Reading Reviews for The Girl from Slytherin
  
421 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Liana The Worst of Crushes

30th January 2015:
It would be very tempting to name a pug Pansy. I wonder who this mysterious student is. I don't blame Astoria for trying to escape Goyle. She's made him sound unattractive.

Author's Response: Hi again! It is a great pug name, isn't it? Goyle is definitely not the best, and his aggressive behaviour to Tor is quite disturbing for her. Thanks so much for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by Liana The Death Eater's Daughter

30th January 2015:
I'm glad you explained why Daphne and Astoria went by Yaxley. I was trying to figure that out.

Author's Response: Hi! :) This was one of my favourites of the early chapters, because I got the chance to do some exposition and explaining. I'm glad you liked the explanation and found it helpful. Thanks so much for reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #28, by Liana The Association of Slytherin Students

30th January 2015:
How hysterical that they are the Association of Slytherin Students. I'm surprised you were able to use the initials in the story. If I use anything close to an objectionable word I get a warning.

Author's Response: Hi again! :) I was able to use the initials because I have the 'Contains Profanity' warning on my story and it fulfills a certain rating - there are guidelines about which words we're allowed to use in the Terms of Service. Hehe, I thought it was quite funny as well. Thanks for reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #29, by Liana The Slytherin Boys

30th January 2015:
Funny that Slytherins are smoking Muggle weed. It sounds like there's one Muggle thing the Slytherins like.

Author's Response: Hello! :) I'm glad you found it funny - I imagined there would be elements of Muggle culture leaking over to the wizards. :P Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #30, by Liana The Beginning

30th January 2015:
I wonder how many people really didn't like Draco. It seemed like he was usually a bully.

Author's Response: Hi again! I definitely think there were quite a few people who wouldn't like Draco, either because he bullied them or acted like he was better than them. It was fun writing how the other characters detested him so much at this point. :P

Thanks so much for the great review!


 Report Review

Review #31, by Liana Prologue

30th January 2015:
This looked good so I thought I'd try it out. It's strange how the girl narrating remembers the Death Eaters from her younger days and compares them to how they are now. Hard to believe they were nice once.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm glad you decided to try this out, and thank you for all the lovely reviews! :D It definitely is hard to believe they were nice, but that's one of the paradoxes this story explores quite a bit.

Thanks so much! :D


 Report Review

Review #32, by Evil Otter The Headmaster

24th January 2015:
I completely understand why your story was voted the Most Addicting of 2014, I can't stop reading it! You have been serving as an inspiration for me to continue to write. I have a long way to go before I reach the caliber of writing that you display.

Keep writing please!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Ah, you are so kind! Thank you! Something I learned from writing this story is that the more a person writes, the more confident and dedicated they become. The fact that you called me an inspiration is so lovely, thank you so much! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #33, by marauder5 The Future

19th January 2015:
It's what - ten years later? - and I'm back to reviewing! Finally! And let me start off by just expressing my pure love for the beginning scene in the hospital wing, where Terry and Tor just feel so NORMAL and carefree and it makes my heart burst with love for them. With everything else going on, those little moments just mean so much, and I love that you included them spying on Ron and Hermione and giggling to themselves like normal teenagers.

Terry bringing up Bentley and the terrible fate of that poor family was also such an intriguing read. I know how torn Tor must be, because as I reader, I feel so torn myself! I mean, her father is obviously not a good person and by my moral standards, she should just cut ties with all those people and run away with Terry (I may have read ahead before reviewing, hehe...) But at the same time, just as she states, those people are all the people she ever cared for before she met Terry. The people who raised her and grew up alongside her. So it's not as black and white or as simple as that...

And can I just say how much I adore Terry's friends? THey whole library bit just makes me so happy, with them teasing Michael about Ginny and Cho, the way they discuss equal rights in the Wizarding vs. Muggle world... It's so spot on and funny enough makes for a really light, enjoyable read, which I assume is because Tor, dspite of everything else, feels really happy and relaxed around them.

