Reading Reviews for Traitorous Hearts
  
144 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Shadowkat An Unwelcome Visitor

21st April 2015:
So, I'm guessing that this is an AU? If so, it's off to a great start. The description is nice, and I'm interested in what secret she might have...well, on to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Whoops, I never answered this one! I think there was one after it that I did answer, because I'm pretty sure I remember you commenting when you figured out it wasn't an AU. I've been working on figuring out ways to make the era/circumstances more clear, so thank you for that! And I'm really glad you enjoyed the descriptions, since they're my favorite bits to write! Thank you for the review!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #27, by Ohpl In Dark Spaces

21st April 2015:
So glad you updated.That was a terrific chapter. You are a wonderful writer . Astoria is a character I never gave much thought to but you have made her as real as any of the others.Looking forward to your next update and hoping it is soon but I am willing to wait if is as great as this one.

Author's Response: First off, sorry I've been so dreadful about answering my reviews! I can't tell you how much they mean to me. They really keep me going. And a new chapter IS in the queue, so if you get a chance to read it I hope you'll like it. Thank you so much for this really kind message! I never really gave Astoria much thought either, until one day this story just popped into my head. I'm so happy you think Astoria's been drawn well. That really means a lot :D

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #28, by cherry_pop94 In Dark Spaces

20th April 2015:
You're back! This chapter was AMAZING. The part with the boggart was honestly terrifying and Astoria's thoughts around it just seemed so real and brutal. I got shivers reading this.
I'm really looking forward to the next chapter and some humor, haha not sure how you'll insert that, but I'm sure it'll be great.
I'm quite curious to know if the DA will accept Astoria in because obviously she doesn't have a great track record with Gryffindors, though Ginny trusts her. It'll be interesting to see how she interacts with characters we know and love!
And Draco! I need to know what he's up to right now! I mean, we all know they get married in the end and have a kid, but how do they get there? It seems so far away right now, but I'm just terribly curious.
Thanks again for this story!
-Stefi

Author's Response: Hey Stefi! Thank you SO MUCH for reading and reviewing, and for just being so sweet! I can't tell you how much I appreciate it.

I'm really happy that you liked this chapter--it's one I really angsted over getting right.

The boggart part was not easy--I think it's one of the darker moments so far, in a fairly dark fic, but I'm glad that it was terrifying because that's definitely what I was going for. I'm not really for gratuitous violence; I felt the scene was necessary to the storyline. Astoria was definitely not on a trajectory to help the DA, and I think that's pretty understandable. She's 16, and the only person with the ability and sense to protect her family. The Greengrasses just barely escaped being killed as traitors, and Ginny--the person who had inspired her a bit, who made her feel like their might be reasons (other than revenge) to take a stand, is on the run. Astoria is not given to excessive risk--she's a Slytherin, and it's more than her own neck at stake. She turned Neville down for understandable reasons. But the story would be pretty boring if that was the end. As awful as the boggart torture scene is, a gamechanger like that was needed for Astoria to grow. It had to be something completely reprehensible on multiple levels--something Astoria felt she absolutely could not stand by and watch--to make a cautious person risk so much a second time, now that she truly knows what could happen. And I don't think it was any stretch, with Hogwarts under the Carrows' control.

I'm really looking forward to the chapter that introduces the DA! I don't want to reveal too much about it, but it's been fun to right so far. A little lighter, in some places at least.

Draco, Draco. If everything goes to plan, you should hear a bit about what he's up to in the next chapter. It's possible that he's still thinking about a certain Slytherin, against his better judgement...

Saying your curious about what happens next is pretty much the nicest compliment you could give! Thank you! : D That's what I'm striving for.

Thank you again!

--Penny



 Report Review

Review #29, by merlins beard An Unwelcome Visitor

19th April 2015:
Hi Penny.
I'm here for our swap.

This story certainly takes me some time to get used to it. It is so far out of my comfort zone. I think i'll like where you're headed with this, though.

Draco is a good guy in my headcanon. He changes after the war, once it isn't dangerous for him to do so anymore. that is just how I have always seen him.
As Astoria is so disgusted by the Death Eaters, I bet Draco would have to change for them to eventually end up together (which I'm guessing they will)

I'm really interested in figuring out what kind of secret Astoria has.
I really like that she's so kind to her house elves and that she doesn't like being rough to them.

I see what you told me in your review here. You have shown me what you meant by being more descriptive.

Thanks for the swap
~Anja

Author's Response: Hi there, Anja!

I'm sorry if the chapter was uncomfortable for you! I'm glad you felt like you might end up liking something about it though.

Draco is arguably my favorite character in terms of fanfiction. I can't say he's my favorite out of the books, exactly. I just feel like he had so much potential in the books, and we never got to see it come to fruition. That's the joy of fanfiction, though! We get to develop the parts of the story we'd like to see!

I think that the war could definitely make Draco a better person as nothing else could. He was always a schoolyard bully, but he never had what it took to be part of the Evil Big Leagues. Draco was a lot like Dudley, except it took much less to rock Dudley's world and set him straight. With Draco, it would take a bit more, but I think being a Death Eater could have done it. I don't think Draco will ever be a glowing example of moral perfection (that's boring, anyway, in a character). But I think he has great potential for growth. In this story I really wanted to explore Slytherins and their traits, and how people who don't think of themselves as "good" might change and grow.

Ha! Draco and Astoria would both have to make some changes if they were to want things to work out between them, that's for sure! My babies have a lot of growing up to do ; )

I'm glad you're interested in the secret ; ) Really, it's secrets on secrets. A spy-master's daughter is not a simple person. And I like that she's kind to her elves, too. For all the cruel and careless people Astoria has known, and as jaded as she thinks she is, she still tries. It's one of the things I like best about her.

Thanks for swapping with me!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #30, by Unicorn_Charm An Unwelcome Visitor

19th April 2015:
Hi there! Here for our swap!

I've recently become interested in Draco/Astoria fics, so when I saw you wanted to swap, I had to hop on that. I'm so, so glad that I did. :)

The opening paragraph really seemed to set a tone for the story. It was very chilling. Especially the way her mother just repeated, "Bad things." It caused a bit of a shudder. 1986 would have made her very young. It's sad to see that her life would begin in secrecy and lies.

I loved the opening line to the present part of the chapter. It was really a brilliant way of showing that she had become rather adept in keeping whichever secrets her mother wanted her to keep. I'm also dying to know how her mother died. If she was murdered or what happened.

