Reading Reviews for The Girl from Slytherin
  
280 Reviews Found

Review #26, by jailbird The Beginning

23rd July 2014:
I'm confused... Astoria Yaxely? Or is there something I'm missing? Suppose I should read on!
Anyway, this was a great chapter! I love stories from the perspective of minor characters. It's really interesting to see the story from someone else's POV. The fact that's it's a Slytherin makes it all the more interesting!
Brilliant chapter. Really enjoyed reading it!

Author's Response: Hi again! :)

Yup, Tor is Astoria Yaxley - she just goes by her mother's name usually. :) It's mostly because I found him quite fascinating and wanted to tie him into the story. It sort of gets explained a little better in the fifth chapter.

I'm so glad you like it so far! One of the best parts of writing a Hogwarts era story is tying in canon and all the canon characters.

Thanks so much for your lovely reviews! :)


 Report Review

Review #27, by jailbird Prologue

23rd July 2014:
Wow, this was brilliant! I albsoltely LOVED it.
Seriously, no critism here. I'm going to go read the next chapter. I'm sorry for the unhelpful review, but I'm really excited to read on!

Author's Response: Hi! :)

Wow, thanks so much! This was the first chapter/story I posted on the archive and it means so much to know people are enjoying it. Thanks for stopping by! ♥


 Report Review

Review #28, by Ziska The Consequences

19th July 2014:
I've just spent the past few days reading this story. I love how you have woven the events of DH with what is happening in your story. I'm sad that it seems like we are getting to the end. I have loved reading about Tor and her friends and Terry. I really want there to be a happy ending for her and Terry. Thanks so much for a really enjoyable story. I look forward to reading the rest.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Wow, thank you so much! This review is so lovely and really means the world to me. I'm so pleased you're enjoying the story and Tor and Terry.

This novel is nearly complete, but there is also going to be two sequels which I've been working on planning!

Thanks so much for all your kind words! ♥


 Report Review

Review #29, by marauderfan The Consequences

15th July 2014:
ERMAHGERD I AM SO EXCITED NEW CHAPTERRR

I love how you've woven bits of DH in here even though Harry wasn't at school knowing what was going on during this time, there's clear indications, like Yaxley's office raining. And Anthony checking on his DA coin.

No time like the present right? It's nice to see that the war is initiating some people to live their life all they can, so it's nice to see Anthony becoming more comfortable with who he is. But omg that letter. So sad :( I really liked that scene though with Anthony and Tor, it was really nice to see them become closer friends.

One of the strongest parts of this chapter is how you focus so much on the rumours of what's happening outside Hogwarts. Since there's not much news that gets through which hasn't been screened by sensationalising from the Daily Prophet, or altered by the Carrows/Ministry, all they have to go on is things that may not be true, and you really captured that mood here.

I like what you've done with Draco too, how you're pointing out his real fall from grace in the eyes of the other slytherins - he used to be a ringleader of sorts and even though the other Slytherins claimed they didn't like Dumbledore, now that he's gone they are holding it against Draco - probably not helped by the negative publicity that his family has now, they don't want to be associated with him anymore. Its something that never showed during DH (because Harry wasn't there to witness it) but it completely makes sense, I hadn't thought about it that way before I read this fic.

I loved the scene with Ginny, Neville, Luna, and Tor! In particular your characterization of Neville - I can see him being quite distrustful of Tor until he has a reason not to be. And as always, your Ginny is fab. Luna too. I found it quite funny that Snape isn't able to set his own passwords and still has Dumbledore's silly sweets passwords, but oooh they were trying to steal the sword! I love how you've worked that in. And I'm so proud of Tor - she did get them caught, but it's easier to be caught by Snape than by the Carrows, that's for sure. Good thinking on her part.

Askdfjs what is happening to Terry though!? I have a feeling we're almost back to the scene in the prologue. So.. he's at least alive now, although I can't imagine he's doing too well. omg. update soon!



 Report Review

Review #30, by zealousVisionary The Beginning

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hello there!

This was definitely a great first chapter. My attention was caught right away with your lovely writing and stayed that way the whole chapter. Tor seems like an interesting, intelligent MC, and I'm loving her interactions with the other characters.

The setting was also developed quite well, and I can't wait to read the next chapter! Astoria is one of those characters I've always wondered about, and I can't wait to read more about her. Thanks for the great read!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Thanks so much! I'm glad you're liking the story so far and the writing style, that's really lovely to hear. I'm pleased you like Tor as well, she's quite fun to work on and I love getting feedback on her.

I love Astoria as well and was curious about her life, so that's how this story really got off the ground.

Thanks so much for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #31, by BookDinosaur The Beginning

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

HAI AGAIN, JENNA. :D

This chapter was so wonderful and you really manage to set the scene so well in this chapter even though, comparing it to your more recent chapters, this one is very short. You do such a great job of introducing us to the characters and their beliefs and hopes and even some of the recent activity they've gotten up to and it's all slipped in very naturally and easily.