PYXIS! I knew it was just a matter of time before someone would start suspecting something. I can't help but feel like he would be the only one out of Tor's friend who might keep it a secret though, to protect her. At least I hope he will...

The Death Eater scene was so brilliantly written. It had a completely different tone than the scenes from Tor's perspective - which it, of course, should. You really do get inside Yaxley's head and it's so faniscating. If JKR had written something from the POV of the other side, I'm sure it would have been exactly like this. I loved it, and yes, I can see why this is one of your favourite chapters. It was absolutely perfect, and once again, I'm in awe at your writing skills. You REALLY should write a book one day.

xx

 Report Review

Review #34, by Kristina1990 The End

13th January 2015:
Wow. I can see why this was elected the most addicting story of 2014. I was very glad that the book was finished by the time I started reading. It gave me the distinct advantage that I could rush through it without having to wait for updates. I guess those times will be over now. I'll have to wait like everyone else in the sequel.

It was a fascinating story to read. I loved the way with which you integrated known facts from the books with your own story. It felt like it could have really happened that way.

The Slytherins, always depicted as spiteful and mean characters, are a group just like the Gryffindors and the Hufflepuffs. Some stick up for each other, some betray and some cheat. They probably do all of this with less mercy and more brutality, but at the end of the day they are children influenced by their parents' beliefs and lifestyles. They stick to what they know and what they were taught during most of their lives.

And then, sometimes, they see a different side and they are confronted with new realities and questions. This was shown beautifully with Astoria, who has gone through a tremendous character change in this novel. She was never one of the worst, but still prejudicial enough (like any of us would have been). But she has come a long way and I can't wait to see what happens next.

Author's Response: Hello!! :)

Wow, thank you! You are so kind and hearing your thoughts is really encouraging and kind. I'm hoping to get the chapters of the sequel written and posted regularly, and it's going pretty well so far. :D

I'm so pleased you liked this story and how it integrated with canon. I had such a good time developing these portrayals of the Slytherins, and knowing that readers engaged with them is really helpful and lovely.

I love your comments about Astoria, that's just how I feel about her and I'm so glad you liked her developments throughout the story. Thank you so much for this wonderful review and your support on this story!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #35, by Hanit The Secret on the Staircase

12th January 2015:
Well we all know Astoria will end up w Malfoy ew. I am just waiting to see how you will make that happen and just why she would chose him even if Terry died (which I suspect is going to be what happens)

Author's Response: Hello! :) I do plan on following canon, but there might be some twists and turns along the way. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by Kristina1990 The Horror

8th January 2015:
So, I'm slowly catching up with the chapters of this fanfiction and I understand why it won an award for causing reading addiction.

I love the story and the way you manage to portray the characters, which we mostly just associate with evil and malice. And yes, they have a different thinking, but they also have the same problems as the other side: Who to trust? Who to fear? What's coming next?

On to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hello! :) Thank you so much, this review is so lovely!

It's so fun for me to write these versions of the Slytherins, and it means a lot to hear you're engaging. They definitely are in quite difficult situations and have to ask themselves questions about who they want to be in the wizarding world, which is fascinating to write about.

Thanks so much for the lovely reviews! :D


 Report Review

Review #37, by heronduck The Visitor

7th January 2015:
I can't tell you how much it hurts reading about Amelia and Orpheus. Can you please write some kind of one shot of them? I'd love to read about their love during their Hogwarts days before... The Fallout. You're a brilliant writer and this is probably one of my favourite stories on here! Its a great deviation from the usual cliche humour ones I love reading.

Author's Response: Hello! :) Wow, that's an amazing idea! It has sort of crossed my mind before because I love Orpheus and Amelia's backstory, but I just might have to make that happen sometime. :)

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, you are so kind!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #38, by Secret Santa ;D The Seer

6th January 2015:
Hello, I'm back once again for another chapter. I regret to inform you that this will most likely be the last review I will be able to give you before it is time to reveal our identities. Suffice to say, I will be back to finish this wonderful story under my actual name. I think I'll miss reviewing incognito, I must admit.

