Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Keep Calm and Carry On
  
518 Reviews Found

Review #26, by onestop_hpfan18 The Match

18th August 2016:
Oh my goodness, Edie sure did let her big mouth get her into trouble this time. I loved everything about this chapter except for the fact that Rose is dating Oliver. Ediver forever.

Author's Response: lololol EDIVER FOREVER *said in a Friday Night Lights "Texas forever" voice*

I just love humiliating Edie, what can I say? Plus the angst! of Oliver losing a match. It was too easy.



 Report Review

Review #27, by onestop_hpfan18 Nothin' but a Number

15th August 2016:
I loved this chapter, especially Leo telling Edie how much Oliver was talking about Edie and how much he liked her. I wonder if Oliver will take her back. I wonder if he's really seeing Rose, or if Edie has misconstrued all of the Rose-Oliver interactions that she's witnessed. Gah. Can't wait to continue reading. So good.

Author's Response: I loved that conversation between Leo and Edie too! Especially when Leo was like "yeah seriously I tried to tell him that you're the worst so idgi"

It's so funny, at first when I started writing this fic, I was kind of childishly writing the character of Rose to get back at a coworker in a weird way? She was based off of this girl, and our confusing relationship where she was nice one moment and then catty another and always very flirtatious with everyone--EVERYONE. She was voted "Most Likely to Flirt with an Inanimate Object" at work. So I didn't really like the character of Rose when I first started writing this, and then she became one of my favorites. The dynamic between her and Edie, and her and Oliver, is one of my favorites!


 Report Review

Review #28, by onestop_hpfan18 You've Got Moxie, Kid

15th August 2016:
Loved this so much. I'm glad she got busted. Yet Blakeslee ended up offering her a position as a journalist out of it. Things are finally turning around for Edie. And I bet Oliver picks her out of the crowd at Sunday's match, easy. Great chapter!

Author's Response: This chapter was so fun to write! Usually I think ragtag heist scenes are so cheesy but it seemed like something the fic needed, so I actually struggled with it at first, haha. It's funny because this chapter has one of the highest read counts in the fic, by hundreds. So I guess it went over well?

Oh yes, the match! That was also a fun scene to write.



 Report Review

Review #29, by Edie A. Take Two and Call Me in the Morning

15th August 2016:
Oh my goodness, I swear within the last few days I have seen the name Edie pop up in fan fictions more than I have in the last 17 years in my life and I cannot be happier!

Author's Response: Haha! I bet Gina/justonemorefic sent you over this way after you read Game? She told me that she'd had two Edies reading that fic in the same week. You must be telepathically connected.



 Report Review

Review #30, by onestop_hpfan18 Incendio!

14th August 2016:
Edie is being stupid and acting too much like a hothead. If only she hadn't burned Oliver's letter. I would have liked to have known what he wrote her. :(

I hope this doesn't ruin Edie's chance at becoming a reporter. She applied to Oracle Underground so I don't even know why she's letting it get to her that Rose let her off the hook for the second and third articles. I wonder if Oliver is only going along with Rose taking the lead of writing the last two articles so that things can progress with him and Edie... we may never know. Because I still don't think he kissed Rose back... I think he was too caught off guard to react. Gah. This is crazy.

Author's Response: Ah yes, this is really the culmination of her pigheadedness. Or one of the culminations. If she hadn't been such an idiot and just read the letter, she would have saved the next (how many? 20?) chapters and probably added a couple years back to her life.

She needs a life coach.

I think Edie is upset about being let off because she is genuinely loving the chance to write what she considers to be very edgy, informative work (it's not). Also, she already did the work of writing a second article. And, to her anger, she really needs the money. (I think in this chapter she even shouts "I DON'T WANT YOUR MONEY" and is secretly like "no wait plz I'm broke can I have your money?")

Also she is wildly unqualified for the Oracle Underground and knows in the back of her mind that she probably won't get it. Writing for Witch Weekly, even if it's under the table, and not the kind of work she wants to be doing, is her only chance to be a journalist.

Not defending her stupid, letter-burning, Oliver-shunning behavior, but there's a glimpse into the way her brain works ;)

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #31, by onestop_hpfan18 Lisa Turpin-Finch-Fletchley Unravels

14th August 2016:
I had a suspicion that Lisa was pregnant when they were out dress shopping and she ate all those fish and chips. I just wasn't sure because over-eating due to nerves and stress is also a thing. Justin isn't a bad guy, he's just set in his own ways and high standards. I like that we saw a softer side to him in this chapter. Great writing!

