a bit filler, but I think it's a good idea you're introducing the main players. I love Tor already; she seems like an intelligent, realistic MC and I love her relationship with the boys. I like how you've humanized all our pseudo-villianous future death-eater Slytherin characters. Holy crap the flashback with her and her sister and father was spine-tingling, but I see the elements of doubt vs. expectation being planted. It's the very subtle incorporation of things that separate good stories from really great ones and you've got a keen eye for detail so I'm excited. I also like the run-in with Malfoy (stomping on Potter's face eh?) and your very last lines about the blood tracing from his robes to hers is subtle and profound and implies so many different things. Eek! I love it!


On a side note: I love the actress you've chosen to portray Tori. She's not overtly cutsey looking--she's a got tough-girl Slytherin edginess and I love that.

(Question: Is she Astoria aka girl Draco eventually marries in epologue? Because you said Yaxley but I think she was Greengrass, so I'm a little confused. Sorry if it's a stupid confused.)

Author's Response: Hello again!

Yay! I'm glad you liked it, and are still interested in reading on. I love Tor too- she's a lot of fun to write and I love hearing readers' opinions on her. Haha yes! The Slytherins aren't just good or evil, they have a lot of motivations and dimensions to them though they certainly have their wicked moments.

I'm glad you liked the flashback! Writing about Tor's father and her past are some of the most important and entertaining (well, for me :P) parts of the story. I'm so pleased you liked the hinting of how she will change throughout the story.

Haha yes, Malfoy pops in and out! I'm really happy you pointed out the line about the blood on his robes as it was my favourite part of this chapter and really sets the tone for their future interactions in a way. :)

I'm so glad you approve of her! I thought she felt right, she's pretty, but in an interesting way, and she does have that edge as you say. Plus, the TV show she's in is quite dramatic so there are plenty of angsty pictures of her! :P

Yes! You are right on both counts, it's a little confusing. Tor goes by her mother's last name at school but her father is Yaxley. It is explained a little in chapter 5 I believe :) Don't worry, it confuses everyone and sometimes me too!

Thanks for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #34, by shez Prologue

9th January 2014:
Ok. This is so good. I don't even know what to say and that doesn't happen often. It's not often that I find a story that just clicks from the very beginning and you have me hooked. I already know I'm going to fall in love with this story. This is so evilly short and your writing is astounding and cunning and deliciously dark. I have no idea what's going on and who the MC is but she's the daughter of a Death Eater so that's going to be exciting and I love the banner so much and I can't wait to find out what happens. I'm so glad you have tons of chapters out because the waiting would kill me.

Thank you for filling that "addicting story" void in my life.

Basically, I'm adding this to my favorites. And I'll probably be stopping by again.

Author's Response: Hello!

Ah, thank you! :) I hope you continue to like it! I wrote these early chapters so long ago and they're a little rusty, but it's wonderful to get such lovely praise. Cunning and deliciously dark?! That means a lot, especially something from you! :D

Yes, there are a lot of mysteries, and I'm in love with the banner myself! This story is a bit of a beast and growing very quickly- I just put a new chapter into the queue, hehe.

I'm very honoured to fill that void! Thanks for the amazing review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #35, by Courtney Dark The Death Eater's Daughter

7th January 2014:
Tag!

Ooh, I really enjoyed this chapter! It was really great learning more about Tor's family and their background. I particularly liked the bit about her father's story, and how he became a Death Eater. You have done this amazing thing by still making me loath the Death Eaters and, by association, Tor's father, but also somehow making them seem like human beings who have emotions and families and plans and motivations for what they do. So it is safe to say I am now very conflicted.

I also loved how you described the competition between Daphne and Tor, because it seemed like such classic sibling rivalry - the older sibling being jealous when the younger sibling gets more attention and feels more loved.

