Reading Reviews for The Girl from Slytherin
436 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Liana The Prank

11th March 2015:
Astoria was sure quick-thinking. That has got to be the best prank ever. Congratulations for thnking of it.

 Report Review

Review #27, by Liana The Visitor

11th March 2015:
Now why would you kill off a little mouse? Most times I'm happy being my little peon self. I don't want to be famous. It seems to bring nothing but trouble.

 Report Review

Review #28, by Liana The Lesson

10th March 2015:
I thought the lecture was good. I liked that Charity compared the Nazis and purebloods. I think that has to be covered in a Muggle Studies course. Although the group that really needs to be there is the Slytherins.

 Report Review

Review #29, by Liana The Theory

8th March 2015:
I thought that the theory about Narcissists was very clever. It's well known that Mrs. Zabini has outlived many husbands so that was an interesting addition to the theory.

 Report Review

Review #30, by Liana The Seer

4th March 2015:
I find it creepy that someone can have visions. It's not that I don't like it but I think it's better to not know the future. I've had so many odd experiences in my life that I probably wouldn't have wanted to live through them. I wouldn't like knowing that two of the people I know would die in the war and one because of me. I do like the little girl with the toad.

Author's Response: I agree! I definitely wouldn't want to have a vision or have to relive any moment of my life, whether in the past or in the future. It's an interesting plot device, but not something I envy Emma for. :P

Thank you! I really appreciate you reading and reviewing! ♥

 Report Review

Review #31, by Aayo88 The Visitor

1st March 2015:
I don't typically review and I also don't typically read stories with purely OC leads but I must say I'm really enjoying this story thus far. I hope that Tor finds a way to give Ginny some warning about the attack. I am also actually really liking the fact that though the "golden trio" is present in your story it is merely in the fringes.

Author's Response: Hello! :) Wow, thank you! This review really means a lot to me, and I'm so glad that you like the story especially since it's out of your typical reading choices. I really like writing the scenes that involve the Trio, but it's even more fun to build Tor's story around in parallel to them.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #32, by marauder5 The Decision

12th February 2015:
I loved Andromeda's letter. I REALLY hope Tor gets the chance to come in for that cup of tea, no matter what might happen in her future.

I had to laugh at the image of Tor trying so hard to convince Pyxis of her Transfiguration story that she hits him in the chest. Haven't we all gone a little over-excited and done stuff like that?

Pyxis obviously isn't stupid and I think it was about time she told him. Maybe sharing her secret with someone will make it easier for her. I knew Pyxis wouldn't be happy, but I guess his prejudices have deeper roots than Tor's did, because I would have expected him to be a little more supportive. He clearly doesn't think he has a choice, even though I'm not sure if he wants to be a death eater either. At least he won't tell anyone. I really hope he'll keep that promise.

Once again, I must say that I love how you tie in the canon events. Her being one of the people delivering letters to Harry was brilliant, and then the two girls whose little brother got bitten by a werewolf. You have such a clever way of tying canon events with this story too - they don't seem like they're there just for the sake of it, but they seem meaningful and fitting and I absolutely love it.

Did I mention how much I love Terry's friends, by the way? I probably did. Anyway, I'll say it again. I kind of wish I was friends with them too.

I swear, sometimes I think Dumbledore has an almost godlike way of knowing everything. Maybe he is, as he so often claims himself, just good at guessing. I love that Tor went to him, but I'm worried that he won't be able to help much. After all, I really don't think Yaxley will be convinced to give up his way. Also, we know, even though Tor doesn't, that Dumbledore hasn't got long left.

This was another great chapter! At the moment, I feel like Tor's whole life is a ticking bomb and I'm just waiting for it to explode. It's bound to happen sooner or later - I just don't know HOW it will happen, exactly. Maybe she'll have to cut ties completely with her family. I can sense that she does love them, but part of me thinks that she loves them because she always has, and because they're her flesh and blood. She doesn't really like them anymore, does she?

Anyways, great job on this chapter too! You are still one of my favourite authors on this site, and this story remains my number one favourite story! Congratulations on the Dobby Award, by the way - you definitely deserved that one x

 Report Review

Review #33, by Liana The Headmaster

7th February 2015:
I think the last memory given to Amelia was a nice touch. Maybe we all have pleasant memories in our last moments. We'll never know until that time I guess.

Author's Response: I agree, it's a very interesting thing to think about. I'm glad you liked that moment with Amelia, I have a fondness for her and it was an interesting scene to write. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #34, by Liana The Horror

6th February 2015:
I foolishly thought Tori would be nicer than she was after kissing Terry. I don't know why I thought that. She's a pureblood. I hope she doesn't hurt Terry too much.