Author's Response: Ahh you totally called it! I love hearing which readers did see it coming and which were floored by the news. And Justin has such a soft spot in my heart. It was funny because usually I shared the same opinions of characters as Edie (loved Seamus and Dean, loved Lisa, felt alienated and unsettled by Rose, disliked Ward, etc.) but with Justin I absolutely loved him while she was seething. But before this chapter she really hadn't thought of him as anything but the man who "stole her best friend away," and left her single and out of step with Lisa.

I love Justin so much! And Rafe Spall, who I fancasted as him, is absolutely perfect.

Another edit I'd like to place here: rather than Lisa wanting children "a ways down the road," I think she doesn't want to have children at all. And that's why she was so upset. I like the idea of Justin wanting them and being respectful of her opinion not to have them, but when this happens, that he would be the one to calm her down and be with her 100% of the way. Like he would be the one making them go to swaddling classes and doing breathing exercises and making her eat well, etc.

One day these edits will happen!



 Report Review

Review #32, by onestop_hpfan18 Motion Sickness

14th August 2016:
This chapter broke my heart. I suppose it had to happen... more conflict to delay these two finally getting together. But I still don't have to like any of it. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Haha, I love that rationalization: "It had to happen so that Ediver's slow burn could continue for the next 483290 chapters."

And you don't have to like it, you're right. I'm right there with you ;)


 Report Review

Review #33, by onestop_hpfan18 A Funny Thing Happened

14th August 2016:
At first I thought Oliver wanted to meet up with Edie to tell her about the photo in the Crystal Ball, but now I'm not so sure. I think there's another reason for his contacting her. The suspense has me on the edge of my seat. I have to know what he has to tell Edie face-to-face, in person, instead of through two-way mirror. Also, I was wondering when Edie would be evicted. She really is down on her luck right now. She should at least try to apply for that open spot at the Oracle Underground even if she doesn't have the experience needed for it. It wouldn't hurt to submit her portfolio.

Author's Response: Hmmm, yes, what could he possibly have wanted to meet up with her for?

If my memory serves me correctly, this is the chapter where either my writing randomly improved or I finally wrangled the very wily plot line I had word-vomited out until this point. So, again, bless you--thank you for reading this fic in a time past its heyday and before it's received much needed edits.

You have a point! It never hurts to try for a job. She will get her life together eventually; right now she's in the spot of being rejected so many times that she can't bring herself to be rejected by her absolute favorite publication, too.

Time will tell!

(I've had a whole lot of coffee so I'm sorry if these responses are disjointed and not making sense. I really do appreciate that you took the time to leave so many reviews!)



 Report Review

Review #34, by onestop_hpfan18 In a Puff of Smoke

14th August 2016:
Stupid paparazzi appeared right when things were getting heated. I hope Oliver didn't react too rashly. Also, she just apparated away without thought of waiting for Oliver to return. I wonder what was going through his mind when he realised she had left him; I actually feel sorry for Oliver. Also, I'm supporting Ediver even more after this chapter. So good. Loved it.

Author's Response: Haha oh no! Oliver wasn't going to go, like, beat them up or anything. He was just trying to catch them so that he could stop them from publishing the image--because he lives a very private life and also for reasons that you now know, as you've long since finished the fic.

Yep, classic, selfish Edie. Just leaves him there to deal with it, and doesn't come to face her worries like a real adult. Avoid the problem! It will go away eventually!

I do love that you expressed concern for Oliver's feelings and STILL are shipping Edie even more after this chapter. Eee! That makes me so happy.



 Report Review

Review #35, by onestop_hpfan18 Clink

14th August 2016:
The way Edie is going to sneakily record the interview reminded me so much of Rita Skeeter. And it made me cringe at the thought. Something about all this just leaves a knot in my stomach, like it's all going to blow up when (a big 'IF') Oliver actually reads all the articles in the end. He's a private person and I don't think he'll take kindly to his personal life being aired out to the public so freely. I'm so nervous with where all this is leading.

Author's Response: URRGHH yes the secretly-recorded interview! Another aspect that really just needs to go. Like, of course Oliver knows she's going to be recording him, it's an *interview*. If he genuinely presented this to her as a date and she went against him, this would make sense. Or even better: if he was terrible at communicating as per Oliver's usual self, and he was trying to ask her out, but she is oblivious as per Edie's usual self, and just *thought* it was an interview...

That would be better.

Honestly, bless you for making it past the first like 10 chapters of this fic, sometimes the writing quality is really embarrassing.



