Reading Reviews for The Girl from Slytherin
  
294 Reviews Found

Review #26, by nott theodore The Carrows

16th August 2014:
Hello lovely!

Oh my goodness, this was such an awful chapter! (Not awful because of the writing but just because the content was quite horrifying, I'd never say that your writing was awful :P).

Okay, so with a chapter entitled 'The Carrows', I knew that it wasn't going to be very happy, and with Demetria being back as well I knew that things would start to get worse for Tor. But things in this chapter seemed to be so truly dreadful for her that I'm kind of so shocked it's hard trying to work out what to say about this. Nevertheless, I love the way that you've written it, because while all of these things are absolutely horrible, they seem so true to character for both of the Carrow siblings and for the sort of regime we know from canon that they established at Hogwarts during this year.

I'm in two minds about Tor deciding to stand up to Alecto Carrow in the Muggle Studies class, to be honest. One part of me is proud of her for making a stand like that and for doing something so brave and different from anything that she'd have done when this novel first started, but then at the same time it makes me worried, because to mark herself out like that in the first week of the year is not a great idea. Her father's protection as a Death Eater can only go so far!

All the same, I thought that the idea of researching their own family trees in the Muggle Studies class fit really well with the sort of order the Carrows wanted to establish in the school, and the way they wanted to promote the pureblood supremacy ideals. It was great to see that Demelza was standing up to her as well, and that there are people prepared to do that sort of thing right from the beginning, although there hasn't been much mention of a real organised resistance yet. Even though the approach that Tor took when she challenged Carrow was quite mean and made it seem like she was asserting the pureblood ideals, it was great to see the character development there. She's grown so much and doesn't care that much what other people think of her now, particularly her housemates, although I think that might not be the wisest decision because they could make her life very difficult in the next year!

Ah, so Draco is back. Even though there's no hint of a romance between them at this point in time, I do really enjoy reading the scenes between Draco and Astoria, seeing that they know each other and knowing that one day they'll end up married.

Sometimes I just remember that Tor is only fifteen (well, sixteen soon, I suppose) and realise just how much she has to deal with. All of the students in this castle at this point are just children, really, and they shouldn't have to face such awful decisions which aren't really a decision at all. I feel so sorry for her!

Oh my goodness, the last scene really shocked me! I know that Carrow's evil but I didn't imagine she'd do something like this to Astoria, especially not in the first week of term! I thought when Michael was joining her for the detention that it wouldn't be so bad, but it was way worse than I could have thought. Ugh, trust Carrow to come up with a way to punish Tor for defying her, even though she knows she's not able to do much because Yaxley's her father. But I just felt so sorry for Tor, because she thinks she's strong but can't resist that sort of curse, which is no wonder, since she's so young and rather naive. But Demetria (or someone) has told Carrow about her relationship with Terry and I'm just so worried for her!

I feel like the next chapter is going to be difficult for Tor, coming to terms with whatever she's been forced to do to Michael but at the same time knowing that her father would probably have been proud of her for doing it. She's stuck in such an awful situation! I get the feeling that an incident like this one might lead to her taking a side more openly, which I'm not sure is going to be any less dangerous for her, but I'm looking forward to seeing what happens next!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by nott theodore The Beginning (Again)

16th August 2014:
Hello, lovely!

I loved the way that you described the Dursleys' house at the beginning of this chapter - it's just deteriorated so much already from the state it was left in and I bet if Petunia saw it now she'd hate it (although I'm sure she'd also object to dark wizards in her home, ready to kill her, so I'm sure it's the lesser of two evils in the grand scheme of things).

I could imagine the scenes in Diagon Alley so vividly in this chapter. Of course the Yaxley-Greengrasses and the Notts would be completely at ease when there are people worried for their lives rushing about them. It's so typical of the Death Eaters and even though I've said that Tor seems to understand the implications of what's going on more than Pyxis does, I thinks she's still been very sheltered from what the Death Eaters are doing. They're so young and really they have no idea about what's going on at this point in the world around them, and Tor's hope that Terry's going to be okay seems quite naive, in a way.

Oh dear, I'm really worried that Tor's starting to make her father suspect things about her loyalties, although he hasn't said anything all summer and I'd have thought he would do if he knew something about her. I'm not sure, but I think it's just the tension of reading this story and knowing that two of the people that Tor loves will die in the next year and that nobody is likely to get through this war without being damaged by it.

When I started reading the scene on the station, I suddenly realised that Demetria Avery might have been the one to come back and be made Slytherin prefect, and when she did come back and Tor saw her at the end of the chapter, I knew it couldn't be good. Demetria knows things about Tor, and I think with all the pressure that's piling on them it could just be a matter of time before she cracks.

The Ravenclaws were so nice to her! Well, except for Padma but I can understand that in a way because it must be nice to have some form of retaliation against the people who represent the Death Eaters, although it's not going to help the cause of house unity in the future. When they explained what had been happening to the Muggle-borns I felt so sorry for Tor because she's so sheltered at home and clearly had no idea of the sort of danger that Terry was in, but I think the worry about him, especially if he doesn't reply to her messages in the notebook, is going to contribute even more to her stress.

I'm so proud of Michael for standing up to Daphne straight away! I really liked that scene, because it showed that it's not just Ginny and Neville who plant the seeds of resistance and bring all the others in to join them, but that they're also determined to rebel and not stand for that sort of treatment. I can understand Daphne's point of view as well though and why she was trying to be so strong in front of Christian Haynes. I suspect that with that start, Slytherin will be the only house with positive house points this year...

Also this is a bit of a tangent but seeing Christian Haynes here and being reminded of who he is has made me extremely suspicious of him in Magpie and I'm worried now about the person that he's put Verity in touch with too...

Tor's right though, I've always wondered if the driver of the Hogwarts Express does something other than drive for the students!

It was great of Pyxis to cover for Tor when they were talking about Taurus, although I thought I'd definitely see him back since I thought this year it was compulsory for all students to attend Hogwarts. Phin was there, though, and a lot of the Slytherins did seem far too happy about the presence of Snape and the Carrows on the teaching staff.

I honestly feel like there's so much pressure on Tor at this point that she isn't far from breaking, especially with the reappearance of Demetria in her dormitory. Pyxis was there to cover for her at dinner, but he's under a lot of stress too and I'm getting really worried about what might happen!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by nott theodore The Fall of the Ministry

16th August 2014:
Hello, darling!

