Reading Reviews for Keep Calm and Carry On
  
414 Reviews Found

Review #26, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Lisa Turpin-Finch-Fletchley Unravels

8th February 2015:
Is Justin happy about this? So many twists and turns I wasn't too focused on Lisa because for a moment when she said it in the other chapter I was like yeah right homegirl is knocked up but I'm a stress eater and I wanted to read more about Oliver.

Oh Lisa! It's going to be okay even though she has worked so hard to be a Healer and now she's going to have a baby and that's going back things up quite a bit and she has Edie as a house guest when the baby could be in that room.

Does Justin know?

Oh this is so sad! I do want Edie to tell her everything that's been going on. They need to share more. Well she needs to share more. Justin blowing up at her (sort of) was great. He cares but he's realistic and Edie needs that because she's got her head in the clouds a bit.

Author's Response: URRGHH Lisa is one of my biggest regrets in this story. She's just so two-dimensional right now. I wanted her to be a clear opposite from Edie as a means of emphasizing how differently their lives have gone since graduation, but it's to the point that I don't even see how their friendship works. OH ALSO I was really trying to avoid the trope of "That's my best mate... she's mental" that we see often, because in those situations the best friend is really just around as a conduit to get the main character into bad situations. ("I dare you to snog Oliver!" type nonsense that I ta-HO-tally did not want to write.) But it's backfired on me for sure. Lisa is too nice; I think Edie needs a bit more sass and mischief to stay interested. And somebody as rational and polite as Lisa would find Edie completely annoying. So anyway, I've been making some major edits with Lisa's entire character. They haven't made it to the site yet, but it's one of the bigger re-writes I'm doing, along with Oliver's dismissive attitude toward the press.

Anyway, with ~new Lisa~ she just doesn't want kids, probably ever. It's something that her and Justin have decided on before marriage (OMG can you even imagine Justin trying to raise a child?) but obviously that didn't pan out. So that's why ~New Lisa~ is so upset... and why she hasn't told Justin, because she's afraid he'll be like "Well crap."

Phew.

Thank you for reading my prattling on and on. ♥


 Report Review

Review #27, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Motion Sickness

8th February 2015:
He touches my hand and I feel nothing more than skin-on-skin contact; no butterflies. It's perfect.

^ I've been there. I've done that. It doesn't end well. Even though Jae seems like a tool he still is a person with feelings. I made that mistake after I was scorned by a cheating ex-boyfriend of four years. So there I was dating my Dean, which ended as quickly as it began and we never talked again. Devestated I dated my 'Jae' for a couple of months but he wasn't what I wanted or needed. It took me some soul searching and then I finally ended up with the big lug I date now. I suppose I shall call him my Oliver. Since he is awkward, twitchy and awkward.

Haha!

The point is I think Edie and I have too many similarities. You're pulling things from your own life so I guess you and I have too many similarities or maybe that's just what happens. We all kind of experience the same things and meet similar people. We all have our ups and downs and moments where we say 'we need to grow up' but the day sucks and our job sucks so we go 'I need a drink.' And then we just move on and hope for the best.

I hope for the best with Edie.

That Rose and Oliver kiss though. EW. If they're together for real that's gross. I'm sorry I just don't like Rose she's the villain in my eyes. Ha-ha. Maybe I'm just being catty.

Author's Response: Hellooo again!

I agree that it's not fair to put somebody through the wringer, and to keep in mind that everyone has feelings. Luckily Jae is as unattached as Edie is. I tried to kind of give him a sneaky, womanizing vibe to make this clearer. It's just one of those situations where neither of them is truly invested in the other, but it's something to pass the time.

"I need to grow up" ---> "Actually I need a drink" happens a lot. Haha. You've made a pretty accurate description of twenty-something-dom.

Rose is a really manipulative and spiteful person, totally! And I don't particularly *like* her either, but I'm telling the story through Edie's eyes, so she's probably giving me a bit of a bias...

As always, thank you!


 Report Review

Review #28, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap A Funny Thing Happened

8th February 2015:
I told you, scrubbing toilets is good for self-realizations.

^ YES! Time she realizes a few things. She's stubborn. I'm stubborn but come on we all make mistakes.

She's out of her flat and she's going to have to tell Lisa at least what's going on with her life. I feel like Oliver might tell Edie he wasn't going to kiss her or maybe he was drunk or something or other that's going to be sort of a let down. And Edie, the lying, really? Just tell the man the truth already! THE TRUTH SHALL SET YOU FREE!

...Eventually.

Kind of loved the Parakeet part and the Squib landlord. I'm a little obsessed with Argus Filch since I just wrote a fluffy one-shot about him. Squibs need love too.