 Report Review

Review #36, by onestop_hpfan18 The Magic Touch

14th August 2016:
I'm not mad that you had Edie back out of telling Blakeslee because this chapter still was written brilliantly. I'm just mad at the whole situation and how Rose is dragging it out, milking it for all its worth despite Edie being the writer. I loved the interaction and humour between Edie and her younger brothers. Also, there's something up with Oliver and his excessive drinking... I think it has more to do with a personal issue than just being an alcoholic. Also, interesting that he used the past tense when he mentioned his Dad... I wonder if things are taking a turn for him because his Dad passed away and he still hasn't come to terms with it. After all, he's a private person and really doesn't seem like the out-of-control alcoholic type. There's got to be something deeper. I'm not done wanting to think the best of Oliver. There's still hope for Ediver, even after this spat.

Author's Response: AHH yes it was so difficult when writing this--I really REALLY wanted Edie to just out Rose right then and there, because 1) she does not typically think before she acts, 2) I wanted the charade of Edie moonlighting as writer to last for only so long, because they would probably have been discovered eventually. But there were still a few more plot points that needed to happen--and for them to happen, she still had to be living her little lie.

This chapter definitely needs a re-write. I had originally intended alcoholism to be more of a problem with Oliver's character, but I decided not to go that route because it added a layer of angst that this story just didn't really need. So now it's pretty incongruous with the rest of the story and just makes Oliver look kind of pathetic. I'd really like their argument in this chapter to be *about* feminism and women in the sex industry, and that Oliver points out maybe these women are just more clever than the idiot men who come and throw money at them because they're so obsessed with seeing a female body, and isn't that liberating, and maybe it's their choice to do what they are doing, etc etc etc.

Also it really pains me that Edie slaps him (VIOLENCE IS NEVER THE ANSWER KIDS) and I really want to remove it, but also it's not my job to make her seem more perfect and politically correct--she's supposed to be flawed and the fact that she slaps someone really makes me cringe.

So we will see.

Glad to hear you're still on the Ediver ship at this point! ♥


 Report Review

Review #37, by onestop_hpfan18 And the Award Goes To...

14th August 2016:
I hope Edie follows through and tells Blakeslee that she's the one who wrote that article, and that Rose is still using her to write the other two articles. This has gotten too far, especially considering Rose just received an award for an interview article that Edie wrote. Rose has zero integrity if she can honestly accept that award without feeling even an ounce of guilt.

I'm glad we got to see some Edie and Lisa. Their shopping outing revealed how close they are as friends. While at the same time, Edie still hasn't told any of her friends that she's lost her job. Makes sense considering she's feeling like a failure. I hope she opens up to someone about it soon, though. Maybe Oliver will be the shoulder she leans on.

Author's Response: Hello! It's been a while :) I've been super busy getting things organized for a 3 week Europe trip so I'm sorry it's taken so long to respond, but I definitely wanted to do this before I left! (See how I both made an excuse *and* bragged about my trip? Pretty smooth eh?)

This chapter was a pretty classic example of me writing and immediately posting a chapter without much plot fact-checking. Originally I did intend Edie to tell Blakeslee in this scene which, as you now know, didn't happen. There were several reasons for this but mostly I wanted to prolong the Edie/Rose/Oliver love triangle and have Edie be offered the position at WW.

These fist few chapters are also SO OLD and they really need some reworking, particularly Rose's character. I like how she turns out in the end of the fic and early on she's a little *too* ruthless to be believable.

Oh don't worry, there's still plenty to come, in terms of Edie refusing to admit that she's floundering and lying to her friends.



 Report Review

Review #38, by onestop_hpfan18 Bad Publicity

14th August 2016:
Poor, Edie. But hey, she got a two-way mirror call from Oliver whilst sitting in Alchemy Coffee feeling sorry for herself; not to mention the fact that he apparated straight to her the instant she told him where she was. That's got to mean that he cares for her a least some... there's a sliver of hope for them yet. I'm even falling for Oliver. Also, I like how you've invented the magic properties/rules of the two-way mirror to incorporate in this fic. Also, love the fact that Edie put charms on hers so that only people she enjoys speaking with can get through to her... means she likes Oliver. More hope! I'm so an Ediver shipper. They're so cute, and I have a feeling Oliver has other motives for meeting up with Edie Friday night, especially since he chose a fancy, expensive restaurant for the next interview. He really likes her. I just know it.

Author's Response: Ohh so you caught the little reference that she has charmed her mirror to only allow those who she likes to contact her. Teehee. Silly Edie, even if you think you don't like Oliver, you've obviously enjoyed your time with him.

