Reading Reviews for The Harder Struggle
  
119 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Lyddie Epilogue

18th January 2013:
THANK GOD you are going to write more stories!! But Neville didn't have a distinguished Wizengamot career? That's surprising. I would've thought he'd do both Hogwarts and Wizengamot. Can't he do that? Or can't he. After that rousing speech I wouldn't think they would let him go so easily. He must have had some strong feelings about this. Hmm.

I would be interested in:
-How George gets on with WWW
-Hermione's political career
-More about our friends in the Aurors
-More magical creatures
-fun adventures !
-Neville and the ladies (I don't think he marries Luna or any canon characters...although I leave that to you)

If you can continue weaving in more historical and cultural background details that would be great.

Can't wait to see what you come up with!

Author's Response: In this story, Neville is in the Wizengamot as British Youth representative. I can't see him being enthusiastic about getting back into the Wizengamot once his term expires. Neville is doing it out of a sense of duty, just like his stint in the aurors which he also will not pursue over the long term. His heart is in herbology and Hogwarts.

According to the canon Neville eventually marries Hanna Abbot and there are a few hints as to that eventual outcome in this story. Still, I think he and Luna deserve a fling. Neville is certainly the type of person who both gets and appreciates Luna.


 Report Review

Review #27, by Lyddie Vote of No Confidence

18th January 2013:
WOW. Just WOW! This chapter was incredible!!! The suspense!!! The sophistication!!! The history!!! The details! It was an emotional roller coaster!!! Neville's speech was AMAZING!!! You're amazing!!! Seriously, are you sure you're not JK Rowling?? ;) I ate this up. It was like the experience of reading a Potter book. I don't even know where to start, so I'll just list some of the highlights for me:

-Nice detail with Grantham's kids playing outside. He really is a good guy, isn't he?
-Your character names are fantastic. Gemalla Wenglespoon, Rufus Lazarre, Paula Pestle... These are the details that make your fic so authentic!
-The story about Ogden the Odious and the Battle of Hogsmeade Hill! So surprising and quirky. I love it so much. We're learning more about the history of the Potter world! It's amazing!
-I like how you explain how truly rare the Order of Merlins are, especially the First Class. That sets it up nicely for the emotional reveal at the end, which you handle masterfully. Even though I knew the trio would be getting First Class, I still felt surprisingly choked up about it. Especially the description on Ginny's award; I thought it was so sweet how you worded it: "for the protection of the student body of Hogwarts undertaken at great risk and heavy personal cost." It made me think of what a strong, kind and brave person she is. And I love that Molly is a Knight of the Order of St George! She's so badass ;) Kudos on the concept of the Knight of the Order of St George if you made that up, by the way--it's really cool! I am assuming you did invent it, but it's so Potter-worthy I wouldn't be surprised if Rowling had written about this somewhere!
-The shocking twist in Grantham's speech!! I wasn't ready for this story to end, so I envisioned him winning and then being some kind of villain...which would have been kind of predictable, really. I LOVE how it ended instead! Thank you for being so surprising--which, again, is very JK Rowling!!
-I really do love Neville's speech. He utterly destroys Wenglespoon. You do a great job of showing what a confident and eloquent man he has become. I can just imagine how distinguished the rest of his term on the Wizengamot will be. (Also, with his Knight of the Order of St George, I can imagine how popular he will be with the ladies!)
-I almost forgot to applaud you on the detail about the tradition of not interrupting a maiden speech!! Great detail!! You really made the Wizengamot come to life, in general. It was very vividly imagined.
-George's joke about being too respectable was funny and touching
-The dynamic between Bill and Percy! "Party treasurer," "Mr Secretary." So sweet and genuine and believable!! and it's these small details that make your fic SO amazing. Seriously. how do you do it? It's amazing. It's like reading Harry Potter. And I've read them all, multiple times. I am really impressed.

I'm so sad this story is over, although I suppose this was a nice place to end it. I'm curious how Grantham handles his career in the aftermath of the speech. He was a really interesting character.

Your story is awesome. i hope you write more soon!!!

Author's Response: Thanks for this detailed review. I am glad you like the little touches; they make it fun to write too.

I spend a bit of time trying to get good names for people. I think it can very much affect the way people respond to them.

I did invent the order of St George but there are parallels in the British honours system. The tradition of not interrupting a member giving a maiden speech is, I believe, common in parliaments based on the Westminster system. It is certainly observed here in Australia.