Author's Response: BUT IT IS SO MUCH EASIER TO LIE AND LOOK LIKE A REALLY COOL JOURNALIST AND PRETEND TO HAVE YOUR LIFE TOGETHER AND NOT ADMIT FAULT than to just tell your friends, family, love interests, etc. the truth. At least that's how Edie's brain works. She's so prideful and arrogant that she would rather compulsively lie to everyone she cares about than admit that she's not doing so well in life.

Haha, the parakeet and Simon were two things I decided to add last-minute, and I'm so glad I did. (Embarrassing confession time: I imagined Simon Pegg playing the part of the landlord so vividly that I named the character after him.) Although I don't think Mr. Pegg has a parakeet named Peony... though he should.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #29, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap In a Puff of Smoke

8th February 2015:
I don't even have anything to say but I go by the hashtag #revieweverythingyouread

So you can't get rid of me that easily.

UH THE FEELS. THE CONVERSATION. THE FLIRTING.

THE ALMOST KISS.

You're killing me! I'm actually happy though because it's TOO soon. I want them to kiss and tumble into bed but at the same time I don't. I think Ollie deserves to know the truth about the whole Edie situation and Rose.

And I can't take the heartbreak from Dean just yet. #TEAMDEAN

...Dean needs love too.

Author's Response: TOO SOON INDEED. Like, do you two even know each other? You've spent approximately four hours in the same vicinity--do you REALLY feel anything right now? Rushing into romance is something that I always try to avoid. Ahhh I wish I could mention something about chapter 28 that I just wrote, but it basically is along the lines of how "love at first sight" is bollocks.

Dean does need some lovin'! He knows how we feel, though ♥


 Report Review

Review #30, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Clink

8th February 2015:
I have never bought a dress with the intention of leaving the tags on, wearing it for one day and returning it the next.

^ Guilty.

She's without a doubt on her high horse and as a pseudo journalist I don't trust her. I feel like she means well but at the same time...she's desperate. That's what it is. She's desperate to make a name for herself and start her career. I also think she has a bit of growing up to do herself which is ironic in a way because she acted as a 'mother' to her brothers and was their caretaker all these years. Clearly none of the worry or reality has hit her yet. Her friends still don't know she was fired even though I don't know how they don't since they always went drinking at the bar or would visit her. Something just isn't sitting right with me and I can't figure it out!

(As you can see i've done a lot of reviewing today. It's my day off so I won't get to indulge again for awhile!)

Author's Response: Hmmm, that's an interesting point about her being so motherly and also being so immature. I kind of imagined her being less nurturing to her younger brothers and more like a disgruntled assistant to her mother. You are very, very right though. She does have a lot of growing up to do.

Edie told Dean and Seamus that the Poisoned Apple was closed with a Dragon Pox infestation, or something similar (ack, it's been so long now I can't remember!) But it wouldn't have worked, mainly because Seamus was probably not listening when she told him ;)

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #31, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Magic Touch

8th February 2015:
I did say that Charms was my best subject.

^ YOU GO GIRL.

I didn't think Wood would be the reason she wouldn't say anything. I didn't think he would make an appearance. Makes sense but I just figured Edie would chicken out because well who wouldn't?

I love Liam, Luke and Leo. Drunk Wood was fun momentarily until Edie gave him the business. I feel I am on the fence with their relationship and I can already picture well another picture of their little debauchery. But I also think she's determined to think of the worse in Oliver when come on Edie, pot meet kettle, you're not a saint yourself.

Author's Response: Hiya again!

I suppose it's a combination of Edie being thrown off-guard by Oliver's presence and also just chickening out because, as you said, who wouldn't. She really had no way to prove she wrote the article, at least at this exact moment. Plus she and Rose didn't really think up a "master plan" to keep Oliver in the dark about everything with the articles... All he had to do was show up before everything could have totally fallen apart. And he did!

Ohhh gosh oh gosh I actually re-wrote that entire scene with the slap. Honestly I'm so horrified that it's even in this story--I wanted it to come across more as NO EDIE BAD YOU DO NOT HIT PEOPLE WHAT IS YOUR PROBLEM ARE YOU EVEN SERIOUS. But I don't think it did, and it seems like another "slap trope." I wanted to convey that violence is NOT THE ANSWER ESPECIALLY IN THIS CASE and I don't think it was clear, like, at all. But I have yet to complete that re-write and upload it, as per usual.



 Report Review

Review #32, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap And the Award Goes To...

8th February 2015:
I mean, I seriously cannot imagine having to wake up every day, for the rest of my life, next to the same bloke snoring away. And why should a woman’s existence be nothing but striving towards marriage?

^ This.

I felt like this for a long time. I never thought marriage married and even now when people told me for years 'you need to get married, find a man, etc' now they're like 'there is no point to marriage unless you're going to have kids.'

And I'm like...way to do a complete 360 on me there.

I've always gotten so annoyed with the guys I've dated I started to question if humans are even meant to be with one person their entire life. Maybe you're meant to be around each other for awhile and then you can move on because nothing is long lasting.