I was really torn about the two-way mirror thing, because it's supposed to be a TWO-WAY mirror, in my understanding. Like they are magically bound in pairs, and these work more like cell phones, but I would assume that the magical world would progress similarly to the Muggle world--new magic, new technology. That's why Hypatia hates using two-way mirrors and still opts for owl post, and Edie never checks her mail. (My parents refuse to call me on the phone but will send me lengthy emails, and I never associate my email account with anything but junk mail and Real Adult Things, so I never respond to their emails. You see where this is going.)

I'm so glad to hear that you're falling for Oliver, because I *still* have a crush on him four years after starting to write about him. He's the dream!



 Report Review

Review #39, by onestop_hpfan18 Mother/Matchmaker

14th August 2016:
Loved this chapter. Reminds me of my mom gets when she finds out the friend I'm meeting up with for a round of disc golf or hiking with is a man, despite my telling her that we're just friends. It's like it's unheard of be single in your mid to late twenties despite more people of our generation doing just that. Now my mom has never tried to set me up... though I wouldn't put it past her as she's joked about it. I'm kind of hoping that Oliver sees Edie and Jae on their date.

Author's Response: Man there are so many different things that I could have done with this fic, looking back on it, and Oliver seeing Edie and Jae on a date is one of them. Half of the best suggestions for plot come from you guys! I love it. Man, your mom sounds funny, she and Hypatia would get along well I'm sure! She's based off my own mother to an extent, but never tried to set me up with anyone. Then again I have been tragically un-single basically since I was fifteen so...



 Report Review

Review #40, by onestop_hpfan18 Hell Hath No Fury like Rose Zeller Scorned

14th August 2016:
The fact that Oliver stays to ensure Edie is going to be okay just solidifies what a decent human being he is... and it makes me fall for him. No wonder Edie is already falling for him, literally, because he's quite a catch. Also, I have a feeling Wood read that article... wonder what he'll say to Edie in their next interaction. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Hey again there! I am back from my long trip (and have been for a while and I'm a jerk for just now responding) but I'm here now! And thank you again, so much, I can't believe I get to respond to a new review for every single chapter of this fic. You're the best :)

Yeah, this chapter really needed to happen so that Edie could see that Oliver *isn't* the kind of person he was pretending to be, to impress his teammates. Unfortunately she already got that idea in her head when she started writing, and one of her Major Character Problems™ is not letting go of grudges or opinions if she's already convinced herself of them, regardless of who it hurts.

SO BEGINS THE REAL STORY!



 Report Review

Review #41, by onestop_hpfan18 Lessons in Chemistry

14th August 2016:
Not surprising that Wood hasn't seen the article yet since the issue just published that day and he didn't even prioritize the interview. But the chemistry and flirting between the pair. Loved it. But man, that cliffhanger was brutal. Talk about a mortifying experience.

Author's Response: I think my goal when I started writing this was to have as many embarrassing moments as possible for Edie. Like no matter what, even if things were going really well, something bad and funny had to happen. She was inspired by those people you know (for me it's my sister and my friend Dani) who just, like--HOW does all of this stuff happen to you??

So that's why she fell down the stairs!



 Report Review

Review #42, by onestop_hpfan18 A Very Brief Foray into Journalism

14th August 2016:
What are the odds of Blakeslee knocking on Rose's door while Edie is there. The jig is up... or is it? Now I must continue on to the next chapter immediately just to read what happens next. Also, I have a feeling that Oliver might return to the Poisoned Apple to seek out Edie once he sees what she submitted to WW.

Author's Response: Ha, yes, realistically it would be improbable for Blakeslee to knock on the door! But this is hopefully more interesting ;)

It's so funny, I was really writing this fic as I went. I had a basic plot line but really it meandered so much... I think originally I had intended for Oliver to come by the Posioned Apple (which is apparently the name of the bar in Shrek which is hilarious.) So you were right again, in a way! It just didn't end up making its way into the story hehe.



 Report Review

Review #43, by onestop_hpfan18 An Interview with Mister Wood

14th August 2016:
I knew it was Oliver that she kicked out! I liked that he had the sense to actually seem embarrassed and genuinely sorry for his behaviour. I'm looking forward to reading the actual interview in the next chapter. And of course Seamus would show up... I would have been disappointed had he not appeared.

Author's Response: Haha, yes you did! You totally called it :)

Oh yes, a genuine apology from Oliver... Here's Step #1 to falling in love with him because he is a sweet apologetic babe. And I don't think this scene would have been even 1/10th as funny as it is without Seamus (like most things in this fic/life).