Aw, the opening of this chapter with the letter to Tor from Terry was so sweet! He seems to be living such a normal and happy life at home and I'm glad that he's been able to get away from the darkness that's surrounding the wizarding world at the moment, even if he's kept informed of it to some extent. I'm glad that he's able to have some nice times but the line about returning to Hogwarts in September and explaining things to Tor then was so sad, because he won't be able to do that and he doesn't know it yet!

The contrast between Terry's letter and the atmosphere in Tor's house is really strong, and I thought it was really effective. They're still trying to enjoy their summer but a lot of their thoughts are focused on what the Death Eaters are doing. I feel so sorry for Tor, that she feels she might have been the one to give away Charity Burbage to the Death Eaters and might have caused her death! She couldn't have known that she'd be the one to do that, and I feel so sorry for her and Pyxis too, who clearly hasn't realised the full extent of things at this point, since he was shocked about what happened. I'm getting more worried about Yaxley finding out, though, about Tor, because while her feelings of distance for him are growing and that's understandable, he's sure to notice that something is wrong. There are a few different moments in this chapter when he notices her behaviour might be a bit suspicious and I'm worried about what could happen because of that.

I thought you wrote Yaxley's glee and happiness at the thought of the recognition he'd get for putting the Imperius Curse on Thicknesse was really great, and so in character. At the meeting in the books we clearly see that he's wanting to impress Voldemort and get rewarded for that, but it doesn't happen and that made me a bit happier :P

The scene when Tor and Pyxis were listening in to their fathers' conversation was really interesting. I love the way that you work in the canon events, but the way that they were talking about them, particularly Moody's death, was just awful. It was even worse when they realised that they were being listened to, because now I think Yaxley might start getting suspicious of Tor. She's lucky that she's able to control her own mind, but I worry that with the way she's beginning to feel about her parents, she might give herself away even so. Pyxis is a worry too, because I can understand how he feels. It's awful to know that your mind is so easy to access for other people, even though you don't intend it to be, and especially when you've got secrets to keep. I think Tor might be a bit out of order asking to perform a memory charm on him, though, because she needs to remember what the effects of her attempt to do that on Terry were. I can understand it, but she needs to stop telling him things! What if Terry's exposed because Yaxley tries Tor's mind and then settles on Pyxis as an easier target?

The magic of that book that they'd found from Hogwarts is wonderful! I love the idea of something like that existing because it's just so magical and fits so well with that world, but I hate the idea of it being used to have a record of every witch and wizard in the country when they're planning on using it for finding Muggle-borns. I just hope that Tor manages to warn Terry and stop him from being found before it's too late.

The ending section was really interesting too. I hadn't even thought about who'd be the Head Boy and Girl during the Carrows' regime, but it makes sense that they'd choose the son and daughter of a Death Eater. I do wonder why Tor wasn't chosen to be prefect along with Pyxis, though, when her father's so important; does someone else suspect something about her?

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #29, by nott theodore The Guests

16th August 2014:
Hello again!

I could tell from the chapter summary that this chapter was going to be an important one as far as canon events are concerned, and this is clearly the real beginning of the Ministry takeover. You wrote everything here so well (not that your writing is ever anything but brilliant) and I loved the way that you mingled all the canon events with the characters that we've grown to know really well.

I'd actually never really thought before about Voldemort and the Death Eaters making use of other houses but the Malfoys', but it makes sense that they would because everything couldn't have been based there. It was quite chilling to know that something was approaching and I really felt sorry for Tor, Daphne, Theo and Pyxis, who really are still children. It's so scary for them to know that something - or someone - is coming to the house that they're in but not be allowed to know who it is or what they're doing. Even with the advantages they feel it gives them, with the protection of their parents, it's difficult for them to face something like that.

It's only tiny, but I liked the way that Astoria's mother could repel her attempts at Leglimency really easily. So much of the concentration in the earlier chapters was on Yaxley, and how powerful Tor's father was, but it's clear that her mother's powerful too.

I really enjoyed reading the scene in the bedroom with the four of them on some sort of sleepover. It was nice to see that they could have moments of happiness and enjoyment for a while, even with everything that's going on around them.

I hadn't expected the house to be used for the freed prisoners, but I thought that was a great way of incorporating the event into the story! I've never really thought about how it must have been done before but someone must have gone to release all of the Death Eaters. Pyxis's reunion with his father was really sweet, though, and I can see how much they love each other. But it's difficult, like Tor now realises, to reconcile the two different people that each of these men seem to be - the loving father and the Death Eater. I wonder, when it comes to it, which they'll choose to be.

Ugh, Fenrir Greyback is so creepy and horrible and you wrote him really well! Even though I don't like what Yaxley is doing, at least he's got the power to protect his daughter from someone like Greyback at the moment.

With the Death Eaters having escaped from Azkaban, I could tell that things were going to move a lot more quickly now towards the takeover of the Ministry. But the raid on Avery's home is horrible, particularly as poor little Alexandrina Avery was killed! Events like that can help to explain some of the attitude towards the Order too, because the Death Eaters consider their cause to be right and their friends are being killed for it. It just shows that there are never truly winners in a war like this.

I loved seeing Yaxley go and take matters into his own hands, so to speak. I can imagine that all the events leading up to this point have made him more determined than ever to act and you wrote the scene with Thicknesse really well! It's all going to get much darker from here, though...

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #30, by nott theodore The Goodbye

16th August 2014:
Hi Jenna!

Ah, the queue is opening soon and I'm trying to get through as much of this story as I can before that happens so that I can catch up before you update it!

This was quite a sad and melancholic chapter, but I thought the tone of it fit the events that took place really well. The world is changing for them now, and all of them have realised that with Dumbledore having died. But they can't know that they won't all be coming back in September, and that the Death Eaters will have taken over the Ministry during summer and everything is going to be so much worse.

I loved the way that you wrote Tor and Terry's goodbye in the first section of this chapter. It was understated but I thought it fit the two of them really well. It's sad that they couldn't have a proper goodbye at the end of the year because it was so dangerous for them, but in a way maybe it's better for them to have the hope that they'll be together again in September at school, even if they won't be since Terry's Muggle born. And they have the notebooks, which I hope will help them through!

I love the fact that you're showing the war having an effect on the Slytherins as well. They might have parents on the side of the Death Eaters and feel more confident about their chances because of that, but I honestly can't believe that they wouldn't be scared about what was going to happen to their family and friends in the next few months, because it's so clear that things are changing.