Now I'm dating someone if they ever left me I would kill them (MWAHAHAHA evil laugh).

Maybe not kill but I would be upset because I went to spend a life with him.

Edie, you want to be with Oliver Wood, you need to be with Oliver Wood.

(BUT WHY DEAN, WHY?)

“Well, I’ll be the one with the camera,” Theo says with his perpetual hint of sarcasm.

^ OHMYGOD OHMYGOD OHMYGOD OHMYGOG

NO.NO

Once more with feeling:

NO!

Theo is the one that took the picture of Edie and Oliver, isn't he? IT WOULD MAKE SO MUCH SENSE. What a sneaky sneaky lurker

NEVER TRUST THE PAPARAZZI or the WIZARDAZZI!

It's always the ones with the good bums.

She's not going to tell her anything. Something is going to get in her way but I can't say what exactly. Addicted to this story is an understatement.

Oh and thank you so much for responding to my previous reviews! I love it when author's respond. Makes me feel appreciated. :D Yes, I am on the forums. Under a different name. Yet our paths have yet to cross.

O...when will it happen...no one knows...except me because I know who you are! HAHA.

(Yeah, that was creepy. I agree.)

Author's Response: Yeah, honestly marriage just seems like a trap to me. I'm petrified of getting old/dying/falling out of love/the future in general, and it just seems like something that two people get themselves into before evolving so much that they no longer have anything in common. I dunno. Obviously there are exceptions to the rule but growing old/settling in general... *shudder*

I'm glad you like review responses! And I try to respond in a timely manner because you took the time to even read this in the first place, let alone share your opinions. It's the least we writers can do :)

*Creates opportunities to use the word "Wizardazzi" in the next chapter*



 Report Review

Review #33, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Bad Publicity

8th February 2015:
There’s a dull ache in my stomach—did I really dig my own grave like this? Because I dared to bend the rules, just once? To take on a challenge, and try to better myself as a journalist? I cover my face.

^ Karma girl. How unfair but that's how the world works. If this was reality she would get fired from her job for kicking them out. It doesn't matter if they were acting awful and it got out. She would be fired so fast she would get whiplash.

Why is Wood so delicious? Uh. I want to squeeze his cheeks (on his face, get your mind out of the gutter). He's so cute! And nice! And warm!

I wonder how he's going to react when he finds out that Edie gets nothing for her interview. Well, she gets the money which she clearly desperately needs now at all times but I really do not think Rose will pay her. I just have an inkling.

I want to say everything will go up from here but...yeah, that's not going to happen, is it?

Author's Response: Yes, karma and also an unfair advantage in which the universe hates Edie Lennox. I seriously had the plot bunny of "What if there was an OC who ALWAYS had something go wrong for them?" and KC&CO was born.

I'm so happy that most people like Oliver! It's funny, I started writing this and then six months in I met somebody who's kinda similar to him, and now we're dating. So a few of Oliver's habits (the smiling down at his hands, over-thinking everything he says, and having a very calculating look) are things that I kinda picked up from my boyfriend. Whoops.

It goes up for a bit! Don't worry! Maybe stop reading when things seem perfect a few chapters down the road and it'll be like things never go wrong again. (No please don't stop reading, I love your reviews!)

Thank you again, so very much, for these. I love following along with somebody who's just started the fic from the beginning ♥


 Report Review

Review #34, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Mother/Matchmaker

8th February 2015:
“Isn’t she even cuter in real life?” my mother tightens her grip on my shoulders and I’m not sure if it’s a show of love or a threat. “I’m afraid the photograph wasn’t very good. Edie, you were so peaky last Christmas.”

^ I'm horrified. I don't know who I feel worse for but I can't wait to hear what he actually thinks and has to say.

Her mother was a spite fire and I love her. I wish she was my mother. If anything she reminds me of my godmother who has been asking me since I was 15 if I've got a boyfriend.

I've always told her and everybody no.

(Didn't get one until I turned 16/17)

The point is if I had to go through something like that, a set-up, a match making moment or an awkward dinner I would die from embarrassment. I can handle my friends setting me up (barely). At least Edie is a good sport about it.

Author's Response: Hypatia for president! I love her. She's an amalgam of my mother and my best friend from high school's (who I was around enough to call Mom anyway.) She's completely overbearing, overprotective, and pushy--but would do anything for her only daughter. This includes setting her up on dates to insure that she has grandchildren one day. (Sorry Hypatia, Edie does not want kids.)

Thanks again ♥


 Report Review

Review #35, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Hell Hath No Fury like Rose Zeller Scorned

8th February 2015:
Rose Zeller is standing some paces behind, at the mouth of a small alleyway. She’s wearing sunglasses despite it being dusk, and the red hood of her coat is drawn tightly around her head. She stands stiffly, I suppose trying very hard to blend in, but her expression is more constipated than anything.

