Reading Reviews for Out Of the Ruins
  
59 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Rumpelstiltskin Grave Disturbances

31st October 2013:
Oh! Now you're going to make Rumpel cry!

I'm delighted to see that you've taken the time to deal with the emotional and physical aspects concerning the aftermath of the war. Fred's death was really quite a tragedy and you've done a beautiful job honoring his memory.

Yay, the wayward Weasley: Percy! It's nice to see that he hasn't been forgotten.

Harry's flashbacks are quite disturbing. Poor boy (well man now I suppose), he's had to deal with so much all of his life and now this? Of course, it's a very realistic concept and uses ingeniously to incorporate Snape's role. (Look at Rumpel being all empathetic with your character! See what you're doing to me?)

Speaking of Snape's role, I think that it is fantastic that you are portraying him attempting to provide Harry with some guidance. I realize that he has been assisting Harry all along, but you are portraying it in a much more obvious manner. This is also realistic considering what Harry now knows about Snape and that Harry has shown extreme kindness and gratitude. I'm trying to say that I love the development of Harry and Snape's relationship.

I think that this might be my favorite chapter so far (but they keep getting better so it may eventually be trumped).

You are a skilled writer and I am very much enjoying this story (actually I LOVE LOVE LOVE this story but I don't want to keep repeating myself).

I will be back soon!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: The ultimate compliment to a writer...to be able to evoke such strong emotions! :) I love your reviews!! Thanks a bunch and can't wait to hear what you think of the events to come. :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by Rumpelstiltskin Editorial Uncertainties

31st October 2013:
Lady Asphodel is quite right, you do need more reviews. I cannot fathom why you don't.

Anyway, Rumpel is happy to help with that, because I LOVE this.

The Prophet article was touching, a nice little tribute to Snape. He was very brave and he deserves a bit of recognition. Good job Harry and Neville! (Please note that I will sometimes speak directly to your characters, don't mind that.)

I also thought that the interaction at the end of the chapter between Snape and Harry was very sweet. (I used sweet because I am lacking a more accurate descriptive word at the moment.) :p

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hugs.Just hugs! :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by Rumpelstiltskin Troubled Sentiments

31st October 2013:
I'm back! Miss me? :)

I'm reading this slowly in attempt to savor it, so please don't mind the intervals between reviews!

So, this was quite brilliant. I hadn't thought about the psychological effects that the war would have on people. I see you are portraying this flawlessly. It exemplifies a change in character due to a period of extreme duress. While doing this, however, you are still maintaining key aspects that stay true to cannon characterization.

Alexis is going to have her hands full if she's planning on trying to help Severus sort out his emotions :).

Also, I'm quite enjoying that you are wrapping up some of the aftermath of the war.

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Yea! I'm glad you are enjoying it. Although I must admit that I feel like I am cheating a bit with the psychological stuffs...I have actually worked extensively with RL soldiers dealing with PTSD & combat stress and am drawing from those experiences to help write. I think that is one of the things that originally prompted me to write this story to begin with...my wondering what happened immediately after everything ended. I have read other stories that have been entirely unrealistic in that everyone ends up happy & perfect days after and it irked me. LOL!

 Report Review

Review #29, by Lady Asphodel Compassionate Safeguards

29th October 2013:
I just read your responses, particularly the one where you said that "you look forward to my reviews" - I'm glad you do - because I know how much a review can make someone's day. Plus - I mean like I said before - you deserve it. :)

I remember when you had requested the banner over at TDA and I had to click on it because I don't come across writers who write about Harry/Severus interaction and I was so glad that you did! Had I not seen you request the banner, I would not have known this story existence.

Anyways, so about the chapter!

I had absolute feels for this.. like I'm just lol dying from squeeing right now.

You portray Harry/Severus moments so wonderfully. You just don't know how irritated I get where when I read other Harry/Severus interaction... Harry is so needy or Severus immediately drops his guard (which I'll admit I was one of them too but I know better now.) Basically, I don't come across a lot of canon interactions with these two - and you just did it perfectly!

... Mmm... sorry for the long long jumble lol. :P

So moving on... I truly enjoyed that bit there where Severus guarded Harry from the attention and how he growled at the accounts of Harry's stories of how he received those injuries.

And of course, I enjoyed getting some more background on Alexis. You're really making her real where I feel like she was a part of J K Rowling's characters all along so kudos to you for that!


I can't wait for your next update and yes - let's hope that the NaNo doesn't get in the way! :D

Author's Response: Aww!! I do love you! :)

I must admit that I was terrified to write an OC so I love that she is being taken so well!

As for Snape & Harry...I know exactly what you are saying about reading such unrealistic & complete personality changes and how just weird that can be and so have tried soo hard to avoid doing that myself.