I never would have guessed that Pyxis was the one to put the snake in Tor's bed! I'm wondering how he managed to get it there but I can understand why he did it, when he explained. It's sweet of him to care so much about her and I'm really hoping that he's going to be able to keep her secret from others. And it was nice to see a bit more hope and happiness for the Slytherins, even if it was just passing, when Taurus agreed to go and play games with them in the compartment and it was almost the way they'd been at the beginning of the year, although of course everything has changed now.

I really liked the last scene too, and 'The Goodbye' was such a fitting title for the chapter. I feel so sad for Tor and Terry, not knowing when they'll see each other again, and I'm dreading that it's going to be in December when the prologue scene takes place! But that last line of the chapter has me really worried because it made it sound like her father has spotted that she's got feelings for Terry and that doesn't seem likely to end well...

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by nott theodore The Dark

15th August 2014:
Hi again, love!

Oh my goodness! I know that I probably should have expected something like this when I saw the chapter title but I didn't think that things would deteriorate so quickly and turn so dark! I feel so sad now!

I really like the way that you manage to move the narrative along in this story by using the canon events and placing Tor within them, because it really helps the pacing since we already know the sort of time of year that this happened. It makes sense that the spin on the Harry and Draco duel would appear differently in the Slytherin common room, especially with Pansy Parkinson milking it for all she's worth. It was great to see the talk between Pyxis and Theo as well, because I've kind of missed the Nott boys. I think that Pyxis is probably even more reluctant than Theo to get involved in everything, especially now that he knows that Tor could be caught between sides. That's what I'd like to think, anyway - at least, he didn't seem happy with Theo and Theo's clearly nervous and scared about what's coming. I can only hope that since Draco will be back at school the following year, Theo will be too, but I can't help remembering the line that two of them would be dead, and now I'm more worried than ever!

It was lovely to see some more light and happiness in this chapter, though! I have the feeling that it's going to be the last of it we see for quite a while. It was great to see the way that Tor was happy for Ginny and she's changed her mind so much that she's more appreciative of the love that she can see than anything else. I really like the friendship that there is between Tor and Ginny and even though it's going to be really difficult, I'm hoping that they manage to stay friends through the next year at Hogwarts, as I imagine that it would really help Tor. Maybe she'll even be part of the resistance that the DA are leading...

Aw, when Tor told Terry that she was going to work for Dumbledore and do her best to protect them all, the scene was absolutely adorable! You write their relationship so well and I just kind of wanted to stop reading there because I knew that something was going to happen soon that would stop them from getting their happy ending. It's so heartbreaking to see them because they really deserve to be happy, especially when Tor's prepared to risk so much to protect them and their relationship, but it's just not possible and that's so sad.

I loved the way that Tor addressed the reader directly (a little like Jane Eyre, actually) because that just changed the tone of the whole chapter, it was so ominous. When she said that I realised that you'd included all of the clues already but I hadn't been picking up on them till that moment.

I thought the way that you kind of predicted the ending of the chapter but then went into a scene which was relatively happy in comparison was really effective. The contrast shows just how much there is to be lost from what they've got already. And it's really interesting to see it from another perspective. I can't help but be a bit relieved that the Ravenclaw boys didn't answer the call on the DA coins, because it would have been so dangerous for them. I can understand that they wouldn't have realised that it was actually necessary too, from the way they were laughing and joking about it.

Aw, all the cuteness between Tor and Terry was so adorable and just made me smile so much! I really wish it could have continued for a little longer, but I can't help but think it's actually really good that Terry didn't walk Tor back to the Slytherin common room, as they'd doubtless have been caught then if he had!

Ugh, the scene with Greyback was so chilling! You wrote the confusion and chaos of that scene so brilliantly and it was really scary to watch as Tor encountered the Death Eaters without them actually realising who she was. I'm really glad that Draco spoke up for her, because it takes a lot to do and I can't imagine him not standing up to stop something happening there - especially when we know that Tor and Draco will marry eventually. But it was so terrifying to read as Tor thought she might get hurt by them, until they realised who her father was. In a way, it's good that she still had that sort of protection because if not, I'm sure Greyback wouldn't have had any qualms about hurting her.

I thought the final part of the chapter, when Tor rushed into the common room and confirmed what was happening, was great. It makes sense that the other students started realising that something was happening in the castle, but that they were so scared they chose to avoid it and not to get involved. Pyxis was really quick thinking to disarm Tor before she could leave as well, and I'm glad that he managed to do it without giving away her secret! I'm hoping that he'll continue to protect her secret about Terry for as long as possible, but I'm getting so apprehensive now that I know the prologue scene is coming up so fast.

Oh dear, that last line in this chapter! It was so poignant and upsetting because there'd been so much hope earlier on and it was really nice to think that Tor and Terry might have a chance to live happily, but then Dumbledore is killed and there's no chance for her to escape from her family the way that she wanted to. I'll be back for some more soon, but I've not got many characters left so I'm going to finish this now :P

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #32, by nott theodore The Decision

15th August 2014:
Hi Jenna!

Ah, so now I know where I'd heard the name Margaret Macauley before, and I'm kind of glad that I have seen it in this story because I was starting to worry that I'd been imagining things. So now this has given me a better idea of what Penelope might have been involved with, but that's a different story so I'm going to focus on this chapter instead :P

It was really nice to see that Tor had been writing to Andromeda again, now that she and Terry are back together. It's going to make things a little bit easier to have someone like that for her to talk to, and I like the idea that Andromeda and Ted had their own difficulties too, because that makes them seem more realistic and then it will be reassuring for Tor because those sorts of relationships can continue and survive (except I feel like Tor and Terry's won't last forever because she's going to marry Draco at some point...)

I'm really not sure about Pyxis and his knowledge of Tor's secret now. I didn't think that she'd be able to lie her way out of it when he confronted her directly because he does know her really well. But at the same time I'm kind of worried about whether or not he might spill her secret at some point, even if he doesn't intend to. It's really quite scary to think that he knows that he'll be recruited into the Death Eaters in the future, and that both Tor and Daphne will be asked to join as well. I can understand the anger that they feel towards their parents for putting them in that situation, particularly now that Tor has started to realise that she doesn't want to be a part of the mentality of pureblood supremacy. Pyxis hasn't reached that, because he hasn't had the chance to become more open-minded, I think, but he might have the potential too - he also (hopefully) won't be recruited because the war's going to be over in a little more than a year and I'm hoping he'll still be considered too young then. I just hope that he will be able to protect Tor's secret and that he won't put her friends and family at risk, as well as Terry. The fact that Tor says he's become more distant since he found out makes me worry, though.

