Reading Reviews for Keep Calm and Carry On
  
360 Reviews Found

Review #51, by LittleMissPrincess Nothin' but a Number

9th August 2013:
HEY LOOK ITS ME AGAIN! I'VE FINALLY DECIDED IT WAS TIME TO GET OFF MY READING HIATUS!

okay so what was that last bit at the end?has edie's article not been published? if katie hasn't read it then.but edie is now finally press?

speaking of which, you have no idea how much this excites me. if you remember, for ages i've been waiting and waiting for edie's renewal into the world, and now shes got her job, and her articles and hopefully potential boyfriend in the name of oliver wood --

ALSO OMG THAT THING WITH JAE. LIKE OMG. I TOTALLY DID NOT SEE THAT COMING. THAT WAS REALLY WEIRD. but also gives a good excuse for them to separate so that edie can be with oliver again in a massive ship of EDIVER! *pass the champagne*

everything was super cool.

also OLIVER THINKS EDIE IS COOL :D
also can you please maybe update soon maybe pleas? i promise to review on time this time ehehe

ok bye

Author's Response: Hello again you!

About the last bit--Katie *has* read the first article, which was published under Rose's name. More on that in the next chapter. Edie has been officially hired by Witch Weekly, and is going to the match on their behalf. We can assume that Blakeslee has told Katie/Deverill that Rose will no longer be their press person, and that Edie needs the badge. Hence she was owled it. Hope that helps!

Yes! Things are finally looking up for Edie. At least for now... :3

The bit with Jae was so much fun. He's such an idiot, and kind of a playboy. But I like him for some reason anyway... I want to pat him condescendingly on the head.

Oliver does think Edie is KEWL! As for the update, I am almost done with the next chapter. I'm trying to get better about finishing a chapter, taking a few days to ignore it, and then coming back to edit it before I post. I like updating quickly--it keeps you guys reading I hope??--but I always wonder if I could be doing better with the individual chapters.

Thank you again! ♥


 Report Review

Review #52, by AlexFan Nothin' but a Number

31st July 2013:
YOU'RE BACK! Yay, this chapter was totally worth the wait (as it usually is).

I feel so bad for Edie and the fact that she slept with someone that young. Not that it's a bad thing or anything but to find out like that must've really sucked. Jae's age did shock me though, there were some very cuss-filled thoughts going through my head that I can't mention here.

Hey, she should be glad that at least Jae was legal!

Things just seem to be getting better and better with Edie. She's finally being recognized for her work and now she gets invited to meet Katie Bell and really write!

I bet Rose is going to going to go ballistic. I can't wait to see her explode once she finds out that Edie got her job. I don't really think she's in any position to get back at Edie anyway, she's lucky to still have her job and not be sued for plaigirsm or something like that!

Awesome chapter, as usual!

Author's Response: And YOU'RE back, wheee!

You're right, an age difference like that isn't really a huge deal, if you're aware of it before something happens... Otherwise it would make me feel so pervy! I tried to allude to Jae's age by making him generally immature, mostly in the way he approached Edie about dates and just kind of treating her like this doll he could fling around.

Yes, she is finally in a good place with her work! I've just fully formulated Rose's next appearance, and I can't wait for you guys to read it! IRL has been weird lately, but I'm forcing myself to take some time away from things and write.

Thank you as always ♥


 Report Review

Review #53, by Hope's Mom Nothin' but a Number

28th July 2013:
Oooo - I was surprised by Jae's age! I can't say I would be thrilled either. The quidditch match (and meeting Katie) should be interesting to say the least!

Author's Response: Hi again! Nice to see that it came as a surprise. I am indeed having a lot of fun (adn inner turmoil!) writing the scenes with Katie and the Quidditch match. Hopefully they will be finished soon. Thanks for another review!

 Report Review

Review #54, by Courtney Dark Nothin' but a Number

21st July 2013:
Hey there!

Wow, what an, um, eventful chapter! I can't believe that Jae is nineteen! But when I think about it, I reckon I should've seen it coming - things never seem to go right for Edie, do they? Especially in the romance department. Or any department, really - although at least she has a proper job now!