I think your characters are really well established here and you've got the groundwork for more development and even at this early stage I'm pretty sure I could tell them apart if you described them to me separately. Tor seems like a lovely girl but she really is caught up in the wrong side and now it's making me just sad to think of how many people truly did believe their cause was the right one and died for it. :(

You know already that I love the tiny canon details you add in (or lots of the time not even canon, just making the story more interesting) and here I loved the little mention of Umbridge and how she set Amaris to research the inhuman properties of centaurs - it definitely seems like the sneaky underhanded trick she would pull with her rank. I also really loved the blood on Malfoy's robes and shoes and how he looked pleased with himself, it's a tiny detail but adds so much more to the story once you add it in, so kudos to you there!

Quite a few of the introductory chapters I've read are a bit (dare I say it? xD) boring, with the characters just being introduced and their setting being established and all that seems a bit like something the author wants to get out of the way before getting on to the actual story, but you managed to weave it into your storytelling enough that it wasn't like that at all and I didn't find it the least bit boring even if I'm technically rereading this. :P

This was a really good introductory chapter Jenna, and I'm really looking forward to reading more of this story!

Author's Response: Hi Emily!! ♥ Can I just say you are so wonderful for coming back to these early chapters? I always cringe a little bit when I re-read them but it means a lot in raising my confidence that you liked it.

Haha, it is very short! I miss the days of only writing 2k chapters. :( *sighs*

I'm so pleased that you like the characters. I really like writing them, especially Tor and Pyxis, and it's great that they seemed distinctive even at the beginning. It's so true: she was pretty much brainwashed at this point in time and so many of her peers would always be trapped in that without the option to make their own choice.

I'm glad you like the mentions of canon! One of the best things about writing Hogwarts era is the guidance of tying in canon events. Malfoy is so fun to write during this period of the story, he's so smug and annoying haha. I'm so happy you noticed and liked that detail.

Well, I'm glad you didn't find this boring - phew! :P Thank you so much for this Emily, it really means a lot!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #32, by BookDinosaur Prologue

7th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014!

JENNA! Since I've read this and blatantly and unashamedly enjoyed every second of it I decided that Event Five was the perfect way to review-bomb this story and hope that you don't mind me throwing compliments left right and centre at you because let's face it, that's probably what I'm going to be doing. :P

Right from the start, I love love love how you establish Death Eaters as normal people as well as ruthless ones, people with families and fathers who love their daughters. it just really shows that there are truly two sides to every war, and everyone, no matter how awful they might seem, is human too. The memories you slipped in here were so adorable - Narcissa taking the girls shopping, Nott shooting stars and smoke out of his wand for his friend's daughter. It just does a fantastic job of enhancing that human side that we know they have somewhere (deep down), you know?

Ahh, the fear in this chapter was so convincing, though! I don't know how, but somehow, without much dialogue, you really manage to capture the fear emanating from the boy on the floor and the scariness of the Death Eater men who can actually be so nice. :(

The way you have of describing the scene is perfect, and you really managed to establish the scene while slipping some more happy stuff like her memories in and not have it seem awkward, but you already know I adore your writing to bits so yeah. :P You build up the suspense and the mystery of it all so perfectly, and even though I know what going to happen I want to reread this thing just for the fun of it, which probably isn't a good thing sonce it's over 100k words long now, right? :P

So anyway, this is a fantastic start to your story Jenna and even though I've already read it, it has me completely sucked in, which seems to be a bit of a problem. :/ I'll need to look into that. :P

Author's Response: Hi Emily! :) Wow, how sweet are you? It means so much that you not only enjoyed this story but liked it enough to come back and read it again - yay!! Thank you!! :D

I'm so glad you liked the prologue and how the Death Eaters are introduced. It's fun for me to look back on the early chapters and how already the contrasts and multiple/contrasting identities are set up in Tor's life. Of course the family connections and tender moments are so important and I'm really glad you noticed them here.

Thank you! I'm so excited to finally post this scene at the end of the story and show how things have changed and how the reader's perspective on the moment changes. It's such a fearful time in everybody's lives and I'm pleased that came across.

Aw, thank you! ♥ It's so funny since these are literally the first 500-ish words I posted on the archive and how my writing has changed/stayed similar since then. Haha, this story is a nearly 200-K beast now (gulps). I have no clue how it ended up this long, and there's still two sequels to write as well!

Thanks so much, Emily! :D It really means a lot! ♥


 Report Review

Review #33, by samitaclover The Carrows

5th July 2014:
I cannot tell you how long I have been looking for an Astoria fanfiction on this website that dares to explain her Hogwarts life and beyond. You are an absolutely brilliant writer! I'm so glad you are pursuing Astoria's story, and have done such an awesome job so far. Also, I really like the celebrities you picked out to represent the characters. Have you planned out the rest of the series (I assume you are writing two more after you finish this one)? I can't wait to see how you tie Tor in with Draco later, I already like the few interactions they have had. Of course I want her and Terry to end up together, but I know that's not the case.