More fun to come! I have actually been using this story as my "break" from my NaNo story and should have my next chapter done & ready to submit by the time my Lily/James one-shot is validated! :)


 Report Review

Review #30, by indyheart Beyond The Veil

28th October 2013:
A friend recommended this story to me and so glad that she did! Really enjoying so far. :)

I'm anxious to keep on reading, but I wanted to list some typos for you. Don't worry, I annoy everyone by doing this, lol.

"The memories that came flooding back to him threatening to overwhelm him."
"Foolish as it had been for Harry to have allowed himself get distracted from the more important task of..."
"He had lost countless hours imagining what we would say if ever he count talk"
"but insisted on putting a silencing charm on your while she worked..."
"McGonagall smiled and patted him arm."

Now--on to chapter two, yey! :D

Author's Response: Yea for friend referrals!! :) I'm glad you are liking it!

Don't worry about pointing out typos. I try to correct them as I find them, but I (obviously) miss things as well so I welcome the help in finding them!

I hope you continue to enjoy the story!


 Report Review

Review #31, by Rumpelstiltskin Unintentional Catharsis

27th October 2013:
Oh dear, it seems that Harry's dealing with a lot of attention! I guess that was to be expected, but that situation must be intimidating! I also quite enjoyed his turmoil over Severus' attack.

Ah, Alexis' character is continuing to develop! I have to admit, she is growing on me significantly. I love the empathetical ability you have given to her, it is quite handy.

Again, this is fantastic. I love it and if it were a person I would hug it!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Awww thanks! If it were a person it would hug you back! ;)

 Report Review

Review #32, by Rumpelstiltskin Late Night Visitor

27th October 2013:
You've done a fantastic job with cannon, especially that of Severus Snape :).

Alexis seems like she is going to be a fantastic OC. I feel like I don't know very much about her yet, but where is the fun in knowing every single aspect of a character right off the bat?

At any rate, this was wonderful.

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Aww thanks!! I have really struggled trying to keep Snape as believable as possible even throughout the changes and growth that he experiences. So hopefully I can keep that up! Glad you are liking it so far!

 Report Review

Review #33, by Rumpelstiltskin Beyond The Veil

23rd October 2013:
Holy crow, where has this story been all of my (HP involved) life?

First of all, this is very well written.

Second, I adore Lily and Severus' interaction here. It was truly heart warming!

Lastly, you have made my dreams come true!

I am very excited to continue to read this.

-Rumpel

Author's Response: This made my day today!! LOL! I'm glad you found it and hope you continue to like what you read!!

Laura


 Report Review

Review #34, by Lady Asphodel Forenoon Musings

23rd October 2013:
Very enjoyable chapter here. Looking into the thoughts of Ginny and Snape and basically... your whole way of explaining thoughts fascinates me.

It's inspiring to write something now as I am typing this.

I look forward to the next chapter! And keep up the great work!


- Asphodel

Author's Response: You have no idea how much I look forward to your reviews! LOL! You always make me smile!! Hopefully NaNo won't interfere too much with me getting the next chapter up here!

 Report Review

Review #35, by Lady Asphodel Rescue Me

23rd October 2013:
Ah so sweet!!! I love Severus and Harry moments. :D

And of course Alexis will be stubborn hehe. :P Great job on her characterization. ^_^

Anyways, I apologize for reviewing late. :(

I was so busy with school and such that I haven't been on here as much.

But now that I am, I'm catching up. (n.n)

Great chapter by the way and I'm off to read the next one. ♥


- Asphodel

Author's Response: Aww thanks! I am very worried about how Alexis is perceived since I know a lot of people have issues with OCs!

Hopefully I will have more & more Harry & Snape moments coming up here! I can't wait for you to read what I have brewing up right now!! Hee Hee!!

Laura


 Report Review

Review #36, by Lady Asphodel Scared Senseless

23rd August 2013:
Amazing... Absolutely amazing cliffhanger. ♥ Can't wait to see what happens next. :)

Update soon!


- Asphodel

Author's Response: Tee Hee!! Not too much longer. I'm nearly done with the next chapter. Thanks again for you dedication to the story! :)

 Report Review

Review #37, by Avanell 2 Grave Disturbances

19th August 2013:
More fabulous updates!

Author's Response: And many more to come as well!! :)

 Report Review

Review #38, by Avanell 2 Beyond The Veil

17th August 2013:
Excellent story thus far!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #39, by Lady Asphodel Buried Paperwork

20th July 2013:
omg! I never thought you'd pull this one over me... :O But you did! XD OMG> She's adopted! I did not expect that at all. :P

Here I am thinking what could possibly be a surprise... and I thought it'd have been cliche of some sort... but nope... you're definitely far from it.

Keep up the great work hun! I look forward to your next update!


- Asphodel

Author's Response: YEA!! LOL! I wasn't sure how that would be taken...more craziness to come!!

 Report Review

Review #40, by Lady Asphodel Occupational Callings

13th June 2013:
Hey! You updated! ^_^

Awesome chapter hun. You're really an inspiration to me. :) I just honestly love your writing style and the characters are awesome. :D

Just wanted to let you know as well if that you have a couple of mistakes:

- said(sad) First paragraph, line

- though (thought) third paragraph, first line

Other than that, I applaud you. ♥

Update soon please! Look forward to your next post!