You could really feel her disdain for Draco. You did such a fantastic job with that. It seems like she may dislike him for more reasons than just being a Death Eater. It just feels like it goes deeper than that. I especially liked how she doesn't find him attractive, but still acknowledges that he is good looking. It really is a big difference. Someone can be extremely handsome/beautiful, but not be attractive because their personality is like a wet mop. Or they could be not considered conventionally good looking, but something about them makes them attractive. That was a great way of showing how she does not view Draco as a good person, or someone who would interest her. It really make you wonder what is going to change that.

It almost seemed like Draco didn't want to be there, questioning her and her family's loyalties. It was almost as if he were on autopilot. Like he could care less either way, honestly. Which he probably doesn't. I'm sure this was something he was ordered to do.

Your description and imagery was really, really well done. I could very clearly see the room they were sitting in, feel the tension surrounding them and almost feel the crushing silence. You paint great pictures with your words.

I really enjoyed this. A lot. I'm really glad I did the swap with you, because your writing is beautiful. I'm definitely going to be continuing on with this story. Great work! :)

Thanks for doing the swap!! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Hey Meg!

Muahahaha! I'm always so glad when people say they liked (or were freaked out by) the opening. I was unsure about it when I first put it in, but I think it definitely makes it clear that something weird is up in this house. It makes even more sense as things go on. Astoria was very young, but she was raised on secrets. Her mother, Lavinia, is a very complex character, and she had an enormous effect on who Astoria is. Her death certainly has some mysterious elements--it wasn't of natural causes, that's for certain.

Astoria *does* have a grudge against Death Eaters--on multiple levels, really, but her feelings are complicated (you'll find out why if you read on). Astoria does have a particular disdain for Draco, not because he is a Death Eater, exactly, but because he is a threat to her family and she is the last line of defense between him and them. Slytherins may have their faults, but most of them are fiercely protective of family in their way, and Astoria is no exception.

I'm glad you liked Astoria's response to Draco. You're absolutely right--it's possible to acknowledge beauty without having an interest in getting closer, and your perception of people's attractiveness changes according whether or not you care for them. Draco's looks would strike Astoria in much the same way looking at a colorful poisonous rainforest frog would--pretty, sure, but let down your guard and that'll be the end of you. She's a girl with good sense. He's also not at his best, poor lamb. However, there may be some things under the surface that'll make them both adjust their opinions of one another.

You are absolutely right in your insight into Draco's level of motivation. He's tired. He was a small time bully, not a proper villain. He's spent his whole life sheltered and pampered and love. The pure evil of Voldemort and his ilk has worn at him by now--he's just trying to get by. But he always was competitive. It's possible he might shake out of autopilot soon.

Thank you so much for your kind words. I work really hard on the descriptions, so it really brings me joy when people tell me they thought it was good. I'm so, so glad you enjoyed it. I hope you do continue it, and I look forward to hearing what you think--especially of the other characters! Thanks for such a lovely, thoughtful review!

--Penny





 Report Review

Review #31, by TreacleTart An Unwelcome Visitor

18th April 2015:
Hi Penny,

I'm here for our review swap! I apologize in advance if this review is incoherent due to my incessant rambling about how amazing this was, but I truly did love it.

The moment with Astoria and her mother in the beginning really pulled my attention in. It set a very ominous tone to the whole story.

The transition into present day and Astoria's current feelings was smooth and the way you've characterized her made complete sense. She's never really struck me as the type to be a Pureblood Elitist. My head cannon is more that she just kind of got stuck in that world and your story fits right in with that. The way you've written her thoughts is flawless. It all seems very realistic to me, particularly the part about being loyal to her family above all.

One of the biggest things that I look for in a story is description and imagery. It's something that often gets rushed or a few short lines get tossed in to fill space between dialogue. That is not the case with this story though. You've written the descriptions so beautifully. I could imagine the Greengrass home, what Draco looked like, the scene between Astoria and Filly, all of it. It was lovely. You really have a knack for painting pictures, it seems.

Another thing that stood out to me is Astoria's tone in regards to Draco. She just doesn't get what all of the fuss is about. I thought the way she breaks him down component by component and eventually concludes that he could possibly be good looking, but still doesn't find him attractive personally, was clever. I am also intrigued by why she dislikes him so much. Is it solely because he's a death eater or is there another layer to it?

I thought him being there to asses loyalty was a bit ironic since throughout the story his loyalty waivers quite a bit. I've always gotten the impression that he was the survivor type who only does what is necessary to stay safe. Because of that, I find it funny that he would be out checking in on people.

All in all, I really love how you've started this piece. If this chapter is any indication of what's to come then I imagine you'll be getting a lot more happy reviews from me very soon!

Thanks for such an enjoyable swap!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hey chicadee!

First off, you are totally coherent and thank you SO much!

I totally agree with your head canon. I think it would be kind of boring if Draco wound up with someone who was as snobby and super-prejudiced as his family. It would eliminate the possibilities he has for growth. I have so much respect for J.K. and I love the books, but I always felt that Draco was kind of a lost opportunity as a character. I wanted so badly to see him grow. But, hey, that's what fanfic is for, amiright? :)

I wanted to kind of explore Slytherin-ness, in general, and it quickly occurred to me that my heroine was going to be out for people who she cared about. Astoria can be very loyal, but that loyalty belongs to a pretty small circle...for now.

Haha, no. Astoria certainly doesn't find him attractive from the get-go. But then, I didn't think he would be. I really imagined that the war would have worn on Draco--all the stress and disillusionment. I don't think he'd be the shiny little princeling that pranced around Hogwarts as if he owned the world. She also is one of those people that sort of sees through you. I mean, I think Astoria would appreciate a handsome guy as much as the next person, but she's interested in more than just looks. As far as she's concerned, Draco's a Death Eater and, what's worse, a direct threat to her family. That last quality is pretty much a killer, as far as she's concerned. However, you never know. People change... ; )

Hah! You are so right. Draco knows he's the worst person in the world for this job. Loyalty is not one of his virtues. However, as time goes by, you might find he has some qualities that make him uniquely equipped for the job, and there may be more to it than meets the eye. Conspiracy theories!

Thank you so, so much! I really appreciate this review. I'd love to swap again some time!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #32, by cherry_pop94 Behind the Bleeding Walls

15th April 2015:
Hi Penelope!
I love this story. Your writing is excellent and there's just so much suspense building! It's been a while since you've updated, I really hope you haven't abandoned this story. The way you've written Astoria is amazing, plus you've characterized the canon characters really well. Their actions all seem really in line with what they'd actually do.
I've been writing about the Greengrass family as well, so it was great to stumble across another interpretation of them.
Please come back to this story!
Stefi

Author's Response: Hi Stefi,
Funny you should ask at this specific time. I haven't abandoned this story at all--though I have been very bad about updating lately. Shame on me :( However, the next chapter is forthcoming--I'm just making some minute adjustments and then plan to put it in the queue. But reviews like yours are really encouraging, and give me the occasional kick I need to get a chapter out, so thank you very much.