Patiently waiting for new chapters! :)
~Samita

Author's Response: Hello!!

Wow, thank you so much! Your kind words mean so much and I'm so glad you like Tor and all her struggles. This story will always be so close to my heart since it was my first fanfic.

Haha, I'm pleased you like the celebrities - it's funny to watch movies and shows with the face claims because I just associate them with the GfS characters now. :P

I have planned out the two sequels and even started writing bits and pieces of the second one since this is nearly finished. Tor's future with Draco is a long road, and there might be some twists and surprises along the way. I'm glad you like their interactions so far, the long term relationship is so fun to develop, but her and Terry's future is very interesting as well.

Haha, I sound so cryptic, even to myself.

Thanks so much for the wonderful review, Samita!! It really made my day, and the next chapter is in the queue and the one after that nearly fiinished!! :D You are awesome!! ♥

(Also, in case you haven't discovered it already, the story Traitorous Hearts by Penelope Inkwell is an amazing story about Astoria!).


 Report Review

Review #34, by marauderfan The Carrows

1st June 2014:
Jsndjsdhshsjakdj

This chapter was so intense! I loved it, but also hated it so much because of what the Carrows made Tor do, that's just horrible! I feel so bad for her, and for Michael. But based on the beginning of this chapter, I think this is going to make Tor so firmly on the side of the resistance. She has been leaning that way, but now I think it'll be even harder for her to pretend she's anything else. Which means many of her fellow Slytherins may not be too happy with her, but I think after this, Tor knows what side she's on and maybe Amaris' friendship won't matter to her anymore in that light.

The beginning part of the chapter was really good too (yes I realise I'm doing this review backwards, sorry) and it really highlighted how much Tor has changed, and even how she was still a bit influenced by all the mentors of her childhood. When she was standing up to Alecto Carrow in class though, despite that it was a little foolish, I was totally cheering for her because someone needed to make the professor not be completely in charge. Good for her for questioning authority, and it was an interesting way of doing it too that didn't expose her loyalties yet. But I suppose that may change... if Tor speaks up again, which now that I think about it is unlikely after what happened to Michael. Gah I dont know what I would do in her situation, that's so much for a fifteen year old to handle. This story is so gripping and you are doing such an AMAZING job with it, I'm on the edge of my seat waiting for more!

Author's Response: Hi Kristin! :)

Ah I was so excited to hear what people thought of this chapter! It was really hard to write, especially the end because :( but thanks so much for leaving all these thoughts on it - I really don't know what Tor and I would do without you! ♥

Yes, you're right: these sorts of events which she can't hide from are very important for Tor's development and could lead to her firmly asserting a side. She's floating by right now with the other Slytherins but since she's been on their radar before she should be more careful - or not be careful, depending on what she wants. I think you're right, though - she's changed a lot from that girl who cared about what people thought of her.

Challenging the power! :P Yeah, I was proud of her too, the old Tor wouldn't have been brave enough even if she did take a bit of a snobby approach towards Carrow. The whole experience is so awful, and I've been toying around with how to begin the next chapter and the impact of the incident in Tor's head, since she of course will be feeling terrible.

It really is a lot for a fifteen year old! :( Well, she's almost sixteen, not that it makes it much better.

Thank you so much, Kristin! Your reviews really keep me going and inspired for this story, and I hope to have the next chapter up soon! ♥


 Report Review

Review #35, by mrsdeanthomas421 The Carrows

1st June 2014:
It feels almost horrible to write great job on such a gruesome chapter, but honestly this chapter and the story as a whole are so well written. The internal struggle of Tor has been developed so nicely and I cannot wait to see what comes next. I miss Terry and am praying that he makes an appearance (even just in a letter!) sometime soon. Please update soon and keep up the good work! I get so excited when I see a new chapter.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Ah, thank you so much! :) It means so much to me that you're enjoying the story, and Tor's struggles and how she's changed throughout the story. I really love writing it and it's very lovely to hear when people are enjoying it.

Terry won't stay gone forever, I promise! :) I'm working on the next chapter now and hope to have it up in a week or so, fingers crossed.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #36, by marauder5 The Greenhouse

19th May 2014:
So... I haven't died or forgotten about this AMAZING story or anything. I did move across the world though. And wi-fi is unreliable in my new home. I have managed to read your new chapters but I haven't reviewed them and it makes me feel terrible, but I fully intend to make up for it! I'm going to try to focus on this chapter for now (even though I really want to tell you how I read ahead and how it is so amazing I don't know how to describe it, just when I thought this story couldn't get any better...)

While I love any Tor/Terry interaction I can get, I kept yelling at them in my head during that library scene for not being careful enough. I swear, one of these days Draco Malfoy or Theo or Tor's dad will walk in on them... although I guess Terry covered up for them. For now.

I love how you always manage to tie in the canon events with this. It helps so much with knowing the time and place of the story - I'm talking about Ginny bursting in to find Hermione (I love the way you write Ginny, by the way, but I think I've told you that before!)