This was a really great chapter! Hopefully I will be back here soon!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi again! :)

I'm so happy you liked this chapter as it's my favourite of the earlier chapters. :) I'm glad you liked the bits about her father as he is very influential and his story keeps unraveling throughout the novel. It's really good to hear you have these conflicting feelings towards the Death Eaters of both liking and hating them, as that's just how I wanted them to come across. They have redeeming qualities, especially from Tor's point of view, but also a sort of danger and horror. I feel like Voldy (and possibly Bellatrix) were the only ones who were completely motivated by power and cruelty, while others like Yaxley have other reasons beyond pure hate.

Haha yes! The sisters do have a bit of a tense relationship, and I think both of them think the other is better off. :P

Thanks so much for reviewing, I'm glad you're liking the story so far! :)


 Report Review

Review #36, by MissesWeasley123 The Unknown

7th January 2014:
Jennaaa. Here for the 12 Days of Reviewing and what a great chapter to come back to!

Terry man, he's so amazing. I will say it over and over and keep on asking you -- where do I get myself one? He's so amazing. But he''s wise in a way too, beyond all the immaturity and awesomeness, which is nice.

Tor is fabulous as always. One of my favourite parts is her encounter with Snape, and I loved how she would reply to him, it was very fitting and you characterization of Snape is brilliant as well. He's such a complex character, it's so difficult to write him because you have very limited boundaries. But every word he said made sense and sounded like him, from his demeanor to the bit of dragging and his pauses. Excellent.

And Daphne! Aw, where is she? It was nice to see that she still cares for her sister.

Another thing I'd like to mention is whenever Tor does her leglimency( dunno how to spell, too lazy to check haha),it's always so real and makes sense. You do a great job with that every time. It adds the mysterious tone to this whole story, especially since there's a war raging!

Excellent chapter!

Author's Response: Hola!

Haha aw I'm glad you love him as I do. Terry is a lot of fun to write, I wish he was real just so I could hang out with him all the time. I'm glad you find him both wise and a little immature - he is a sixteen year old boy after all! That's exactly how I see him.

I'm glad you found Snape okay! He's so difficult, I think it would almost be easier to write his nastiness than his nicer persona towards the Slytherins. I'm really pleased you thought his language and actions sounded right!

Yes, the sisters aren't very close but they do occasionally spend time together and be kind to the other. :)

Thank you! Wow, I'm really happy to hear that her legilimency (agreed, I wish that was on spell-check) seems realistic. I have been a bit worried it makes the story too cliche but her skills are quite important to the plot at times, so I'm pleased you liked it!

Thanks for the lovely review, darling! :D


 Report Review

Review #37, by maraudertimes The Beginning

7th January 2014:
Back again!

So this is really cool! Tor seems a little apprehensive of the Death Eater lifestyle which is cool to see, and all her friends seem to mean a lot to her, although I sense she's not as prejudiced as some. I've never thought of Yaxley having a daughter, and I feel as though this is a really unique plot!

I wonder if this is set in Harry's sixth year? Seeing as Draco has blood on his shoes and robes? I'm also wondering how Draco will it in to this story, so Kudos! I'm intrigued!

I really think this is a really amazing plot and I would never have guessed that it was your first fanfic. It's really well written. Great job!

Author's Response: Hi again! :)

I'm glad you liked this chapter as well! Yes, Tor does have some doubts, and at this point she does well with not questioning things when it's to her disadvantage. She does care about her friends, and prejudice for her is more of an automatic reaction than something she truly believes in. I'm so glad you find it unique, yay! :)

Yes, it is set during DH. Tor is two years younger than Harry and co. Draco pops in and out, and becomes a little more significant as the story goes on.

Thanks so much for all the lovely compliments, and for leaving me two reviews! :) I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #38, by maraudertimes Prologue

7th January 2014:
Hi!
I'm here for the review swap from a while ago, I just got completely off track and real life kinda sucks sometimes... sorry!

Okay, this was really scary and I'm super intrigued. I thought it was really well executed though and I'm excited to see where it goes! I wonder how 'Tor' and the boy know each other, but I'm scared that it's an intimate or loving way, because no!

Yeah, so because it's a short chapter I'm going to review the next as well!