Also, thank you so much for the compliments--that's really kind of you, and I'm so glad you like Astoria :D I love writing her, and for me the best (and most challenging) part is to keep the characters true to who they were in the books, while still giving them opportunities to change and grow. I'm excited that you think that's going well, and thanks for taking the time to say so!

Oooh! I don't run into near enough fics that include the Greengrasses in them, and I think the whole family is a tragically untapped resource. I'm glad to hear that you're writing them, too!

Thanks again for the review! I really appreciate it.

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #33, by The Hot Cross Bun Monster An Unwelcome Visitor

31st March 2015:
Oooh, The Hot Cross Bun Monster has been teased out of its lair by Astoria/Draco as it has been known that it is very partial towards this ship.

Hmm, hmm, hmm, secrets they say? I am all for knowing them and utterly against keeping them so if Astoria wishes to remain my friend she must tell me at once what sheís keeping for her mother as it sounds most intriguing. Especially with the final revelation about her, and I wonder if this idea of secrets if linked to her death. Another thing I particularly liked about this first section was the way it took place a few years before as it allows the reader to see child Astoria which was rather enjoyable.

Hmm, hmm, hmm, again, I must say that you wrote about the pureblood formalities of things rather well with the specifics of tea and the way they had to check about whether families were loyal or not. It does set the scene very well for the rest of the story as itís always interesting to get behind the intricacies of the structure of society at the time. As this takes place just before the final battle, I cannot wait to see what happens next as it sounds most exciting.

An excellent start to the story!

Author's Response: Hello Hot Cross Bun Monster--by the way, great name!

I am so excited that Draco and Astoria have teased you out of your lair to read about them!

Hmm...well, Astoria may not tell you all her secrets right away, but if you stick around, plenty will eventually be revealed! ; )

Thank you! I really liked writing scenes that were so intense, all under the guise of something as polite and mundane as taking tea. I'm glad you like it, and hope you'll continue to. Thank you for the review!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #34, by RSHak Behind the Bleeding Walls

8th March 2015:
Please continue with this! It's really well-written and I love how the characters are developed. Great portrayal of Ginny - her understanding of someone on the other side and wounds from book 2 are definitely in line with what I expect of her character. Great job - I'd love to read more :)

Author's Response: Totally continuing it! I'm making the final adjustments to the next chapter and hope to have it submitted to the queue today. I'm SO glad you liked Ginny--she's one of my favorite characters to write in this fic, and it was always so important for me to keep her true to her character, so I can't say how excited I am that you think that's going well.

I definitely hope you *will* read more! Hopefully it will be up soon. Thank you again for the review!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #35, by peppersweet The Stolen Truth

9th January 2015:
Hello hello! I found this story completely by chance today, and after reading five chapters in a row I'm hooked. Draco/Astoria is one of my favourite pairings, and everyone's different takes on their relationship makes for interesting reading! I don't know if you're planning to pair them here but, boy, there's so much tension between them. You've characterised them both perfectly - Draco is exactly as I see him during the war - and Astoria is fiercely independent and so nicely written. Your description is flawless, by the way - you've got a real knack for it.

I'm glad to see Draco's Legillimency showing up in this chapter! One of my favourite headcanons is that his skill is in Occlumency/Legillimency, so I'm chuffed you've written about it! All round, this is the perfect fic for me to read, and I'm enjoying it so much!

Thank you for writing this, and I'm very much looking forward to reading on! ♥

Author's Response: Hello hello hello!
First off, sorry that this response is SO late. I've been a little out of commission lately, but I am back and working on finishing up the next chapter.

Thank you so much for your kind words! This review is just so encouraging, and I really appreciate it.

I totally agree--I always thought Draco would have to have a knack for Occlumency, since he was able to fend off Snape's Legillimency, and Bellatrix didn't figure out that he (probably, I think) knew exactly who Harry was when they captured him in Book 7. It seems like a valuable skill to develop when you're a member of Voldemort's forces. And it only stands to reason, then, that he'd develop considerable skill as a Legilimens. It certainly makes him the perfect man for the job in this fic!

I'm so, so glad you've enjoyed this story, and hope that you'll continue to! Thanks again!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #36, by marauderfan The Lady of Greengrass Hall

19th December 2014:
WHOOO LAST PAPER! I'm here to offer you encouragement in the form of a review :D

Okay, I know I shouldn't be supporting her choices of loyalty but I just want to say how much I love that Lavinia Greengrass was a spy for the Death Eaters. It's nice to see that the group was not only men and Bellatrix - I like to see some balance between the sexes! :D Which you have done wonderfully here by pointing out that Bellatrix was not the only female Death Eater. And I love that she was there really for her own glory and couldn't really be bothered about Voldemort. That said... I don't support Death Eaterness, but I like that you added another female to the group. Ahaha, this probably makes me sound ridiculous. Moving on. Also I like the name Lavinia.

I love the back story on Astoria and the way you've written her character - her motives are understandable given her background. She sounds like she's on her own side, and I really like that. She also seems like she's not the sort of person who can easily be swayed to one side or the other. I am curious what it was Lavinia found out! And who killed her? And what has Astoria done? Aah, you've set up this wonderful mystery and it's so captivating.

Love your character set up - your Astoria is wonderfully clever and manipulative, and the brief glimpse we got of Malfoy is spot on as well - and I look forward to finding out more! Great chapter! And good luck on your essay!! :D

Author's Response: Hello!

First off, thank you so much for the last paper encouragement. It really did help me to get through it. I'm so sorry for not responding before--after the Last Paper Ever I got swept into, well, real life. Like, REAL real life. So things have been a bit crazy! But it really meant a lot to me :)

Hey, no judgement here. Lavinia is flawed, for sure, and made some serious mistakes. But given her options, I think the path she chose is pretty understandable, even though I don't condone her joining up with Voldemort. And you are so right--it was always a bit annoying that Bellatrix was the only notable female Death Eater. Of course, in my story, Lavinia wasn't *noted*--she was a spy--but she was certainly *notable*. Team Evil needs more ladies, for sure! Team Evil accepts all sorts, so long as they have Pure blood or at least have the decency to lie about having it. More evil representation! ;)

And thank you! I like the name Lavinia, too!