Author's Response: Yeah, Tor still has a lot of changing to do, unfortunately. But it's still early, and there's time for her to redeem herself! :D Thanks so much for another review! :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by Liana The Detention

5th February 2015:
It's good to hear that Mr. Yaxley is still alive. I'm always happy I don't have to take potions. The ingredients sound disgusting.

Author's Response: Yes! Ah, I agree. Gross ingredients and it would also be a lot of hard work to make a potion. I'll definitely leave it for the fanfic characters! :P

Thanks so much again! I love your reviews!

 Report Review

Review #36, by Liana The Unknown

5th February 2015:
I think Tor and Terry are just a couple of friends fooling around. I'm worried about Mr. Yaxley at the moment. Maybe he's out on personal business. I'm really enjoying your story.

Author's Response: Hi again! I'm glad you're worried about Yaxley, he gets himself into a lot of tough situations and leaves poor Tor to worry about him. Thanks so much, I'm really glad to hear you're liking the story! :)

 Report Review

Review #37, by Liana The Bat Bogey Hex

5th February 2015:
I was afraid the poor toad was going to explode. The Bat Boogey Hex is Ginny's signature move. She seems to practice it indiscriminately.

Author's Response: Ah, I know! Poor toad. :( Part of the reason I originally included Ginny in the story was so that I could have her cast the Bat Bogey hex, it just seems so awful but also hilarious.

Thanks so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #38, by Liana The Hospital Wing

5th February 2015:
I'm sure it's hard to be a Slytherin and make friends outside of that house. Voldemort is being as charming as ever.

Author's Response: Hello! :) It definitely would be hard, since the Slytherins stick to their own even more than the other houses. Yeah, that Voldy's a real great guy, isn't he? :P

Thanks so much for the review! :D

 Report Review

Review #39, by Liana The Quidditch Trials

1st February 2015:
That was a nice bit of luck--running into the person she was looking for to begin with. I hate it when someone overdoes it in trying to give advice when maybe you're just a bit jittery but still know what to do.

Author's Response: Hi again! It was some good luck, for sure. And yes, I agree - Tor knows what to do, and they were being quite irritating with smothering her with advice like that. Thanks so much for all the reviews - you're awesome! :)

 Report Review

Review #40, by Evil Otter The Prank

1st February 2015:
I'm still laughing about the prank that they pulled and the way that they got past Snape. I think that this is the best chapter yet in your magnificent story.

I can't wait to red the next chapter!!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Ah, I'm so glad you liked the prank! It was so ridiculous, but I was giggling the whole time while writing it. :P Thanks so much for reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #41, by Liana The Worst of Crushes

30th January 2015:
It would be very tempting to name a pug Pansy. I wonder who this mysterious student is. I don't blame Astoria for trying to escape Goyle. She's made him sound unattractive.

Author's Response: Hi again! It is a great pug name, isn't it? Goyle is definitely not the best, and his aggressive behaviour to Tor is quite disturbing for her. Thanks so much for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #42, by Liana The Death Eater's Daughter

30th January 2015:
I'm glad you explained why Daphne and Astoria went by Yaxley. I was trying to figure that out.

Author's Response: Hi! :) This was one of my favourites of the early chapters, because I got the chance to do some exposition and explaining. I'm glad you liked the explanation and found it helpful. Thanks so much for reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #43, by Liana The Association of Slytherin Students

30th January 2015:
How hysterical that they are the Association of Slytherin Students. I'm surprised you were able to use the initials in the story. If I use anything close to an objectionable word I get a warning.

Author's Response: Hi again! :) I was able to use the initials because I have the 'Contains Profanity' warning on my story and it fulfills a certain rating - there are guidelines about which words we're allowed to use in the Terms of Service. Hehe, I thought it was quite funny as well. Thanks for reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #44, by Liana The Slytherin Boys

30th January 2015:
Funny that Slytherins are smoking Muggle weed. It sounds like there's one Muggle thing the Slytherins like.

Author's Response: Hello! :) I'm glad you found it funny - I imagined there would be elements of Muggle culture leaking over to the wizards. :P Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #45, by Liana The Beginning

30th January 2015:
I wonder how many people really didn't like Draco. It seemed like he was usually a bully.

Author's Response: Hi again! I definitely think there were quite a few people who wouldn't like Draco, either because he bullied them or acted like he was better than them. It was fun writing how the other characters detested him so much at this point. :P

Thanks so much for the great review!