I am saddened that Terry decided to crumple up Tor's letter, but I am intrigued by this girl who wants to take a walk with her. She seems to be a strange one, but certainly bold. I'm not sure if I would have made eye contact with the Slytherin girl who hexed me not too long ago. Especially when no one is around to stop her from doing so again. Luckily for her, Tor is not the type to hex unsuspecting children when removed from the peer pressure of her group.

I am just bursting with joy at her starting to think of Muggles are real human beings. This is big for me because I really wanted her to come around and not continue on stuck in her ways. Hopefully Boot pulls her out of her tiny little world in which no outside ideas ever enter. I feel like all she needs is a fresh perspective.

This Emma girl is truly radiating something special right off the page. It's phenomenal that I can feel her unique nature so clearly. Even the way she calls her Astoria feels very powerful, as if she has some sort of hold on you.

It's upsetting that Emma says that she's going to have a lifelong love, but not with who she's meant to be with. I'm absolutely sure she means Draco. I had a feeling you'd follow canon, but I wasn't entirely sure until now. I suppose I'll just use that as an excuse to appreciate Terry and Tor together even more while it lasts. I'm just hoping that Terry isn't one of the ones who die in the war…don’t know how I'd feel after reading that.

So many people are echoing the exact thing that I'm thinking about Tor. She's such a great person that you almost want to hold her hand and guide her away from all that the people around her are telling her. Even Emma thinks that she's a good person stuck in a bad situation.

Excited about Terry wanting to talk to Tor during the match! And they're kissing already! But then, they're remembering that they're supposed to be angry.

I am so here for this discussion they're having. They're finally just putting things out in the open. At the very least, admitting that they like each other. Of course, the idea of 'We can deal with the consequences later' is a nice one, until the consequences actually transpire, that is. And, thanks to the prologue, we know that Boot ends up in Death Eater hands, so I'm a bit frightened of what these consequences actually end up being.

I cannot believe one of them attempted to use the Cruciatus Curse on Tor and Amaris! I'm all for her using Imperio after that, clearly they've decided that boundaries do not exist within this duel. It's actually really awesome how you describe Tor using the curse to defeat their team.

Pyxis said something incredibly insightful here--'sometimes you can lose by winning, or win through losing. I wholeheartedly agree with that sentiment and thought it was rather genius.

Okay, I can definitely say that whatever I was expecting, it was not for them to walk in on Daphne and Blaise in the Common Room, followed by Pyxis punching Blaise in the face. That was not on my list of predictions for this story.

…It was brilliant though.

And here we are. The end of my Secret Santa identity for this year. It's been an absolute pleasure being your SS and finally becoming acquainted with this wonderful story. I hope you have enjoyed your gifts as much as I've enjoyed giving them ;D

 Report Review

Review #39, by Secret Santa ;D The Headmaster

6th January 2015:
The story of Amelia Bones and Yaxley really is so heartbreaking. I didn't think I was going to feel much for him in this story, but it turns out, you can humanize anyone. I'm feeling upset that things had to happen this way for them. I do love the idea of a Debate Club at Hogwarts, though. The fact that he chose Selena right then and there must have crushed Amelia. When the Death Eaters came to kill her and Yaxley filled her last moments with the memory of them I got far too emotional. That could have been something that actually happened to me, the way I reacted.

I love the three forms of romantic feelings. You know how sometimes you read something that is just so universal that you could show it to anyone and you're certain they'd be able to just get it? That's what I am continuously thinking while reading this story. I could show large chunks of this story to my mother, who has never been interested in Harry Potter in the slightest, and she'd be absolutely enamored with what you're saying. The ideas are just universal.

YES, she's planning on talking to Terry again! I was worried it might take longer to get to that point, but I'm so glad it didn't because I just want to see more of them together.

Ginny is so amazing here and every time she appears I like her a little bit more. I was never a gigantic fan of hers in canon either, so this is all your work.

Again, there's the heavy dramatic irony here with Tor asking Dumbledore of all people if objects can have souls. I assume that he looked over at Marvolo Gaunt's Ring, as the time period matches up. It's remarkable how much is going on just out of the scope of Tor's vision and how skillfully you slip them in.