- Asphodel

Author's Response: Ah!! Thanks for pointing those out! I will definitely have to get back in there and do some editing!

As always.Thanks for the awesome review!!


 Report Review

Review #41, by Lady Asphodel Literary Discoveries

21st May 2013:
Severus is a man of mysteries and that's what I love about it him. ♥

I want to point out a that you have a couple of mistakes in this chapter that is noticeable and a bit of a throw off. :(

But the rest was just lovely. And honestly, I am no fan of OC's, especially when they become a main character, but I truly love your Character, Alexis. :)

It saddens me that you don't have a lot of reviews, like I have mentioned before. :/

Well, you can expect reviews from me when you update. ^_^

I look forward to more of your next update. :D


- Asphodel

Author's Response: Thanks a bunch!! :)

If you don't mind can you shoot me a message on the forums about what mistakes you found? I tried re-reading it myself but I'm not finding it. Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #42, by Lady Asphodel Domesticated Harmony

3rd May 2013:
Yay! Another chapter from you! :D This was very well played out between what happened to Harry and Ginny. Not too dramatic, because I can't stand it. You really balance the anxiety of Ginny's feelings and displayed Harry well too as to talking to Ginny. :)

And I definitely love how you didn't end it with a sappy romancy kiss that mostly everyone does now a days. smh.

Again wonderful job and I look forward to your next update. ^_^


-Asphodel

Author's Response: Ugh I know!! I always thought that Ginny would be spunky enough to not just instantly forgive him and jump back into a relationship with him. I figured realistically, being a typical girl, she would want to make him work for it and prove that he isn't going to hurt her agin. :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by Lady Asphodel Unexpected Answers

6th April 2013:
Another lovely chapter. ♥ Please write more. I should have checked earlier to see that you have updated, but there were other things. Anyways, look forward to your update. :D

-Asphodel

Author's Response: As always...great to hear from you!! Hugs!!

 Report Review

Review #44, by soufflegirl99 Troubled Sentiments

15th March 2013:
Another awesome chapter!!
The depth to Snape's emotions is so vivid - yet not overly done and written. He's very relatable, and it makes this story very gripping and hard to not read!
The whole twisting plot line is frankly quite riveting, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading all of it. I love the style you write in, too - it makes your writing unique, and very original too.
Overall, a fantastic descriptive piece. :D

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much!!! I am very glad that you like story! This is my first attempt to write fanfic, so hearing that people enjoy it! I hope you keep reading & let me know how you like it!!
Laura


 Report Review

Review #45, by Lady Asphodel Comfort Foods

13th March 2013:
Well, I'm glad my reviews are making you happy, because you deserve them. ;)

Yeah, I'm back again, since I thought I reviewed this chappie but I didn't. (I'm a being a pest I know, sorry. -_-) Lol :P

Still love this chapter, - five stars, 2 thumbs up, 10/10.

Author's Response: You would never be a pest!! I love it!! :)

 Report Review

Review #46, by Lady Asphodel A Table for Three

12th March 2013:
Beautiful! *applauding* absolutely beautiful.

Kudos to you for writing a story where you're able to maintain the personalities of the characters, explore the aspects of the general idea of the plot without losing balance, and just really able to keep readers hanging.

Even though I urge you to update soon, take your sweet time. There's nothing like a good story with time and patience. ;)


-Asphodel

Author's Response: You really know how to build someone's ego! LOL!

 Report Review

Review #47, by Lady Asphodel Editorial Uncertainties

12th March 2013:
You. Need. More. Reviews.

Especially for this very awesome fiction here. This, my fellow author, is a work of art.

Keep up the great work.

Author's Response: If it is truly a work of art then you must be my muse!

 Report Review

Review #48, by Lady Asphodel Troubled Sentiments

12th March 2013:
You know what I also love about your story... is the interesting chapter titles and summaries (which I suck at.) I need to learn from you more my friend, and great job on this lovely chapter.


-Asphodel

Author's Response: Heh!! Sometimes those take almost as long as the chapters do to write!! LOL! I hate doing them!

 Report Review

Review #49, by Lady Asphodel Unintentional Catharsis

12th March 2013:
You must be proud of yourself... for this to be your very first fan fic, this was very well written and I'm really enjoying this.

Look forward to your updates

-Asphodel

Author's Response: Blush noise!!

 Report Review

Review #50, by Lady Asphodel Late Night Visitor

12th March 2013:
Another wonderful chapter.

I'm usually no fan of OC's but I really like Alexis here and your character actually is a character - with personality and background instead of just adding on a random person for unknown reasons like some other immature writers.

I eagerly await to read more of your story.

Author's Response: I was/am scared of OCs myself...but I 'm liking the challenge with Alexis. And I'm fairly certain that if I start to mess her up too bad that you will tell me! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>