^ She's really taking this much too seriously. I hope she gets fired. It's not fair that Edie can't take credit for this article but do you think if they knew she was writing it up front say if Rose would have attributed her or something for a small portion of it they would have still liked it as much?

Now I can't decide if I'm team Dean or team Oliver.

Sigh.

Oliver may be delicious but Dean is Dean. Poor Dean.

I know who I don't like, Rose! I feel like Edie will eventually punch her in the face. Probably would be unwarranted (I suppose) but she deserves it. She's THAT girl. You know those girls. I don't like those girls.

And she can't even write.

Pft.

Author's Response: Hahaha I'm so glad you mentioned that first scene with Rose! I totally imagined it to be exactly like Mean Girls, when Damian says "She doesn't even go here!" in his disguise. Ohhh. Classic, classic film. You go Glen Coco.

As for whether or not they would still like Edie's writing knowing it was hers, another thing I was trying to explore here (and something that I've seen in life, particularly with art museums) is the disparity between staff and intern. I've actually heard the head curator/director of an art museum at my school say something about how "We don't talk to them." In this case, they were talking about the "other side," ie. guards, docents, visitor services people--not the curators, directors, etc. etc. That's something that's really stuck with me over the years, and it really horrified me, because it's just an example of how being an intern doesn't actually mean you'll get anywhere. In fact it can be damning, in the case of that particular museum. So anyway, Edie is one of "those interns," and has been pushed off to the side as the kind of person who will only be there to get your coffee, sort your mail, etc., and now Witch Weekly doesn't want to take a second glance at her or realize her potential.

Have you noticed this story is just me venting about my personal history???

Dean is Dean. I hate what I'm doing to him in this story because he was always so wonderful to Harry throughout Hogwarts. Even when Seamus didn't believe in him, Dean did, and he was on the run from the Death Eaters and he's just SUCH AN AMAZING CHARACTER and now I go and do this. Sorry buddy.

Ohhh no no! That's another thing that's important. Rose is actually really good at her job! I didn't want it to be so black-and-white as "This girl is horrible at writing and I'm excellent but SHE GOT THE JOB" *cry* Rose is a very hard worker, and talented, and gets ahead (she shoulda' been a Slytherin, JKR.) Maybe I need to convey that a little better in the story--Edie is totally jealous of her, but Rose is still a good fit for the job. Aside from the whole under-the-table deal bit ;)



 Report Review

Review #36, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Lessons in Chemistry

8th February 2015:
“Call me Oliver.”

^ I have melted into a puddle on the floor. I don't know how I'm typing this right now because I am not longer human.

I love the delicious flirting and the fluff. The change of pace and character when you know things are about to GO DOWN! Oliver Wood, the nice guy, Edie, the poor gossiping journalist that's going to have to paint him in a new light. Unless he starts acting rude again which I do see happening.

Even though he's delicious.

So so so delicious!

Author's Response: Oh yes, things were indeed about to "GO DOWN," as in Edie was about to go down a flight of stairs onto her face. Terrible, terrible pun for you.

Hmmm, he is indeed a *bit* rude, but not too much. Mostly he's just his sarcastic blunt self. Well, you'll see. ♥

PS - Yes. Delicious.


 Report Review

Review #37, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap A Very Brief Foray into Journalism

8th February 2015:
“Flattering uniforms for Knight Bus drivers.”

^ I can't even. I would be beyond mad there would be no word to describe how angry I am at this interview. If someone did that to me...see this is why I'm a pseudo journalism and had to switch fields. I can't take it. Not like I'm making any leeway in the field I'm in now and it's pretty much the same thing (interviewing is involved) but man. To come across this. To be so disrespected. I get most people don't respect journalists. They think we're a bunch of liars but for every liar there's a decent reporter out there trying to make a difference.

Here's my prediction she loved the article so much she wants a follow-up OR she dislikes the article so much she wants an entirely new one about what kind of underwear he likes to wear because the article has to be sexy.

Because everything in magazines like Witch Weekly has to be sexy.

(UGH!)

Only five chapters in I'm too attached to this story and i want to see the real attitude of Oliver Wood!

Author's Response: Heeheee! Yes, there is that sassy, uncooperative Oliver I just mentioned in my last response. He is definitely not taking her job seriously. It seemed like a good way to have them start off on the wrong foot, because getting ahead in her career is so important to Edie. Apparently even more important than keeping up friendships, and not lying to everyone you care about, and sabotaging any chance of a romance.

It's so great reading your thoughts, because you seem to have so much personal experience with this kind of thing! Well, maybe not interviewing a man who flies around on a broomstick--or maybe you do. I'm not here to judge. ;)

Wow, great predictions. By now you've seen which one of those it ends up being!

