Reading Reviews for The Girl from Slytherin
  
360 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Jess the Enthusiast The Other Side of London

24th September 2014:
Andromeda! Of COURSE! I don't know why I didn't think of her before, but she's the perfect person for Tor to talk to in a time like this. And I'm really hoping that Tor follows the same path.

We definitely saw a different side of Theo in this chapter! One that definitely makes him less desirable; I'm sad for him, though, because if he had the same guidance that Tor is receiving, he could be a really good person.

Great chapter! I hope Guinevere doesn't eat Lancelot!

Author's Response: Yes!! Hehe, I was wondering if people would guess or not but she is perfect for Tor since they have so many shared experiences and backgrounds.

Theo has changed quite a bit, or maybe Tor's seeing his darker side. Perhaps both. He's one of those characters who really unravels a lot at the end of the story, but he could be a good person, you're right. The potential is there, just not the opportunity.

Thank you!!! :D


 Report Review

Review #27, by Jess the Enthusiast The Slug Club Party

24th September 2014:
I have a feeling that Theo likes Tor and that would have delighted me in the beginning of the story but now? Not so much. Hopefully Terry isn't /too/ hurt.

I'm really glad that Tor told Ginny about the attack plan; I know she was in a really awkward position, but she did the right thing, and I'm proud of her for that! Also, I can't seem to think of whose name Ginny could have possibly given Tor and it's bothering me haha. I guess I'll find out!

Great job!

Author's Response: Hey!! :) Haha, I love how you've changed your mind about Theo, that's so awesome to hear you're connecting with the characters. Terry knows that the secret nature of their relationship means there is a divide between the public and the private but he definitely doesn't want to see the girl he likes with another guy.

She really was in an awkward decision, but I'm pleased you're happy she did the right thing. It's a real turning point for her. Thanks for another great review! :D


 Report Review

Review #28, by Jess the Enthusiast The Queen's Tale

24th September 2014:
If Tor ever casts a corporeal patronus and it compliments Terry's mink, I will quite possibly die of the cuteness. Just saying.

Really great chapter!! I thought it was really cool how you integrated magic into Anne Boleyn's story!

Author's Response: Hehe, it would definitely be cute. Patronuses always have symbolism, so you never know!

I'm glad you liked the story - it was so fun to write since I love that era of history. Thanks so much! :D


 Report Review

Review #29, by Teddy1993 The Beginning (Again)

24th September 2014:
A lot sure has changed in a year! Demetria back at Hogwarts... That can only mean trouble. Although it was to be expected now that Snape and the Carrows are in charge. Great chapter!

Author's Response: It has! It was fun for me going back to the beginning and looking at Tor and how much she and Hogwarts have developed. This is a year for the Slytherins but Tor is going to struggle a little.

Thanks!!! :D


 Report Review

Review #30, by Teddy1993 The Fall of the Ministry

23rd September 2014:
It's clear to see that Astoria is becoming more repulsed by the fascist ideas that the Death Eaters stand for. Even if that includes her own father. It seems Yaxley is having less and less interest in his daughters and more in his own position within the Death Eaters and the new Ministry of Magic. This might just encourage Tor to turn her back on her own family.

The installation of the Muggleborn Registration Commission sure complicates things for the relationship between Tor and Terry. Another thing I hadn't thought about before. I'm interested to see where you take it from here.

Author's Response: Hi again!!

Yes, she definitely is and it doesn't help that Yaxley has a lot of stress on him right now so he's not thinking a lot about Tor. He's being caught up in his own ambition, but also his fears, and it's driving Tor away.

Yes, it certainly is especially since her dad is one of the people directly responsible for hunting down Muggleborns and administering punishment. It's a tough thing for her to handle, but at this point she's still nervous about how to assert her identity and sacrifice her family for her values.

Thanks for another wonderful review!! :)


 Report Review

Review #31, by Teddy1993 The Guests

23rd September 2014:
Absolutely terrific chapter. Once again you did a great job picturing the other side of the Death Eaters. You show that they really do have a human side, despite everything.

The news of the little Avery girl struck me as odd. However tough and hardened Moody may be, I just don't see him killing children. Hopefully, we'll find out more.

Author's Response: Hey!! :) I'm glad you liked the Death Eaters and their human side. Of course they would have these human moments of love and relief, which further confuses Tor because she is genuinely happy for her friends getting their dad back.