Thank you again!



 Report Review

Review #44, by onestop_hpfan18 The Proposition

14th August 2016:
I can't believe it took me a few years to come back to this fic after reading the first two chapters. I kind of dropped off the fanfic wagon for the last few years after graduating university when I had to get settled into a real adult job. But now I'm going back to a couple stories I had added as favorites before I vanished and have been binge reading/reviewing. I recently read/reviewed the entirety of Off the Rails and the 8 chapters of its sequel, Derailed, that have been posted in the past couple weeks. This is the next story I'm tackling.

I love your characterisation of Edie, and that scene with the drunks... especially after she had locked up and realised that 'Viktor Krum' had sounded more Scottish when he had apologised. He had to have been Oliver Wood and I think there's a part of Edie that realised that, but perhaps it hasn't quite fully sunk in enough to process the whole experience since all she wants to do is shove it into the past after being humiliated. I also had an inkling that Rose was going to ask Edie to write the article for her. I hope Edie grows a backbone and turns the article into Mr Ward himself instead of letting Rose take the credit when it's due. Edie deserves some recognition after busting her butt doing odd jobs for WW. Anyway, great chapter.

Author's Response: UM WHAT

A REVIEW ON EVERY CHAPTER ARE YOU KIDDING ME??? Thank you so much!!! What a pleasant surprise! I actually logged into my account and saw that I had 20+ reviews and was like "Nah that's not right" but it WAS WOW ♥ ♥ ♥

I know what you mean about dropping off the fanfic wagon. This was my return to HPFF after five or six years, and even then I barely read other fic because I am terrible and a self-serving author who only wants attention all the time.

Tbh I think you're one of the few people who made the connection that "Krum" was actually Oliver doing a terribel drunk impression to make his stupid teammates laugh because he pushes everyone away and has zero friends and sometimes just needs companionship so he does stupid stuff like this. (Okay I just spoiled so much but you've obviously read all the way up through chapter 20 at this point)

(which is !)

(wow!)

Ehh I know what you mean about Edie growing a backbone and telling her editors the truth, but there's a lot on the line there. She's just a lowly intern and if she tells them that she's been lying and Rose has basically been plagiarizing etc. etc. etc. they'd surely tell her to get lost and find another sad soul who wants to work for free.

I'll try to answer as many of these as possible before leaving for work in the next few minutes!!

Thank you! ♥


 Report Review

Review #45, by Shinicha Morning

6th August 2016:
Wow! I read this (almost) in one go, and I'm so glad I found this story! It was really lovely, funny, moving and throughout real (no matter what Ada thinks! :p)
Your story really lived off the characters, I loved, loved all of them. Even side characters such as Ward didn't seem superficial. I liked the political undertone you held throughout the story (I hope it will go well for Goblin women's rights). I'm somewhat sad that Dean's and Edie's friendship got ruined..though I'm glad that he found someone else.
Thanks so much for this wonderful story!!

Author's Response: Man oh man, it just really blows my mind when you guys say that you read this IN ONE GO. I tried to do that the other day for editing/nostalgia purposes and I didn't even start at the beginning and it took me ALL DAY SO HOW DO YOU DO THIS *u* It makes me feel so happy.

Haha! Love that comment about Ada. She really made this fic, between all of Edie and Oliver's melodramatic "WHY CAN'T WE JUST BE TOGETHER I LOVE YOU SO."

Gaw thank you so much for that. I feel like I really know each and every one of these characters, y'know? They're so real to me. Like what do you mean they aren't real idgi

♥!


 Report Review

Review #46, by Asia Morning

2nd June 2016:
I have been in love with your story for so long and I'm sad to see it come to an end. I'm begging you to write some one shots to go along with this story. It would be amazing to see significant moments in their life After this point. Thank you so much for updating! I love your writing so much!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I was sad to see this come to an end as well :'( But I think I stretched this fic as long as humanly possible before it became a rambling mess (she says, while also wondering why she didn't explore 34829 other outlets this fic offered).

I'm working on a companion piece right now, actually! It's a one-shot written from Oliver's perspective during the time after his parents' death, when he struggled with drinking and raising Ada by himself. It sounds pretty angsty but it'll actually be dark humor. Hopefully it will be written in the next few weeks. I've got another novel-length Marauders WIP that's taking up a lot of my time.

Thanks again!



 Report Review

Review #47, by nott theodore Morning

10th May 2016:
*flails*

CONGRATULATIONS!