I kind of regret using Witch Weekly as the publication in this story. For one, in this fic the issues are monthly, not even weekly! Originally I was going to make one up. But between a made-up publication, a story set outside of Hogwarts, and using minor/original characters, it felt so un-HP that I just wanted *something* familiar to readers. But I think it's actually annoyed a lot of people! Whoops. Maybe in one of those all-encompassing rewrites I keep talking about...



 Report Review

Review #38, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap An Interview with Mister Wood

8th February 2015:
“That’s because you followed him everywhere and couldn’t formulate a proper sentence. I’m pretty sure he thought you had the hots for him.”

^ HAHA! I love their interactions. Their conversations flow perfectly and what I like even more is that Edie hangs out with guys for the most part. I've never been that great at female relationships (or any relationships really) but male-female ones I can relate to.

It crosses my mind to ask if Dean would rather sleep in my room with me, but something about that feels weird.

^ NO! Rule number one, never sleep in the same bed. Doesn't matter if you're 'just friends.'

Tell me he doesn't have a thing for her. No things! No feelings! This is the only downfall to female-male friendships. That friend zone does exist.

This cannot be happening. This cannot be happening. This cannot be happening.

THIS CAN NOT BE HAPPENING.

YOU TOTALLY GOT ME. Naughty author! My reviews are so pointless I am sorry and they are rambly messes. I love me some Wood, even though he seems rude. Private person!? Psh! He could have at least some respect for other people's professions. Not everyone can just fly a broom, you know.

Author's Response: Ohh, sweet Seamus! He was so prominent early in the story and he really has taken a back seat... It was completely unintentional I swear! I have a nice Edie/Seamus friendship scene that I'm about to write.

You make an interesting point about females not feeling like they can interact. I totally hope this doesn't come across as offensive in any way, but I wanted to ~explain a lil somethin~ about this fic. Edie being "such a feminist" while also pitting herself against Rose, and not being a great friend to Lisa, is another means of her being a total hypocrite. "Edie sucks" is kind of the theme of this story--I think I was watching too much GIRLS when I started it, thank you Hannah Horvath. When I was in high school all my best friends were guys, and now my best friends are women, and I was trying to explore what could have made that change. At least for me (again, just me here!) it was when I stopped comparing myself to women/feeling insecure/competing in every single way with them. So hopefully Edie will start to go through the same kind of transformation, so that she'll be able to uphold her "feminist" label that she so far has kind of not done an awesome job with.

Phew.

Oliver's sassiness with the press is actually a recent edit I just made! Originally he was just really awkward and bad at conversation, which he still is, but no longer overwhelmingly so. It didn't mesh well with the rest of his pushy, opinionated character that we see in canon. So I decided he'd be all "Eh you lot are just out to make me look stupid and I'm NOT going to cooperate." Hence Deverill forced him to have this interview, to give him and Puddlemere a better public appearance before his first season back after his injury.

WOW you didn't know you were starting a Q and A with the author, did you?

Thanks for the review, as always! ♥


 Report Review

Review #39, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Proposition

7th February 2015:
Bartering with journalists is something I’ve always been wary of. It’s an unspoken rule of the game; something gleaned from black and white Muggle films where men in jaunty hats get themselves into sticky situations by making deals with the press.

^ NEVER TRUST A JOURNALIST. We're a bad lot. Then again she's a pseudo-journalist and I too am a pseudo-journalist and I'm surprised it's such a big deal because at my internships I was required to do all the work for the so-called journalists and editors and write out their pieces for them and they would publish it under their name.

OH RIGHT, THAT'S WRONG.

Thank you kind author for being on my side in this argument.

Anywho, I'm obsessed with Wood. I used to write him all the time. I'm ashamed of the stories I wrote so they aren't on here anymore (ha-ha) with him at least. One might be making a comeback so it's refreshing to read this and be like 'SOMEONE LOVES MY OLLIE!"

Author's Response: AHHH! You have no idea how exciting it is to wake up to a new review for every chapter. Seriously, thank you! ♥ Do you have an account on the forums? I tried to send you a thank-you PM but had no luck. Anyway, seriously, it is so appreciated when HPFF activity has slowed and reviews are harder to come by.

Hmm, that's an interesting fact about your journalism internship. I never took that into consideration and wonder what I could have done to explore that in this fic... Probably would have cut out some unnecessary additional plot and backstabbing and conniving (there's so much of it) but oh well! Haha. Thanks for letting me know, though, if I ever try to turn this into OF or do something similar...

I actually have very little profession experience in the writing world (I studied Art History and Creative Writing and took the former path) but I've heard of a lot of artists who have interns who actually help to paint their canvas, etc., and aren't given any credit or compensation. Same kind of thing, I suppose, to a lesser degree.

I'm glad you like Wood too! He's one of the better minor characters I think. Oh gosh, don't even look at my first fic I published. It's from, like, 2005. I need to back up my reviews and delete all my old stories because they really are just mucking up the author page, I think.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #40, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Job Thousands would Kill For

7th February 2015:
Ward didn’t even know my for the first two weeks I worked for him.