I didn't really imagine Moody killing a child either, so if he was responsible, it would have been an accident. However remember that this news is coming from the Death Eaters who would want to distort and demonize perceptions of the Order and the Aurors. Making the Order members like Moody into evil demons is part of the brainwashing they use to get kids like Tor to support the Death Eaters cause - that's how I imagined it, at least. They definitely want to use every reason possible to make Moody and the others seem like murderous monsters - propaganda and brainwashing is something that even Tor herself isn't aware happens to her.

Thanks so much for the great review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #32, by Jess the Enthusiast The Disguise

23rd September 2014:
Terry ugh Terry is so cute I can't even

Great job!

Author's Response: He really is! ♥ I'm loving how you're connecting with the characters and sharing in these reviews, it really is so lovely and helpful. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #33, by Jess the Enthusiast The Prank

23rd September 2014:
Oh my god that prank was BRILLIANT!!

Great job!

Author's Response: Haha, I'm glad you liked it!! :) Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #34, by Jess the Enthusiast The Visitor

23rd September 2014:
Really great chapter! I love the relationship between Tor and her father; I often find, when reading fics, that the Death Eater father is usually demeaning and abusive in some way or another. That usually bothers me because it suggests that prejudice people are inherently evil in all ways, whereas, in real life, you meet a really kind and seemingly good person who is bigoted. It's just something that I think adds a nice touch of realism to your story, as well as moral ambiguity, which I really enjoy.

I found your brief insight into Snape's mind to be very interesting. I've always wondered about his Slytherin friends, because, in the books, Sirius names Snape's gang of wannabe Death Eaters, but none of them come to his defense when the Marauders humiliate him after the DADA O.W.L. Lily, before their fallout, refers to the group as Snape's friends and he doesn't deny it, even condones their prejudice behavior. And he enters Hogwarts knowing a lot of dark magic and with some inkling of prejudices (exemplified by his behavior towards Petunia), but I often wonder how accepted he was among these boys. He was part of their group, but did they make fun of him? Did they respect him? Did they see him as a valuable member of their group? I really liked your take on the matter :)

Great job!

Author's Response: Hey again!!

I'm so pleased you like their relationship, and I definitely agree. But if Tor's father was awful, then she wouldn't be so loyal to him and loving for her family. And of course you're right, being prejudiced doesn't automatically make somebody a bad person and people can change and grow. I'm really glad you think it brings realism and confuses about which side Tor should take, and her love for her family and the naturalization of those morals is something she struggles without throughout.

That's a very good point! I imagine him as a bit of a loner until he started to show he could be more powerful. It's quite odd. Maybe they weren't necessarily around for that incident, or wanted to preserve their own dignity and see if Snape could get out of it on his own? I'm glad you liked my interpretation of it here! :D

Thanks so much!!


 Report Review

Review #35, by Jess the Enthusiast The Lesson

23rd September 2014:
Okay so Terry is obviously a Ravenclaw for a reason; bringing Tor into the Muggle Studies class while they were learning about WWII was BRILLIANT, and while Tor hasn't been completely convinced, it's definitely giving her something to think about. And I think that's great! Hopefully she can be completely persuaded soon because otherwise I don't think this relationship will last in the long term. Although I know it's going to be hard with all of her outside influences.

Great chapter!!

Author's Response: Hey!! Haha, I love how you can see how well Terry fits into Ravenclaw. He's quite cunning and clever, and he's good at seeing a bigger picture when other people couldn't.

I think if at this point Terry just shoved all these ideas and opinions at Tor, she would balk and run away. But by showing her ways of learning more perspectives and opening her mind, she's able to come to conclusions for herself. You're definitely right, Terry would not stand by and be with a prejudiced girl if he didn't see some good coming out of her.

Thanks so much for another great review!! :)


 Report Review

Review #36, by Teddy1993 The Goodbye

23rd September 2014:
Great chapter. It is a bit worrying that Tor could invade Pyxis' mind that easily. I have a feeling something will happen to him now that he knows about Tor and Terry..

Author's Response: Hello!! Ahh, that is a very good observation. Of course, Tor knows Pyxis has something to hide, though for now he's under the radar of anybody who could use Legilimency against him. Of course, that could change if Tor isn't more careful. Thanks for the review!! :D

 Report Review

Review #37, by Teddy1993 The Dark

22nd September 2014:
I prefer Greenboot :)

Amazing chapter! It's always interesting to see events from the books through other eyes in these kind of stories and you handled that perfectly here. I didn't even think about what Dumbledore's death means for Tor before I read this... Maybe Dumbledore confided in someone else about her (Snape, perhaps?). At least Ginny can still vouch for her, but the question is how much she can do.