I think the way you revealed Jae's age was absolutely perfect - I was laughing throughout the whole section, and Jae dropping the eggs as he exclaimed "MERLIN'S BEARD!" was the icing on the cake, in my opinion. And then the line: "You’d already graduated by the time I was a First-Year! You were—you were an adult when I was only ten!” This is definitely the funniest, most original story I have read in a long time!

Though he didn't appear for very long, I loved Seamus, as always. Just like him eyeing up girls and spilling a sort of secret of Edie's and getting so drunk that Dean had to take him home.

And Leo's back! I loved Edie's brothers when they first appeared and was so was glad to see Leo's reappearance. And I have to say, I really like the relationship between Edie and her brothers - I especially enjoyed the tussle for the sandwich!

Ooh, I am very intrigued about this letter from Katie Bell, and definitely looking forward to seeing what will happen next!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hellooo!

Hehe, "eventful" is a good word. SO MANY SUBPLOTS. It's like trying to wrangle about eighteen corgi puppies, trying to get everything to coalesce! But yes, she does indeed have a proper job now.

For some reason, I feel like Jae leaving the eggs on the floor said a lot about his character. Like, living with his Mum, maybe she cleans up with him... hehe.

Ohh yes, Seamus. I felt like their little trifecta's friendship seemed too perfect... like, they never ever fought, or anything. And he's just too much of a loudmouth to not do something embarrassing like this more often.

YAY LEO! :D :D :D

Thanks again, so very very much, for another lovely review. ♥


 Report Review

Review #55, by onestop_hpfan18 The Job Thousands would Kill For

19th July 2013:
Back again to review! I really am enjoying this fanfic. It's such an effortless read and I find Edie to be very relate-able. She's stuck in an internship where she feels underappreciated, while at the same time she knows that it'll all pay off in the end and she'll be able to write the stories that matter to her after she's paid her dues in the journalism community. I also enjoyed the little quips you've added of Edie's interactions with her coworkers and then fleshing out more back history to connect her friends with her job as an intern. Anyway, great chapter. (:

Author's Response: Yay! "Relateable" is really what I wanted out of this story. Glad to hear that, really. Thanks!!

 Report Review

Review #56, by marauderfan Nothin' but a Number

18th July 2013:
Omg! I had been wondering how old Jae was for a while, but never really thought too much about it cause I was like "eh if its not mentioned it's probably not important!" ...Incorrect! Hahah so yes, shocked. Congratulations :p

I loved the scene with Leo! He is hilarious, I was laughing at the part where he said "I tried to tell him you aren't that spectacular" haha. And obviously knows Oliver's feelings better than Edie does, thanks to firewhisky.

I'm really excited for her to meet Katie! I feel like that will be an interesting scene. Something ridiculous is bound to happen. I can't wait :D

Author's Response: I'm glad that you were shocked! ;D

Originally I had Liam talking with Edie, because I love how scrawny and awkwardly adult-like he is (though always falling short and being teased for his young age), but it just seemed like something I wanted Leo to be doing. Particularly since he has just as hard a time with discussing feelings as Edie!

Thank you ♥


 Report Review

Review #57, by Emily Nothin' but a Number

17th July 2013:
Thank you for updating! I am not a member of the site but I do tune in just to read your story! Keeps getting better every update- you're a fantastic writer :)
I was certainly shocked at Jae's age!!! Totally didn't see that one coming...well just wanted to say thanks for updating and can't wait to read more- I've been checking back almost daily for updates :)

Author's Response: Ohh, wow! Thank you! That's so nice to hear, I'm glad that you're enjoying Edie's mishaps as much as I am.

I haven't even started on the next chapter yet, but it shouldn't be *too* terribly long. IRL has been hectic, to say the least. Thank you for stopping by to review! It's greatly appreciated.


 Report Review

Review #58, by PitchBlue Nothin' but a Number

17th July 2013:
Hi,

I really liked this chapter! While I was reading, I came across a lot of things I loved, but right now all I can think about is OMG Jae's 19!!! That was absolutely hilarious, and of course it had to happen to Edie. Poor gal.

Looking forward to the next chapter!

- PB

Author's Response: Heehee! A similar thing actually happened to me (after I'd already written this out in my head!) although it culminated in a conversation at a chocolate store, and not... well.