You are precisely right. Astoria is on her own side. I wanted to explore Slytherins--what makes them tick, what makes them choose right, and what makes them choose wrong. And what being placed in Slytherin House makes them believe about themselves. Astoria has a lot of traits that are characteristic of her House, and perhaps some that she has absorbed as a result of being named a Snake. But which are which, and how will that play out?

I know, right? So many questions! Let me know if you ever want to do a review swap, or something, and maybe you'll find out!

Thank you so much, both for the lovely review and the well wishes! I really appreciate it!

--Penny



 Report Review

Review #37, by aidanlynchrox Behind the Bleeding Walls

29th November 2014:
As always I'm so excited to see what happens next, I adore the way that you've portrayed Astoria and can't wait to read more!! Keep up the hard work :)

Author's Response: Hi! I'm so excited that you're excited! Thank you so much--I love writing Astoria and can't wait to *write* more (if I can just get through these pesky exams, right?).

Thank you so much for reviewing!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #38, by Ohpl Behind the Bleeding Walls

28th November 2014:
You have a real gift for writing.Your characters are strong and clear . I am looking forward to reading the rest of your story very much.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really appreciate that, and I hope you enjoy the rest! Thanks (again) for taking the time to review! It's so encouraging :D

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #39, by Gabriella Hunter A Changing Tide

11th October 2014:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums stopping by with your review and it's so good to be back, evil twin! I was wondering what was going on with this story and was just about to sneak on over here without a request. Hehehee.

So, a lot happened in this chapter! I'm not sure if I'll even begin to touch on everything that I loved about it, sadly. Astoria of course is the strongest female character that I've read in a long time, I really love how determined and fierce she is. The beginning of this chapter though had me really tense, I wasn't sure who was playing who and what Draco would do next. Astoria sly and very cunning in her ability to read others but I think that she wasn't counting on Draco to actually outwit her. Or at least, baffle her somewhat.

Draco was calm, collected and arrogant but I knew that he had no intention of really hurting her. There was an undercurrent of attraction in this chapter that just had me at the edge of my seat, it was the first time that it was acknowledged on both sides. That was a dangerous move for both of them, becoming distracted by one another like that but I loved how smoothly you worked it in. I felt that they each had something to gain from the other but right then, I was worried that Astoria's life was going to be cut short.

The moment when she realizes that it was all for nothing anyway though was hard to read. Astoria was willing to lie to save her family and it didn't even matter! I like that brief moment of hysterics you gave her though, I'm not sure if she'll ever allow herself to be weakened like that again but it was a softer side to her that we hadn't seen yet.

Draco's POV was lovely to read as well, I liked that you shamelessly write how much of a coward he is on one hand but show that he still has a heart on the other. The powerful need to do something for himself but to also just have a bit more time with Astoria just spoke volumes. Also, gorgeous writing! >:)

Now, I wasn't expecting these things:

Astoria to attack Draco with a fireplace poker.

Greyback

Draco DEFENDING Astoria and committing treason!

Like...what?! The second half of this chapter was so brilliantly written that I didn't even dare to take a breath. I was terrified for Astoria, amazed by Draco's strength and a bit frightened by what's going to happen next. I think that you packed everything into this chapter, giving me no chance at all to ever forget about it. Hahaha.

Totally loved it, obviously and thanks for the read! Also, I noticed more of our evil twin mind melds. In A Force of Wills, Blaise Zabini smells similar to the way you describe Draco and your Astoria is just as feisty as mine. Of course, I had my Astoria smack Draco in the face with a Transfiguration textbook but hey, our girls get the point across, eh? Hahahahah.

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Gabbie! I'm so sorry for not responding to this absolutely crazy wonderful review earlier! RL attacked me, bashed me over the head, and I've only just now managed a bit of an escape.

Yay! It warms my heart so much to see that you find Astoria to be a strong female character, because that's exactly what I was going for. Flawed, but strong and clever. And you're right about her underestimating Draco. They both have been sort of reminding themselves that they need to pay attention to each other; Draco is sharper than Astoria expected, and Astoria is far better at this "game" than Draco had anticipated. They spend the whole time *trying* not to underestimate each other, but they both definitely do it. Astoria definitely did not think Draco would turn the tables on her like that.

And Draco. Well, there's a lot that he didn't see coming ;)

I'm SO EXCITED that you really felt the tension! You have no idea how happy that makes me. There's definitely an attraction on both sides, and these two very controlled people aren't exactly certain how best to handle that. It is not convenient (especially for Draco). Draco didn't really want to think about his intentions. Does he hurt people sometimes? Yes. More often he is instructed to stand by and witness the destruction. He calls the hounds, so to speak. You're right, though: he didn't really want to do that, even from the beginning, with Astoria. He certainly never intended to lay a hand on her, himself. But he knew he was just the first wave, and that those behind him absolutely would.

I'm glad you liked Astoria's break down. You're totally right--it's not a side of her we're not likely to see often. It's a tucked away corner of her personality, brought on by absolute desperation. And it was important, because we saw what's absolutely at Astoria's core: she would do just about anything to protect her family. Even sacrifice her pride, which, for her, was the only thing she had left. She would give up everything for them.

THANK YOU EVIL TWIN! I can't tell you how happy I am that you liked Draco's section. I didn't want to sugarcoat him. He *has* been a coward. But I think that he could want to be more than that.

SURPRISE ATTACK! :) Muahaha. I wanted to show early on that Astoria is not as dependent on her magic as some people. As she's previously mentioned, she depends on her mind. And I also wanted to show her determination and willingness to use any tools available to her. She's resourceful and determined.

Greyback! Well, of course we needed a Big Bad. I had always wanted for it not to be something Draco could simply choose not to do. He was never the man with the axe in his hands--that was too easy. There had to be someone else in the mix; someone he had to stop. I wanted Draco to step up. It showed more courage to stand up to someone, especially someone who both terrified and disgusted him. And, of course, he gained multiple advantages from it: not only did he save Astoria and her family, but he became more powerful by refusing to be walked over. Which is nice, because it muddies his intentions and confuses him even more. Even he can't totally distinguish his intentions (especially since he's used to expecting the worst from himself).

Poor Draco. So confused. I'm so mean. Haha!

And thank you! That compliment really means so much to me.

Great minds write alike! Hooray for feisty Astorias, who don't back down and who hit people with things when it's necessary. That's our girl!

Much love back atcha! You're the best evil twin a girl could ask for.