Haha, and I couldn't help but laugh at way Tor spoke to Lancelot. She may be all strong and cold on the outside, but I think she's secretly a softie. "Would you like a new Daddy?" Priceless :D

I kind of like how you painted a picture of there being two Tors - or rather, there's Tor, Terry's girlfriend, the strong and independent and kind and perceptive one, and there's Astoria, the Death Eater's daughter, the one who tried to wipe the memory of her from his mind. It's so true. I'm also strangely happy about Terry betraying her and going to Dumbledore, because I really think Dumbledore will sympathize with Tor and possibly change the outcome of her story. That is, if he has time to do that before he dies, and if Tor will let him.

I'm very glad it was Tonks who found them! I wish I could just walk up to Tor and whisper in her ear that this is the daughter of the woman who's helping her. Maybe she'll find out at one point.

Anyway, I am thrilled that Terry and Tor are back on track for now. Expect me to come back and review the rest of the chapters (though I can't tell you exactly when that will be). And thanks again for writing this - i'm enjoying it so much it's ridiculous. You're such an incredible writer.

Author's Response: You! ♥

Ahh, do not worry at all. I was so excited to get this review and hear you're still loving the story - it means so much to me that you're reading it, whether you have the time to review or not! And I definitely understand about being busy with traveling - that's been my life for the past month which is part of why I'm so shamefully late with this review response!

I know! They are so not careful at times, which is quite dumb especially considering their dangerous circumstances. The whole relationship is just a ticking time bomb in some ways.

Thank you! I do love including the canon events, it's actually one of the best parts of writing Hogwarts era for me! And I'm so happy you like Ginny still - she's so much fun to write with how silly and lively she is.

Hehe, Tor is a big softie when it comes to animals though she tries to act cool otherwise. And who could resist Lancelot, I mean he's a pygmy puff! :P

I really like your analysis of Tor here and her two sides, and I completely agree. That's part of why I gave her this nickname in the first place, to show how she has a whole secret, different side to her. And yes, though Terry felt bad he did the right thing, and Dumbledore is one of the few people with the power to actually help her.

She might find out! :) I really wanted to write Tonks and so when she showed up at the greenhouse it fit perfectly. We definitely haven't seen the last of Andromeda and her family.

So am I! :) And don't worry at all about reviewing - like I said, even knowing you're still out there reading the chapters makes me so happy. :) Thank you so, so much for this incredible, wonderful review, my dear! ♥


 Report Review

Review #37, by Lostmyheart The Beginning

17th May 2014:
Hi again, Jenna! :D

I seriously enjoy reading your story! It's so well-written and interesting. Of course I have to adjust to the fact that they're a few years younger than Harry and the others. I was so confused, because Amaris called Dolores for Professor, and I'm like "that's not in third year". Haha :D

Now I finally find out she's Astoria. The nickname Tor was a little bit confusing, mostly because whenever I read it, I hear Thor in my mind! :D But that's just me, I can't get Chris Hemsworth out of my mind :)

And I loved the detail with the blood on Malfoy's shoes! So perfect, it truly goes along with the storyline and I thank you for that, it's so perfect :)

I can't wait to read the rest!
Avi

Author's Response: Hi again! :)

Yay, I'm glad you liked it! :) Haha yeah, Astoria is two years younger here, though I'm not really sure if that's officially canon or not.

Thor is pretty hard to forget about. :P I gave her this nickname because I wanted her to stand alone as a girl who is more than just Draco's future wife Astoria, but it has confused a few people. Hmm.

Thank you! :) I love tying in the little canon details and how Tor might notice them. :D

Thank you for another lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #38, by Lostmyheart Prologue

17th May 2014:
Hi Jenna!
(I shamlessly looked up your name in you profile)
This was a very great start, though quite short but I don't mind. I prefer reading short fics, for some reason.

I love how you described the situation, who was there and then the memory she had of them when she was a child. It showed a different side of the Death Eaters I've never seen before, that they once were normal people too (but maybe not, the memories were after the first war, so they probably weren't innocent when they watched her grow up) and I really liked it.
I'm so curious about the unnamed boy, and it seemed like they once had a relationship, or friendship.

I'll read on :)
I really enjoyed reading this, you're very talented!

Avi

Author's Response: Hi Avi! :)

Ahh, I'm a little insecure about the opening chapters of this story as they're so old and I've written hundreds of thousands of words since these (which are hopefully better than this :P) but I'm glad that you're enjoying it so far. This is like my only chapter ever that's low word count - they tend to number around 5K these days, eep. :( I have a bit of a rambling problem. :P

Anyway! I'm glad you liked seeing the other side to the Death Eaters, this story has tons of that! They definitely weren't innocent but they were able to put aside those dark deeds.

There's definitely something up with the unnamed boy! :)

Thanks so much for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #39, by Veritaserum27 Prologue

5th May 2014:
Hi!

Tagging you from review tag! Wow! Great prologue. I've seen you on the forums, and I have hear others praising your writing so I was excited to see you were up!