I am so glad that Tor is willing to talk things out with Terry. Loving the direction the story is going in!

 Report Review

Review #40, by Secret Santa ;D The Horror

6th January 2015:
You don't tell us that the girl helping her is Hermione, but you tie it in so well with canon that we know anyway. You're so good at doing things like that where we aren't told things explicitly, but are allowed to work it out ourselves.

Malfoy is terrible to threaten to actually report to Voldemort about Hermione giving her a hand. Talk about overreaction! Also, it's funny that he's gone from 'wait until my father hears about this' to 'wait until my Master hears about this.' It's like all he's done is went and found someone bigger to hide behind.

Terry's literary references are golden and the fact that his middle name is Hyperion made me smile. Scorpius is my absolute favorite, so the fact that they have that in common makes me (somehow) like him even more. There's times during this story in which I really wish I wrote this. So many 'Why didn't I think of that???" moments all over the place. I figure a stories only really good once I'm jealous that I didn't come up with the idea myself.

You wrote their kiss so magnificently perfect. I can never get so detailed and in depth about them, I could only wish.

And then you bring everything crashing down as Tor realizes that her new perfect guy is Muggleborn. I knew this wouldn't be pretty. There were signs, but she ignored them to exist in her nice little world of denial. It hurts to read Terry insisting 'surely it doesn't matter' and panicking. I can almost hear him in my head, realizing all too late that Tor has a long way to go at this point before it 'doesn't matter.' This is the saddest thing that could have possibly happened, but also the most resonant. This chapter was excellent.

 Report Review

Review #41, by Secret Santa ;D The Detention

5th January 2015:
It's really nice seeing Daphne getting protective over Tor - we haven't gotten to see much of that aspect of their relationship so far. Her memories of them are really sweet between the two of them.

I'm almost certain about Taurus now. But, I'll hold off on guessing in case I am monumentally wrong.

Theo somehow seems to always be against the truly terrible things the other Slytherin students suggest. I can't decide if that is coincidence or if he is just a better person than all of them.

The reveal of Draco's Dark Mark was perfect. He clearly does not yet realize what he's really being used for here. He's still his old arrogant self, although I suspect that we'll get to see his transformation into what we see in Deathly Hallows over the course of the story.

It's such a great bit of dramatic irony that they think Snape is a Death Eater through and through.

Terry is brewing Polyjuice Potion just for the challenge? He is amazing.

There's so much subtext in everything Snape says. Telling her that she'll eventually be a perfect spy and imploring that she chooses the right path. That's so much more meaningful knowing that side that he's truly on.

I am really enjoying the mental image of Death Eaters on Chocolate Frog Cards. Tor thinks of the funniest things like that.

The Katie Bell incident is so much more frightening from Tor's point of view. The piece of soul possessing her had to be so painful. Your writing in that portion is just remarkable. Amazing work!

 Report Review

Review #42, by Secret Santa ;D The Unknown

5th January 2015:
I love Terry and Tor's banter. Terry chasing down the last of the bats and naming it Aslan--where do you get this stuff? I'm really glad Tor recognized that Terry is far from perfect, but still finds him irresistible. I think that's a lot more realistic and better to base a relationship off of.

It's interesting that Tor knows better than to mention what she and her Slytherin friends get up to. She seems to already understand that Terry doesn't exactly subscribe to her side of things.

I react the same as Terry when people tell me that they don't read fiction. I can't even imagine only reading biographies and self help books and such. Disappearing into a narrative beats all if you ask me. Terry mentioning dystopias makes me smile really wide. We'd be best friends, I'm sure of it.

He wanted to be a novelist, but then realized that a war was approaching, I'm sure. Which would certainly put that notion on the back burner. That's pretty sad to think about, especially because he can't have been the only person to postpone their dreams because of Tor's lot.

Terry and I have more in common with each passing chapter. His ability to memorize poetry is so awesome. I read An Horatian Ode for school some years ago. He couldn't be more accurate with his use of that particular poem for this exact moment.