--Penny




 Report Review

Review #40, by GingeredTea The Lady of Greengrass Hall

7th October 2014:
Alright, so you had me with the last chapter, but now you really have me here.

Did you come up with the name " Lavinia"?

"Lavinia Greengrass became a spy." And I just became really really intrigued!

You write Astoria with exquisite care and I can just see how alive she is as a character for you. Your descriptions lend rather than retract from your story, and I can see it all play out in my mind.

"Draco Malfoy didnít realise just how right he was. At least, she hoped he did not." EEE - I nearly bit my finger nails. Don't discover her!

Then you switch back in time and we get another small glimpse into the true beginnings of this story.

I'm starting to suspect you have a talent for memorable one-liners. "It appeared that Lavinia Greengrass had perhaps, in the end, learned one secret too many. " - loved this one!

This revealed a lot - mainly how Astoria came to be the young adult she is. I am well and hooked and will see you over ---> in a couple!

Author's Response: Hey! I'm so sorry for taking forever (and ever) to answer this review! Real life just totally overwhelmed me, and I haven't been around HPFF as much lately. But school's wrapping up, so I should be able to be more active. Hooray!

Firstly, thank you for this lovely review! I'm so glad that you found this chapter to be a good hook.

I did come up with the name Lavinia (although it turns out it's also a character on Downton Abbey, but I had not seen DA when I wrote that chapter). I mean, it was already a name, out there--I didn't invent it. But I also didn't draw it from anything else. I took the name from a scene I had written for a class, and I must have done research to name *that* character, who came from a similar background as this Lavinia does. To me, the name sounds kind of old and high class, which was what I was going for :)

Heehee. Lavinia IS a rather intriguing character. At least in my opinion. But then, I do have a bit of a bias.

Awww, thank you! Astoria is definitely a very "alive" character to me. I like the way you describe that--it's just right. And I'm so glad you like the descriptions, since I do work really hard on them :D

Muahaha--I can reveal nothing!

And thank you again! I love getting to know what lines made an impression on people, and I was really fond of that one.

Thank you so much for this absolutely lovely review! I hope you do continue to read and enjoy the story!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #41, by Chazzie The Writing On the Wall

1st October 2014:
Hey Penny!
You know, this is a thing, I read it.


.. Okay, I wasn't that funny. Sorry. I have a weird sense of humour. Anyway, story. I really love this so far. Your Astoria is simply perfect, she is very sarcastic and relatable to the reader (or to me at least) which leaves a lasting impression.
I was very disappointed when my internet cut out, because I simply couldn't stop reading. It was full of turns and twists, sweet moments like the part with her father in the library, and suspenseful ones such as Draco using legetimency. You quite simply stole my breath away with your language. I don't remember quite the wording, but Ginny's hair being like a banner of red? That imaging worked really well. I also loved the fact that we saw the Gryffindors in a biase way, like Slytherins in most stories. Brilliant job here, thank you for the operation it's to read it!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hey Lottie!

It is, indeed, a thing. And you have, indeed, read it! Thanks so much for that! ;)

First of all, it means SO much to me that you read all the way through. That is, like, the most exciting thing ever!

And Astoria love! It makes me so happy to hear that you love my baby--my snarky, morally questionable baby! And the language. Like, oh my gracious, thank you. This review is making me smile so big. You should see the smile, because it has eclipsed my entire face and I am now nothing but an enormous grin :D

THANK YOU SO MUCH!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #42, by AdinaPuff An Unwelcome Visitor

30th September 2014:
Hi, Penny!

I can't say I've ever read anything that is based in Hogwarts Era through the eyes of Astoria. Especially her perspective on the war. I love the feel of this story so far. It's extremely impressive and all around suspenseful in every way. It makes me wonder what is going to happen to the Greengrasses. We all know Astoria ends up with Draco (unless this is an AU) but I still would love to know how this plays out. I'll be reading on!

Thanks for the swap! :)

-Leigh

Author's Response: Hey Leigh!

Thanks! It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed the feel of the story. Atmosphere is super important to me, so that means a lot! I will reveal nothing about who ends up with whom, because then where would the suspense be, but I do hope you read on!

Thanks for swapping with me!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #43, by maraudertimes The Writing On the Wall

28th September 2014:
Penny! I'm back! For our review swap a while ago that neither of us kinda fulfilled, but that's okay, I'm here now!

Okay, I loved this chapter. We're finally somewhere other than that blasted room for an entire chapter (!!!) and Ginny's there (!!!) and there's girly talk, if that's what that could be called (!!!), and there's laughing at Harry bits (!!!). Needless to say, I loved this chapter!

Okay, so first, I absolutely adored how you managed to weasel in the fact about Ginny being possessed by dear old Voldie in first year and Astoria remembering Ginny's handwriting (or at least, it was familiar to her) because I thought it lent so much to the story arch and canon plot and it was just something I've never really seen mentioned before.

Then Ginny's reaction and her reasoning for it was beautiful and exactly what Ginny Weasley would say. You really do have two strong characters in this scene, but the way you've written them is flawless and both have equal say and each matter to the scene.

The part with Peeves was perfect, especially when Astoria said to always have a backup plan. That's just perfect and I really liked ho wit was Astoria "saving the day" instead of Ginny who (like a Gryffindor) didn't really think things through, she just did something impulsively. It really says something about each girls' personalities and their houses, which is really cool to see.

I also love that Astoria kind of has a friendship/connection to Ginny, because I do think (at least with the girls in your story), that after the war if both were still alive, they could bery well be great friends.

Anyways, I absolutely adored this chapter and I'm so excited for the next! Get it up soon, yeah?

Oh and I just checked the forums and you responded to my review swap for today! Hooray!

And also I loved this. Don't know if I said that yet!
Lo :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Ha, at least we got around to the swap eventually ; )

I know! We left the parlor. For a *whole* chapter! Let freedom ring! And if it was Astoria's least-favorite room *before*...

We can totally call it girly talk. Ah, the laughing at Harry bits were so fun to write! So far, the story hasn't leant itself to much humor, aside from, like, irony. I enjoyed getting to break that up a little, and I'm *so* glad that you liked it, too!

Thank you! I'm glad you liked the cannon details. I think that the Voldie-related trauma probably *was* a huge factor for Ginny's development. I also think it would have really impacted her decisions in books 5-7, so it was cool to explore how that might have applied to her involvement with the D.A.

Thanks! Aw, that means a lot. I really wanted them to balance, so I tried really hard to get that right.