This is really cool. Just saying. :)

Lo:)

Author's Response: Hello! Don't worry at all, I didn't even realize! :)

I'm glad you liked it! I wrote this so long ago and the whole story sort of builds up to this moment, so it's exciting to know that it draws people in. I'm glad you're asking questions and curious about who these people are.

Thanks so much for reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #39, by greenbirds The Greenhouse

3rd January 2014:
ITS ALMOST 5 IN THE MORNING AND I AM OBSESSED WITH THIS AND I JUST DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH MYSELF NOW ERRRGGH. I am obsessed with a capital O.
Terry Boot is my new love. I'm sorry, I love him? But in the way that I want Tor and him, not me and him you know? And I love his friendship with Anthony and Michael- this has inspired me to write something about that, not quite so sure what exactly. But something.
It's really interesting seeing Tor's life interweave with the plots and twists of the actual story. You write so well and you pull it off magnificently; I'm literally quaking, I'm so excited to find out what happens.
Interesting how Tor has been interacting with Andromeda this whole time, and now she's just- totally unwarily- stumbled upon her daughter. I also really must congratulate you on your ability to carry on the true essence and character of the characters as you shift them from Rowling's books to yours, you know? I'm not making any sense- I need sleep urgently.
I'm so excited for the next chapter. I can't remember the last time I was so excited for something over the internet. You have such a gift for writing.
Does Tor make the right decision? Please a-ssure me it has a happy ending! It kills me to know that Tor doesn't end up marrying Terry, but Draco instead. Urgh, those Slytherins are so vile but they're still human and it's funny because I loved them at first, but now I totally loathe them. Amaris has gone from being fun and cool to annoying and horrible, and I can't even begin to string words (especially in my current state of tiredness) to describe the others. How could they turn on their friend, Taurus, like that! It makes my blood boil. I've never used that term before, but it's true.
If I could map out what happens in upcoming chapters, Tor decides to tear away and live with Andromeda. But that can't happen, can it?
I'm so excited for the next chapter. PLEASE UPDATE SOON, I'm begging. Begging, begging y-o-o-u. I'm humming that song as I type.
Bea xx

Author's Response: Oh my merlin, you read the whole story?!! That's so exciting, and I hope you got some sleep! Your reviews have really made my day and been so lovely to receive, you are actually so awesome.

I love him too in the same way! T&T are the cutest together, I really do love writing them and I'm glad it's coming across so well. Aw you like the bromance?! I love the bromance, and there's a lot of that in the next chapter too. You're inspired to write something?! That's awesome! I'd love to read it if you post on the archives. :)

Ah, I love writing along with canon, it's so much fun and leaves a lot of room for exciting things going on behind the scenes. I'm really glad you like the plot and Tor's story! :)

Yes, Andromeda really is the perfect person for Tor to be confiding in, and I loved the idea that she and Tonks would cross paths unknowingly. Wow, you think I captured the canon characters well?! That is really encouraging and amazing praise, characters like Tonks are so lovely and so I really want to get them right.

You're so nice! ♥ I can't promise any happy endings but the story is far from being over and has a great deal of twisting and confusion along the way. I know, the Slytherins really are awful at this point. :( Some of them might get the chance to redeem themselves - after all, Tor was just like them not so long ago, and some of them are kind of going with the flow - but for now it's acceptable to hate them and I am rather upset with them as well. The Taurus incident is one of the saddest parts of the story, in my opinion, it broke my heart a little to do that to him.

Haha interesting prediction! :)

The queue just reopened today and I have one and a half chapters written, so expect an update soon!! :D Thank you for all the wonderful support, it really is encouraging and having enthusiastic readers helps motivate me to move this story to the top of my writing list! :) I really cannot express my love for these enough! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #40, by greenbirds The Prank

2nd January 2014:
I'M IN HYSTERICS OH MY GOD THAT WAS AMAZING!
i usually detest pranks written in fanfiction because they're never written well, you know? but you pulled that one off with such wit and flow, i was literally on the floor at one point.