Thanks so much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #59, by Siriusly89 Nothin' but a Number

17th July 2013:
AH! I literally start chanting every time you update :D

Seamus! It’s been too long! And of course you’re eyeing up girls, my lil’ Seamy, wouldn’t be you unless you were. And of course trendy-artist Jae would suggest the trendy-artist café. I like how it sort of came full circle, the whole mess started in Le Chat Noir, and it ends there too (well, the mess at Witch Weekly, I’ve a feeling things aren’t going to work out this well between Edie and Rosie dearest (snort) and Oliver-stinking-Wood (I hate him so much, its just irrational)

And the whole thing makes a lot more sense! I like how you casually explained it to everyone, when really it was an epic tale which spanned eighteen (eight-friggin-teen!) chapters!

Nooo (you can’t hear me, but I’m howling at this stage!) Not only is Edie completely bypassing Dean (Dedie forever!) but she’s using Jae. Don’t do that Edie, its not nice. Don’t be a Rose. I’m so disappointed in you Edie. Sob. Inner Lisa is shaking her head. Bad Edie, very bad.

EDIE! Edie Lennox, you get down off that table right now and put your shirt back on! Walk out that door and don’t do something stupid. Edie! EDIE! She’s not listening to me! Aah! Poor Jae’s just going to get his feelings stomped all over, isn’t he? OR! Now this could be a very good plot twist, EDIE falls in love with Jae, but he turns out to be a womaniser (I hate that word, but the word I wanted to use is 15+ :P) and then she cry’s a lot, and has to wander off, but Seamus and Dean (especially Dean, wink wink!) make her feel better, and they all skip off into the sunset (Edie and Dean holding hands, of course ;) ) and Oliver goes off with Rose, and has evil little children, and Jae runs off with EDIES MOM! Yes! That is a good idea! In my mind anyway!

I don’t know why they are freaking out quite so much. Seven years isn’t that bad when you think about it, I mean, there are forty-somethings and nineteen year olds together, and no one really bats an eyelid. But I suppose all the same, it is rather uncomfortable for Edie. I told her it was a bad idea, but did she listen, nope!

Leo just strolls on in with a pickle sandwich, casual as you like, and starts blabbering on about how Oliver ‘really’ likes Edie. Yeah, that explains why he got off with Rose first chance he got, doesn’t it? NOT!

And Edie’s covering the Puddlemere-Kestrels match. Awkward. I really hope she forgets herself at some point and just starts randomly shouting abuse at Puddlemere and cheering for the Kestrels, only to remember a second too late, by which time she’s stood up on her chair!

Imagine though, if she were to run into Rose and Oliver! Please tell me she does!

As always, a brillopad chapter, already excited for the next one ♥

Author's Response: Hey, you! ♥

Yes! I originally had them going back to The Poisoned Apple so that Edie could talk loudly about her new job, but it just added another sub-plot to an already fairly eventful chapter.

Paha! I'm sorry you hate Oliver so much! I'm afraid he's here to stay for the rest of the story, though what his role will be I can't say. (MYSTERY! DECEIT!)

Haha, that's interesting that you saw it as her using Jae! I've always just seen him as not actually having any feelings for her, either. More like they're using each other. I think I mentioned this in another response, but they only spend time together when they bump into each other--at Hypatia's studio, outside the Hanging Moon, breaking into WW because he was bored. Neither of them really displayed a huge interest in the other, outside of being physical. At least in my opinion! ;3

I agree--age doesn't matter to me. I feel like it's different when one of the parties still has the "-teen" suffix... And she went into it thinking he was older than her, so that's a bit of a shock xD

STOP GUESSING ALL OF MY STORY PLOTS. I guess it's not a huge spoiler, but Edie does indeed forget herself at the match!

Thanks again, lovely ♥


 Report Review

Review #60, by TheGirlOnFire The Magic Touch

17th July 2013:
Yeah I was really excited that she was finally going to tell hut I guess not. *sighsindissaponitment*.

TheGirlOnFire:)

Author's Response: I originally had her telling Blakeslee everything, but it just left too many holes in the plot. But everything will come full circle soon, my friend! ♥

 Report Review

Review #61, by TheGirlOnFire Bad Publicity

17th July 2013:
Things seem to just be getting worse and worse for Edie. Maybe he and Oliver can hook up *winkwink*.