Yay! That is exactly what I was trying to do there! You got it! (*cue happy dance*) I really wanted to highlight the different houses and how they relate to one another. Astoria and Ginny very much belong in their respective houses, and that creates an interesting dynamic. And hey, Slytherin characteristics can be useful sometimes! Like you said, it's Astoria who saves the day!

They definitely could be! But we shall have to see...

You did say that, and thank you so much for it. This was such a lovely and encouraging review! Made my day!

--Penny



 Report Review

Review #44, by whisper in the wind The Writing On the Wall

27th September 2014:
ďIím taking back my life. Weíre taking back this school. Iím not eleven years old anymore. This time, He doesnít get to control me. This time, Iím going to fight.Ē --> GINNY IS EVERYTHING.

That line...I felt Ginny's soul in that line. It was the same Ginny that JKR wrote and you just took her and you let her bloom in this story and I love that. We get to see her and understand her complexities. You show us that Ginny is strong and she's brave and loyal...but it's not only because she's a Gryffindor. It's because she suffered trauma at a young age and she's not going to sit there and be a victim for the rest of her life. She's going to make her own choice.

Thank you, thank you, thank you for doing Astoria and Ginny so much justice in this chapter. I was really looking forward to it. You didn't sacrifice either of their personalities for the sake of the other. You've really written some amazing and REAL female characters and I appreciate that so much. For example, since the story is written from Astoria's perspective, we only get to see in Ginny what Astoria sees. And yes, Ginny is brave and strong, but you show us that she is also vulnerable, and obviously so. There's nothing wrong with a woman who can kick butt and think about her complicated relationship with a boy.

Seriously, amazing job with your characterization. Keep up the fantastic work!

And the snippet for the next chapter has me screaming internally. Can't wait! xx

Author's Response: Whisper! Yay! I'm so excited that you liked this chapter!!!

Ginny IS everything. I'm so glad that we're on the same page about that :D

It means a lot to me that you think I got Ginny's character right. That's been a big goal for me in this story. I really want to keep the characters true to who they are in the books, but still be able to show different sides to them/expand on the details given to us in the series. So I really can't even tell you how much that compliment means to me. Thank you.

And also, you GET IT! That's exactly what I wanted to get across. Ginny's story is so much more than being the only Weasley girl, or being shy and becoming outgoing. She underwent a really horrific experience and came out of it so much stronger. I think she's such an an awesome character!

I loved writing this chapter. It was so fun to write a longer scene for the two of them. It isn't always easy, though, and I was really worried about making sure Astoria and Ginny were evenly matched. I also wanted to be true to the trajectory of their characters. I knew they couldn't be friendly in that first conversation in chapter 3--neither of them are naive or overly trusting--but I like seeing them kind of tiptoe around it, until this point, when we really see the possibility of a real friendship start to blossom.

Seriously, this is one of the best reviews I've gotten, ever. Ever ever. I'm just...I can't even! Thank you so, so, SO much!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #45, by Gabriella Hunter The Stolen Truth

26th September 2014:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie here with our swap and I'd been meaning to sneak on over here and see how your Astoria was doing. I hope that I didn't skip a chapter but I'm pretty sure that I didn't...

So, the battle of minds is still going on with Astoria and Draco. I really like how his thoughts twist and turn, you really get a sense of how much he's changed since the previous year. There's a sort of weary patience about him that I find really interesting, I think he's so sly that you don't pick up on his own fear though, which can prove dangerous. His knowledge of the Greengrass's and their past was a good little peek into his mind as well, the Death Eaters have far too much knowledge and I feel like Astoria is being pushed into a position she won't be able to talk herself out of.

It's obvious that what she had revealed to Ginny is coming back to bite her. The Weasley family is under careful observation but I think I cursed really, really loudly when Draco pulled out those Extendable Ears. I wasn't expecting that but oh, he just seemed so smug about it all, didn't he? What I did like about that entire scene was that he was able to sense that Astoria was an opponent that wasn't at all like her sister or anyone else he had encountered. They're an interesting pair, I think, they counter one another with enough wit and secrets to keep me reading, I never know what might happen next.

What I was worried about though was that little bit with Felix. What did he really hear coming from the Department of Mysteries? Is he just a bit mad with grief? Hm...

I'm really worried though about what Draco might have seen in her mind or what might be revealed. I didn't expect him to use that against her but then again, that was why it was such a shock! I am so worried about Astoria right now though and plus, we have that ever pressing feeling of someone arriving and that might not bode well.

This was a good chapter, I can't wait to see you again! :D

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Whoo-oo-oo-ooo-hoo! Answerin' reviews! Reviews for which the answers are so very overdue-oo!

*grins sheepishly*

You didn't skip a chapter : )
--Did I have a weird transition or something, that made it seem like that might be the case? Let me know. I definitely want to clean things up if they're unclear!

"Weary patience". I like it! It's a good way to describe Draco at this point. He's been pretty miserable for the better part of 2 years, and at this point he's just kind of numb, waiting it out. That's part of why Astoria so intrigues him. She makes him sit up and pay attention for the first time in a while.

You're so good at spotting danger--great self-preservation instincts. You're certain you're not a Slytherin?

That knowledge certainly is not a good thing for Astoria. Draco's had some aces tucked away, and we get to see some of that in this chapter. Like with the Ears. Ohmygosh, I love that the moment he throws that out got such a strong response! Muahahaha!

Draco definitely *sees* Astoria. On the one hand, it's kind of bad, since she definitely prefers to be unseen and, currently, she has a lot to hide. But that is exactly the thing that makes them such great foils for one another. They're both observant, Astoria because she's been trained to be, Draco because he's *had* to be (people are very curse-happy in DeathEaterville. It's a place where you can afford a lot of mistakes).

And I'm so glad that you think they are an interesting pair. I do like to keep people on the edge of their seats (Have I already used up my evil laugh quota? No? Muahahahaha!)

Oh, Felix. Did he hear something? Is he mad?
--Why not both?

Oh, good, worry! You should be worried. Worry is a highly appropriate response ; )

A shock, you say? I...don't think I'm going to be able to resist...nope, here it comes...

MUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

Thanks so much for the review, chicadee!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #46, by Ohpl The Writing On the Wall

25th September 2014:
Wow.Great chapter.Loved the humor in the Ginny /Astoria conversations.Looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for saying so! I really appreciate it. And thank you for reading. I'm really glad that you enjoyed it!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #47, by Gabriella Hunter The Malediction Perfidious

24th September 2014:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie with our swap and I'm really glad to be back, I'd been intending on stopping by really soon. I was wondering how your Astoria was doing and this is really getting good! I am seriously going to start pulling out my hair if I don't find out what happens next. :D

So, I like that you started this chapter from Draco's POV. I wasn't expecting it at all and I think that you worked his own fears in really well, he's not nearly as cocky and unbearable here. He seems very grounded and with all the horrible things happening to him at home, he's more vigilant than ever. I noticed that he was paying very close attention to Astoria and he's not nearly as easy to fool as she might believe. I think she's going to have to be careful about how the rest of this interview goes and with someone on the way...I've got myself tensed for the next chapter.