^ You're missing a word: name

should an editor need a Spell Checker Spell?

^ Yes. I won't even start on this magazine I once worked for.

“We need you.”

“I will be there!” I gush, emphatically poking the surface of his desk.

But I do this just as he is saying, “To man the refreshments table.”


OH. OH BURN. EPIC EPIC BURN. That was horrible. Even I had to take a step back and then I started chanting, "Quit, quit, quit." But we all have to start somewhere that's why we deal with it. I am the same way. I can't even say I 'was' because here I am in the same predicament for the fourth time in a row.

...she's lucky she has someone attractive to remotely stare at or daydream about. I've got nothing. Thank goodness for HPFF.

Author's Response: Ahh! Thank you for pointing out the errors. I have re-written this chapter a dozen times, and each time I seem to only generate new typos.

The "refreshments table" thing actually happened to me AFTER I wrote this chapter! My intern advisor at the art museum called about a "paid opportunity" she had for me and I started getting more and more excited, and it was to scoop ice cream at her son's bar mitzvah. D'oh.

Thank goodness for HPFF indeed. And for you lovely reviewers! ♥


 Report Review

Review #41, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Take Two and Call Me in the Morning

7th February 2015:
Pot of coffee, pain-relieving potion, kip at five o’clock, pubs at eight, rinse and repeat.”

^ Been there, done that. I mean...errr..

Witch Weekly has quite possibly the worst internship program of any Magical publication. Just thinking about it makes me angry.

Been there too. I don't understand this internship nonsense where I have to do such menial tasks I feel like I have no dignity. I'm not a maid! Why do I have to wipe down mirrors and clean refrigerators with cheap towels and even cheaper cleaning products. Getting coffee is fine except when the person yells at you because you got them the wrong thing BECAUSE THEY TOLD YOU THE WRONG ORDER.

Just so you can one day hopefully get a job. Not in my industry. Forever intern here.

I feel your pain girl.

If this entire story was them slurring around the room I would read on like a champ. I can't believe this is your first comedy it's really funny and we're only one chapter in. I like the characters, especially your OC, because she's relatable if you couldn't tell from my ranting above. I think we've all been there, jobless, significant other less, no life plan or at least it's not going anywhere-ish.

Author's Response: Hi there! It's always nice to hear from a new reader ♥ (Funny story about your username, I thought he was saying "Dirty knees and the thunder chief" for a long time. Which is apparently a common misconception?)

Ha, this first chapter is largely autobiographical in that sense of the pot of coffee, pain-reliever, etc. It's easy to do. Especially when you hang out only with your coworkers and you're all at work together the next day doing the same "healing rituals."

I'm glad you can relate to this story (but maybe not in the first-hand experience way that you seem to be...) I wrote this as a bit of therapy when I was a lowly intern, although I'm sorry to say I still haven't ~skyrocketed into my future~ in the two years following. Maybe I'll be nice and do things differently for Edie. Maybe.

It's funny how many people have commented that they would read an entire story about drunk people. Haha! They do indeed continue to imbibe from time to time, but I feel like the story gets more and more serious the further it goes on? I just caught myself writing the last chapter and was like "Jeez, slow down, when did this become an angst fic?" So enjoy it while you can!

Kidding.

Sort of.

Thanks for stopping by!


 Report Review

Review #42, by heartjily4ever The Unfortunate Truth

30th January 2015:
Oh I never suspected Theo, woah. It's a really great plot twist though, I love it. I still absolutely love clueless Justin - his character is adorable. I hope things don't go too horribly wrong for Edie

Author's Response: Justin's the best. I wanted to write about what happens to best friendships after one of them starts a romantic relationship with someone else. Edie's disliked him (or tried to) for selfish reasons along the lines of you-stole-my-best-mate-and-even-though-you-two-are-clearly-soul-mates-I'm-still-grumpy-about-it.

Glad Theo was a plot twist! He represents Edie's naivety in a way. She just assumed they were friends, just the way that she assumed she was the "good one" out of she and Oliver (and out of basically everyone.) It was going to take her feeling completely betrayed to knock some sense into that thick skull of hers. Therefore Theo's the one to say "Hey you're actually a huge jerk too btw."

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #43, by ohnobeans And What a Mess It's Been

28th January 2015:
TOTALLY BLOWN BY OLIVER HAVING READ THE ARTICLES!!! AH

and FINALLY sex yay! I love that Edie's whole family walked in hahahah

Author's Response: Yes! At first I thought Edie should have been blown away as well, but realistically he TOTALLY would have read them. Like she said, if Oliver had written something about her, she wouldn't rest until she'd found it. It just didn't make sense to keep him in the dark forever.