" "I hope he doesn't write to our parents," Amaris frets, while Pyxis just shrugs. His father is in Azkaban and hardly in a place to administer parental justice. As for my father, he'd probably be impressed with our creativity."

amazing. and we really say the characters shine through, especially amaris and pyxis!
you're insane. i love you. i love this. yay bye.

Author's Response: Haha I'm so happy you liked the prank!! I was worried people would find it more odd than funny but I'm so excited to hear you thought it was well executed. The idea of a zillion Dracos in costume in the common room is just such a strange but excellent image. :P

You're so perceptive! Yes, that does represent both Amaris and Pyxis so strongly. I love this review!! :) Thank you! :D You really can't know how much it means to me that you like the story so much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #41, by greenbirds The Horror

2nd January 2014:
that was so intense! wow! the kiss was amazing *jaw drops* i feel like i've been waiting for that forEVER. oh, when will tor see the error of not only her, but her family and upbringing's ways!
i love the little things in your novel, and i must point out my happiness for this part. it's not a big part, but it made me happy nonetheless:

“Well, they go to private school near London. Tom’s in Year Eight and Andy is in Year Six. They’re pretty great…” He stops at my expression. “What’s wrong, Greengrass?”

because i've read way too many brilliant stories which are ruined by americanisms. i don't know if you're a brit like me or just simply somebody who did the extra research but thank you!
OMG TOR AND TERRY ASDFGHJKL. it'll be interesting to see how she goes from him to draco. oh WHY does she have to marry draco?!
AMAZING. thank you. bye.

Author's Response: Hi again! :) Haha yes, it was building up to the kiss for a long time, I'm glad you liked it! Oh Tor, so misguided at this point in time...

I'm really happy you pointed that you and that you think it's properly British! :D I'm actualy Canadian, but I've lived in England before on school exchanges and such so I know a bit about how things are different. I really want to get the feel of the story being in England across in my writing so thank you!

I know! :( Ugh, Draco, he's really no good in this story (at least for now)! I just want Terry and Tor to be together forever as well! :(

Thanks for the amazing review! :D


 Report Review

Review #42, by greenbirds The Unknown

2nd January 2014:
oh wow. i love this! so excited to read the next 20 chapters. interesting take on terry boot, who has always been one of my favourite da characters. i love reading stories in which the author takes their on twist on not as explored characters in the series, such as terry.
interesting how she's two years younger than him. i a-ssume romance will arise due to the summary? i'm sure you'll pull it off amazingly.
great story so far! bea xx.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Can I just say that all your reviews have made my day?! I'm so happy you like the story! *dies of excitement*

Terry is great, I'm so glad you like him here. He is quite unexplored and so there's a lot of room for creativity in writing his character. :) And yes, as you know by now, there will be romance and lots of drama. :P

Thanks for the amazing review, I'll respond to the others as soon as possible! :D (I'm in an internet-limited place at the moment). You are awesome! :)


 Report Review

Review #43, by TheMarauderChick Prologue

30th December 2013:
I really like how this starts! It is suspenseful and makes all these questions run through my mind. Who is Tor? Who are her parents? And whose is that boy? What kind of relationship does he have with Tor?

Great start!

-Sankavi ^_^

Author's Response: Hello! I'm really happy to hear you liked the beginning, and that it had you asking questions. I guess you'll just have to read on and find out! :)

Thank you for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #44, by marauderfan The Greenhouse

24th December 2013:
Hello (finally)! I'm so excited that you've updated this again.

Ooh, more Malfoy drama. Yeah I bet that would be odd for Tor to hear someone calling Professor Snape, of all people, jealous, and then getting away with it.

Love the detail that Tor takes so much pride in her handwriting. It seems very pureblood of her (if that makes sense). You know, very proper and sophisticated, as many pureblood families try to be. In terms of other details - I saw Hermione looking up information about the Half Blood Prince. And the small Slytherin girl who looks terrified... yeah, that's probably Goyle. Watch out, Tor! :p Basically, I love the details you use :)

I also really appreciated the other perspective of Ron's poisoning, behind the scenes what with Ginny finding Hermione in the library, and then Lavender finding out afterwards. You did a remarkable job keeping all of them noticeable and in character even with just short mentions of them.