 Report Review

Review #28, by FriendofMolly Epilogue

17th January 2013:
Eric,
Thank You, Thank You, Thank You! You gave us what will be in the future, because of what happened Post Riddle. The journey would be exciting to read. We are, at least safe in the knowledge that the Magical World will thrive and evolve! I found it wonderfully ironic that Hermione's daughter is the one to update The History of Magic. Afterall it was "Hogwarts a History" was Hermione's go to book throughout her school years. I'm sad that this has ended. I hope to see your name on a new story very very soon!
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks for your support and reviews throughout this story.

 Report Review

Review #29, by talltwin18 Vote of No Confidence

6th January 2013:
gotta say I love the last line :)

 Report Review

Review #30, by FriendofMolly Vote of No Confidence

31st December 2012:
Eric,
I will start with a correction. This is a mistake a lot of authors make, you wrote "When your Minister of Magic", it should read, "When you're Minister of Magic". Your means a personal possession, in as your house. You're means you are something as in "When you're Minister of Magic". As for the rest it was a fitting, yet sad end for your story. Sad because it is at at the end, fitting because having Kingsley as Minister is the only way the Wizarding World will go forth and become a stronger, peaceful world. Bravo! I do hope this is only the beginning of your Odyssey.
FoM
PS I'll be on the lookout.

 Report Review

Review #31, by FriendofMolly Command Decision

31st December 2012:
Eric,
Brilliant all the way through. I do wonder how the Magicals convinced the Muggle population that the situation was handled by their police? I can also see that unwittingly Ron is being drawn to the Aurors. Maybe not what Hermione wants, but necessary nonetheless. I must go to the next.
FoM

 Report Review

Review #32, by zipzin Vote of No Confidence

31st December 2012:
I want there to be more! This was such an excellent story but you really only brushed the surface of the genre (that would be filling in the epilouge). So do you have any plans for a sequel? Or maybe a one-shot or two during big parts of their lives? Please think about it because your story can go very far. Thanks for writing it.

Author's Response: There is actually a small epilogue to come. it should be out within 24 hours.

I have attached an author's note to that noting my plans.

Thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #33, by spellwatcher Command Decision

29th December 2012:
loved it keep writing

 Report Review

Review #34, by Lyddie Command Decision

20th December 2012:
Wow!! Great chapter. I like Ron's little speech about deception, surprise, intelligence and skill. I like how several DA members are in the Aurors. It's cool. Like a school reunion. Your dialogue is really good. I am a little skeptical that experienced Aurors wouldn't think of something as simple as Polyjuice potion, and experienced Death Eaters wouldn't be expecting something like that. But I suppose it's possible the way you explain it. I didn't get bored during the "battle" scene, which is impressive because I usually hate Death Eater fights in fanfics. they're usually so incredibly boring and predictable. But I am really enjoying your story! Thanks for writing it. Looking forward to the next chapters :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by Miranda Jones We're Alive!

18th December 2012:
This is truly a good start to what looks like will be a great story. If I might make a suggestion, this chapter needs more emotion, instead of just dialogue and description. However, I enjoyed it all the same. On to the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #36, by Lyddie Standard Procedure

18th December 2012:
Incredible. I'm hooked. Your story keeps getting better and better! Harry was very brave in this chapter...but then again, he's always brave. ;) It pleases me when you mention something that seems like a throwaway detail, but it ends up being important in later chapters. So I hope the dragoons come back! And I hope to learn more about the established procedures and history of the Aurors.

Author's Response:

Sometimes a dragoon is just a dragoon and a throwaway line is just a throwaway line...but then you never know!


 Report Review

Review #37, by Lyddie Were in the Aurors Now

18th December 2012:
That was great! The chess scene was sweet and I was pleasantly surprised by Ron's interest in Napoleon at the end. That's some interesting character development. Well done . My only teensy tiny criticism is that you have Hermione interrupt Ron's reading. I bet she would be so happy to find him reading for pleasure that she would leave him to it. in fact, I can totally see Hermione sitting on the chair across from him, reading together before bed! It also would have been nice to hear more specifically what Ron was reading. I hope he takes up an interest in muggle history and culture.

 Report Review

Review #38, by Lyddie Let's Do a Deal

17th December 2012:
I. Love. This. Chapter. !!! Awesome switch in point of view to Grantham. I don't usually like shifts to minor character point of view, but I admire the dramatic irony here... I enjoy the detail about the PLEJ members smiling before Lazarre speaks. And the surprise at the end!

Author's Response:

Hi Lyddie,

Thanks for all these great reviews. It is fascinating to read your reactions as you read through the story. Thank you for taking the time.