I love the details from canon that you manage to incorporate in this and all your stories! It was great to see Tor as the girl who had to give Harry a note and the way that she used Leglimency to find out what was wrong with those girls. I'm assuming that they're the ones whose brother was attacked by Greyback which we hear about in the book? It's so sad but I love the way that we're getting to see lots of glimpses of different aspects of the war.

Aw, I liked the way that you introduced Cadmus Scamander with the other Ravenclaw boys, just because it was cute to see someone who might be related to Rolf! And I really liked seeing Michael and Anthony with Terry too, they're fun to read!

The conversation with Dumbledore was brilliantly written! Dumbledore's such a difficult character to write and you did such a good job of him, especially with his speech because he seemed really in character. The only minor detail there is that I think Tor would be more likely to call him 'Professor' or 'Sir' than Dumbledore, to his face at least. You really captured how desperate she was about her situation and I think it's actually really brave of her to volunteer to spy on the Death Eaters and work for Dumbledore as long as she can make sure her family are protected as well. For someone who's just fifteen it's amazing to do something so selfless and I can only hope that it does actually help in the future - although as Dumbledore's going to die in a few months, and he won't be able to protect them for that long. I'm just getting so nervous now that it's getting closer to the end of the novel, especially since we're approaching the scene from the prologue!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #33, by marauderfan The Prisoner

15th August 2014:
Oh wow we're back to the beginning. I'm terrified for what is coming next, because I know Tor doesn't end up with Terry eventually, and so I'm scared you're going to have him killed off at any moment.

The strain of Yaxley's job and position in the Death Eaters and maintaining his good name is clearly getting to be too much for him as he and Selena are both treating Tor as merely a nuisance. They want to protect her for her own good, but at the moment I think their primary motivations are selfish reasons, so they can control what of the war she is exposed to.

Excellent chapter! I have a feeling it's quite near the end now and the suspense is like extra intense now as it's been there since the beginning for this part. Keep up the great work!

 Report Review

Review #34, by marauderfan The Monster

15th August 2014:
Wow, your description of Manticores is super creepy and with its protruding head and three sets of teeth I imagine it looking like the alien from Alien. Omg scary.

ALSO OMG EVEN SCARIER THAT SHE IS UNCONSCIOUS IN A HALLWAY WITH THE MANTICORE/ALIEN AND A BROKEN LEG AND HAS THE LETTER TO TERRY WITH HER. AH NO THIS IS BAD

Wow, that scene was so intense, the one where she got suspended and her mother didn't stand up for her. I'm glad she still has those bonds of solidarity with the DA (though she doesn't know about them exactly) as she leaves, with Ginny silently urging her to keep going.

Well, I had thought that was intense, but the scene at Malfoy Manor was even more so! Aah! I can't believe that happened. Also I really like the way you highlight Astoria's relationship with her faher in this chapter: he is disappointed in her for not turning out how he wanted her to be and for having a stubborn, opinionated mind of her own, but he cares about her more than anything. So complex in the grey areas of good and bad and that's one of the things I love most about this story.

And since I've been away so long, there is another chapter waiting for me, which i'm going to read immediately! So, until next time!

 Report Review

Review #35, by nott theodore The Future

14th August 2014:
Hi Jenna!

Aw, it was so lovely to see Tor and Terry together in this chapter, especially at the beginning when they were relatively carefree and hidden, so they could just enjoy being together rather than worrying about everyone else noticing them. It's really nice to see that Tor's becoming more accepting of the person that she's now become, as well, and knows that she doesn't want to take part in either side of the war. It's actually quite refreshing to see that; there's been so much character development for her since this story began but at the same time it's quite unusual to find characters in fanfiction who didn't support one side or the other during the war, and just did what they could to survive, as I think that would have made up a large portion of the magical population. (Okay, now I'm rambling. Oops.)

It's also really good to see that Terry and Tor are starting to talk more about important things; to some extent, at the beginning of their relationship, I feel a little like Terry, being the older one, spent a lot of time telling her and showing her new things and Tor didn't get as much of a chance for her own views to come through as now. Of course, that probably had a lot to do with the fact she was hiding all the family secrets from him :P So it's good to see that they are discussing things like this now, and I think it'll mean that Tor becomes more aware of just what the Death Eaters are doing. It's good to see her become more confident as well, although I'm a bit worried that the way she seems not to care at times if people see them together is a bit risky, because it could lead to people finding out about them and maybe put Terry in danger (I'm aware of how we're approaching the prologue in these later chapters now and I'm scared about what's going to put him there).

I really enjoyed the scene in the library. It's good that Tor and Terry might be able to spend some time together in public under the cover of the tuition, although I don't think it'll hold for long. Michael and Anthony are really fun and I like the friendship between the three boys. It's great the way that you wrote their discussion about Taurus, and the comparison between Muggle and magical attitudes and laws towards homosexuality. I did spot a typo in that part though - Terry says that his cousin (she) wants him to go with him... Also, as a tiny (picky) detail; they talk about having Muggle officiants for gay marriages but since this is set during the 90s, civil partnership and gay marriage laws still hadn't come into being in the UK. Only a tiny inaccuracy, though!

Oh dear. Pyxis has seen Tor with the three Ravenclaws and I have a feeling that this won't be good... he knows her well enough to realise that there's something going on, I think. Either he'll keep it quiet for her, or let it slip and then something really bad might happen.

It was great to get a glimpse of what the Death Eaters are planning at this point too, because it's been a while since we left Tor's head and found out about her father's actions. It was kind of creepy to see the way that they must have been planning this takeover for months, since in the books it feels kind of sudden. It was really well written, though, and now I'm just a bit anxious about what's to come!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by nott theodore The Greenhouse

14th August 2014:
Hi Jenna!

The opening of this chapter was great! I really love the way that you weave all the canon details that we have from this time and then place Tor right in the heart of them all, since she's able to view things in a different way and it's really interesting to see events like these from a different perspective. Obviously she knows that Draco Malfoy is a Death Eater but she doesn't know what his mission is, so it makes sense that Snape doesn't want her listening in on his conversation with Draco. I thought you captured both Snape and Draco well in that section, particularly with the dialogue; it worked well to show the strained relationship between the two of them at this point.