I had forgotten about Xavier. How could I forget about him? I love when he shows up, as a little reminder of how awful Griz is :p I feel for Tor though, especially after that paragraph about Amaris - Tor doesn't really have any friends left except Terry, she's kind of stuck in this weird limbo of which side to be on, when she's not on a side.

I really liked the conversation between Tor and Terry in the greenhouse. I think it was only fair of Terry to tell about Tor's father, and I'm glad it turned out all right for both of them as Dumbledore already knew about Yaxley. It seems Tor and Terry are on their way to recovery as a couple, which is good, only instead of the innocent almost-love it was earlier, they know the good and the bad and the ugly about each other now, and I think it will lead to a much more honest relationship - maybe on the way to love, if they make it that far together. Aw :)

Loved the cameo from Tonks at the end, too! She would be very understanding of that sort of situation given her parents' situation (though she doesn't know her mum has been communicating with Tor, I think) and her own situation with Lupin. Nice tie in there.

Fantastic chapter! :)

Author's Response: Hello! :) Yay, I'm glad you were excited! I've missed this story a lot over Nano.

Haha yeah, Snape isn't exactly the openly jealous type, particularly of someone like Malfoy. :P I love writing petty Draco, though I do feel a little sorry for him at this point in time.

Yes, you're right! It is rather proper and the kind of thing she would be raised to take pride in. I'm glad you liked all those details, I loved including the Trio and hahaha Goyle. Poor guy.

I wish Lavender could make an appearance in every chapter, she kills me in HBP. I'm so thrilled to hear they all seemed in character, I find writing the main three especially quite intimidating.

How could anyone forget about Xavier?! He's such a gross, well, I use the term character lightly. I know, poor Tor. :( She could mend the bridges on both sides, but to fully remain neutral is pretty much impossible at this point. She's understandably going to have a tough time of it even if she does make a choice.

I'm glad you liked the greenhouse conversation! I agree, I think Terry would be plagued by guilt either way but that he would tell somebody. I'm glad you see their relationship that way and that they're moving towards a more realistic and honest relationship: I'm a firm believer in knowing the worst about someone before the character can earn to be exposed to the best of that person. :)

Yes! I imagine Tonks as a bit of a rule breaker in general, haha, and generally sympathetic. I'm glad you liked her appearance. :)

Thanks for the amazing review my dear! :D It was just lovely to receive and I'm so happy you liked the chapter. :)


 Report Review

Review #45, by Courtney Dark The Association of Slytherin Students

19th December 2013:
Tag!

I'm really enjoying reading this story! I really love reading from the point of view of a character who is not exactly good. I mean, Tor definitely has some good, honest, likeable qualities about her - like how she rescued that cat and has a good sense of humour - but, like you just mentioned, she has this huge pureblood mania going on, and obviously thinks that what Voldemort is doing is right. I loved how you included the portraits of the Death Eaters in this chapter - it really showed just how 'for' the whole pureblood thing Tor is.

I loved your descriptions of Griselda Goyle! This bit: 'The Sorting Hat took a long time deciding, and I’m convinced the Hat knew she wasn’t smart enough to belong at Hogwarts at all' especially, made me laugh. And I love the nickname for the Association of Slytherin Students, haha! Trust Pyxis to be the one to point out what it spells in short form!

Oh god, that conversation with Goyle! Tor's reactions to everything that he said made me laugh, and I love her inner voice - it's a great mix of humourous, serious and informative.

I can't wait to read more!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm glad you're enjoying it! I really enjoy reading and writing about characters who have a darker side, and I'm glad to show that variety and complexity in her character. I'm so pleased you liked the addition of the portraits as well, I thought they would be interesting if a little terrifying to have watching you. :P

Haha, poking some fun at Griz is one of Tor's vices, though Griz herself isn't very nice either. Both of them can be a little cruel! Ah yes the name was just Pyxis (and me, by association) being a little immature, but also to show how ridiculous Draco and co. are.