I love these little moments where Tor reflects about Muggles. How she finds it strange to think of them having wars, kings and revolutions speaks to the level of dehumanization being the daughter of a Death Eater really entails. She's been--in effect--brainwashed her entire life. This ongoing revelation she's experiencing in which she's beginning to realize these are human beings who live actual lives is going to set in and it's going to be a nasty shock for her. You're carefully pacing that in all of the right ways.

Being drawn and quartered is one of my worst fears. Ever since I learned about it in history, I have a huge irrational fear of it. Especially irrational in that I'm pretty sure it isn't really practiced much these days..

Studying the Chronicles of Narnia from a critical perspective!! This boy is my favorite person ever.

I cannot believe that Tor is actually going to go through with attending Muggle Studies class. That feels like it'll lead to something bad, but I'm not sure what. I don't think I've ever seen a Muggle Studies class written about in fanfiction, so I'm excited to see what that's like, though.

I AM SO SUSPICIOUS OF TAURUS. I hope my instincts about his smell of smoke and 'boy-cologne' are correct. But, I suppose I'll just have to wait and see.

I'm in shock about how perfect it is that Tor tried to look into Draco's mind and he thought it was Snape. The way this parallels canon is incredible.

I wonder what's holding up Yaxley. Also, the euphemism people of the moon is really spectacular. I quite like the 'T' names honestly and I sincerely hope Boot begins to quote poetry in every chapter. :P

 Report Review

Review #43, by Secret Santa ;D The Bat Bogey Hex

5th January 2015:
I was literally JUST thinking that maybe Griz was just angry Tor rejected her brother so blatantly. Although, any self-respecting witch would have done the same.

I am so shocked to see Pyxis saying all of this to Ron and Ginny. I know he would say all of this, but knowing that is totally different from actually reading it, apparently. I am just clutching my pearls and gasping all through this scene.

I'm truly disgusted with Goyle here.. I wasn't much of a fan of his before, but this is a new low for his character. As if forcing himself on her is going to help his chances. I was panicking right along with her, that scene was terrifying.

I'm so happy that it's Ginny that came to her rescue! Especially with her signature Bat Bogey Hex! I'm really hoping they become friends of some sort, even though that would be difficult to pull off given who her friends are. It's so awesome that Ginny helped Tor out even though she didn't necessarily like her.

Tor is so transparent with the classic 'asking for a friend' excuse :P It's hilarious that Ginny totally knows. And her statement about Tor being 'just a kid' is exactly what I've been thinking this whole time.

I can't believe Yaxley used the Imperius Curse on his own daughter! And at such a young age too…that would have terrified me. I do really want to know what he did when he was under the Imperius Curse, if he found it particularly terrible. That can't just be anything, considering that he's a Death Eater and must have a higher standard for what constitutes terrible.

Tor's group is surprisingly friendly when contrasted with how they treat people they don't like. I'm not surprised that Snape doesn't harp on too much about her being late, he's almost had that bias toward his Slytherin students.

I was really worried when Demetria was shouting at Tor, mostly afraid of what she might do. Luckily she only cast Levicorpus. It seems as though she already isn't quite so mean as the other students in her house. And Ginny coming to save the day again is so cool, especially because this time, she's saving someone else from Tor. I'm loving the way she's used in this story so far. Excellent work as usual.

 Report Review

Review #44, by heronduck The Headmaster

3rd January 2015:
Amelia Bones and Yaxley pulled my heartstrings. This is one of my favourite chapters.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! :) I'm so glad you liked this chapter, it's one of my favourites as well.

 Report Review

Review #45, by heronduck The Worst of Crushes

2nd January 2015:
Your story is beyond addicting! I can't stop reading it! Brilliant work!

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much!! :D

 Report Review

Review #46, by Secret Santa ;D The Hospital Wing

2nd January 2015:
I haven't given much in terms of clues to help figure out my identity, so today I will. Your clue is as follows: Contradictory swear uses toes.

That one took me a while. Now, on to the review!