I thought the scene in the library was great! It made me laugh that Terry has now convinced everyone there that he's being paid to tutor Tor because in a way she probably deserves something like that after what she's done to him (or what she tried to do, anyway), but it might also work as a cover excuse for them being seen together in the future. I'm glad that he's willing to meet up with her though and try and sort things out!

Like the very opening scene in the chapter, I loved the way that you included Ginny coming to find Hermione in the library here! It's another of those things that could so easily have happened, and inserting Tor into all of this makes the story seem even more believable!

Amaris is starting to act quite horribly to Tor at the moment, and I feel sorry for her. Although saying that Amaris is becoming one of those girls who spends all her time with her boyfriend rather than her friends might be a bit unfair when I think about how much time Tor spent with Terry when they were first together, and she has abandoned her own friends to some extent. Even with her and Terry back together now, I think she's going to have to make the effort to spend more time with the Nott boys and Taurus if she wants things to seem normal!

The scene in the greenhouse was so cute, though, and I loved reading it! I think that it just seemed to flow really well and the dialogue was natural and believable; Terry is absolutely lovely! I think it made sense the way that he forgave her and even apologised for his own behaviour - I'm interested to see what the outcome of Dumbledore knowing about Tor is, though!

And yay, they're back together! There were so many cute lines in that scene that I kind of want to quote them back to you but I'm not going to because it would use the rest of my characters. I loved seeing Tonks there though, even though it meant that Terry got hurt! I'm sure he's going to be okay because he's still got to survive to the scene we see in the prologue, so I'm hoping that he'll be mended soon and he and Tor will get to spend some more time together. They're a lovely couple!

I've also just seen that the most recent chapter you posted of this story is the penultimate one in the novel, so I'm now going to be reading and reviewing whenever I have the time to try and catch up before you post the last chapter of this! (Hint: update something else before this and I might have more chance :P)

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #37, by nott theodore The Knowledge

12th August 2014:
Hi Jenna! So I'm massively behind on so many of your stories right now and I really want to try and catch up, so for now I'm going to try and read as much of them as I can! I've missed reading about Tor and Terry and I don't think that I even realised how much I did until I came back to this story. (Also, how on earth have you made it to over forty chapters already? That's insane but amazing - well done!)

I really felt sorry for Tor in this chapter! After the way that the last one ended I really didn't know what would happen next or what to expect from it, but it was sad to see her suffering so much. She's changed such a lot since the beginning of this story when she was so confident and proud of being a Slytherin, because now she's the outcast and suffering from the sort of problems that brings. It's a big change for her and it makes me wonder if the Tor that we see in the prologue of this story is one who is still an outcast of sorts, or if she's one who has somehow persuaded the others that she's seen the error of her ways and has returned to her former Slytherin pride. I suspect that with the Carrows joining the school next year, she's going to have to do a good job to convince them of where her loyalties really lie.

It was really interesting to see all the different ways that what she's done is affecting Tor here, not only in the way that she's treated by her housemates and her friends, and what's happening with them (I'm quite worried about Taurus at this point, actually!), but it's affecting every part of her life, including her grades and schoolwork. I think it's going to make her realise more how much Terry really means to her, and if the same sort of situation arises again, then I wonder if she'll act differently because of it.

I was glad to see that Pyxis and Theo are sticking by her to some extent, though! The Nott boys are good to her in this story, even if Theo is being groomed to become a Death Eater like Draco.

Even though she was suffering a lot from what had happened between her and Terry, it was good to see Tor deciding to do something under her own steam and not just letting the others win as they try and isolate her. The scene between Tor and Draco was really interesting to read as well, because I could sense a sort of companionship beginning to grow between them, and obviously they'll marry eventually, so it made me wonder if the two of them will gradually become better friends while they're at school and then go on to get together. At the moment I don't really want to think of that though because I love Tor and Terry together too much!

One of my favourite bits in this chapter was the way that you wrote Michael and Anthony so the reader knew their connection to Terry existed but Tor hadn't worked it out. I love the way you portray the two of them, and they're good friends for Terry too!

Aw yay that ending! I felt so sorry for Tor all the way through this chapter that it was great to get some sort of light at the end of it, and the hint that there might be a chance for her and Terry again in the future. He's just so sweet and lovely and she is really lucky to have someone like him! Especially when he says that he remembers everything, which means that her spell didn't work but also that he knows what she tried to do to him. If he can forgive her then after knowing that then he really is special!

Great chapter, Jenna! I'll be back soon!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #38, by BookDinosaur The Slytherin Boys

3rd August 2014:
So after a long and healthy break from reviewing I'm back again to pester/plague/annoy you with more gushy reviews because don't think I forgot. I did not forget. *nod*

Ergh, I almost wish that you didn't write so well because these Slytherins are perfectly in line with the books as in they're nasty and Death-Eater-to-be's and support Voldemort but you've done such a good job fleshing them out that they've become so much more human in my eyes than they were in the series when they were pretty flat and a Nazi allegory. And now I just like them and wish I didn't cause they're nasty but you've put me into a spot here, Jenna. :( I don't want to love them but I have to.

I really love how the two sisters are very different from one another and yet at the same time they both embody different Slytherin traits; while Daphne is cold and icy and remote, Tor's definitely cunning and knows how and when to suck up when she feels it would suit her. It's just interesting to see how there are quite a range of people in one house and they're definitely not all the same despite being in that one house. I hope that made some sense. :P

The tone of the story is somehow pretty light still, and that's actually really suitable since these Slytherin kids wouldn't really be feeling the proper effects of the war would they? I mean, none of the Hogwarts students are in direct danger but the other houses always fear for their family and friends who aren't in the protection of Hogwarts' walls; Tor kind of narrates all this carelessly because she doesn't know the full extent of the damage that's happening, and it's both interesting and vaguely horrible to be reading about such terrible times so lightly.

Haha, I love the shenanigans that they get up to in the dorms. ♥ It's so sweet to see them get to be kids and play tricks on one another, even if it's only for a bit. And I loved Selby as well, it's nice to know that some house-elves genuinely like their posts (unless Selby has been commanded to be happy... O.O ). :)

Ooh, so this is how it starts, hmm? I feel like Draco's trying to form some sort of anti-DA with this whole meeting thing, it'll be interesting to see how that works out. And somehow I found it funny that Astoria blamed Daphne for being "so very Slytherin" but then later exhibits completely expected/almost stereotypical Slytherin behaviour towards Professr Slughorn. ;)

Last things last, I think you wrapped this chapter up beautifully. I did laugh out loud at the poor stoned Puffs and I can definitely see some Snakes doing that to unsuspecting Badgers.