TheGirlOnFire:)

Author's Response: Pahahaha. That would possibly make things better for her right now--or possibly much worse. An interesting thought, though. ♥

 Report Review

Review #62, by TheGirlOnFire Hell Hath No Fury like Rose Zeller Scorned

17th July 2013:
Yeah I'm really liking Rose less and less. Someone needs to take he down from her high horse. Gear job.


TheGirlOnFire:)

Author's Response: Don't you worry, she'll get hers. ;3

 Report Review

Review #63, by TheGirlOnFire Lessons in Chemistry

17th July 2013:
Yay, positive interaction between her and Oliver. Good work.

The GirlOnFire:)

Author's Response: Yes! That scene was so fun to write! Although very hard not to go overboard with the fluffiness. But it's just too easy. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #64, by TheGirlOnFire A Very Brief Foray into Journalism

17th July 2013:
I feel bad for Edie. She should get credit for te article. Rose just seems stuck up and rude.

TheGirlOnFire:)

Author's Response: Rose is an interesting one indeed. She isn't the most considerate, but there is (somewhere very, very deep down) an ounce of human in there. She'll actually be coming out around chapter 20 (which I'm afraid is a way off for you!) ♥

 Report Review

Review #65, by TheGirlOnFire An Interview with Mister Wood

17th July 2013:
That's nice, Oliver Wood stealing someone elses identity. Good old Oliver. This is a great story so far. Your a good writer. Keep up the good work.

TheGirlOnFire :)

Author's Response: Oh yes. It was a strange decision indeed on his part... but hopefully it'll all make sense (much, much later in the story, I'm afraid.) Thank you for all of your reviews!

 Report Review

Review #66, by TheGirlOnFire The Proposition

17th July 2013:
Good for her, she's finally getting to write an article it's a shame it's not in her name.

TheGirlOnFire :)

Author's Response: You're right, it is a shame! But at least she's getting an opportunity of sorts? At least that's how she's rationalizing it to herself...

 Report Review

Review #67, by TheGirlOnFire The Job Thousands would Kill For

17th July 2013:
Poor Edith. I would hate a jobs like that. But maybe someday she'll get where she wants. Keep up the good work.

TheGirlOnFire :)

Author's Response: Yes, hopefully SOMEDAY everything will pay off for her... :D

 Report Review

Review #68, by TheGirlOnFire Take Two and Call Me in the Morning

17th July 2013:
Great start. That pick up line had me laughing so hard. I can't wait to see what happened next, it seems like this cold be a very good story.

TheGirlOnFire :)

Author's Response: Heehee. The pickup line... oh man. Never tried it, but I'm pretty sure it wouldn't work. Thanks for the review, and welcome to the story!

 Report Review

Review #69, by the_giant_squid Nothin' but a Number

16th July 2013:
AHHH JAE! Poor poor Edie - what an unexpected surprise! Excellent chapter, as per usual. I can't wait until she covers the Puddlemere match (and, of course, the next Oliver interaction!)

Author's Response: I'm happy to read that it came as a surprise! Edie was sure shocked, too ;D The Puddlemere match is in the next chapter, yay!

 Report Review

Review #70, by ValWitch21 Nothin' but a Number

16th July 2013:
YAY SARAH ♥

If this makes no sense, blame it on the HC, lack of sleep, and fingers too fat for my phone's keyboard.

First. As an official fangirl/stalker/mildly creepy human being, dare I draw a parallel between Jae and Edie's situation and posts that appeared on your tumblr a while ago?

Which leads, inevitably, to JAE YOU ARE DISGUSTING AND I REALLY DO NOT LIKE YOU. This guy is the worst combination of what annoys in men, I swear. If he continues to behave like a pig I'm going to start throwing heavy, sharp objects at him.

HYPATIA IS THE BEST. I know she's intrusive and quite frankly a pain in the backside sometimes but she is my favourite character of all. I wonde how she's going to react when Edie confronts her -- probably breeze through stating that 'but darling it was for your good'.

More bromance, woot!

And Katie comes into the picture again. There go the last shreds of my coherence, I'm off to bed. Four in the morning isn't a proper bedtime.

(Also, I want to hear from you and tumblr is difficult to access right now, so if you have the time to tell me all about your job via a forum PM I will be very happy.)