The surprise for me in this chapter of course was the attack on Astoria. I was really concerned and worried that she was in some major danger but what happened after was just...it was written so well that my jaw dropped. Astoria is capable and strong but to see her weakened like that and unable to figure out a reason was really painful. I thought that maybe the Carrows had attacked her but the truth was even more horrifying! I can't believe her mother did that to her but bravo for twisting up the Unbreakable Vow, I wasn't expecting that either. It was wonderfully written as well and I'm wondering if Astoria will have some explaining once she's out of the hospital. I'm sure that her father had no idea but if he finds out, he's not going to be happy and it might open up more wounds for the family. I like that we got to see Daphne in this chapter as well and she seemed rather empty headed to me, I hope we get a bit more from her character.

But what a twist! You really took me for a loop with this chapter and I'm seriously blown away by this. It's probably my favorite chapter so far, I can't wait to see what happens next!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hey chicadee!

Sorry. I don't think I've ever been this slow at responding to reviews. Real life is intent on snatching up all my time.

Please don't pull your hair out, because that sounds painful, but I'm excited that this chapter has apparently caused Strong Emotion!

Oh, whew! I am really pleased that you liked the POV switch. I was hoping people would, even though it was throwing something a little different in there, for sure. But, to me, it felt necessary. Draco's a good liar, too, so understanding his character would be difficult if you didn't get to hear his thoughts.

Thanks! I always thought that Draco would be a lot less cocky on the inside than he projected when he was around Harry. Because Draco wanted to be big man on campus, and Harry was his greatest threat, so of course he'd puff up his feathers when the competition was nearby. Besides, while he did genuinely think he was hot stuff back at Hogwarts, by now he's seen a lot. DeathEaterville is not a happy place. And I think that would have a big effect on Draco, who, by all appearances, had always had things fairly easy until Half-Blood Prince. He's had to step up his focus (CONSTANT VIGILANCE!) to survive among Voldemort's ranks, especially since, when he was drafted into the job, Lucius had just failed massively and the Malfoy name wasn't worth so very much.

Astoria definitely needs to be careful with him. Very, very careful.

I'm so glad that you enjoyed that twist! It was definitely something painful for Astoria. She really idolized her mother--was willing to go to some pretty extreme lengths to avenge her death, only to find out that Lavinia betrayed her. It's unlikely to help her trust issues, for sure. In fact, it's lucky that Ginny got in there before Astoria slammed her emotional doors completely shut. If she hadn't shown up to check on her and give her some good news, I think Astoria might have been a lot worse off, in the long run.

I cannot reveal too much about Daphne or their father, but you will see more of both of them. I'll let you draw your own conclusions about how Felix might react to that kind of information. You'll meet him in a few chapters and he is...an interesting fellow.

I'm so, so, SO excited that this was your favorite chapter! Thank you! It was a real challenge, and I really wanted to get it just right, so I am just so glad you enjoyed reading it!

Thank you so much for this absolutely lovely review, Gabbie! You're the best evil twin a girl could ask for ; )

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #48, by maraudertimes A Family Affair

23rd September 2014:
Review swap! Again! I really love how I'm finally able to continue reading and reviewing this. I really like this story!

Okay, so the start was really sad, especially seeing Astoria, who is so strong and fierce, go through such extensive hardships after the incidents. The part with Tilly made me a little happier though because it always makes me feel better when families treat their house elves properly.

Meeting Felix Greengrass was a little different to say the least. I think he's a smart man but he seems to have some really bad memory problems, so I hope that gets better. I liked his comments on muggles. Although it's probably dangerous for him to think like that, I respect him a lot (even if he doesn't know that voicing those opinions could get him killed).

The final ending with Astoria and her ancestor/portrait was really touching. It showed how much she cared for her father to have Tilly hide the books instead of getting rid of them, all in order to please her father but also protect him.

I really liked this chapter and I'm still really loving the concept and characters you've created. It's really awesome and I know the next chapter will be just as awesome!
Lo :)

Author's Response: Hello hello!

It *is* sad. Astoria has a lot on her plate. Like you say, she's a very strong person, and I think it's not till you see the burdens she's shouldering--besides interviews with Death Eaters--that you get to see just how strong she really is.

Felix is certainly intelligent, but he's not all there in the head. The stress of losing his wife made him really retreat into himself, and now his brain has just kind of re-wired around the things it can't cope with. He's a bit mad, but he's still a lovely person. Felix probably has the best heart of any of the Greengrasses.

I'd definitely respect Felix for what he says, and I'm happy that you do, too. Even if he hasn't grasped the dangers of the current political climate, his views would not be popular among his peers. He's brave to believe differently from them, and to be willing to voice his opinions. I'd say he isn't perfect; he's still a bit patronizing toward Muggles, though he does recognize that the innovations they've made to survive in spite of their lack of magic are quite spectacular. But still, his views are far and away better than those held by most of Pureblood society.

I'm glad you liked that part! It's a moment of growth for Astoria. Her instinct is usually to eliminate threats. This is the second time that she has been willing to deviate from that pattern for the sake of someone she cares about.

Thank you so much. I'm really happy that you're enjoying it, and a appreciate your confidence. Hopefully the next chapter *will* be just as enjoyable. I'll keep my fingers crossed.

Thanks again for the swap!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #49, by maraudertimes A Changing Tide

22nd September 2014:
Hiya, here for the review swap!

Ohmigoodness, I think Draco likes Astoria! ;) It was really cool to see that he didn't attack her straight away after she pulled the poker on him, especially since his wand was right there. He's intrigued by her and obviously wants to learn more about her and her situation.

I just absolutely love Astoria. She's such a great character. She's feisty and hard, but also so emotional and I just absolutely love this story. Ugh it's been so long since I've read it.

The end with Greyback was probably my least favourite part just because of Greyback, but I loved how Draco handled it. It just shows the power he can command because of his blood status and his position in Voldemort's (oops!) ranks. And just the fact that he lied for her and saved her from Greyback? *squee* It's a weird thing to want and a weird thing to think cute or desirable but it is. :)

And yay! Finally leaving the parlour. I'm so excited for the next one! This one was so jam-packed and hopefully I can continue reading this because I really like it! I'm always just so amazed and in awe of your writing skills. Keep it up because this is awesome!