Eric.


 Report Review

Review #39, by Lyddie It's My Party

17th December 2012:
I like Oliver. I didn't at first because I thought he might end up being a stereotypical "evil" supervillain, and that would be boring and against the spirit of post-Voldemort Potter land, which is supposed to be happy and peaceful. But I like where you are going with it! Good job ;)

Author's Response:
Thanks Lyddie,

I don't get a lot of positive feedback about Oliver. I'm glad you can see what I am trying to do.

Eric


 Report Review

Review #40, by Lyddie It's My Party

17th December 2012:
I like Oliver. I didn't at first because I thought he might end up being a stereotypical "evil" supervillain, and that would be boring and against the spirit of post-Voldemort Potter land, which is supposed to be happy and peaceful. But I like where you are going with it! Good job ;)

 Report Review

Review #41, by TaylBurke Debrief

16th December 2012:
omg this was an amazing chapter and i can see this being how they would have told everyone i cried during this chapter, you are an amzing writer please continue!!! this is just making the story continue and in the best way possible thank you so much !! :)

Author's Response:

Hi,

Thanks for your generous review. I hope you enjoy the rest of the story as much as this chapter.

Eric


 Report Review

Review #42, by Lyddie Resistance

16th December 2012:
Great story! Love the details. Very imaginative! Especially love the end, lol. ;)

 Report Review

Review #43, by Lyddie Debrief

16th December 2012:
Amazing retelling! :)

 Report Review

Review #44, by spellwatcher I Am What I Am

9th December 2012:
i just had to say again how much i have enjoyed reading this so far

 Report Review

Review #45, by FriendofMolly I Am What I Am

9th December 2012:
Eric,
I too, am very proud of what you directed Ron to do. Actually he has never been one to shirk his admission of wrongs. This is one instance that should have been kept private. Yet, it proved to be a turning point for Ron. Hermiones' timing was perfect. . You have given us much to think about the underpolitics of the Ministry. This shows just how Riddle was able to rise to power. Not that Harry, Hermione or Ron would want to be part of the Geezergamot. Perhaps that is just what it needs to go forward.
Now for Ginny's party. You didn't go into detail, yet you made it understood it was magnificent. I am surprised though at the last. Not that Harry would want to turn Ginny away. It's just that being at the Burrow would be the last place I think that Harry would want to begin the next phase of their relationship.
FoM

Author's Response:

Hi,

Thanks again for your recent reviews. I'm proud of Ron too. Ron has always had the sort of courage that enabled hin to march into a nest of Acromantulas for Hermione's sake, but he and Hermione had both lacked the emotional courage needed to even share their feelings with each other. They are both making latge strides.

As for Harry amd Ginny, the Burrow is their home. That this would eventually happen was understood by Ginny's parents when they acepted the sleeping arrangements with Harry's room just beside Ginny's. (See end ch9 and ch10). Doesn't mean they are neccessarily happy about it. It sort of a 'don't ask, don't tell' policy, though I'm not sure Molly will comply with the first part.

Eric


 Report Review

Review #46, by SpellWatch20760 I Am What I Am

9th December 2012:
i loved it hope u keep updating this fast. cant wait for the next ch.

Author's Response:
Hi,

Thanks for ongoing encouragement. I apprecaite it. The next chapter might be a week away. Hope you can wait!

Eric



 Report Review

Review #47, by SpellWatch20760 It Has to Come from Within

8th December 2012:
loved it please write more

 Report Review

Review #48, by FriendofMolly It Has to Come from Within

7th December 2012:
Eric,
Here I thought things were working out, and now Ron gets outed. I know just who did it. Well there are actually two. Ron seems to have hit on something Hermione hasn't. He wasn't wrong in what he saw, Grantham wants Hermione, both personally and politically. And the short dumpy witch? Maybe she is just a stodgy traditionalist. But it seems she has another agenda, So without knowing the facts poor Ron is being painted with a murky brush. Please don't dally with the next post.
FoM

 Report Review

Review #49, by SpellWatch20760 Loose Tongues

6th December 2012:
I loved this chapter i cant wait for the next one. hope its soon.

 Report Review

Review #50, by FriendofMolly Loose Tongues

6th December 2012:
Eric,
I am surprised at how fast Ron turned into a jealous fool. Yes he was jealous when Hermione went to the Ball with Krum, but that's not the same as this. He's going to have to grovel if he has any chance of getting her back. Meanwhile I hope she doesn't trust any of the members of the Muggleborn commitee! More please!
FoM

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>