And no, Jae's age didn't come as a shocker -- I think his overall attitude made it obvious to me that he was quite a bit younger. Good riddance to him, I hope!



Author's Response: HALLO!

You could definitely draw a parallel between Jae/Edie and the tumblr thing, although ironically enough I had this scene written out before that ever happened to me xD It was just another "Wow, I am actually turning into my MC" moments.

Yeah, I hoped to get across that Jae isn't really looking for anything remotely romantic with Edie... hence their date plans never culminated, and they only ended up spending time together when they bumped into each other randomly, or when she sought him out. ;3

You'd probably be right about Hypatia! And yes, I'm excited to write the scene between Edie and Katie as well.

I will of course send you a PM soon! I've just moved to a new place, so everything is up in the air--including my internet connection--so I've been HPFF-ing very seldomly over the last week or so. But I will definitely be speaking to you ASAP!



 Report Review

Review #71, by onestop_hpfan18 Take Two and Call Me in the Morning

14th July 2013:
I like this, and I like the fact that you chose minor characters from the series and original characters as Edie's friends. It's light and humorous and just refreshing to read instead of next generation. I also like that you gave them all different jobs that are lesser known for the most part. It's great to read about a character that is pursuing a career that isn't a healer/auror/ministry job.

Though I did find it humorous that you have Seamus as being 5'8" in this and in real life Devon Murray (who is the actor who plays Seamus in the movies) can't be no taller than 5'3" because I met him just a couple weeks ago at LeakyCon in Portland, Oregon and he was almost a full head's shorter than I am (and I'm 5'5"). He's also very nice and down-to-earth.

Anyway, great chapter. I've already favorited this and will be returning to read & review more. (:

Author's Response: Aahhh a new reader! Hello! *Throws confetti always kept at hand for such occasions*

I've mentioned this before, but when I came back to HPFF after my hiatus, when the books had ended, I felt that the majority of stories were Next-Gen (this may not be true, but it sure felt that way!) And I missed the characters I grew up with, especially the minor ones. Hence this story!

I also felt very unconvinced by stories where all the characters had their dream jobs. Yes, this is set in 2006 so things were a bit better, but it is SO HARD to find careers now--even a part-time job is hard--and I wanted to write about that struggle.

That's funny that Devon is so short. I picture Seamus looking different in this story, but I kind of like the idea of him being even shorter than 5'8"... I have a habit of making all my male characters exceedingly tall... But I like the idea of an even shorter Seamus!

Thanks so much, and welcome! ♥


 Report Review

Review #72, by Courtney Dark You've Got Moxie, Kid

2nd July 2013:
Hey! It's been a while, but I'm back and I loved this new chapter as much as ever! It was very nice to finally see something in Edie's life go right, for once.

I don't want to bore you with my waffle, so I'll try ti make this quick!

There were so many bits and pieces throughout this chapter that made me giggle - for example, the idea of Dean and Seamus wearing their old Hogwarts robes with black pant smeared over their faces. I think Seamus has to be my favourite character in Keep Calm and Carry On, so it's always fun when he makes an appearance!

I also thoroughly enjoyed Jae in this chapter - and the snogging session was great - Edie really does have perfect timing, doesn't she. I liked the addition of Jae flirting with the door knob (he's such a charmer!) and the line: As Blakeslee leads me round the corner, I hear him try valiantly, “Mildred, is it? May I just say that you look stunning in green—” You really have a talent for perfectly timed humour! And I think comparisons between Filch and Mildred were justified.

I like the way that Edie was finally given a proper job by Blakeslee - it wasn't all sunshine and rainbows and I definitely was surprised when Edie stood up for Rose. I wonder how the two of them will interact next time they meet?

This was a great chapter - I missed Oliver a little bit though, I have to admit! Hopefully we'll see him in the next chapter?

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hello you! It has been a while for me as well :D

Most people seem to generally like Jae, especially after this chapter. I have to admit that he's grown on me too. He was a huge part of what made this chapter so fun to write (as well as Seamus, which you've mentioned!) And it just suddenly struck me in this chapter where most of my inspiration from Mildred came from... Filch! They should totally be together forever.