I know I haven't been one of those people who's been around reading this story since the beginning, but it was on my reading list for so long and I'd heard so many things about it that I'm really happy I finally got to read this before it finished. Edie is such a wonderful character and I've loved reading her story - so thank you for writing it! ♥

I'm so happy that they finally got together! It might have taken them 33 chapters to reach this point, but it's been so much fun to read about what Edie and Oliver had to do to get there. I'm grinning like an idiot now :P

Seriously, though, you really like messing around with us, don't you? I honestly thought that Oliver was just going to let Edie get on the train back to London and leave without saying anything to her about how he felt, and poor Edie was thinking exactly the same thing. Honestly, I don't think it's just that Oliver wanted Ada's blessing, but that he needed her to tell him to stop being stupid and just get on with it :P

Ada was awesome, though! It was so nice to see her again and I don't think this ending would have felt right without her being here. The fact that she'd grown up a bit and was so happy to see Edie was really lovely, and I think it was that which kept me hoping even when Oliver let Edie get on the train without saying anything. She's been such an awesome character throughout this story and it was great to see her playing a real part in making Oliver admit his feelings. Obviously Ada and Oliver's relationship has changed quite a bit as a result of the article and what she found out, but it's great to see that they still care about each other and it's probably made them stronger if anything. I honestly love reading about close sibling relationships, and Ada and Oliver are so sweet.

YAY HE FINALLY ADMITTED IT!! AND SO DID EDIE!! Haha it's taken them so long to get to this point but I completely agree with the way that it's seemed kind of inevitable for them because even though they've tried, they can't avoid each other and they still love each other, even when they know they shouldn't. I'm not sure how well them having a "normal" relationship will go, but I'm really excited for them because they deserve their happy ending after all this time!

The final section from Oliver's point of view was really unusual, but it was such a perfect choice for the ending of this story. I loved the way that we got to see how Oliver really felt about her, and the way that he'd been feeling during the last chapter when he'd come across as distant and cold. The idea that they've been skirting around the edges of each other's lives for all this time, and that now it's finally the time for them to get together is so sweet!

I've kind of mentioned this already, but thank you so much for writing a character like Edie. I honestly think that fanfiction has a tendency to include "perfect" characters, who seem to get everything handed to them on a plate, and the only problems they have in life are deciding who they want to date. And that's just not how life is, and becoming an adult is confusing and hard and life doesn't just give things to you like most stories want to make you believe. So thank you for writing a character who's so relatable and real, even if she's made some ridiculous mistakes along the way, she's been believable all the way through. Thank you for writing about her ♥

Congratulations on finally finishing your wonderful story! ♥

Sian :)

Author's Response: HERE I AM AT LAST

I'M SORRY

YOU MIGHT NOT ACTUALLY READ THIS BECAUSE YOU'VE PROBABLY GIVEN UP ON ME RESPONDING AT ALL BUT HERE IT IS AND I LOVE YOU AND THANK YOU AND AHHH ♥

Gaww, grinning like an idiot was the reaction I was hoping for! You're right, this ending was super super cheesy, especially the train, but I just felt like?? What, after all of that, they aren't supposed to be together? I really toyed with the idea of them staying broken up but they're just so EASY to write together. Like surprisingly effortless dialogue blah blah blah how are these two imaginary people actually so perfect together? So I had to, huehuehue.

Here's the thing, though: he cares about Ada so much that without her "blessing" (if you want to call her eye-rolling and yelling OH MY GOD GET OVER IT YOU IDIOTS a blessing), he probably would have let Edie leave. It would have been terribly difficult for both of them and maybe eventually they would have come around and sought each other out again. But he felt so guilty about everything he put Ada through in the past, and the way she found out about it, that he couldn't just bring Edie back into Ada's life. (Of course, Ada frankly didn't care at all, but you know.)

Ugh, yes, Ada and Oliver's relationship is just GAH. I love them so much. I really want to write some one-shots about him taking care of a little sister after his parents' death and trying to figure things out and navigating all of that. Katie was around to help quite a bit but it did put a huge strain on their relationship--they basically had an adopted child together--and so the whole thing is just very interesting to me. But yes, Oliver and Ada are quite the cute pair!

Yes! Being "not sure how a 'normal' relationship will go" was a big part of this story, too. I was really trying to emphasize that without it being too much like the movie "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind," (Spoilers, if you haven't seen it???) These are the last lines of that movie (I don't own them, obvi) and it really captures what I was going for here:

Joel: I can't see anything that I don't like about you.
Clementine: But you will! But you will. You know, you will think of things. And I'll get bored with you and feel trapped because that's what happens with me.
Joel: Okay.
Clementine: [pauses] Okay.