I have recently discovered that I really like Astoria stories and this is such a great star! The way you tell the story in so few words is really fantastic. You did such a nice job describing the scene that I thought I was watching movie seven again! I love the last line, because you built so nicely up to it with your descriptions of how kind her family friends had once been. Astoria is still quite young at this point, but she is obviously in love and is old enough to know the rules of the game have changed since she was a child. I tried to think of who the victim was, but I couldn't figure it out. It just makes me want to read more!

Great start!

Beth (Veritaserum27)

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Aw, thanks, that's so sweet! :)

I love Astoria too! This was my first chapter ever and my first real story so its a little meh at times but I'm glad you liked the prologue. You're totally right about Astoria, she's both young but has also seen a lot and seen people suffer. The victim is a bit of a secret at this point though he does appear quite soon in the story.

Thanks so much for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #40, by marauderfan The Beginning (Again)

4th May 2014:
The garden at the Dursleys' is overgrown after they haven't been there for 3 weeks? Ugh, I bet Petunia would be horrified. :P

When Tor and Pyxis were discussing whether Malfoy would be back after fleeing with the Death Eaters, it's so apparent how naive she still is at this point, or at least how much is going on that she doesn't know of. It's going to be quite a shock to her, to see how much Hogwarts has changed since last year, what with the new books and professors and new leadership.

You know, that's a good point about the Hogwarts Express. Where does it go?!

Wow, that scene on the Hogwarts Express was really intense though. The other Ravenclaws are so sweet, and I love how much they genuinely care about Tor, or at least are nice to her. Gah why did Daphne and Christian have to come in and destroy everything!? And who was that person Tor saw on the train station if it wasn't Terry? O_O

PS There was one point in that scene (where Tor is watching cows out the window) where you said "methodologically" and I think you meant "methodically".

Anyway. I loved Ginny and Neville's cameo as they sit at the table planning to restart the DA. They're about the only good thing about that last scene. (Meaning that a lot of unpleasant changes have happened in the story, not that the writing is bad haha.) Oh dear, Demetria Avery is back. And I have a suspicion that she knew something about Tor when she left, too - so this is really not good.

I wonder how Tor's first class with the Carrows will be, since I know that's coming up. How much more of this can Tor take? because right now she's doing all right at lying and convincing some people (but not Pyxis), but I don't think that will last long, she's about to crack. :( Also speaking of Pyxis, I love that he covered for her there when she was asking about Taurus.

Another great chapter Jenna!

Author's Response: Hi Kristin! :D

Petunia would probably have a scandalous fainting fit if she could see it! :P Honestly Vernon probably would too as he's quite attached to his lawn.

You understand Tor so well! She is still sort of in denial and being ignorant, even if it's for the case of making herself feel better. I'm working on the next few chapters now and it's so dark and really full of angst, I'm excited/feel a little bad for putting Tor through all of this...

Right?! And who drives it and takes care of it?! Maybe it's kind of like the Knight Bus and is used for other wizards during the year or something.

I'm glad you liked that scene and found jt intense! The other Ravenclaws are quite nice, but Tor's friendship with them and the Terry connection are bound to lead to trouble. Hmm, can't quite say about the person on the train platform yet. :P But I'm glad you intrigued about it!

Ah ha, a typo! I shall hunt it down once I finish this response! :D

Haha, I agree! The whole scene at Hogwarts is just bad news bears for Tor and most other people. Demetria definitely had some information, and she's not Tor's biggest fan at the moment - not that anybody is. Tor really has a lot of random enemies. :P

It is coming up, I'm quite excited to post it! :) You're right, Tor is on the verge of cracking and some more events might push her over the edge. Pyxis has her back for now, but like Tor he's under a lot of stress and pressure. These poor kids, nobody is really getting out of this story unscathed I'm sad to say.

Thanks so much for the amazing review, my dear! :D And for following this story for so long, often your reviews have been the only ones on recent chapters and it means so much that you take the time to leave some thoughts and feedback, it really does! ♥ Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #41, by bester_jester The Slytherin Boys

8th April 2014:
Hi lady :)

Reading a lot of your stories since I found the Victoire travelling one.

Loving this one so far. I like that it's set in Hogwarts era but focussing on a different group of characters.

Just one thing - in the Charms scene with the summoning charm; ' “Accio quill!” The fruit flies into my hand and I gracefully wave it into the air.' A quill ain't no fruit ;)

Looking forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Thank you! I'm excited that you wanted to check out more of my stories! I'll warn you though, this one is a little rough around the edges for the first twelve chapters or so since it was my first one. :P But I'm really glad you're enjoying it so far - I really like writing Hogwarts era and re-imagining the events from the books around Tor and her friends.

You mean you haven't heard of the rare quill fruit?! It grows on trees and is a common delicacy! :P Hehe, never mind, I went and fixed that bit. Thanks for pointing it out!

Thanks so much for the lovely review! :D You are awesome!