Goyle is just so funny, though I do feel a little sorry for the guy. In this story, at least. It's great to know you like her voice and find her interesting and a little humorous- I really enjoy writing her!

Thanks for this lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #46, by BBWotter The Knowledge

8th December 2013:
The only word I can think of to describe this piece of writing is beautiful. I stumbled upon this book purely by chance, and I can't think of how absolutely empty my life would be without it. Thank you so much for this story, I can't wait for your next installment,though I understand how it is difficult at times. You are truly talented. xoxo

Author's Response: Hello! Wow, thank you for this truly lovely review. I'm so honoured to hear you like the story, and these kind words mean so much to me! I'm going to try and get an update up in the next couple of weeks. :)

Thanks so much for this, it really brightened my day and made me smile. :)


 Report Review

Review #47, by GingeredTea Prologue

27th November 2013:
The way you began this chapter was almost as powerful as the way you ended it and that's simply perfect, because by the end I was invested in your character. Brilliant.
I love how you jumped into the action and began with a sentence that made me need to know what was happening and who was telling us. The way you described the Death Eaters as champions of her childhood was so beautifully done that it escapes me how to describe it at the moment. Clever.
I hope I catch you again really really soon in review tag. Actually, if I haven't very soon I'll see you anyways because I simply MUST KNOW what is going to happen and who this boy is.

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much, I'm glad you liked the chapter and the way it began and ended. It was the first thing I posted here and very minimalistic and suspenseful so I'm really pleased it's drawing people in! :)

Yes, it is rather mysterious about who is telling the story! I'm glad you liked that line as it was one of my favourites as well. Thank you for this wonderful review, and hope to see you back sometime! :D


 Report Review

Review #48, by TheGirlWithTheLaughingFace Prologue

25th November 2013:
Review Tag!

Wow, you have me completely hooked already just from the prologue.

I'm just aching to know who the boy is, who the girl's father is and how the girl and boy know each other.

You gave just enough to hook us and now I'm off to read the next chapters.

Author's Response: Hi! :) Aw, thanks so much! I'm really glad you like it, and that you like the next chapters if you get the chance to keep reading. I'm a little iffy about these early chapters since I like the later ones much better, so getting this positive feedback is really great!

I'm glad you're asking questions and wondering what on earth is going on- that means the prologue did its job! :) Thanks for a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #49, by toomanycurls The Beginning

15th November 2013:
Hi!!! Doing a review tag. :D

You're setting a great background for Amaris and Tor (and the whole story). Hearing that they were planning/hoping for the rise of Slytherin. I'm sure many of them (or at least some) were less excited about how the war actually went.

I'm a bit curious as to why/how Tor is a natural Occlumens and Legilimens. Are you going to touch on that later? It's just a rare skill and it's not really presented as something people are just good at.

I do think you describe how terrified people would be of saying his name. It's never really made sense to me but their terror at his power is very well shown here.

The flashback is quite terrifying!! I'd have a hard time not dwelling on that if I were her. You give great insight to the horrible life the family of death eaters lived. I mean, even being on Voldemort's side didn't shield them from danger.

Theo and Pyxis sound almost nice - if they weren't set up to be death eater folks. I like the idea that all the pureblood kids played together as kids. I mean, the books allude to that anyway.

Ah, Draco's fall from glory. I do *kind of* feel bad for him knowing what a year he'll have.

I never thought about how HBP would be for Slytherin house. You do such an amazing job describing what a change of pace and power it was for them.

Ah! Creepy!! Did Malfoy just stomp Harry? I guess he would have. O.o

This is a great chapter! You're exposing me to a completely different side of HP. I mean, I haven't read a lot from Slytherin POV that wasn't excessively evil. Awesome work.

-Rose

Author's Response: Hi! :) Yay, you're back!