This was a great chapter, Jenna! There was definitely a lot of buildup but I do think it was necessary and you didn't make it boring at all, it was a pleasure to (re)read! ♥

 Report Review

Review #39, by Fox The Monster

30th July 2014:
Gah! What happens next??? Please say there is more... I have read the entire thing in a day (and that's difficult to do when you have school) and I am dying to find out what happens next. Please don't let this be the end

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Aw, thanks so much! I'm so honoured that you're liking the story and took the time to read all of it so quickly - wow! I promise that there is more, hopefully coming soon. There are two or three chapters left of this novel, and then two sequels for the future. :)

Thanks so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #40, by jailbird The Beginning

23rd July 2014:
I'm confused... Astoria Yaxely? Or is there something I'm missing? Suppose I should read on!
Anyway, this was a great chapter! I love stories from the perspective of minor characters. It's really interesting to see the story from someone else's POV. The fact that's it's a Slytherin makes it all the more interesting!
Brilliant chapter. Really enjoyed reading it!

Author's Response: Hi again! :)

Yup, Tor is Astoria Yaxley - she just goes by her mother's name usually. :) It's mostly because I found him quite fascinating and wanted to tie him into the story. It sort of gets explained a little better in the fifth chapter.

I'm so glad you like it so far! One of the best parts of writing a Hogwarts era story is tying in canon and all the canon characters.

Thanks so much for your lovely reviews! :)


 Report Review

Review #41, by jailbird Prologue

23rd July 2014:
Wow, this was brilliant! I albsoltely LOVED it.
Seriously, no critism here. I'm going to go read the next chapter. I'm sorry for the unhelpful review, but I'm really excited to read on!

Author's Response: Hi! :)

Wow, thanks so much! This was the first chapter/story I posted on the archive and it means so much to know people are enjoying it. Thanks for stopping by! ♥


 Report Review

Review #42, by Ziska The Consequences

19th July 2014:
I've just spent the past few days reading this story. I love how you have woven the events of DH with what is happening in your story. I'm sad that it seems like we are getting to the end. I have loved reading about Tor and her friends and Terry. I really want there to be a happy ending for her and Terry. Thanks so much for a really enjoyable story. I look forward to reading the rest.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Wow, thank you so much! This review is so lovely and really means the world to me. I'm so pleased you're enjoying the story and Tor and Terry.

This novel is nearly complete, but there is also going to be two sequels which I've been working on planning!

Thanks so much for all your kind words! ♥


 Report Review

Review #43, by marauderfan The Consequences

15th July 2014:
ERMAHGERD I AM SO EXCITED NEW CHAPTERRR

I love how you've woven bits of DH in here even though Harry wasn't at school knowing what was going on during this time, there's clear indications, like Yaxley's office raining. And Anthony checking on his DA coin.

No time like the present right? It's nice to see that the war is initiating some people to live their life all they can, so it's nice to see Anthony becoming more comfortable with who he is. But omg that letter. So sad :( I really liked that scene though with Anthony and Tor, it was really nice to see them become closer friends.

One of the strongest parts of this chapter is how you focus so much on the rumours of what's happening outside Hogwarts. Since there's not much news that gets through which hasn't been screened by sensationalising from the Daily Prophet, or altered by the Carrows/Ministry, all they have to go on is things that may not be true, and you really captured that mood here.

I like what you've done with Draco too, how you're pointing out his real fall from grace in the eyes of the other slytherins - he used to be a ringleader of sorts and even though the other Slytherins claimed they didn't like Dumbledore, now that he's gone they are holding it against Draco - probably not helped by the negative publicity that his family has now, they don't want to be associated with him anymore. Its something that never showed during DH (because Harry wasn't there to witness it) but it completely makes sense, I hadn't thought about it that way before I read this fic.

I loved the scene with Ginny, Neville, Luna, and Tor! In particular your characterization of Neville - I can see him being quite distrustful of Tor until he has a reason not to be. And as always, your Ginny is fab. Luna too. I found it quite funny that Snape isn't able to set his own passwords and still has Dumbledore's silly sweets passwords, but oooh they were trying to steal the sword! I love how you've worked that in. And I'm so proud of Tor - she did get them caught, but it's easier to be caught by Snape than by the Carrows, that's for sure. Good thinking on her part.

Askdfjs what is happening to Terry though!? I have a feeling we're almost back to the scene in the prologue. So.. he's at least alive now, although I can't imagine he's doing too well. omg. update soon!



Author's Response: Hey hey!! :D

Gah, I'm sorry for responding so late to this!! I'm so excited that you liked this chapter, and you know that your support on this story means the world!! ♥

I love tying in the canon bits and I've been looking forward to Yaxley's office woes since choosing him as Tor's father. Hehe.

I'm not sure why Anthony picked that moment to come out to Tor, but perhaps because I always knew he was gay and just hadn't really told the readers yet? I really adore him as a character and he's so nice to Tor, so it was fun adding him in though.

I'm glad you liked the mood of the chapter and how the gossip and fear was leaking through. Writing Hogwarts during the Carrows is so tricky because it would have been such a tough time for the students before all hell breaks loose, so I'm excited you thought it was done well.

Yes! Draco has sort of fallen from favour even though he's part of the Death Eaters. He has no power anymore and he's really changed a lot because of it. It sort of makes Tor bond with Draco more while at the same time fearing him and knowing he's dangerous because he's desperate.

I'm so pleased you liked Neville! Writing new, DH, tough Neville was hard for me so I'm glad you thought I pulled him off okay as well as the other two. One of Tor's strengths is thinking on her feet and being impulsive: when she has a long time to fret about something it often goes wrong but she is good at those instant decisions to save the day.

Hehe, well you know this by now but we are definitely almost there! Writing these last few chapters were so exciting because I just couldn't wait to bring the readers to the final scene. :D

Thanks so much, my dear!!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #44, by zealousVisionary The Beginning

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hello there!

This was definitely a great first chapter. My attention was caught right away with your lovely writing and stayed that way the whole chapter. Tor seems like an interesting, intelligent MC, and I'm loving her interactions with the other characters.

The setting was also developed quite well, and I can't wait to read the next chapter! Astoria is one of those characters I've always wondered about, and I can't wait to read more about her. Thanks for the great read!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Thanks so much! I'm glad you're liking the story so far and the writing style, that's really lovely to hear. I'm pleased you like Tor as well, she's quite fun to work on and I love getting feedback on her.