Voldemort point of view is always creepy! Without fail. You've written it great here, capturing his super creepy vibe in this sort of poetic way. I especially like this scene because I'm viewing it through the lens of knowing that Snape is on the side of the Order all throughout this. You convey his body language so perfectly, I might as well be in the room as all of this is happening.

Ah Terry is back and everything he says and does is just so cool. Like, he just spins into his chair and kicks his feet up. He even sits down cool.

I feel like Terry is attempting to gauge Tor's reaction to being told that Goyle's father is a Death Eater, to judge her level of sympathy toward that side. I think he may headed toward disappointment when it comes to that, unfortunately.

The line - "The coming war is something that everybody and nobody is talking about." struck me as a really impactful one for some reason. Like, you went on to explain it in the rest of the paragraph, but I already got that exact mental image just off of the strength of that one line.

Aw, she thinks he's a pureblood...that's going to be a nasty shock.

I see his wink far too clearly in my head for any of this to be healthy. I'm literally obsessed with Terry Boot as a character.

'Grinning, but not in a sarcastic way' - Who is even supposed to be falling in love here, Tor or me??

I really love this story. I'm quite enamored with your writing and I cannot wait to see where all of this goes!

 Report Review

Review #47, by BellaLestrange87 The Greenhouse

26th December 2014:
Okay, so I meant to review every chapter, but I got addicted and kept hitting the Next Chapter button.

So Draco and Snape are arguing again, are they? At this point, Draco seems to be somewhere in the middle of still proud of being a Death Eater and beginning to crack under the strain. In the last chapter, she described the shadows under his eyes, but now he decides that Snape is jealous of him. What a very apt description of Snape's anger. If he doesn't take it out on his own house, I think Astoria's house has Potions/Defence with Gryffindor.

I think that Terry and Tor are still in the awkward stage. They're trying to make small talk, and nervously dodging around the lineage/blood status topic of conversation, as well as the war and Voldemort. One thing: that first-year Slytherin who was fiercely studying from a Potions book in order to avoid Snape's wrath. Either she's failing Slughorn's course, or that should be a Defence book.

Now, why would the secret room seal itself against Terry? What did he do? I don't think this is a good sign.

"Madame Pince, the birdlike librarian, shoots a fierce look in our direction, and the Hufflepuff girls Terry was speaking with before peer over their shoulders and giggle as Terry moves away." I think you want "was speaking with before peering over their shoulders and giggling" here.

I thought Ron was poisoned at midnight? Hermione's barely-concealed jealousy comes out well here.

Demetria's ace card, as Astoria describes it, was somewhat effective. Terry's reaction was perfect (although if Yaxley wasn't known to be a Death Eater, how would Terry know about that? Unless I missed something.)

I wonder why Amaris sounds nervous? Are the rest of the Slytherins going Muggle-born-baiting again? But she is being hypocritical; Astoria tried to stop the baiting (that was losing points) so Amaris is in the wrong here. And considering what next year is going to be for them, I don't think prefecthood is going to be assigned based on merit; it'll be based on how important of a Death Eater your parent(s) is (are).

You missed the beginning quotation mark here - Don’t touch it, though. Touching the flowers gives the wizard frostbite with varying severity. It’s used in potions for healing internal injuries and expediting the process: most of these blooms are destined for Madame Pomfrey’s cauldron during Quidditch season.”

So Terry recognizes that Astoria's attempted memory wipe was an act of desperation! I think there is hope! (Although considering that Astoria ends up marrying Draco, either Terry is the one fated to die in the prophecy the first-year girl told her, or their relationship fails.)

Vitaraptor? That sounds suspiciously like the Devil's Snare in Philosopher's Stone. A distant cousin, perhaps?

~Olivia

 Report Review

Review #48, by Secret Santa ;D The Quidditch Trials

23rd December 2014:
Here for the last day of this week. This has been super fun!

You've got me practically obsessed with this mystery boy's identity. I can't wait to find out who he is. I've gone through the process of elimination with everything we know about him and cross referenced with canon. Hopefully he is a canon character or all of that was worthless haha.