 Report Review

Review #42, by marauderfan The Fall of the Ministry

31st March 2014:
So intense, this chapter! I can't even. Jhdfjhgrsihsdsh

The letter from Terry was cute! Please tell me they see each other again before the Prologue... :-/

The part where Tor was reading the magazine and Pyxis found it... that was just the saddest thing, because clearly it's that which led to Professor Burbage's death, and Pyxis wouldn't have done that if he knew what the consequences would be. He is in such a tough situation, almost worse than Tor, because although he himself is breaking no rules or doing anything to cause suspicion from either side, he knows too much. He's trying to protect people but isn't forward thinking enough to consider the consequences of what he does, and I think that will end badly. I really like Pyxis as a character. Poor kid though, he's so confused. I want to give him a hug.

I love that they have extendable ears from the Weasleys' joke shop. Blood traitors or not, everyone respects a mischief enabler :p

Astoria's birthday is the same day as Voldemort died the first time. That's probably not significant but I just happened to notice haha.

She is really close to cracking. Eek! Hold on just a few more months, Tor!

Not surprised at the selection of Head Boy and Girl.. Pyxis as prefect? Great, because he needs more stressful things on his plate at this point in his life.

I love the way you're slipping these brief references to canon things in here btw - how even though Tor isn't entirely sure what's happening, its clear to the reader what has happened, like Professor Burbage's death, Harry's escape, Mad-eye Moody's death, etc.

Also.. I found a typo, somewhere in there it says "upmost" which should say "utmost". ;)

Anyway, this was a fantastic chapter! Great work as always! ♥

Author's Response: Hi Kristin! :)

Eep, I know! There was so much going on and it's such a dark time. I hope the next few chapters will be equally intense as a lot of trouble is coming Tor's way.

Hmm...can't say much there. :P

I know! :( I found that moment really hard to write, especially since Burbage was a character I really liked in this story. It's so careless of Tor, and foolish of Pyxis, and I think if Tor found out she would feel guilty for a long time. I really like hearing your thoughts on Pyxis - you're right, he's in a really hard spot because he's almost more "in" with the Death Eaters than she is, and he isn't able to protect himself and her in the same way that Tor can through her Legilimency and even some of her relationships. I really like him too, and I'm glad you care about him! :)

Haha! Extendable ears seem like the most useful thing. I wish I had a pair sometimes!

Hmm, you know what, I actually never made that connection! I had originally picked that as her birthday because it was easy to remember and I wanted it to be in that section of the story/year, but I didn't realize it was the day of Voldy's downfall. Interesting...I might have to mention this someday. I'll have a shout-out to you when I do! :D

She is - and things are really not going to get much better, I'm afraid.

Haha, yeah, there are some ulterior motives to the choices of prefects and Heads. Pyxis was never cut out to be a prefect.

I'm really glad you like the mentions of canon! I like tying in how they might effect or come to Tor, even if she is quite sheltered and clueless at the moment.

Excellent - *goes on typo hunt.* :P

Thanks so much for the amazing review, my dear! I really love hearing your thoughts and appreciate the feedback so much! :D



 Report Review

Review #43, by greenbirds The Fall of the Ministry

30th March 2014:
omfg omfg omfg omfg what do i do? what can i DO, everytime i read this story i fall just a little bit more in love with it all! your scenes grip me until i can't take my eyes off the screen; my heartbeat is DEFinitely not regular. this is unREAL.please update soon, i think i'm going to cry? your obsessive and undying biggest fan, bea xxx

Author's Response: YOU ARE SO SWEET! :) Don't cry, but I'm so very glad you like this, Bea. I can't wait to post the next chapter, hopefully soon! Thank you for the review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #44, by Unwritten Curse Prologue

6th March 2014:
Hi there! I'm here for Blackout Bingo. I just can't stay away from your stories. :)

By the way, the banner on this story is GORGEOUS.

*ahem* So, I'm really intrigued by this prologue. I like prologues that start at a climactic point and leave me guessing as to what is happening/how things have come to this point. I know from the summary that a Slytherin falls in love with a "Mudblood" so I'm guessing that is what we're seeing here. But how did they get to this point? I wish I knew, because I'm sure I'd be screaming at the screen if I knew all the details.

I really want to get back and read more of this. I need to stop signing up for every challenge and contest and whatnot so that I have time to sit down and read! Your writing is stunning and I really need more of it (and a novel-length sounds lovely).

I JUST REALLY WANT TO KNOW WHAT IS HAPPENING. WHY ARE THEY GOING TO DIE?

Okay, I'm done. ;)

xx Gina

Author's Response: Hi Gina! :D Great to see you back!

Ahh, I know right? It fits the story perfectly as well, she really did a wonderful job of it.

Hehe, I'm glad you're intrigued! :) I wrote this so long ago but it's nice to get such positive feedback. It takes the whole length of the novel to get to this point, in fact, and I'm still on the journey to get there, but it's been a lot of fun.

I'm so glad you liked this - I've been writing it for so long that it's so lovely to hear comments on the early chapters and what people think of it. Thanks so much for the awesome review! :D


 Report Review

Review #45, by Courtney Dark The Worst of Crushes

19th February 2014:
Tag!