I'm glad you're continuing to like this story as I am so insecure about these early chapters and am always surprised when someone decides to keep reading after them. :P But I like keeping them up to show how much my writing style has changed since starting here. It's great that you like the evil and excitement coming through them.

Yeah, it becomes a useful plot device. :) When I started this story I didn't know about Mary-Sues and their special powers and so I just thought it would be a cool skill for her to have. It gets explained not so much as a natural talent, but an instinct for a controlled mind that she is taught to develop by her father, whose specialty is the Imperius curse and other nasty forms of mind arts. I think its Chapter...5, maybe? where she goes into depth a little more about it. :)

I'm glad you liked the terror around the name and the flashback! I agree, even if they don't necessarily realize it being in DE family is really scary and dangerous, and even they are frightened of Voldy.

I'm glad you like the Notts so far, and feel at least a little bad for Draco. He's quite nasty through most of this story but I feel for him a little too. I'm glad you like the alternative view on Slytherin and what they would have been experiencing at the time- it's a lot of fun to write. :)

Haha yes! The blood on the robes thing was a little gross, I know. Poor Harry :(

Thanks so much for this awesome review, I really appreciate it! :D


 Report Review

Review #50, by marauder5 The Knowledge

12th November 2013:
First of all, I have to say that is a beautiful chapter image! :)

Now, on to this chapter, which was as brilliant as your chapters always are. Tor's solitude is so well described - I find that with most of your characters, actually, but it's amazing how easily I can relate to her, despite all of the million things that she goes through that I don't (I mean, luckily for me, my dad isn't a Death Eeter..) ;) I really felt for her in this chapter. I'm so glad that the Nott brothers still seem to care about her, but it seems to me like they're the only ones she has left right now...

Unless you count Malfoy, of course ;) I love the interaction between the two of them, and while we never see Malfoy from this angle in the books, I think you have portrayed him carefully. I also really enjoyed her encounter with Terry's friends. They really do seem like good guys and if the world have been perfect, Tor would have been able to be part of their group. I feel like they'd get along quite well.

I can't quite figure Terry out, though. In the last chapter, he seemed to determined to do the right thing... it just made it seem like he wouldn't be able to forgive her. And now he wants to? It's not that I'm not thrilled about it, because i want him to, but I don't see how it would happen. Maybe he really loves her, I don't know. I just have a feeling that he'll take her back, and then he won't have truly forgiven her, and it will cause problems in the future. Oh well... I am so intrigued by this story, as you already now, and I get so excited whenever you post a new one. I can't wait to see how things end, and yet I want it to go on forever. You've really managed to get me invested into all of these characters and I worry about all of them and what's going to happen to them, haha... As always, I also want to praise your amazing writing style and the way you unfold this story - it really is beautiful.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I know right? I think my jaw dropped when I saw it. Those TDA artists are amazingly talented. :)

Aw, I really appreciate your thoughts on Tor and how you're still finding her relatable in her time of solitude and loneliness. (I sure hope your Dad isn't a Death Eater! :P Mine definitely isn't... I mean, he dressed up as Hagrid for Halloween. Okay sidebar...) Anyway, yes, being old family friends the Notts are still there for her, but they still could be doing a little better in my opinion.

I'm glad you liked Malfoy, and he seemed portrayed decently! I really don't want to make him too nice but it's tricky since he has no real reason to hate Tor and it makes sense he'd be at least civil to her. I love writing Anthony and Mike, they actually crept their way into this chapter and I wasn't expecting it at all. I agree, they would get along well, and it's too bad she didn't get the chance to get to know them properly.

I like your speculations about Terry! You're right, his possible forgiveness does seem a little irrational, but give him a chance to explain himself. He's not as black and white, good and evil as he seems to be, and just as being with him has turned Tor into a less convicted person being with her has helped Terry to see there are two sides to every story. But the drama is far from over, of course. :)

Thanks so much for this amazing review, they really keep me going especially from you, since you've been such a lovely supporter of this story since its fledgeling WIP days. :) I really, really appreciate all these wonderful comments and thoughts.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>