I definitely did not want it to seem all sunshine and rainbows, as you said, so I'm pleased that it read that way. As for Rose and Edie's next interaction, my initial idea was thwarted because I thought of a much more realistic one... Nothing too suspenseful, but that's all I'll say.

Yeah, I realize there isn't an overwhelming amount of Oliver in this story as of late. But I want to give the impression to readers--young, old, male or female--that your life does not have to revolve around your love interest. I'm very guilty of spending all day sighing and daydreaming and batting my eyelashes, but there are other things going on too that require our attention. Like female goblin rights, and friends (and their babies), and careers, and candy! :D

Thank you again for another lovely review ♥


 Report Review

Review #73, by Jen You've Got Moxie, Kid

27th June 2013:
Amazing chapter!!! I absolutely LOVE Seamus. I can just imagine his birdcalls and it starts me laughing every time i do. And Jae! I cannot figure him out, he's such a smooth talker (except with Mildred of course) and I love his character, but at the same time I ship Ediver like there is no tomorrow. Ugh I can't wait for the next chapter, please post it soon (no pressure).

Also, not to be pushy or anything, and honestly I will not be upset if you don't, but do you think we could see more of Edie's brothers? it's just so perfect that they get along so well with Oliver, and Edie is such a great (although overprotective) older sister! I love their interactions with her, and something gives me the feeling that they'd get along pretty well with Seamus to... just a hunch.

Anyway, keep going! I will recommend all of my fanfic-reading friends to this story because it's definitely worth reading!

Author's Response: Hellooo!

That Jae is a tricky one, yes indeed. I like him better after writing this chapter, though ;3 And I am about two pages into the next chapter... which is not nearly long enough! Plus, I will most likely be doing some serious editing (read: deleting) of what's already written.

Not pushy at all! I obviously have my story planned out and most likely won't just throw things in because readers say they want to see it, but you're right! I would love to include more of Edie's brothers, and your comment about how well they got along with Oliver actually inspired a plunny! I've been looking for a way to sneak them in and haven't been able to come up with a legitimate way. So I appreciate that very much.

Thanks so much for your kind words! I'm sorry the update is taking so long. ♥


 Report Review

Review #74, by Jen An Interview with Mister Wood

25th June 2013:
First fanfic that actually made me laugh out loud. I first suspected that it was actually Wood when Edie mentioned that his accent sounded a bit Scottish when he apologized to her the night before. Seamus and Oliver are two of my favorite characters from HP so Im loving this story with the hilarious interaction between them!

Author's Response: Yeah! More people are coming out of the woodwork and saying they totally called the Krum/Wood thing... In a way I'm glad, though, because perhaps then it didn't seem so far-fetched that they were actually the same person? And yay Seamus and Oliver! Especially their bromance. Thanks so much for the review ♥

 Report Review

Review #75, by marauderfan You've Got Moxie, Kid

22nd June 2013:
Dean and Seamus are amazing. I love any scene with them in it. The birdcalls. so great. I wonder if that's what tipped off Mildred, lol. And Jae chatting up a door knob was fantastic.

And how lucky for Edie that she finally got hired!!! I was actually glad that Edie stood up for Rose and didn't get extra catty and try to get her fired. After all it was because of Edie and Rose's shared decisions that gave Edie the opportunity to write in the first place, so I thought it was very good of her to defend Rose. Of course, Rose will probably continue to be a jerk, but Edie has the moral high ground now, haha.

Ack! I can't believe I'm all caught up now! Honestly I was enjoying being so far behind because there were always chapters here waiting for me to read them. So... can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Ugh, I don't know if this story would even be half as fun to write without Dean and Seamus. Pahaha, you're right. I wonder if Seamus was just standing around outside trying out new birdcalls and Mildred heard him... Nah, it was totally that Brutus fellow. What a surly jerk.

I'm glad that you support Edie's decision not to throw Rose under the bus. It just felt too mean, even for self-absorbed Edie. And you're right--without Rose, Edie would probably never have met Oliver. She would still only know him as Viktor Krum, in fact.

I'm taking a small break to tie up some loose ends with the plot. Like I totally glossed over Puddlemere's first Quidditch match... whoops. hehe. Just little things like that, and some of the bigger plot points.

Anyway! Thank you for all of your reviews. They're so lovely to read ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>