This is definitely my favourite chapter yet!

I was struggling not to burst out laughing through most of it, especially the first half, as it was just so funny! Oh God, Goyle fancying someone...I feel deeply sorry for Tor! Amaris made me laugh in this chapter however, tempting Goyle with cinnamon buns - which I am now craving, thank you very much.

Tor's escape through Hogwarts was also enjoyable to read - and I really like your portrayal of Draco, by the way! And I really like the sound of this secret room! It sounds like the type of place I'd like to hang out.

Who exactly is this mysterious boy, I wonder? Is it a canon character? Or an OC? We know he is in Harry's year, because of his comment about the troll...hmmm...

Well, whoever he is, I like him (a lot more than Goyle) and I hope we see more of him soon!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi Courtney! :)

Ah, I'm glad you liked it! :) This chapter made me laugh a lot as well. I suppose Goyle has feelings too, though poor Tor isn't having any of this. :P Ah I want cinnamon buns too! I feel like the Hogwarts elves would make some really amazing ones. :P

I'm glad you like Draco as well! I find him a little tricky to write, especially from the more sympathetic Slytherin perspective, so it's great to get feedback on him.

He's definitely a canon character. :) I guess you'll just have to keep reading and find out! :D He shows up... well, rather a lot in the future, completely upstaging Goyle - for which everyone except Goyle is grateful! :P

Thanks so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #46, by marauderfan The Guests

12th February 2014:
Another awesome chapter! Aw, I really loved the scene when the Nott brothers were able to see their father again. I know I shouldn't love it, because that comes along with the mass breakout from Azkaban, and Death Eaters escaping... but it was a touching scene.I think it was even more poignant because its something so terrible like these people escaping prison, who as Tor mentions, have killed people's daughters and sons... but they are here with their families. There is so much grey area here in terms of morality and good and evil and honestly I love that kind of thing. Same goes for that bit about the Aurors killing Alexandrina Avery... the Aurors who are always the 'good guys', but they're killing inocent kids. Death Eaters kids, but innocent ones. Gah. I'm so conflicted. But honestly thats the mark of really good writing.

i wish I could comment on more but I don't have time and I want to leave this review, so I'll just say - amazing job!

Author's Response: Hi Kristin! :D

Ah, yay I'm so glad you like it! :D I was so excited about this chapter so it's wonderful to get this feedback.

I'm so happy you like the grey areas and being conflicted about whether the characters are good or evil. Honestly I'm conflicted about it right along with Tor. I'm pleased you liked the reunion between the father and his sons, and I thought it was a little sad for me to write as well.

Poor families, I know. :( I guess Tor is realizing that in some ways there are no winners or losers or heroes. I'm really pleased to hear you're conflicted, it really means a lot to hear.

Thank you for the wonderful review, I really appreciate you taking the time out of your busy traveller's life to leave it. :) Thanks for being so lovely! ♥


 Report Review

Review #47, by marauderfan The Goodbye

3rd February 2014:
Hdgvufkfhgd best review swap ever because I didn't realise until I clicked on your link that there was a new chapter of this!

Such a good chapter. I really liked the way you wrote the goodbye between Tor and Terry. (I was going to say that I liked the goodbye...but I didn't like the fact that there had to be a secret goodbye at all. So sad, it really does feel like the beginning of the end. I was imagining that scene taking place at sunset, since sunsets are beautiful but feel like the end of something (well, because they are) and are a tad bittersweet. Then I looked back and it actually says morning.. whoops. But I like the sunset-feeling you evoked in that scene. Wow, I really hope that makes sense to anyone other than me.

Agh, I feel so bad for Pyxis. He really is a good person though. For him it's not about which is the right side, but he sticks with his friends and doesn't want to see them get hurt no matter which side they are on. I want to give him a hug, poor guy. I'm glad he and Tor are still friends (ack and I was not expecting that he put the snake in her bed!) Aw, Taurus is happy too. That's good.

This was a very lovely chapter. It was a great combination of bittersweet and nostalgic and sad and still a little hopeful, and stuff like that is my favourite to read :D

Yay for the one year anniversary of posting this story! Its crazy to remember back to the beginning just how different Tor was then. And you were an excellent writer at the beginning but I think you've improved a lot since your early chapters. This fic is such a pleasure to read and I have loved the journey every step of the way. Keep up the excellent work - I am excited for the next six chapters but at the same time don't want it to end. Thankfully there will be a sequel am I right? :D

Author's Response: Hola! :)

Yay! I've been updating this so much lately, with both new chapters and changes to the current ones, I'm not surprised you missed it! :P I'm so happy you liked this chapter!

I'm glad you liked the way the goodbye happened. I definitely know what you mean about the beginning of the end, and it does have a sunset-like quality. :P But also a sort of beginning of a new era quality... ah, now I'm making no sense, but I totally know what you mean!