I love Astoria as well and was curious about her life, so that's how this story really got off the ground.

Thanks so much for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #45, by BookDinosaur The Beginning

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

HAI AGAIN, JENNA. :D

This chapter was so wonderful and you really manage to set the scene so well in this chapter even though, comparing it to your more recent chapters, this one is very short. You do such a great job of introducing us to the characters and their beliefs and hopes and even some of the recent activity they've gotten up to and it's all slipped in very naturally and easily.

I think your characters are really well established here and you've got the groundwork for more development and even at this early stage I'm pretty sure I could tell them apart if you described them to me separately. Tor seems like a lovely girl but she really is caught up in the wrong side and now it's making me just sad to think of how many people truly did believe their cause was the right one and died for it. :(

You know already that I love the tiny canon details you add in (or lots of the time not even canon, just making the story more interesting) and here I loved the little mention of Umbridge and how she set Amaris to research the inhuman properties of centaurs - it definitely seems like the sneaky underhanded trick she would pull with her rank. I also really loved the blood on Malfoy's robes and shoes and how he looked pleased with himself, it's a tiny detail but adds so much more to the story once you add it in, so kudos to you there!

Quite a few of the introductory chapters I've read are a bit (dare I say it? xD) boring, with the characters just being introduced and their setting being established and all that seems a bit like something the author wants to get out of the way before getting on to the actual story, but you managed to weave it into your storytelling enough that it wasn't like that at all and I didn't find it the least bit boring even if I'm technically rereading this. :P

This was a really good introductory chapter Jenna, and I'm really looking forward to reading more of this story!

Author's Response: Hi Emily!! ♥ Can I just say you are so wonderful for coming back to these early chapters? I always cringe a little bit when I re-read them but it means a lot in raising my confidence that you liked it.

Haha, it is very short! I miss the days of only writing 2k chapters. :( *sighs*

I'm so pleased that you like the characters. I really like writing them, especially Tor and Pyxis, and it's great that they seemed distinctive even at the beginning. It's so true: she was pretty much brainwashed at this point in time and so many of her peers would always be trapped in that without the option to make their own choice.

I'm glad you like the mentions of canon! One of the best things about writing Hogwarts era is the guidance of tying in canon events. Malfoy is so fun to write during this period of the story, he's so smug and annoying haha. I'm so happy you noticed and liked that detail.

Well, I'm glad you didn't find this boring - phew! :P Thank you so much for this Emily, it really means a lot!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #46, by BookDinosaur Prologue

7th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014!

JENNA! Since I've read this and blatantly and unashamedly enjoyed every second of it I decided that Event Five was the perfect way to review-bomb this story and hope that you don't mind me throwing compliments left right and centre at you because let's face it, that's probably what I'm going to be doing. :P

Right from the start, I love love love how you establish Death Eaters as normal people as well as ruthless ones, people with families and fathers who love their daughters. it just really shows that there are truly two sides to every war, and everyone, no matter how awful they might seem, is human too. The memories you slipped in here were so adorable - Narcissa taking the girls shopping, Nott shooting stars and smoke out of his wand for his friend's daughter. It just does a fantastic job of enhancing that human side that we know they have somewhere (deep down), you know?

Ahh, the fear in this chapter was so convincing, though! I don't know how, but somehow, without much dialogue, you really manage to capture the fear emanating from the boy on the floor and the scariness of the Death Eater men who can actually be so nice. :(

The way you have of describing the scene is perfect, and you really managed to establish the scene while slipping some more happy stuff like her memories in and not have it seem awkward, but you already know I adore your writing to bits so yeah. :P You build up the suspense and the mystery of it all so perfectly, and even though I know what going to happen I want to reread this thing just for the fun of it, which probably isn't a good thing sonce it's over 100k words long now, right? :P

So anyway, this is a fantastic start to your story Jenna and even though I've already read it, it has me completely sucked in, which seems to be a bit of a problem. :/ I'll need to look into that. :P

Author's Response: Hi Emily! :) Wow, how sweet are you? It means so much that you not only enjoyed this story but liked it enough to come back and read it again - yay!! Thank you!! :D

I'm so glad you liked the prologue and how the Death Eaters are introduced. It's fun for me to look back on the early chapters and how already the contrasts and multiple/contrasting identities are set up in Tor's life. Of course the family connections and tender moments are so important and I'm really glad you noticed them here.

Thank you! I'm so excited to finally post this scene at the end of the story and show how things have changed and how the reader's perspective on the moment changes. It's such a fearful time in everybody's lives and I'm pleased that came across.

Aw, thank you! ♥ It's so funny since these are literally the first 500-ish words I posted on the archive and how my writing has changed/stayed similar since then. Haha, this story is a nearly 200-K beast now (gulps). I have no clue how it ended up this long, and there's still two sequels to write as well!

Thanks so much, Emily! :D It really means a lot! ♥


 Report Review

Review #47, by samitaclover The Carrows

5th July 2014:
I cannot tell you how long I have been looking for an Astoria fanfiction on this website that dares to explain her Hogwarts life and beyond. You are an absolutely brilliant writer! I'm so glad you are pursuing Astoria's story, and have done such an awesome job so far. Also, I really like the celebrities you picked out to represent the characters. Have you planned out the rest of the series (I assume you are writing two more after you finish this one)? I can't wait to see how you tie Tor in with Draco later, I already like the few interactions they have had. Of course I want her and Terry to end up together, but I know that's not the case.

Patiently waiting for new chapters! :)
~Samita

Author's Response: Hello!!

Wow, thank you so much! Your kind words mean so much and I'm so glad you like Tor and all her struggles. This story will always be so close to my heart since it was my first fanfic.

Haha, I'm pleased you like the celebrities - it's funny to watch movies and shows with the face claims because I just associate them with the GfS characters now. :P

I have planned out the two sequels and even started writing bits and pieces of the second one since this is nearly finished. Tor's future with Draco is a long road, and there might be some twists and surprises along the way. I'm glad you like their interactions so far, the long term relationship is so fun to develop, but her and Terry's future is very interesting as well.

Haha, I sound so cryptic, even to myself.

Thanks so much for the wonderful review, Samita!! It really made my day, and the next chapter is in the queue and the one after that nearly fiinished!! :D You are awesome!! ♥

(Also, in case you haven't discovered it already, the story Traitorous Hearts by Penelope Inkwell is an amazing story about Astoria!).