That last scene was so much fun. I love Edie's family. Even though they aren't totally pivotal to the plot I try to give them as much time in the limelight as possible. Especially Liam; I just love that little fellow.

Thanks for taking the time to review ♥


 Report Review

Review #44, by xx The Unfortunate Truth

26th January 2015:
Great ending! I'm loving this story so much!

Author's Response: Thank you! That was a fun ending to write. I've been a little frustrated with Edie (and I made her up, so I assume readers have been, too.) It was nice that somebody finally told her that she's not so high and mighty as she thought. Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #45, by marauderfan The Unfortunate Truth

26th January 2015:
Oh no! I feel like the previous chapters were almost too good to be true, and then this chapter is like... the 16-tonne weight that crashes down and is like "Oh hey. Here's reality, it's back."

I feel so bad for Rose. I mean, she's not that nice, but for her to be dumped and then fired all in quick succession is a recipe for a horrible week. And in a way, Rose is no worse than any of the other characters, who as Theo quite wisely pointed out at the end, are all a bit unscrupulous when it comes to getting ahead in the news industry. Reading from Edie's POV I sympathise with her a lot, but in the end, they're all making decisions which hurt other people, even though they're not bad people. That's one thing I love about this story because that's the way the real world works. No one can be super nice and not upset anyone else and get ahead in a career all without sacrificing something, and this chapter really shows that, in their different decisions.

What a mess, though! And poor Justin and Lisa caught in the middle of it. I don't know how Edie is going to find her way out of this, but I'm certain she will. Even though it probably means a bit of unwanted media attention and who knows what with her job.

I've got to say though, you definitely did surprise me with revealing that Theo was the one who sold them out. I suspected that Rose liked Oliver, but that didn't make it any easier to find out for sure.

This was a great chapter!

Author's Response: Hiya!

It was indeed starting to feel a little too fluffy--had to get back to the "cold hard truth" of Edie's existence in which everything always goes wrong always.

I'm glad you feel bad for Rose! The last thing I wanted was to have some kind of standoff between she and Edie/Oliver, and have a clear "Ha! Rose we've finally bested you!" moment. She's having a rough time indeed, between Oliver and being fired. The tables have turned and now she's the one having rotten luck.

Yes! You really hit the nail on the head--I wanted this story progress from Edie thinking that she's so much better than Oliver, and being very high-and-mighty, and then slowly realizing that he is actually the kinder person with more integrity. Theo really spells it out for her in the end, as you pointed out. I think she needed to hear it from somebody she felt betrayed by; someone who she thought was her friend. Hearing it from her mother wasn't enough because she wrote it off, as she did with Lisa a bit.

"No one can be super nice and not upset anyone else and get ahead in a career all without sacrificing something..." Yes! I love reviews like this that allow for discussion of the plot... Aghh thank you so much.

Thank you so much for reading. The next chapter is a bit slow-going, but it's all coming to a culmination very soon ♥


 Report Review

Review #46, by chicken addiction And What a Mess It's Been

21st January 2015:
WHOOP what a fun chapter :) I loved that last scene :) and Oliver...yummy.

Author's Response: Thank you! I agree with your sentiments for Oliver. The next chapter is all written; gonna do some edits today and pop it in the queue.

 Report Review

Review #47, by devotedasperusual And What a Mess It's Been

19th January 2015:
Hello there :)

Well, this seems a bit foreign. It's been so long since I've commented on anything on this site, let alone KC&CO. Just popping by to say that I've still continued reading, even if I have become an absolute little Rose with my no commenting nonsense. So sorry, eternally.

I know you're probably reading this going "now who on earth is this random creeper coming along" but the only thing I can think of that you might remember about me is my deep love for Seamus, and for shipping everything and everyone that moves. Right, enough being creepy. On to the fangirling.

OH MY GOD THIS WENT IN SUCH A FANTASTIC DIRECTION I JUST WANT TO GRAB YOU AND SQUISH YOUR CHEEKS.

The only thing I have to say about the centre portion of the chapter would be that it so wasn't your first smut. Don't lie, no one writes that good on their first attempt. *eyeballs you severely*

But yes on to the last portion which literally found me losing the ability to breathe. It is so incredibly Edie-ish to get caught in the act by her entire family. Her mother, oh dear her step-father. Just everyone was so perfect. The harlot comment also had me cracking up and I'm not entirely sure as to why I found it so funny, but I did so there you go.

Just, they're both so perfect? I don't know how to describe it. It's like, my favourite books always have two main characters that without each other are pretty despicable people. Oliver is as arrogant as they come, and Edie's nothing more than a jumped-up activist without an actual cause but together they just work so wonderfully and beautifully that I can picture them sitting around a breakfast table fifty years from now arguing about something stupid and trivial and throwing pieces of toast at each other and it just sort of makes my little heart soar?

Fantastic job as per usual dear, and don't you think I'm not going to be stalking your a/c waiting for you to update again.