This story is absolutely incredible. The more I read, the more hooked I am. You are an amazing writer.

Author's Response: I like Greenboot too! :D Or maybe Bootgrass? Hmm.

Thanks!! :D I'm glad you like seeing Tor's perspective on canon events, it's one of the things which both helps to structure the story but also challenge it. Dumbledore's death represents the death of hope or protection for Tor, kind of like how it represents the end of childhood for Harry in the books. Ginny is limited as she is a kid and still considered as such by many adults, but she does change a lot in the coming months as well.

Wow, thank you, that is such amazing praise! ♥ I just don't know how to thank you!! :)


 Report Review

Review #38, by Jess the Enthusiast The Theory

22nd September 2014:
I hope Terry's outburst means that he's going to make sure that Tor doesn't remain ignorant during their relationship! Because I really don't want him to act like it's okay that's she's so prejudice towards people like him - I'm glad that he isn't doing that so far!

Really great chapter!

Author's Response: Hey!! :) No, exactly - although he really likes her he wouldn't be hanging out with her if he didn't think she had potential to be more open-minded. Sometimes she does exhibit those ingrained prejudices, inevitably, but her morals are changing even if her actions don't show it yet. :) Thank you for another great review!! :D

 Report Review

Review #39, by Jess the Enthusiast The Seer

22nd September 2014:
I have a bad feeling that this is going to be canon compilant so Terry is going to die and Tor is going to marry Draco and be the mother of Scorpius :(

I'm really glad that Terry and Tor are talking (and kissing!) again but I really want her to actually change in her prejudice and ideology. I don't want her to be another Snape where it's like "muggle-borns are an abomination and must be extermination...except for you. You're an exception." Because that's both gross and unhealthy. So I hope Terry doesn't tolerate her prejudice but rather helps her see where she's going wrong. And I hope she learns from him (and Ginny!) and this bigotry ends. Because otherwise she really is going to lose Terry and marry Draco and that makes me sad.

But really great chapter! I'm really enjoying this story :)

Author's Response: Hello!! Aww, thinking about the future makes me a little sad and nervous too. But there definitely will be some twists along the way and the future might not be quite what is expected even with canon. (that sounds so cryptic and unhelpful, haha).

Yes! I know exactly what you mean, and she isn't another Snape, I promise. :) I agree, his attitude is so unhealthy and weird and I think roots from him being emotionally stunted. Tor is getting to the point where she faces a conflict between her present morals and her past loyalties. For the moment, Terry and Tor are are sort of getting along in this weird limbo where they shut themselves away from the world and for the most part from those social responsibilities, and ignoring the issues at hand. But they both still have a lot of learning and development to do as well. :)

Thank you!! :D


 Report Review

Review #40, by Jess the Enthusiast The Headmaster

22nd September 2014:
I hope Ginny and Tor continue to interact!! I really like the idea of not only Terry altering Tor's worldview, but Ginny as well.

Really great chapter!!

Author's Response: I'm glad you like seeing Ginny here! It's quite interesting to tie them in together and I love writing Ginny, she's one of my favourite canon characters. :) Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #41, by Jess the Enthusiast The Horror

21st September 2014:
OH NO. I WAS SO EXCITED THAT THEY KISSED BUT THEN...OH NO.

Author's Response: Aw, I know! :( I'm sorry! Plot twists and emotional moments at the ends of chapters are strangely quite prominent in this story now that I think of it. Thanks for the review my dear!! :)

 Report Review

Review #42, by Jess the Enthusiast The Detention

21st September 2014:
Wait whoa is this the Katie Bell incident?!?!?

Great chapter! Terry is super cute, as always!

Author's Response: It definitely is! :) I just couldn't resist tying it in. Thanks so much, I'm glad you like Terry!! :D

 Report Review

Review #43, by Jess the Enthusiast The Unknown

21st September 2014:
I have a really great feeling that Terry is going to be able to change Tor's worldview and I'm super excited about it! Of course it's going to cause a lot of conflict between her and her fellow Slytherins, but I love the idea of her changing for the better. Because I think deep-down she is a good person, just mislead like Ginny said in a previous chapter.

I have a feeling that Annie the portrait is Anne Boleyn, but I can't be sure. Great job!

Author's Response: Hello!! :) Yes!! Terry definitely will help Tor develop, and she does the same for him. I feel like she's had so many influences in her life which bring her to become that prejudiced person, and spending time with people with alternative views is so important. She is a good person, definitely, and she does have potential to change.