 Report Review

Review #46, by Liana Prologue

30th January 2015:
This looked good so I thought I'd try it out. It's strange how the girl narrating remembers the Death Eaters from her younger days and compares them to how they are now. Hard to believe they were nice once.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm glad you decided to try this out, and thank you for all the lovely reviews! :D It definitely is hard to believe they were nice, but that's one of the paradoxes this story explores quite a bit.

Thanks so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #47, by Evil Otter The Headmaster

24th January 2015:
I completely understand why your story was voted the Most Addicting of 2014, I can't stop reading it! You have been serving as an inspiration for me to continue to write. I have a long way to go before I reach the caliber of writing that you display.

Keep writing please!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Ah, you are so kind! Thank you! Something I learned from writing this story is that the more a person writes, the more confident and dedicated they become. The fact that you called me an inspiration is so lovely, thank you so much! :D ♥

 Report Review

Review #48, by marauder5 The Future

19th January 2015:
It's what - ten years later? - and I'm back to reviewing! Finally! And let me start off by just expressing my pure love for the beginning scene in the hospital wing, where Terry and Tor just feel so NORMAL and carefree and it makes my heart burst with love for them. With everything else going on, those little moments just mean so much, and I love that you included them spying on Ron and Hermione and giggling to themselves like normal teenagers.

Terry bringing up Bentley and the terrible fate of that poor family was also such an intriguing read. I know how torn Tor must be, because as I reader, I feel so torn myself! I mean, her father is obviously not a good person and by my moral standards, she should just cut ties with all those people and run away with Terry (I may have read ahead before reviewing, hehe...) But at the same time, just as she states, those people are all the people she ever cared for before she met Terry. The people who raised her and grew up alongside her. So it's not as black and white or as simple as that...

And can I just say how much I adore Terry's friends? THey whole library bit just makes me so happy, with them teasing Michael about Ginny and Cho, the way they discuss equal rights in the Wizarding vs. Muggle world... It's so spot on and funny enough makes for a really light, enjoyable read, which I assume is because Tor, dspite of everything else, feels really happy and relaxed around them.

PYXIS! I knew it was just a matter of time before someone would start suspecting something. I can't help but feel like he would be the only one out of Tor's friend who might keep it a secret though, to protect her. At least I hope he will...

The Death Eater scene was so brilliantly written. It had a completely different tone than the scenes from Tor's perspective - which it, of course, should. You really do get inside Yaxley's head and it's so faniscating. If JKR had written something from the POV of the other side, I'm sure it would have been exactly like this. I loved it, and yes, I can see why this is one of your favourite chapters. It was absolutely perfect, and once again, I'm in awe at your writing skills. You REALLY should write a book one day.


 Report Review

Review #49, by Kristina1990 The End

13th January 2015:
Wow. I can see why this was elected the most addicting story of 2014. I was very glad that the book was finished by the time I started reading. It gave me the distinct advantage that I could rush through it without having to wait for updates. I guess those times will be over now. I'll have to wait like everyone else in the sequel.

It was a fascinating story to read. I loved the way with which you integrated known facts from the books with your own story. It felt like it could have really happened that way.

The Slytherins, always depicted as spiteful and mean characters, are a group just like the Gryffindors and the Hufflepuffs. Some stick up for each other, some betray and some cheat. They probably do all of this with less mercy and more brutality, but at the end of the day they are children influenced by their parents' beliefs and lifestyles. They stick to what they know and what they were taught during most of their lives.

And then, sometimes, they see a different side and they are confronted with new realities and questions. This was shown beautifully with Astoria, who has gone through a tremendous character change in this novel. She was never one of the worst, but still prejudicial enough (like any of us would have been). But she has come a long way and I can't wait to see what happens next.

Author's Response: Hello!! :)

Wow, thank you! You are so kind and hearing your thoughts is really encouraging and kind. I'm hoping to get the chapters of the sequel written and posted regularly, and it's going pretty well so far. :D

I'm so pleased you liked this story and how it integrated with canon. I had such a good time developing these portrayals of the Slytherins, and knowing that readers engaged with them is really helpful and lovely.

I love your comments about Astoria, that's just how I feel about her and I'm so glad you liked her developments throughout the story. Thank you so much for this wonderful review and your support on this story!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #50, by Hanit The Secret on the Staircase

12th January 2015:
Well we all know Astoria will end up w Malfoy ew. I am just waiting to see how you will make that happen and just why she would chose him even if Terry died (which I suspect is going to be what happens)

Author's Response: Hello! :) I do plan on following canon, but there might be some twists and turns along the way. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>