 Report Review

Review #48, by marauderfan The Carrows

1st June 2014:
Jsndjsdhshsjakdj

This chapter was so intense! I loved it, but also hated it so much because of what the Carrows made Tor do, that's just horrible! I feel so bad for her, and for Michael. But based on the beginning of this chapter, I think this is going to make Tor so firmly on the side of the resistance. She has been leaning that way, but now I think it'll be even harder for her to pretend she's anything else. Which means many of her fellow Slytherins may not be too happy with her, but I think after this, Tor knows what side she's on and maybe Amaris' friendship won't matter to her anymore in that light.

The beginning part of the chapter was really good too (yes I realise I'm doing this review backwards, sorry) and it really highlighted how much Tor has changed, and even how she was still a bit influenced by all the mentors of her childhood. When she was standing up to Alecto Carrow in class though, despite that it was a little foolish, I was totally cheering for her because someone needed to make the professor not be completely in charge. Good for her for questioning authority, and it was an interesting way of doing it too that didn't expose her loyalties yet. But I suppose that may change... if Tor speaks up again, which now that I think about it is unlikely after what happened to Michael. Gah I dont know what I would do in her situation, that's so much for a fifteen year old to handle. This story is so gripping and you are doing such an AMAZING job with it, I'm on the edge of my seat waiting for more!

Author's Response: Hi Kristin! :)

Ah I was so excited to hear what people thought of this chapter! It was really hard to write, especially the end because :( but thanks so much for leaving all these thoughts on it - I really don't know what Tor and I would do without you! ♥

Yes, you're right: these sorts of events which she can't hide from are very important for Tor's development and could lead to her firmly asserting a side. She's floating by right now with the other Slytherins but since she's been on their radar before she should be more careful - or not be careful, depending on what she wants. I think you're right, though - she's changed a lot from that girl who cared about what people thought of her.

Challenging the power! :P Yeah, I was proud of her too, the old Tor wouldn't have been brave enough even if she did take a bit of a snobby approach towards Carrow. The whole experience is so awful, and I've been toying around with how to begin the next chapter and the impact of the incident in Tor's head, since she of course will be feeling terrible.

It really is a lot for a fifteen year old! :( Well, she's almost sixteen, not that it makes it much better.

Thank you so much, Kristin! Your reviews really keep me going and inspired for this story, and I hope to have the next chapter up soon! ♥


 Report Review

Review #49, by mrsdeanthomas421 The Carrows

1st June 2014:
It feels almost horrible to write great job on such a gruesome chapter, but honestly this chapter and the story as a whole are so well written. The internal struggle of Tor has been developed so nicely and I cannot wait to see what comes next. I miss Terry and am praying that he makes an appearance (even just in a letter!) sometime soon. Please update soon and keep up the good work! I get so excited when I see a new chapter.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Ah, thank you so much! :) It means so much to me that you're enjoying the story, and Tor's struggles and how she's changed throughout the story. I really love writing it and it's very lovely to hear when people are enjoying it.

Terry won't stay gone forever, I promise! :) I'm working on the next chapter now and hope to have it up in a week or so, fingers crossed.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #50, by marauder5 The Greenhouse

19th May 2014:
So... I haven't died or forgotten about this AMAZING story or anything. I did move across the world though. And wi-fi is unreliable in my new home. I have managed to read your new chapters but I haven't reviewed them and it makes me feel terrible, but I fully intend to make up for it! I'm going to try to focus on this chapter for now (even though I really want to tell you how I read ahead and how it is so amazing I don't know how to describe it, just when I thought this story couldn't get any better...)

While I love any Tor/Terry interaction I can get, I kept yelling at them in my head during that library scene for not being careful enough. I swear, one of these days Draco Malfoy or Theo or Tor's dad will walk in on them... although I guess Terry covered up for them. For now.

I love how you always manage to tie in the canon events with this. It helps so much with knowing the time and place of the story - I'm talking about Ginny bursting in to find Hermione (I love the way you write Ginny, by the way, but I think I've told you that before!)

Haha, and I couldn't help but laugh at way Tor spoke to Lancelot. She may be all strong and cold on the outside, but I think she's secretly a softie. "Would you like a new Daddy?" Priceless :D

I kind of like how you painted a picture of there being two Tors - or rather, there's Tor, Terry's girlfriend, the strong and independent and kind and perceptive one, and there's Astoria, the Death Eater's daughter, the one who tried to wipe the memory of her from his mind. It's so true. I'm also strangely happy about Terry betraying her and going to Dumbledore, because I really think Dumbledore will sympathize with Tor and possibly change the outcome of her story. That is, if he has time to do that before he dies, and if Tor will let him.

I'm very glad it was Tonks who found them! I wish I could just walk up to Tor and whisper in her ear that this is the daughter of the woman who's helping her. Maybe she'll find out at one point.

Anyway, I am thrilled that Terry and Tor are back on track for now. Expect me to come back and review the rest of the chapters (though I can't tell you exactly when that will be). And thanks again for writing this - i'm enjoying it so much it's ridiculous. You're such an incredible writer.

Author's Response: You! ♥

Ahh, do not worry at all. I was so excited to get this review and hear you're still loving the story - it means so much to me that you're reading it, whether you have the time to review or not! And I definitely understand about being busy with traveling - that's been my life for the past month which is part of why I'm so shamefully late with this review response!

I know! They are so not careful at times, which is quite dumb especially considering their dangerous circumstances. The whole relationship is just a ticking time bomb in some ways.

Thank you! I do love including the canon events, it's actually one of the best parts of writing Hogwarts era for me! And I'm so happy you like Ginny still - she's so much fun to write with how silly and lively she is.

Hehe, Tor is a big softie when it comes to animals though she tries to act cool otherwise. And who could resist Lancelot, I mean he's a pygmy puff! :P

I really like your analysis of Tor here and her two sides, and I completely agree. That's part of why I gave her this nickname in the first place, to show how she has a whole secret, different side to her. And yes, though Terry felt bad he did the right thing, and Dumbledore is one of the few people with the power to actually help her.

She might find out! :) I really wanted to write Tonks and so when she showed up at the greenhouse it fit perfectly. We definitely haven't seen the last of Andromeda and her family.

So am I! :) And don't worry at all about reviewing - like I said, even knowing you're still out there reading the chapters makes me so happy. :) Thank you so, so much for this incredible, wonderful review, my dear! ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>