Because I will.

Winks and slowly backs away.

Author's Response: Okay, this review made me laugh SO hard. You aren't at all becoming a complete Rose--although that was about where I started with the cracking up. I also love Seamus and ship everything and everyone, so I'm glad you stopped to review! ♥

No really, it is my first smut! At least to this extent. I've written a tasteful "kissing and then fade to black" here and there... But I've been reading fic for over a decade so I'm sure I've picked up a thing or two, haha. Put those severe eyeballs away!

I love Edie's stepfather, and I wish he was more pivotal to the plot because he has such a small presence in the story. I just imagine this super laid-back, bearded guy who just likes to play music alone in their shed and who lets Hypatia drag him along to all of these crazy contemporary art gallery openings, where he is totally content to just sip on punch and let Hypatia natter on.

(I'm glad you liked the harlot comment, I was quite proud.)

Oh my god this review just keeps getting better. "Oliver is as arrogant as they come, and Edie's nothing more than a jumped-up activist without an actual cause" HELLO YES YOU WIN ALL OF THE PRIZES. They definitely are both flawed, but hopefully they work together well! Um I love the idea of 70 year-old Ediver throwing toast at each other... Like... Thank you I'm going to think about that all day now.

Stalk away! Working on chapter twenty-seven as we speak. I decided to take a little break from writing and was greeted with this awesome review. Thanks so much, it really made my day! ♥


 Report Review

Review #48, by marauderfan And What a Mess It's Been

16th January 2015:
Hi! Just stopping by to say that I loved this chapter.

I appreciated that there wasn't this huge falling-out about the articles - I think it's much more realistic that he had read them and just hadn't told her, and that they had an actual discussion about it - after all the lies and anger thus far, it was nice to see them just be honest and try to work through it together. It's also a lot more meaningful because Edie has a difficult decision to make, essentially having to put either her new relationship or her job first. That's a tough place to be in, and easy to relate to.

Well done on writing the love scene too, as well as the rest of the chapter that wasn't originally intended haha. I loved their fluffy pillow talk too, and him FINDING THE MAGAZINE haha

Omg, that last scene in the morning when her whole family barges into her room was so incredibly hilarious and awkward and like, so typical of Edie's life :p

Lovely work on this chapter! :)

Author's Response: Hello! Stop by away! (Does that even make sense?)

I am feeling pretty good about my decision to remove the ~falling out~ as well. Even as I planned on writing it, and developed the storyline around it, I knew it was just too cliche. Don't worry, they're not totally in the clear yet, because things can't just go right in this story. And yes, it's a very tough place to be in! Edie is finally going to have to make some adult decisions.

AHHH I knew from the second that Edie dog-eared the page of his photo shoot that Oliver would have to find it. I just didn't know how it would come about until this chapter happened. But hey, this way they got to do some other fun stuff too ;)

Oh Lennoxes. They are so much fun to write. Even as I'm typing, I'm like "Seriously? You're insane. Knock it off."

Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter. I always get nervous when writing fluff so thanks for the encouragement ♥


 Report Review

Review #49, by Sanne And What a Mess It's Been

14th January 2015:
I just wanted to say thank you for not going the obvious way with Oliver eventually finding out about the articles and getting mad about it etc. (which is so very predictable). Instead, the conflict is Edie having to choose between her job and the man she loves. I think this is a much more realistic scenario and also much less predictable.

So, kudos to you for not going the predictable route and I can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Hi there!

Funny you should mention that--originally I had planned on Rose showing Oliver the articles, and him getting mad, and pretty much following every cliche you'd have guessed. But it felt too much like 27 Dresses and basically every other romcom.

I hope the conflict came across well. Oliver really hoped that things would just work themselves out. He's definitely ignoring the problem (they both are) and has given her an ultimatum by saying how horrible the stories were and being like "Well just write a nice one now lol." He doesn't *realize* he's putting her in a position (and she's certainly had her hand in things), but yes! As you said, she now has to choose and it's not so easy. Really trying to focus on the "home life or career???" choice that women are faced with today, because sometimes you can't fully meet the demands of both.

And there you have it: another one of my soapbox speech review responses!

Thank you for taking the time to read this. ♥


 Report Review

Review #50, by xx And What a Mess It's Been

13th January 2015:
Ahh I really loved this chapter! It was probably my favorite of the story so far. The whole part with her family at the end was so funny. I love her brothers. And good on you for the sex scene. It didn't seem like your first time writing one so yay you. Anyway, I can't wait for more and I'm looking forward to the next update!

Author's Response: Hey! I'm glad you liked this chapter so much. Sometimes it's difficult for me to write something so fluffy; like I have to remind myself that it does drive the plot (in a small way) and is worth writing! I'm glad the ~love scene~ was tolerable. I've already edited it, of course, but it's mostly the same. Thank you for the review :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>