She's having the same kinds of thoughts for her Muggleborn as she has for Theo!! She's even getting pretty for him, that's how you know she's got it bad.

I'm surprised that she told Amaris. I wonder if she'll confide in her about his blood purity once she finds out. It certainly would have been awkward if he'd have overheard their conversation about him. (That's totally happened to me before and it was HORRID)

She's thinking about joining Voldemort and she's only fourteen! She definitely doesn't know what the reality of it is really like. This reminds me of poor Regulus.

The guy is so charismatic and sarcastic and he's Terry Boot!! Not who I was thinking at all, but he was on the list! Wow, I am so glad it's a canon character and one that I haven't read before. This feel like a story that calls for a minor character as a love interest for some reason. It's going to be awesome to get to know him more and more, he's already an incredible character.

I do want to know how his room works and who changes the password, but he said all will be explained in time, so I'll wait. I love her crush on him, it is really so sweet.

You wrote the Quidditch really well. I was a little sad that she got hit by a Bludger right before she was going to win, but it was a great ending to the chapter. I feel as though things are picking up. Such a great way to end week one. The story is really, really great!

 Report Review

Review #49, by Secret Santa ;D The Worst of Crushes

22nd December 2014:
Back for day six!

This is my favourite chapter so far. The whole Goyle fancying her thing could not be any funnier, especially since Amaris is tempting him over with food and generally doing everything possible to make things worse. That letter from her mother couldn't be any more cringe worthy for Tor. A fifteen year old girl because told that marrying Goyle wouldn't be so bad! That's stuff of nightmares :P

Wow, the way Tor reacts to the girl she ran into was surprising. She must really be having a bad day.

The rest of her day is just a series of unfortunate events, is it not? I especially love the tiny cupid shooting her in the arm with an arrow.

Her literal mad dash away from Goyle's incoming advances is so great. This story is far more humorous than I expected it to be, at least for now. The portrait named Anne was a nice touch. I really like when portraits are incorporated into stories here because they can be such interesting characters if used correctly. Glad she was introduced to a room that I don't believe we know from canon. I am all for new secrets of Hogwarts when a story is centered on someone we don't hear from in the books.

He's reading the Chronicles of Narnia! This has to be her Muggleborn.

There's so many things mentioned here that seem very much like hints and foreshadowing. I'll just have to wait and see.

I really like this guy. He's like Neville, but with more confidence. And he's in Harry's year. I'm thinking he's a Ravenclaw. But, I don't have a definitive guess yet. They have excellent chemistry and I just cannot wait to see them together again! Their first meeting was pretty much everything I hoped it would be.

I'll be back again tomorrow!

 Report Review

Review #50, by Secret Santa ;D The Death Eater's Daughter

21st December 2014:
Day five!

I love the House of Yaxley's history so much! We never really got much family history of non-major families in the books, but I'm sure there are some pretty awesome family lines to be explored all over the Wizarding world!

I like the way you phrased 'it took him several years to love her' it's just so matter-of-fact and to the point. And that there's a Hogwarts Debate club, that would get SO tense! It's amazing that Tor sees nothing wrong with her father and his friends using Unforgivable Courses on people at school, but that's the power of normalization. People can be convinced that a lot of horrible things are fine if it's all they've ever known.

I find it a little creepy that Voldemort thinks women are important only for breeding. It's kind of like they're racehorses to him or something. Creepy is to be expected of him though.

Yaxley was probably smart not to go down with the rest of the Death Eaters. For himself and for his family. I see now how no one associates the name Yaxley with anything too bad. Of course, they still use Greengrass just in case. You kind of make Yaxley seem awesome in a twisted way here--'master of manipulation, a dominator of men, skilled caster of the Imperius curse'

Okay, I love the way you handled Tor's affinity for Occlumency. I didn't feel like it was a 'Mary Sue' trait. I think it's more that she's inclined toward it, rather than magically (lol) just knowing how to do it! Kind of like Harry's talent for the Patronus.

Another amazing chapter! Love getting to know more about the backstory of all of this. This story is mind blowing. The Dobby win was so deserved. See you tomorrow!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>