Lo :)

Author's Response: Hey!

Ohmygoodness, I think he might ;)

Thank you so much! Like, so, SO much. That really means a lot.

Ick. Greyback. I understand the sentiment. And it's nice to see Draco putting all that arrogance to good use for once, isn't it?

Bahaha. Oops is right. I'm just gonna go hide over here, and if the Snatchers come, you never saw me, right?

It *is* a weird thing to find cute or desirable, but I'm totally on the same page. "Oh, Draco, the way you boss werewolves around is sooo dreamy. *swoons*"
...Look, some girls appreciate flowers. Some like chocolates. And some prefer to be rescued from certain death. But that's fine. It's apples and oranges, really.

Thank you so much for your kind words, Lo! I'm so glad you're enjoying the story!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #50, by nott theodore A Changing Tide

21st September 2014:
Hi Penny! I'm here for our review swap - it's been far too long since I got to read some more of this lovely story!

Wow, this was a really eventful chapter to come back to! I loved the way that you opened it, with just that one word - 'Darkness'. It had such an impact and instantly had me worrying about what was going to happen to Astoria now that she's been found out as a traitor by Draco. She's in a really perilous position now, and although I know that she must get out of this in some way because she goes on to marry Draco in the future, I was still really worried about her!

I have to say once again that I loved your description throughout this chapter! You have a lovely writing style and it was great to see all the unusual comparisons and descriptions that you included which evoked such vivid pictures in my mind.

I thought Astoria managed to get out of her predicament really well at the beginning of the chapter - at least showing she's got guts, and that she's not just going to stand back and let things happen to her. Even if a poker might not be the best weapon against a wand :P I admit though, I was surprised that Draco had his wand all along and didn't even try to defend himself against her attack, because he could so easily have done so.

I think that my favourite thing about this chapter was the development that seems to have been made in it. They're only just leaving the parlour here and yet there's so much obvious development in their characters and their strange sort of relationship as well, and I find it absolutely fascinating that there's so much progress been made already.

It was so intriguing to see Draco make sure that she didn't say the name Voldemort - such a change, and I'm sure that he didn't even realise why he'd done it in the first place. I found the way that you wrote that part very convincing, as I think there are sparks and the definite potential for some romance to develop in the future between them from what we've seen already.

It was so scary when Draco realised that the others were already coming to try and take Astoria, even though I did believe him when he said he hadn't called them and told them that she was a traitor. I also found the explanation about why they're investigating 'traitors' in the way that they are really interesting - I can imagine it being very plausible, that they would need money to pay the Snatchers and the others who are working for Voldemort primarily for the monetary gain.

It was really touching to read about how much Astoria cares for her family, too. I felt so sorry for her as she was begging and pleading for Draco to spare her father at least - even if she doesn't like them that much, or get on very well with them, she still loves them deep down and is driven by that to some extent too. She'll protect them as long as she can, and I can see that in the character I imagine as Scorpius's mother and Draco's wife. I feel sorry for her to have so much responsibility laid on her shoulders when she's only young - the youngest in her family, in fact.

Fenrir Greyback... ugh, he was so creepy. You wrote him really well, though, and gave me goosebumps reading about his attitude to Astoria and wanting to be able to have his way and it was just so horrible to read but really well written since Fenrir Greyback is an awful character!

I'm so glad that Draco managed to convince Fenrir Greyback that she's innocent and actually stood up to him! It's so brave really and it's taken a lot for him to do that - as he said, he's now a traitor for having done it. I just hope that he'll be alright because of it, since he can't actually say why he's done it yet. In the future, though, I'm sure that it's going to be something that'll bring the two of them together.

I'm really intrigued by what's coming next, too! I'm pleased that Astoria's safe for now and that there's been so much progress and so much happening between them in this chapter, all with great writing. I'll try to get back soon to carry on reading!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Sian! You leave such fabulous reviews. I'm so sorry for the delay in answering them.

Thank you so much! I really spend a lot of time looking for the right analogies and rhythms, so that compliment means a lot to me. I'm so glad that you enjoy the style!

I think that if Draco had really felt endangered, he would have used his wand. But he knew that he had the advantage. As far as he knows, Astoria doesn't have a wand on her at all, and though Draco has no intention of underestimating her, he's pretty confident in his dueling skills. And, with that in mind, he could afford to be intrigued. He's seen a lot while doing this job in the past year, but no one has ever reacted quite like Astoria, and that fascinated him. He wanted to see what else she would do.

I am *delighted* that you think the development is going well. That's important to me, since obviously there's a lot of room for these two to grow. I certainly don't want to rush things, so feel free to let me know if you ever feel that someone's growth/choices strike you unrealistic.

Yeah, that was a fun part. Before, I think you can tell that they are well-matched as opponents, but I think that's the moment when you first really get to see the sparks, the possibility ; )

I'm glad you found the premise plausible. It was one just an idea that struck me: people are greedy, and Voldemort is employing some of the lowest, greediest types of people. Fanatical devotion is all very well for people like Bellatrix, but most of his followers aren't really the "devotion" type. They're out for what they can get. So I thought Voldemort would need ways of providing for his forces, and ways to pay back his "investors". Killing Muggles/the Muggle families of Muggle-borns can't bring in much money, since what they had would all be in Muggle currency. The ones who really have cash are the Purebloods themselves. So I thought they'd be knocking people off--whoever wasn't useful. The Greengrasses could easily find themselves on that list, now that Lavinia is gone. She was useful, but Felix is a shut-in, and he's gone a bit mad, so he's not worth much to the Death Eaters.
Now, the Greengrass' money outweighs their possible contributions.

Draco was curious about whether she was guilty or not, but all along, he knew it didn't really matter. However, if everyone he and his team interviewed was killed, then the Purebloods would catch on to what was happening, and they would be angry, so theoretically, he does have some say in who gets killed and who gets a reprieve. It's just that normally it comes down to whether or not Greyback is out for blood that day. This is the first time that Draco has actually asserted his authority when they showed up without Draco calling them.

Thank you. Fenrus was fun to write, but it creeped me out, too. Like, serious shivers. Ick.

It was brave of Draco! Someone give that boy a round of applause--positive reinforcement is key. I thought it made sense in his character arc, especially in light of the next chapter.

Thank you so very much for your LOVELY review. I am always glad to get your thoughts and opinions! Sending you a huge hug of thanks!

--Penny



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>