Yeah, the switch in POV was pretty unusual, and if it weren't for the possibility of leading readers on into thinking there was an entirely new additional chapter, I would have uploaded it separately. This formatting makes it seem pretty jarring but in the original file it's set as a separate epilogue, which hopefully helps!

Oh my gosh, your last paragraph is so sweet. I am so glad that Edie brought you some relief or clarity or anything even remotely similar! I was really struggling when I began this fic--I was an unpaid intern at an art musuem, in a new city, trapped in a terrible relationship I couldn't leave because I didn't have the money to move out, and my bank account was usually in the negative. "Life doesn't just give things to you like most stories want to make you believe." That's very true. I hope Edie served as some sort of comfort to readers in being able to accept this as being JUST FINE. We are not our parents' generation, we do not have it all figured out, and it's terrifying and exciting.

Thank you so much for your kind and wonderful review. I sincerely am so happy that this fic meant something to you! See you around the archives :)


 Report Review

Review #48, by nott theodore You Can Never Really Go Home

10th May 2016:
Hello! Ah, it's been far too long since I've left a review (on any story) but I'm letting myself take a little break from revision to get back to this story. I'm excited and a bit sad to know that it's finished now, but congratulations!

Ah, I'm really hoping for something a bit happier from the next chapter, because there were so many things in this one which were just a bit heartbreaking for me to read! I was so excited for Edie to finally get to see Oliver again, especially now other parts of her life are going much better than they were before, because honestly I felt like she probably needed to be in a better place herself before she could try and sort out the mess that happened with Oliver. Even so, I didn't think it was going to work out quite as well as Edie seemed to be hoping, and I'm kind of sad that I seem to have been right (at least this far).

The meeting at the start was sufficiently awkward to fit everything we know about the two of them. I felt so sorry for Edie, though, when she went to give Oliver a hug and was hoping for more and he just stood there all awkwardly. I could tell even then that he still cared about her enough not to want her to be completely embarrassed, but he was so cold (comparatively) and it was so awkward to see the two of them so far from what they used to be to each other.

I loved getting to see Neville and Aurelia as teachers at Hogwarts, too, and the way that you described Hogwarts was so cool - it kind of felt like we were returning there with Edie, since it's been a while since I read the books. I loved the way that she felt surrounded in magic again because the whole place is designed specifically for it. It really made me feel like I was going back there with her.

The idea of the staff having a party at the end of the year is a great one - I don't blame them for it either, since teaching is such a hard job. I feel like they definitely deserved to let off steam, and it made me laugh how excited Neville was to get drunk at school. It would definitely feel a bit strange to drink where you'd never been allowed to.

Hannah ♥ It was great to see her, and I love the way you portrayed her here, she's so sweet and lovely. Her and Neville make such a good couple!

Ah, the photo! I was so sure that something different was going to come from Edie discovering that Oliver still kept the photo of them in his robes when I read that part, but I'm not sure any more - still hoping, though! I definitely think that Edie and Oliver needed to talk properly about the situation and everything that had happened, and I'm glad she's had a chance to apologise, but I'm really hoping for a different ending. I'm reading on to find out :)

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hey! I am so sorry, this is THE LONGEST IT HAS EVER TAKEN ME to respond to a review in my history of HPFF. To be honest I was really unhappy with the writing of these last two chapters and was a bit embarrassed to go back and read it, and respond to reviews, but now I'm feeling more proactive and ready to edit.

This chapter was a bit sad, wasn't it? I was thinking a lot about Real Life Relationships versus the way we portray them in fic. In my experience, if somebody caused a person as much drama and stress as Edie did to Oliver, they would have just moved on. And as much as I wanted them to be full of ~PINING and ANGST~ for each other, I just had to write about that. Generally, if someone is bad for you, you would not be happy with them.

omg the hug!! Honestly I know somebody who that happened to--I remember hearing the story about it like, ten years ago, and not knowing the person and it being a friend of a friend, and I still don't know if I ever actually met the ill-fated-hugger. But it stuck with me because it sounds so awkward and hilarious and I just had to write about it! So whoever you are out there in the world, thank you for hugging someone the wrong way.

Yes, all of their interactions are Oliver trying to be distant and still being a little angry with her, and then letting his guard down/forgetting, and showing that he still does care about her. This chapter was hard to write that way!