Ooh, interesting hypothesis. :P Thanks so much, I love your reviews so much, and I'm sorry how repetitive my responses are. It's just so hard to express how much it means to me that you're liking the story!! :D


 Report Review

Review #44, by Jess the Enthusiast The Bat Bogey Hex

21st September 2014:
Oh I really want Ginny and Tor to be friends! But I guess that won't be happening anytime soon...

And I really want to like some of Tor's friends like they have moments where they're really nice and cool, but then they do things like this. Which is why they're really great characters! They make the reader feel as conflicted as Tor is probably going to feel at some point in this story.

Great chapter! I felt so sorry for those first years!

Author's Response: Hi again!! I'm glad you think so - in a lot of ways they are quite similar, between being the youngest, wanting to stand out but not necessarily knowing how, and having a lot of pressure on their shoulders at this point in the story. Maybe not any time soon, but there's definitely potential. :)

Ah, I know what you mean! I'm glad you like them and think that they're good characters even if they are confusing and up and down with their morals. I like how you as the reader can notice how they can be problematic even though Tor hasn't realized yet.

Aw, I did too! Poor ickle firsties. :( Thanks so much!! :D


 Report Review

Review #45, by Jess the Enthusiast The Hospital Wing

21st September 2014:
Eee he's such a cutie!!! Great chapter!!

Author's Response: Hehe, thank you!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #46, by Jess the Enthusiast The Quidditch Trials

21st September 2014:
Terry Boot! Ahh I'm so excited for him to be featured in more and more scenes because I really like him!

Great chapter! I hope Tor isn't hurt too bad after that nasty hit

Author's Response: Yay!! I'm so excited that you like him, he's so fun to work on.

Tor will be okay, hehe. :) Thanks so much!! It's so exciting for me to read your reviews as you work through the story, I really appreciate it!!


 Report Review

Review #47, by Teddy1993 The Decision

21st September 2014:
Another fantastic chapter! Your writing jst gets better and better :)

Not only Gryffindors are brave. It must have taken a lot of courage for Tor to go to Dumbledore. I really hope she's genuine, but at this point I'm fairly certain she is...

Author's Response: Yes, very true! It took a lot of bravery and overcoming of fear for her to do that, especially since it involves choosing her new morals over her family and past. She is genuine, but I think at this point she isn't quite ready to confront her family and come out in the open about who she is. That takes a whole new level of courage.

Thank you for another great review!! :)


 Report Review

Review #48, by Teddy1993 The Future

21st September 2014:
One of your best chapters in my opinion. It's nice to see Terry and Tor back together, although it won't be easy. I liked how Anthony and Michael tried to make Tor feel accepted with them. She can definitely use some new friends. The fact that Pyxis saw them together can't be good however...

I completely forgot about the snake in Tor's bed! Another mystery to solve...

Your story is absolutely amazing! It's a good thing it's a trilogy. I have plenty more to look forward to :) Great job!

Author's Response: Ahh, thank you! I'm glad you liked it, the chapters around this part in the story are some of my favourites. It definitely won't be easy but they're starting to move more into the public eye which could have dangerous consequences but feels nice for the time being. The other boys totally surprised me with how much fun they all are to write.

Yes!! I'm excited for when you find out who left the snake there.

Thanks so much!! :D It really is so lovely and encouraging to hear how you like it, I'm so honoured. Thank you! :D


 Report Review

Review #49, by Jess the Enthusiast The Worst of Crushes

21st September 2014:
I hope he's a Hufflepuff - really, really, REALLY hope he's a Hufflepuf haha.

Great chapter! I think I like this boy already :)

Author's Response: Haha aww!! Well, you know by now he's not but he definitely has some Hufflepuff kindness and loyalty. :) Thanks so much, I'm excited you like him!

 Report Review

Review #50, by Teddy1993 The Greenhouse

21st September 2014:
I really don't think Terry went too easy on Tor. I did find it odd however that he kept the information about her father to himself, until he said that the told Dumbledore. I really don't see Terry keeping something like that quiet, even if he might be falling in love with Tor.

It was nice to see Tonks make an appearance. It seems just like her to help them out. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Hello! Okay, I'm glad you thought he was hard enough on her, they're fighting about pretty serious issues and this fight made them both stop living in their ignorant bliss and realize how serious these issues are. Terry is pretty moral and strict with his values, but at the same time he's worried about hurting Tor so it would have been a big inner conflict for him as well as he tried to figure out the right thing.

I'm glad you liked seeing Tonks, it was so fun to write her little cameo. :) Thanks!! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>