Oh dear, poor Pyxis is being put through the ringer. Exactly, and he's sort of very Slytherin in that way, where he doesn't see beyond his own needs, but he's a bit of a Hufflepuff as well in how loyal he is and how much he cares about the people he loves. Pyxis the Slytherpuff. :P I'm glad you found the snake thing a surprise, I felt he was so unlikely but it made sense he would do something like that! :)

I'm so glad you liked this. It's an odd mixture of filler and extremely necessary.

Yay! :D I've been going over some of the old chapters and doing minor edits, and it is crazy to see how much both Tor and my writing has changed. Hehe, I agree and I'm so glad you think I've improved a lot! :D

Thanks so much for being an amazing supporter of this story, it really means so much to me and getting your feedback is always fantastic. I feel the same way - I can't wait for it to be over and to have completed a novel but at the same time I love this story and don't want it to end. Yes yes yes sequel!!! :D I'm so excited for it, it's going to be really, really different from GfS in terms of what's happening but I'm excited to get going on it. :)

Thank you for being amazing and for leaving me this lovely review!! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #48, by LilyLou Prologue

1st February 2014:
Hi, Jenna!

So I have been meaning to start reading this story, so here I am! This review swap was the perfect motivation to start.

This is definitely interesting! I love forbidden loves *sighs*. Or, at least I am pretty sure that this is a forbidden love.

I cannot wait to read on! This prologue was so short, and it leaves me wanting desperately to read on!

Great start to this story!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hi Janelle! :)

Aw yay, I'm glad you got the chance to come check it out! :) I'm glad you liked the prologue, and yes, forbidden love is just the greatest, and this is definitely a story all about it.

Thanks so much for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #49, by marauderfan The Dark

21st January 2014:
Just so you know, I am reading this in the airport and reviewing on a tablet so apologies in advance for spelling weirdness and the fact that its a short review. Anyway aaa! The beginning of this chapt3r definitely felt like the calm before the storm. I loved Tor's optimism and happiness but i could tell it was short lived :( and I loved her conversation with Ginny as well! It was so happy that it was just too good to be true. But it was really nice seeing the two girls interact again, I think they could have ben good friends.

and then the second half :( nnot when everything is finally goingso well! It was so sad. I'm glad Draco stood up for her though. It was really obvious he doesn't like the side he's on. I wish i could say more but I''m really having issues typing on this keyboard. Anyway it was a lovely chapter!!

Author's Response: Hello! :) Ah, safe travels! :D

It definitely was the calm before the storm - of course something had to happen to ruin Tor's hopes. Poor girl. :( I'm glad you liked seeing Ginny again, and how well they get along. They actually have quite a lot in common, in some ways, and I really love writing both of them.

Gah! :( I'm glad you liked Draco here- he did try to be a little noble instead of just wimpy all the time. This is when Draco really sees the consequences of his actions so I'm glad he was there for Tor. You're right, Draco is completely regretting his side right now, the poor kid.

Thanks for the lovely review, I really appreciate it! :D You're awesome!


 Report Review

Review #50, by greenbirds The Dark

21st January 2014:
this was so painful to read.
"dumbledore is dead, and my hopes of escape, a future away form the death eaters, of a chance to forge a new life, are dead with him."
why would you do that?! i'm honestly shaking. tor is so good, and her conversation with ginny just made my heart swell with happiness; i genuinely though it was all going to start looking up! i was envisioning tor living with tonks' mother and becoming a friend of the weasley's and all that jazz; until the last line!
i'm happy we saw a little bit more humanity in pyxis and daphne. i a;ssume we'll see more of pyxis in the upcoming chapter, and he really is one of my favourite characters! theo irritates me more and more with every chapter, and the descriptions of crabbe and goyle sitting there during the night's events "puffing out their chests and surrounded by a circle of older student" made my blood boil. how annoying! it's just kind of like. lol can u not x fanx x
your narrative runs so smooth; your writing just gets better and better to the point where now, i'm speechless- it reads like a genuine, published book. the lack of dialogue in this chapter compared to other chapters really highlighted how dramatic the events were.
another thing i'd like to compliment you on is just how well you write canon! you got draco SPOT on- you go girlfriend. and it aallwwaayyss makes me smile, hearing about "potter" from a slytherin's point of view, because you know, i've always only really thought about the harry potter stories from harry potter's perspective.
my heart bleeds for tor, and if things don't shape up i'll cry. again.
bea xx

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Ah, I'm sorry! :( I'm glad you liked theGinny conversation, and I'm very sorry for building up everyone's hopes like that. I know, things were looking up, but this really does change everything.

I want to include more Daphne in the coming chapters, and Pyxis as well. It's lovely to know you like him, he's one of my favourite characters as well! :D Haha, Crabbe and Goyle are just my favourites in how awful they are. :P

Thank you! :) You're so lovely, it really means a lot to hear those comments about my writing. And it's really amazing to hear you thought Draco was well written - he's tricky! Haha, I imagine Harry would be quite notorious around the school and not necessarily popular among the Slytherins. :P

Thanks so much for the lovely review! :D It really made my day. ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>