NEVILLE

He was seriously not at all relevant to the chapter but I wanted to include him. Isn't he (at least in terms of the actor) the biggest VISUAL EVIDENCE of WOW TIME HAS GONE BY SINCE WE "LEFT HOGWARTS" AND THE BOOKS ENDED LIKE HOW DID THIS PERSON GET SO HOT

He just embodies change and time for me in a funny way. :)

Aurelia Sinistra is totally based on a customer I have at work who is just, like, HOW are you that pretty? And she's unsmiling and wears these leather motorcycle jackets and has long black hair and is so quiet but I *think* kind of likes my awkward customer service presence and anyway. She really inspired the character for Aurelia--but I also thought it would be important to discuss whether or not Oliver had moved on to other relationships. I imagine that he and Aurelia had some sort of fling, but because they were both professors (and other reasons) it never went anywhere.

Thank you so much for reviewing and again I am SO SORRY it took so long to respond!

♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #49, by marauderfan Morning

22nd April 2016:
Sarah! Ahh, first things first, CONGRATS ON FINISHING!!! I know you've been working on this story for years so you're probably in this weird state of combined 'HOORAY I finished' and 'I can't believe it's over' and 'the story still won't get out of my head so here's 12 sequels'. But it is really exciting to see this marked complete! (And a bit sad, because I have loved taking this journey along with Edie and seeing her grow up and learn to put on her Big Girl Pants, as you called it :P If you ever write any fic sequels to this I'm sure I'll be right there to read them!

So maybe it was a little cliche with the cheesy, happy ending and Oliver literally running onto the train to catch her. But despite that, it still doesn't feel wildly unrealistic, because the two of them are still three-dimensional people with real problems. They seriously messed up before, and it's implied that they still have a lot of work to do on their relationship. They'll argue, learn from the past, and work towards being better people. But isn't that what we all do? So even with the cheesy factor turned all the way up to 11, it's still such a perfect ending and ties everything together really well. It shows how far Edie has come and that even with all the mistakes she makes, it doesn't mean she's ruined everything. She learns from her mistakes and things turn out better. So as well as your message of "it's okay to be unsure of How To Be An Adult", there's also an underlying message of "it's okay to make mistakes"... rather fitting as those go together well haha.

If you're taking votes about which of the thousand epilogues to write, I vote for one with Dean and Seamus in it. They were such awesome supporting characters in this fic and I loved whenever they turned up :P

Last but not least, Edie and Oliver's conversation about their ineptitude at healing spells was hilarious. And that Quidditch is basically sustaining injuries for money :P This story was such a fun read from start to finish, and I've absolutely loved reading it. Congrats once again on completing it!

Author's Response: Hey you! Thank you so much for leaving such a thoughtful review. I'm sorry it's taken me so long to respond! I've been feeling weird about this ending (very cheesy, as you mentioned) and I'm not entirely happy with it, but I'm not sure what changes to make.

Anyway--your review!

You're definitely right about the "here's 12 sequels" bit. I'm starting a new, much darker, fic and know that I'm going to need a reprieve from all of the somberness and dreary narration. I've been toying with some ideas for companion pieces; one-shots about other characters and such.

The train!! It is the cheesiest part, for sure. I really loved the idea of Edie breaking his fingers though, by slamming the door. However I end up re-writing this ending, I definitely want to include that. Luckily almost everywhere I could possibly relocate the scene to has doors ;) The cheesiness was supposed to contrast with Ada's bluntness and logical stance on the matter. This whole fic has been two people, who clearly want to date each other (NOT EVEN GET MARRIED, like, just make out and talk about Quidditch and the like), and how they convince themselves that they simply CAN'T, because *insert invalid reason*.

And you're totally right. They will probably fight a lot in their relationship, and there's no guaranteeing it will work out, but what else are they supposed to do?

Either way, thank you for your input--I think between you, and the fact that there are only 3 reviews, says that the ending needs work ;)

Dean and Seamus!! I know, I feel like they should be here, too. Maybe the ending could take place at her Mum's art show, with an ensemble cast, and Oliver arriving there for one reason or another? Having these last two chapters at Hogwarts seemed so out of place, too.

Urgh.

I greatly appreciate your review, and I'm sorry if this response is grumbly.

Thank you so, so much!! For reading and for sticking by throughout the many years it's taken me to finish this. You are seriously so wonderful for doing that, you have no idea.

&hearts!!


 Report Review

Review #50, by madness Morning

21st April 2016:


Author's Response: Yes hello!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>